Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

698
Branch Locations

BBVA Compass Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Bank of the West
Add
Bank News
Comerica Bank
Add
Compare Banks

BBVA Compass Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

BBVA Compass Bank Latest Customer Reviews

lopez2001's Profile Image

Reviewed by lopez2001

Sep 19th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent Bank

I've been with them for 8 years now and they have always been willing to work with me. No maintenance fees or any other ones to keep my account. Make sure you tell them you like to be opt out from spending money you don't have and you will never receive an overdraft fee from them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

AllenHooper's Profile Image

Reviewed by AllenHooper

Aug 31st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Robert May, Financial Advisor

Just wanted to comment on our pleasant visits with Robert. He is always very professional and knowledgeable. We feel very confident in our dealings with BBVA Compass due to his outstanding ability to handle our accounts. We always look forward to our visits with him. He's definitely a cut above the rest!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

drjkoop's Profile Image

Reviewed by drjkoop

Aug 20th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Years Of Happy Business

They are very helpful here. I have always felt a high level of personal care in my dealing here.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

andeejones's Profile Image

Reviewed by andeejones

Aug 9th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Friendly and professional

I have banked with them 10+ years. I have only experienced excellent service. i think we tend to forget to compliment when we are totally satisfied.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

firstsgt50's Profile Image

Reviewed by firstsgt50

Jul 25th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent Service, Friendly

To many bad reviews, to many folks not pleased. Most of these bad reviews most likely are from folks who complain about everything and anything. 20 years a coustomer, I have never had any problems with Compass Bank. Excellent Service, Friendly.

Fred Ybanez

firstsgt50@aol.com

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

angela's Profile Image

Reviewed by angela

Mar 22nd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Setting up new accounts

After a long wait and much travail, I received a check in the mail. It was a burden to think that I would have to attempt to navigate a whole set of new accounts to help in this matter. Mrs. Carlissa at this branch (but only on Saturdays!) was a God-send! She made time for my two daughters and myself. She answered the questions we had with easy-to-understand responses and she made what could have be an onerous, confusing experience seem like a visit to a bank that values their customers, old and new. Thanks, Mrs. Carlissa and BBVACompass for being such a great place to bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ERINC's Profile Image

Reviewed by ERINC

Mar 3rd 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank, Great People. All You Complainers Are Stupid

You people are ridiculous. You claim that they steal your money and screw you but if you followed the rules in the disclosures you received, your accounts would be just fine. And no they don't mess around with the system so you get overdraft fees... The system doesn't allow them to do that. That is all on you. And for those of you complaining about the fees and the recession, thats the frieken point!

We're in a recession so the fees are necessary for businesses to stay open! And no matter what bank you go to these days there are going to be fees. Plus, there are plenty of ways to avoid the fees, if you can't follow them then that's your own damn fault. You people are idiots.... No one is out to get you and your money, you just don't know how to follow the rules and procedures of the bank.

So you're the ignorant ones. Not the bank. I've worked for the company and i know that customers that get angry about fees and such are the ones that are the most ignorant and don't know jack about banking.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 5 ▼ No 3

31234's Profile Image

Reviewed by 31234

Jan 6th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

Cpmpass bank in sierra vista, az has very excellent service. Mgr, service personnel, tellers great. Telephone experience with compass excellent

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gaskill's Profile Image

Reviewed by gaskill

Jul 9th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Over the Top

I live in Port Isabel , Texas 10 days of each month. I needed to make a payment on my revolving account. I was greeted coming in the door like I was a regular customer by Brenda Trevino a teller . She was so polite and had my questions answered as fast as I asked. Friendly and the person next to her as well. I shall look forward in my banking down in S Texas with this branch. I was going to search for a local bank in the valley but not now.

Roy Gaskill

Dallas, Tx 75214

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Phyllis H's Profile Image

Reviewed by Phyllis H

Jun 29th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

What a wonderful bank I have.

I recently had a problem with a merchant charging my checkcard with another persons purchase. This caused a major problem with my account since it was close to the end of the month. I am an elderly widow on Social Security who has to live on a strict budget every month. I tried to resolve the issue with the merchant myself but to no avail. After 4 days I went to my branch on Idaho and filled out the paperwork to start the process. My branch solved the problem right away and I had my account back in the black in no time. The employees at my branch are the most compassionate and caring people I have ever met at a bank. Just outstanding. I am so very glad I chose Compass bank when I moved to Las Cruces. I think the emoployees at Compass Banks are what make them an exceptional company. So everyone who reads this if you are a senior citizen and want to be treated with respect and dignity, please go to Compass Banks. They really care about their customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MyBVAA's Profile Image

Reviewed by MyBVAA

Apr 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great bank. Never have to wait.

I feel like this is my own personal bank with customer service that is exceptional. They helped me with refinancing my house and walked me through the process and made it very easy. They also gave me a great rate and closing fees were lower than other places I researched. I also took advantage of their investment services and had a one on one session with one of the VP's. Compared to the other large bank that I use Compass offers superior service.

They are also giving me better rates through incentive programs, of course I have a large sum of money in their bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MarinaO's Profile Image

Reviewed by MarinaO

Apr 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Banking service beyond exceptional!

The best banking experience you will ever receive right in the heart of Stockton - the miracle mile.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nmvince42's Profile Image

Reviewed by nmvince42

Mar 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great personal service. Folks know my name

Have always been met with smiles and professionalism. On-line banking is a great plus. Employees go out of their way to make sure you feel special.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kmarie's Profile Image

Reviewed by kmarie

Feb 26th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

I've been banking with this branch for 3 years now. Overall - very good service.

I was so pleased with the teller response time and knowledge that I used this bank to refinance my mortgage. Kudo's all around.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Vdroke's Profile Image

Reviewed by Vdroke

Jul 11th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

I've never had a bad experience with Compass Bank.

Several years ago after a experiencing a job/financial loss, I had no choice but to declare bankruptcy. When I was finally able to get another job and get back on my feet, I had to open a checking account for direct deposit which was required by my employer. I went to several banks to open an account & as soon as I told them that I had filed bankruptcy, they informed me they would not open an account for me. I wasn't asking for a loan, just a place to put my money. Finally after 3 banks, I asked the CS rep, what does a person do if they find themselves in my situation. She very quietly told me "Go to Compass." I did. They were very professional, respectful, and helpful. That was over 10 years ago. I've never looked back. If a problem comes up, I call them. Each and every time they have worked with me to resolve the situation. And if it's their mistake (one time it really was), they apologize and fix it! Wow! What a concept!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Vdroke's Profile Image

Reviewed by Vdroke

Jul 11th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

I've never had a bad experience with Compass Bank.

Several years ago after a experiencing a job/financial loss, I had no choice but to declare bankruptcy. When I was finally able to get another job and get back on my feet, I had to open a checking account for direct deposit which was required by my employer. I went to several banks to open an account & as soon as I told them that I had filed bankruptcy, they informed me they would not open an account for me. I wasn't asking for a loan, just a place to put my money. Finally after 3 banks, I asked the CS rep, what does a person do if they find themselves in my situation. She very quietly told me "Go to Compass." I did. They were very professional, respectful, and helpful. That was over 10 years ago. I've never looked back. If a problem comes up, I call them. Each and every time they have worked with me to resolve the situation. And if it's their mistake (one time it really was), they apologize and fix it! Wow! What a concept!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Randy M's Profile Image

Reviewed by Randy M

Jan 15th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Very Good Bank With Understanding People

This is the best bank i've had so far. They may not have lots of locations over the US, but they make up for it in the way your treated as a customer and not another acct. I would highly recommend this bank to anyone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Michael G's Profile Image

Reviewed by Michael G

Jun 2nd 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank To Do Business With

I have been a customer of bbva compass for 8+ years. I have both a checking and savings account and my local branch is less than a mile from my home. Although i rarely have to go to the physical bank, i actively use the online banking. Whenever i have a question, i can pick up the phone and call and get my question answered. I have never paid an overdraft fee to compass because i'm a good money manager. It's not the bank's fault when you can't manage your money properly. Most of the staff know me by sight, when on the rare occasions i do frequent the bank and are very helpful and courteous.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

KAKindig's Profile Image

Reviewed by KAKindig

Mar 26th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

great

The best thing about the Cedar Park branch is their banker,Kelsey.She is very helpful and knowledgeable.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ENicole's Profile Image

Reviewed by ENicole

Nov 13th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Great Bank, Great People, Always A Great Experience!

I've never been to a bank where the employees know you by name and always ask about how you are doing. Yes, there are monthly fees but they were very clear in what i needed to do to avoid them when i opened my accounts. The fees don't really bother me since i am able to meet the requirements to avoid them. Plus, i've banked with chase before and they, as well as many other banks, also charge a fee unless you meet their requirements. Also, whenever i've received a mysterious fee on my account, they have always reversed it if it was their fault, which is great.

They are on a real time system now which is great because all your checks will post to your account right away. You just have to be careful because debits will always post before credits coming in. So if you have a direct deposit coming in and your account is looking low, watch out because you may go in the negative and be susceptible to a fee. Overall, people are saying that they are going to leave compass for another bank, but those people must be pretty ignorant, because all banks these days are going to charge you the same exact fees. Stick around and get to know your bank and its employees and maybe you will have a better experience rather than jumping from bank to bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jfw1948z's Profile Image

Reviewed by jfw1948z

Jan 9th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

great customer service

Anytime I have needed anything, they have been there to help. When my husband died recently, they had many staff members ready to help me change over my checking account to my name, advise on investment ideas for his life insurance policy and provide general support. I would highly recommend them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Dello's Profile Image

Reviewed by Dello

Aug 30th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Good! free if you keep 1500 or more in your account

Since BBVA took over, I have gotten many notices raising the minimum account limit, or else pay a fee. I obliged, putting more money in, time after time. I hope these notices don't keep coming, because that is unusable money, if it must stay in there to avoid a fee. Otherwise, this is the perfect bank for keeping small amounts (or more). With a 1,500 minimum, your account stays free.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kda's Profile Image

Reviewed by kda

May 5th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Best CD Rates. A Bit Clumsy But Worth It For The Great Rate.

They offered the best cd rate i could find, hands down. Ok, when 1. 25% is good, the country is in trouble but in this day and age that rate on a cd is actually pretty generous.

The good. Quicken 2011 can easily and readily access all of my compass bank accounts to help me keep track of my current balances. I like that my account is readily accessible on line. Quickly and easily. They were polite and the branch closest to me is large, has plenty of easy parking and is very comfortable. It "looks" successful.

Cons: (none were big enough to make me reconsider them or my decision to bank with them). I keep my primary checking and savings account at a big national bank. Compass bank could / would not take the money for the cd out of my main banking account using electronic transfer (ach). So i wrote them a check. No big deal i guess, just surprising. Then i wanted the monthly interest from my cd deposited to my main banking account by check or using ach (like all my other cds at other banks do each month) but compass could not or would not do that for me either.

I didn't want the monthly checks mailed to me to bother with, so to gain access to the interest payments (which i did not want added to the value of the cd) i opened a compass bank checking account. (no fees, my cd is large enough for me to avoid all fees). I neither wanted or needed another checking account. All the activity that checking account sees is a monthly cd interest deposit. But i can use the accumulated interest to write a check for my property taxes once each year so it'll work out. I was just astounded that they could not / would not use ach to help me move money around electronically from bank to bank.

I've banked all over the country and never ran across this before. The fellow who helped me get this all set up entered the wrong spelling for my first name and that took a week or so to get corrected so it came up correctly on records, but otherwise, zero significant issues.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Steven L's Profile Image

Reviewed by Steven L

Jan 28th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Friendly Branch Service, Prompt responses

I have been with BBVACompass since May 2010. I have had no problems with them whatsoever. My deposits are posted timely with all checks being available within 2 business days (the day you deposit plus one). ACH transactions are credited quickly.

Their online billpay service isn't the best especially if they send paper checks instead of electronic credits. They mail the paper checks too early so they arrive at least two days before the scheduled payment date. Just be warned about that. The one time that happened to me they did reverse the fee from the check being deposited before the payment date. (Which I don't know how somebody gets away with depositing a check before the date on it. Whenever I've received post dated checks the banks won't touch them until the pay date).

I didn't sign up for their automatic overdraft protection. It's a rip off no matter where you bank.

I also opened up a savings account using their partnership with Smartypig and have been very pleased with the ease of building up my savings and achieving my savings goals. I rated their bank rates as good because Smartypig pays a good rate of interest for a savings account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Vincent  G's Profile Image

Reviewed by Vincent G

May 31st 2010

4 out of 5 marks

Compass is a great bank ! Keep track of your money and you will be fine. Great service no fees for me anyway

This is a great company ! They have kept all their words, never been charged a fee for anything. I have a build to order checking account , a Build my saving account and a optimizer credit card from Compass. There was even on time where i had a 25.00 transfer from my checking to my savings account and did not have the money but no fee was charged . The staff at my branch are great Killeen Texas . To top it all off they always remember me and I have only been to my branch about six times ! Their website is a lot better than it used to be I have had Bank of America since I was 15 i am 32 now . I switched when my 65 year old mother recommended me to them . Her checking saving credit cards mortgage are all through compass . I have to agree they have been VERY good to me as a new customer. One thing you do have to do is KEEP TRACK OF YOUR MONEY . That is with any bank Keep a register if you can prove where and when you're deposits and debits come from they can help you if not well , I cant feel sorry for you because you should know where you're money is coming and going from . Their fees are to prevent you from impulse or fraud and EVERY bank charges them . I have always been good with money , So i guess you cant really appreciate a bank like this unless you are frugal and proactive with you're money . If not you will be complaining and berating every single bank you have until you end up with a online bank card with no bank whatsoever .

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Cassie's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cassie

Feb 28th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Excellent Service, Friendly!!! Suprised with Rating?

I am shocked to see the low rating. I love this bank, and employees! They have always gone out of their way to help me throughout my many years. They are so friendly, always smiling. They are always quick, while still friendly. I even pulled up a little late doors where getting ready to be locked, rushing straight from work, and he unlocked the door and let me make my transaction. I was so appreciative...The thought of ever going to another bank, gives me anxiety.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ralph m's Profile Image

Reviewed by ralph m

Jul 26th 2010

4 out of 5 marks

fine

recent merger unsatisfactorily changed terms for accounts. the branch level made it right

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

aiamsam's Profile Image

Reviewed by aiamsam

Jun 24th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

worse than I thought

now I get a call from the manager saying you were short and that our teller is right. How the heck can I be short when I checked and rechecked before handing it to my agent. Mysteriously three $100 bills are exactly missing. great job Compass and here I have been with you all for 13 years with 16-18 accounts. hmmm! time to close these accounts and move on maybe.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

aiamsam's Profile Image

Reviewed by aiamsam

Jun 24th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

bad

sent my agent to make a few deposits and after counting the money 3 times in front of my agent the teller had the nerve to tell me the deposit was short. The teller mixed the checks and cash from different accounts and handed back a deposit slip with some money saying this deposit is short. I am told I am $300 short where I know I was not short. terrible service at this branch.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review