A MyBankTracker Rating

First Internet Bank Customer Reviews

(8 Reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 Star 4
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 1
1 Star 3

The Most Helpful First Internet Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Chetan S. Apr 13, 2013

I had a very good experience in obtaining a mortgage. Closed 17 days ahead of schedule.

The staff were outstanding. The loan was processed quickly and efficiently. The closing attorney mentioned that the rate we obtained was one of the lowest he has seen in more than a month.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Kristina W. Apr 8, 2013

On hold for 1h15min w/ no answer

I read some decent reviews about this bank online and decided to give them a chance for a refinance. I scheduled a time to talk to a agent and when I called it went straight to voicemail and then I was put on hold waiting for next available rep for 1 HOUR and 15 MINUTES. It only ended because I hung up.
Cannot trust to put my home in their hands.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest First Internet Bank Reviews

  • J
    Reviewed By john0099adam Jun 24, 2015

    Holding your money hostage

    - Very disappointing to learn about daily ($500) and monthly ($5000) limits on bank-to-bank transfers.

    - This is not a common, nor acceptable, practice in on-line banking.

    - Since there are no checks to write on Savings account, if you need, say 10000 dollars of your own money sitting at this bank's money market account, you will have to do 20 transfers to your local linked bank which is a very inconvenient way to get your own money out of this bank.

    - Some higher authority at this bank need to learn how other On-line Savings/Money Market Accounts operate if they really want to offer this product effectively, conveniently, and competitively.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • JE
    Reviewed By JoAnne E. Jul 31, 2013

    Good, positive experience with Chris, but Lanae in underwriting is totally incompetent and frustrating to deal with.

    Everything proceeded beautifully with Chris until Lanae in underwriting got involved. Even though he has been sent information, he can't seem to remember and requests the same things over and over and then acts as if I am holding up the transaction when in fact he is so extremely incompetent he is clueless as to what he has and doesn't have. If this loan closes, it will be a miracle. I am keeping my fingers crossed, but at this point I am not holding out much hope for a happy ending.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • CS
    Reviewed By Chetan S. Apr 13, 2013

    I had a very good experience in obtaining a mortgage. Closed 17 days ahead of schedule.

    The staff were outstanding. The loan was processed quickly and efficiently. The closing attorney mentioned that the rate we obtained was one of the lowest he has seen in more than a month.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • KW
    Reviewed By Kristina W. Apr 8, 2013

    On hold for 1h15min w/ no answer

    I read some decent reviews about this bank online and decided to give them a chance for a refinance. I scheduled a time to talk to a agent and when I called it went straight to voicemail and then I was put on hold waiting for next available rep for 1 HOUR and 15 MINUTES. It only ended because I hung up.
    Cannot trust to put my home in their hands.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Laurel Mar 15, 2013

    Good experience with getting a mortgage

    We recently closed on a home loan with First American and were very pleased with the service we received. Rates and fees were as advertised - no big surprises at the end. Our loan officer moved the process along efficiently and we closed on time.

    My partner and I both have excellent credit and we put down enough of a down payment to not need mortgage insurance, so perhaps that helped things along. We were both new in our jobs but otherwise had stable work histories, and apart from student loans, had no debt.

    I definitely recommend their staff -- they were very responsive by email and phone and were very pleasant. First Internet also has some decently technology options, including an internet site where you can upload documents securely (note that it does not work with Macs though). Faxing also works well.

    It is my understanding that they will usually sell your loan pretty soon after approval, so it will be serviced by someone else. I don't have a problem with that - in my experience, most lenders are pretty similar and it won't change my rates any.

    Overall, I give First Internet high marks and would definitely recommend them for mortgage loans.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dggrimm Feb 1, 2013

    Super easy, straightforward process (and great rate) for refinance

    Basically, if you don't mind doing much of the business via the web (which I prefer), this was the most straightforward loan refinance that I have done. Everything wen according to plan and on schedule.

    No muss, no fuss.

    Plus, when I did have questions, I had a great loan officer who answered all my questions (on the phone, via email, etc).

    Finally, they had the best rates by far

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • KK
    Reviewed By Karen K. Oct 8, 2012

    Mortgage Refi Was Ok Until We Closed

    Original loan officer was nice and seemed helpful. But then the appraisal didn't happen when i was told it would. I had to call and email multiple times and after 3 weeks, finally got the appraisal done. Then was told would close any time the next week, but was pushed to the latest date possible. Finally closed and 3 days later was told had to come up with another $900, after already supplying a check for closing costs. Not good service and feels like a scam.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • LT
    Reviewed By Lawrence T. Jun 1, 2012

    Best In Service For Over 15 Years On All Types Of Accounts. Recent Mortgage Loan Was Handled Professionally And Quickly

    I have had checking, savings and overdraft line of credit for over 15 years(Since 2001). I have also had cd's and other accounts on and off during the time. I have only had to contact them a few times during this time as all records, forms and statements have always been correct. The few times i have contacted them by email, i always have a response within 24 hours and usually within a couple of hours.

    The responses have always been professional and helpful in regards to my questions. Their savings rates are not the best, but are near the top. Their loan rates are a little high, but the service makes the cost worth while. Fees are there for some items, but i don't think i've paid any fees in the 10 years i've had the account and i get $10. 00 of atm fees back each month. The ability to look at all my accounts on their web page is helpful now that i have set that up. The recent mortgage loan processing was amazing!.

    My real estate agent said he had never worked with a mortgage company that was so helpful and on top of the process from day 1. All my questions were answered within hours, emails within a couple of hours and phone calls, if not immediate, then within an hour or so. Paper work and money was exactly where it was expected and exactly on time. Rates were good and service was fantastic. Overall i would recommend this bank to anyone who can handle finances properly and knows how to use the internet.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.