B MyBankTracker Rating

Peoples United Bank Customer Reviews

(48 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 3
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 4
1 Star 40

The Most Helpful Peoples United Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Pschindler Aug 6, 2016

Happy Customer

Love this branch, will go out of my way to come to this one even if I pass others on the way. Best staff ever here.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By lindsayball Mar 22, 2016

Peoples Bank Customer service

My card numbers have now been stolen two times in less than a year from Peoples' Bank. Both times, customer service has been less than helpful. They make the customer jump through hoop after hoop. In addition, it takes 10 business days to get a new card. When I asked if they could rush a new one, both the representative and the manager told me I would have to pay for me new card. I would highly recommend banking with a different bank... one that puts their customers first.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Peoples United Bank Reviews

  • P
    Reviewed By Pschindler Aug 6, 2016

    Happy Customer

    Love this branch, will go out of my way to come to this one even if I pass others on the way. Best staff ever here.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Libby Jul 14, 2016

    Have a home loan

    We are very responsible and always have made extra payments to pay our loan off early. Well when I called to get help from them to see why my flood Ins. doubled. Everyone I talked to said you are right that shouldn't have have jumped that high. But no one grab the ball and wanted to help me. They sent me from department to department a day long . And the lady that handles escrow , mrs TII Swisher told me if I had anymore problems to give her a call back . so I did and of course she did not call me back. After being a loyal customer never late on payment and paying extra payment . You think they would try to get to the bottom of my problem. All's I can say is BEWARE of this company !!!!!!!!!! After they get your loan you are on your own !!!!! I will never use them again for anything . Very bad company to keep passing the buck to other departments ! And not willing to help resolve issue you are having. So I will no longer be a customer and im take my loan out of there hands . Shame on them all for passing the buck. I hope you heed my warning , and think twice before getting a home loan with them . Sorry they more caring about there customers . Shameful

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DLP Jul 11, 2016

    One Star is Too Many

    People's United bank will find any way possible to charge an overdraft fee. They never find it to be in their error. I had my final straw with them today with the third overdraft this year for a technicality. I am done. There are other games out there which are more transparent about their policies.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lindsayball Mar 22, 2016

    Peoples Bank Customer service

    My card numbers have now been stolen two times in less than a year from Peoples' Bank. Both times, customer service has been less than helpful. They make the customer jump through hoop after hoop. In addition, it takes 10 business days to get a new card. When I asked if they could rush a new one, both the representative and the manager told me I would have to pay for me new card. I would highly recommend banking with a different bank... one that puts their customers first.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jeasot Feb 22, 2016

    Disputing Charges

    This is the worst bank to deal with if you are unfortunate enough to be a victim of fraud. They're stuck in the dark ages when it comes for filing a dispute. You need to obtain a claim number and then download forms and submit them. Then they send you a letter via snail mail letting you know that they will make a determination in 90 days. It's been 60 days already for me so I guess they take every bit of the 90.
    I noticed the fraud myself right away went to the local branch but they did not cancel my card. I had to go back the next day and again request they cancel the card as unauthorized charges were still coming through.
    I am canceling this account and use only my Chase account. They alert me of fraud before I have a chance to see it and they return and money immediately.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Appalling Jan 6, 2016

    IRS Rule??

    I do have an account at this bank for years.
    I entered inside the bank and asked the young teller to change ONE $100 bill - into (5) $20's.
    The bank teller asked if I had an account?
    I said, "Yes". She proceeded to look it up.
    I asked, "I need to have an account to get smaller denominations for one large bill"??? (It was the fancy, new style bill, with the strip and halogram).
    The teller told me, "Yes, it's a rule, an IRS rule".
    I said, "you can't be serious!?? To change ONE larger demonization into (5) $20's, I need an account at this bank"?
    The bank teller said, "Yes. People would go around to banks changing money".
    I said, "but it's ONLY ONE bill! Not several or many, which I desire to change out"!
    Evidently, it doesn't matter....
    So, if YOU are ever out of town and need to break a $50 or $100 into smaller bills, because many small vendors, who don't accept anything larger than a $20 (or credit cards, such as our local movie theater, where I was going!), apparently, ....without an account!, your money is worthless and you can't exchange it for smaller denominations at People's United Bank.
    'No movie for you'! NEXT!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Ajenisch26 Dec 30, 2015

    This bank sucks

    This bank only wants to make money. They have alot of fine print. They charge 37$ for over draft fees and charge them all the time for the stupidest little reasons and things don't go through when they should, if you don't keep up with your check book every single little thing you use your debit card for than this is not the bank for you. They also allow your debit card to work after there is no longer money in your account, and they then charge you 37$ for every single transaction after the fact, days later even if you make you account positive in the mean time. They staff is extremely rude when things aren't in their favor. Been with them 2 years and have had so many issues, I finally give up. Credit unions are where its at, and they build your credit more than a bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Annalise Dec 15, 2015

    WORSE BANK EVER

    Firstly, I've had this issue with them and have attempted to get help on several occasions. I've gotten no where and the messages I have been sent have been disrespectful and not at all what you would consider customer service.
    Issue is that I have incurred $111 worth of overdraft fees for checks that cleared after a deposit was posted to my account. One overdraft fee took place 2 days after the fact! 2 days! One person attempted to tell me that it just looks like that but really it went in a different way! Really!!!? If that is the case then why doesn't it reflect that?!!! Your statement should look the same as what truly took place. Not something that you should just shrug your shoulders at and say okay take my money!!!
    Whats worse why they had screwed up my account they throw me further in the hole by putting in a account service charge. A charge that is supposed to help my small business! Which it never has, because I had to pay an additional charge to actual see the report. The whole bank is nothing but a fancy scam. Truly hate People's United Bank and wouldn't recommend them to my worse enemy!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Lizziebee14 Dec 15, 2015

    Hidden Fees Unwilling to help

    They are horrible with tagging fees on for what they claim is to help you. But instead it is just money in their pockets. Their computer system seems to be made so that is pushs checks through before deposits in order to occur a bounce check fee. Then when you wish to discuss it they are unhelpful!! Worse bank around if your looking for an account for small business!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By unhappy02151 Nov 13, 2015

    Tenant/Landlord Security Deposit Savings Account Sent To State as Dormant Account

    We are very upset that Peoples United Bank Sent a Tenant/Landlord Security Deposit Savings Account to the State as Dormant. There were no notifications, either by U.S. Mail nor on my online message ability. This account was closed on 10/21/15 and I was given an 800 number to call. The State told me that it is or would take MONTHS, perhaps several, to recoup the Security Deposit.
    We have owned property for decades and this has never happened with any other bank. The Lease expires at the end of December and these monies will need to come out of our pocket, plus there was a penalty of approx. $50.00, so our net amount the State would send back would be minus the penalty charged.

    We are demanding that Peoples United Bank replace the monies sent to the State.

    We do have several accounts with Peoples United and this will cause us to end our relationship with this Bank.

    Respectfully,

    RRR

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.