C MyBankTracker Rating

M&T Bank Customer Reviews

(138 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 9
4 Star 3
3 Star 2
2 Star 8
1 Star 116

The Most Helpful M&T Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By skotova Jul 28, 2015

Customer Service

Just a quick note about your employee Joan ... She was just fantastic in helping w/our account access and is very knowledgeable.. friendly .. and helpful.. One of your better employees..

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By swboyink Jan 8, 2014

Skank Of America Sold My Mortgage To M T Bank. Terrible Customer Service!

First off i have a $20 fee added to my account which my bank says is from a bad check fee, to which i always had auto draft with bofa. No explanation for this, was actually told to call bank of america to sort it out. Originally setup auto draft with mtbank, then they took two payments for one month, over drafting my account of which other bills began even more over drafting and the $25 fee for each transaction. Customers service said they would refund the payment but in form of paper check and i would have to send in my bank account statement for them to review whether i get reimbursement for the overdraft fees. They can take money out instantly but can't put it right back. Some bank! I hate that i had no choice to inheret such a handicapped mortgage provider. Ever notice that the name sounds like "empty bank"?

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest M&T Bank Reviews

  • Y
    Reviewed By youngster Aug 23, 2016

    Miserable bank.

    My mortgage was transferred to M and T bank in December 2015. Since then I have nothing but trouble with them. You can't reach anybody, they dont respond to Emails or faxes and they engage in questionable actions like changing the billing address on city tax bills from your address to theirs--among other actions.

    It got so bad that I just filed a lawsuit against the bank. If you bank with them get away from them quickly. If you have a mortgage with them find another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jlm94 Aug 10, 2016

    Worst bank I've ever worked with!!!!!

    Customer service sucks!!! Fees on top of fees!! Don't do business with them ever!! Horrible experiences all around. My company has used them for a year and every customer I've had says this bank sucks!! Henrietta employees may need a class on how to treat customers! Switching banks and will never go back to this bank EVER!!!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By SUGARFOOT1964 Jul 22, 2016

    DEFINITELY THE BANK TO STAY AWAY FROM

    LET ME GET RIGHT TO THE POINT HERE-IF YOU EVER HAVE EXTRA UNAUTHORIZED MONEY TAKEN OUT OF YOUR ACCOUNT AND YOU FILE A DISPUTE, M&T BANK WILL ALLOW YOUR MONEY TO BE STOLEN AND SIDE WITH THE FRAUDFUL THIEVES.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By FTWannabes Jun 29, 2016

    WORST Bank we have ever done business with!

    Online payments were convenient - that was the only +. Wasn't my choice of bank for the loan and if it was offered again - we would walk away.
    Paid loan off early. They locked me out of the account by 8AM the next morning.
    Nightmare trying to get paperwork and title.
    Overpaid by $500 (my error) and it has been 29 days and 4 different stories about why I still have not received my overpayment. From "It will be 10 days" to "14 calendar days" to '16 business days" to "I cannot see where there is a refund due, but if there is, it will be 10 calendar days after the 14th business day from the payoff closing date. You can call back then to see if there are any funds due you".
    I know I'm not their favorite type of customer since I pay all loans off early - but they just lost my business forever.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JMB Jun 14, 2016

    Not very helpful

    I called the bank with a very simple question. The girl said I needed to stop by the bank to get help.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jsmithhdi May 4, 2016

    Best Bank ever!

    I love this bank! I opened an account in 2011 and they have been nothing but helpful. They have even called me every so often to make sure that I am in the best type of accounts for me.

    Whenever I go into the bank, they are pleasant, cooperative, and always willing to help and solve whatever crazy request I throw at them. I have had accounts at lots of other banks and none of them has ever matched the good customer service I get with M&T. And, it doesn't matter which branch I go into. It is always a great experience.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Steiny47 May 3, 2016

    Worst Customer Service!

    I tried to log in to my loan account today (which I have not done in a long while). To make a long story short, I got locked out of my account so called customer service because I was wishing to get a payment made and a payoff amount. I gave my name, social security number, year, make, model and previous payment amount of the loan. The "gentleman" from customer service said he couldn't help me unless I gave him the VIN number and loan number of the vehicle which of course is in storage. The entire episode leaves a bad taste in my mouth as far as this bank is concerned. I will avoid doing future business with them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By IDZ Apr 30, 2016

    One of the Worst Decisions of My Life

    I have had a checking account with M&T for about 15 years. Over this time, the bank has deteriorated to the point of its being a parody of itself. They are unbelievably bad. My first indication was when I noticed that other banks were offering remote deposits by photographing a check on your smartphone. M&T didn't offer it, and to my knowledge, still doesn't. Last Wednesday (3 days ago) I used their ATM to deposit a check, using my check card to gain access to my account. When I got home I made an online purchase from Amazon, which was promptly declined. Why? My account number had been hacked and there were $1500 in fraudulent charges. All transactions using the card the day and night before went smoothly through. I'm not a banking expert, but the series of events indicates there was a scanner on their ATM. When I called, M&T insisted it could not be their ATM because they check it three times per day. Maybe, maybe not, but that's one heck of a coincidence. To call their customer service number is an exercise in frustration. One prompt after another just to get through, and then on hold for up to 30 minutes. Every person I spoke to, save one, was rude, impolite, and condescending. They intimated that the problem was my fault. Huh? But all of these charges were from the same merchant, and were listed as pending when I notified them. About 24 hours later, the charges were processed. WTF? Why didn't they stop the charges before they posted? They then told me it could take up to 30 days to issue provisional credits. Sorry guys, but I have extremely serious medical conditions that require several expensive medications which I would die without, so 30 days won't work. Still they wouldn't help until I persisted and asked for a supervisor, who did immediately grant the provisional credits. Of course, the next day I was charged exorbitant overdraft fees, although I'm pretty sure I have overdraft protection. Again, a major ordeal ensued before that was finally provisionally credited. Every single step of this situation has been an intense battle with them. It almost seems (ok, it does seem) like they don't want to do one darned thing to support their customer, almost as if we're an irritant to them who are prohibiting them from making money. Yes, money is ALL they care about. Please, do not make my mistake. I have read countless reviews confirming my complaints. I desperately want to change banks, but I can't until their investigation is completed, up to 90 days. Do not, do not, DO NOT use this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By ekitjac Apr 22, 2016

    Requesting a Pay Off on Auto Loan

    I called in today to make a payment. I am sure I am like everyone else and does not remember there account number. So i gave them my SSN# to access my account. I made my auto payment, and then i requested a payoff amount on my auto loan. She informed me she has a couple of questions. She asked me the Year, Make, and Model. Which i gave her. Then she asked me the VIN Number i could not give her. I informed her that im not in that truck right now. She told me that i either have to provide the VIN Number or Account number to hear my payoff amount. This is not right. If i can provide my Full Legal name, address, SSN, Year, Make, and Model. They should be able to read a payoff amount.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By M_T_bank_sucks Apr 15, 2016

    Stay away from this bank

    Worst possible customer service, very long hold times, fail to disclose all fees, stay away, stay away, stay away. There are much better banks out there without having to deal with a substandard bank such as M&T.

    Would you believe they want $50 to close a checking and/or savings account? I guess they are trying to keep people from leaving in droves. Trust me, it's $50 well spent to be rid of this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.