Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »

65
Branch Locations

Citizens Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Santander Bank
Add
Bank News
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

Citizens Bank Customer Review

Post a review
Tom800's Profile Image

2 out of 5 marks

Reviewed by Tom800

Apr 13th 2012

3 Strikes and your out.

Citizen's took over my old bank, and moved into my supermarket, so for convenience, I stayed. The old account was free checking, and the welcome letter said nothing would change, a forever free account. Ha Ha. Free was gone 3 or 4 years ago. Tell the clerks? No response. It gets much worse. I keep an escrow account for my tenants. It's MY ACCOUNT. Ha Ha. Yet, when the tenant bounced their own Citizen's bank check, they took it out of my escrow account. Told the clerks...huh? What? Can't help you, they said. Citizen's closed their supermarklet branch at Shop Rite of Roxborough, Phila PA (wonder why, not enough business?) So now I am forced to drive to be sure there are 5 transactions each month, or I get charged. Now when I deposit a check, I have to sign it two times, as written and as on the account. That's OK, just seems like someone with nothing to do. Today, however, I tried to deposit a gift check made out to my wife and myself. She signed it, I signed it, went to deposit it, and NOPE, can't do it. The head teller there copped a real attitude when I said it had never been that way before in 10 years. Wouldn't get her boss when I asked. What did I do? Drove a mile to the other branch and deposited it. Long story shorty? 3 strikes and your out. Bye Bye Citizens.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Other Citizens Bank Reviews

sailorphyl's Profile Image

Reviewed by sailorphyl

Jan 26th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible, Horrible , Horrible

Our family's experience with citizen's has gone from bad to worse.. From the very beginning of the mtg process we were made to feel like second class citizens.. We had a flood in our house and had a huge loss.. Our insurance company was great.. Came out and helped with the cleanup.. Had the adjuster out immediately and even cut the check right away.. We have done everything citizens has asked us to do including the inspection but yet they still have not released our check and now our workmen would like to get paid.. When you call, you get a recording. When you do get a human, no one knows anything.. This is the worst banking experience ever... They have been holding our insurance check for over a month with absolutely no explanation as to why it has not been released..

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jan 27th 2015

Hello sailorphyl, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences in our Philadelphia branches, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, sailorphyl -- we look forward to hearing from you!

sailorphyl's Profile Image

Responded by sailorphyl

Jan 27th 2015

Really?? I'll be happy to send you my info.. My husband spoke with someone in you office last week and we were assured a phone call back with a response.. Nobody called.. I'm sure you can understand just how much we are starting to dislike your institution.. If someone from "the office of the chairman" doesn't have any authority to fix a problem, then no one does...Good customer service always starts at the top.. A phone call means nothing if there is no follow through

sailorphyl's Profile Image

Responded by sailorphyl

Jan 27th 2015

I would have rated you in minus numbers if it allowed me to..

Beans310's Profile Image

Reviewed by Beans310

Jan 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Rip Off Bank

My experience was with the Forest Hills Branch. My wife opened a saving account with the branch manager. He had her sign up for overdraft protection but failed to disclose that it needed to be tied into another account he was short handed and gave her an application to work there that he wanted delivered personally.

$150 in fees later they said tough luck what a rip off in fees they are very uncaring i am on fixed income. They rip off older people. I would run from this bank they lie and mislead people to maximize fees the branch manager has no working knowledge and should be fired for his poor quality of job performance

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jan 27th 2015

Hello Beans310, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences in our Philadelphia branches, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Beans310 -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Post a review View all Reviews