Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

A
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
State Farm Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
EmigrantDirect
Add
Compare Banks

Discover Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Discover Bank Latest Customer Reviews

bwerick's Profile Image

Reviewed by bwerick

Aug 23rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome.

People that whine about banks being "insensitive" just need to stop charging, get a second or third job and pay their darn bills! Stop living beyond means and stop expecting everyone else to pay for YOUR mistakes. I raised a child on my own. No welfare, no food stamps. Just lots of hard work and pride. What happened to everyone's pride and self esteem?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

lmart008's Profile Image

Reviewed by lmart008

Aug 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great customer service!

I've only had a couple of errors (merchant-side) with my accounts, and every time I contacted customer service I received prompt and genuinely helpful support. Their investigation and resolution teams really know their stuff!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Jessica314's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jessica314

Mar 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank

Great Card! I love the cashback bonus! Use links below and receive $50 Cash Back.. You also receive perks like 5% cash back and 5% off at six flags theme parks instantly!!

http://bit.ly/1fg7yq8 (Very VERY high approval ratings for students) $50 Cash Back Bonus

If you're not a student you can use this link here for the bonus!

http://bit.ly/1dxTLs2

Please note that student approval rate is much higher than normall approval rate! You just need to be signed up for one class, can be any class, any school!

I really like my discover card and I love the cash back bonus they offer!! Great bank to do business with

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

lewislisa's Profile Image

Reviewed by lewislisa

Feb 17th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great CREDIT CARD COMPANY!

I have been very happy with my Discover IT for Students! Great credit card that offered a $50 bonus when I applied here

http://bit.ly/1nIqpLL

Discover card gave me a very high credit limit and even overnighted the card to me for free!! Their cashback is AMAZING!! I would highly recommend this company and card

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Betsy28282's Profile Image

Reviewed by Betsy28282

Jan 26th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

GREAT Bank!!!

I have the discover it card for students. Great Card!! You to can have this card by using the link I post here. This link will give you a $50 cash back bonus! Must be able to prove you're a student or not

http://bit.ly/1fg7yq8 (Very VERY high approval ratings for students)

If you're not a student you can use this link here for the bonus!

http://bit.ly/1dxTLs2

Please note that student approval rate is much higher than normally approval rate!

I really like my discover card and I love the cash back bonus they offer!! Great bank to do business with!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Rachelsexyton's Profile Image

Reviewed by Rachelsexyton

Jan 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

great bank

Amazing Bank! I have the discover It card for Students and really enjoy this credit card! It has always been there for me when I needed it. Use this link and receive a $50 account cash bonus!

Great customer service and great cash back! I would highly recommend this card to anyone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MarkWalburn's Profile Image

Reviewed by MarkWalburn

Jan 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome Bank!

Students Use http://bit.ly/1ctulwH for a high acceptance rate and $50 Bonus! Must have either a student email or be able to prove you are taking at least one class!

Everyone else use http://bit.ly/1kzaXD2 (Acceptance rate is much lower but you don't have to be a student)

I love my discover card!! Great Great Card! I have the student version and love it! I earned $200 in cash back last month and would highly recommend anyone join the 5 % cash back bonus programs this card offers. Currently the 5 % bonus is on food and movies! Last month it was on online purchases at places like amazon!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jasonlewis's Profile Image

Reviewed by jasonlewis

Dec 23rd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank Great Card

Become a @Discover card member and you'll get $50 Cashback Bonus with your 1st purchase within 3 mos. Use link For Students or All Others.

I love my discover card! Great company to deal with great card!! Great everything! Cash back is amazing! They always change their deals! Right now you get 5% back on any online purchase!! Jan - March you will get 5% on restaurant and movies! Includes movie rentals! This summer they are giving 5% back on summer fun activities

Don't forget you also get a 5% instant savings on everything at six flags including tickets!

Their customer service is great! I would highly recommend this bank, their card, and their products to anyone!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Lisa's Profile Image

Reviewed by Lisa

Feb 3rd 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Savings account - great online experience, good rates

I have no complaints -- the website is great and customer service is very professional. They also have good rates on savings accounts, although the rate I signed up for 8 months ago was just lowered.

I don't transfer money to this account on a regular basis -- the initial deposits into the account did take longer than I expected. If you're going to make regular deposits or withdrawals that might annoy you. If you're just looking for a place to keep your savings without a lot of activity, and want a competitive rate, you'll like this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Jessie D's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jessie D

Nov 13th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Not bad

DeeAn, did you get your money back

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Michael D's Profile Image

Reviewed by Michael D

May 27th 2009

5 out of 5 marks

Recession-busting rates!

I would like to give Discover the "you are awesome" award. More specifically, thanks for the great rates on your CDs. Definitely should consider these CDs as a tool in your arsenal if you want to ride out this recession and make money doing it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Laura M's Profile Image

Reviewed by Laura M

May 27th 2009

5 out of 5 marks

Special Rates on 3 and 5 Year CDs

Discover Bank has special rates on 3 and 5 year CDs. Plus their 12 month CD is good too! I took one of each...its time to start saving!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

aaronandrews's Profile Image

Reviewed by aaronandrews

Jul 31st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Fantastic Bank

I have been with Discover for a little over a year now. They were the first Company to give me a chance with their credit cards. Even when I had no history. I give them a 5 of 5 just for customer satisfaction. If I ever have an issue with my account I can get ahold of a live person who is friendly and actually wants to help you. This bank is by far one of my most favorite banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

JIMMYGJR's Profile Image

Reviewed by JIMMYGJR

Apr 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best Credit Card/banking Experience Ever!

I've had a discover card for over 25 years. Any merchant dispute I had was resolved by discover in a timely manner. I've since been using discover banking. Again, my experiences on the phone and on-line have all been extremely positive. Although there are other banks currently offering CD rates a bit higher than those of discover bank, I would not change banks for a minimal 20 basis points. Service is just as important as the rate of return.

I would and have recommended Discover card and Discover bank to anyone who is looking for quality service and returns!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

amanolopoulos's Profile Image

Reviewed by amanolopoulos

Nov 3rd 2011

5 out of 5 marks

A great first credit card!

I opened my first credit card with Discover when I was still in college and it was one of my smarter financing decisions. Their rates and rewards program are outstanding compared to other student cards. In just a year I have been able to establish some credit, and have been rewarded with a good APR and increased credit line since. They also have a great user interface online and very helpful customer service. I would recommend Discover to everyone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Mike's Profile Image

Reviewed by Mike

Jul 29th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Great Online Experience

I'm very pleased with Discover bank and new online experience improvements!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Facebook User's Profile Image

Reviewed by Facebook User

Dec 25th 2009

4 out of 5 marks

Am happy to date with this Bank

Very easy to get connected to the customer care.

The best savings account Interest rate in the present market.

Easy to use and explore the bank website.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

anne marie m's Profile Image

Reviewed by anne marie m

Mar 5th 2009

4 out of 5 marks

So Far, so good, I'm Happy

I have been very happy with the service from Discover Bank. My only regret was I didn't know they gave a $50 incentive for applying for your acct. on-line which I would have taken advantage of if I had only been made aware. In these hard times everyone could use $50.00 extra. Other than that I have been very pleased with the way the bank has handled my account.

Sincerely,

AMM

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 2

A C's Profile Image

Reviewed by A C

Feb 1st 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Easy to navigate

Discover has an easy to navigate website and is easy to work with. They pay very reasonable interest rates on their accounts when compared with the competition.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Dave C's Profile Image

Reviewed by Dave C

Oct 8th 2010

4 out of 5 marks

Discover online banking has improved

I opened savings and cd accounts at Discover online in 2009 and it was neither quick nor simple; it took a while for my funds to be deposited, my online access to be established, etc. And last year, transferring funds between Discover and my other banks was a major pain. However, they have been slowly improving their online banking. It is now much easier to transfer funds, although Discover seems to take about a day longer than ING does. And it was trivial, when my cd matured, to deposit those funds into savings instead of having the cd renew automatically. The Discover cd rates are currently significantly higher than ING, so now that things seem to be working smoothly I am transferring the bulk of my savings from ING to Discover. I'm thinking of transferring my IRA over as well.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Lili28's Profile Image

Reviewed by Lili28

Jun 24th 2013

3 out of 5 marks

Non Secure Telephone Banking

When I called Discover Bank Toll Free Banking number, I was only asked to enter my social security number and birth year. After that, I could access all my accounts! It is not secured! Horrible! This is the only bank that did not require personalized password.

They used to only ask to enter social security number. I have complained and complained. Now, they added birth year? It is still not secured. How birth year or birth date could be your password to enter to your bank account?

I have been their customer for over 20 years. Now, I am seriously thinking to move my money to other banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

toki's Profile Image

Reviewed by toki

Mar 20th 2011

3 out of 5 marks

It's ok, good interest rate, but website always down

Well, I'm first attracted to their higher saving interest rate, but their website is always down for the past 1.5 year. Almost every other time I try to login, the system is down or in "maintenance" mode... It's not good if you use this as your primary bank. Also don't put all your emergency money there. It seems like the money only goes one-way, it's hard to withdraw or transfer the money back to your other bank. Maybe it's a good way forcing you to save money, but again, I do not recommend it if you need to transfer money back and forth. The customer service people are generally nice, but if the system down, nothing they can do about it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Hendricks's Profile Image

Reviewed by Hendricks

Feb 23rd 2012

3 out of 5 marks

Horrible Experience

I have been attempting to open an online savings account with this bank. I was drawn to account based on excellent credit card experience and the offer of a higher interest rate. My experience thus far has been horrible such that i am re-considering my decision, customer service is clearly not their strength. I chose to open account 5 days ago and scheduled external account transfer. Six calls later they have no record of my setting up of account, as it has "fallen off". I am very leery of continuing with this account. When i speak with customer service all they do is say they are sorry for the problem, but it never gets resolved.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JoeC's Profile Image

Reviewed by JoeC

Jan 5th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Discover Bank Sucks

I've had a Discover Card credit card for years and thought the overall product and service great. Based on that, I figured that Discover Bank bank accounts would also good. Big mistake! Banking with Discover Bank sucks.

Yes, the rates are good. Yes, they pay (bribe) you to use their Discover Checking. Yes, account setup is really easy. And yes their online banking is good. But when you get to things that really matter in the day to day management of your account, Discover Bank bites the big one.

There are but two ways to get funds into your Discover Bank accounts. One way is using their remote deposit app. A lot of banks these days have remote deposit and the concept is great. Leave it to Discover Bank, though to screw it up. The idea of an online bank is to give you more convenience for the disadvantage of not having branches nearby. Where the vast majority of online banks follow the Federal Reserve regulations for check clearing, Discover Bank files not. They like to hold all checks -- no matter how small -- for nine working days. Nine business days means for two weeks you have no access to those funds. This isn't just for new accounts either. Customers for years still get their funds held.

The second way to get money into your account is via ACH (Fedwire) from your bank. You go to your other bank and tell them to push money into your Discover Bank account. Fedwire is fast and funds are guaranteed so there is zero risk to the receiving bank. Fedwire transactions are also carried out in realtime so it is fast. Except when dealing with Discover Bank. If you tell your bank to ACH money from your account to, for example, your credit union and to Chase on Friday morning, by early Saturday morning those funds are sitting in your account at Chase and your credit union and available for use. Now, if you had sent money to Discover Bank, you wouldn't see those funds until Tuesday morning. Nothing convenient -- or ethical -- about that.

Remember Discover Bank's decent online bankin

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

luckypra's Profile Image

Reviewed by luckypra

Jul 3rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst Customer Service

To start with I opened account due to $50 account opening bonus and thought what could be wrong with it.

Here what happened with Discover -

- One fine day I got call from my son school that check I issued returned due to some reason. That time school was not sure why, said need to wait till actual returned check comes back in mail.

- I called discover, asking why you returned my check. Customer agent said it never came for clearing, Did three way conference with school bank manager and school account holder. Customer agent said I have more than enough balance, and see no problem why it won;t clear. This was confirmed with two different calls to customer service and one time even supervisor was also get involved as agent said supervisor have access to more system.

- Once school received legal returned check. Reason confirm stopped payment which I never did from my side.

- I gave another call to customer service, Agent said I put in stop payment. I said I never did, He said let me check with supervisor. He said I did some time back in Feb-14 some stop payment. Today is June-2014.

- Here is what happened in Feb-2014, I did online bill pay for one of my monthly expense but during initial setup, I entered wrong address (instead of entering payee address I entered mine so check came to my address). I called customer service, she suggested to cancel check and setup bill pay again. Which I did and worked fine.

- Now customer service saying during cancel check process Agent might have made some mistake. She is not telling what exactly happened, But now I have stop payment on all of my checks. Just to keep in mind between Feb and June I issued checks and those got cleared perfectly fine. So I don;t believe story of agent made some mistake during cancel check, It that was the case then why it took 4 month for that stop payment came into effect.

- I asked for $35 charge back as return check charge, They need school bank account statement as proof why?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Karimelnmiacom's Profile Image

Reviewed by Karimelnmiacom

Nov 28th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Horrible Experience

First they held my money for 8 days when I went to a restaurant with a tip. The restaurant ran my card pending then I added a tip. The full amount went through my account then They held that initial pending amount for 8 days before they released my funds. Who has the money to afford to have twice the funds held for 8 days anytime you go to a restaurant?

Then I transferred money from my bank account to them and it took 5 business days to go and this bounced 2 checks for me. As soon as I can stop my direct deposit and get out of this nightmare I am. Horrible customer service. I called very upset and the guy just put it all on me & never even apologized or tried to keep my business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ggffrenn's Profile Image

Reviewed by ggffrenn

Nov 5th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Another Bad Experience

Opened a "no-minimum-balance" checking account that was closed after just 2 months by Discover for "a zero balance." Apparently, their understanding of "no minimum" differs from that of rest of the English-speaking world. In general, Customer Service is friendly and profusely apologetic, but impotent. Issues are usually escalated to managers. Resolutions are always promised "within 7 to 10 business days - nothing happens. If you're one who thinks your money deserves better care, then find another place to keep it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

laproduct's Profile Image

Reviewed by laproduct

Jan 8th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

This bank makes money by misleading customers.

The bank charged NSF fee ($35) even though I had enough funds in my account. After I spent 1hour and 52 minutes on the phone with their customer service representatives they agreed to refund the fees. Still waiting. It's time to go and do banking with a more friendly bank !

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Tem's Profile Image

Reviewed by Tem

May 10th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Fraudulent Con Artists

I should have seen the warning signs. When i first opened the account in august 2011, discover tried to pull the initial deposit amount ($9,000) three times from my other bank, resulting in multiple overdraft charges of $105. When i asked my bank about this, they told me that i needed to get refunded from discover and of course discover told me otherwise. So basically i had to fight with both banks and then eventually closed off my original bank account (since their service was worse than discover's). What a mistake. Things were going well with discover as i had a regular deposit in place. But after unacceptable delays in money transfers and having to wait almost a week for each transaction to occur, i decided to pull out from discover and open a hsbc bank account that only takes 3 days per transfer.

As i was pulling out all my money, of course discover did what they do the best-they repeatedly tried to "transfer" money into my other account multiple times, resulting in $35 overdraft fees. When i called discover to ask how on earth this multiple pull happened, they explained that i logged on and transferred the money multiple times myself (they even got a tech person at discover to verify this! ). This was the most insane excuse i have ever heard. And all of this mysterious 'transfer' that i requested all occurred after i emptied out my account. When i asked them "why would i try to make transfers from an empty account?

", they were like, "i can see that this doesn't make sense and there must have been a mistake". So i asked for a refund for the $35 fee they charged and then they told me that was impossible. I realized that this is how discover penalizes people who empty out their accounts--they falsely charge you with fees based on a fake transfer that their system creates. This is the most unbelievable experience i have ever had with a bank. I truly believe that discover bank is committing a crime through their fraudulent practices.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review