Overall Rating

MyBankTracker rated Citizens Bank based on the following criteria that includes real customer reviews and bank fees, among others. Our bank report card is a proprietary rating system that highlights the financial health and stability of the bank.

B

MyBankTracker Rating

Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »

65
Branch Locations

Citizens Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Santander Bank
Add
Bank Rates
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

Citizens Bank Customer Review

Post a review
Tom800's Profile Image

2 out of 5 marks

Reviewed by Tom800

Apr 13th 2012

3 Strikes and your out.

Citizen's took over my old bank, and moved into my supermarket, so for convenience, I stayed. The old account was free checking, and the welcome letter said nothing would change, a forever free account. Ha Ha. Free was gone 3 or 4 years ago. Tell the clerks? No response. It gets much worse. I keep an escrow account for my tenants. It's MY ACCOUNT. Ha Ha. Yet, when the tenant bounced their own Citizen's bank check, they took it out of my escrow account. Told the clerks...huh? What? Can't help you, they said. Citizen's closed their supermarklet branch at Shop Rite of Roxborough, Phila PA (wonder why, not enough business?) So now I am forced to drive to be sure there are 5 transactions each month, or I get charged. Now when I deposit a check, I have to sign it two times, as written and as on the account. That's OK, just seems like someone with nothing to do. Today, however, I tried to deposit a gift check made out to my wife and myself. She signed it, I signed it, went to deposit it, and NOPE, can't do it. The head teller there copped a real attitude when I said it had never been that way before in 10 years. Wouldn't get her boss when I asked. What did I do? Drove a mile to the other branch and deposited it. Long story shorty? 3 strikes and your out. Bye Bye Citizens.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Other Citizens Bank Reviews

excelsior2014's Profile Image

Reviewed by excelsior2014

Aug 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Continue to be evil thieves....is there a black hole rating?

Over the last five years, I have racked up thousands in overdraft fees for what amounts to pennies in dollars in overdrafts even though I am "opted out" of the overdraft system. How? Why? No one has an sensical answer. So opting out is apparently of zero use. This bank is just horrible...completely horrible. Moving on. Might see what Key Bank has to offer with their "no overdraft fee", "no hassle account"...because "Good Banking Means Good Citizens", apparently means steal as much as you can get while you can get it and make no apologies.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Aug 5th 2014

Hello excelsior2014, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

MJoDel232's Profile Image

Reviewed by MJoDel232

Feb 4th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Customer Service

After about 20 years of bank accounts with Citizens Bank, I am seriously considering moving all my accounts to another bank. Here is what happened:

I was out of town when I received an email that I had overdrawn one of my checking accounts. We had family medical issues to deal with, and my husband and I had to leave for a week away, so for the first time, I accidentally overdrew one of my accounts by $203.10. I had over $11,000 in two other accounts at the time that are linked to that account.

When I got an email telling me of my mistake (the same day as the overdraft), I immediately transferred more than enough money from one of my other accounts, to cover the overdraft.

When I returned home a few days later, I went to my local branch and nicely asked if - since this was the first time this has ever happened - the penalty of $70 be refunded to me.

The bank manager who was there at the time told me she would only refund half of the amount because the one check was the first time I had ever overdrawn (two checks were cashed on the same day). I explained to the bank manager about the family medical issues, that I had been out of town, and my 20 years of having accounts at Citizens without ever having an overdraft.

The bank manager was very cold to me, and did not seem to care at all about keeping my business. Apparently having my business (with monthly direct deposit in one account) was not as important to her as keeping my $35. I feel as if it is a very poor way to treat a good, long-term customer who keeps a substantial amount in her accounts.

My 19 year old disabled daughter is going to be opening a bank account soon with monthly SSI checks directly deposited, but I would strongly hesitate now to have her use Citizens Bank. What is most disturbing to me is the coldness with which I was treated by that bank manager. One of the tellers even mentioned that the following week (or maybe it was two weeks) the fees for overdraw were being eliminated.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Feb 4th 2015

Hello MJoDel232, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

MJoDel232's Profile Image

Responded by MJoDel232

Feb 5th 2015

Thank you for responding. I was walking by a branch inside Walmart, when one of the tellers asked me if I were interested in opening a CD account. I explained what had happened, and she contacted me a few days later with news that she had spoken to the Regional Manager, and had refunded the other overdraft fee to my account. She was very nice and I now have a much better impression of Citizens Bank. I suggest that Citizens Bank managers all get training in good customer service. The one at the Walmart branch went out of her way to make me feel like a valued customer.

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Feb 6th 2015

That's great to hear, MJoDel232! I'm very glad to hear things worked out. Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can ever be of assistance in the future.

Post a review View all Reviews