B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Chase Customer Reviews

(446 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 44
4 Star 20
3 Star 22
2 Star 35
1 Star 325

The Most Helpful Chase Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By RandyH Apr 7, 2016

The Best!

I've never been so pleased with a bank branch like this one in my life. All personnel are a pleasure to do business with. I strongly believe it's because they follow the VP/ Branch manager's example. It all starts at the top.

Less than 10 years ago, I was so unhappy with Chase in general that I vowed never to do business with them again. I think this statement illustrates just how good this branch is- to have turned me around 180 degrees.

I actually enjoy going to my bank. Enough said...

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By YShay Mar 7, 2016

Credit Card Application Nightmare

Chase has always been my preferred bank because there are numerous accessible locations in Southern California. However, after this recent experience, I am considering changing banks.

I visited my local bank to apply for a credit card in person and was directed towards this woman to assist me. After brief discussions, I decided to apply for the Chase Slate. Since this is my first time ever applying, I didn't really know what to expect. The whole process took less than 10 minutes. The banker had ONLY asked for my mother's name, along with my phone number and confirmed my address; with only that information, she submitted my application and told me that I would be notified within 30 days.
I was slightly confused because the process seemed too easy- so I did my research and came to realize that she NEVER asked for my financial information. As a banker, I would expect them to explain the whole process to me, the client and ensure that every information on the document is accurate.
The next day, I made several calls to Chase's customer services and they couldn't help me at all. I then decided to call the bank that I went to when I applied and with terrific luck, the woman on the phone happened to be the one that had 'helped' me the previous day with the application. I questioned her why she didn't ask for ANY of my financial information. The FUNNY thing is she claimed over the phone that she did, but when hit with the question of whether or not she recalled what she had put down, she had 'somehow' forgotten. I asked her if she had put $xxxxxxx as my annual salary and she claimed that she had put in a higher number. So she either falsified or just didn't complete the information on the application. With the situation being dumb enough, she also mentioned something about my application being declined- to be honest, I don't remember word for word, but I can guarantee that that is the most unprofessional behavior I have ever witnessed. The banker did not complete the application accurately and then notifies me that it was declined (I WONDER WHY). On top of that, she even asked me if I still wanted to cancel the application. How would I cancel something that has already been reviewed and declined? I then asked if I could re-apply with the CORRECT information and she tells me that I should wait a bit because it would be 'bad for my credit'. Well maybe if the application was filled out CORRECTLY in the first place, I wouldn't be in this situation.
With the bank closed on Sunday, I tried calling Chase's personal banking and credit card services. I explained the situation to this woman on the phone and when she checked my application status, it was still PENDING. If that was the case, why did the banker mention my application being declined? I then asked if she could perhaps change the information on my application, but she couldn't. She then explained to me that maybe the banker that had helped me put the financial information from my application for a debit card onto the credit card application. Just a little background information for the readers, I applied for my debit card YEARS ago. I would have thought that if I was applying for something different, the banker would have asked me for current information and not put outdated information without informing me. Besides, when I was on the phone and asked the banker that had filled out my application if she put down $xxxxxxx, she claimed that she somewhat remembered putting down a higher number. If she had really used my salary from years ago, it was nowhere near how much I made now. Although I am a client and there are certain things that I should know, as a banker, I would expect better service and not a seemingly careless attitude about something that affects my credit.
As of right now, I'm still working on sorting out and correcting this MESS. Looking to speak to the branch's manager. Very displeased with service, especially from this certain branch.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Chase Reviews

  • L
    Reviewed By leo_8665 Jun 26, 2016

    im so fed up with this bank!

    i don't have any account with this bank and will never have because i receive pile of credit card offers constantly! maybe 3 times a week, the same thing! its ridiculous.
    its even more annoying that i still keep receiving them after i have called them 3 times!!! and wasted a lot of time on the phone to let them know pleaseeee do not send me anything anymore.
    they say it takes 90 days! its odd but that's all the banks say but all other bank reduce it after some days and cut it in 2-3 weeks max. but this bank sucks.
    even if i wanted to do banking here i will never ever do it! CHASE reminds me of bad memories.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jmwild71 Jun 15, 2016

    Their "policies" allow them to do anything.

    Four accounts and safe deposit box with Chase. Deposited check, Chase credited check, then froze all accounts, not just amount of deposit, not just in account the check was deposited into, for NO REASON they will admit. When I asked why this happened I was told they can't tell me, AND, that they can freeze any and all funds in any and all accounts for no reason, as per "their policies", via our branch manager. That's it. They can take our money for no reason for as long as they want, for no reason, as long as they are threatening to close our accounts (for no reason). Issuer of check, bank from which check was drawn had NO ISSUES with the check. Chase credited the full amount and then internally, without explanation before, during, or after, froze our accounts. AND they don't have to explain ANYTHING to us. The check cleared, and Chase owes us nothing, period. No explanation, no compensation for damages done to us, nothing. Buh-bye Chase. I don't deal with criminal organizations.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nuzka_amani Jun 12, 2016

    Account blocked for no reason

    They have blocked my chase account and when I call them and ask for a reason, they are cluless about that. They say they cant tell the reason why they blocked it. It is so crazy. They should have a reason for blocking an account. They sent me a letter saying its blocked and it dosent have a reason at all. I think worst bank ever. They dont even deserve one star.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Pearlswise Jun 4, 2016

    Ridiculous Policies

    I chose Chase for convenience because my children at universities in different cities had branches nearby. However, Chase will not allow me to put cash into my children's checking accounts, even with one of their deposit slips. I have checked around online; this is a Chase Bank regulation. No one else does this. It is supposed to guard against money laundering, so I can see not allowing large amounts of cash to be deposited, but a couple hundred dollars is just stupid! Worse yet, after a few savings transactions, a $5 fee per transaction applies. If one of my children has unexpected expenses crop up, the fees pile up besides. It's easy to say, "just make fewer, but larger deposits and withdrawls, but that's not always possible. A bank's supposed to work for the customer, not the other way around.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cbsmith8 Jun 3, 2016

    Terrible Customer Service

    Just the worst. If you enjoy getting the run-around on the phone and being sent to every department and having to retell your woes to every single one of them then this is the bank for you. I just wanted to setup my online banking account so I could pay my bill and keep an eye on things but there was an error in the information they entered. Getting that information corrected seems nearly impossible, maybe it is impossible, but I'll never know because I just keep getting passed around. Oh joy. I just got disconnected again after being on hold/passed around for another 40 minutes.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Me205 May 31, 2016

    Redlands, CA Branch

    I've been banking at this branch for several years. Because I was in frequently to make deposits for my employer, I got to know most of the tellers by name and got great service. There was always numerous windows open and the average wait time was 5 minutes.

    Not anymore...

    They got rid of all but 2 windows and installed interior ATM machines. Now there is only 1, sometimes 2 tellers working at a time. All the ones I got to know are gone, because they expect you to use the machines instead. If I wanted to do that, why would I even need to come inside? The average wait time is now 10-15 minutes.

    Seriously considering changing banks.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RonJohn May 27, 2016

    Fast, competent online banking with excellent CC fraud protection.

    We've had accounts (checking, savings, auto loan and CC) with Chase for many years, since they bought our previous bank.

    Direct Deposits are always cleared within one business day, EFTs within two days, the on-line system is intuitive and useful, and Customer Service always prompt and helpful. The CC Fraud department is on the ball about notifying us regarding suspicious charges. (We'e on our 5th CC: every time there's a suspicious charge, they close the account and send us a new one. That's NOT a bad thing.)

    The only imperfection are the paltry interest rates, but transferring excess money to a different bank is trivially simple.

    All in all, it's a great bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rmat May 26, 2016

    Couldnt get Chase to take my business - they must have all the business they need

    I wanted to switch my banking from B of A and tried to call Chase to get the basics. I was passed around multiple people who all stated they were the wrong person to help. Finally I was instructed to call and or go to a local branch. If they are this hard to take my business I can only imagine who difficult it must be to do business with them. I guess banking has become a true commodity.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TrueBrit May 10, 2016

    Could't DEPOSIT $60 cash to Boyfriend's Account!!!

    I went to deposit $60 cash in my boyfriend's account today to prevent him being overdrawn. I was told Chase no longer allows this (since it's not my account) due to money laundering concerns! Are you kidding me? Money laundering $60 in cash? It's not a law, it is a Chase policy! My only two options were to (1) write a check (didn't have my checkbook with me and then, of course, they would likely have put a hold on it); (2) take a cash advance from my Chase credit card at their branch (and pay cash advance fee, etc., to Chase). This is petty bureaucratic BS at its worst! Time to cancel my Chase credit card and never bank with them again!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MarkJames May 10, 2016

    GET AWAY FROM CHASE >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    To ALL that may read this, (providing Chase doesn’t delete it) GET AWAY From CHASE, Go to USA Bank, Wells Fargo, Citi Bank, Any OTHER Financial Bank Than CHASE their Banking and Credit Card Services SUCK ….They are of the opinion they ARE DOING YOU a Favor LETTING you do Business with them ……
    As a follow up, Chase was the leader in the financial Meltdown in 2008. And yet with the Government Help lending them Billions of YOUR MONEY they took a great portion of that money and handed out Million dollar bonuses to their top Executives.

    These are Thieves that are with Chase and they can NOT be Trusted … By Switching to another financial institute you will be in MUCH better hands and more Honest People.

    Having a Problem With Chase ???? Just try to get someone in management to help …. ALL you get is someone from the Philippines who barely Speaks English and has NO Directed way of helping you !!!!!

    If you do get information to contact the executives with CHASE you better hurry as they change their Phone numbers and e-mail address about as fast as you change your underwear !!!! They HIDE and make themselves NON Available !!!!!

    I appeal to ALL who get this, ….. Get this out on Facebook, Twitter, ALL Social Media letting ALL know that by getting rid of Chase (Checking and Credit Cards) they would be SO MUCH better off. Have Everyone in the US switch to Citi Bank, US Bank, Capitol One, Wells Fargo, Any Financial institute is Better than CHASE !!!!!!!!
    With Chase its Simple; They believe this is their World and YOU are merely their Guest!!!! And YES their attitude is they are doing YOU a Favor by Letting YOU do business with them ….. Are you kidding ……. SWITCH NOW You do NOT need Chase

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.