B+ MyBankTracker Rating

FirstMerit Bank Customer Reviews

(105 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 2
1 Star 97

The Most Helpful FirstMerit Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Wisflyer Jul 16, 2015

Finally a bank that cares about you!

My wife and I were recently advised by our previous bank, BMO, that our HELOC was maturing and would be due, in full, in a few months. What?? You can't just renew it?? Not a chance but.....we have six new plans for you, all of which benefit us, not you....sorry.
After several dozen calls to various banks to inquire about a new HELOC, but to no avail, we had a great talk with the FirstMerit Menomonee Falls branch manager. he was the only banker who actually listened to our position and offered a perfect solution. He wasn't aloof like the others but showed a great interest in us becoming one of his customers and establishing a long term banking relationship. This included a full explanation of the bank's offerings as well as giving us a tour of their facilities. He also introduced us to his customer service personal who were equally very pleasant to talk with.
The application went very smoothly and only required that we provide easily obtainable data to backup who we were and our net worth. This whole process only took a couple of weeks. All of the other banks said we were looking at sixty days to accomplish the same results. In addition, FirstMerit covered ALL of the costs including an excellent appraisal of our home.
The closing also went smoothly and we can honestly say we are very pleased about the whole experience. This is a bank and people you want to do business with.....like it should be.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By cplummer41 Dec 5, 2013

Overdraft Fees

I was a Citizens Bank customer for 8 years. When they were bought out by First Merit, they no longer would allow one line of credit to cover both checking accounts. The whole reason I got the LOC was to prevent overdraft fees. Of course I got busy at work, wife went Christmas shopping and we overdrafted. They charged us 10 overdraft fees of $35 per overdraft transaction on a single day. Some of these transactions were only like a dollar, but ended up costing me $36. In all, about $300 ended up costing me $750.

I had plenty of money in my other checking account, in savings and on the LOC. Didn't matter. I called to ask my branch manager to see if there was anything she could do about reducing them, and wouldn't budge a bit. Didn't care, didn't want to understand, wasn't concerned about how upset I was. Proceeded to lecture me on keeping a register, balancing my checkbook, there was nothing she could do. I already knew I screwed up, but I was wanting a little forgiveness and understanding for a long time customer.

I am done with this bank.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest FirstMerit Bank Reviews

  • B
    Reviewed By BrewersFan1 Apr 20, 2016

    Rudest manager EVER

    My husband and I have banked with first Merit for about 2 years now, and more and more, recently, I have been appalled with the attitude of the banks manager at our Wautoma branch. Rudely dismissing customers, coming just short of calling them stupid, and openly/loudly berating employees in front of other customers. Thankfully this has never happened to us, but after speaking with my husband, we have decided to take our business elsewhere. Wautoma is a small town, and word spreads quickly. I would hope that someone from First Merit reads this and corrects what is becoming a serious problem.

    PS- I have heard this from other people who bank there as well.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By majka Apr 12, 2016

    Worst Bank

    I been for this bank couple of years, I transfer when I got married, and I so regrading I chose that bank. People are so mean and unprofessional. I wanted the bank to wave overdraft fee that happened because it was a timing issue, and I should not have been charged. The customer service didn't wave it, and when she transfer me to escalation team- that person who answered was so mean, and horrible. Don't go to that bank, chose any another bank because they don't care about their customers at all

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By theresa1740 Feb 25, 2016

    No one ever there

    Went in today to get a notary after calling to make sure that there would be a person there and the person had left. Took off work to get this. Also slow at drive up. Gave them two checks a week ago to deposit with money to come back and they entirely missed a check and then had the deposit wrong. I have banked her for 10 years and am seriously considering switching. No hurry at the drive up. Just visiting and when we get to you we will. It is like a morgue inside the place and the personal banker changes constantly.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By semerick Feb 25, 2016

    Reduced Hours?!

    I can't believe you've reduced your hours to close at 5pm and you haven't posted this change to your website. As customer service continues to decline, our interest in retaining First Merit as our primary bank declines as well. For customers who need to access Safety Deposit Boxes, the ATM just doesn't cut it. Working customers must wait till Saturday for banking? Seems unreasonable and disappointing.

    Oh, and in order to post a comment, I needed to sign in with BankTracker too? Another barrier that is not necessary.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Anonymous777 Feb 11, 2016

    Terrible

    This is by far the worst bank I've ever unfortunately banked with. Terrible from customer service to the mobile banking. So close to illegally scam it's ridiculous. I wish I would of read a review before got suckered into banking with these filthy people. So embarrassing being a customer here.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Tired_of_the_games Jan 22, 2016

    Mother and father in law passed away with a mortgage due....

    My husband and I are trying to pay off a mortgage that my in laws have with this bank and having to do it with no helpful information from this place is a joke.
    The 'executor' of the will is no help she will NOT tell is what the remainder is due thru First Merit and they First Merit won't help us figure it out but they sure do want their $. We have no clue as to what direction to go.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Roott2 Jan 22, 2016

    Frustratingly First Merit

    I have been banking at this bank with very little issue, but today's experience has me questioning my banking choice. I was charged an overdraft fee and assuming it to be an error (because my account was still a positive balance after the overdraft fee). I went to cash a paycheck from work. Due to the overdraft fee and "pending charges" they wouldn't cash my check but would gladly deposit those funds in to my account to cover the charges.

    I Discussed with the teller, "If I had not been charged an overdraft fee, I would have had sufficient funds in my account to cover my debits.

    She replied, "that would be a correct statement."

    I then added that I had remaining funds in my saving account. She was still unable to assist me and I asked her to return my check so I could get the situation cleared up.

    I went into the main branch and was treated kindly. The fee was corrected. Later in the evening I went back to the drive in- bank and decided to deposit my check and some cash after all. I was speaking with one lady and then was apparently switched to another teller mid transaction. She apparently did not hear my request (or outright ignored it) and deposited some of my funds to cover "charges to my account" and then returned some cash. I sat there and pushed the button to speak with a teller and had to wait several minutes as they had dismissed me. (Note: there was only one other person in line next to me and more than one teller present inside) I stated that I had asked for my funds to be deposited so was confused as to what transaction had just occurred. The young teller insulted me and my vehicle. For some reason I was embarrassed and apologized for any behavior on my behalf that could have been deemed rude and deserving of her sarcastic and unprofessional behavior.

    Not necessarily done with this bank but I shall refuse to use the drive thru portion again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jw44270 Dec 16, 2015

    dont believe anything you see or they say

    my online account changes everyday to show a negative and they charge you 35 dollars for it and when you confront them they show you a dos screen in the office and say your wrong pay up screw this bank and there bullshit math im pissed and done ----you firstmerit!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lastmerit Nov 23, 2015

    Thieves

    I found out that first merit bank was accidentally charging me a service fee for my checking account. Unfortunately, this charge had been going on for the past 7 months, when i contacted them they admitted to the error, but, said that they could only refund me the last two months of charges. I bet if it were a loan they could go back further than 2 months. Now i am out 60 bucks because of their mistake. First merit is horrible!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By taken Nov 12, 2015

    Overdraft charge

    I was under the impression that a bank could not charge overdraft fees unless one "opted in". I did not opt in, yet when a $6.00 overdraft occurred (because of bank fees), I was charged a $35 overdraft fee. Is this legal? The Bank (who says they put people first says "yes".). I phoned the bank manager and she hung up on me. I will be moving my account in a couple of weeks - as soon as I have the opportunity to contact Social Services and IRS about where to deposit my refund.

    My son's account was closed because it was inactive for six months. What if he had had $1,000 in it? They tell me yes - that his account would be closed for ';inactivity." He has moved his account, to another bank, of course. "'People come first at First Merit Bank". - Yeah! right!!

    And one can't post this unless you sign up for the Bank Tracker!!! ha! ha!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.