B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Bank of the West Customer Reviews

(71 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 2
2 Star 5
1 Star 56

The Most Helpful Bank of the West Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By dblake1 Feb 25, 2016

Great Service

I lost some statements from an account i closed out over six months ago. Now I need the statements.

The teller was very helpful. It took some time and effort on her part to deal with the problem I caused. She was efficient, cheerful, very helpful and tracked down the statementss for me.

My experience with this branch has always been positive. I appreciate being a customer there.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Mary C. Feb 6, 2014

I have a car loan with Bank of the West

The customer service at Bank of the West is poor to say the least. The agents, IF you can understand what they are saying, do not do what they're supposed to do. I have been waiting for a letter to be faxed to my local DMV from Bank of the West for days now. This has been holding up registering my car. The letter was correcting their address. The original letter that was included with the title of my car to the DMV had the WRONG address on it. You would think whoever wrote the letter would type the correct mailing address of their institution. Instead, they put the title release department's address. Trying to get this rectified is a nightmare! Also, I've had my car loan with them since 2009. They have my middle initial wrong. I have asked them to change it for about a year with no luck. I have stopped trying.
Dealing with them is frustrating. The managers are no better. They're rude and unhelpful. I will be glad when the car is paid off and I don't have to deal with them anymore.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Bank of the West Reviews

  • T
    Reviewed By tbird Aug 25, 2016

    Just terrible

    I have a lease through Bank of West and they are the most difficult company/people to deal with. First off, to make a lease payment you have to call in and use one of the payment sheets from this little check book thingy that you get in the mail, do they know that there is this handy dandy thing called the internet??? When you call in and try to use their automated system to make payment you have to input your account #, which the system never recognizes. Then your transferred to an agent who is unpleasant at best but mostly downright rude. I have asked each agent, every month I make a payment, why the automated system doesn't recognize my account and they always have the same response; "I'm sorry, but I can help you make your payment". How about answering my question!?!?!
    Secondly...I recently moved to another state and need a power of attorney to register both of my vehicles as they are both leased. When I called on another vehicle, financed through a different bank, I told them that I have moved and that I need said power of attorney, their response..."no problem, we'll get that handled for you, would you like it mailed to your address or the DMV?"
    Next I had to call Bank of the West for the same power of attorney. The agent I got to acted like I was speaking Russian and basically had no idea what I was talking about. She then said I need to get a form from the DMV in my new state and fax it to them, WRONG! There is no form to fax to you!!!!
    I will never finance or lease anything that requires me to use this bank again in my life, they are absolutely the worst!!!! They don't even deserve the one star they got but I couldn't rate them a zero....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dexlis Jun 15, 2016

    worst bank ever- Bank of the West

    This is the worst bank ever. I would give them zero 0's if I could. They have sent me 3 different debit cards over the past month. all different numbers. They cancel my card all the time for no reasons. They claim that they call me first. They have never called. They claim that it is illegal to call a cell phone only a land line. Who has a land line?. I spoke to my other bank and they say that it is not illegal. I have all of my payments set up on auto pay so they are bouncing all over the place. When you ask them, all they say is that all you need to do is call the 1 800 number. They do not care. Run from this one! it took me a year to switch everything over to this bank. Big regrets as I have to start all over and transfer everything out of Bank of the West

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By vtomkovicz Apr 18, 2016

    Lying cheating incompetent

    Have an auto loan that I spent four months trying to gey on automatic debit, they finally debited my checking account twice in the same month. Service center clerks in Omaha Nebraska are lying and incompetent. They cannot return the second debit in a timely manner. They play with your interest charged when you send in additional loan payments and you MUST watch each payment you make online to insure they do NOT charge you interest on payments made in advance rather than credit your loan in the full amount made as an additional payment. Basically it's a bank game to increase their income and stall with refunds rightfully due to the their customers. I'm sure FEDERAL REGULATORS will love the scenario once reported. There are no bank officers who will talk to you, just clerks who read from scripts and have no authority. Deal with another reputable bank unless you want ripped off......

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mustangdustin Mar 5, 2016

    Bank of the west

    Piss Poor service bank teller holds grudges and messes with your checks does not tell you that there's going to be on hold on the bank of the west check deposit from bank of the west into a bank of the West account horrible I will be leaving this company Hate bank of the west bad company do not get an account with these people

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dblake1 Feb 25, 2016

    Great Service

    I lost some statements from an account i closed out over six months ago. Now I need the statements.

    The teller was very helpful. It took some time and effort on her part to deal with the problem I caused. She was efficient, cheerful, very helpful and tracked down the statementss for me.

    My experience with this branch has always been positive. I appreciate being a customer there.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Buckinghamjaclyn Feb 23, 2016

    Never Again

    I have had a loan out with Bank of the West for a couple years now for my car. I always make my payments on time (with autopay). Recently I had to change checking accounts due to fraud. I went online and after painstakingly being redirected from site to site to site I was finally able to log in and make my December payment with my new account number. Nowhere on the webpage does it state that adding your account online will not apply it to future payments. Fast forward two months and I get a call from collections saying (quite rudely) that my payments are past due. This was the first call I ever received from BOW and they talked to me like a criminal on the run. I try to explain the situation to the collections agent that I had actually added my payment account online and he informed me that in order to change autopays you have to MAIL IN a PAPER packet with a voided check. I'm sorry, but I thought this was 2016 and we had the internet now. Also, nowhere on the website does it say that adding your account online only works for one time payments. Here I am, a loyal customer who did what I thought I needed to do to make payments on time and now I take a hit on my credit and I'm stuck with late fees. I talked to customer service who was nicer than Steve the collections tyrant but she had no autonomy to make it up to me. I had to wait on hold for 15 minutes and go through 3 different departments before I could talk to anyone. You can't make any changes online (address, phone, etc) they practice archaic processes, and didn't even call my cell ONCE before sending me to collections and damaging my credit. Never again will I do business with these guys. It's too hard to be a good customer and I want to work with a company that has adapted to technology and actually rights its own wrongs. Take better care of your loyal clients who have many many banking options. Looking forward to refinancing with someone else.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bbinns76 Dec 26, 2015

    Mortgage Loan through Montclair Branch in Oakland, CA

    I have had only one experience with Bank of the West and this experience involves attaining a mortgage loan through the Montclair Branch in Oakland, California. My overall experience was very poor with heavy emphasis toward the loan officer with this branch. I found the loan approval process to lack transparency, the loan officer to be incapable of providing any effective guidance throughout the process, and the bank as a whole unacceptable in its inability to communication information among all touch points in the loan application/approval process.

    In determining if a potential client qualifies for a particular mortgage loan, one would expect the bank to be able to communicate a strong estimate within a reasonable amount of time. In my experience with Bank of the West, it took over two months before the bank was able to provide any response to my application. A significant amount of money was spent during these two months to push the loan application forward (e.g. appraisal, inspection, etc...). The initial response I received from the bank, post two months, was an acceptance letter by mail. The property seller and I (the buyer) both made plans for next steps after receiving the approval letter. Two days later, I was then contacted by the loan officer, via my agent, that the loan was denied. In investigating what happened throughout the process and why the confounding results took place, the loan officer had absolutely no input. The loan officer showed no knowledge of the process, how to identify and resolve issues, nor what to expect in the outcome.

    I was strongly disappointed with my experience with Bank of the West (Montclair Office) and I strongly urge others to avoid this bank, this branch, and certainly the corresponding loan officer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By belletuckerman Nov 16, 2015

    Bank of the West, 4400 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach-a bank to avoid if you want good service

    We joined this bank in January of 2015 with several accounts in banking and brokerage areas.
    Since that time we have encountered several experiences of considerable apathy and lack of attention to our banking and investment needs.

    We are quite dissatisfied with the service of this bank and are currently making arrangements to move all our accounts to another institution.

    We feel that the team we worked with should know that without good customer service no business, including a big banking organization, can exist.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bankwestttt Oct 22, 2015

    Bad Customer Service

    Avoid! Avoid! Avoid! Very Bad Customer service - This is the third time this has happened TO US at The Bank of the West 27011 McBean Pkwy Valencia, CA 91355 We have many Complaints against the current employees and the Bank Manager Patrick Rodriguez who has done NOTHING to current the problem with Very Bad Customer service of it's employees:
    Alisha Martin Teller unprincipled - dishonorable, unscrupulous NO-Confidence,- Failing to greet customers when they walk in the door.We as a customer that is not acknowledged upon entering the business - Avoiding eye contact - Socializing with other employees when we as customers are present. NOT being very courtesies. - but consistently being VERY RUDE!!! Yelling at us when we try to discuss our account. bad-mouthing - The Bank in front of our several Children. This was the same Complaint against the employee Ciara Cooper Loan Officer who was TERMINATED!!!! We contacted Customer Service Main Office There Response was Bank Manager Patrick Rodriguez who has done NOTHING!!! Who does NOT CARE!!! About the banks customer service in relationship to the Banks employees. What Bank Allows employees to openly show off and brag about there TATTOOS Patrick Rodriguez ALLOWS this who has done NOTHING it looks very bad and distasteful especially in front of the Children. Customer Service Main Office has referred us to this District Manager GEORGE MEUGERIAN 16027 Ventura Blvd Encino , CA. 91436 818-742-1160 WHO ALSO HAS DONE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!! Avoid! Avoid! Avoid! Very Bad Customer service!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AOtero_14 Oct 18, 2015

    Worst place to work, La Cueva branch albuquerque NM

    Working at this branch was the worst career choice I could have ever done, I don't know how the customer service manager got hired she treats her workers like crap, making us dread to come into work, I have been a manager for years and would never treat my employees the way she does. She has her few favorites making it very clear who they are and the others you know who you are and makes it miserable for you, working in a place like that the customers can see not giving them the best service. I hope management changes there because I have never been at a place to where I just look at the clock till it's time to go home then just get in my car and cry everyday.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.