Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

1,009
Branch Locations

Citibank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Chase
Add
Bank Reviews
Bank of America
Add
Compare Banks

Citibank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Citibank Latest Customer Reviews

Nelson G's Profile Image

Reviewed by Nelson G

Apr 24th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

BG/SBLC Specifically for lease

BG/SBLC Specifically for lease from 25 top AA bank, leasing price of 6+2 of face value;

Contact:

Mr. Nelson Gilbert

Telephone +447920720215

Email: nelsongilbert@live.co.uk

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cunningjen's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cunningjen

Apr 19th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Citibank...........Crapibank, don't waste your time

2 Months ago I submitted all the relevant paperwork to apply for a credit card.

I received approval via email within 2 days and waited 2 weeks for further contact.....Nothing......so I called and 6 weeks further down the track and 8 phone calls, speaking to 25 different people from just as many nationalities, every call goes from "Customer Service" to "Verifications Dept" and each department cannot advise why a APL form ? (whatever that is) can/cannot be sent to a Postal Box.............This is the most frustrating experience I have ever had to deal with....Sorry Crapibank you have lost my service and I have lost my patience

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Edward's Profile Image

Reviewed by Edward

Apr 17th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Total Headache

We just received our monthly mortgage statement and on it was a $9.00 fee. I sent an email to them and I got a response " A delinquency fee $9.00 was assessed on 11/22/07 as your mortgage payment was more than 30 days past due. The

delinquency expenses can occur at any time after the account is past due."

This is what I got for a response on 4/17/2012 I was late in 2007 because of my account being stolen and cleaned out and I was working with my bank to get it back I notified CMI and paid the late charge the mortgage payment went out electronically on the 31st day with the next months along with the $24.00 late charge. so it appears Citybank can access a charge on an account when ever they like with no documentation to back it up. If you stick with these people a moment longer then necessary your nuts and you deserve to be feed to death. Me called a mortgage broker today started the process to pull out of Citibank the broker said no problem I owe less the 25% of value.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BW567's Profile Image

Reviewed by BW567

Apr 16th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

I have no idea how this company is still in business, it was utter chaos.

Citibank provided me with one of the most unprofessional & unhelpful banking experiences of my life. My husband & I were trying to attain a home loan, but trying to do anything with this company is nearly impossible & unbelievably frustrating. Every single time my husband or I would call, we would receive voicemail. The original agent that we were working with legitimately disappeared & nobody had any idea what to do with us or any of our concerns. When we would get a call back 2 days later, it was nothing but the usual run-around. After 3 months of working with these people, we were finally closing in 4 short days & they inform us that there's a problem with the loan & we won't be closing. This problem should have been addressed the very first day we talked to them, but we dealt with so many different people, nobody looked over any of the details until it was too late. Needless to say, after this incident we moved to a different mortgage company & will never deal with Citi for any sort of business again. They are such a large corporation that they truly just don't care about you or your situation. Please save yourself the trouble & avoid this bank to begin with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ktyaya33's Profile Image

Reviewed by ktyaya33

Apr 9th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Customer Service!

I had nothing but a very frustrating experience with citi bank. Yes, i am a student, which means i really don't have credit, therefore i receive an almost 11% interest rate on the $3000 loan that i needed. However, this is not really even the cause of my frustration with them. When trying to call "customer service" during their office hours, i received an automated telephone system. I understand that is the way most companies run their services, but every other time i have called a company there has always been an option to talk to a representative. Citi bank does not believe that this is necessary for their paying customers. So instead of being able to directly ask someone a time sensitive question, a week later i receive an email that only answers half of my question. Thank you citi bank, and as a young customer who will be needing loans again in the future, i will take my business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sly's Profile Image

Reviewed by sly

Mar 30th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

HORRIBLE

Used to be fine. Now, we are charged very high interest rates, card declines all the time because of issues on their end, customer service is the worst. TOTALLY frustrating. We can't wait to pay off the card and go somewhere else.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

vivek1's Profile Image

Reviewed by vivek1

Mar 29th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Very Bad

Very unprofessional approach

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kda's Profile Image

Reviewed by kda

Mar 8th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Bait and Switch

I opened a checking account with them, making a heft deposit to earn promised decent interest rates. I had not had the account even five months and they started dropping the interest rates like a rock. It was clearly a case of promise one thing to get new customers willing to put some serious money into an account, then when you had them hooked, switch around and pay them nothing on the account betting they will not go to the trouble to move the money back out.

I went to the trouble after calling them first to make sure they weren't making some kind of mistake in accounting on their end. I still have my credit card with them and pay it off every month, so that is OK at least.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Audrey's Profile Image

Reviewed by Audrey

Mar 1st 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Hackers!!! Run!!! Don't Even Think Of Depositing Money There. Where Is Their Fraud Protection? I Was Hacked By $1500 Without Me Withdrawing Nor Making Charges Against It. And I Received A Letter From The Law Firm Asking Me To Pay These Charges .

Bad customer service. I came there and the manager who looks like russian didnot prove to be helpful but was stern and he gave me the impression (tustin branch) that he thought i was lying. What is worse, i got illega l charges that i dod not make nor withdrew any upon. Surprise! I got this letter from the law firm asking me to pay for these charges. It used to be a credible bank, but now its credibility has been reduced to utterly despicable!!!! I won't even pass that bank again ever!!!! The charges came from barranca, irvine branch. I was given the impression that how safe is our money now in this banking industry. Terrible, terrible situation!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lydia's Profile Image

Reviewed by lydia

Feb 29th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

I do not have any loans with citibank I only have a business account with them and use a credit union however the people at the San Ramon Branch in California are excellent. When I travel, I can get local currency there ordered in clean fresh bills. I can do international wires with models so I don't have input different languages and make errors. I can do it online and it is instant (except weekends) . It helped me to pay internationally for my customers. I really like the bank for business and would recommend them over their competitors. I don't have a mortgage with them, i have one with Chase and unfortunately I can 't refinance with them because even though I pay my mortgage on time at 6.75% fixed they say I don't make enough. I have plenty of equity in my home and conduct business there and have 40% of it for business so moving is complicated and selling, showing with my shipping etc would disrupt my business. There should be programs for people like me that pay their mortgage on time yet cannot hire employees due to extreme burder of ridiculously high mortgage. In California Bay Area housing is expensive enough. I know someone that said they were able to refi with Citibank under the new program however Chase says I can't. They have equity also and declared bankruptcy and under the new program from Feb 2012 they were able to refinance. Chase says that they could but have to do underwater first. Is it because they could take my house in desirable neighborhood? It makes no sense. No wonder small businesses can't grow.

Anyway, it's always on my mind and I do recommend Citibank for business banking and personal banking ( when I started my business, I used the personal account for banking, I had to go to the branch and got to know them well then I changed it to a business account, the bank is very well run, at least that branch plus they have branches all around the world, including Bali, Peru, Turkey, Spain - places I have traveled to.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Farrell12's Profile Image

Reviewed by Farrell12

Feb 22nd 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Used to be good. At some point Citibank decided that customers were revenue sources, not people.

I was a Citibank customer for 15 years. I really liked how convenient they were for international travel in Asia. Their service was also very good. My in-bank experiences were also generally good. However, Citibank recently changed the way they charge their customers and they collect fees on EVERYTHING. Unless you enjoy being charged significant sums of money, I'd recommend avoiding this bank at all costs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TomK's Profile Image

Reviewed by TomK

Feb 20th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

On a 1 to 10, I rate Citibank as a -1 read on...

Citibank held my old mortgage i paid off years ago. So I went in to open a line of credit almost 4 months ago (and they still haven't finished processing it). I have herd the story That representative no longer works at this branch, Underwriting lost a form please come in and re file it, Your past the 90 day time limit (not my fault), I am so sorry Mr_ I just transferred in here. We have to run another credit check because its past 90 days and that's how the story goes...........

Well i am waiting till they finally finish then i will tell them to take it and shove it. I have no intention of signing the dotted line with a corporate giant that doesn't know its ass from a hole in the ground.

EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL BANKING @Citibank. my advice stay away from the Giants in this industry.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

harddr672's Profile Image

Reviewed by harddr672

Feb 17th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

A Bunch Of Two Face Liers

Open this account a mouth ago started a dircect deposit after starting this account recived my debit card and check book had two small deposit made from my job , then when i moved my whole paycheck there. Then tryed to log in my account to check balanace it wouldnt let me log in. Called the 800 number and was told that my account was blocked that i need to go to a branch office and fill out some form when i got there i was informed that they had close my account and that was that. So i have no pay check and company hasnt recived it back form the bank , when ask about my pay they said there wasnt any thing they could do , i think they are a bunch of lieing thiefing a-- holes and will never use them or feel sorry for them will be long a complant with the banking systems as far as i am concernd they can go f--k them slef!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Vgarcia's Profile Image

Reviewed by Vgarcia

Feb 7th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible. Would NOT recommend anybody to open any account at this bank.

My experience at this bank was terrible! I had a bank checking and savings account, and a credit card. I even did Primerica. They said my savings account was free, when I noticed I had no money in my savings at all; since they had been charging $25 a month!! When I brought it up, they said they didn't have nothing such as a free savings account and didn't give me the money back. They charge continued late fees when my payment on the credit cards was ALWAYS on time. I decided to close all the accounts and quit Primerica. Primerica has been the WORST of all. I invested and never got anything back. They promised I would. This bank is Fraudulent!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Frugal's Profile Image

Reviewed by Frugal

Feb 3rd 2012

1 out of 5 marks

You WILL be a victim of fraud with this bank!

I got a car loan and qualified for student loans. However, when I typed in MY social security number someone else's information came up! They never apologized and I have no idea who this person was but I had access to ALL of their information. If this doesn't freak you out read on!

It took weeks to sort out this mess and I've been watching my mail and finally got a fraudulent hospital bill.

Citibank doesn't care about customer information safety and they will NOT negotiate with you on student loans. I already had student loans when the above fraudulent incident occurred so getting out was impossible. I tried believe me. If you lose your job or don't make enough to pay they don't give a damn period. If I had known this I would have never gone to college or at least gotten loans only from the government. Ironically they site being inflexible with the large number of people defaulting on their student loans! All these morons are doing is ensurying that more people will default due to THEIR inflexibility. They have also been sued because just by altering the information on the last section on the internet page address they were easily hacked and customers had their information stolen. Nice huh?

Disputing charges on credit and debit cards is a nightmare and I've never recommended them to anyone because of this. I'm STILL trying to cancel my credit card after leaving them SIX YEARS AGO! Stay away from Citiskank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Jerina's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jerina

Feb 2nd 2012

1 out of 5 marks

We're pulling out all our checking and savings, and then cancelling our Frequent Flyer credit cards

We too were duped by Citibank when they sent out 1099-MISC's in the amount of $625.00 for opening a checking account and receiving 25,000 AA miles. We've asked them to buy them back - good luck.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MARIA2012NEWBANK's Profile Image

Reviewed by MARIA2012NEWBANK

Jan 31st 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Service

Everybody!!!!! I will never recommend anyone to use that sucks bank! Worse experience. Customer service is awful!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mich's Profile Image

Reviewed by mich

Jan 30th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank I have ever used

This banks customer service is ridiculous, if you are able to talk to anyone at all. Fees are outrageous and over all services are the worst in a bank that I have ever used. I will never again use Citi Bank, Citi Bank Cards or any services provided by Citi Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MelisaM's Profile Image

Reviewed by MelisaM

Jan 6th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Worst!!! Stay Away from Them!!!

Citi Bank sucks!!!! Especially City Health Card. They hide fees and lure you to open an account with them, then hit you with large amount of interest and fees. I charged on CityHealth credit card for $1,500 once for my medical bills, and paid over $800 on interest and fees in less than 2 years.

After I paid off the balance and closed my account, they still charged me interest although I didn't have any balance! Even more ridiculously, two months AFTER I paid off the card and closed my account, they took money out of my bank account for "monthly payment"!!!

City Bank is the worst bank I have ever dealt with!!! And I will NEVER EVER want to have anything to do with them. Stay away from them!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

shebec117's Profile Image

Reviewed by shebec117

Jan 5th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Amazing!

Love citibank. Best part is being able to go to any 7-eleven and take out money from ATMs at no extra charge!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

lisaehrlich's Profile Image

Reviewed by lisaehrlich

Jan 5th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

not so complicated, since i don't have any major accounts. they are pleasant, local, and convenient

we have checking (multiple), savings, sep and ira accounts with them. a few cd's. i also have a credit card with them. i have overdraft on my checking. my accounts are linked together so that i don't pay any fees and have free check printing as well. i do almost all my banking online, and love that. i know some of the people in my branch and they are nice and helpful . a positive experience overall.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

DonS's Profile Image

Reviewed by DonS

Dec 31st 2011

1 out of 5 marks

Would not recommend having a credit card with them.

If you ever have a credit card dispute their customer service leaves a lot to be desired. If you wish to utilize their email message center, they will notify you that your matter has been turned over to the proper department and you will receive a response in 72 hours. As often as not they will not get back to you in the required time as mentioned in their automated response.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Troy T's Profile Image

Reviewed by Troy T

Dec 31st 2011

1 out of 5 marks

Citi bank Scam Artists

My wide has had a significant balance on her card for a few months while I was deployed to Afghanistan. I have been trying to pay it off for over a month with no luck because citi bank wants to transfer me to 7 or 8 people a phone call o magically disconnect from me mid sentance, or my card won't go through when it has quadruple the amount needed if you ever have a large sum on a citi bank card don't plan on paying off all at once they will not allow it they will take full advantage of your interest rate and bleed you dry

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Carlyjones's Profile Image

Reviewed by Carlyjones

Dec 30th 2011

1 out of 5 marks

Really bad - never open an account with this bank - systems lose information all the time

I opened an account years ago and have had numerous problems. I named someone for power of attorney and every time I needed something done, CITI had lost the POA. Can you imagine? You name a POA so you can get help when you need, but every time CITIBANK had system changes they lost the power of attorney of the account in the system and the person I named was not able to do anything when I needed. I also had copies of the POA and they refused to accept the copies. In the last 15 year, it happened 4 times. They also lost the signature card of my account. Can you imagine a bank that loses signature cards. Citi online never works well. They recently made a system change and now I cannot pay my CITI credi card nor see information of my CITI Credit card online. Terrible systems. Can you imagine a bank with terrible systems???? Nothing works correctly. They give customer wrong information about everything, gave wrong interest rates, gave wrong info about requirements, terrible services in the branches that never have people available to help. Long lines for everything. Terrible experience. Notary services do not do Wills nor certified copies....what else do you need? Get a real bank, not Citibank. Changed rules to force you to open new accounts from the start or pay high monthly fees. The list of problems do not end....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Joel R's Profile Image

Reviewed by Joel R

Dec 30th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Excellet

I've been a CitiBank customer for almost 5 years and I'm very satisfied with their services.

- Outstanding online banking system

-No hidden fees

-No fees for transfering to other banks or Citi accounts

-1 of the few that still offers rewards with checking accounts

-24 hour customer service

- They don't charge you for sending you a paper statement

-No ATM fees

- They reimburse you 1 overdraft fee a year

- As Citi client you qualify for Citiprivatepass which gives you access to concert tickets, game tickets ect before they actually go on sale

This is one of a few banks that still cares for their customers unlike Bank of America and Chase.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bulkina's Profile Image

Reviewed by Bulkina

Dec 22nd 2011

1 out of 5 marks

Why is Citibank so blatant?

My Citibank's credit card has been stolen in Italy 19 August 2011.

The thief made a transaction of 500 euro, whereupon the card has been blocked.

I applied for the reimbursement on 25 August.

Here is the result of bank's investigation saying that the PIN code has been used.

http://s017.radikal.ru/i442/1111/84/cb8b920e3118.jpg

http://s017.radikal.ru/i417/1111/5b/f7bbbb8f7e84.jpg

Than being 100% sure nobody could know my PIN code there (I just didn't use it) I have requested the account statement for that day, and ....."We hereby confirm that this operation was made without of PIN code."

http://s40.radikal.ru/i088/1111/47/81270d0781bb.jpg

http://s017.radikal.ru/i404/1111/ef/cf72066a61fc.jpg

Multiple phone calls didn't help to clarify the situation.

I applied for the reimbursement for the second time.

Two weeks later, the bank confirmed the transaction has been made without PIN code usage, but since I called not in time, "money written off in favor of the bank serving this ATM was legitimate and can not be returned".

http://s50.radikal.ru/i127/1111/d5/df29b713b415.jpg

http://s002.radikal.ru/i197/1111/84/ccabb261b7d3.jpg

I wonder which kind of ethics stops Citibank from charging me 500 euro everyday saying I didn't call in time?

I requested the copy of the cheque which is supposed to be signed by me,

http://s017.radikal.ru/i417/1111/12/d1a093b3ca9f.jpg

It's not my signature, but Citibank says they never check the signatures in such cases, but declines to explain why I need to sign the cheques if so, as well as why there is no money amount written on the cheque....

Why?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

superstar39's Profile Image

Reviewed by superstar39

Dec 13th 2011

1 out of 5 marks

the worst bank ever

this bank should close for good horrible client service non flexible very petty

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Jan7da's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jan7da

Dec 13th 2011

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible service

Did not receive statements, they messed up my address change on of the card.

no coutesy calls or any thing ... any way after paying with a 2 month delay, got deinquency marks on my immaculate credit report, all for $80 ? it didnt matter to them that i have been paying thousands of dollars per month for years.

they automatically closed couple of credit cards, upon contacting customer care received 3 different reasons. didnt think it was worth chasing imbecile customer care.

horrible internet features, no interbank transfers, imbecile customer care reps. aptly should be called shitty bank.

-J

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

simimac39's Profile Image

Reviewed by simimac39

Dec 10th 2011

1 out of 5 marks

Really bad Service!!!!!!!

They really need to train the people who work there to live up to the advertisement .

Service is absolutely ridiculous.

They destroyed all my papers original even with a whole page note stating to send them back(claiming it is procedure ) , never was contacted back after requesting for 2 weeks. I'm out over $500 no results just frustration and disgust.

Never ever will I do business with them again and will make sure to warn people who are looking for banking!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

loretoledo9001's Profile Image

Reviewed by loretoledo9001

Dec 4th 2011

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible!

Habri esta cuenta de checkes por que me dijeron que no iba a tener que pagar al mes y que mis checkes iban a ser gratis. Pero ahora me estan cobrando $53 por intereses y un overdraf que ocurrio cuando ellos me cobraron $20 por no tener un minimo de $20,000 dolores en mi cuenta. Esto es un robo descarado!!! Dicen que me mandaron notificaciones, y talvez si las mandaron, pero por alguna razon yo no me di cuenta, pero por que no me hablaron por telefono para notificarme de los cambios como ahora me estan hablando para cobrarme los $53????? Que no hay nadie que pueda controlar estos bancos de salirse con la suya???

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review