C+ MyBankTracker Rating

M&T Bank Customer Reviews

(117 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 7
4 Star 3
3 Star 2
2 Star 7
1 Star 98

The Most Helpful M&T Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By skotova Jul 28, 2015

Customer Service

Just a quick note about your employee Joan ... She was just fantastic in helping w/our account access and is very knowledgeable.. friendly .. and helpful.. One of your better employees..

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By swboyink Jan 8, 2014

Skank Of America Sold My Mortgage To M T Bank. Terrible Customer Service!

First off i have a $20 fee added to my account which my bank says is from a bad check fee, to which i always had auto draft with bofa. No explanation for this, was actually told to call bank of america to sort it out. Originally setup auto draft with mtbank, then they took two payments for one month, over drafting my account of which other bills began even more over drafting and the $25 fee for each transaction. Customers service said they would refund the payment but in form of paper check and i would have to send in my bank account statement for them to review whether i get reimbursement for the overdraft fees. They can take money out instantly but can't put it right back. Some bank! I hate that i had no choice to inheret such a handicapped mortgage provider. Ever notice that the name sounds like "empty bank"?

Is this review helpful?

Latest M&T Bank Reviews

  • C
    Reviewed By cnagrani Jan 21, 2016

    Theifs

    Coming from Canada This is a horrible bank Don't bank with them

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jbarlow Dec 25, 2015

    Worse Bank Ever!!

    I didn't ASK for this bank, my mortgage was sold to it. WORST customer service I ever dealt with! I'm having financial difficulties, and they won't work with me!! Late payments are considered "missed payments." Yes, you read right. So, consequently, I can't refinance because they have late payments down as missed payments on my credit report.
    I asked them if they could change the due date to when I receive my social security. No, they said. I have to refinance. Well, already told you about that. I also can't get a reverse mortgage because of them putting that on my credit report. Have no choice but to sell or just let the house go. They can have it!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By ihatemandt Dec 8, 2015

    Poor customer service Poor Fraud resolution process

    My account was compromised again, They began to email me after every fraudulent charge..all the while allowing them to go through.9 fraudulent charges and -1800.00 to my account later, the fraudulent activity stopped , I guess the crooks got everything they needed. Its about 2 weeks before Christmas i have two kids and family to buy for. Try calling the 800 number and it is almost impossible to speak with a person unless you're Spanish, if your are they put you right through otherwise its a phone tree that takes 8 minutes of pressing choices. After finally speaking to a live human being they matter of factly told me the "provisional" credit should be in my account with in 10 business days. I DONT HAVE 10 BUSINESS DAYS, they let the criminal take the money out immediatley , when it comes time to put the money back...it takes 10 business days. Each "customer service" person as robotic and non caring as the next. Bank of America puts the money back The next day. Thats where I'm going

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By gharvey Nov 30, 2015

    So bad it's almost funny

    Terrible bank. 5 year branch manager doesn't know even how to set up accounts. Screwed my application up so bad he had to had write it up and mail it to corporate. I should have laughed in his face and walked out, but it was the only bank near where I work. You'd think my job issuing paychecks FROM M&T would mean you could cash your check instantly, but you'd be wrong: only the liquor store across the street can apparently do that. God forbid M&T trust THEIR OWN CHECKS.

    Other locations are just as bad, having 1 teller open on a Friday afternoon with the line going out the door, and other employees wandering around and talking to each other.

    The final straw is, this is about the 5th time I've called the 800 number and been told that my local branch gave me false info. This time their false info just cost me $125. Thanks M&T, you're hands down the worst bank I've ever dealt with.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By centaur Nov 20, 2015

    Fraudulent Fees! Do not bank with M&T!

    I had a terrible experience with this bank. Their only objective is to charge fees in whatever confusing way they can think of. I recently relocated from Maryland and transitioned my accounts to a local bank in my new state. I pulled up my accounts after months of no activity to find hundreds and hundreds in fees. I called immediately and found that since my account wasn't holding a $500 minimum balance any longer I was subject to a monthly service fee. (news to me!) Since this service fee wasn't paid it went to my overdraft, which charged a fee. Then, the unpaid overdraft charged a fee. Then, the unpaid overdraft charged an "extended overdraft fee". I had four checking accounts with this bank and this was happening to each of them.
    I banked with M&T for 7 years and this is really not surprising considering what I experienced over the years. They reported me to credit agencies once for a $3 overdraft. I paid my overdraft balance of $32 through an "Account Transfer". I paid in full and moved on. I later found out that $3 additional was charged the next day in overdraft interested. I was told if I would have done a "Bill Pay" for the $32 it would have been paid in full. M&T refused to redact the credit report and ultimately this hurt my credit enough to cost me .5 point on my mortgage I signed two months later. My family will pay over $100/mo for the next 30 years because of a "Transfer" vs "Bill Pay".
    I called today and politely asked all of the fees be waived and close my accounts. The response I received was to "Stop yelling and no waived fees will be possible". Not a bank who cares about the customer but clearly only cares about charging and keeping confusing and fraudulent bank fees. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT BANK HERE!

    Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By ema Nov 4, 2015

    Worse than Wells Fargo

    I switched from Wells Fargo to M&T because I was fed up with them. However, M&T charges higher fees, their website is constantly messed up, and I've been charged overdraft fees on transactions that I hadn't done. Currently, I'm trying to find an online copy of a check to a former employee however, their records only go back 3 months.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By anacsithm Nov 3, 2015

    CHARGE EXTRA INTEREST

    I received my Visa credit card statement which I carry through M&T. Let's just say that the balance was $1000 and the due date was 09/28/15. I paid off the entire balance "prior" to the due date. I also have a checking account with M&T so on 11/03/15 I went online to check my balance in my checking and wasn't I surprised to see I had a balance on my credit card statement. When I called customer service I was told that cardholders continue to accrue interest and the statement balance is not accurate. I was also told.... "You should have called us for a zero pay for the date you expected to pay it off." They seriously charged me over $8 in interest. When I asked what would happen when I made the $8 payment, she said I would have additional interest charged and would still have a balance. I asked her where on the statement it said "YOU MUST CALL FOR A PAYOFF ON YOUR CREDIT CARD BECAUSE THE STATEMENT ISN'T ACCURATE". Seriously my statement shows my balance and my payment. $1000 - 1000 = $8.02???? She couldn't find it and actually said it's not on the statement. Absolutely unbelievable! The card would basically never pay off if they kept doing this. There should be lawsuits for this type of scam. And yes, my M&T accounts will be closed this weekend, which is the soonest I can get there to get my money out of there!

    Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hitmanmark Oct 27, 2015

    "JOANNE MARR" - ARE YOU KIDDING ME???

    THIS WOMAN IS VERY RUDE, NASTY & UNPROFESSIONAL. SHE REALLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I DON'T SEE HOW ANYONE COULD GIVE HER ANY HIGH PRAISE, MAYBE IT'S JUST ME THAT SHE DOES NOT LIKE. BOTTOM LINE & TOO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT AND TO GET RIGHT TO THE POINT, I WENT TO HER TO SEE ABOUT GETTING A CHECK OF MINE APPROVED TO BE CASHED. AFTER ASKING FOR MY ID, SHE SAID TO ME "WHY WOULD WE CASH THIS CHECK FOR YOU?" HELLOOOOO - I AM AN M&T LOYAL CUSTOMER WITH A M&T ACCOUNT AND HAD A VALID CHECK MADE OUT IN MY NAME, THAT'S WHY. THIS AUBURN NY BRANCH REFUSED TO APPROVE THIS CHECK (WHICH THEY HAD BEFORE AND IT WAS NOT JOANNE MARR) AND I WALKED OUT TO THE ATM AND DEPOSITED THAT CHECK AND GOT CASH BACK SO THE CHECK WAS OBVIOUSLY GOOD. IT SHOULD NOT AND REALLY DOES NOT MATTER RATHER I HAD ENOUGH MONEY IN MY ACCOUNT TO COVER THE CHECK OR NOT. IF IT DID, THE ATM WOULD NOT GIVE ME MONEY BACK. I WILL NEVER DEAL WITH THIS DISRESPECTFUL WOMAN AGAIN. I HAVE NOTHING MORE TO SAY TO HER. SHE IS USELESS AND IGNORANT.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By biofab Oct 17, 2015

    M&T On-Line Service Center Deceitful, Rude and Condescending

    M&T Bank’s On-Line Service Center (1-800-790-9130) was incredibly rude, condescending and deceitful when I called yesterday to request a new debit card, after our checking account was emptied via fraudulent online purchases. “You can’t have one until there’s money in your account,” sneeringly lied the M&T rep, twice, before disconnecting. The local M&T branch had moments before routinely ordered a replacement debit card for my husband for the same account, without being asked, as he completed filling out the paperwork necessary to restore our stolen funds. This despite my having already explained the circumstances to the rude M&T troll, which was clearly corroborated by the information in the M&T database.
    They few times I’ve called M&T’s On-Line Service Center in the past, they’ve merely been surly and unhelpful. M&T’s management obviously condones this sort of asocial behavior in its call center staff, or it wouldn’t be continuing.

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Phylis Angus Aug 19, 2015

    Bank staff / Auburn, NY bank

    Employee Joanne Marr

    This is the 3rd time that we've gone to Joanne Marr for help and again, she explained the problem we had most understandably and with professional expertise.
    We would like to thank her again and say thank you to M&T bank for having this lady to their staff in Auburn, NY.

    Phylis Angus
    KHosford@AOL.com

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.