B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Capital One Customer Reviews

(142 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 14
4 Star 5
3 Star 1
2 Star 10
1 Star 112

The Most Helpful Capital One Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By mnock May 14, 2016

Wonderful Branch Manager

I have been banking with Capital One at the Braeswood branch since it first opened, and I wanted to write this review because Michael Dawson is the best Branch Manager the bank has ever had. He is very professional, efficient, and personable. I am very sorry that this branch is closing. I really hope that Michael becomes the new manager at the location at Bissonnet at Chimney Rock. I know he would help us all make the transition easier.

Beth Nock

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By AJ N. Sep 19, 2013

Sucky

Crapitol None Is The Worst Bank in The World Do Not repeat do not Bank with them. They suck!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Capital One Reviews

  • W
    Reviewed By WestMD_not_DR Aug 7, 2016

    Closing all nearby branches

    They had been providing fewer and fewer services since they bought out Chevy Chase (the original bank my accounts were with). We had been told that "all of the services will stay the same, the only thing changing is the name". This did not prove to be true. Free checks for 50+ accounts disappeared, coin changers, Saturday hours....

    And now-instead of being my local bank, the closest two branches have closed, and the nearest branch is almost 30 miles away.

    I will be changing banks. I am reluctant to do this as I had a difficult time when I had to transition to the new chip card (which I was told I 'requested'). It was not a pleasant experience. As they had some interest in maintaining a good customer relationship, it wasn't completely miserable. I do not imagine that once I am leaving they will be interested in making the transition pleasant.

    I am curious as to how the grading system for this site works. I see that Capital One has a B+ rating, but they also have a two stars out of five rating. I did not see many positive reviews so it seems as if there might be some grade inflation involved.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kruemcke Aug 6, 2016

    Best bank ever

    I have nothing but good things to say about my Capital One Bank in Georgetown. They are friendly, greet me by name, and are very helpful in any transactions that I do.
    I am upset, that Capital One is closing branches and doing away with the human experience. This experience is what distinguishes Capital One from other branches. If they close all their branches, there will be no reason to use them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rogerpp Aug 3, 2016

    Major fail

    I was traveling in Europe when I lost my only bank card - a card from Capital One. I called Capital One and spent two of the most frustrating hours of my life, being put on hold, numerous transfers, and dropped calls. Finally I was told by a Patricia my card would be overnighted the next day. She would call me the next day with the tracking number. The call never came. The card was mailed out two weeks later- after I'd come back home. When i really needed Capital One they weren't there.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Abigail Aug 1, 2016

    Scammers

    The worst bank ever donot deal with them. Scammers period. No where to get hold of any one even on corporate level. Take your business somewhere else , other wise you will lose your hard earning with Capital one MOB

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Beeware Jul 20, 2016

    Be very carefull before you do any business with them!!

    I had them as my mortgagee and business checking accounts for many years. I had never paid them late nor was my property under performing. I did have a few negatives on my credit report at that time. I called them to do a refinance of my property and was honest with them on why i wanted to do this. It was to clean up some debt that I had incurred due to a family members tragic accident that I suffered through for 2 years. I was completely honest with them and they sent my account to special assets and I was harassed for financials like I would have never imagined. I spent many years with them and sent them so much business but felt so betrayed at the time I needed them. I would never ever recommend using this bank. They have ZERO care for any customer no matter how long you have been with them. They put me through hell and back for a few months it was probably illegal but Im just a nice person and don't sue anyone. I would retire at my young age before I ever do any business whatsoever with them. I still have fear when I see their branches. Find a small local bank that cares

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pshults Jul 19, 2016

    Terrible customer service

    We opened an online Spark Business Checking account with a deposit of $2,000 and simultaneously applied for Spark Business credit cards. I was using the mobile app to monitor our checking account, and it showed that the full amount was available to us after 3 business days. I wrote one check for just over $200 5 days after that. Nearly a month later, after making another $7,500 in deposits, I accidentally discovered that Cap One had frozen our account six days after we opened it, and our first check had bounced. When I called customer service, they informed me that they had sent an email 30 days ago notifying me that my account was "restricted." It so happened that I had received a phone call from Cap One fraud department that same day regarding our Spark credit cards and I satisfied the agent; I assumed the two events were related, and the issue was handled. Wrong. Totally unrelated to the checking account. Meanwhile, no notice of the "restricted" status of our checking account ever appeared on the mobile app. No more Capital One emails, never a phone call, Capital One just sat on our frozen $9,500. Meanwhile, I suffered the embarrassment of bouncing our first check, along with incurring a returned check fee from the third party. After three phone calls and an email with Capital One, the only customer service gesture they offered was waiving their own insufficient funds fee and and magnanimously informing me that my funds are now available. Gee, thanks! I'm moving our account to a neighborhood bricks and mortar bank as fast as I can. Bottom line, 1) you can't trust the mobile app; 2) forget all their marketing hype -- Capital One is much more concerned about preventing fraud than in delivering good customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Amaster Jul 15, 2016

    Capital one racism

    The branch in Glendale, N.Y. has this teller who kept me waiting several minutes while she ranted against Hispanics (myself, included, I guess), with a customer she was very chummy with. Then when she concluded her hysterics she pronounced loudly who she was going to vote for and that she was not a racist. I don't know who she was trying to convince, me or her conscience. Finally, a nice manager came to assist me because she saw how long I was waiting for access to MY money. I guess she has only seen educated Hispanics on National Geographic. Horrible experience.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mspam57 Jun 28, 2016

    awful experience today

    I just had the worst experience at the Stafford Bank, After showing three ID"s the teller refused to cash my check because she could not reach my brother who does have an account with you all to VERIFY that he indeed write the check. When I arrived back home, I reached out to my brother who did call your branch and he did VERIFY that he wrote the check. I asked if you all VERIFY by phone all checks everyone she said yes which is BULLSHIT.. my brother told me he has written larger checks and has NEVER had to VERIFY one... then to make matters worse the Bank manager would not make eye contact with me nor did she apologize for my having to make two trips to that stinkin bank...NEVER AGAIN.. and I will be putting this rotten racist ass bank on Blast for everyone to see

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Brad_H_AlexanderVI Jun 23, 2016

    One star is to high for this company

    Long story short I signed up through Costco because I get money back, I'm always on top of paying my bills and signed up for auto pay for my capital one master card, so I was furious when I didn't owe them anything fully paid off and they declined me for trying to buy a sofa for just 500$ I was blown away when I heard that apparently im only allowed to use a percentage of my full balance.. I haven't been so insulted in my life! Seriously!!!!!! CANCELED I'm so confused as to why.. How does a bank like this exist, this remark has made me lose faith in mankind good luck to anyone stuck owing money to this... I'm sorry I'm not calling this a bank again... it insults the other financial institutions Costco must also be feeling the backlash from this I'm letting everyone know

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By joseph9151 Jun 14, 2016

    Incompetent in so many ways

    Scheduled transfer to a verified external account
    Called Cap 1 bank prior to doing it to notify them
    Called Cap 1 bank on day of transfer to tell them I transferred
    Days later their Fraud Dept stopped transfer until I confirmed it (again!)
    They rescheduled transfer (again)
    Transfer cancelled (again) because receiving bank apparently would not verify my already verified account
    Supervisor apparently helping transfer $

    Todays update- day 9:
    No it is not over. The wire transfer was stopped by the Fraud Dept (again today)
    Apparently the supervisor from yesterday was also incompetent?
    30 min on phone (again) and the guy said I would have to re-transfer the funds (for the 4th time!). After more discussion I did the transfer online and he says he warned all parties to allow this to go through.

    So for 9 days I have tried to get my money and close my account? Keeps going in circles. I say you get better interest from another bank. The service could not be worse. Cap One bank a is a joke! I am transferring the $ to get twice the interest.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.