B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Santander Bank Customer Reviews

(196 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 13
4 Star 5
3 Star 2
2 Star 19
1 Star 157

The Most Helpful Santander Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

Best Experience With A Bank So Far!

I've only had my accounts for about six months. Two people had worked on opening them for me. I had been lucky enough to get in on the Extra 20 Checking and 20K requirement for the Premier Checking which came with some delightful perks of its own. There were only a couple of days left to take advantage of the offers. They worked together as a team, and got me the best deals possible, even making terrific suggestions to protect my savings from fraud.

One of the initial employees made a mistake, and neglected to link the Extra 20 Checking to the Extra 20 Savings account, which was quickly corrected upon my asking about the issue with a third employee. The funds I was supposed to be receiving from the bank appeared in the proper account the next day.

Every time I ask about anything, even one recent unusual request, I am cheerfully accommodated. I would recommend anyone in my area running - to open an account there!

I find it interesting that a lot of the negative reviews I have read are given to the bank so far over human error and electronic system issues, or that reviewer's own errors and/or laziness, like you can reset a ATM PIN at the machine immediately, as long as you didn't lose your card. Their charges for international service are clearly displayed online. Every business you go to has new and uneducated employees; and the laws these days that govern banking means a new or old manager practically needs to be an attorney.

Maybe we consumers need to educate ourselves as well.

I recently had a very bad experience with HSBC bank, which probably would have NEVER been resolved locally. It was like those employees just couldn't be asked, and were blatantly lying to me about the most simple of issues - like telling me they couldn't help me to even make an appointment to speak to someone that could help me, since they couldn't and no one was ever available that could speak to me AND help me.

I finally called their 800 number, they contacted the branch, and all my issues were resolved that day. It is very tempting to buzz on over and give HSBC a scathing review but I wont. I don't think its fair to admonish that entire corporation over the failings of one branch.

I would suggest with questions on any bank or issue, look at the bank's website, and/or call their 800 numbers if you find their local employees cant help you sufficiently.

So far, I LOVE Santander!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By gocreditunion Nov 7, 2013

Is it any coincidence that "Satan" can be spelled from the name of this bank?

I am a business customer of Santander USA. I was recently locked out of my account for reasons I couldn't understand, for days. Not simple to resolve since there is no 'log in help' button that gives you instantaneous options for resetting your password. You have to call Business Customer Service within business hours. Over the course of three days, I placed 9 phone calls, made one branch visit and spent 4 hours of my time over a password reset issue. In the 9 calls, I would often be cut off--calling the business number I'd end up in the personal banking number due to 'overflow' and then would be cut off in the transfer back. Twice when I got through, I was promised that I would be sent emails that would allow me to reset. The emails never arrived-nor were they in 'spam'. On a third contact the customer service person admitted they had not been able to get emails through over multiple email clients, had major problems since a website update, and that my log in problem was a technical issue on their end that had nothing to do with my log in attempts. He then promised me a 'special' email that would reflect his escalation of my problem to the tech sector. Again, jack sprat arrived.

I should add that I am generally polite patient and understanding and it is a rare experience for me to alienate customer service staff. However, I lost it on the third day/fourth live contact when once again I was promised an email and denied contact with a supervisor after I explained I had been down that road before and needed resolution now. I told the rep I considered this to be a material breach of my bank contract since I did not have reasonable access to my money. Those are the magic words: material breach! Magically an email allowing me to reset my password appeared 10 minutes later.

It is a password reset people. Not rocket science. I will be changing my bank at the first opportunity.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Santander Bank Reviews

  • K
    Reviewed By Kathy_d13 Jul 18, 2016

    Worse bank ever!!!!!

    This is by far the worse bank ever! They don't follow regular bank rules, seem to make there own rules compared to other banks i.e. ( Bank of America , Wells Fargo , and Chase)
    They take forever releasing your funds but are quick to take money from your account. Customer Service Reps are horrible. I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE oh and HATE this bank!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By Cuture Jul 8, 2016

    The bank is horrible !!!! Please never do business

    Santander bank came to my business offers me money increase business. Thought the be good idea, the guy is Ruben give you all lies. I borrowed to buy equipment everything when well, going 2 year doing business they came to business judgment to my business freeze my account the Santander bank are evil. I regret borrow money from them .DONT do business you will regret it.!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jenn720 Jul 7, 2016

    Poor customer service and untrustworthy employees and policies

    I have been an account holder at this bank for more than 10 years and I have had nothing but terrible experiences. The only reason I have remained a customer this long is because my husband was an account holder when we met and I was a member at a credit union that I worked for that was out of state. Once I left my position to return to school it was an easy transition to consolidate everything into this account. As my husband and I have direct deposit and maintain our account without incident, I have had limited interaction with the staff and policies. Unfortunately, the interaction that I have experienced has been greatly disappointing and has finally led me to close my accounts. As a former credit union and bank employee (not for Santander), the policies Santander employs are not customer friendly and do not establish or facilitate a feeling of customer appreciation. They put 2 day holds on bank checks from other banks (which are supposed to be considered as good as cash), to say their customer service within the branches is slow is an understatement at best, and most recently they cashed a check from our account that was written 4 years ago citing that on "page 12" of their policy they are allowed to do that if it is deposited through an ATM even though checks dated past one year (or in some cases 6 months) are considered "stale" and should no longer be honored. Additionally, they could not even state whether or not the check was deposited through the ATM or with a teller, just that "if" it was their policy states that it is acceptable. Since it seems they are not able to confirm whether the money they accept at their ATMs is valid before they accept it and they will not reverse these transactions if they are not valid I'm considering depositing some Monopoly money into my account through the ATM before I close it to see whether that transaction would be reversible! I am completely disgusted with how dishonorable this bank is!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By luanndavis Jun 16, 2016

    Terrible mistake doing business with this company

    My husband and I refinanced an existing auto loan with Santander. I am an older business professional. In all of my years owning vehicles I have thankfully never encountered anything like this.

    They refused to take our payments. We couldn't get a straight answer out of anyone. While we are trying to figure out why they won't allow us to make payments and no we were NOT behind on payments, we were notified we had been charged off to Bad Debt!!!

    This is a vehicle we bought new and had paid on for almost four years. We hired an attorney as the only reason we were late on payments was because of their refusal to accept our money. They claimed we were 180 past due. We provided proof that was not true. It WAS not true. We learned during court proceedings that drug out for months due to their under handed tactics, the company had never filed a lien against the title of our vehicle. We thought "excellent" justice will be done. Sadly, no.

    Their lies about us being 180 days past due were discarded. They were allowed to file the lien against our title AND we were not allowed to bring our account current or refinance our truck. Our decision to move our truck to them cost us our truck.

    You can throw any stones you want, but the bottom line is, we are not deadbeats, we were not behind and justice was not served. We were court ordered to turn over our vehicle to them. My advise, don't finance with them unless you want to give your vehicle away.

    Absolutely heartbreaking and unbelievable.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By wlacroix Jun 4, 2016

    The branch in Raymond NH is not there anymore. Has been gone for quite a while.

    This is a waste of time as the branch has been shut down for many months now. I'm talking about the Raymond NH branch.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By karen_ohare May 29, 2016

    Personal bankers are very under qualified

    I had a terrible experience with a personal banker at the Warminster PA branch Santander. I own a business and was looking to open an account that best fits my needs and I was directed to a personal banker named Tatyana. She had a difficult time even comprehending the needs of my business account and just kept repeating herself about a promotional account they were offering that came with a $100 beginning balance. I kindly explained to her that I could care less about the promotional account and was looking for something more conducive to a business. She then started going over the terms of other types of account, and it was then that I realized she was half illiterate!! She couldn't read or pronounce half of the terms and conditions that she was trying to convey to me. Trying to make light of the situation, I jokingly smiled and asked her where she got her degree. She told me she didn't have one, and that she had no experience in banking prior to being hired a few months ago!! The woman I was about to trust with handling my finances and investments had no more education than a high school diploma and no more understanding of finance than a golden retriever. I politely declined opening an account there and left. I did a little research and learned that hiring under qualified personal bankers is Santander's MO because they can pay them half of what they pay qualified financial assistants. This is unacceptable and deceitful in my opinion, because as a stakeholder you just assume that your bank and bankers would be qualified to handle your money. Not the case with Santander.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By teganbl1 May 12, 2016

    worse customer service ever!

    I've never had such poor service - When my account was opened (a large money market) at the Avon branch I was promised I would never be charged fees if I kept a certain balance (I have 10x the mininum) now out of the blue I'm getting hit up for fees, which they refuse to waive! Worse yet, the rep who opened my account told me they would waive fees if I was charged (as a good customer with high account balances) now when I'm hit up for fees again the "so called" branch manager is put on the phone, to say she was rude, wasn't interested in listening and unprofessional doesn't give justice to how rudely she handled my call. Do yourself a favor, don't go there, what is promised (a slightly higher rate than others) isn't worth the hassle. I've had great customer service at the Avon Peoples Bank and other local banks - where I've held accounts for 15+ years, still have other accounts there. Wish I had checked out the incredily poor reviews by others before I went down to Santander - here's one more.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Snowridge225 May 9, 2016

    Horrific loan Process-Santander

    Extremely dissatisfied with process and Santander closing out application with neither approving or denying a home equity loan. I will start off by stating that I have been a loyal customer for years here. The problems that occurred were at the loan processing center and not at my local branch. Every week for 9 weeks I would go into my local branch, sit with the bank manager and he would pull up what new information the underwriter on the loan was requesting. I would get the information for the branch to scan in. After complete frustration on both our parts, I received a letter from the loan processing that my application was being denied for incomplete documents and no communication. I called directly to loan processing and they had informed me they were missing various documents. I assured them I watched the branch manager scan them and send them to them directly repeatedly for weeks while I was in the branch. The icing on the cake, was when they told me they had no record of communication between the branch manager and the file for 3 weeks. I had sat there on at least 3 occasions in the branch with the manager on the phone to loan processing where in addition he had sent folloup communication email to them. They claim they have no record. The district manager is now overseeing the application and the requested documents have been resent, probably for the 3rd time. We are 9 weeks in from when I first applied for the loan. If time was of the essence and I needed this money quickly I would have been in trouble. Find another lender , the process here is beyond frustrating, the documents don't get to where they need to be.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By ReyKing May 7, 2016

    Mortgage Loan officer left my family and I in the streets!!

    I am a first time home buyer and I knew what I was getting my self into with all the stress that comes with closing cost ect.. But I never expected that the loan officer would put me through hell and be so rude! This guy literally told me lies from the beggining about how much everytbing would cost me on closing day. HE WAS 3,000 DOLLARS OFF!! Like how does this happen with all your smartphones calculators and bank tools??? 3 days before the day to get my keys he gave me wrong numbers which had to be done all over and took a week to finish by my lawyer afterwards. I was already with My Uhaul truck and ready to give up my keys from my current place to move out to my new house. But no I was left in the streets for a week because of Wilfred Edwards from Santander in South Boston. Thanks buddy you were no good and very unprofessional. Left voicemals no call backs, after leaving me in the streets no calls to apologize or anything. Like how rude can you be, I was left out with my wife and 3 year old daughter for a whole week!!!
    Anyways I am kinda sorry I took this loan from this bank but the issue is mainly with the loan officer who screwed me up!

    Never again,

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Wanderlustlover May 6, 2016

    SANTANDER IS A PIECE OF GARBAGE JUICE COVERED IN STINKY HORRIBLE CHEESE

    Whatever you do, don't get a Santander UK account. Trust me, I have gone through the pain of having this account and really want to prevent anyone else from having to go through this hassle. They don't care at all about their customers, they have archaic security policies, there is no logic behind the banking process whatsoever. Another user wrote that you can't write "Santander" without Satan--very true indeed. If the devil were ever to walk this earth, it's spirit is definitely embodied by Santander. I live very internationally, so am constantly changing my address--in the past year, I've lived in four countries across three continents. It's been fine with all of my other bank accounts as they usually send me information via email, mobile app, other technologically up-to-date methods. Santander UK only sends banking info and security details via mail, which is absolutely archaic given that most millennial consumers have probably never written a letter in their life. I moved to the US from the UK and Santander promised to send my security details to the updated US address--as you may have guessed, the mail failed to ever arrive. I called into their customer service roughly 20 times, and the only thing the customer service told me to do was to FLY to the UK to close down my account. I've just paid $1,500 for a round trip ticket from the US to UK just to close down this account. Some of the customer service staff are quite nice, but still, they can't do anything about the horrible policies at Santander UK. Whatever you do, don't get this bank account. Go somewhere else. Unless you like a bank that is a smellier than a sock stuffed with expired cheese, dirtier than garbage juice, more evil than a goat with no soul, and dumber than a sack of potatoes, than this bank is the one for you!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.