Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

A
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
SFGI Direct
Add
Bank News
BankDirect
Add
Compare Banks

Discover Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Discover Bank Latest Customer Reviews

lmart008's Profile Image

Reviewed by lmart008

Aug 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great customer service!

I've only had a couple of errors (merchant-side) with my accounts, and every time I contacted customer service I received prompt and genuinely helpful support. Their investigation and resolution teams really know their stuff!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

aaronandrews's Profile Image

Reviewed by aaronandrews

Jul 31st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Fantastic Bank

I have been with Discover for a little over a year now. They were the first Company to give me a chance with their credit cards. Even when I had no history. I give them a 5 of 5 just for customer satisfaction. If I ever have an issue with my account I can get ahold of a live person who is friendly and actually wants to help you. This bank is by far one of my most favorite banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

luckypra's Profile Image

Reviewed by luckypra

Jul 3rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst Customer Service

To start with I opened account due to $50 account opening bonus and thought what could be wrong with it.

Here what happened with Discover -

- One fine day I got call from my son school that check I issued returned due to some reason. That time school was not sure why, said need to wait till actual returned check comes back in mail.

- I called discover, asking why you returned my check. Customer agent said it never came for clearing, Did three way conference with school bank manager and school account holder. Customer agent said I have more than enough balance, and see no problem why it won;t clear. This was confirmed with two different calls to customer service and one time even supervisor was also get involved as agent said supervisor have access to more system.

- Once school received legal returned check. Reason confirm stopped payment which I never did from my side.

- I gave another call to customer service, Agent said I put in stop payment. I said I never did, He said let me check with supervisor. He said I did some time back in Feb-14 some stop payment. Today is June-2014.

- Here is what happened in Feb-2014, I did online bill pay for one of my monthly expense but during initial setup, I entered wrong address (instead of entering payee address I entered mine so check came to my address). I called customer service, she suggested to cancel check and setup bill pay again. Which I did and worked fine.

- Now customer service saying during cancel check process Agent might have made some mistake. She is not telling what exactly happened, But now I have stop payment on all of my checks. Just to keep in mind between Feb and June I issued checks and those got cleared perfectly fine. So I don;t believe story of agent made some mistake during cancel check, It that was the case then why it took 4 month for that stop payment came into effect.

- I asked for $35 charge back as return check charge, They need school bank account statement as proof why?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

JIMMYGJR's Profile Image

Reviewed by JIMMYGJR

Apr 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best Credit Card/banking Experience Ever!

I've had a discover card for over 25 years. Any merchant dispute I had was resolved by discover in a timely manner. I've since been using discover banking. Again, my experiences on the phone and on-line have all been extremely positive. Although there are other banks currently offering CD rates a bit higher than those of discover bank, I would not change banks for a minimal 20 basis points. Service is just as important as the rate of return.

I would and have recommended Discover card and Discover bank to anyone who is looking for quality service and returns!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

nodiscover's Profile Image

Reviewed by nodiscover

Mar 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

No to Discover Card!!!!!!!

In no way will I recommend Discover Card to anyone at all!!!! My family had the card years ago and because of some very hard medical issues was not able to pay the bill. No fault of our own. That was years ago and now they have their cruel lawyers constantly taking us to court for money we cannot pay and have told them over and over and over again. Frozen account to where now we cannot even have a bank account. It is wrong to prey on the people who have had bad luck and just cannot pay. We are living on $45 a week now and still being called into court to answer questions that were just answered a few month ago. Never would I encourage anyone to get Discover Card

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jessica314's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jessica314

Mar 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank

Great Card! I love the cashback bonus! Use links below and receive $50 Cash Back.. You also receive perks like 5% cash back and 5% off at six flags theme parks instantly!!

http://bit.ly/1fg7yq8 (Very VERY high approval ratings for students) $50 Cash Back Bonus

If you're not a student you can use this link here for the bonus!

http://bit.ly/1dxTLs2

Please note that student approval rate is much higher than normall approval rate! You just need to be signed up for one class, can be any class, any school!

I really like my discover card and I love the cash back bonus they offer!! Great bank to do business with

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lewislisa's Profile Image

Reviewed by lewislisa

Feb 17th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great CREDIT CARD COMPANY!

I have been very happy with my Discover IT for Students! Great credit card that offered a $50 bonus when I applied here

http://bit.ly/1nIqpLL

Discover card gave me a very high credit limit and even overnighted the card to me for free!! Their cashback is AMAZING!! I would highly recommend this company and card

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

KCMOjohn's Profile Image

Reviewed by KCMOjohn

Feb 13th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

The worst bank ever

First: complaining here doesn't help. File a complaint with the FDIC at: https://www2.fdic.gov/starsmail/index.asp

Second: to the person that keeps posting about Discover Card, this site is in relation to Discover Bank, not Discover Card; two separate entities.

Began the account in November with their Cashback Checking. Was induced due to BoA now charging me $25 mth in fees. Figured the $50 Discover Bank gave me to open the account then the cashback each transaction was worth it. Boy I was wrong.

I've had nothing but trouble with them. I've spent well over three hours, yes, three hours on the phone with customer service about their Funds Availability. Filed a complaint with the FDIC, as one of my deposits was incorrectly deposited on a different day. Discover Bank hides behind their "mobile deposits are not subject to the Funds Availability Act"; however, did admit the deposit was incorrectly deposited on a different day.

When I began the account, the rep said that there were hold times, however after 6 months those hold times would not apply. Now, however, Discover Bank is saying that not to be the case and is further saying that mobile deposits can be made available "at their discretion earlier". At their discretion. Wow, way to hose your customers.

There is a reason Bank of America charges a fee. In the near seven years I've had them as a bank I've spent maybe 20 minutes on the phone - IN SEVEN YEARS. In four months I've spent well over three HOURS on the phone with Discover Bank. They are the most awful customer service. Never call you back - unless you file a complaint with the FDIC then they call you back all the time.

I'm so disappointed in them. Now Discover CARD is completely different. Awesome cust service and never any complaints. Maybe their Bank should take a cue from the Card side.

Also, when making a transaction, the Bank side of the account only updates 3 or 4 times a day; unlike the Card side.

You'll do well to avoid

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Betsy28282's Profile Image

Reviewed by Betsy28282

Jan 26th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

GREAT Bank!!!

I have the discover it card for students. Great Card!! You to can have this card by using the link I post here. This link will give you a $50 cash back bonus! Must be able to prove you're a student or not

http://bit.ly/1fg7yq8 (Very VERY high approval ratings for students)

If you're not a student you can use this link here for the bonus!

http://bit.ly/1dxTLs2

Please note that student approval rate is much higher than normally approval rate!

I really like my discover card and I love the cash back bonus they offer!! Great bank to do business with!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MichaelWilson's Profile Image

Reviewed by MichaelWilson

Jan 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Discover bank leaves something to be desired.

Discover Bank has been a nightmare. I had a check that I had overnighted to them and was told that it would post to the account the same day. It never did. When I called they informed me that it would be four days to post so I waited the 4 days and the funds never became available. I called and they said 4 business days and that it would post the next day. I checked the next day and nothing. When I called them back they then informed me that it wouldn't post till after the weekend. I tried to explain to a supervisor that I have been given the wrong information all week. I asked if there was anything they could do and she said no. I then asked the supervisor to listen to the calls she said she was hesitant to listen to the call because it wouldn't change anything. On top of all this the account was compromised due to the Target security breach sending my account into the negative. i asked to have all the fraud charges disputed and to this date I do not see any credits for these. Discover Bank is a joke.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Rachelsexyton's Profile Image

Reviewed by Rachelsexyton

Jan 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

great bank

Amazing Bank! I have the discover It card for Students and really enjoy this credit card! It has always been there for me when I needed it. Use this link and receive a $50 account cash bonus!

Great customer service and great cash back! I would highly recommend this card to anyone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JoeC's Profile Image

Reviewed by JoeC

Jan 5th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Discover Bank Sucks

I've had a Discover Card credit card for years and thought the overall product and service great. Based on that, I figured that Discover Bank bank accounts would also good. Big mistake! Banking with Discover Bank sucks.

Yes, the rates are good. Yes, they pay (bribe) you to use their Discover Checking. Yes, account setup is really easy. And yes their online banking is good. But when you get to things that really matter in the day to day management of your account, Discover Bank bites the big one.

There are but two ways to get funds into your Discover Bank accounts. One way is using their remote deposit app. A lot of banks these days have remote deposit and the concept is great. Leave it to Discover Bank, though to screw it up. The idea of an online bank is to give you more convenience for the disadvantage of not having branches nearby. Where the vast majority of online banks follow the Federal Reserve regulations for check clearing, Discover Bank files not. They like to hold all checks -- no matter how small -- for nine working days. Nine business days means for two weeks you have no access to those funds. This isn't just for new accounts either. Customers for years still get their funds held.

The second way to get money into your account is via ACH (Fedwire) from your bank. You go to your other bank and tell them to push money into your Discover Bank account. Fedwire is fast and funds are guaranteed so there is zero risk to the receiving bank. Fedwire transactions are also carried out in realtime so it is fast. Except when dealing with Discover Bank. If you tell your bank to ACH money from your account to, for example, your credit union and to Chase on Friday morning, by early Saturday morning those funds are sitting in your account at Chase and your credit union and available for use. Now, if you had sent money to Discover Bank, you wouldn't see those funds until Tuesday morning. Nothing convenient -- or ethical -- about that.

Remember Discover Bank's decent online bankin

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MarkWalburn's Profile Image

Reviewed by MarkWalburn

Jan 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome Bank!

Students Use http://bit.ly/1ctulwH for a high acceptance rate and $50 Bonus! Must have either a student email or be able to prove you are taking at least one class!

Everyone else use http://bit.ly/1kzaXD2 (Acceptance rate is much lower but you don't have to be a student)

I love my discover card!! Great Great Card! I have the student version and love it! I earned $200 in cash back last month and would highly recommend anyone join the 5 % cash back bonus programs this card offers. Currently the 5 % bonus is on food and movies! Last month it was on online purchases at places like amazon!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

PhilipLowman's Profile Image

Reviewed by PhilipLowman

Jan 4th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

One hell of a story

A very negative experience in late 2013 led me to decide I didn't want to be a customer with Discover Bank anymore.

Here's what happened:

I initiated two online transfers using their website to an external bank. The second transfer ended up being for around $40 more than I had in the account after the first transfer was initiated (probably did these at different times of the day). Their user interface doesn't immediately show the effect of transfers on your balance. It even allows you to transfer out more than the value of your account without even warning you about it with a single transfer!

They then charged me a $30 INSUFFICIENT FUNDS fee. In the context of an online transfer initiated using their site, this is completely unacceptable behavior.

Although I didn't know this at the time, this put the account into a "suspended" status. My automatic savings transfers into the account stopped happening. A couple of months later I logged in to try to figure out what was happening. After seeing the charge I decided I needed to close the account and switch banks. I tried to withdraw money and, get this, after filling out the form I get an HTTP 500 Error (Internal Server Error) page that says the following:

java.lang.NullPointerException

That's about as unprofessional as it comes. No "You've experienced an error please contact our customer support dept page", just the fact that their code has a bug in it.

I figured they were having server problems, and tried again a week later. After getting the NullPointerException again I contacted customer support and after a bit they figured out that I had a suspended account because of the previous INSUFFICIENT FUNDS. They never emailed me or contacted me about the "suspended account". After they unsuspended the account I was able to transfer the money out.

I asked for the $30 back but they refused.

Do yourself a favor and stay away from this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jasonlewis's Profile Image

Reviewed by jasonlewis

Dec 23rd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank Great Card

Become a @Discover card member and you'll get $50 Cashback Bonus with your 1st purchase within 3 mos. Use link For Students or All Others.

I love my discover card! Great company to deal with great card!! Great everything! Cash back is amazing! They always change their deals! Right now you get 5% back on any online purchase!! Jan - March you will get 5% on restaurant and movies! Includes movie rentals! This summer they are giving 5% back on summer fun activities

Don't forget you also get a 5% instant savings on everything at six flags including tickets!

Their customer service is great! I would highly recommend this bank, their card, and their products to anyone!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

banklover's Profile Image

Reviewed by banklover

Dec 3rd 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Bad

Shark loans. Stay away.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Karimelnmiacom's Profile Image

Reviewed by Karimelnmiacom

Nov 28th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Horrible Experience

First they held my money for 8 days when I went to a restaurant with a tip. The restaurant ran my card pending then I added a tip. The full amount went through my account then They held that initial pending amount for 8 days before they released my funds. Who has the money to afford to have twice the funds held for 8 days anytime you go to a restaurant?

Then I transferred money from my bank account to them and it took 5 business days to go and this bounced 2 checks for me. As soon as I can stop my direct deposit and get out of this nightmare I am. Horrible customer service. I called very upset and the guy just put it all on me & never even apologized or tried to keep my business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ggffrenn's Profile Image

Reviewed by ggffrenn

Nov 5th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Another Bad Experience

Opened a "no-minimum-balance" checking account that was closed after just 2 months by Discover for "a zero balance." Apparently, their understanding of "no minimum" differs from that of rest of the English-speaking world. In general, Customer Service is friendly and profusely apologetic, but impotent. Issues are usually escalated to managers. Resolutions are always promised "within 7 to 10 business days - nothing happens. If you're one who thinks your money deserves better care, then find another place to keep it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bkintx's Profile Image

Reviewed by bkintx

Sep 5th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever!

Worst experience ever with a bank. Customer service is terrible. Had an issue where they processed a EFT deposit to my Discover MM Savings and they processed it 7 times! Not the 1 time i submitted. Andrew the customer service rep provided some of the worst assistance I have ever experienced from ANY customer service organization. Major inconvenience now to re balance my accounts since their EFT process is ~5 days (guess they make money on the float). Completely unacceptable for a financial institution. Avoid this bank they're not worth the .01% interest advantage they may have.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Robsuncoaching's Profile Image

Reviewed by Robsuncoaching

Aug 29th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible customer service. They don't call back when they say they will. I have to start each time from scratch.

They have lost track of an important transaction. I keep trying to get information, and they cannot, or will not, provide it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Customer01's Profile Image

Reviewed by Customer01

Aug 24th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Non-delinquent account set to collection agency

I have a credit card with discover since 1993. Other than one or two late payments (only by a day at the most), the account has always been paid on time. I have never ever been delinquent or had problems making payments. Yet

Discover has turned my account over to a collection agency. Every time I get something I call the collection agency & Discover. Each call to collection co. ends the same. They don't know why they have it, shouldn't have it, and it will be sent back to discover. Discover tells me they don't show it as ever being delinquent, to continue making payments as I have been, and to disregard those notices. In fact, they tell me they don't show the account has even been sold to a collection company. They acknowledge it is an internal problem but do nothing to fix it. Every month for the past few months, I've had to spend hours on the phone. For nothing. I'm told it is being worked on & someone will call. That call never comes. One person at Discover tells me it will be fixed, another tells me I have to call another department. really? I have to find the right department to fix your internal problems?

There are differences between what the collection agency amount & Discovers. The collection agency tells me my payments were posted 3 weeks after I made them, Discover shows the payments as posted when I made them. I get letters from them that begin with "Since you haven't responded." when I actually have.

Discover Customer Care, although useless, has at least been pleasant on the phone, except one named Julie. Very rude & condescending. She launches into a tirade about my account going to a collection agency because it's delinquent. She never once looked at the account nor would she let me finish a sentence. She kept cutting me off & talking over me. Then demanded (not asked!) to know who I made arrangements with and when. Um. no one & never.

The whole situation is outrageous and shouldn't be this hard to clear up.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BankReview's Profile Image

Reviewed by BankReview

Aug 6th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Months after my account was closed they sent me a debit card

I called to ask what was going on and was told that it was a mistake. It makes me very uncomfortable that such stupid mistakes can happen when my bank account information is at stake.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Lili28's Profile Image

Reviewed by Lili28

Jun 24th 2013

3 out of 5 marks

Non Secure Telephone Banking

When I called Discover Bank Toll Free Banking number, I was only asked to enter my social security number and birth year. After that, I could access all my accounts! It is not secured! Horrible! This is the only bank that did not require personalized password.

They used to only ask to enter social security number. I have complained and complained. Now, they added birth year? It is still not secured. How birth year or birth date could be your password to enter to your bank account?

I have been their customer for over 20 years. Now, I am seriously thinking to move my money to other banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

oitension's Profile Image

Reviewed by oitension

Apr 30th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

very bad dispute service

Through out several transaction disputes, I quit Discover in my life. They always stand on the side of the evil enterprises. They always believe the scam people, not the customers happily using the high rate cash back. Discover never cares about their customers. For the future safety, I stop all their services. I dispute the same cases through VISA, and VISA always takes care of my cases carefully. They keep tracking and figuring out what happened and happening. VISA listens to their customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JasperRingo's Profile Image

Reviewed by JasperRingo

Jan 17th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Everything was fine... until i tried to get my money out.

1) Ties in poorly with the Discover Credit Card online site. I guess there could be technical/legal reasons for this, but I sure would've appreciated a single name/password a single view into my holdings with the company.

2) When my CD matured I ran into issues.

2a) They claimed they'd send me a maturity notice 3 weeks in advance. I got no such notice.

2b) They have a 9 day "grace period" to change the maturity action before they roll it over for another year. 9 days is far too short a time, especially with no notice given. Thankfully I had it on my calendar to check.

2c) There is no way to set the maturity action online, you have to call, which is annoying in this day and age.

2d) Finally, a $30 wire transfer fee for putting the funds back into a normal bank account is completely ridiculous (they sure didn't charge me to move the money in!). I've wired money in and out of accounts all over the place and never heard of a charge before this.

I won't be using them again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

laproduct's Profile Image

Reviewed by laproduct

Jan 8th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

This bank makes money by misleading customers.

The bank charged NSF fee ($35) even though I had enough funds in my account. After I spent 1hour and 52 minutes on the phone with their customer service representatives they agreed to refund the fees. Still waiting. It's time to go and do banking with a more friendly bank !

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cdseeker's Profile Image

Reviewed by cdseeker

Jan 3rd 2013

1 out of 5 marks

This is a terrible bank with NO customer service.

I have had numerous CDs amounting to a substantial amount of money with Discover and only in the last 6 months have things gotten really bad with them. I have contacted customer service several times and gotten perfunctory replies that did not address any of my concerns. They have NO customer service. They lie about this in all of their ads and promotions and also lie about having "great" rates. I sense that there are some real problems with this bank and it may be that they just don't want to deal with consumers any longer, at least in the CD market. So I will NEVER buy another CD from them and strongly urge anyone reading this stay away from this bank. BTW, I had to give a one because there was no option for to give a zero.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DiscoverCardStinks's Profile Image

Reviewed by DiscoverCardStinks

Jul 3rd 2012

2 out of 5 marks

One Of My Worst Experiences With Online Banking, Horrid!

Opening an online savings account with discover bank is a mistake. I found out the hard way. They are a day or two slow in transferring money out. That hurt a little but one can live with that. There are several other minor things that are troublesome, including horrible customer service. One can live with some of these things, as long as my money is fine. The big issue came when i transferred everything out of the account on the 24th of the month. I was stunned when i didn’t get any interest for the month, 24 days in. They told me that i forfeited that when i transferred everything out. Awful. I never thought i'd say this but american express (http://personalsavings. Americanexpress. Com/) is much better. Money transfers on time, better rates, plus, they do not steal your interest money. I have learned from experience, i hope no one else suffers my fate.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

gidi2's Profile Image

Reviewed by gidi2

Jun 18th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible experience with wire transfer.

If you need a large sum from savings quickly, avoid Discover Bank. It has taken eleven days and several snafus, misinformation, lost forms, apologies and excellent phone manners followed by customer no-service for me to give up entirely. I am going to transfer the funds electronically in two transactions over two months instead. I just hope we don't lose the HUD house we are trying to buy.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Tem's Profile Image

Reviewed by Tem

May 10th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Fraudulent con artists

I should have seen the warning signs. When I first opened the account in August 2011, Discover tried to pull the initial deposit amount ($9,000) THREE TIMES from my other bank, resulting in multiple overdraft charges of $105. When I asked my bank about this, they told me that I needed to get refunded from Discover and of course Discover told me otherwise. So basically I had to fight with both banks and then eventually closed off my original bank account (since their service was worse than Discover's). What a mistake. Things were going well with Discover as I had a regular deposit in place. But after unacceptable delays in money transfers and having to wait almost a week for each transaction to occur, I decided to pull out from Discover and open a HSBC bank account that only takes 3 days per transfer. As I was pulling out all my money, of course Discover did what they do the best-they repeatedly tried to "transfer" money into my other account multiple times, resulting in $35 overdraft fees. When I called Discover to ask how on earth this multiple pull happened, they explained that I logged on and transferred the money multiple times myself (they even got a tech person at Discover to verify this!). This was the most insane excuse I have ever heard. And all of this mysterious 'transfer' that I requested all occurred after I emptied out my account. When I asked them "why would I try to make transfers from an empty account?", they were like, "I can see that this doesn't make sense and there must have been a mistake". So I asked for a refund for the $35 fee they charged and then they told me that was impossible. I realized that this is how Discover penalizes people who empty out their accounts--they falsely charge you with fees based on a fake transfer that their system creates. This is the most unbelievable experience I have ever had with a bank. I truly believe that Discover bank is committing a crime through their fraudulent practices.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review