B+ MyBankTracker Rating

KeyBank Customer Reviews

(97 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 5
1 Star 87

The Most Helpful KeyBank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By WfitzJfitz Jan 21, 2016

Personal Banker Experience

I would like to recognize an exemplary Personal Banker Laura Pataki. at the Concord Township Ohio Branch
On Dec 18th 2015 both my checking / Debit and my Savings Accounts were compromised
I received a phone call from Key bank Friday evening at 7:30 pm advising me about the transactions and I went into the Branch the next morning Dec. 19 Saturday and Laura had the information and was waiting for me stating that she was just getting ready to call me.
Laura was professional, knowledgeable, service orientated to resolve the situation. Over the next two months Laura continued to help walk me through the steps monitoring the investigation by Key Bank, providing me with temporary checks, walking me through the steps of closing my old accounts and opening a new Checking account and saving account along with a Key Credit Card.
Laura was efficient in transferring the funds from the old to the new and monitoring the funds that were put on hold and eventually seeing that they properly got transferred. “In addition she monitored direct deposits that were sent to the old account and transfer those funds.
I have been in the business world for over 40 years and Laura certainly ranks as one of the best Personal Banker encountered. Efficient, great follow through, patient to explain what was going on and very helpful in recommending new more stringent security measure that I could take to strengthen the Security of my Account.
Laura was always cheerful and happy to see me when I came into the Branch and was professional and energized when she had to contact me by phone.
I remain a Key Bank customer because of Laura and her service.
Please recognize Laura for her extraordinary service rendered during a time that was exceptional stressful and concerning for myself and my Wife.
I extend a sincere THANK YOU!
Peace
William and May Jean Fitzgerald

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By usery Sep 8, 2015

The worst in bank corporate greed and incompetence

- usurious fees
- more-than-occasional mistakes resulting in incorrect fees applied to customer accounts
- onerous & byzantine policies to minimize Key Bank costs at the expense of customers
- crappy return rates on accounts

For example: 5-7 day transaction dispute and review process, when customer account victimized by criminal fraud. Un-f'ing-believable - if there were negative-stars here KeyBank gets -5.

And how the F do they get a "B" grade on mybanktracker.com? I smell shills, gaming the rating system on KeyBank's behalf.

Sincerely,
former Key Bank customer

Is this review helpful?

Latest KeyBank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By Madatthekey Feb 11, 2016

    This location the worst I've been to.

    First off I've been with keybank for over 10 years. I am far from rich but not hurting for money. I have sent people to keybank and grown a relationship with then myself. I can say this location is changing that. My father passed away less then a month ago and I sent my 60 year old mother in to open a new account with the idea that if we both bank with keybank it would probably be easier to get money into her account when see needs it. So with that my poor mom that just lost her husband looking to do something for herself get treated like a 2nd class citizen and brushed off. Now I'm a dick I know this but my mom is a kind and pleasant person and For her to call me and tell me that the a$$ that she was going to open an account with and grow hers and my relationship with keybank tells her that when he is done with his current customer he's going to lunch and she is just going to have to wait or come back latter I get down rite pissed. !@ck that guy and same to the bank. When I called and spoke with a pleasant young woman the next day she did apologize and then gave me the excuse that the guy that was to help my mom was probably a floter from another branch. Guess what I don't care. This @$$ is who you have to make a first impression? Not only would I fire him but probably his boss. But I'm going to do one better I'm going to fire keybank and post this on every review site online I can find. You know the old saying treat I customer rite you get 2 or 3 more. Well this is going to fall in the treat 1 wrong losses 10 posable customers. But that's not enough I'm going to not only stop 10 from coming to you I'm going to take 1 (myself) and as my more as I can from you. This organization better rethink how it's employees treat people. First off its one thing to use floters for tellers and it's a stupid thing to use them as account reps. I've been in customer service related fields for over 20 years as will as management in this field. Maybe key should stop buying Comercial mortgages from bank of America and invest in their staff and the training they should be getting. Anyway you guys think people are only coming in to get that $150 or whatever it's up to now well your wrong. So now my mom is a US bank account holder and I'm not sure where I'm going yet but it's sure not going to be staying with keybank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mceltix2000 Jan 25, 2016

    $300 to Checking account w/Direct Deposit - Scam

    I received KeyBank's scam flier in November. Although I was laid off shortly after opening the checking account, I did make sure the unemployment benefits were direct deposited promptly.

    After the 60 day time period had elapsed, I checked back in to see why I hadn't received the $300 (Being unemployed, you can imagine why I was interested)

    Turns out, the fine print (that does NOT appear on the flier -- only on a small part of the website) says there must be a deposit of $500 or more (at once). So regardless that they received around $1200 in direct deposits -- they disqualified me, because I didn't have (1) of $500 or more.

    Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By WfitzJfitz Jan 21, 2016

    Personal Banker Experience

    I would like to recognize an exemplary Personal Banker Laura Pataki. at the Concord Township Ohio Branch
    On Dec 18th 2015 both my checking / Debit and my Savings Accounts were compromised
    I received a phone call from Key bank Friday evening at 7:30 pm advising me about the transactions and I went into the Branch the next morning Dec. 19 Saturday and Laura had the information and was waiting for me stating that she was just getting ready to call me.
    Laura was professional, knowledgeable, service orientated to resolve the situation. Over the next two months Laura continued to help walk me through the steps monitoring the investigation by Key Bank, providing me with temporary checks, walking me through the steps of closing my old accounts and opening a new Checking account and saving account along with a Key Credit Card.
    Laura was efficient in transferring the funds from the old to the new and monitoring the funds that were put on hold and eventually seeing that they properly got transferred. “In addition she monitored direct deposits that were sent to the old account and transfer those funds.
    I have been in the business world for over 40 years and Laura certainly ranks as one of the best Personal Banker encountered. Efficient, great follow through, patient to explain what was going on and very helpful in recommending new more stringent security measure that I could take to strengthen the Security of my Account.
    Laura was always cheerful and happy to see me when I came into the Branch and was professional and energized when she had to contact me by phone.
    I remain a Key Bank customer because of Laura and her service.
    Please recognize Laura for her extraordinary service rendered during a time that was exceptional stressful and concerning for myself and my Wife.
    I extend a sincere THANK YOU!
    Peace
    William and May Jean Fitzgerald

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By Gurleen Jan 21, 2016

    Terrible bank

    I have a debit and credit card with Key. My cards get declined multiple times during every month for no apparent reason. When I call customer service to ask why they get declined, they never know why and say my card has no blocks on it. This has happened multiple times and I cannot rely on my bank cards (or use them when I'm with anyone because it's embarrassing). Would not recommend this bank because they cannot identify or rectify their errors.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By redbug Jan 5, 2016

    Banking Policies

    I opened a account with a paycheck. It took two weeks for the hold to be taken off.I was told that this practice was a 10 hold and accounting the weekends it was two weeks that is only one complaint. I have found out that this is one of the few banks that do not take deposits first. The deposits are on a time bases. In my case -Friday was New Years bank closed ....SATURDAY IS Monday banking so I deposited a check on Monday> Got a charge of $38.00 NSF charge. My house payment was set up for the 1st and is auto-deducted. They took the payment first and deposit after. Seems like this could be a way to inflate the revenue of NSF charges, who controls the date/time entries, how would have information to dispute this? To top things off during this extended holiday I went to atm....pulled a Mini statement, cool (last bank did not offer this in ATM) I was charged $ 1.50 for this.
    in my efforts to manage my outrage I verbally told the branch how unethical I felt of their business practices. My advice is don't open a account at Key Bank .

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By Chadwick_4 Nov 25, 2015

    Key Bank - Delhi Pike

    This is a wonderful branch. The employees are always pleasant and professional. They get to know their customers, so they are able to give more personal attention to every customer. I definitely like the family atmosphere. This branch needs to be commended for having exemplary employees. It is always a pleasure for my husband, myself and son and daughter to visit this location.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jrobertssalvador Oct 5, 2015

    Works banking experience ever and no help from "customer service"

    I deposited CASH in the atm at noon on Sunday and my funds aren't available until Tuesday? How is that possible? My small credit union doesn't take that long! All of my outgoing transactions had no trouble going through any day of the week. This is absolutely ridiculous. If MY money is ever made available to me, I'm closing this useless account immediately.

    Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By usery Sep 8, 2015

    The worst in bank corporate greed and incompetence

    - usurious fees
    - more-than-occasional mistakes resulting in incorrect fees applied to customer accounts
    - onerous & byzantine policies to minimize Key Bank costs at the expense of customers
    - crappy return rates on accounts

    For example: 5-7 day transaction dispute and review process, when customer account victimized by criminal fraud. Un-f'ing-believable - if there were negative-stars here KeyBank gets -5.

    And how the F do they get a "B" grade on mybanktracker.com? I smell shills, gaming the rating system on KeyBank's behalf.

    Sincerely,
    former Key Bank customer

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By grahamlyle Aug 11, 2015

    Worst website, self service, and customer service ever

    I wish I could give negative stars: I would. Don't use this bank! Their online banking site is one of the worst: no online chat help; no search by topic of help section, then, limited FAQs, mostly related to online/mobile banking. I wanted to close an account; is it any surprise that they dont make that info readily available or easy to find?

    I was getting charged $18 fee for $0, and nowhere online could i find out how to cancel the account. I called customer service, and after 3 attempts to get a rep (first 2 were busy signals) I got someone who waived most recent fee but couldnt help w/ previous months fee. AND they cant close acct until it has 0 balance. Guess what now? Go to a branch; they can help...

    I did; the branch couldnt help, shocking enough. They gave me the card for the manager and said to call or come back later when she would be in? What, banking managers work from home now? No one could waive a fee except her: thank you Japera, and keybank, for nothing.

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kneth55 Aug 9, 2015

    Kyle - Check Carousel

    In June 2014 I opened up a hassle free checking account with key bank. I really only needed the account for deposits and withdrawals so nothing major. In April 2015, I was about to change apartments and now needed checks/money orders to pay for my rent.
    I had been told when I opened the account that no checks could be ordered for my account. However, when I went in to get a money order for my rent, the branch manager who I had spoken with said that she could order checks for my account, without me bringing up the matter. This was a news to me and when I brought up what I was previously told, she informed me that that was not the case. I gave her the green light to order them and that was that. She told me that it would be another two weeks before they came in which,then, never happened, but the money was never withdrawn from my account so it was no biggie.
    The real issue started when I ordered checks from a cheaper source. To process my checks my account details had to be verified by Key Bank, who would allow the order to go through. Luckily enough, several days later my checks came in the mail, with key bank's approval and I paid my rent that was due for the upcoming month. After several day however, I noticed the sum was not withdrawn from my account and the week after I was served with fine from my landlord for a bounced check and a late fee, $70 in total. Confused I contacted customer service who informed me that the routing number I was given was wrong. I then went to the branch I had first signed up for an account with and was then told that that wasn't the issue but that my account wasn't allowed to have checks. Huh? 1) that wasn't what I was told a month prior and 2) you authorized the checks.
    The manager then took responsibility and promised to get me reimbursed fully for the fees within the next few days. Instead, it took three weeks for a decision to be made which rewarded me with only half the amount I was promised. I then called customer service who offered no help and sent me back to the manager.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.