Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

C+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

440
Branch Locations

Peoples United Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Hudson City Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Webster Bank
Add
Compare Banks

Peoples United Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Peoples United Bank Latest Customer Reviews

Mike001's Profile Image

Reviewed by Mike001

Apr 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

I recently visited my local branch on a Wednesday morning. The tellers where very friendly and want to help me.

I then helped myself to a coffee and filled out my deposit slip. The teller Theresa, who I believe is the nicest teller I have ever had in my 35 tears of banking, always has a smile and always very helpful. To tell the truth, I was having a bad morning until I walked in to People's United Bank on Boston Road in Springfield Mass!

Thank you again Theresa and the wonderful staff!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Justin K's Profile Image

Reviewed by Justin K

Feb 18th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Too bad they don't have branches in FL.

From day one, People's has done everything right by me. I used to have Bank of America (back when it was Fleet) and they always posted my deposits late and I could never get an actual person on the phone to help me. People's has an easy to use online system, friendly staff, and they have even forgiven a few overdrafts (just something nice for doing business with them for so long I guess). Bottom line, if you live in CT, use People's.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

JasonG's Profile Image

Reviewed by JasonG

May 26th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Commercial Checking Account

I have been a customer of People's bank for almost ten years now. I have a commercial account for my local painting business. My mother has held a personal checking and savings account for much longer.

I have had nothing but good experiences dealing with this bank. I love that the hours and that it is open 7 days a week! I have been spending more time in Florida now and my experiences here with banks, such as Wachovia, have been terrible.

I wish that People's had branches in the Tampa Bay area!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

carol1951's Profile Image

Reviewed by carol1951

Nov 14th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

I Am Pleased To Be A Customer Of This Bank. And Have No Complaints In Regard To Their Services.

The people that work there are very nice when i ask them questions about any banking business i do or have done,recent or in the past, since i have been acquainted with this bank. I am satisfied with doing future business with them, also. I would recommend them to anyone i know or someone that wishes to have good relations with a good bank such as this. I have not had any problems with them,since i have been a new customer of there's. Everyone should check out this bank, as they are very helpful to everyone that goes there.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

moronic_kaos's Profile Image

Reviewed by moronic_kaos

Mar 26th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Should have stuck with them

There's nothing really that above-and-beyond about People's policies, except that they actually work and you never have to worry about them backfiring on you (or, at least I didn't anyway).

This was the first bank account I ever had, back before they started moving all their branches into grocery stores (Stop & Shop here in CT). I was 18 when I converted my savings into a linked checking & savings account. I never really knew about the BS other banks pull because it just didn't happen here. If I deposited my paycheck, it's there immediately. If I order a new card (I used to use mine as a backup key to my apartment), it was in the mailbox in a week. And even though I've overdrafted the account 3 times in two years, I never had to pay any kind of fees. When I went to close the account, the guy at the counter was more than happy to do so and didn't give me any crap about it. "No problem, just sign this" and that was it. The only problem I ever had with them was getting locked out of online banking, but I never really cared about the problem enough to make more than a half-***'d attempt to fix it since I never used it much anyway. Check your balance by phone, it's easier.

Now I've got Citizens Bank, and

- I have to wait an entire day for my paycheck to clear if I deposit it, even though it's a Citizens Bank Payroll check. Yet if I cash it, I can walk out cash in hand same day..?

- I only received my first debit card, which the lady explained to me was supposed to be temporary

- I can't set my own PIN number. I have to memorize theirs...

- From what I understand, their overdraft fees are like $33 even for a $1-ish overdraft. And then they go up from there.

Oh, and did I mention in CT, most Citizens banks (the Stop & Shop branches) are open until 7:00pm M-F!!! People laugh at me for going to cash a check after dark like I'm an idiot, but when I come back with money they are like in awe. Oh, and their open Sundays too! All the way until 4PM!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rampant1's Profile Image

Reviewed by rampant1

Mar 17th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

excellent

helpful people, manager not so knowledgeable about IRA distribution, free IRA management, free notarizing

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Nancy C's Profile Image

Reviewed by Nancy C

Dec 11th 2010

3 out of 5 marks

People's United Bank is doing worse than before.

I have been a customer of People's bank for over 10 years, they used to be a very good bank, they had good rates , accurate statements and nice office hours.

Since they changed to their new system, they made 2 mistakes on my statement.

1. I created a CD a few months ago, they doubled the amount on my CD.

2. I closed a different CD a quite while ago, they left a dollar in my CD, I continue getting a renew letter to renew it. After I finally closed it, they did not rollover interest rate, I still got a letter once a month to ask me to renew it.

3. Their new phone system is not better than the old one, finally I used to it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Morgun's Profile Image

Reviewed by Morgun

Jul 18th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Nasty Bank

Refuses to take direction over the phone.

Refuses to do anything by auto-renew CDs. They required me to visit the bank, or send a letter.

Extremely uncooperative - not worth it if they only offer 0.1% interest more than the good banks (.001 more yield).

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Klp2012's Profile Image

Reviewed by Klp2012

Jun 18th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Absolutely Horrific! They Must Screen The Most Unintelligent People They Can Find And Hire Them As Tellers.

I went in to deposit a check under my new married name and brought my marriage license with me. My other credentials are still being processed. The teller did not know what a marriage license was nor know how to read it. Furthermore, did not understand the fact through vital statistics that i am able to use my married last name with proof of my marriage license.

After standing at the counter for 10 minutes while the teller checked with multiple parties who also seemed dumbfounded i decided to close my account immediately. Prior to this negative experience, my husband and i opened a joint checking account at chase bank, who did not hassle me whatsoever.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jferry26comcastnet's Profile Image

Reviewed by jferry26comcastnet

Oct 20th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Wouldn't Recommend-Particuarly For Business

Years ago my wife and i happily moved our bank accounts from bank of america to back of western massachusetts. We loved bwm! Over time bwm was purchased by chittenden then finally peoples united. With each merger are customer experience got worse. I can honestly say that people's united bank may actually be worse than boa ever was. Here is my list of complaints:

1) PU is progressively taking longer to clear checks-now often more than one day.

2) PU now counts all deposits made on saturday morning as being made the following monday. So if you deposit a check on saturday don't expect those funds to be available monday as they once were. There is thus no reason to bother making saturday morning deposits anymore.

3) we had recently attempted to refinance our home through pu and was given a loan offer with a laughably high amount for closing costs. We took that business elsewhere!

4) my daughter had a savings/checking account that went into a negative balance for a few weeks. I went to the local branch to deposit money into it but the account had been closed and could not be reopened without a fee. Td bank therefore got new 18 y/o customer as a result!

5) most important. PU installed check reader machines two years ago that really do not work. Business deposits now entail watching the teller sift through those checks not accurately read by their faulty machines, (at least 10% of them). The time involved in making deposits has increased four fold. The bank staff are oddly unapologetic about this problem as i suppose these machines have made their jobs easier?

6) as PU has become a worsening customer experience the fake friendliness from the branch staff has increased!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Mmrw1714's Profile Image

Reviewed by Mmrw1714

Feb 5th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

This bank screws you at every turn, uses misleading practices to bilk you out of your hard earned money.

I deposit a check this morning at peoples united from a client for 2,800. Drawn off my bank ( peoples united) . I check my online account. The only transaction for the day is the deposit. 2 hours later I check again , now somehow 2 checks came in prior to my deposit , I made 10 min. After the bank opened. They charge me 37.00 for each check . Then it takes them 24 hrs. To make the funds available for a check drawn from their bank. I could have cashed it and deposited it to avoid this. It's not a friendly way to do business. No wondr they've 1 out of 5 stars. If your not in the 1 % you get screwed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Matt R's Profile Image

Reviewed by Matt R

Apr 28th 2010

2 out of 5 marks

What Happened to People'sUnited Telephone banking?

It's as if an alien has taken over People's United - a Bank that I have been a customer of for almost 25years. It is as if the just resigned CEO came on board without any banking credentials and trashed the place ---then left.

The new telephone banking system no longer links accounts - ten digit accounts for checking and special savings each must be entered separately for balances and transfers increasing the chance for a mistake in transferring possibly to the wrong account. The monthly paper statements look like a cheap black & white amateur product. Hopefully with the resignation of the CEO someone will take control back and return us to the People's Bank we used to know and love. In the meantime - if looking for a bank - stay away from People's until they get this thing figured out.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Frank Z's Profile Image

Reviewed by Frank Z

Apr 13th 2010

2 out of 5 marks

Will Not Let You Opt Out of Overdraft Protection

I had a bill pay that I accidently set to the wrong checking account with caused an overdraft. After my balance went negative, the ATM card still allowed me to withdraw and use debits causing fees of $204 to accumulate. This due to their so called overdraft "protection" which charges you $34 PER INCIDENT. The idea being that this "service" ensures you have continued use of your card even if you don't have the money. What good is this so-called "protection" when it puts you further in the hole anyway?

Online customer service told me there was nothing I could do about it but the local branch manager understood and reversed the fees. However, when I inquired about opting out, which will be mandated by law in June, I was told I could not and they wanted to upsell me on a line of credit instead. I am COMPLETELY disgusted by this and I'm taking my money to Chase which allows you to opt out right off the bat.

Also, their online banking is PATHETIC. I can't even believe this is a bank operating in the 21st century. Horrible interface, poor alert system, and the online customer service is extremely rude and unhelpful. I'll be very surprised if this bank lasts another 10 years with its poor customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Robert's Profile Image

Reviewed by Robert

Mar 1st 2010

2 out of 5 marks

Wants to play with the big boys.

Peoples is going down hill fast.

I had been banking with them since 2000.

I closed my accounts this past December and am very glad I did. I joined a credit union. Now the majority of the services I paid a fee for are free.

Their last group of account term changes was the last straw.

They jacked up all their fees and added a few new ones that even the CS person I called couldn't tell me anything about.

They lost the backup tape that contained my personal information a couple years ago when the company re-organized. It was not the first time they were lax in their security measures.

They installed a drive up ATM in a shopping plaze nearby. It is very convinient but the P.O.S. rarely functions.

They replaced the branch ATMs with a couple of old worn machines that look like they were found in the back corner of their basement in Bridgeport.

They changed their web account access to remove the Available Balance field and now only show Balance. Very mis-leading.

Now I read in the news that their latest computer update hasn't been going so well for Connecticut customers.

The only positive is their customer service. Having had to speak to them far too many times, they have obviously a lot of experience dealing with these issues.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Ajasciortino425's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ajasciortino425

Aug 16th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Very Poor

Called to report my card lost and stolen, a woman answered and when I explained the situation she said "I have no idea what you're talking about." Then I explained again and she said "okay, was it a people's card? There's nothing I can do I'm sorry" very confused as to how my bank branch can't do anything for me. Very poor customer service would not recommend this branch.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

chompy's Profile Image

Reviewed by chompy

Sep 8th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

A customer service nightmare

A customer service nightmare from the off. Every time you call the 'service center' you are basically fobbed off and told to go into the branch. When you visit the branch you are fobbed off and asked to call the 'service center' Information on the same issue given by the service center and the branch contradict each other.

In the end I closed all my accounts after they told me the quickest they could do an 'instant transfer' was 72 business hours. Funny when I was closing my accounts they managed to sort out the mess - too late for them though - I wasted too many hours being passed from pillar to post.

So now my accounts been 'closed' for over 2 weeks - and I get a letter from them telling me they honored a payment for $6 and now have to pay a $35 fee - despite me not having an account with them. I call the number on the letter, only to be passed to the branch, only to be left on hold, only then to leave my number for them to call me back later....zzzzzzz...... you guessed it - they never called back. I'm sure they would be happy to make a mark on my credit history for a $6 payment they should have never authorized.

I'd never recommend them, nor will I go back.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

snowyowl's Profile Image

Reviewed by snowyowl

Feb 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Unfortunately I had a very bad experience with their customer service (lack of). I was given mis-information and treated very rudely by the woman behind the counter. When a mistake was made on their end, they became very defensive and took no accountability. As I was leaving, I looked back at the woman and watched her roll her eyes at me.... seriously. I was fuming mad, but didn't give her the satisfaction of making a scene. Thank goodness I was running an errand on behalf of someone and I don't bank there myself!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Rugy34's Profile Image

Reviewed by Rugy34

Dec 18th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Checking account

This is the worst bank you can go to they screw you every way they can I've paid 500 dollars in fees this month alone and they did it all to me they charged me 12 dollars a month when I was told if I pay 5 bills or more it would be free nope lie I pay 10 bills a month on line and they still charged me and since they did that I bounced all my bills ask me how ready they made my account negative charged me 30 dollar fee for returning it then paid and charged me 37 dollar fee cause I used the ATM and deposited my check I call custmer service and didn't get no where I talked the manager and was told it was my promblem so rude thought I was going to jail that day I raise 2 kids and they treated me like I was nothing and all started cause I was $2.36 negative in my account and the 12 dollar month fee bounced everything I can't believe this I'm so done with bank the worst I ever been too.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

degwal's Profile Image

Reviewed by degwal

Oct 3rd 2011

1 out of 5 marks

I Have Dealt With Peoples Bank As My Name Is On The Account With My Parents

I have been to the bank in person and have also called the bank to clarify the 7. 00 per month they charge on my parents account to cash my fathers government retirement check. They said if it was a payroll check they would not charge, its a retirment check. I was assured that they would not charge this fee again , but guess what they did... I hate this bank and going to move all the money to another bank so i do not have to deal with them again

customer service is awful.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gd1493gd's Profile Image

Reviewed by gd1493gd

Oct 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fees, Fees, Fees, And More Fees!

People's is full of fees! This is the stuff people's doesn't want you to know.... I have a personal checking with automatic direct deposit because if you don't have automatic direct deposit it is another fee! I also have a business checking account. The personal checking gets about 20 dollars a month in fees (due to nyce bill payments such as my verizon phone bill, paypal, and geico auto insurance payments) i pay a fee of 2. 95 every transaction for the "luxury" paying my bills! These fees add up like crazy because merchants don't want to get charged a credit card fee so they run it as an instant debit transaction and that means people's is going to charge you, the consumer!

And some companies can use your bank card as a debit card and not even ask for your pin # so you never even know... And yep, people's charges you a fee. People's says it's not their problem and they have been very unhelpful. They blame it all on the merchant. But people's is the one with the stupid hidden fee! People's corporate number tells you to talk to your local branch, branch tells you to call corporate, it's a huge run around. And they answer your questions in strategically worded ways to not give you the answer that you were really looking for, but to deceive you so they can keep their fees adding up.

Plus.... I just found out today a new policy i never even had to sign for states my business account must maintain over 1,000 dollars or else they take out 7. 95 a month. I never even saw this in their disclosure they claim they sent, but i signed out of paperless billing to avoid more fees. They don't care. Banks are screwing the little people left and right nowadays, it is so sad. The bank is no longer your friend like in that christmas movie, it's a wonderful life. We've lost all sense of community and common good and truthfulness and honesty. Everyone is out for themselves and people's can get right in line with everything else that's gone downhill in this greed-based society.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bankbuster's Profile Image

Reviewed by bankbuster

Aug 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

What Happened People's Connecticut??

I have been a People's Bank account holder for years now. I have noticed a huge SCAM to charge overdraft fees. I bank online everyday, and have had funds shown to be "Available" for use. While out for the day, I used my debit card twice for two items totaling less than five dollars. As it turns out, the funds were NOT available, and I was hit with two consecutive 37 dollar charges for overdraft. I contacted the bank via email, and the response was received three business days later, basically stating that I should keep track of my available funds, when their system indicated that they were available. Needless to say, no reversal of the charges. It cost me 38.79 for a bottle of water, and 39.50 for a Gatorade. Best drinks I ever had. Thanks People's (for nothing). I am leaving People's now, and it's too bad for them. Investments paid off HUGE, and I'll do business elsewhere. Enjoy the 74 dollars in OD fees. You'll get no more of my money, do to lousy CSR service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ThisBankhatessmall's Profile Image

Reviewed by ThisBankhatessmall

Aug 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Mickey Mouse Staff

I've had a small business account for four years with no problems. Then I get a letter in the mail that the balance has been raised from 500 to one thousand. went to the branch and a very young and rude kid said if I did not like it I could close the account. I did and went to the mt. Vernon branch. they confirmed that the account was closed but I could open a new one. I did . A few months later I get a letter from bank HQ saying the act is still open. Mt. Vernon Bank says acct is open. new Rochelle bank says the acct is closed.

with so much confusion. I opened the second account because it was closed. Then they took $20.00 when I closed the account. I closed both accounts and bank elsewhere. can you trust a bank that operates in a supermarket? Thank goodness I had a backup account with a real bank. I found the staff at both branches clueless and regret giving them my trust and money.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TristanMcDonough's Profile Image

Reviewed by TristanMcDonough

Jun 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

And the award for worst bank ever created goes to...

People's United Bank!

If you want to open an account with the worst bank ever, look no further! Unnecessary fees, unstable online banking are just a few problems with this bank. Funds are there one day and gone the next.

Heed my warning and avoid this bank at all costs. They will bleed you dry of all your money. Please, do not make a mistake and open an account with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

fedupinfarifieldco's Profile Image

Reviewed by fedupinfarifieldco

May 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Peoples Closing Accounts

My husband and I have been customers at Peoples for fifteen years. Just the other day we received notice that the bank was closing 2 accounts (one very active checking, one less active savings). No specific reasons were given other than a general "we're not making enough money off you" tone. We have never received any notice about insufficient activity, nor were we offered a substitute service to try and keep our business. Nothing. Just a "You're out in three weeks. Find another bank"

When I went to the local branch this morning (where the tellers know me and were very upset) they couldn't get any answers from corporate. So, I closed our 4 savings accounts (one joint, the others for our three kids). Once we have another bank lined up we close our personal and business checking accounts. We will close our safety deposit box. We will never, ever consider them for a mortgage, home equity line or any other banking service. I serve on two non profit boards and will make sure they are never considered as a banking option. My children - who we are trying to teach life lessons about money and banking - will never use them either. I used to be a big fan but now have nothing positive to say about them whatsoever.

In a highly competitive business such as banking, where everyone is tripping over themselves to get customers, this isn't how you treat the customers you have. Banking is a service industry that is built on customer relations. Customers are entrusting banks with their money. How can you trust a bank that treats customers like that?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mariaf's Profile Image

Reviewed by mariaf

May 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I went there last Friday 05/16/2014. I'm your customer over 15 years -- I have two business accounts and one personal.

Very disappointed at the manager of the branch [Redacted]. She is so far away from management position -- so unprofessional and so unhelpful!

When I walked in there she was talking to her employee, laughing and for sure that was not peoples bank related conversation, no one was interested -- no greeting! No customers there -- only me for the very first time (I was passing by).

No pleasureful place to be there at all. The manager was keeping me there for over 45 min faking that she trying to help. No wonder why there was no customers there. For the 45 min I was there, no one walked in, not one!

For the first time being in People's Bank branch, I felt very bad about the service specially the managers. She is the worst person I have ever met at a People's Bank branches.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

EmeraldRain76's Profile Image

Reviewed by EmeraldRain76

Dec 16th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Extremely Bad

My husband and I opened an account at the Canal Street branch in Brattleboro, VT. I should have listened to my bad gut feelings when we were sitting there with the woman and just walked out. My employer sent out a flyer for the bank's Workforce Checking account promotion with our pay-stubs. You get $100 for opening a new account with the bank. What you get is a great big headache! They call out of the blue today to tell my husband they are closing our account and mailing us a check for the money we deposited when we opened the account. It's been less than a week since we opened the account. We haven't even done a single transaction yet! They printed a direct deposit slip that we sent to the payroll department. Now in a couple of days there will be a check direct deposited into an account that no longer exists. Either the bank will try to keep the money or it will get bounced back to the payroll company and we will have to wait another 2 weeks until payroll is done again for them to mail a check to our house. This bank is run by a bunch of people who have a lot to learn about people skills, customer service and common decency.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pam57's Profile Image

Reviewed by pam57

Oct 22nd 2013

1 out of 5 marks

If Your Looking To Get Charged A Fee For Everything You Do, Pick Peoples United!

I have been a customer of danvers savings bank since 1986 & in all that time i have never bounced a check or been charged a fee for anything. Then along comes peoples united and it seems that every month i'm charged for something. 1st i get charged for an overdraft. I called to find out how this can be since i transferred cash from my savings to my checking online just before doing my online checking. The C.S. woman tells me that it's because they process the credits before the debits daily. Are you serious? The next month i made a mistake and sent an online check to my mortgage company when it should have gone to my credit card. Mortgage company was wonderful (citimortgage) they say "no problem, we will just send it back to your checking account". Yuh, no problem, except i was charged an $18 fee by peoples united to receive money back into my account!! Now today, today is the last straw. I came across a danvers savings bank money order that i had never deposited. Looked it over & see no expiration date on it so i go to my local branch & deposit it. Now 3 days later i see on my account that they took the deposit & charged me a $13 fee! I called the bank to find out why. She tells me the money order was expired. I said "there's no expiration date on it? " she tells me it doesn't matter. I asked her why the teller didn't say this when i was depositing it. She said she couldn't speak for him. I asked her who gets the $50 then, the bank? Her response to me "you do, i'm sending you back the check" i attempted to try & explain to this idiot on the phone that i'm just getting a piece of paper in the mail & that the person who gave it to me went to the bank & gave them $50 cash for the piece of worthless paper she is sending me back in the mail. So i again ask her if the bank just gets to pocket the money? After explaining this 3 times to her i think she finally got it because she finally said ohhh, i guess so. At that point i hung up & started looking for

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gio's Profile Image

Reviewed by gio

Aug 6th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Poor

Over 2 month ago, I recently opened an account at the Brentwood, NY branch during the $100 reward promotion for any new account and never receive my reward. I've contacted them several time and each time they give me a different excuse.

Customer service is very poor and they clearly don't value their customer. I closed my account and will not recommend banking with People's United Bank to anyone!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JessicaGalvez's Profile Image

Reviewed by JessicaGalvez

Jul 13th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

So Upset

Used the passbook account when I got my first job and it worked out but I was going to school and People's isn't really convenient for me. My dad took out all but $50 and asked if there would be a charge for maintenance, the service rep said no, my money would be there when i went back for it. This morning I got a letter saying I owed the bank $4.70 and if i didn't pay I would get charged overdraft. We called and asked how that could be and they said "oh you didn't have enough to pay for last month's maintenance, there's no money left in your account". They had been taking out $5 for letting the account sit below $250 every month for the past year. At the branch, the best the customer service agent could get out of the manager, who didn't even bother to leave her office, was the last 2 months service charge and no fee to close the account, for a whopping total of $10. Wrote a letter to the regional manager telling him how disgusted I am that for my family to have so much money invested in that bank I was treated with so little integrity; my parents are moving all the money that they can elsewhere. You can't spot a teenager $40?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review