Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

65
Branch Locations

Citizens Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Santander Bank
Add
Bank News
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

Citizens Bank Customer Review

Post a review
diamond7180's Profile Image

1 out of 5 marks

Reviewed by diamond7180

May 2nd 2012

Horrible Go Anywhere But Citizens Bank!

Citizens Bank has been the worst banking experience of my life! Frist of all i have never had a bank where i had to have so many debit cards in my life due to bank error and wait almost 2 weeks to get a new card. Constantly i had “debit card fraud” ok how is it that your customers information is constantly leaking out! So after a number of events the bank advised me to open a new account and i did. I opened the new account but, in the meantime fees accrued on the old fraudulent account and the bank said that they would only give me back half the fees and i was responsible for the rest.

Why? I had nothing to do with fraud on my account, and i had no idea that the customer service representative would not be placing a to be closed status on my account to stop all activity and fees. To be honest i think that all she was concerned about was opening a new account to make her quota, not at all being concerned about her customers wellbeing. So some weeks go pass, and i see that fees are being accrued on an account that i thought was inactive. I call the customer service number and i speak with a lady that says well we will give you some fees back but it was your responsibility to keep track of your account so we will not give them all back.

Ok when i went to the branch and spoke with the customer service representative i felt comfortable to assume that she would do her job and handle both accounts in a manner that would be the most beneficial to me. So the account was placed on a “credit only status” so that i could make periodic deposits to clear out the negative balance. In the mean time i kept receiving letters in the mail so i called and spoke to a lady in the recovery department we go back and forth on payment options and she explains that the account has been 43 day in the negative and at 60 it would be charged off.

tell her that i do not have the money right now and i did not know that i was on a 60 day timeline to pay off the account. She says “well pay what you can and

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Other Citizens Bank Reviews

TRIEDOFTHIS14's Profile Image

Reviewed by TRIEDOFTHIS14

Nov 6th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Do Not Lend Or Bank With Citzens Or Subsidaries

This bank is a ripoff. Not only do they get everything mixed up between citizens, cco & charter one bank but they took advantage of the financial situation by increasing my equity line from 3% to 7. 99% the last few years. I will never ever use them again for anything. Currently having to pay this rate but as soon as i can i will refinance this line. Mortgagees beware!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Nov 18th 2014

Hello TRIEDOFTHIS14, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

TRIEDOFTHIS14's Profile Image

Responded by TRIEDOFTHIS14

Nov 19th 2014

I will privately send you my phone number so you can find out what happened within your bank and the service we received.

TRIEDOFTHIS14's Profile Image

Responded by TRIEDOFTHIS14

Nov 20th 2014

Dear Citizen's,

I e mailed you my number from the e mail listed above and it was undelivered! I believe you need to verify this information you stated.

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Nov 21st 2014

Hi TRIEDOFTHIS14, I was able to confirm that AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com is able to receive email. Can you try and send your email again?

angus_magillicutty's Profile Image

Reviewed by angus_magillicutty

Nov 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Amateur hour.

I've been with citizens bank for 8 years now and i'm just now in the process of leaving. At first, they were definitely better than the prior bank I used, but then things got worse:

I had been depositing checks made out to my name in my one and only account with them, a dba small business checking account, but one day a bank officer told me it's not allowed any more and that I needed to open a personal checking account in order to deposit these checks. This account of course, I had to keep $1,500. Dollars in to meet the minimum balance and not incur a fee. As it turns out - this was a lie. Then I started having regular bogus charges on my account from bogus online transactions.

These must have happened at least twice a year and each time I made a dispute, the bank killed my debit card and I had to wait for another and of course change account numbers for my online transactions, etc. The last straw for me is (now) an absolute inability for them to allow my paypal charges on ebay because of a bogus charge I disputed from a merchant calling themselves "paypal."

For some reason, a bank of their size couldn't distinguish between the real paypal and some dipstick calling themselves "paypal" and to top it off they have lied to me repeatedly about a slew of chargebacks from paypal purchases I made on ebay. They lied-to-me, or, they really just don't know what they themselves are doing. This "unauthorized transaction" business has caused me so much wasted time and anxiety. I even got into screaming matches on the phone with citizens bank people over this because even after begging them to please allow my paypal transactions, they still claimed the issue was not on their end (R10, ACH return - yeah, paypal told me. )

And I can't even comment on their mortgage department because I'd probably have a heart attack reliving that catastrophe where 3 closing dates came and went while I put myself up in an apartment and then a motel.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Nov 18th 2014

Hello Angus, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Angus -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Post a review View all Reviews