A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Discover Bank Customer Reviews

(76 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 18
4 Star 3
3 Star 2
2 Star 10
1 Star 43

The Most Helpful Discover Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Devin S. Sep 27, 2015

GREAT BANK AND CARDS

Awesome Bank!!! I have both their checking account and their student IT card.. Apply today using my referral link and earn a $50 bonus (Apply Here) http://bit.ly/1jnTf9f

The discover it card offers excellent cash back options in categories that people really use.. This makes it very easy to always max out your cash back if you actually use your card.. Last year I earned several hundred in cash back!! Paying the card off monthly means that was FREE MONEY!!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By 1234kmc Apr 9, 2015

IRA CD account

They are gouging consumers.
I have an IRA account, matures on 3/30/2015, contact them 3/20/2015 concerning closing the CD at mature day, they inform me to me in a distribution form by 4/8/2015.
Send in form on 4/1/2015. message them on 4/7/2015 to make sure everything is set - no reply. 4/9/2015 they renew my CD, call them, they said form is not complete because I did not fill in the amount. I told them I did not know the actual amount because of interest paid. Do you think the bank will contact you about it.
Now in order to close the account, they will charge me over $180.00 fees and early withdrawal. I said that is more than you guys paid me interest last year.
That is highway robbery by delaying couple days here and there, so you pass the grace period.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Discover Bank Reviews

  • A
    Reviewed By Aonmaui Jun 22, 2016

    Good LUCK getting your funds OUT!

    BEWARE if you need your money! I have banked here for over 9 years. I was in escrow buying a house, put in my wire request the day before I needed the wire, and next day - no wire! I called the bank a total of 8 times over 3 days! Excuse after excuse after excuse. This went on and on and like I said, I made 8 phone calls! They held up my escrow and I closed late. This bank never called me even ONCE - I had to call them! I had to tell them I would hold them responsible for triple damages plus attorney's fees if I lost the house or my deposit due to the wire not going out. They have NO RIGHT not to wire when a customer requests it. I even called the very 1st day after uploading the request to verify that it was all correct, everything the bank needed was in order, and they said all good, it will go right out. 3 days later, it finally went out - after I made 7 additional phone calls. At one point they wired, then reversed it! I could have transferred the funds to another bank in 3 days, or even written escrow a check if I had known the bank is incapable of wiring. If you are in escrow or need to wire for any other reason, DO NOT keep your money in this bank. It will be like pulling teeth to get it out! I am closing my account today. If you don't plan on using your money, you should be fine with this bank, but if you ever NEED IT, good luck getting it out!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By thestallion54 Jun 18, 2016

    Easy and efficient

    I've never had an online account before so this was going to be my first go at it. I had always had a chase savings and checking, but i decided to give discover bank a chance. I've been with them for 4 months and its been great. The debit card and checks came within a week, direct deposit is always on time and the savings account has a great apy. Transfers to other banks and from will take a couple bd's but honestly thats the policy at most banks and for those that do offer faster transfers, have fun paying their monthly maintenance fees. Overall I am a happy customer and have only had to call once and that was for general questions. The only thing I would like to see is the ability to make cash deposits at the atms. But since I have chase as well its not a problem for me. Great Bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Blankmisfit May 10, 2016

    Takes too long to do everything, then charge you for it

    I tried to transfer funds from my checking to my discover credit card. They held my money for two weeks because it was a large sum. It was $200. I called on a Saturday and had to wait until Monday when that particular department was open to have them call the checking department to verify my information to release the money. When I make deposits or transferred to outside accounts. The money post to accounts but discover takes weeks to post it has been transferred. It takes so long I forgot and they charged me $60 total because of this. I should have just stuck with my Capitalone. After this direct deposits I am switching back and closing the credit card. No thank you discover I will not pay for your snail processes.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cczzy01 May 10, 2016

    I lost $50 in my bill pay in Feb, 2016 no credit back so far.

    This is my real experience about lost $50 in bill pay of my discover checking account in Feb. 14, 2016. BOA credit card didn't received it. We made three parties phone call twice. They said to wait 3-5 days but failed. Since then, I call many times to work with their supervisors. They never give you their whole name, only first name. I called near 20 times never talked to the same supervisor even I know their first name. they usually don't let the Super talk to you twice. Their duty service will let you repeat the story again on every call-in. Then takes you a long time on the phone line, at the end always said you just wait for 3-5 days and no result at all. I have been tricked more than ten times. Anyone can help me to get $50 credit back?
    I certainly give discover bank a negative rate.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rodrigov955 Apr 29, 2016

    discover bank's "withdrawl" policy

    I opened a discover saving account because of their competitive rate and I made several deposits into my account. Things are ok until when I need to WITHDRAW some of the fund to my US checking account. Not only discover bank interupted the transfer of 1700$. they procceed to freeze my account. I have provided personal identification to validate the transaction but their decision was to close the account due to "fraud". Ironically the one comitting fraud here is discover. Fine, I can take my business somewhere else. I then waited a whole month for my closing balance return to me and after several phone calls they claim they are working on it. The sad part is discover doesn't have a physical branch where you can walk in and force them to return the money. I hope I can get my money back in a small claim court case in saltlake city. at least they will have to appear in court.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Deepa Apr 25, 2016

    Pathetic customer service

    I applied for checking account on 4/10 and uploaded the documents those were needed for them. I called customer service 3-4 times and always got answer that service specialist will call you within 2-3 days. Never got call from them till today.
    Wish to give negative ratings to customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By Henleydean Apr 22, 2016

    To much trouble

    Been with discover for 5 months. I've called dozens of times over the time with them. Usually they have the same resolve, delete the app, reinstall, or they are unaware of any issues, or the system is being upgraded, or serviced, or maintenance is being performed. More excuses then a child gives over chores. Best you try it for yourself, then you can more than likely fill out a review in a few months and let others see what is going on with the banking side of discover and maybe once people wait a few months rather than 5 stars after 1 or 2 months discover will clean the garbage up.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By stopthebleeding Apr 16, 2016

    incredible incompetence

    I asked Discover Bank to send an electronic transfer to my bank as usual. It turns out they could not send it for 3-5 business days. I called back 10 minutes later to cancel the transfer. I needed the money to pay the IRS two days hence.
    I received an encounter number for the call for the cancellation. The teller at the other end would not send an email as proof of confirmation. But she said the cancellation was done.
    My accountant then put in a request to the IRS to transfer funds directly from my discover account to them.
    It turned out my request to stop the transfer could not be stopped. No one at discover bank ever bothered to call me about the situation.
    I receive an email this morning that the transfer was initiated. It was never cancelled. I called discoverbank immediately to ask what was going on. That is when they told me they could not stop it.
    This means the IRS will find my account at discoverbank inadequate to cover my taxes and I will receive huge tax penalties.
    Stay away from this institution. It is the worst of the worst.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mftinvermont Apr 9, 2016

    Slow antiquated system of AVAILABLE and CURRENT Balance

    Discover Bank has a LOT of work to do if it wants compete with the likes of Bank of America, which I feel has the BEST checking/savings account system on the planet. BOA is fast, accurate to the penny and I never needed a check register because transactions....bill pay and debit/credit transactions come off immediately, unlike DISCOVER BANK which does not! This system is old "local banks" type of system.
    GET WITH IT DISCOVER or I'M GONE!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By suei Apr 5, 2016

    Terrible way to treat a customer.

    I purchased a 5-year CD through Discover. Three years into it, they forwarded it to the state as unclaimed property. Told me it was because I hadn't logged into my account to check on it. I receive quarterly statements and it's a CD - what's to check?!
    Here's the kicker: Instead of sending me a letter advising me of their intent and giving me the opportunity to contact them, they sent a letter informing me that the account had been closed two weeks previous. And, they kept three months of interest.
    Never again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.