Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

939
Branch Locations

Capital One Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
TD Bank
Add
Bank Rates
HSBC Bank
Add
Compare Banks

Capital One Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Capital One Latest Customer Reviews

Guelfogc's Profile Image

Reviewed by Guelfogc

Nov 15th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

This Location Is Permanently Closed. Capital One Signs Gone.

This was my branch. It was open as normal week ago. Today nov 15 it is closed. Atm gone, front doors chained and padlocked, no capital one signs to be seen. What has happened to warrant this closure?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

musicman3204's Profile Image

Reviewed by musicman3204

Oct 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Convient/Best rewards

I've been with Capital One Bank for over two years now and a credit card customer for more than 10 years. I have never had a problem with this bank. It is super easy to avoid fees with this bank as I have never been charged a fee with them in my 2 year history. A few years back I had to move from one state to the other for work and ran low on funds.

The customer service representative with the credit card customer service refunded all of my late fees/overdraft fees and gave me a credit to give me a little extra money to spend on my big trip. The reason he gave me was simply because of my continued business Capital One wanted to reward my loyalty. I love the cash back on my credit card and I love the no hassle rewards points I earn simply for using my debit card.

I even earn no hassle rewards for using bill pay and writing checks or using the ATM. I am always rewarded for my continued support and business with Capital One. This bank is easy to do business with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

draiadam's Profile Image

Reviewed by draiadam

Jul 20th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

outstanding service and help

My credit is less than perfect but I was given a second chance by Capital One Bank first by having a personal and business credit cards approved, then I was very recently approved for a nice home loan with the lowest interest rate, and I look forward to apply for a business loan to boost my productivity and profits. I highly recommend that you give them a try if you thinking of it. I can't thank enough the Branch Manager Mr. Alleyne, and David Stiver and Larry Green at Capital one home loans. Dr. Adam. Brooklyn, NY.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

FancifullFish's Profile Image

Reviewed by FancifullFish

May 26th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Great Service!

I'm really liking capital one. They were the only ones to give me a chance and get a credit card. They also have great customer service! I'm thinking of closing the bank account i have with another bank and going with capital one. I also love the fact that if i just have a simple question, i can still call customer service and get a very kind representative.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HateCiti C's Profile Image

Reviewed by HateCiti C

Oct 13th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Honest, doesn't cheat you

I love capital one! I have a credit card, savings, money market, checking and CD from them. They are honest, reliable and don't try to screw you like others.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Sondra J's Profile Image

Reviewed by Sondra J

Jun 16th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Great customer service!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

stacey  c's Profile Image

Reviewed by stacey c

Apr 6th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

This is the bank for you!

My husband and I have been banking with c1 for 2 years and they are so friendly and courteous. They make it a point to be very engaging with our children while we are conducting business which is so helpful. If we ever even have a question about a fee they remove the fee because they operate under the policy that we shouldn't be charged for something if we haven't been properly informed. We moved from Bank of America where our checks were deposited in the wrong accts among other atrocity s. We love them and highly recommend this bank to everyone we know!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Michael J's Profile Image

Reviewed by Michael J

Jan 30th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

They truley treat you like family

I have nothing but good experences at this bank on Tech Ridge. The Branch Manager Sara is a very awesome and care person. Without them I would be dead, no joke.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 2

cyrus  k's Profile Image

Reviewed by cyrus k

Aug 5th 2009

5 out of 5 marks

Wow! What a great bank!

Great bank! Easy to set up an account with and to link other accounts to. The savings rate is great, better than ING

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Screamingwheelie's Profile Image

Reviewed by Screamingwheelie

May 5th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Simply perfect!

The other day I arrived with a hefty check (almost 6 figures), drawn off Capital One. Things went good, things went sideways, things got confusing and I got flustered.

I left bummed out, with a single cashier's check, and I went to another bank (Comerica) where I intended to deposit the check. My family has banked at this institution since the days of Caesar. The customer service at this bank location flat out sucked. The tight-jawed lady I spoke with was happy to inform me that they automatically place a 14-day hold on all checks, even cashier's checks. I thanked them and returned to Capital One.

I met the branch manager and a relationship banker, and I used this large check to open a checking and savings account at Capital One. It was probably the best banking decision I have ever made to date.

Free checking. Free overdraft protection. Next day funds availability. Free bill pay. Free checks (if you still use paper). Interest-bearing on checking and savings. Free ATMs worldwide. I can even freaking transfer Capital One to non-Capital One at no charge.

I am closing out my account with the "somber" people at the Comerica institution and am using my positive experience with Capital One to inform others.

The people at Capital One were polite, kind, respectful, they knew the laws, they offered solid advice, but best of all, instead of "nickel and diming" me the way most other banks do these days, they actually pay me interest to be a customer.

Common sense banking. What a concept. Oh, look - my funds are available.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Armando V's Profile Image

Reviewed by Armando V

Jun 19th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

More Than Excelent

Best experience ever

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

silver6054's Profile Image

Reviewed by silver6054

May 13th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Credit Card Customer Service Is Great, Banking Staff Responsive

I have had two credit cards with capital one for several years. No problems. They gave a generous credit limit and a low interest rate (i pay off each month anyway, but a low one is nicer to have) which they lower from time to time without me asking. Once i forgot to make a payment on time, and they refunded the late fee without any problem (and didn't report the late payment to any of the credit bureaus. )

the only thing that was annoying was that there was no way of setting up auto-pay on line (which is why one payment was late! ). You can request a form using the online account, but the form is sent to you via mail, and you have to sign and return it the same way. When my daughter set up an account a few months ago, she had to to do the same thing, but in the last few weeks they have finally added this feature online. I recently opened two online bank accounts with capital one, no problems there once i managed to get the accounts open. They have a lot of rules, and funding the initial deposit from my online bank of america account didn't work, so i had to send in a check. Took longer than i liked to set up, but now all is fine.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bryanrcampbell's Profile Image

Reviewed by bryanrcampbell

Apr 15th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

I switched from Wells Fargo which was not horrible, to CapitalOne which has seriously been a pleasure to bank with.

I switched from Wells Fargo which was not horrible, to CapitalOne which has seriously been a pleasure to bank with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ginger L's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ginger L

Dec 1st 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Love Them!

This bank really does help you to no end. They will listen and help you as much as possible if you are a valued customer that does good. I love them, and they have helped me learn and get through very frustating experiances with a smile and lead me out of it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Bipin V's Profile Image

Reviewed by Bipin V

Aug 22nd 2011

5 out of 5 marks

great online bank

I never had any bad experience with customer service. very prompt on the phone as well as online chat/ email response. very easy to transfer to and from my capitalone account to my bank of america checking account. iphone app support available. 1.10 %apr for savings , which is right at the very top of the current savings rates. Works perfectly for online savings bank purposes.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

b4u2's Profile Image

Reviewed by b4u2

Jul 15th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Never had a bad experience with Capital One

I got a fixed rate credit card from Capital One around 1990. While other banks are raising credit card interest rates and closing customer accounts, my rate has stayed below 10%. They have one if the highest rates available for their savngs account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Drew B's Profile Image

Reviewed by Drew B

May 6th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

It Was A Great Ride

I had been with chevy chase bank for my entire young adult life and part of my adult life when it became capitol one bank. I found their rates to be decent and their customer service to be excellent throughout my time with them. The only reason i'm leaving is because (as mentioned in other reviews) they are slow to innovate (i like being ahead of the curve) and their free checking is free but you don't make any money off of it because you don't get paid interest. So if you're looking for a bank to store your money, capital one is a great choice and they don't fall into the evil bank category. Just don't expect them to give you much more than they have to.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jonathan H's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jonathan H

Feb 9th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Joined because of the high rates and have stayed because of the rates. Overall, very happy.

Not the smoothest online banking interface. Making a transfer takes 3-4 screens. But when transferring money into a savings account it is credited the next business day. Transfers out are slow (3-4 business days). That's an extra business day from my other online savings accounts. But they consistently have the highest rates from large banks (especially when using a Costco account product).

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Zachary's Profile Image

Reviewed by Zachary

Jan 11th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Professional and convenient

I opened a checking account with capital one bank five months ago right before I left to Europe because a friend of mine told me about their cheap rates abroad. They do not charge any fees in overseas ATM machines, so I only paid two dollars per transaction- the fee charged by the bank I was withdrawing from. Their security was great and I had no problems overseas with my capital one account, whereas other banks can create quite a hassle for you, especially in Eastern Europe. My capital one credit card also did not charge a transaction fee, so i only paid for the exchange rate, which is the same as Amex. In terms of security, you must call the bank and tell them the countries you will be visiting so they do not lock up the account. their customer service was fast and professional.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

WilliamZoraster's Profile Image

Reviewed by WilliamZoraster

May 2nd 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Unique Financial Products and Good Service

I've been a Capital One banking customer since Capital One bought Chevy Chase Bank a few years back and have been pretty satisfied with my experience. Customer service is good; branches are usually fairly empty during the day when I stop in so they do a good job of giving me attention and not making me wait. My only gripe is that the customer service reps in branch can be a little pushy with credit card products if you don't already have one.

Capital One has a great branch and ATM network if you live in Northern Virginia, but it's difficult to find places to withdraw cash for free if you're traveling and I've paid more ATM fees over the years than I really care to.

One big plus is that Capital One has some unique checking products that have helped me to save a lot of money. Their Rewards Checking account helps me to earn about $50 back every year for making regular purchases on my debit and using my bank account to pay bills. That's just about the best return I've seen on a checking account so I've certainly been happy with it. Their redesigned online banking site is also very intuitive and convenient, definitely another plus for someone like me who does a lot of banking online.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rman's Profile Image

Reviewed by rman

May 23rd 2013

4 out of 5 marks

Love Them.

Johnny on the spot watching my credit card transactions.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bank2's Profile Image

Reviewed by bank2

Jun 6th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

trockyg2's Profile Image

Reviewed by trockyg2

Jul 14th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

Capitol One Credit Card Service

I have yet to try many of the advertised services that Capitol One offers but what I can say is that when I call with a question or a complaint they answer the call quickly, listen, work hard to resolve my issue, and make sure I am happy with the result. So far, I am happy with Capitol One.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

usmanity's Profile Image

Reviewed by usmanity

Apr 24th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Customer service is amazing, banking features are great, keeping track of things isn't so easy.

I've banked with many banks but I opened Capital One's Interest Online Checking for it's no minimum and interest offering.

Setting up the account, getting help from customer support, and get started overall was incredible easy and fun.

After about 4 months, I'm still a pretty content customer. They reimburse for 2 atm transactions every month which is pretty good for me. It does take about 5-8 days to see the reimbursement.

Two things that really have gotten me to not give this bank all 5's is the online experience and reporting transactions on time. In other banks like Wells Fargo or ING Direct, I see transactions within a few days at most. With Capital One's checking (both debit and credit transactions), I don't see it show up for at least 4-6 days. At the time of writing this, I'm waiting for an ACH transfer that was initiated 8 days ago.

Also, there's no mobile app and the website doesn't have a mobile version which makes it incredible hard to check my balance on the go. It's also extremely slow and hard to navigate the website.

I use mint.com for keeping up with my checking and savings accounts and Capital One's transactions are reported twice which throws off everything for me, so my spending and income are drastically skewed.

Overall, this bank is great for a casual customer but if you're looking to do a lot of transfers, keep up with it on your phone and on a financial site like mint.com or pageonce, this might be a hard to get used to bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bankster's Profile Image

Reviewed by Bankster

Mar 19th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Not that bad

InterestPlus Online Savings' web interface is not as good as Ally, but better than American Express's high-yield savings account. Supposedly transactions are not limited to 6 times a month (no fee) although if you abuse it, they might close an account. The rate is one of highest (1.20% like discover bank at this time) due to the 10% bonus. As with other high-yield savings accounts, do not use their external transfer service to deposit into since holding period is like a week. I have not yet contacted the customer service since I opened the account with them, so it may turn out as bad as other people say.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Allie E's Profile Image

Reviewed by Allie E

Apr 23rd 2010

4 out of 5 marks

Great Deisgns, Great Service

Capital One was my first credit cad when I was in college. My card has given me absolutely no trouble, and the company was great, even in the worst parts of the recession. They didn't lower my limit, much less close an account without telling me. And my interest rate remained steady. Additionally, it doesn't hurt that they have awesome card designs, including a design-your-own option and always-friendly customer service representatives. Anytime I need to leave the country or change a payment due date, they've been helpful and understanding.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GoldenOwl's Profile Image

Reviewed by GoldenOwl

Apr 19th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Great Credit Reporting.

This Bank is Awesome!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ejsimon S's Profile Image

Reviewed by ejsimon S

Mar 5th 2011

3 out of 5 marks

I have a Visa card with CapitalOne. I am happy with the rewards and overall I am satisfied with the bank. I have one small issue with alerts.

I have had an issue now for several months with Alerts. For a while I was not getting them and now I am getting some of them but not ALL. For example, I am getting alerts for small amounts over $50 but I had recent transactions for $1400 each and I did not receive any alerts.

I have emailed CapOne on this issue several times and each time I get the canned answer that they are aware of the problem and working on it. I wonder how long it will take.

I only have a Visa card with this bank, so I can't comment on any other services.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bob M's Profile Image

Reviewed by Bob M

Oct 12th 2010

3 out of 5 marks

Hit and miss

I have been to 5 different branches of Capitol One in my area. The ones at Trinity Mills/Toll Rd, Lewisville, and MacArthur are great. Exceptional customer service. The others at Old Denton and the one on Frankfort have the absolute worst customer service I have ever experienced. Unfortunately the later 2 are the closest to our home. So we are once again bank shopping. To bad these 2 branches are the cause for Capitol One losing my accounts. I wish Wachovia was still around.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Carolyn's Profile Image

Reviewed by Carolyn

Feb 6th 2010

3 out of 5 marks

Hopefully the interest rate will make it worth it

Switched my savings from BoA to Capital One to get the higher interest rate, but the costumer service has been disappointing. I was approved over the phone and told my account info would be sent to my local branch and I could go there to make the first deposit.

When I got to the branch the banker said I didn't have the required documents. He asked if the phone rep told me what to bring and when I said no, she'd just given me a confirmation number and said everything would be ready, he replied "Yeah. Sorry."

So now I get to go back.

Good interest on simple savings; poor use of time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review