B MyBankTracker Rating

Bank of the West Customer Reviews

(65 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 2
3 Star 2
2 Star 5
1 Star 51

The Most Helpful Bank of the West Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By JILLBROWN Sep 4, 2015

Best customer service

I have done business with Bank of the West on 4th St. in Santa Rosa, CA for over twenty years. Their customer service is consistently outstanding. Most of the tellers have taken the time to learn my name and always greet me in a friendly, professional manner. I recently had some difficulty because I closed an account, not realizing there were a couple of outstanding drafts. The teller got the manager involved and he waived the fee I had been charged and went above and beyond in making sure everything was taken care of. I can't say enough good things about the staff at this branch. Highly recommended.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Mary C. Feb 6, 2014

I have a car loan with Bank of the West

The customer service at Bank of the West is poor to say the least. The agents, IF you can understand what they are saying, do not do what they're supposed to do. I have been waiting for a letter to be faxed to my local DMV from Bank of the West for days now. This has been holding up registering my car. The letter was correcting their address. The original letter that was included with the title of my car to the DMV had the WRONG address on it. You would think whoever wrote the letter would type the correct mailing address of their institution. Instead, they put the title release department's address. Trying to get this rectified is a nightmare! Also, I've had my car loan with them since 2009. They have my middle initial wrong. I have asked them to change it for about a year with no luck. I have stopped trying.
Dealing with them is frustrating. The managers are no better. They're rude and unhelpful. I will be glad when the car is paid off and I don't have to deal with them anymore.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Bank of the West Reviews

  • B
    Reviewed By bbinns76 Dec 26, 2015

    Mortgage Loan through Montclair Branch in Oakland, CA

    I have had only one experience with Bank of the West and this experience involves attaining a mortgage loan through the Montclair Branch in Oakland, California. My overall experience was very poor with heavy emphasis toward the loan officer with this branch. I found the loan approval process to lack transparency, the loan officer to be incapable of providing any effective guidance throughout the process, and the bank as a whole unacceptable in its inability to communication information among all touch points in the loan application/approval process.

    In determining if a potential client qualifies for a particular mortgage loan, one would expect the bank to be able to communicate a strong estimate within a reasonable amount of time. In my experience with Bank of the West, it took over two months before the bank was able to provide any response to my application. A significant amount of money was spent during these two months to push the loan application forward (e.g. appraisal, inspection, etc...). The initial response I received from the bank, post two months, was an acceptance letter by mail. The property seller and I (the buyer) both made plans for next steps after receiving the approval letter. Two days later, I was then contacted by the loan officer, via my agent, that the loan was denied. In investigating what happened throughout the process and why the confounding results took place, the loan officer had absolutely no input. The loan officer showed no knowledge of the process, how to identify and resolve issues, nor what to expect in the outcome.

    I was strongly disappointed with my experience with Bank of the West (Montclair Office) and I strongly urge others to avoid this bank, this branch, and certainly the corresponding loan officer.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By belletuckerman Nov 16, 2015

    Bank of the West, 4400 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach-a bank to avoid if you want good service

    We joined this bank in January of 2015 with several accounts in banking and brokerage areas.
    Since that time we have encountered several experiences of considerable apathy and lack of attention to our banking and investment needs.

    We are quite dissatisfied with the service of this bank and are currently making arrangements to move all our accounts to another institution.

    We feel that the team we worked with should know that without good customer service no business, including a big banking organization, can exist.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bankwestttt Oct 22, 2015

    Bad Customer Service

    Avoid! Avoid! Avoid! Very Bad Customer service - This is the third time this has happened TO US at The Bank of the West 27011 McBean Pkwy Valencia, CA 91355 We have many Complaints against the current employees and the Bank Manager Patrick Rodriguez who has done NOTHING to current the problem with Very Bad Customer service of it's employees:
    Alisha Martin Teller unprincipled - dishonorable, unscrupulous NO-Confidence,- Failing to greet customers when they walk in the door.We as a customer that is not acknowledged upon entering the business - Avoiding eye contact - Socializing with other employees when we as customers are present. NOT being very courtesies. - but consistently being VERY RUDE!!! Yelling at us when we try to discuss our account. bad-mouthing - The Bank in front of our several Children. This was the same Complaint against the employee Ciara Cooper Loan Officer who was TERMINATED!!!! We contacted Customer Service Main Office There Response was Bank Manager Patrick Rodriguez who has done NOTHING!!! Who does NOT CARE!!! About the banks customer service in relationship to the Banks employees. What Bank Allows employees to openly show off and brag about there TATTOOS Patrick Rodriguez ALLOWS this who has done NOTHING it looks very bad and distasteful especially in front of the Children. Customer Service Main Office has referred us to this District Manager GEORGE MEUGERIAN 16027 Ventura Blvd Encino , CA. 91436 818-742-1160 WHO ALSO HAS DONE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!! Avoid! Avoid! Avoid! Very Bad Customer service!!!!!!!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AOtero_14 Oct 18, 2015

    Worst place to work, La Cueva branch albuquerque NM

    Working at this branch was the worst career choice I could have ever done, I don't know how the customer service manager got hired she treats her workers like crap, making us dread to come into work, I have been a manager for years and would never treat my employees the way she does. She has her few favorites making it very clear who they are and the others you know who you are and makes it miserable for you, working in a place like that the customers can see not giving them the best service. I hope management changes there because I have never been at a place to where I just look at the clock till it's time to go home then just get in my car and cry everyday.

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lilibet2 Oct 1, 2015

    Violation of State and Federal Banking and Personnel laws

    This particular branch, and the bank as a whole, repeatedly violate Federal and State banking laws and practices with regard to both consumer and business accounts, but also have recently been hit with violations of the RICO Act here in the State of CO. Their parent company, located in France (BNP Paribas) was hit with a £10 billion fine this past year for violation of Federal banking law. Not only that, the bank manager berated an employee while I was in that branch in front of bank customers. STAY AWAY.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Blackswan Sep 24, 2015

    Worst Customer Service! Management is very Disrespectful

    I closed my business account with bank of the west and a deposit had got sent to the closed account. I called to TRY and resolve the issue and spoke to Marsala who hung up on me. I was then connected to Alicia Delacruz who referred to herself as the area manager and would not allow me to explain the situation and said she would not tolerate her employees being threatened and was calling the cops and then hung up in my face. When I called back to get a phone number for anyone who could help in resolving the issue I was advised to stop calling or they would have me charged with harassment. I was then contacted by police asking if I threatened to shoot Marsala.

    The entire situation was ludicrous. Marsala was not threatened in anyway. Alicia Delacruz, the area manager, has absolutely no problem solving skills and has no problem hanging up on a customer. I was unsuccessful in resolving the original dispute and could not get phone numbers to an individual that would help me resolve it. The agent Marsala and management at the Rancho Cucamonga Branch treat customers very poorly. I have advised all family, friends, and business partners to not continue banking with this institution and advise all reading this to NOT BANK HERE

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JILLBROWN Sep 4, 2015

    Best customer service

    I have done business with Bank of the West on 4th St. in Santa Rosa, CA for over twenty years. Their customer service is consistently outstanding. Most of the tellers have taken the time to learn my name and always greet me in a friendly, professional manner. I recently had some difficulty because I closed an account, not realizing there were a couple of outstanding drafts. The teller got the manager involved and he waived the fee I had been charged and went above and beyond in making sure everything was taken care of. I can't say enough good things about the staff at this branch. Highly recommended.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Treedaddy Aug 19, 2015

    Please Please Please Avoid!

    I hate to say... But i realize courtesy and customer service is a thing of the past... And i can accept that and have come to expect this. I have banked at the bank of the west for years until now... I made an online purchase with a small company a few weeks ago. The day after, my card stopped working... I went to 3 places and card was declined. I went to my local branch and explained to the teller (who was polite) that maybe it was flagged and voided due to suspicion of fraud by them. He told me my card was "active", but would send me a new card in the mail. "it will arrive in 5 to 7 business days. " my card's worn down... Then i get a statement in the mail. "your card has been deactivated because you have suspected a fraudulent incident. We have tried unsuccessfully to contact you. " i never stated that at all. I thought they stopped the card (which of course i would appreciate in suspicion of fraud. ) i told them the purchase was made and cleared by me. (they also had all up to date contact info)

    i had a few automatic online billing accounts and was told since my card "stripe" was worn my payments with card number would go through. And after rejected payments starting to pile up, i of course realized this wasn't the case. I brought the card back in and explained to them. "we don't understand, your card is active. " went to gas station=0. Went to lunch=0. Netflix as well as others stating they can't process the card. And after 12 business days... No card in the mail. I had to carry cash around since then. I went to another botw location and asked this question: "my card is being declined at local stores. Will it be valid for my online billing? Will my payments clear? "
    the teller came back to say "if i understood you correctly, you asked if your card is still valid... And yes it is. "
    i closed my account today and went to another bank. When closing my account, the teller didn't ask why i was doing so. Not surprised. Even though i never comp

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Simone C. Jun 4, 2015

    Worst Home Loan Department

    We are a real estate office, and I've had the displeasure of working with Bank of the West for a home loan for one of our clients. The day before escrow was supposed to close, this bank's underwriter decided they needed more information. For about a week, the lender lied to us daily by telling us everyday that loan docs were coming in that day. We're now nearly 2 weeks after escrow should have closed, and still no loan docs. I've even tried calling and emailing the manager, but have not gotten a single response back. Our poor clients are now being charged an additional $80 per day due to this delay in closing. This is the single most worst experience I've had in dealing with a lender in the past 10 years. DO NOT use this bank for a home loan.

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lantruong Jun 3, 2015

    Employee fraud.

    Text opd, checking status on code number w642-5027 to 274637 or call (402) 996-8477 and say check status on a tip w642-5027, if asked fraud, please say yes. No harm done, thank you.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.