B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Santander Bank Customer Reviews

(186 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 13
4 Star 5
3 Star 2
2 Star 19
1 Star 147

The Most Helpful Santander Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

Best Experience With A Bank So Far!

I've only had my accounts for about six months. Two people had worked on opening them for me. I had been lucky enough to get in on the Extra 20 Checking and 20K requirement for the Premier Checking which came with some delightful perks of its own. There were only a couple of days left to take advantage of the offers. They worked together as a team, and got me the best deals possible, even making terrific suggestions to protect my savings from fraud.

One of the initial employees made a mistake, and neglected to link the Extra 20 Checking to the Extra 20 Savings account, which was quickly corrected upon my asking about the issue with a third employee. The funds I was supposed to be receiving from the bank appeared in the proper account the next day.

Every time I ask about anything, even one recent unusual request, I am cheerfully accommodated. I would recommend anyone in my area running - to open an account there!

I find it interesting that a lot of the negative reviews I have read are given to the bank so far over human error and electronic system issues, or that reviewer's own errors and/or laziness, like you can reset a ATM PIN at the machine immediately, as long as you didn't lose your card. Their charges for international service are clearly displayed online. Every business you go to has new and uneducated employees; and the laws these days that govern banking means a new or old manager practically needs to be an attorney.

Maybe we consumers need to educate ourselves as well.

I recently had a very bad experience with HSBC bank, which probably would have NEVER been resolved locally. It was like those employees just couldn't be asked, and were blatantly lying to me about the most simple of issues - like telling me they couldn't help me to even make an appointment to speak to someone that could help me, since they couldn't and no one was ever available that could speak to me AND help me.

I finally called their 800 number, they contacted the branch, and all my issues were resolved that day. It is very tempting to buzz on over and give HSBC a scathing review but I wont. I don't think its fair to admonish that entire corporation over the failings of one branch.

I would suggest with questions on any bank or issue, look at the bank's website, and/or call their 800 numbers if you find their local employees cant help you sufficiently.

So far, I LOVE Santander!

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By gocreditunion Nov 7, 2013

Is it any coincidence that "Satan" can be spelled from the name of this bank?

I am a business customer of Santander USA. I was recently locked out of my account for reasons I couldn't understand, for days. Not simple to resolve since there is no 'log in help' button that gives you instantaneous options for resetting your password. You have to call Business Customer Service within business hours. Over the course of three days, I placed 9 phone calls, made one branch visit and spent 4 hours of my time over a password reset issue. In the 9 calls, I would often be cut off--calling the business number I'd end up in the personal banking number due to 'overflow' and then would be cut off in the transfer back. Twice when I got through, I was promised that I would be sent emails that would allow me to reset. The emails never arrived-nor were they in 'spam'. On a third contact the customer service person admitted they had not been able to get emails through over multiple email clients, had major problems since a website update, and that my log in problem was a technical issue on their end that had nothing to do with my log in attempts. He then promised me a 'special' email that would reflect his escalation of my problem to the tech sector. Again, jack sprat arrived.

I should add that I am generally polite patient and understanding and it is a rare experience for me to alienate customer service staff. However, I lost it on the third day/fourth live contact when once again I was promised an email and denied contact with a supervisor after I explained I had been down that road before and needed resolution now. I told the rep I considered this to be a material breach of my bank contract since I did not have reasonable access to my money. Those are the magic words: material breach! Magically an email allowing me to reset my password appeared 10 minutes later.

It is a password reset people. Not rocket science. I will be changing my bank at the first opportunity.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Santander Bank Reviews

  • T
    Reviewed By Truthruth Apr 29, 2016

    I fuckng hate this bank

    They do not accurately show when you are spending your money in the available balance. Yesterday I had balance of 772.71. 501 was available to me. I made a deposit for 531.31 which on my online account showed fully cleared when I check today. I had 143. Deducted out from a Amazon purchase yesterday and about another 250 in pending transactions. That should have been deducted from my AVAILABLE balance. This morning I wake up and there is 33$ in my account. When I call they claim only 200 of the check deposit is available and there are about 300$ worth of pending tansactions.
    Ok how does that add to 33$ available. No real answers. They show that I made debit (cash) withdrawals on days I did not do so. I made a 3 $ purchase for water in Nevada 2 days ago. Now back in New York on my statement it shows it was yesterday while I was home. I believe they do this to keep inaccurate records of when you actually swipe your card to when the merchant actually recieves that payment. It should show my available debit balance deduct that purchAse immeadlitly after the purchase and reflect immeadlitly in my available balance and show so on the date I swiped my card. That's not proper record keeping. This is not the first time I have little to no money in my account than suddenly when several small purchases stop pending I again have 1000 dollars in my account. What is this kind of banking. !!!!!!! It's a debit checking account. They do this to confused people and make it seem like you spent money after the date u didn when you didn't have money. That's not right. They do this to get fees from you. Complaint after complaint on this bank.
    What they did to a friend who has this bank is horrible. Placed a no reason hold on her entire account. Went in to speak to a branch manager bc when u call they say it's the branch that did it. Every time she showed up the manager was conviently in a meeting. Till she raised hell and had to become very direct and confrontational and threatens to make a complaint to the regional director did she come out. Looking a mess unprofessional and acted like it was her money that she was releasing. Was very passive and didn't give a real reason as to why it was on hold. My friend asked why is it still being held you said a week ago it was a security reason and it would be available when I spoke to you on the phone. She just sat there and typed in the computer. No apology. No sorry to waste your time. Nothing. Was quietly rude and behaved as she had to get up from her talk shows to do some ones els job when the regular teller told us she didn't have permissions to help us. Only she did. Then she came out and also said,I'm actually not the manager manager. Wtf does that even mean???? Horrible bank. If you have to have this bank only use it for a savings not for transactions and check your balance daily. I also had a issue with mobile deposit. My check deposited twice bc a error with the application on my phone. I called and they said it would reconcile and not to worry about it. Only one check will show available once cleared. Then a few days later I was charged 10$ for a double deposit, had to go into a bank where they too were discussed that happened. This bank is a mess and shifty. Fuck this bank

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jreviewer Apr 29, 2016

    Awful service, stay away from Santandar bank!

    This is the worst bank I have ever dealt with in my life. They don't show any respect to a client and basically made a fuss about $35, while I had put more than 10K in this awful bank over three months. It was just unbelievable how they treat a client. It is just NOT one branch! They have horrible service throughout and do NOT value any relationship with a client!
    I closed all the account with this bank, after putting up their rudeness mutiple times.
    Stay away! they don't even derserve your penny!

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

    Best Experience With A Bank So Far!

    I've only had my accounts for about six months. Two people had worked on opening them for me. I had been lucky enough to get in on the Extra 20 Checking and 20K requirement for the Premier Checking which came with some delightful perks of its own. There were only a couple of days left to take advantage of the offers. They worked together as a team, and got me the best deals possible, even making terrific suggestions to protect my savings from fraud.

    One of the initial employees made a mistake, and neglected to link the Extra 20 Checking to the Extra 20 Savings account, which was quickly corrected upon my asking about the issue with a third employee. The funds I was supposed to be receiving from the bank appeared in the proper account the next day.

    Every time I ask about anything, even one recent unusual request, I am cheerfully accommodated. I would recommend anyone in my area running - to open an account there!

    I find it interesting that a lot of the negative reviews I have read are given to the bank so far over human error and electronic system issues, or that reviewer's own errors and/or laziness, like you can reset a ATM PIN at the machine immediately, as long as you didn't lose your card. Their charges for international service are clearly displayed online. Every business you go to has new and uneducated employees; and the laws these days that govern banking means a new or old manager practically needs to be an attorney.

    Maybe we consumers need to educate ourselves as well.

    I recently had a very bad experience with HSBC bank, which probably would have NEVER been resolved locally. It was like those employees just couldn't be asked, and were blatantly lying to me about the most simple of issues - like telling me they couldn't help me to even make an appointment to speak to someone that could help me, since they couldn't and no one was ever available that could speak to me AND help me.

    I finally called their 800 number, they contacted the branch, and all my issues were resolved that day. It is very tempting to buzz on over and give HSBC a scathing review but I wont. I don't think its fair to admonish that entire corporation over the failings of one branch.

    I would suggest with questions on any bank or issue, look at the bank's website, and/or call their 800 numbers if you find their local employees cant help you sufficiently.

    So far, I LOVE Santander!

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dontusesantander Apr 16, 2016

    Warning** Do not choose Santander Bank as your bank**

    At first, everything about Santander seemed to be legit and what one would ask for in having a checking/savings account with them. I opened my account a month ago and will be closing it this week as quickly as possible and here is why:
    They will put random holds on deposited checks and holds on your account for deposited cash and say that it is a fraud protection measure, without contacting the customer. A 2 day business hold on a check which is normal, turns into a 7 day hold and they are not obligated to advise the customer. As far as the cash deposits made, they can place a hold on your account -and I quote the rep in the fraud dept.- "because it was made all in one lump sum". What kind of bank is this? How small is this bank? I would never have this problem with my current bank, and thank God I haven't closed it yet, because I am forever done with Santander. I do not feel my money is secure at such a small bank with shady tactics for holding onto, or not verifying deposited funds and above all else I was told there are no supervisors that I can talk to at all today when I called. No other bank operates like this and I cannot close my account fast enough. Do not chance opening an account here, even with the lure of deposits into your account after so many days. This is a ploy. Phone customer service is also terrible-the reps sound unprofessional on almost every call, even chewing in your ear and using slang. Unbelievable. I am done with Santander bank! I wish I could rate it it no stars.

    Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By ebattinelli Apr 6, 2016

    random credit scoring

    I have a strong feeling they run fully random Credit Scoring (or use random agencies/scoring systems to do so) upon bank account on-line application

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Steviep414 Apr 5, 2016

    Perhaps it's time...

    ...for all to consider, perhaps, a class action suit. I opened my business in 1993 with a business account at Shadow Lawn Savings, a classy and eager to please bank. Shadow Lawn was swallowed up by Sovereign and, while not Shadow Lawn, Sovereign at least gave courteous and responsible service to its business customers. Along came the monster from Madrid and what an awakening. My small, yet successful, company over the previous few years has encountered financial issues, but has proven to rebound on each crisis remarkably. As recent as today we encountered yet another monetary crisis and after examining our account I noted $420.00 in unavailable funds and overdraft fees. Of course, in the past, I would simply take a deep swallow and eat those fees; thinking this is the price of doing business in these horrid economic times. Today I chose to contact Santander Customer Service seeking a courtesy of a reversal of the newest fees. Not being in the mood to listen to the BS I new I would likely encounter I was prepared to let them know how I felt if they gave me the answer I expected all along. I was told the fees are designed as punishment and don't account for overhead/service that is provided on the customer's behalf and notwithstanding my previous 23 years with the bank, they would do nothing by way of refund or reversal.

    I recognize that my circumstance is both my problem and not unique; I am entitled to nothing; and any courtesy afforded by this or any other bank is within their sound discretion. I do not share privity with Santander and am not necessarily bound by their terms of service--indeed, as I explained to the young man on the phone, I have, over the last 23 years, swallowed in excess of $2000.00 in fees.

    I would be happy to hear from those other business owners who have found themselves in a similar situation. From my soul I am certain that this BANK cares nothing for your money, your success, your family or your life.

    Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By Unsatisfiedd Mar 28, 2016

    Worst bank ever!

    If I could give zero stars that would be more appropriate. The customer service representatives have given me nothing but a hassle when questioning my transactions or even depositing money. I was chosen to be a rep payee for my mother who has Alzheimer's and cannot believe the horrible customer service! I cancelled this account at this horrible bank and opened another account with much better service. They are all trolls!

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By CIGIS Mar 24, 2016

    WORST BRANCH IN LANCASTER COUNTY

    MY WIFE HAS HAD WHAT IS NOW OUR JOINT CHECKING ACCOUNT FOR OVER 30 YEARS AND WE USED TO BANK AT THIS BRANCH ALL THE TIME WHEN IT WAS SOVEREIGN BANK.
    EVER SINCE SANTANDER TOOK OVER AND FIRED ALL THE EMPLOYEES THAT WERE THERE FOR YEARS WE WILL DRIVE MILES OUT OF OUR WAY IF NECESSARY TO KEEP FROM GOING INTO THIS BRANCH.
    THE TELLERS AT THIS BRANCH ARE SNOTTY AND I MEAN LOOK DOWN THEIR NOSES AT PEOPLE, THEY WOULD DROWN IN THE RAIN WITHOUT AN UMBRELLA SNOBS. DEALING WITH THESE PEOPLE IS HORRIBLE.
    WE HAVE OUR HOME MORTGAGE WITH SANTANDER WHICH WAS ANOTHER HORROR STORY IN ITSELF WHICH IS ONE REASON WE HAVE STAYED WITH THIS BANK.
    NOW THEY CUT THEIR HOURS SO THERE IS NO WAY FOR WORKING PEOPLE TO DO ANY BANKING UNLESS THEY USE THE ATM WHICH HAS NO DEPOSIT ENVELOPES AVAILABLE FOR CUSTOMERS TO USE. THIS IS RIDICULOUS !

    WE OWN A SECOND HAND STORE AND USE THIS ACCOUNT TO PAY OUR BILLS WHICH MEANS WE MOVE THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS THROUGH SANTANDER BANK EVERY WEEK. WE NEEDED TO MAKE A DEPOSIT TODAY AND COULDN'T MAKE IT TO THE BANK BY 4:00, IMAGINE THAT FOR SOMEONE WHO WORKS FOR A LIVING ........ AND ONCE AGAIN, NO ENVELOPES AT THE ATM.

    OH WELL, WE WILL CONTINUE TO GO TO THE OTHER BRANCHES. THE WESTERN CORNERS BRANCH OFF OF COLUMBIA AVENUE ON INDUSTRY DRIVE TO DO OUR BANKING. THE TELLERS AND MANAGERS AT THAT BRANCH ARE AWESOME. BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER FOLLOWED PRETTY EVENLY BY THE NEW HOLLAND BRANCH WHERE WE GO SOMETIMES AS WELL.

    THE BRANCH ON LINCOLN HIGHWAY AND THE BRANCH IN THE CITY WE DON'T USE VERY OFTEN BUT HAVE NOTHING BAD TO SAY ABOUT THOSE BRANCHES EITHER.

    JUST THIS BRANCH. WE WILL FOREVER DRIVE OUT OF OUR WAY TO KEEP FROM BEING TREATED LIKE WE ARE WHEN WE ARE UNFORTUNATE ENOUGH TO GO HERE.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rbsthree Mar 11, 2016

    Excellent

    The bank rep was great and helped me move my money into a better account. Really can't complain about much. Customer service is not great like most banks - but, hey that's how that can afford to pay 0.01% interest :-)

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By meaisland55 Mar 10, 2016

    Thieves?

    Santander has not returned the proceeds of my 60 month $100,000 CD which matured on February 7, 2016. January 21 I mailed a certified letter(that they received January 25) requesting that they remit the proceeds to me,not renew it. February 1 I called and confirmed they received my letter. February 18 I had not received my money and called them: they said "wait 2 weeks after Feb 7."March 7 I called and was told the CD was "closed on Feb 27"(not Feb 7!!!) and it would take 2 weeks for me to receive the money. Later on March 7 I called again and "Eugene" said he would "look it up" but just hung up on me after a few minutes on hold. My third call on March 7 was to "supervisor Laura Brayton," who refused to give any information unless she could "access your[my] consumer record including credit ratings"! The bank has been holding on to over $100,000 of mine wihtout my permission and should remit at once! CRIMINAL.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.