A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Discover Bank Customer Reviews

(60 Reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 Star 18
4 Star 2
3 Star 1
2 Star 8
1 Star 31

The Most Helpful Discover Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Devin S. Sep 27, 2015

GREAT BANK AND CARDS

Awesome Bank!!! I have both their checking account and their student IT card.. Apply today using my referral link and earn a $50 bonus (Apply Here) http://bit.ly/1jnTf9f

The discover it card offers excellent cash back options in categories that people really use.. This makes it very easy to always max out your cash back if you actually use your card.. Last year I earned several hundred in cash back!! Paying the card off monthly means that was FREE MONEY!!

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By discoverbs Jul 6, 2015

Lost my money!

I initiated a funds transfer from discover savings to external bank, and after waiting five days, the funds did not show up in the external bank. It turns out that the money was taken out of my Discover account on day 1, but went into some black hole. I called their number, and they assurred me that the money would be deposited the next day. They mentioned some sort of Cashedge transfer problem, whatever that is. After waiting a few more days, I called back and asked "where's my money? ". They said they did not know, and would call back when they "found" it!!
Of course they did not call back, and could not explain what happened. What good is a bank that can't figure out where they put your money, and will not let you have access to it?
This seems like some corporate scam, where they systematically "lose' money during transfers, so they can float to money for as long as possible, while you lose all interest and access.
I will be filing FDIC complaint.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Discover Bank Reviews

  • H
    Reviewed By houstonguy77020 Feb 4, 2016

    Bait and switch--- horrible customer service

    Discover Bank took it upon themselves to mail me a $300 bonus offer for switching to them.
    It's confirmed on my application confirmation. I fulfilled all the requirements and now I received an email stating "This promotion was for targeted customers, and we do not show this on your account"

    I uploaded a confirmation; which they say is not sufficient proof.

    WHY BANK WITH DISCOVER WHEN YOU CAN'T TRUST THEM? I'll stay with a local bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By thomas1983 Jan 14, 2016

    Terrible Financial Institution. Avoid at all costs.

    I used discover for about 6 months because I was hoping to earn above average interest. I did earn about 25 dollars in interest, but that was not nearly enough to justify the misery this bank put me through. First, it takes a full 5 business days to complete a transfer to or from an other financial institution. It takes about 3 days for a check to clear and become available. Once they locked me out of my account because they thought that a check I had written was fraudulent (it wasn't), and since the team in charge of fraud was out of town for the holidays, I was locked out of my entire account for THREE days. That's three days I had absolutely no access to my money. I stuck with them, however until this week. I had scheduled a transfer from my university scholarship account, and they withdrew that amount TWICE. This of course resulted in an overdraft fee of 29 dollars, and when I called they insisted that I had set up the two transfers when I know 100% sure that I DID NOT. While in the process of moving my money out of this account, they then did double the bill pay for my cell phone bill, again WITHOUT MY AUTHORITY. This is a very poor financial institution, I encourage you to avoid discover bank at all costs.

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By Vbg Jan 5, 2016

    Great Bank With Good Savings and CD Rates

    I opened my first account in December 2011 with their introductory savings rate.
    Got a $25 when my daughter opened her account, a plus.
    Last year I added a checking account.
    It's easy and convenient to access my money from their numerous ATM locations nationwide, with no fees.
    Never could understand why I'd have to pay to access my money as with some banks and CUs.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Miss_Fritz Dec 11, 2015

    They Won't Return My Money

    I received an email that my Discover Bank account, less than one year old, was overdrawn and charged $30 for it. Alarmed, I checked online and found that an electronic payment (ACH) made to my insurance company was deducted 2x. The Discover Bak rep told me to contact the insurance co. immediately and have them return the extra payment, they would then remove the $30 overdraft charge. Since I’ve made online payments to many creditors over the last 12 years, this was a first and was certain I didn’t make an error. On contacting the insurance company, they informed me that they had a record of only one payment received on the designated date - to verify their claim I downloaded the recent payment history and it did show only one payment received and no others. After several phone calls and emails, I insisted that Discover Bank expedite resolution to the error. They gave me a “provisional credit” while they proceed with a “dispute investigation” that could take up to ten days. Ironically, one ACH payment bounced because of this error - to Discover credit card! They told me the payment would be resubmitted to Discover Bank during their “dispute investigation” period. Someone at Discover has my money or the account has been hacked or their system is seriously compromised. Whatever it is, no bank that makes these kinds of errors should be patronized by responsible customers. Back to the credit union for me.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cesdiscover Dec 5, 2015

    How to cheat a customer

    On 10/22/15 I opened a Discover Bank Cashback Checking Account. The mailing that I received said that I would receive a $100 bonus if 1. I opened the account between 9/15/15 and 11/15/15 using offer code "Bonus5915" and 2. a minimum current balance of $1,000 must be met within 2 weeks of account funding. Furthermore it said that the bonus would be issued as a credit to my account WITHIN 30 days of completing all requirements. I complied with all of it when I opened the account. The rep specifically asked me for the offer code which I gave. I printed a confirmation of the account opening listing all the information (Acct #, name, address, funding info, etc.) which did not mention the $100 bonus so I called and spoke to a rep named Samantha (11:30 AM E.S.T. on 10/22/15). I said nothing was mentioned on the confirmation about the $100 bonus and she said that my account showed bonus5915 and nothing was printed on the confirmation because that offer wasn't available to everyone. I have an email dated 10/23 saying that they rec'd my request that my bank transfer $1000 as an opening deposit which would be credited to my account within 3 business days. Deposit was shown in the account on 10/28. Today being 11/27 (30 days since October had 31 days) and my account did not show the $100 bonus, I called (10:45AM) and spoke to a supervisor named Glenn who said that the reason I didn't receive the $100 was because my account wasn't coded for the bonus. When I said that they had asked me for it and that I had called Samantha to confirm it, he said she (Samantha) thought I was talking about a different offer. When opening the account they specifically ask "Do you have an offer code?" Does a consumer have to ask for written proof that an account was coded correctly? Two chances to code the account and neither one was done correctly???? Don't they record all these calls?? Glenn then said he would file a dispute with customer service but that would take 6-8 weeks to resolve! So, now I have to wait another 6-8 weeks for their decisi

    Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Wynnie32590 Nov 15, 2015

    Love their cards, hate their bank

    Where do I start. Opening the account was about as complicaticated as it could get, having to verify my identity a hundred different ways it seems. It took literally like a week just to open the account. Then it took almost a week to get funds transferred from my old bank. When I deposit checks it takes 5 days to clear and have the money available. My old bank was available next business day. And to top it off, I had my debit card declined today for a purchase, even though I had enrolled in the overdraft protection where it's supposed to transfer money from my savings. I have never had a card declined and this was very embarrassing. After calling customer service and being put on hold for ten minutes because the rep didn't know why the purchase was declined, I was told overdraft protection doesn't cover debit card swipes. I'm just really disappointed with discover. I had high hopes for them since I have a discover it card and have had no complaints thus far, but it seems they just don't understand banking yet and I'll be closing my accounts and going elsewhere until they do.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By manikantakolluru Oct 24, 2015

    Bank trasactions takes lot of time

    First thing please be aware, discover bank's current balance and available balance definitions. If you transfer money from external bank to discover it takes more than a week to show up balance in "Available balance". I have weird transaction descriptions in my account even customer care don't know what the description means. They want 4 weeks of time to just know about the description giving to a transaction. Planning to cancel my account once all pending transactions are cleared with this bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • DS
    Reviewed By Devin S. Sep 27, 2015

    GREAT BANK AND CARDS

    Awesome Bank!!! I have both their checking account and their student IT card.. Apply today using my referral link and earn a $50 bonus (Apply Here) http://bit.ly/1jnTf9f

    The discover it card offers excellent cash back options in categories that people really use.. This makes it very easy to always max out your cash back if you actually use your card.. Last year I earned several hundred in cash back!! Paying the card off monthly means that was FREE MONEY!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By discoverbs Jul 6, 2015

    Lost my money!

    I initiated a funds transfer from discover savings to external bank, and after waiting five days, the funds did not show up in the external bank. It turns out that the money was taken out of my Discover account on day 1, but went into some black hole. I called their number, and they assurred me that the money would be deposited the next day. They mentioned some sort of Cashedge transfer problem, whatever that is. After waiting a few more days, I called back and asked "where's my money? ". They said they did not know, and would call back when they "found" it!!
    Of course they did not call back, and could not explain what happened. What good is a bank that can't figure out where they put your money, and will not let you have access to it?
    This seems like some corporate scam, where they systematically "lose' money during transfers, so they can float to money for as long as possible, while you lose all interest and access.
    I will be filing FDIC complaint.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By reggie277 Apr 24, 2015

    worst customer service ever

    This bank has the worst customer service ever. I needed statements that were supposed to have been mailed several times and assured had been delivered and never did receive. They told me where i could go.

    I needed help on a second occasion and they bent over backwards to prove they were correct and i was wrong. Automated processes are error prone and customer service directs you to these automated services. Calling to correct a mistake will lead to frustration and disappointment.

    Would not recommend and will be taking my business elsewhere

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.