B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Charter One Bank Customer Reviews

(14 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 3
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 2
1 Star 9

The Most Helpful Charter One Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By DougWilson77 Mar 14, 2015

Great People and Service

I have been to this branch several times. Everyone I have interacted with (Michelle Frascarelli to Christin Kelo and Sylvia and others) have always been very friendly, extremely professional and helpful. Just in there yesterday for help with a an international wire transfer from Sylvia. While the process was lengthy, through no fault of Sylvia's, she and others made we feel important and well served.
The men and women of this branch have also been very courteous and helpful to me as a customer and person. I feel welcomed!
Keep up the good work and distribution of smiles!

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By angrycustomer21 Apr 28, 2016

Crooks

This bank does not care about their customers, they are crooks and out to take every penny they can from you. I would never recommend this bank to anyone.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Charter One Bank Reviews

  • A
    Reviewed By angrycustomer21 Apr 28, 2016

    Crooks

    This bank does not care about their customers, they are crooks and out to take every penny they can from you. I would never recommend this bank to anyone.

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By KevinSemple Sep 28, 2015

    Charter One Mortgage

    We had a second mortgage through Charter One. After the rates dropped to an all time low we tried to refinance or "re-structure" our loan. I worked with our primary mortgage holder and had no trouble with the re-write. All I ever got from Charter One was the run around. I received numerous letters and phone calls from Charter One. Some of the letters did not have the proper account number on them. It was actually an account from someone else. We put some payments on hold because of their ineptitude while trying to re-structure the loan. Eventually we ended up selling our house and paid-off both loans. It has now been over one year & we find out now that our credit rating has a "black mark" on it because of all of the confusion & lack of quality employees with Charter One. We were told that even though our loan was paid-in-full, the "bad credit" event would remain on our record for 7 years. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. CHARTER ONE SUCKS!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Luann211 Jun 29, 2015

    Bad Customer Service by Manager

    I went into the Commerce Street branch this morning after realizing there had been fraudulent activity on my debit card. Three transactions, totaling almost $800, not made by me were pending.

    The first gentleman I sat with was extremely friendly and tried to be helpful. He explained that I had to wait for the pending transactions to post and then I would need to fill out an affidavit to have the funds returned to my account. This was expected to take 10-14 days. I was also going to have to cancel my debit card, and it would take 5-7 days to get a replacement. This person said he would talk to the bank manager when he got off his conference call, as he was sure the manager would be able to help, and in some cases they would provide some "provisional cash".

    When the manager came out, he didn't offer any help at all. I let him know I was going to have to withdraw some cash before they cancelled my debit card, as I only had $5 in my wallet. The manager told me that if I did so, I'd be charged an overdraft fee because the fraudulent transactions had put my account into a negative state. I asked if he would waive the overdraft fee due to the circumstances. He said he couldn't do so because if I were to withdraw money knowing that the account had a negative balance then I would have to pay an overdraft fee. I found this to be totally unacceptable!

    I have been a customer of Citizens Bank for 30 years, but after this incident, I intend to take my business elsewhere. Further, shouldn't the bank have caught this before they charges went through? I feel that $800 of charges at Lego Land in California by a middle-aged woman living in MA should have sent up a red flag.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DougWilson77 Mar 14, 2015

    Great People and Service

    I have been to this branch several times. Everyone I have interacted with (Michelle Frascarelli to Christin Kelo and Sylvia and others) have always been very friendly, extremely professional and helpful. Just in there yesterday for help with a an international wire transfer from Sylvia. While the process was lengthy, through no fault of Sylvia's, she and others made we feel important and well served.
    The men and women of this branch have also been very courteous and helpful to me as a customer and person. I feel welcomed!
    Keep up the good work and distribution of smiles!

    Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By ekim57 Oct 12, 2014

    Always Great Service

    It seems when i go to my local branch i always am treated as if i am family which is great because i don't have to go in to see a teller as much as in the old days.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sgspearman Apr 18, 2014

    poor customer service on payoff

    So I had been generally happy with our line of credit of credit at charter one. But when we used their phone menu to order a payoff letter it was lost. When I called customer service after 8 days they said they could fax it. I said great. Then they said it will be $25 (for a fax!)

    I asked to speak to a manager and explained why the late payoff letter was their error and that I expected it to be free. He said he had no way to waive the fee but said the office of the chairman would be in touch in a couple days. Someone called after 4 days but missed me. When I called them back I got no return call again for another two days. This is not what I expect in customer service - very poor.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jpk Apr 9, 2014

    Terrible!

    I have never had such a bad experience with a bank in my life. Customer service "manager" Craig has absolutely no business being a manager -- especially in customer service since he does not know what it means. Being ripped off with ridiculous fee's is their specialty as well. If you like to lose money that you are trying to save, then put it in charter one. I'd rather have a rectal exam that deal with that bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • MC
    Reviewed By Mybluecadi, C. Mar 21, 2014

    I've been with charter one for almost 15 years and the last 9 has been horrible! Every month im on the phone stupidity!

    Will not recommend any going to charter one bank for any reasons they are uncertain on there role as bankers, No customers service skills I've been with them for almost 15 years and the last 9 has been horrible! Im always on the phone with these Mf and all the can do is keep apologizing every month for the same stupid mistakes.......I'm Done! !!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • DD
    Reviewed By Dawn D. Jan 16, 2014

    Very unpleasant; not at all helpful; may terminate long standing banking relationship

    I was directed to Christina to answer my concern about why payments were not made electronically. I make payments to these companies every month and for the first time the payment was not made on the scheduled date. I inquired about why this was different this time so that I could avoid a late fee in the future. Christina was very rude and never did answer the question or offer to find out. Several times I thought she had hung up because she would not talk.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DTMKnight Dec 27, 2013

    Awful from top to bottom with hidden fees!

    So I open up a CD with Charter One Bank which matures. I call and specifically ask what are the penalties as I will be unable to go to the bank during the short 10 day grace period. The employee tells me I will lose the interest I accrue during the time after the account has matured.

    Go into the bank a couple weeks later and they tell me $50 dollar fine and lost interest. Never heard of this kind of fine before and they have now lost all future business with me. I even had them as a strong possibility for my mortgage as I will be buying a house next year. At least now I know that would have been an awful mistake.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.