B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Chase Customer Reviews

(434 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 43
4 Star 20
3 Star 22
2 Star 34
1 Star 315

The Most Helpful Chase Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By RandyH Apr 7, 2016

The Best!

I've never been so pleased with a bank branch like this one in my life. All personnel are a pleasure to do business with. I strongly believe it's because they follow the VP/ Branch manager's example. It all starts at the top.

Less than 10 years ago, I was so unhappy with Chase in general that I vowed never to do business with them again. I think this statement illustrates just how good this branch is- to have turned me around 180 degrees.

I actually enjoy going to my bank. Enough said...

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By YShay Mar 7, 2016

Credit Card Application Nightmare

Chase has always been my preferred bank because there are numerous accessible locations in Southern California. However, after this recent experience, I am considering changing banks.

I visited my local bank to apply for a credit card in person and was directed towards this woman to assist me. After brief discussions, I decided to apply for the Chase Slate. Since this is my first time ever applying, I didn't really know what to expect. The whole process took less than 10 minutes. The banker had ONLY asked for my mother's name, along with my phone number and confirmed my address; with only that information, she submitted my application and told me that I would be notified within 30 days.
I was slightly confused because the process seemed too easy- so I did my research and came to realize that she NEVER asked for my financial information. As a banker, I would expect them to explain the whole process to me, the client and ensure that every information on the document is accurate.
The next day, I made several calls to Chase's customer services and they couldn't help me at all. I then decided to call the bank that I went to when I applied and with terrific luck, the woman on the phone happened to be the one that had 'helped' me the previous day with the application. I questioned her why she didn't ask for ANY of my financial information. The FUNNY thing is she claimed over the phone that she did, but when hit with the question of whether or not she recalled what she had put down, she had 'somehow' forgotten. I asked her if she had put $xxxxxxx as my annual salary and she claimed that she had put in a higher number. So she either falsified or just didn't complete the information on the application. With the situation being dumb enough, she also mentioned something about my application being declined- to be honest, I don't remember word for word, but I can guarantee that that is the most unprofessional behavior I have ever witnessed. The banker did not complete the application accurately and then notifies me that it was declined (I WONDER WHY). On top of that, she even asked me if I still wanted to cancel the application. How would I cancel something that has already been reviewed and declined? I then asked if I could re-apply with the CORRECT information and she tells me that I should wait a bit because it would be 'bad for my credit'. Well maybe if the application was filled out CORRECTLY in the first place, I wouldn't be in this situation.
With the bank closed on Sunday, I tried calling Chase's personal banking and credit card services. I explained the situation to this woman on the phone and when she checked my application status, it was still PENDING. If that was the case, why did the banker mention my application being declined? I then asked if she could perhaps change the information on my application, but she couldn't. She then explained to me that maybe the banker that had helped me put the financial information from my application for a debit card onto the credit card application. Just a little background information for the readers, I applied for my debit card YEARS ago. I would have thought that if I was applying for something different, the banker would have asked me for current information and not put outdated information without informing me. Besides, when I was on the phone and asked the banker that had filled out my application if she put down $xxxxxxx, she claimed that she somewhat remembered putting down a higher number. If she had really used my salary from years ago, it was nowhere near how much I made now. Although I am a client and there are certain things that I should know, as a banker, I would expect better service and not a seemingly careless attitude about something that affects my credit.
As of right now, I'm still working on sorting out and correcting this MESS. Looking to speak to the branch's manager. Very displeased with service, especially from this certain branch.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Chase Reviews

  • C
    Reviewed By clwatson333 Apr 30, 2016

    A No Service Bank

    Chase does as little as it can for its customers! Not only have they refused to notarize a document for me, the branch would not look into a disputed charge on my account. Later, I called the online number and did take FINALLY take the disupte. Oh, they won't fax anything for you either unless it is a Chase document.

    I only opened an account with Chase because they offered me $300 to do so. Now I'm wondering if it was worth it. Oh well, five more months and I'm outta here.

    Is this review helpful?
  • Z
    Reviewed By zdorman Apr 26, 2016

    Drive Thru Service

    Went during the lunch hour at the Gulfgate Houston location and only one vehicle in front of me and waited 20 mins just to receive cash back. After calling out to the only one teller assisting in the drive-thru, he asked me how did I wanted my change, of which after several attempts I finally could understand what he was asking. Just wanted my change was my response. Another three minutes went by before receiving my cash. This is not where I normally bank at, but because close to my job, I have to do so. Every experience is the same at lunch, only one teller at the drive thru with NO SENSE OF URGENCY OR CUST SERICE what so ever !

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mattress_money Apr 16, 2016

    More Than Borderline Criminal Negligence

    I would simply like to provide a link to my Open Letter To JP Morgan Chase, as 4000 characters is simply not sufficient to fully convey my message.

    https://www.facebook.com/notes/shane-mele/an-open-letter-to-jp-morgan-chase/1285626021451875

    I am NOT trying to sell anything, and this tirade is pretty hilarious and unfortunately accurate.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Aubreythomasemail Apr 14, 2016

    Chase is a terrible bank!

    They say thy don't charge any overdraft fee for overdrafting up to five dollars, however, that's a lie. They don't waive fees so don't even ask and when you ask for a manager they say one is not available and if you ask for a callback they will not call you back.
    Also, don't even bother opening a college account because they are going to charge you the 12$ fee anyway. They will say sorry it's a mistake in the system but then not be "able" to refund your $12. Chase is the worst bank I have ever dealt with.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mrsold Apr 14, 2016

    It's My Pleasure Service.

    All of the staff is great but Robin is exceptional. Local business owners all agree that she is beyond the Best. If you are not a Chase customer, you will be after visiting this branch.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Shebangs Apr 8, 2016

    You have been warned lawsuit

    The beginning of this year we went to chase to open an account after our other bank was hacked into. First they wouldn't let me open an account due to credit issues. Which is crazy all I wanted to do was put money in not get a credit card. So my husband ended up opening the account in his name. They told him he was approved for a credit card as well for 1000 dollars. A few weeks went by no credit card and now our deposits arent posting like they should. Come to find out the lady opened 2 accounts in his name and messed everything up. That took about 2 weeks to fix. After that the shut his debt card off and never sent him a new one. We rented a car and returned it in the same condition as we got it. The rental company tried to charge us and additional 15k for damages that never happened. My husband called to dispute the charge and everything was fixed. Chase took it upon their self to put his account on look down. We couldn't access any money for over a month now. They kept giving him the run around on as to when his account would be fixed. Finally after 3 weeks of 0 dollars due to them holding our money we got a lawyer. My lawyer found out the bank was building a case against my husband for bank fraud. Saying he rented a car and never paid. The rental car company got their 500 dollars and we were just disputing the 15k. So now my husband can't bank with chase or any other bank or rent a car because they slandered his name with bank fraud. We have to wait up to a month before it will be removed from his name. We have filled the lawsuit and won. The crazy thing is my 20k that was in the bank is still being held onto. They refuse to give us our money told us it would be with the settlement check. Let's just say if you want to have a huge mess and possibly have your name slandered go with chase. But we are sitting pretty now due to chase and their screwed up employees.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RandyH Apr 7, 2016

    The Best!

    I've never been so pleased with a bank branch like this one in my life. All personnel are a pleasure to do business with. I strongly believe it's because they follow the VP/ Branch manager's example. It all starts at the top.

    Less than 10 years ago, I was so unhappy with Chase in general that I vowed never to do business with them again. I think this statement illustrates just how good this branch is- to have turned me around 180 degrees.

    I actually enjoy going to my bank. Enough said...

    Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hk3jhr Apr 7, 2016

    Chase Bank under receivership

    The Central Bank has put Chase Bank under receivership for 12 months due to what CBK said was unsafe financial conditions.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By audiophile Apr 6, 2016

    Chase dumped me

    After 15 years as a Chase Customer I received 2 letters from them telling me that they were terminating their relationship with me. I never bounced checks and I've been using their credits cards for just about everything (don't banks like that?). Also, not a small amount of money has been deposited into my checking account monthly for years.

    Chase would give me no reason as to why all of my accounts were terminated and they pleaded their right to not have to share that information. If I could give no stars I would. I've never heard of such a thing and no one whom I've asked has either.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tok Apr 6, 2016

    My NEW Bank

    This is my new bank since moving from Indiana to Texas last year. I find the staff to be friendly and always smiling and helpful. Gabriel Villa has assisted me in starting my new accounts: Checking, Savings and Mortgage. I also have a Debit account here.Both my Visa credit cards are monitored by Chase as well. I like this "One-stop" banking, whether in person here or online. Great people and a nice place to visit. (:

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.