B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Sandy Spring Bank Customer Reviews

(10 Reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 Star 3
4 Star 2
3 Star 0
2 Star 1
1 Star 4

The Most Helpful Sandy Spring Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Theresa_h Sep 1, 2015

Friendly staff

I bank with the Gaithersburg branch. They are very nice and willing to go out of their way to help the customer.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Potomac m. Dec 21, 2013

Terrible. Accounting and record keeping is Intentionally dishonest & horrible at best.

Sandy Spring Bank increased the escrow for property taxes 3 times over the tax amount ($14,000 tax per year, raised escrow from $1100.00 per month to approx $3,000.00 per month)

We paid the same amount we have paid for 8 years, and immediately received a default warning letter (May 31) with approx 3,000 balance due by June 30th.

4 days later (June 3rd) received notice of default and loan acceleration with full payment of $992,000.00 due in full within 10 days (by June 13th).

(June 20) received a statement that balance of $7097.00 was due immediately. I called Lisa Porter at Sandy Spring Bank to inquire why I received 3 different amounts due in the last 20 days. Which amount was correct and why would the monthly amount of escrow increase from $1100.00 per month to approx $3000.00 when property tax has not changed.

She replied that the balance due was $7097.00 was due and there was an increase in escrow, but had no explanation of why. The loan was current at the time, and has been for several years.

2 hours she called me back and said she made a mistake -- the balance was $992,000.00

(June 30) received statement that balance was $10,040.00

(July 15) statement balance due $15,050.00

(August 1) balance in full due $1,000,010.00 and property was being put up for public auction

I requested a mediation hearing through state of MD, the mediation judge said there appeared to be a legitimate accounting dispute, and asked why the escrow amount increased approx 3 times the needed amount. SSB said the escrow was raised to high in error and needed to be reviewed and credited. An agreement was signed that they would make the corrections and withdrawal the public sale within 10 days.

On day 11 a large public auction sign was placed on my property and the SSB response was that they just installed a new lawyer trustee and the new lawyer made no such agreement
We had to file emergency bankruptcy to save our home, all because of an increase in escrow taxes that was an error.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Sandy Spring Bank Reviews

  • BE
    Reviewed By Babet E. Sep 3, 2015

    Terrible Staff specially the New Manager Lady who want to be the Vogue Beauty but not professional at all

    I had and have so bad experience at this branch
    Cash deposit to my account, they forgot to batch and I wait for days until I call them and realized..............they forgot to batch and my cash was not direct deposit in my account I wait 13 days......
    Or I deposit $ 350 cash and the cashier who left just after this mistake say I only deposit $ 300 and I know for sure it was $ 350 it was 7 X $ 50,00 Bills.............
    My favorite manager left after 5 years working there........now is a woman who is INCOMPATENT and discriminated senior citizens , and made some comments who are means and disrespectful.
    She think she know everything , and every day she want to be the image of a " Vogue Magazine " image and walk true the bank with an arrogant attitude. And I think and feel that she is dishonest and try to give you explanation even does you have the proof who are not right and dishonest , and want to make you feel bad like you are retarded or have Halsheimer.....
    Since one week when I have to go to this specific location I have heart pain and want to trow up, so much in stress I am is to telling you how bad is that branch.
    I will NOT ADVISE any Senior Citizen to have an account at this bank location
    Also you can come many time a day she is not at work she went to make some errand or at lunch some time I have to go back 3 or 4 times to finally been lucky to be able to catch her

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Theresa_h Sep 1, 2015

    Friendly staff

    I bank with the Gaithersburg branch. They are very nice and willing to go out of their way to help the customer.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sassymagee Mar 12, 2015

    Awesome branch and great employees!

    I have only lived here a short time and I have to say this is one of the best banks I have ever been to. I have a business and visit about twice a week and I have never been disappointed. They are friendly, courteous and really go out of their way to help you. It's just nice to know customer service does still exist!

    Is this review helpful?
  • NE
    Reviewed By Nick E. May 2, 2014

    Terrible for Small Business or Professionals

    Very difficult to deal with on loans. Glad to take your money but not willing to help when you need a good banker. Switched to Capital One and had a completely different experience. What a waste of 15 years.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Bueller? Mar 28, 2014

    Best Bank at City Walk in Sandy Springs --incompetent staff!

    The Best Bank at Hammond Drive-City Walk shopping center has an incompetent staff. Incorrect information is the norm. The staff is also unable to perform even the most basic functions such as ordering checks and debit cards. I had to go to another branch, twice, to get my checks and debit card ordered correctly.

    For months, when my account was new, I was told that my government paychecks would not clear and funds not be available for 5 days because my deposit was over $1500 (by $83). After months of being inconvenienced I was told by a teller that was only temporarily assigned to this branch that government checks are always exempt of this policy and that my check would be clear within 24 hours.

    I asked him why he was the only person on staff that knew this. He was obviously embarrassed and simply shrugged his shoulders.

    Even upper management is incompetent. After struggling with the personnel at this branch for months I called 2 regional managers a total of 4 times. No response.

    Best Bank? Umm, no. Slow-learner/unprofessional Bank -- yes.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Airpark Feb 13, 2014

    Excellent

    I deal with the Air Park branch and they are very easy to work with. Their online is a bit hard to get started with due to their security process,however; once you get started, it is easy.

    Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By internetwiz Feb 5, 2014

    Consistently excellent

    I'm not sure why the other reviewers have had such bad experiences. I've been banking with SSB ever since they acquired Mellon Bank more than 20 years ago. The staff at the Layhill branch have always gone out of their way to be helpful and courteous. They've ordered money for me, helped me reverse overdraft charges (from my son) and have generally been what you'd expect from a local bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • PM
    Reviewed By Potomac m. Dec 21, 2013

    Terrible. Accounting and record keeping is Intentionally dishonest & horrible at best.

    Sandy Spring Bank increased the escrow for property taxes 3 times over the tax amount ($14,000 tax per year, raised escrow from $1100.00 per month to approx $3,000.00 per month)

    We paid the same amount we have paid for 8 years, and immediately received a default warning letter (May 31) with approx 3,000 balance due by June 30th.

    4 days later (June 3rd) received notice of default and loan acceleration with full payment of $992,000.00 due in full within 10 days (by June 13th).

    (June 20) received a statement that balance of $7097.00 was due immediately. I called Lisa Porter at Sandy Spring Bank to inquire why I received 3 different amounts due in the last 20 days. Which amount was correct and why would the monthly amount of escrow increase from $1100.00 per month to approx $3000.00 when property tax has not changed.

    She replied that the balance due was $7097.00 was due and there was an increase in escrow, but had no explanation of why. The loan was current at the time, and has been for several years.

    2 hours she called me back and said she made a mistake -- the balance was $992,000.00

    (June 30) received statement that balance was $10,040.00

    (July 15) statement balance due $15,050.00

    (August 1) balance in full due $1,000,010.00 and property was being put up for public auction

    I requested a mediation hearing through state of MD, the mediation judge said there appeared to be a legitimate accounting dispute, and asked why the escrow amount increased approx 3 times the needed amount. SSB said the escrow was raised to high in error and needed to be reviewed and credited. An agreement was signed that they would make the corrections and withdrawal the public sale within 10 days.

    On day 11 a large public auction sign was placed on my property and the SSB response was that they just installed a new lawyer trustee and the new lawyer made no such agreement
    We had to file emergency bankruptcy to save our home, all because of an increase in escrow taxes that was an error.

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lukie May 24, 2013

    Frustrating!

    I did a refinance on May 3rd and was given a note. The note said my 1st payment was due on the 1st of June. I was given a loan number and told that I would hear from Sandy Spring Bank approx 7 days before the 1st pmt was due. Well I have not heard from them as of the 24th and when I called to find out why I gave them the loan number I was given. They could not find it and I was told it was incorrect. When I asked for the correct number I was told that it couldn't be given out over the phone. This was after I had given my social security number, address, mother's maiden name, and birth date. I then said text or mail the number to me because I do not want to make a payment to an account number that is incorrect (especially the first payment). The response was "I'll make a request for it to be mailed to you" This is a bank that I am trying to make a payment to and I'm getting red tape after being given a wrong account number at settlement. Today is the 24th of May (21 days after settlement and I have not heard one word from Sandy Spring Bank). It was the same thing in obtaining the loan. I would rush to fill out forms and they would sit on them for weeks and when I would hear from them it was "these must be returned within 48 hrs" I certainly would not give them a B for efficiency.

    Is this review helpful?
  • JB
    Reviewed By JT B. May 1, 2010

    Excellent daily; Weak mortgages

    Found daily banking experiences excellent. Folks at Urbana branch were always friendly and helpful. No, repeat NO, charges on daily banking activities; even got interest on checking accounts (small but much better than fees).

    Regarding mortgages, weak experience. Bought a townhouse last year for investment purposes. Talked with SS about the mortgage. They wanted a larger down payment and a larger interest rate. Found they would not budge on those inordinate values compared with other banks. Naturally, I got the mortgage from another bank. Since I do not establish a new mortgage often, this negative aspect is only a small portion of the overall, in my opinion.

    cordially..................................jtb

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.