B+ MyBankTracker Rating

FirstMerit Bank Customer Reviews

(101 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 2
1 Star 93

The Most Helpful FirstMerit Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Wisflyer Jul 16, 2015

Finally a bank that cares about you!

My wife and I were recently advised by our previous bank, BMO, that our HELOC was maturing and would be due, in full, in a few months. What?? You can't just renew it?? Not a chance but.....we have six new plans for you, all of which benefit us, not you....sorry.
After several dozen calls to various banks to inquire about a new HELOC, but to no avail, we had a great talk with the FirstMerit Menomonee Falls branch manager. he was the only banker who actually listened to our position and offered a perfect solution. He wasn't aloof like the others but showed a great interest in us becoming one of his customers and establishing a long term banking relationship. This included a full explanation of the bank's offerings as well as giving us a tour of their facilities. He also introduced us to his customer service personal who were equally very pleasant to talk with.
The application went very smoothly and only required that we provide easily obtainable data to backup who we were and our net worth. This whole process only took a couple of weeks. All of the other banks said we were looking at sixty days to accomplish the same results. In addition, FirstMerit covered ALL of the costs including an excellent appraisal of our home.
The closing also went smoothly and we can honestly say we are very pleased about the whole experience. This is a bank and people you want to do business with.....like it should be.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By cplummer41 Dec 5, 2013

Overdraft Fees

I was a Citizens Bank customer for 8 years. When they were bought out by First Merit, they no longer would allow one line of credit to cover both checking accounts. The whole reason I got the LOC was to prevent overdraft fees. Of course I got busy at work, wife went Christmas shopping and we overdrafted. They charged us 10 overdraft fees of $35 per overdraft transaction on a single day. Some of these transactions were only like a dollar, but ended up costing me $36. In all, about $300 ended up costing me $750.

I had plenty of money in my other checking account, in savings and on the LOC. Didn't matter. I called to ask my branch manager to see if there was anything she could do about reducing them, and wouldn't budge a bit. Didn't care, didn't want to understand, wasn't concerned about how upset I was. Proceeded to lecture me on keeping a register, balancing my checkbook, there was nothing she could do. I already knew I screwed up, but I was wanting a little forgiveness and understanding for a long time customer.

I am done with this bank.

Is this review helpful?

Latest FirstMerit Bank Reviews

  • A
    Reviewed By Anonymous777 Feb 11, 2016

    Terrible

    This is by far the worst bank I've ever unfortunately banked with. Terrible from customer service to the mobile banking. So close to illegally scam it's ridiculous. I wish I would of read a review before got suckered into banking with these filthy people. So embarrassing being a customer here.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Tired_of_the_games Jan 22, 2016

    Mother and father in law passed away with a mortgage due....

    My husband and I are trying to pay off a mortgage that my in laws have with this bank and having to do it with no helpful information from this place is a joke.
    The 'executor' of the will is no help she will NOT tell is what the remainder is due thru First Merit and they First Merit won't help us figure it out but they sure do want their $. We have no clue as to what direction to go.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Roott2 Jan 22, 2016

    Frustratingly First Merit

    I have been banking at this bank with very little issue, but today's experience has me questioning my banking choice. I was charged an overdraft fee and assuming it to be an error (because my account was still a positive balance after the overdraft fee). I went to cash a paycheck from work. Due to the overdraft fee and "pending charges" they wouldn't cash my check but would gladly deposit those funds in to my account to cover the charges.

    I Discussed with the teller, "If I had not been charged an overdraft fee, I would have had sufficient funds in my account to cover my debits.

    She replied, "that would be a correct statement."

    I then added that I had remaining funds in my saving account. She was still unable to assist me and I asked her to return my check so I could get the situation cleared up.

    I went into the main branch and was treated kindly. The fee was corrected. Later in the evening I went back to the drive in- bank and decided to deposit my check and some cash after all. I was speaking with one lady and then was apparently switched to another teller mid transaction. She apparently did not hear my request (or outright ignored it) and deposited some of my funds to cover "charges to my account" and then returned some cash. I sat there and pushed the button to speak with a teller and had to wait several minutes as they had dismissed me. (Note: there was only one other person in line next to me and more than one teller present inside) I stated that I had asked for my funds to be deposited so was confused as to what transaction had just occurred. The young teller insulted me and my vehicle. For some reason I was embarrassed and apologized for any behavior on my behalf that could have been deemed rude and deserving of her sarcastic and unprofessional behavior.

    Not necessarily done with this bank but I shall refuse to use the drive thru portion again.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jw44270 Dec 16, 2015

    dont believe anything you see or they say

    my online account changes everyday to show a negative and they charge you 35 dollars for it and when you confront them they show you a dos screen in the office and say your wrong pay up screw this bank and there bullshit math im pissed and done ----you firstmerit!!!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lastmerit Nov 23, 2015

    Thieves

    I found out that first merit bank was accidentally charging me a service fee for my checking account. Unfortunately, this charge had been going on for the past 7 months, when i contacted them they admitted to the error, but, said that they could only refund me the last two months of charges. I bet if it were a loan they could go back further than 2 months. Now i am out 60 bucks because of their mistake. First merit is horrible!!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By taken Nov 12, 2015

    Overdraft charge

    I was under the impression that a bank could not charge overdraft fees unless one "opted in". I did not opt in, yet when a $6.00 overdraft occurred (because of bank fees), I was charged a $35 overdraft fee. Is this legal? The Bank (who says they put people first says "yes".). I phoned the bank manager and she hung up on me. I will be moving my account in a couple of weeks - as soon as I have the opportunity to contact Social Services and IRS about where to deposit my refund.

    My son's account was closed because it was inactive for six months. What if he had had $1,000 in it? They tell me yes - that his account would be closed for ';inactivity." He has moved his account, to another bank, of course. "'People come first at First Merit Bank". - Yeah! right!!

    And one can't post this unless you sign up for the Bank Tracker!!! ha! ha!

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By buyu10 Oct 13, 2015

    No help with loan charge-off on credit report! Account is current!

    I have a boat loan with First Merit (originally Citizens Bank). I pay all my bills through my local bank using their online bill pay. I set the payment up to automatically go out each month ($137) and entered a date for the payments to expire. Unfortunately, I used the wrong ending date-my mistake. My account became 90 days past due before I discovered my oversight via a credit report review for a new mortgage. I immediately contacted First Merit and brought my account current that day and began, once again, making the proper monthly payments as per the loan agreement. A subsequent review of my credit report a few months later indicated that First Merit charged off the account! Never said a word to me that they were taking that action. Do you know what a charge-off does to your credit score? It also stays with you for 7 years. It impacts not only your ability to secure credit, it prevents you from securing the best rates available. If I'm going to suffer the consequences of a loan default why should I bother to continue to send them money each month? I've sent them 2 letters and made several phone call requesting that they change my account status from charged-off to current and it's like talking to a brick wall. Any suggestions, besides hiring a lawyer, as how to rectify this situation?

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nal08 Oct 9, 2015

    Poor customer service and tellers aren't aware of company policies.

    On multiple occasions, with multiple tellers, I've been told they were unable to help with various issues I had. Each time, I would contact the bank's customer service dept. and they resolved the issue... in each situation, doing exactly what the tellers at this branch had told me couldn't be done or was against policy. It's almost as if the employees at this branch either are purposely unhelpful or very lazy.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DJK Oct 7, 2015

    There's something fishy about their ATMs

    In the past year, THREE separate First Merit bank ATMS have spewed out a receipt saying that money was dispensed but no money came out. Three. At three separate locations. And each time, the solution was that I had to go into the bank and wait for a bank manager to fill out a form, requesting that they look into it. They refused to call me later to say that the money actually had been "re-deposited" back into my account, and made me monitor the situation. Two of the times were "fast cash," where you hit a button because you're in too much of a hurry to type in an amount. One time was at 11 at night, and I had to come back into the bank the next day. Why does this happen at three seperate locations of this one bank? And why such a hassle to get the bank's error fixed? I am sure they make money from people who don't invest the time to go inside and wait to fill out a form: it is First Merit's policy to support this problem and keep it going.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By suezinohio Sep 22, 2015

    Unethical banking practices bordering on illegal...Would give a zero if it were an option.

    This is by far the worst bank I have ever dealt with. I live in a small community and we don't have many banking options. (2 to be exact) They are horrible. They re-order transactions and hold back charges specifically to overdraft your account and charge fees. I have checked my online statement the day prior to my direct deposit and everything looks good, then I check it in the morning and suddenly there are charges that are issued prior to my direct deposit hitting and then they charge you a fee for every one. I have seen them re-order the transactions over and over again. They claim you have 24 hours to make good on an overdraft, but they will charge you the fee and you've got to call and beg to get it removed.

    Today, I logged into my account and happened to scroll back to the beginning of the month and there was a 35.00 NSF fee!!! For nothing! I had nothing negative!! I called the branch manager and he couldn't explain what it was and said he would reverse the charge but when I asked him to explain the bank "suddenly got busy and he had to go"...WTF??? Literally! I hope they don't think I'm going to brush this under the carpet.

    Then, the icing on the cake was when I disputed a 100 charge back in July. I went in the bank and signed the papers, they credited my account the 100 bucks....Two days, on September 20, they reversed the credit and took the 100 back out of my account! No warning, no letter, no explanation. Nothing. I called the manager and of course he had no idea what was going on. I told him that if I would have had only 20 bucks in my account, they would have made me negative and charged me a ton of fees! He said, "Oh we would have reversed it".. Anyhow, I called the bank dispute department and they stand by the charge. I'm just livid.

    I'm finding another bank and I'm looking to see if I can get in on this class action lawsuit from 2013 that was filed for their illegal banking practices....God knows they've screwed me over enough times. Criminals.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.