B+ MyBankTracker Rating

PNC Bank Customer Reviews

(319 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 42
4 Star 10
3 Star 11
2 Star 22
1 Star 234

The Most Helpful PNC Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By chman Dec 12, 2013

Worst bank ever

I have had an account with PNC for 3 months now, and it has been extremely stressful to do business with them. From the get go, no pleasant experience. The consultant who helped me open an account was inexperienced and didn't know how to work with customers. She did not explain properly what documents she needed from me and made me go back home 3 times to get the right documents. PNC lets new employees work with customers without giving them enough training. Their employees are rude, defensive, and not professional. It has been 3 months since I opened an account, but I have not received my checkbooks yet despite multiple calls I made to them. It has been extremely stressful to do any business with them, and I've decided to close my account with PNC. I wasted so much time, energy, and money because of their unprofessional customer service. Absolutely worst bank ever.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By lmorton11 Mar 26, 2014

Worst banking experience ever! Lost 50 points on credit report.

We were trying to pay off a loan for a line of credit on our home. Every time I called the bank I was redirected to sometimes five different departments as we were told we had a "special" loan. I sent in a check for the payoff amount and they said they didn't receive it.

After weeks of frustration I went to our local bank to send the money electronically. Our local bank could not get in touch with them via email nor were the bank managers phone calls returned. Eventually they took the amount out of our local account and I received a statement showing our check cashed! Not only cashed but credited and debited.

During all this one payment was late (and I was still trying to pay the full amount) and after years of never having one payment late they sent it to the credit bureau where both my husband and I lost 50+ points on.our credit score. The entire event was the most unprofessional and taxing event I have been through. Any person who is thinking of using this bank should think twice to keep both their sanity and excellent credit score.

Is this review helpful?

Latest PNC Bank Reviews

  • K
    Reviewed By keith4two May 28, 2016

    Extremely unhelpful!

    Called to verify funds on a cashier's check and was blown off. The customer care rep on the phone was rude and unprofessional. There are A LOT of other financial institutions out there to go to than deal with people like this. Run far and run fast!

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Taylor4180 May 18, 2016

    Pnc bank 10900 lorain ave . Cleveland

    I love this bank ! Customer service is always excellent , manger Nasser is so nice and helpful . They are always willing to go the extra mile for providing top of the line banking services .
    This branch is always clean , inside and out . It's nice to go to a bank and not be scared to touch stuff because of germs . I've never felt this way here this place is always clean looks and smells clean . Over all fabulous !!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By ShelleySandler May 7, 2016

    PNC is absolutely going down the toilet

    Try to go to the bank at 9 o'clock on a Saturday and guess what? Closed all of the branches in my area. When all the other banks are increasing their customer service Kama PNC absolutely gone in the opposite direction. So I decided to try the ATM to deposit my check. First it kicked me out of the system then when they accept me it takes my deposit but says that it's out of paper for the receipts. It will not allow me to make a sizable deposit with mobile checking yet it will not give me a receipt if I use the night depository and the branch is not open LOL so I guess that's a hint that I should be depositing my money in another bank. Additionally they have huge wire fees and transfer fees and length of time that they hold your check unnecessarily.

    Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By William02 May 4, 2016

    Bunch of Thieve

    They act like they're your friends just to get your business why are you opening up an account and then they did they'd sneak in all of these extra fees on top of everything else that you're paying you know when you're a person who makes $400 a week and the bank try to take that $400 what are you supposed to live off of if the bank is trying to take that money and not try to fix your problem with them I suggest to anybody who's out there looking to open up a PNC check PNC checking or ATM don't do it because now my kids are going to be hungry because they don't want to fix their problem all they care about is getting their money and they keep on charging for every overdraft fee that you tried to stop their charging $36 each time your card overdraft

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dej1for Apr 28, 2016

    NEVER AGAIN

    You all know why Im here.PNC bank is the worst bank I have ever dealt with.I faxed in paper work for the truck they financed for me for the insurance.After I received the 1st payment bill there was an additional 225.00 dollar charge because they said I didnt change over my insurance.After several calls to them they said the paperwork was never sent in but it was sent by my state farm agent.After a coulple more calls they said it was to late.They were also kind enough to screw me for a 6.5 interest rate through POHANKA HONDA OF FREDERICKSBURGH V.A. So after I paid my payments for a year and a half I refinanced the loan through bank of america for a 4.5 interest rate and saved alot of money.If you have a car loan from pnc bank see if you can refinance with a different bank at some time.You will save hundreds. Payback is a -----.

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By llRidd Apr 6, 2016

    Main St Millsboro

    The Millsboro Branch on main Street give excellent customer service. Everyone there is always pleasant and helpful. I only use this bank for my job, however if i ever need to open a new account, it would differently be with them.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By robM Apr 4, 2016

    Just terrible - Don't Bank with PNC

    I read the negative reviews but still went ahead an opened account because I wanted the $400 promotion for new checking accounts. Now I know why they were offering the incentive...What a mistake!! not worth the $400..They made so many errors it took 30 days before I had access to my $$ then to top it off I sent my mortgage check using on line banking it was never cashed by my mortgage services company!!! which was very clear when you look at the bank of the check, yet the PNC researched it and said the matter is closed because my mortgage services company would not provide any info..what IDIOTS !!! The back of the check clearly shows it was deposited by BNY not my bank...The customer service is the worst ever...Don't bank with PNC you will regret it..

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jstern5592 Mar 17, 2016

    Retirement/benefits department for clients who have passed away is awful

    Having a family member pass away recently, there have been nothing but problems in attempting to transfer a retirement account. There was no will and when the account was opened, beneficiaries were not allowed as an option. Probate court has approved transfer to 1 heir by line of succession, however, PNC refuses to honor the judgement. When the retirement and/or benefits department has been contacted, they refuse to speak with the estate attorney even with documentation they have showing that the heir has given written permission. IF you can get through to the departments, the only answer you get is "we'll have to check with this department or that department" and NEVER receive an answer. When they are asked to have the call escalated to someone higher up the change, they refuse. They cannot or will not explain their policies and procedures. Thus, probate cannot be closed due to their dragging their feet and doing nothing. The heir could end up with massive taxes and penalties because of their inept practices. EVERY other financial institution has been extremely helpful and taken care of what needs to be done in courteous and timely fashion. NOT PNC. I would like to leave ALL stars blank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By FedUPConsumer Mar 15, 2016

    Customer Service is the worst ever. They call themselves Money Managers

    The Customer Service is the worst. You reach them dialing 1-800-PNC-Bank. Don't waste your time they refer you to an Escalation Dept, which will basically further escalate you beyond your wildest dreams. They are very callous and sarcastic, nothing like the old PNC with morals, values, and quality standards. I would highly recommend someone who gives a darn offer retraining and just plain old common courtesy skills. Something called telephone manners. PNC is lacking in helping customers feel valued.

    Is this review helpful?
  • Y
    Reviewed By Youottoknow Mar 9, 2016

    Has multiple system issues last two months

    Pnc has never had a problem, but since the microchip requirement for bank cards their system upgrades have been a constant fail. Cards denied and random places, weekly upgrades shutting down on line access, inconsistent answers from customer service reps. Not knowing answers about own service lines. Online banking payments not getting to destination on time, security very weak. We are moving to another bank despite the huge headache of notifying all automatic payers! Had excellent service up until last couple months. Extremely disappointed.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.