B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Capital One Customer Reviews

(138 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 13
4 Star 5
3 Star 1
2 Star 10
1 Star 109

The Most Helpful Capital One Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By mnock May 14, 2016

Wonderful Branch Manager

I have been banking with Capital One at the Braeswood branch since it first opened, and I wanted to write this review because Michael Dawson is the best Branch Manager the bank has ever had. He is very professional, efficient, and personable. I am very sorry that this branch is closing. I really hope that Michael becomes the new manager at the location at Bissonnet at Chimney Rock. I know he would help us all make the transition easier.

Beth Nock

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By AJ N. Sep 19, 2013

Sucky

Crapitol None Is The Worst Bank in The World Do Not repeat do not Bank with them. They suck!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Capital One Reviews

  • B
    Reviewed By Beeware Jul 20, 2016

    Be very carefull before you do any business with them!!

    I had them as my mortgagee and business checking accounts for many years. I had never paid them late nor was my property under performing. I did have a few negatives on my credit report at that time. I called them to do a refinance of my property and was honest with them on why i wanted to do this. It was to clean up some debt that I had incurred due to a family members tragic accident that I suffered through for 2 years. I was completely honest with them and they sent my account to special assets and I was harassed for financials like I would have never imagined. I spent many years with them and sent them so much business but felt so betrayed at the time I needed them. I would never ever recommend using this bank. They have ZERO care for any customer no matter how long you have been with them. They put me through hell and back for a few months it was probably illegal but Im just a nice person and don't sue anyone. I would retire at my young age before I ever do any business whatsoever with them. I still have fear when I see their branches. Find a small local bank that cares

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pshults Jul 19, 2016

    Terrible customer service

    We opened an online Spark Business Checking account with a deposit of $2,000 and simultaneously applied for Spark Business credit cards. I was using the mobile app to monitor our checking account, and it showed that the full amount was available to us after 3 business days. I wrote one check for just over $200 5 days after that. Nearly a month later, after making another $7,500 in deposits, I accidentally discovered that Cap One had frozen our account six days after we opened it, and our first check had bounced. When I called customer service, they informed me that they had sent an email 30 days ago notifying me that my account was "restricted." It so happened that I had received a phone call from Cap One fraud department that same day regarding our Spark credit cards and I satisfied the agent; I assumed the two events were related, and the issue was handled. Wrong. Totally unrelated to the checking account. Meanwhile, no notice of the "restricted" status of our checking account ever appeared on the mobile app. No more Capital One emails, never a phone call, Capital One just sat on our frozen $9,500. Meanwhile, I suffered the embarrassment of bouncing our first check, along with incurring a returned check fee from the third party. After three phone calls and an email with Capital One, the only customer service gesture they offered was waiving their own insufficient funds fee and and magnanimously informing me that my funds are now available. Gee, thanks! I'm moving our account to a neighborhood bricks and mortar bank as fast as I can. Bottom line, 1) you can't trust the mobile app; 2) forget all their marketing hype -- Capital One is much more concerned about preventing fraud than in delivering good customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Amaster Jul 15, 2016

    Capital one racism

    The branch in Glendale, N.Y. has this teller who kept me waiting several minutes while she ranted against Hispanics (myself, included, I guess), with a customer she was very chummy with. Then when she concluded her hysterics she pronounced loudly who she was going to vote for and that she was not a racist. I don't know who she was trying to convince, me or her conscience. Finally, a nice manager came to assist me because she saw how long I was waiting for access to MY money. I guess she has only seen educated Hispanics on National Geographic. Horrible experience.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mspam57 Jun 28, 2016

    awful experience today

    I just had the worst experience at the Stafford Bank, After showing three ID"s the teller refused to cash my check because she could not reach my brother who does have an account with you all to VERIFY that he indeed write the check. When I arrived back home, I reached out to my brother who did call your branch and he did VERIFY that he wrote the check. I asked if you all VERIFY by phone all checks everyone she said yes which is BULLSHIT.. my brother told me he has written larger checks and has NEVER had to VERIFY one... then to make matters worse the Bank manager would not make eye contact with me nor did she apologize for my having to make two trips to that stinkin bank...NEVER AGAIN.. and I will be putting this rotten racist ass bank on Blast for everyone to see

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Brad_H_AlexanderVI Jun 23, 2016

    One star is to high for this company

    Long story short I signed up through Costco because I get money back, I'm always on top of paying my bills and signed up for auto pay for my capital one master card, so I was furious when I didn't owe them anything fully paid off and they declined me for trying to buy a sofa for just 500$ I was blown away when I heard that apparently im only allowed to use a percentage of my full balance.. I haven't been so insulted in my life! Seriously!!!!!! CANCELED I'm so confused as to why.. How does a bank like this exist, this remark has made me lose faith in mankind good luck to anyone stuck owing money to this... I'm sorry I'm not calling this a bank again... it insults the other financial institutions Costco must also be feeling the backlash from this I'm letting everyone know

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By joseph9151 Jun 14, 2016

    Incompetent in so many ways

    Scheduled transfer to a verified external account
    Called Cap 1 bank prior to doing it to notify them
    Called Cap 1 bank on day of transfer to tell them I transferred
    Days later their Fraud Dept stopped transfer until I confirmed it (again!)
    They rescheduled transfer (again)
    Transfer cancelled (again) because receiving bank apparently would not verify my already verified account
    Supervisor apparently helping transfer $

    Todays update- day 9:
    No it is not over. The wire transfer was stopped by the Fraud Dept (again today)
    Apparently the supervisor from yesterday was also incompetent?
    30 min on phone (again) and the guy said I would have to re-transfer the funds (for the 4th time!). After more discussion I did the transfer online and he says he warned all parties to allow this to go through.

    So for 9 days I have tried to get my money and close my account? Keeps going in circles. I say you get better interest from another bank. The service could not be worse. Cap One bank a is a joke! I am transferring the $ to get twice the interest.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lan102 Jun 4, 2016

    Slow Uncaring Employee Attitudes

    Just got back from making a deposit at the Rocky Point branch and I'm fuming. Waiting 17 minutes with just one person in front of me, actual deposit time another 41/2 minutes. It seems new technology may make your job easier with less employees but it certainly is not customer friendly! Closing the drive thru and making customers go inside to be treated with a slow mo attitude is VERY annoying. I have dealt with Capitol for over 30 years (previous North Fork) with 5 business accounts and my personal account, and it is becoming very difficult. Apparently your empoyee training program omits the teaching benefits of customer service. Al Lane

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • Q
    Reviewed By Quarterback May 27, 2016

    Worst Bank (stay away from Capital One Bank)

    I'm a senior in High School and I opened my first checking account. After work I do furniture delivery work for a local store in my town. The owner gave me a check and I deposited into my Capital One account. After 24 hours the bank cleared my paycheck, but a few days later they said the check was bad and it was drawn on a closed account. They closed my account and they said I can never open a checking account with Capital One. The only reason I opened with Capital One Bank is to pay my Capital One credit card. I have other options to open accounts, the next day I opened an account with Chase Bank. Capital One should not just close accounts, without proper cause, if someone gives you a check what do you expect to do, obviously, deposit it, how can one know if the check is good or not. I never drew the money from the account. I'm actually thinking of starting a web site and a petition at college this year to boycott Capital One because of it's stupid practices

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hittman May 22, 2016

    No more than corporate theft

    Just like the commercial used to be, "whats in your wallet", they will use the most sneaky and unethical ways they can think of to try to steel your money. Between mobil apps that they continuously change and lock you out of "for reasons of security" in order to generate late fees, or the most abusive customer service obviously trained to either collect payment wether due or not to collect their commision or annoy you so much that you hang up on them. There is absolutely no way that these corporate charlatans should not be under investigation criminally.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By brutus35 May 20, 2016

    capital one sucks

    capital one sucks

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.