Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

1,001
Branch Locations

Citibank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
Chase
Add
Bank Rates
Bank of America
Add
Compare Banks

Citibank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Citibank Latest Customer Reviews

delavega's Profile Image

Reviewed by delavega

Sep 17th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Very Good Service

Everytime i went to the bank, the attention was correct and i did not spend more than 10 minutes. The attention by telephone and email is very good too.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 6 ▼ No 0

Pa1adin's Profile Image

Reviewed by Pa1adin

Aug 30th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Online Experience And Customer Contact Service Caused Me To Accrue Late Fees On Student Loans

I graduated last year and reached the end of my grace period recently. I have been getting spam mail from citibank from the beginning with my first loan from them. When i started to get email about my student loan payments; they were so vague i thought it was more spam. Nothing in the message subject line alerted me to the fact that i had a payment approaching past due. The whole experience was made even more frustrating by the efforts i made a month before the end of my grace period to set up an automatic repayment plan. I am still trying to navigate their poorly designed website to start this basic service. Their site is very unfriendly to users; it's very convoluted. If at all avoidable, don't take out your student loans with citibank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

hochster's Profile Image

Reviewed by hochster

Aug 15th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

The Most Poorly Trained Loan Specialists I Have Ever Dealt With.

We applied for a refinance of a current citimortgage loan in december, 2011. We have excellent credit and, other than the mortgage, no debt. The reason we chose them was they offered a $500 credit against the origination fee. What they didn't say is, what that fee would be. We understood it to be. 5% of the loan.

That was the amount on the loan application and also on the loan commitment/approval letter. Here is what they do. Without revealing the origination fee verbally or in writing they automatically apply the $500 credit and when you receive a gfe a new amount appears. We constantly asked where the $500 was and were told that it would be reflected in the final closing documents. Of course it wasn't and when we were out of the country and had to close by power of attorney...

Well tough luck. Now when asked to show us a document with the origination fee and the deducted credit we were told no such document exists. It just happens automatically when the application is created. Talk about your smoke and mirrors. If you google "citibank bad mortgages" you will that they paid a fine of $158 million for passing lousy mortgages on the government. It took 90 days to close this simple refi and it was like pulling teeth to get it done. You can guess what the response was when i asked for the $500 which i felt they owed... Not going to happen. New a mortgage go somewhere, anywhere else.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Alicia_Pack_Thomps's Profile Image

Reviewed by Alicia_Pack_Thomps

Aug 8th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Citi Will Stick You With All The Fees They Can, Even When You Pay Your Bills On Time All The Time.

This review is regarding citibank online, not a local branch. I had to choose a branch to continue with the review. I really can't say anything good about citibank. They will lure you in and try to keep you indebted to them by charging a fee for anything. A few years ago, i was contacted by citibank to apply for a mortgage relief program. I had never been late to pay my mortgage. The person i spoke with told me that it looked like i would qualify to have my payment reduced, and told me to begin paying the new payment.

Little did i know that that was just a scheme from citi to charge me astronomical late fees and ding my credit for a missed payment. It was crazy! Plus, when one payment arrived just one day prior to the end of the month, it was credited as an extra payment on that month instead of as the next month's payment. My due date was the first of the month; that payment arrived on the 30th, and it was credited as the previous month's extra principal payment rather than the month for which it was intended. Again, fees upon fees ensued and it took almost a year to recover. Who has an extra mortgage payment lying around?

I just refinanced to get a better rate and change mortgage companies. Again, the fees that citibank charged were crazy. They're keeping at least $100 of my escrow account to cover said fees. Recently, i went online, after the date of the new statement, to pay off my citi credit card. I paid the total shown, and today logged in just to make sure all was well. Of course, they added on another month's finance charges. Lovely. I hate citibank. Hate is a strong word, but i seriously hate citibank. They only have dollar signs in their eyes, and will screw anyone to get more money. Avoid them at all cost!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

IW22's Profile Image

Reviewed by IW22

Aug 4th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Careless Client Service Here

This citibank branch in santa barbara has problems. Low staff morale, high turnover, and a couldn't-care-less attitude with regard to their mistakes. Even managers here don't know how to use their systems and don't care to learn. They know how to sell, and that seems to turn them on, but they can't follow through with quality client care. If i were citibank national, i'd shut this branch down and start all over in 93105.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mattebe's Profile Image

Reviewed by mattebe

Jul 26th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

They Suck!

I've had 2 different store credit cards from this bank, radioshack and zales. I worked at radioshack was the only reason i signed up and would occassionally charge something to it and pay it off right away. The last time i charged, they charged me an extra $1 and some change on my statement after i paid it in full. They never e-mailed me or mailed me a letter stating that i owed the balance until they slammed me with enough late fees on the balance. I now have negative history on my previously spotless credit report because of this bank's unjust tactics in making a quick buck.

I have now closed that account out but still owe on my zales account from my wedding rings. I set up automatic payments through customer service and suddenly this month they didn't take the payment out and charged me a late fee they're saying they can't remove due to a past due status even after i made a payment of $450 this morning because i'm going to pay it off this month and close the account because i am done with citibank forever!! Thought maybe the radioshack card was just a fluke but now they're doing it on this account.

Btw, i even explained that i worked at radioshack when the account was "past due" and asked why i wouldn't have paid the $1 and some change while i was on my shift. Homeless people can make a couple bucks in a day, why couldn't i? Really? This bank is filled with idiots who have no idea what customer service is or how to properly run a business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

mrsambee0321's Profile Image

Reviewed by mrsambee0321

Jul 23rd 2012

3 out of 5 marks

Loved My Account And Features... Beware Of The Csr's You Speak With Via Telephone!!! Never Again!!!

My bank accounts were closed due to a report in chexsystems. Not a problem, i have a letter from the bank which says the debt was paid in full... Before i could get the chance to bring the letter in, i received my statement which showed that there was a balance. Wait? When you close an account, don't you normally send a check? I called the 800 number and spoke with esvin, who told me that there was no money in my account. Well, that's fine; i have a statement saying otherwise. He proceeded to argue with me and tell me that the account was closed on the 10th. Wrong. I withdrew money on the 11th, so how did you close it on that day? Better question... Do you always allow access to "closed" accounts with funds still available? After letting him tell me what his screen says, i asked for a supervisor. After a 10 minute wait he gets back on the line and tells me what he discussed with his supervisor... I don't care, i want to speak with the supervisor, i'm done talking to you. The supervisor, delores, gets on the line and immediately tells me that account that esvin was referring to was the checking. Well that's funny, that's not the account i asked him about. She was just as nasty and told me that the account was closed today and a check would be mailed out. Wait... You restricted my access on the 11th, after i withdrew money. Now she goes on to overtalk me and tell me that the account was never closed and that's not what she said (are you serious? ). After this, i'm done talking. I ask for her name and the idiot i spoke with before her and i hang up the phone. This really was a blessing in disguise.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

shelllie87's Profile Image

Reviewed by shelllie87

Jun 12th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

So Frustrating The Online System Is Awful!

Frustrating the online experience!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Paul C's Profile Image

Reviewed by Paul C

Jun 3rd 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Ripoff fees for international check

I deposited a $1000 check drawn from a foreign bank. Citibank only deposited $845 to my account. They charged me $155 to deposit a check into my account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

vcmorr's Profile Image

Reviewed by vcmorr

Jun 1st 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Horrifying

This bank is out for the money, nothing else matters to them, 3 months of faxes, and doing research, to get my loan payments lowered, they put me thru the ringer, and after all was said and done it was a simple no, they do not care about me just my money, and all the income they are making on my late fees, i hate this bank, their very un considerate , of people, other than them selves, wish i never heard of this bank, any one looking to do business with this bank needs their heads examined , if you are looking for a mortgage , buyer beware this bank is as bad as they come ,do your research and check out the 5,200 bad reviews,,

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Singh's Profile Image

Reviewed by Singh

May 7th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

It Use To Be Better But Now I Hate It. I Hate Citibank. Will Be Close My Accounts.

They created some stupid questions and when i answered them they told me i failed cuz questions were not right. Like seriously? I even told them my ssn. I will never open or recommend citi bank to anyone. Go to wells fargo. Or b. O. A

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Tiffany S's Profile Image

Reviewed by Tiffany S

May 1st 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service And Automated E-Mails!

So, i applied for a student checking account. I immediately got an email asking for verification, which was no problem at all. I gladly sent over my recent tuition statement and proof of address. After a few days of hearing nothing, i decided to give them a call. I was told that i was denied an account but they didn't have a reason as to why i was denied, just that i was. I asked about why they sent me an email asking for more information and was told it was an automated email that all applicants got when applying for a checking account. To me, that makes no sense at all. Why ask for more information if you already denied my account? This is really irritating and the customer service agent acted as if it was no big deal at all. Truly disappointing!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

asteria's Profile Image

Reviewed by asteria

Apr 26th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Bad, Bad, Bad It Is Only About How Do I Charge Extra Fees And Squize Out A Few Dimes

I had an account with you and it was closed because of over draft of account regardless all of the efforts i showed. I stopped using my card at the end of last year because i was going to close my account due to short of curtesy and service the branch was showing. Due to my direct deposit i had to wait until end of the february. Meantime i recived mail saying that there was a $ 30. 01 charge on my account and it was overdrated $ 27. Xx called 800 number they said file a froud investigation. I went to bank and told them that this is what i got and i dont use this card. I will pay the amount and close the account so i will not be charged for monthly fee after the direct deposit going away.

They said dont pay and keep the accoont open. Called 800 and explained they connected me a supervisor she got my number and all the information to open a froud investigation while she is doing we got disconnected. She did not call me back. I didn't know her name to call back so i thought she got it all and will do it. No news for weeks. Actually i got a call for a survey for the exact phone call i told the guy that we were disconnected and she did nto call me back so i dont know what do say he hang up. Sometime later i called back to see what is going on another supervisor came to the phone told me that there is nothing being done so he will start it he is supposed to email me the papers to sign.

Great i am waiting again nothing and i forgot about it. Here is the extremly funny thing after all those i learned that citibank closed my account for overdarft account and reported me. Tell me how should i screem now. Why i did all the right things and got wrong result and your brand supervisor did not have the curtesy to say one cheap ""sorry for all this trouble"". By the way if anyone is wondering i paid the stupid thing so i dont ahve to deal with this people.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cunningjen's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cunningjen

Apr 19th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Citibank: Crapibank, Don't Waste Your Time

2 months ago i submitted all the relevant paperwork to apply for a credit card. I received approval via email within 2 days and waited 2 weeks for further contact. Nothing. So i called and 6 weeks further down the track and 8 phone calls, speaking to 25 different people from just as many nationalities, every call goes from "customer service" to "verifications dept" and each department cannot advise why a apl form? (whatever that is) can/cannot be sent to a postal box. This is the most frustrating experience i have ever had to deal with. Sorry crapibank you have lost my service and i have lost my patience

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Edward's Profile Image

Reviewed by Edward

Apr 17th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Total Headache

We just received our monthly mortgage statement and on it was a $9.00 fee. I sent an email to them and I got a response " A delinquency fee $9.00 was assessed on 11/22/07 as your mortgage payment was more than 30 days past due. The

delinquency expenses can occur at any time after the account is past due."

This is what I got for a response on 4/17/2012 I was late in 2007 because of my account being stolen and cleaned out and I was working with my bank to get it back I notified CMI and paid the late charge the mortgage payment went out electronically on the 31st day with the next months along with the $24.00 late charge. so it appears Citybank can access a charge on an account when ever they like with no documentation to back it up. If you stick with these people a moment longer then necessary your nuts and you deserve to be feed to death. Me called a mortgage broker today started the process to pull out of Citibank the broker said no problem I owe less the 25% of value.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BW567's Profile Image

Reviewed by BW567

Apr 16th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

I Have No Idea How This Company Is Still In Business, It Was Utter Chaos.

Citibank provided me with one of the most unprofessional & unhelpful banking experiences of my life. My husband & i were trying to attain a home loan, but trying to do anything with this company is nearly impossible & unbelievably frustrating. Every single time my husband or i would call, we would receive voicemail. The original agent that we were working with legitimately disappeared & nobody had any idea what to do with us or any of our concerns.

When we would get a call back 2 days later, it was nothing but the usual run-around. After 3 months of working with these people, we were finally closing in 4 short days & they inform us that there's a problem with the loan & we won't be closing. This problem should have been addressed the very first day we talked to them, but we dealt with so many different people, nobody looked over any of the details until it was too late.

Needless to say, after this incident we moved to a different mortgage company & will never deal with citi for any sort of business again. They are such a large corporation that they truly just don't care about you or your situation. Please save yourself the trouble & avoid this bank to begin with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ktyaya33's Profile Image

Reviewed by ktyaya33

Apr 9th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Customer Service!

I had nothing but a very frustrating experience with citi bank. Yes, i am a student, which means i really don't have credit, therefore i receive an almost 11% interest rate on the $3000 loan that i needed. However, this is not really even the cause of my frustration with them. When trying to call "customer service" during their office hours, i received an automated telephone system. I understand that is the way most companies run their services, but every other time i have called a company there has always been an option to talk to a representative. Citi bank does not believe that this is necessary for their paying customers. So instead of being able to directly ask someone a time sensitive question, a week later i receive an email that only answers half of my question. Thank you citi bank, and as a young customer who will be needing loans again in the future, i will take my business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sly's Profile Image

Reviewed by sly

Mar 30th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible

Used to be fine. Now, we are charged very high interest rates, card declines all the time because of issues on their end, customer service is the worst. Totally frustrating. We can't wait to pay off the card and go somewhere else.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

vivek1's Profile Image

Reviewed by vivek1

Mar 29th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Very Bad

Very unprofessional approach

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kda's Profile Image

Reviewed by kda

Mar 8th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Bait and Switch

I opened a checking account with them, making a heft deposit to earn promised decent interest rates. I had not had the account even five months and they started dropping the interest rates like a rock. It was clearly a case of promise one thing to get new customers willing to put some serious money into an account, then when you had them hooked, switch around and pay them nothing on the account betting they will not go to the trouble to move the money back out.

I went to the trouble after calling them first to make sure they weren't making some kind of mistake in accounting on their end. I still have my credit card with them and pay it off every month, so that is OK at least.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Audrey's Profile Image

Reviewed by Audrey

Mar 1st 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Hackers! Run! Don't Even Think Of Depositing Money There. Where Is Their Fraud Protection? I Was Hacked By $1500 Without Me Withdrawing Nor Making Charges Against It. And I Received A Letter From The Law Firm Asking Me To Pay These Charges.

Bad customer service. I came there and the manager who looks like russian didnot prove to be helpful but was stern and he gave me the impression (tustin branch) that he thought i was lying. What is worse, i got illega l charges that i dod not make nor withdrew any upon.

Surprise! I got this letter from the law firm asking me to pay for these charges. It used to be a credible bank, but now its credibility has been reduced to utterly despicable! I won't even pass that bank again ever! The charges came from barranca, irvine branch. I was given the impression that how safe is our money now in this banking industry. Terrible, terrible situation!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lydia's Profile Image

Reviewed by lydia

Feb 29th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

I do not have any loans with citibank I only have a business account with them and use a credit union however the people at the San Ramon Branch in California are excellent. When I travel, I can get local currency there ordered in clean fresh bills. I can do international wires with models so I don't have input different languages and make errors. I can do it online and it is instant (except weekends).

It helped me to pay internationally for my customers. I really like the bank for business and would recommend them over their competitors. I don't have a mortgage with them, i have one with Chase and unfortunately I can 't refinance with them because even though I pay my mortgage on time at 6.75% fixed they say I don't make enough. I have plenty of equity in my home and conduct business there and have 40% of it for business so moving is complicated and selling, showing with my shipping etc would disrupt my business.

There should be programs for people like me that pay their mortgage on time yet cannot hire employees due to extreme burder of ridiculously high mortgage. In California Bay Area housing is expensive enough. I know someone that said they were able to refi with Citibank under the new program however Chase says I can't. They have equity also and declared bankruptcy and under the new program from Feb 2012 they were able to refinance.

Chase says that they could but have to do underwater first. Is it because they could take my house in desirable neighborhood? It makes no sense. No wonder small businesses can't grow.

Anyway, it's always on my mind and I do recommend Citibank for business banking and personal banking ( when I started my business, I used the personal account for banking, I had to go to the branch and got to know them well then I changed it to a business account, the bank is very well run, at least that branch plus they have branches all around the world, including Bali, Peru, Turkey, Spain - places I have traveled to.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Farrell12's Profile Image

Reviewed by Farrell12

Feb 22nd 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Used To Be Good. At Some Point Citibank Decided That Customers Were Revenue Sources, Not People.

I was a citibank customer for 15 years. I really liked how convenient they were for international travel in asia. Their service was also very good. My in-bank experiences were also generally good. However, citibank recently changed the way they charge their customers and they collect fees on everything. Unless you enjoy being charged significant sums of money, i'd recommend avoiding this bank at all costs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TomK's Profile Image

Reviewed by TomK

Feb 20th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

On a 1 to 10, I rate Citibank as a -1 read on...

Citibank held my old mortgage i paid off years ago. So I went in to open a line of credit almost 4 months ago (and they still haven't finished processing it). I have herd the story That representative no longer works at this branch, Underwriting lost a form please come in and re file it, Your past the 90 day time limit (not my fault), I am so sorry Mr_ I just transferred in here. We have to run another credit check because its past 90 days and that's how the story goes..

Well i am waiting till they finally finish then i will tell them to take it and shove it. I have no intention of signing the dotted line with a corporate giant that doesn't know its ass from a hole in the ground.

EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL BANKING @Citibank. my advice stay away from the Giants in this industry.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

harddr672's Profile Image

Reviewed by harddr672

Feb 17th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

A Bunch Of Two Face Liars

Open this account a mouth ago started a dircect deposit after starting this account recived my debit card and check book had two small deposit made from my job , then when i moved my whole paycheck there. Then tryed to log in my account to check balanace it wouldnt let me log in.

Called the 800 number and was told that my account was blocked that i need to go to a branch office and fill out some form when i got there i was informed that they had close my account and that was that. So i have no pay check and company hasnt recived it back form the bank , when ask about my pay they said there wasnt any thing they could do , i think they are a bunch of lieing thiefing a-- holes and will never use them or feel sorry for them will be long a complant with the banking systems as far as i am concernd they can go f--k them slef!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Vgarcia's Profile Image

Reviewed by Vgarcia

Feb 7th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible. Would NOT recommend anybody to open any account at this bank.

My experience at this bank was terrible! I had a bank checking and savings account, and a credit card. I even did Primerica. They said my savings account was free, when I noticed I had no money in my savings at all; since they had been charging $25 a month!! When I brought it up, they said they didn't have nothing such as a free savings account and didn't give me the money back. They charge continued late fees when my payment on the credit cards was ALWAYS on time. I decided to close all the accounts and quit Primerica. Primerica has been the WORST of all. I invested and never got anything back. They promised I would. This bank is Fraudulent!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Frugal's Profile Image

Reviewed by Frugal

Feb 3rd 2012

1 out of 5 marks

You WILL be a victim of fraud with this bank!

I got a car loan and qualified for student loans. However, when I typed in MY social security number someone else's information came up! They never apologized and I have no idea who this person was but I had access to ALL of their information. If this doesn't freak you out read on!

It took weeks to sort out this mess and I've been watching my mail and finally got a fraudulent hospital bill.

Citibank doesn't care about customer information safety and they will NOT negotiate with you on student loans. I already had student loans when the above fraudulent incident occurred so getting out was impossible. I tried believe me. If you lose your job or don't make enough to pay they don't give a damn period. If I had known this I would have never gone to college or at least gotten loans only from the government. Ironically they site being inflexible with the large number of people defaulting on their student loans!

All these morons are doing is ensurying that more people will default due to THEIR inflexibility. They have also been sued because just by altering the information on the last section on the internet page address they were easily hacked and customers had their information stolen. Nice huh?

Disputing charges on credit and debit cards is a nightmare and I've never recommended them to anyone because of this. I'm STILL trying to cancel my credit card after leaving them SIX YEARS AGO! Stay away from Citiskank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Jerina's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jerina

Feb 2nd 2012

1 out of 5 marks

We're Pulling Out All Our Checking And Savings, And Then Cancelling Our Frequent Flyer Credit Cards

We too were duped by citibank when they sent out 1099-misc's in the amount of $625. 00 for opening a checking account and receiving 25,000 aa miles. We've asked them to buy them back - good luck.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MARIA2012NEWBANK's Profile Image

Reviewed by MARIA2012NEWBANK

Jan 31st 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Service

Everybody! I will never recommend anyone to use that sucks bank! Worse experience. Customer service is awful!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mich's Profile Image

Reviewed by mich

Jan 30th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank I have ever used

This banks customer service is ridiculous, if you are able to talk to anyone at all. Fees are outrageous and over all services are the worst in a bank that I have ever used. I will never again use Citi Bank, Citi Bank Cards or any services provided by Citi Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review