B MyBankTracker Rating

HSA Bank Customer Reviews

(24 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 3
1 Star 21

The Most Helpful HSA Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By veggivet Jan 17, 2015

Recent website redesign a total fail

I have been with HSA Bank for several years, and up until recently, have been satisfied with their platform. They allow transfers to TD Ameritrade, where I can purchase many Vanguard ETFs commission-free, and it was pretty straightforward to set up these transfers. When I logged in to transfer my 2015 contribution, I found the revamped website much more difficult to navigate than the previous version. I did finally figure out how to set up the transfer, but it took much longer than it should have.

Regarding their fees, as long as you keep a minimum of $5000 with them, you will not incur a monthly 'maintenance' fee. If you want to invest that amount, be prepared to cough up $27 over the course of the year for that privilege. Not unreasonable, in my opinion.

I had a question about a possible over-contribution for 2014, and I sent an email in early December. I received a response almost a month later, with an apology for the delay. I suspect that they are dealing with a larger than usual number of inquiries about the website redesign, and are totally in the weeds.

Since I only have to deal with them twice a year (once to make my contribution, and then once more to move those funds to TD Ameritrade) I will stay with them for the time being. If you anticipate interacting with their customer service department on a more frequent basis for problems with your debit card or payment issues, be forewarned you may be in for some frustrating experiences.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By caigy Mar 26, 2016

Poor service after transfer to HSA from Chase

Our HSA account was transferred to HSA bank from Chase this month, when Chase got out of the business.

None of the previously-uploaded expenses were transferred from the Chase website in any detail. Those that we had uploaded and had been reimbursed for were listed on the HSA website as "Recipient- Undefined" (should have said whether the expense was for Self, Spouse or Dependent) and the Merchant/Provider space was left blank, so we don't know what doctor or diagnostics lab or other vendor the charge was for. All of this detail had been on the Chase HSA website.

We also had charges uploaded to Chase HSA that we hadn't reimbursed ourselves for yet. NONE of those charges were transferred to the HSA Bank website at all, meaning we have to upload them all over again to the HSA Bank website.

The "Add Expense" upload function on the HSA Bank website is rudimentary at best. It does not ask which family member the medical charge was for, nor does it ask for a category such as outpatient visit, doctor visit, pharmacy, medical test, etc. that the Chase website asked for. This means that if the IRS ever asks us (admittedly unlikely) to explain or justify an expense, the information on the website will not be sufficient to answer the question. We'd have to go back to our paperwork (original receipts and doctor office statements) to find the information.

To top it all off, I called HSA Bank to ask why this was so poorly implemented, and (after a VERY LONG wait to speak to a live person) their excuse was that it was Chase's fault.
No explanation why patient or vendor information wouldn't transfer, or why reimbursed transactions would transfer but unreimbursed transactions wouldn't. Just "It's Chase's fault". I think the more likely explanation is that HSA Bank doesn't have the same "fields" set up in its database to accept the Chase information, other than amounts previously paid. This is very poor implementation of a simple data transfer process.

And to top it all off: HSA Bank hung up on me while I was asking further questions about why the transfer was handled so badly! The person on the phone clearly had encountered these questions before, was reading from a script of answers to give disgruntled customers, and when she ran out of things to say from the script, she disconnected me!

HSA Bank is a division of NYSE-listed Webster Bank. I'll be contacting Webster management next week for more answers regarding this poor service, and will consider short-selling the stock if the answers are inadequate.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest HSA Bank Reviews

  • C
    Reviewed By ChicagoAlways Jun 22, 2016

    Terrible website, terrible record keeping esp if you came from Chase

    Transferred from Chase HSA and HSA Bank is terrible -has a pathetic website for record keeping. You cannot see checks you wrote, add notes re family member the payment was for or category of visit. Uploading does not allow matching.Not true online banking-you are transferring from your regular checking after paying through them. Do not eval a bank for your HSA just on investment opportunities- they should help you with the record keeping for the IRS and they have done the minimum work on this website possible. Will charge you $4.00 for a copy of a check you must produce. Will look to transfer to anybody with a better website than this. Phone staff clueless.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kerbear Jun 6, 2016

    Difficulty transferring HSA Account

    My former employer used HSA Bank. After I left my employer, I decided to transfer this account over to a new HSA account at my current bank employer. The process was a nightmare. No one knew what was going on. My current employer contacted HSA Bank several times. I even spoke with a supervisor at HSA Bank that offered to expedite the transfer if I sent him the form directly. This made no sense to me, given that he works for HSA Bank and just needed to contact his Operations Department. It looks like they are currently in the process of expediting my request. I work in the industry and this is the absolute worst customer service I've experienced. I had 7 phone calls with HSA Bank for a total of 5-7 hours of my time to facilitate this. If I continue to have issues, I will be filing a report with the BBB and contacting the Attorney General.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jwansen May 11, 2016

    Beyond Terrible

    Customer service is non-existent, they take no responsibility for their errors:

    I recently contacted HSA Bank to dispute an over-charge on my HSA bank debt card. I specifically asked if this would effect the functionality of my debt card and was told that it would not, and that the card was still usable.

    They lied. Every time I tried to use it, it was "declined" but HSA insisted it was just a network "glitch", and I knew there was well over a (positive) balance of $2,000 so I continued to use the card trusting what HSA bank representatives told me.

    Big mistake. ALL of my subsequent charges were "declined" resulting in the non-processing of all of my medical tests; my follow up appointment with my Dr. was a total waste of time and even more money as no test results had been sent as a result of the "declined" charges.

    HSA bank has taken no responsibility whatsoever despite my contacting them on FIVE occasions. They offered to send me a replacement card, but told me it would take ONE WEEK as they wouldn't pay for expedited shipping!!!

    I've had to take a half-day off from work to call several different medical laboratories and health care providers to make alternative payment arrangements and re-schedule test and Dr. appointments.

    Edit: HSA bank contacted me while writing this review and arranged to ship me a replacement card in two days. A small gesture considering how much HSA Bank's gross incompetence has cost me.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LucyManning May 10, 2016

    Bank is incompetent

    I started the process in January this year to close my account which just had a balance of about $65. I sent them an email asking how to do so and was advised to complete the fax form and send it in.

    I did that, 3 times! I attempted to contact them and got a complete run around and in the meantime they posted "service fees" for the account I was closing...outrageous.

    I finally sent a letter via Fed Ex advising if they do not close the account and send me the balance I would refer the matter to the State's Attorney General. Lo and behold, I received a check within a week....but less $30 for those fees on a closed account.

    I don't know whether they are crooks or incompetent -- either way, stay away, you'll be sorry.!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By structure May 6, 2016

    structure

    I'm also looking for a zero stars rating to give them. I have (had been) an account holder for many years, and really had little or no issues, until they revamped their website, especially their investment section. It became virtually unusable, and any questions to them were stock/rote answers that I could just read on the website, and didn't work anyway!!

    They are the most incompetent customer service department I've ever worked with. Now, over a month after I've cancelled my account and asked for my funds, I'm still waiting....may have to engage legal services just to get your money back from them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jetagain May 3, 2016

    Decent service, but they make you change your password almost every MONTH!

    What they offer is fine, but the website is poorly designed and worst part... IT MAKES YOU CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD EVERY 40 DAYS! Some banks used to make you change your password once a year or so, but they stopped that because studies show forced password changes are actually worse for security. But I've never heard of one that makes you change it every 40 days! That makes it pretty much unusable with Quicken since your automatic downloads only work for a month and a half before you have to go through a password reset process with the website anyway and then go and also update Quicken again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By miked Apr 13, 2016

    Cant I give it Zero Stars?

    My wife and I have been trying to transition from an employer sponsored HSA account to a personal HSA account. It have been 3 months and countless phone calls. Each rep is very nice but clueless about how a HSA account works. Each has another story about how to do this. So now we have 3 accounts and 3 debit cards, none of which we can use!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bigr1 Apr 5, 2016

    Customer service? No service!

    Telephone call resulted in a 22 minute wait. Decided to close the account and after waiting for the rep to do something, he then advised me that I would get a closing kit in two days via email. I should complete the kit, mail it back to them and they would close my account in approx. 6 weeks. When I told him that was crazy it would take 6 weeks, he put me on hold and then came back with a revised turn around of 48 hours! I then questioned why it would take two days to email me the kit. He said if he could do it, he would send it right then but it is automatically generated and that takes two days. Wow!! Their computer is so slow, it takes it two days to generate a generic email. I would rate it NO STARS but at least one is required. STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By caigy Mar 26, 2016

    Poor service after transfer to HSA from Chase

    Our HSA account was transferred to HSA bank from Chase this month, when Chase got out of the business.

    None of the previously-uploaded expenses were transferred from the Chase website in any detail. Those that we had uploaded and had been reimbursed for were listed on the HSA website as "Recipient- Undefined" (should have said whether the expense was for Self, Spouse or Dependent) and the Merchant/Provider space was left blank, so we don't know what doctor or diagnostics lab or other vendor the charge was for. All of this detail had been on the Chase HSA website.

    We also had charges uploaded to Chase HSA that we hadn't reimbursed ourselves for yet. NONE of those charges were transferred to the HSA Bank website at all, meaning we have to upload them all over again to the HSA Bank website.

    The "Add Expense" upload function on the HSA Bank website is rudimentary at best. It does not ask which family member the medical charge was for, nor does it ask for a category such as outpatient visit, doctor visit, pharmacy, medical test, etc. that the Chase website asked for. This means that if the IRS ever asks us (admittedly unlikely) to explain or justify an expense, the information on the website will not be sufficient to answer the question. We'd have to go back to our paperwork (original receipts and doctor office statements) to find the information.

    To top it all off, I called HSA Bank to ask why this was so poorly implemented, and (after a VERY LONG wait to speak to a live person) their excuse was that it was Chase's fault.
    No explanation why patient or vendor information wouldn't transfer, or why reimbursed transactions would transfer but unreimbursed transactions wouldn't. Just "It's Chase's fault". I think the more likely explanation is that HSA Bank doesn't have the same "fields" set up in its database to accept the Chase information, other than amounts previously paid. This is very poor implementation of a simple data transfer process.

    And to top it all off: HSA Bank hung up on me while I was asking further questions about why the transfer was handled so badly! The person on the phone clearly had encountered these questions before, was reading from a script of answers to give disgruntled customers, and when she ran out of things to say from the script, she disconnected me!

    HSA Bank is a division of NYSE-listed Webster Bank. I'll be contacting Webster management next week for more answers regarding this poor service, and will consider short-selling the stock if the answers are inadequate.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dawnee0825 Mar 15, 2016

    HSA Bank is a nighmare to deal with

    I was forced to switch to this bank because our other bank sold off the accounts. It has been nothing but trouble from day one. I keep getting debit cards in the mail and this last time I tried to use it at my Target (now CVS pharmacy) I was rejected. Try calling to talk to someone who knows what's going on is a joke. Somehow I have 3 accounts, what? Anyway 4 days w/out my medication now and no way to get at my money w/out paying a fee. Thanks so much HSA Bank. Sick people can't go w/out their medication. I'm so happy you were able to offer me a solution (they didn't). I'm seriously considering doing w/out the tax benefit of an HSA account. I didn't have a choice about becoming a member of this bank. If you have a choice RUN! I only gave them a star because I had to.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.