A MyBankTracker Rating

Banner Bank Customer Reviews

(10 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 1
3 Star 1
2 Star 1
1 Star 7

The Most Helpful Banner Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Henry's H. Apr 1, 2014

I have found the customer service to be fantastic!

This bank has gone above and beyond to help our small business grow. They've sent us business ideas, contacts and even had us do a display in their lobby. They've called us and helped us the best they could with cash flow and have even picked up a deposit from us so we could meet a deadline. Service like this is a thing of the past. I couldn't be happier.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Kaprice Jul 24, 2015

rude customer service/ very unhelpful

I have had this bank for two years I have since moved out of state I have never had a bank take 3 weeks to issue a new debit card but I listened to the rude woman so then I call back and finally get the manager I asked for the first day and find out that I could have had my card shipped overnight the rude/ completely stupid employee I talked to did not even mention this I am irate and will never say a good thing about this bank it is awful if I could do 0 stars I would have

Is this review helpful?

Latest Banner Bank Reviews

  • 1
    Reviewed By 1pissedoffmom Apr 1, 2016

    Very unhelpful

    My card had been compromised, never received a call from the bank about the charges. Called the fraud line gave me the run around and that I needed to call my bank. Of coarse Banner bank is closed on the weekends, so had to wait until Monday. Went in on Monday filed a dispute form and was told it would take 5-7 days to be credited back. Well 5 days later still nothing, so called the bank to check on the status was told by another employee that it can take 1 to 2 weeks. When I asked them why I was never called about the charges and why they didn't stop my card. I was told that my account slipped through the cracks and that they were sorry. Well here I still wait for my account to be credited. Bank has no clue what they are doing. Horrible service. So now no money to my name and my family and I have to suffer. Never use Banner Bank HORRIBLE!

    Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hjablo Mar 8, 2016

    What A Third Rate Operation!

    I applied on line for a reward/cash back card. Banner pulled a credit report on me, reviewed my application and asked for additional information. I supplied them with this information promptly via fax. So, I get this email/message that the info. was too hard to read and was not sufficient enough (tax form and Oregon Drivers License), therefore I would have to find a branch and bring in more info. (signed), I emailed them back, stating that I was not going to run around anymore, just for a reward/cash back card. They emailed me back stating that they have strict guidelines, that must be adhered too. Note, I don't have a branch in my town, so even if I wanted their card, I would need to drive a fairly good distance, through freeway traffic to get to a branch. Keep in mind that they already have my credit report, the front page of my completed 2016 Federal Tax Return and my drivers license, yet they want more/easier to read documentation. I finally emailed them back requesting my documents be mailed back and I had no intention of driving anywhere to do business with them.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DebbieD13 Feb 16, 2016

    Line of Credit

    I was with American West Bank for over 8 years. Loved them. Then they were sold to Banner Bank. Had I know this was going to happen I would have closed my accounts. They have given terrible service. They paid one bill out of my saving account instead of my checking then told me they had nothing to do with it-blaming it on the creditor! The company did not and could not have had my saving account information, only myself and the bank did. I don't like a bank that won't take responsibility for it's mistakes.

    But the biggest problem I have is with my line of credit. I paid it off in full. A few days later they charged me another seventy-seven cents. I paid a dollar. They took the entire dollar and said I still owed a penny on the loan. So my loan is still not paid in full. I am very upset and contacts with them have been unfruitful. The situation is ongoing.

    Beware, I feel this bank has no integrity and behaves dishonestly. Do yourself a favor and bank elsewhere!

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dana2239 Feb 8, 2016

    Don't have your back

    I've been a credit union person all of my life. I was forced to open an account with Banner because of the affiliation with our business' lender. I am not a financially irresponsible person, but sometimes people write checks and give you the wrong amount. Sometimes numbers get transposed and occasionally a check doesn't have sufficient funds. In this case, I deposited funds that I believed to be enough to cover a check. I was $7.32 short. I realized it the same day and called immediately, ready to run down and cover the amount. Was Banner willing to be understanding and honor the check? Nope, they had already returned it. Were they willing to waive their fee for someone who hasn't had these issues in the past? Nope - $30, no willingness to be flexible. The people are friendly enough when you go into the branch, but this kind of lack of service is ridiculous. Oh yeah - that reminds me. I gave someone my name there a while back to ask about a construction loan and never got a call. Hmmm... not surprised.

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By Kaprice Jul 24, 2015

    rude customer service/ very unhelpful

    I have had this bank for two years I have since moved out of state I have never had a bank take 3 weeks to issue a new debit card but I listened to the rude woman so then I call back and finally get the manager I asked for the first day and find out that I could have had my card shipped overnight the rude/ completely stupid employee I talked to did not even mention this I am irate and will never say a good thing about this bank it is awful if I could do 0 stars I would have

    Is this review helpful?
  • Y
    Reviewed By Yourgoindown Aug 15, 2014

    Don't Waste Your Time

    Banner bank sends out advertisments to people's homes offering money to open an account. $75. is quite a chunk so my guess is they are in need of business. I applied online & was turned down. really? for a basic no fee no frills no nothing checking account that I was going to open with my own money...wow. If there are special requirements such as, must have excellent credit, be employed and not disabled then they should state it clearly in big bold letters at the top of their advertisments. I put that I was disabled & they do not have a section or anywhere to click on for that leading me to believe this bank does not cater to the disabled. I have never been denied a checking account with any bank and I have banked with Charles Schwab, BOA, Washington Mutual & Washington Trust. Much bigger corporations than Banner bank. I can see why they do not have good customer service nor do they have very many customers. I live accross the street from both Banner bank & two other leading banks. Banner's parking lot is always empty & I never see anyone inside. In fact, that is why I did not initally apply there when we moved to this state because they always looked closed. Well, I believe they also discriminate on who they want in their banks. Only stepford wives allowed perfect in every way. If not, move on.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By djeffries Jul 21, 2014

    Very poor customer service

    I have been banking with Banner Bank for a couple of years with not overdrafts of problems. I used Banner Banks smartphone app (official Banner Bank App promoted by bank) to make a deposit as I was leaving for vacation. I had used this process a couple of times before with no problem. This was used to move money from one of my bank account to another (available funds was never stated as a problem). The app involves submitting a photo of both the front and back of the check. When submitting the deposit the app show "submitted" as status. After reviewing, the app status gets changed to "accepted". I verified that the status was "Accepted" before leaving data coverage. When I returned on 7/19/2014, the status still showed "accepted" but the transaction was never processed. This resulted in overdraft fees of $120 plus the fees applied by the other banks that were declined. On 7/21/2014 I went to the branch to see what had happened. They said that they had questions about the check and had declined to process it. The teller told me that she didn't care what the app said, it didn't process and they weren't going to back off any charges. When I asked to speak to the manager I was asked to be seated. then a couple of minutes later the teller came back out and said that the manager "reviewed the case" and that they wouldn't make any changes. When asked if I could talk to her, I was told NO. When I returned home, I contacted the corporate office and was told it was up to the local branch manager. I did get a phone number for a regional supervisor (Marcello 425.739.1055), but he seams to not want to answer his phone.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By darren98901 May 12, 2014

    Don't Use Snapshot for deposits

    This was my second time to use snapshot. The first time I tried it was with two checks and it told me that the checks were already deposited. They were not. So I went to the bank to deposit them. The bank could not explain why I got that message. So on Saturday I got a check in the mail from my employer so I tried it again. I should have just driven to the bank to make the deposit I am still sitting at home with only $0.18 cents to my name.

    If I knew it was going to take this long, like I said, I would have driven to the bank on Saturday to deposit or just hold it till Monday morning to take care of it. Instead of waiting till what my bank balance says Tuesday morning.

    My ratings are just for this instance and service that Banner provides.

    Again, thanks for not using snapshot to make your deposits.

    Is this review helpful?
  • HH
    Reviewed By Henry's H. Apr 1, 2014

    I have found the customer service to be fantastic!

    This bank has gone above and beyond to help our small business grow. They've sent us business ideas, contacts and even had us do a display in their lobby. They've called us and helped us the best they could with cash flow and have even picked up a deposit from us so we could meet a deadline. Service like this is a thing of the past. I couldn't be happier.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jennifer Mar 13, 2013

    Horrible in bank customer service!

    I usually do all of my banking online, and for the most part am very pleased with Banner Bank. The problem is when you get a paper check that needs to be deposited. First I went to a location in NW Portland to find that it is closed, but still listed on their website brochure. Then went to the Downtown location and stood there for 10 minutes, 5 minutes of which noone even acknowledged me standing there. No teller working. Then a man says he'll be right out and proceeds to get on the phone. I ask the woman that had a client at her desk if I could make a deposit out at the ATM. No, I cannot and she's with someone. Duh. After standing there for 10 minutes while my friend drives around the block since there's no parking I left, got cash out of ATM, and now have to still get to a branch to put this check in!

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.