C+ MyBankTracker Rating

HSA Bank Customer Reviews

(13 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 2
1 Star 11

The Most Helpful HSA Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By veggivet Jan 17, 2015

Recent website redesign a total fail

I have been with HSA Bank for several years, and up until recently, have been satisfied with their platform. They allow transfers to TD Ameritrade, where I can purchase many Vanguard ETFs commission-free, and it was pretty straightforward to set up these transfers. When I logged in to transfer my 2015 contribution, I found the revamped website much more difficult to navigate than the previous version. I did finally figure out how to set up the transfer, but it took much longer than it should have.

Regarding their fees, as long as you keep a minimum of $5000 with them, you will not incur a monthly 'maintenance' fee. If you want to invest that amount, be prepared to cough up $27 over the course of the year for that privilege. Not unreasonable, in my opinion.

I had a question about a possible over-contribution for 2014, and I sent an email in early December. I received a response almost a month later, with an apology for the delay. I suspect that they are dealing with a larger than usual number of inquiries about the website redesign, and are totally in the weeds.

Since I only have to deal with them twice a year (once to make my contribution, and then once more to move those funds to TD Ameritrade) I will stay with them for the time being. If you anticipate interacting with their customer service department on a more frequent basis for problems with your debit card or payment issues, be forewarned you may be in for some frustrating experiences.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By HSA_user Dec 11, 2014

Changes they've made are a BIG PAIN in the REAR

I've been a somewhat happy HSA customer for the last 5-6 years...but they recently made some BIG changes that make our ability to use this bank a royal pain.

History: Every HSA Bank customer is issued a debit/credit card for paying for their valid medical expenses out of their HSA Bank account. It all worked very well for the past years. A few weeks ago, I received a new HSA debit/credit card in the mail. As I always do when something like that happens, I destroyed the old card and put the new card in my wallet. Next time I went to the Pharmacy to pick-up a refill (a valid HSA charge) they declined the transaction. It took 3-4 days to get through to the bank (they just can't answer the number of calls they are currently getting from upset customers) to finally find out that the new card ONLY works at a VERY LIMITED number of pharmacies in our town. All they had for me was some work arounds that are a big pain in the rear.

If you are looking for a bank for a Health Savings Account...stay away from this one until they get their act together.

Is this review helpful?

Latest HSA Bank Reviews

  • G
    Reviewed By Grayetigre Feb 8, 2016

    Possible Fraud

    My HSA medical account was held by Chase and then transferred to HSA bank. I didn't think much of it. However, when I tried to use my debit card at my doctors office, it would not process. I called the number at the back of the card and they said I needed to pay the bill myself and then go to the bank and get a cash advance in the future for my already paid expenses...In other word: pay myself back! A lot of nonsense and waste of time. Well, I did this once and the transaction processed. I did it again for a second expense payback- and my request was denied. Not once but thrice! So, back on the phone with HSA bank and they told me that I withdrew all the money from my account and my balance is now 0. WHAT?? I had a substantial balance that just disappeared?
    Now, they want me to fill out claim forms, which they still haven't sent. In addition, they are claiming that my "regular bank" processed the cash advance four days after I was actually in the bank to try to get the cash advance. Now doesn't that sound extremely shady?? I don't trust these people/ institution and I wouldn't recommend that people continue using them. I think they have a known internal problem and we are the scape goats!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By biggyziggy Jun 10, 2015

    Electronic Access is Ridiculously Bad

    In the past 2 years, Quicken access has been extremely difficult. Generally, I have to deactivate the account, reactivate, connect, delete all of the duplicate transactions downloaded because I have to start over, and finally reconcile. This month, it won't work at all. Talking to customer service, they have done (yet another) redesign and quicken is not working but they are trying to fix it. I AM DONE WITH QUICKEN ACCESS.

    I don't use their website directly often, but everytime I do it seems I have to change the password and I can never get all of their rules correct so I get pissed off just trying to get logged in. Needless to say, the password is usually a derogatory term toward them.

    I got logged in today, changed the password as seems to always be required, then tried to print this months statement. Nope, there is a bug. It will print only the first page of the statement. I was only able to get around this by downloading the statement and printing it (and you've got to be fast as the save control is shown only for a couple of seconds when the statement first opens).

    HSA Banks' entire IT staff should be fired. They have proven to be inept for several years now. I called them and told them they must now provide me with printed statements - I refuse to use their website again.

    Outside of IT's ineptitude, I have no particular complaints with the actual banking. I don't have many transactions a year, and they haven't screwed that part up.

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By vaham Mar 10, 2015

    new website

    The new website is probably the worst I have encountered. It is bad on so many levels.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tat005 Mar 4, 2015

    Fees are misleading

    The fees they charge does not match their fee disclosures. You will potentially get charged 2 fees if you want to have an investment account. The disclosures are written in a way that it refers both fees to the bank account. Inaccurate and misleading.

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By veggivet Jan 17, 2015

    Recent website redesign a total fail

    I have been with HSA Bank for several years, and up until recently, have been satisfied with their platform. They allow transfers to TD Ameritrade, where I can purchase many Vanguard ETFs commission-free, and it was pretty straightforward to set up these transfers. When I logged in to transfer my 2015 contribution, I found the revamped website much more difficult to navigate than the previous version. I did finally figure out how to set up the transfer, but it took much longer than it should have.

    Regarding their fees, as long as you keep a minimum of $5000 with them, you will not incur a monthly 'maintenance' fee. If you want to invest that amount, be prepared to cough up $27 over the course of the year for that privilege. Not unreasonable, in my opinion.

    I had a question about a possible over-contribution for 2014, and I sent an email in early December. I received a response almost a month later, with an apology for the delay. I suspect that they are dealing with a larger than usual number of inquiries about the website redesign, and are totally in the weeds.

    Since I only have to deal with them twice a year (once to make my contribution, and then once more to move those funds to TD Ameritrade) I will stay with them for the time being. If you anticipate interacting with their customer service department on a more frequent basis for problems with your debit card or payment issues, be forewarned you may be in for some frustrating experiences.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By martyz Jan 15, 2015

    Customer Service Extremely Inadequate

    Impossible to get them on the phone. Tried twice and hung up after 15 minute wait both times. Every time you call you get a message saying we are experiencing longer than normal wait times. This is BS!! They do not have enough staff. Sorry I opened an account with them.

    Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By imscot00 Dec 16, 2014

    FORGET THIS ORGANIZATION

    Useless, completely and people must work there because of poor choices. Forget customer service and that fact that you are the client, yes you are. Option 4....leave a message in their voicemail and they WILL call you back...........only if you have annoying music or sounds to play because they WILL NOT call you back, be assured about this.

    Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By HSA_user Dec 11, 2014

    Changes they've made are a BIG PAIN in the REAR

    I've been a somewhat happy HSA customer for the last 5-6 years...but they recently made some BIG changes that make our ability to use this bank a royal pain.

    History: Every HSA Bank customer is issued a debit/credit card for paying for their valid medical expenses out of their HSA Bank account. It all worked very well for the past years. A few weeks ago, I received a new HSA debit/credit card in the mail. As I always do when something like that happens, I destroyed the old card and put the new card in my wallet. Next time I went to the Pharmacy to pick-up a refill (a valid HSA charge) they declined the transaction. It took 3-4 days to get through to the bank (they just can't answer the number of calls they are currently getting from upset customers) to finally find out that the new card ONLY works at a VERY LIMITED number of pharmacies in our town. All they had for me was some work arounds that are a big pain in the rear.

    If you are looking for a bank for a Health Savings Account...stay away from this one until they get their act together.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cwtrezise@hotmail.com Oct 28, 2014

    Feels Like A Scam.

    I currently have an hsa at chase. Very good online interface and easy to use but they just hit me with a $3/month fee so i looked at hsa bank to save money and get a better interest rate. However when i tried to contact them i had to go through a gauntlet of "sales pitches" for medical alert systems, major retailer rebates and then they tried to con me with a collect call callback scheme! This is an unprofessional outfit that seems like they are running a scam to just nail you with charges for stuff you don't need. I will look elsewhere for a place to park my hsa funds as i don't trust these folks. Buyer beware!

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pelaundry@mail.com Oct 24, 2014

    High Fees Slow Transfers!

    If you enjoy high fees and a $25. 00 closing fee this is your bank. Also be prepared to wait 3 days for transfers into your account. Try your credit union they normally are free.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.