B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Capital One Customer Reviews

(131 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 13
4 Star 5
3 Star 1
2 Star 10
1 Star 102

The Most Helpful Capital One Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By mnock May 14, 2016

Wonderful Branch Manager

I have been banking with Capital One at the Braeswood branch since it first opened, and I wanted to write this review because Michael Dawson is the best Branch Manager the bank has ever had. He is very professional, efficient, and personable. I am very sorry that this branch is closing. I really hope that Michael becomes the new manager at the location at Bissonnet at Chimney Rock. I know he would help us all make the transition easier.

Beth Nock

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By AJ N. Sep 19, 2013

Sucky

Crapitol None Is The Worst Bank in The World Do Not repeat do not Bank with them. They suck!

Is this review helpful?

Latest Capital One Reviews

  • Q
    Reviewed By Quarterback May 27, 2016

    Worst Bank (stay away from Capital One Bank)

    I'm a senior in High School and I opened my first checking account. After work I do furniture delivery work for a local store in my town. The owner gave me a check and I deposited into my Capital One account. After 24 hours the bank cleared my paycheck, but a few days later they said the check was bad and it was drawn on a closed account. They closed my account and they said I can never open a checking account with Capital One. The only reason I opened with Capital One Bank is to pay my Capital One credit card. I have other options to open accounts, the next day I opened an account with Chase Bank. Capital One should not just close accounts, without proper cause, if someone gives you a check what do you expect to do, obviously, deposit it, how can one know if the check is good or not. I never drew the money from the account. I'm actually thinking of starting a web site and a petition at college this year to boycott Capital One because of it's stupid practices

    Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hittman May 22, 2016

    No more than corporate theft

    Just like the commercial used to be, "whats in your wallet", they will use the most sneaky and unethical ways they can think of to try to steel your money. Between mobil apps that they continuously change and lock you out of "for reasons of security" in order to generate late fees, or the most abusive customer service obviously trained to either collect payment wether due or not to collect their commision or annoy you so much that you hang up on them. There is absolutely no way that these corporate charlatans should not be under investigation criminally.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By brutus35 May 20, 2016

    capital one sucks

    capital one sucks

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mnock May 14, 2016

    Wonderful Branch Manager

    I have been banking with Capital One at the Braeswood branch since it first opened, and I wanted to write this review because Michael Dawson is the best Branch Manager the bank has ever had. He is very professional, efficient, and personable. I am very sorry that this branch is closing. I really hope that Michael becomes the new manager at the location at Bissonnet at Chimney Rock. I know he would help us all make the transition easier.

    Beth Nock

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LaurenceBallard May 5, 2016

    Beware "Autopay"

    Simply put, the 'autopay' option for paying bills through Capital One is unreliable. Plain and simple. Some payments "scheduled" for delivery go through. Others do not. No rhyme or reason; no pattern. Over half an hour spent with a customer service rep was fruitless; they couldn't figure out why it wasn't going through.
    Their ultimate advice: "Try it again." Seriously.
    This isn't a game of Monopoly. These are serious bills from serious creditors requiring serious, reliable, mature, banking.
    Unfathomable unreliability is a deal-breaker in any - any - business relationship.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By maybe May 3, 2016

    The Worst Customer Service You Can Imagine

    The Customer service at Capital One Bank is one of the worst. The people that they hire to provide customer service are lacks knowledge and are extremely rude. When you ask them to explain a problem, they will hang up on you. When I asked to speak to a manager, the manager gets irate and disrespectful. What kind of example is this manager setting for their subordinates? I will close my account out with capital one as soon as possible, and find a bank that has qualified customer reps, and appreciate their customers.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Bepe May 2, 2016

    ABUSIVE TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

    STAY away from Captialone credit cards they are the worst. They keep you on hold for hours and go around in circles. They restricted by account because I keyed in a wrong number to make a payment and everytime I call to check my account they put through the ringer they tell me I need to verify my account which they did five times already but since their customer service agents do not take notes they keep repeating the same process over and over and over and over again.

    Is this review helpful?
  • Q
    Reviewed By QueZee Apr 20, 2016

    Capital One Banking

    My family has been banking with Capital One ever since they bought out First NBC Bank. Wife and I are both medically retired and closed all our credit cards years ago. We lived on a check/debit card and cash. One day we went into a local branch on Hwy 59 to replace our check card. We usually replace them as a safety measure due to fraud annually. When we signed the book to speak with a bank employee we noticed a couple of names we knew that were presently being seen. We were called next as they finished and sat down at the same desk as they were. We explained out reason for the visit and gave our information. A few minutes passed and we were informed of a computer error and asked if we would mind speaking to another agent across the bank. We gathered or identification and crossed over to the other side. We started over at another computer with another agent. After ordering the new cards we were asked if we wanted a Capital One credit card. Initially we declined until we were given examples of the benefits of paying our mortgage with the credit card then paying the card. We decided to apply for the Capital One Credit card. After receiving the card we noticed we could not access the card through our usual webpage accounts. We called customer service for help accessing the credit card side. We were instructed to go to another webpage and to download another phone app. We made our first payment on the card and everything seemed to work fine. Soon after we unexpectedly had to go out of town. While out of town we decided to make a payment using the phone app for the first time. Not noticing that the app had switched the accounts that the draft payments would be coming out of. We made 2 of these phone app payments while traveling. Once we were back home we made another payment using the computer which also drafted from the wrong account. The second payment from our computer mysteriously switched back to the right account. Capital One froze all our accounts after they were notified of the incorrect drafts from a account that NEVER should have been connected to ours. We found out that this was an old account that one of us was signed on to but removed from two years ago. Someone didn't do their job unlinking this account from ours. We have several accounts and are guilty of not paying attention to what account was linked every time we made a payment. We didn't have a clue what was going on until the bank called. We started investigating what was going on and found the wrong account was linked then blocked from allowing drafts. The funny thing is we NEVER had that account number to know all the numbers. The bank insists that we knew the numbers to manually input them into the app. We beg to differ because we didn't input ANY of the accounts we have, they were already there. Well after speaking with several Capital One employees and being threatened with FRAUD over not noticing where the money was being drafted from we decided to bank elsewhere. An investigation was opened and we were cleared of any wrongdoing by the police detective due to others substantiating we never should have had access to the past old account and that it should have NEVER been linked to our accounts. The credit card customer service agent told me that you can put ANY account you want into the program and the money will draft from it. I said ANY ACCOUNT NUMBER? The response was YES as long as you know all the numbers. Basically you can pay your credit cards with ANY ACCOUNT you can get the numbers to until someone notices. WOW!! And they wonder why they have FRAUD! How can you allow anyone to have access to your account to pay a credit card?

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TrainerC Mar 30, 2016

    Great for Credit Cards and Mortgage. Not very good for checking and poor integration.

    I have had great experience with Cap One credit cards and obtaining a mortgage. They have increased my credit lines, payments are applied timely, and service is excellent. The mortgage process with them is simple and the rates and fees are very competitive and beat everyone else.

    Their websites and apps are very good, unfortunately if you have regular Capital One checking, it is on a different website from the mortgage and another for the investment accounts.

    Capital One Checking has some major issues. #1 is the lack of transparency with deposit clearing and overdraft coverage. Most banks tell you exactly when your finds will be available, but with Capital One, it is a bit of a mystery. They don't offer a line of credit to cover overdrafts. you can opt in to overdraft coverage at a cost of $35 each, and they will cover overdrafts at their discretion. I have free checking because of my mortgage but I stopped using it for these reasons.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jackchesley Mar 13, 2016

    scumbags

    Well, it's too bad that Capitol 1 took over my local bank (Chevy Chase Bank) where I have been banking for 20 years. I have little to add other than one more example of rapacious money-stealing practices:

    We had a joint CD with an overseas couple for about 15 years... my wife died and the overseas couple wished to cash in the CD instead of renewing it when it came due. The dirtbags would NOT let me cancel it as executor in my wifes name... they insisted on a notarized statement from overseas, which could not be done in the limited time frame... SO THEY FORCED THE RENEWAL AND THEN CHARGED ALMOST $1000 IN "EARLY WITHDRAWAL PENALTY", not just canceling a few months interest, when it was moved to another bank. This is criminal.

    BEWARE! of Capitol One!!!

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.