B+ MyBankTracker Rating

BBVA Compass Bank Customer Reviews

(137 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 18
4 Star 3
3 Star 5
2 Star 13
1 Star 98

The Most Helpful BBVA Compass Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Miika Jun 9, 2015

Crowley Branch Location

The employees of this location are some of the most friendliest and helpful and accommodating people I have ever met at any bank branch. They are very knowledgeable of their services and are always presenting them. Even if one doesn't need the service, it doesn't hurt to know of it because one may be able to share that the bank provides such services with friends who may need that service. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful always. The music, if any, is not loud and intrusive and does not inhibit one's thoughts as in some bank locations. The wait time is not noticeable because there is barely any, if any at all. One is in and out of this location even at Christmas time which is one of the busiest times of any season. They are highly efficient in their job performance and take customer service seriously. I always enjoy going into this location. The treat you like family by talking to you while performing whatever service that you need. The employees are to be commended for being people oriented. BBVA Compass Bank has chosen its employees well for this location and its business.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Jackhecker Apr 10, 2014

Extremely bad. Took over $78.00 from my account that was inactive for 2 weeks!

First time I found out about the "service charge" was when my account was dormant for 2 weeks. Next thing I new was a debt collector wanted $276.00. When I went to Weatherford branch and discussed with the managers assistant, I found out that they used an overdraw rule on my account that was dormant which bumped the $ balance of my account from +$44 down to a negative -$276.00. What a sorry bank. You would be better off trusting your money in a tin can. Be forewarned this is a vicious money grabbing bank that isn't worth it.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest BBVA Compass Bank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By meadow Jul 17, 2016

    very poor customer service

    Right now Compass is advertising a 1 year CD on its website. It is only available on its website. Despite being an account holder for over 25 years, spending a couple of hours trying to apply for this CD, moving a significant amount of money to Compass to fund the CD- after 4 days on hold they told me the CD was not approved because they could not verify my identity. Let me say that again, I have had a checking account at the bank for 25 years. They could not tell me why they couldn't verify my identity. They told me to contact the local branch which told me to call the toll free corporate headquarters which told me to contact the local branch- an endless loop with no resolve.
    Needless to say, my saving are going elsewhere. And given the other reviews maybe that's a good thing since it sounds like they are bad about letting you have your own money back.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By Crossbend925 Jun 15, 2016

    What customer service?

    This bank has no communication between the main offices and the branches, and doesn't care that their customer service is terrible. Today the person waiting on me was waiting on customers in the drive-up, waiting on walk-in customers, and answering the phone. The walk-in person was NOT priority. I made a deposit and asked to be issued a debit card. He said that he would do that around taking care of the other customers.

    He then pulled up my account and asked if I wanted the debit card for the personal account or the business account. The business account has been closed for 17 years!!

    He then asked in we still lived at an address at which we lived 21 years ago. I told him that Compass Bank has had our correct address for 19 years, since we bought the house in which we live. We get our statements there every month. He argued that they did not have the current address. I asked for my drivers license back - he needed it to issue the debit card - and I just switched banks.

    Add in the fact that they are closed on Saturday, it is no wonder that the banks around them are always busy, and they have very few customers.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bjjack02 Jun 11, 2016

    BBVA Compass is a HORRIBLE financial institution

    Let me start by saying that if there was a way to give zero or negative stars, I would've done that. I've only been a member of BBVA for a little over a month and have never experienced such horrible customer service, incompetent people and poor online banking.

    Since I've joined this horrible excuse for a financial institution, they have yet to send me a debit card for my account, which they said they would do in an email to me within 10 business days. It's been over a month now. When I called customer service, a woman with a poor attitude told me that the branch representative must have misinformed me...although I signed up for the account online and I was sent an email with this information.

    And, logging on to online banking has been a nightmare. After several attempts to change my temporary password and view my account, I gave up because I consistently received a "fatal error" message.

    If you are considering joining this bank, run for the hills and don't let these incompetent people manage your money. Learn from my mistake.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LWilliams Feb 22, 2016

    Not bad

    I had a decent experience here. I had an appointment to open a business account with an account manager and when I showed up he had already left before our appointment. Kevin Cho was the Financial Sales Advisor who I ended up speaking to about opening a business account for my Tax prep business. His customer services was efficient and he was very helpful. I opened the account here because of Kevin Cho. Thanks

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Pcook Jan 8, 2016

    Take your Hoola Hoop

    I've not received such poor service in a long time. When I opened the CD, they were very willing to take my money. When it came time to close the account, the banker made me "jump thru hoops", -- thus my comment "Take your Hoola Hoop". I had all the necessary documents with me, but when I asked to close the account, the banker told me he would have to contact their legal department, and he'd get back in touch with me. I asked how long it would take to get an answer, and was told "usually only one or two days". That was such a joke for such a simple, and routine situation.

    In the meantime, I drove to another bank in town to close an account there. They took copies of the death certificate, and the letter appointing me personal representative. I had a check in my hands within 5 minutes. They are true professionals.

    I'm not sure if the banker at Compass is only a "junior banker", or if he is not allowed to make any simple decisions, or he is not allowed to make a quick phone call to his legal department. No matter what the reason, I did not receive professional treatment like I receive at other banks in Ft. Collins, CO.

    My advice to anyone reading this -- TAKE YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tblack4ever Dec 28, 2015

    Customer service is not their strong suite

    When I recently tried to open a checking account at this location I was astounded by the lack of professionalism by the bank manager. When I presented my payroll check to open my account, the manager wanted to put a full 7 day hold on my check. He refused to offer any other solution; in today's banking where a check clears the bank electronically in moments. He didn't offer to check on the issuing bank, or give me partial access to my money. He was also making a lot of unacceptable jokes about the situation and how foolish I was to think I could, and should be able to access my funds within a more reasonable time frame. I have never been so turned off by a business professional. I walked out and took my money with me. This is NOT full service banking in my opinion.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kellynaples Nov 3, 2015

    Horrible

    I had identity theft and someone stole my social security number and opened an account at this bank. The bank was NOT helpful, would not provide me with any information, etc. Now three weeks later (After I reported the fraud) they still are changing my address on the account and they will not provide me with any information. I definitely would not use this bank for anything. Plus I have emailed the fraud department at the bank and have asked for a supervisor to call me to talk to them about the problems and I have not heard from them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By russellg Nov 3, 2015

    they will rip you off

    I had a CD with them, when it came due I was out of state. When I got back to check it had rolled over into another CD it paid about what a saving account would pay (I was 2 weeks late in getting it out). They had CD that were paying about what I was getting. If I was to withdraw the CD the penalty was 1000 times the interest I had received and than some. (That is more than the CD would ever generate) Loan sharks would not charge those kind of fees. My only recourse now is to wait for maturity and write bad reviews.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By apeng228 Oct 21, 2015

    The Worst And the Most Unprofessional

    by Andy P. on 10/21/2015
    The worst and most unprofessional ! buyer of my house used this home loan service. This lender postponed closing date 4 times. As a result, I lost my Earnest Money of $9000 on the house I was trying to buy

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By ddd6969 Oct 9, 2015

    On-line banking

    Totally disgusted with online banking, setup a transfer to another bank and found out that a week later that they had done nothing to transfer the funds. I made two calls to customer service, in the first one they verified both the account and routing number, in the second call they verified the account number and said they didn't have access to the routing number. Their online facility for entering account & routing numbers is the worst I've ever seen, they use the same type of security you usually see when you enter a password (enter character, it flashes then is replaced by a '*') so you never get a chance to verify the numbers after you put them in. Finally I was so disgusted that I went in got a cashiers check and deposited online at my other bank. I've decided never to deposit any amounts that I will eventually transfer to the other bank, I'll deposit them in the other bank and if necessary transfer them to compass bank. One last note, the people at the local bank are the most friendly and helpful that I've encountered at any bank in a long, long time.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.