B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Santander Bank Customer Reviews

(193 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 13
4 Star 5
3 Star 2
2 Star 19
1 Star 154

The Most Helpful Santander Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

Best Experience With A Bank So Far!

I've only had my accounts for about six months. Two people had worked on opening them for me. I had been lucky enough to get in on the Extra 20 Checking and 20K requirement for the Premier Checking which came with some delightful perks of its own. There were only a couple of days left to take advantage of the offers. They worked together as a team, and got me the best deals possible, even making terrific suggestions to protect my savings from fraud.

One of the initial employees made a mistake, and neglected to link the Extra 20 Checking to the Extra 20 Savings account, which was quickly corrected upon my asking about the issue with a third employee. The funds I was supposed to be receiving from the bank appeared in the proper account the next day.

Every time I ask about anything, even one recent unusual request, I am cheerfully accommodated. I would recommend anyone in my area running - to open an account there!

I find it interesting that a lot of the negative reviews I have read are given to the bank so far over human error and electronic system issues, or that reviewer's own errors and/or laziness, like you can reset a ATM PIN at the machine immediately, as long as you didn't lose your card. Their charges for international service are clearly displayed online. Every business you go to has new and uneducated employees; and the laws these days that govern banking means a new or old manager practically needs to be an attorney.

Maybe we consumers need to educate ourselves as well.

I recently had a very bad experience with HSBC bank, which probably would have NEVER been resolved locally. It was like those employees just couldn't be asked, and were blatantly lying to me about the most simple of issues - like telling me they couldn't help me to even make an appointment to speak to someone that could help me, since they couldn't and no one was ever available that could speak to me AND help me.

I finally called their 800 number, they contacted the branch, and all my issues were resolved that day. It is very tempting to buzz on over and give HSBC a scathing review but I wont. I don't think its fair to admonish that entire corporation over the failings of one branch.

I would suggest with questions on any bank or issue, look at the bank's website, and/or call their 800 numbers if you find their local employees cant help you sufficiently.

So far, I LOVE Santander!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By gocreditunion Nov 7, 2013

Is it any coincidence that "Satan" can be spelled from the name of this bank?

I am a business customer of Santander USA. I was recently locked out of my account for reasons I couldn't understand, for days. Not simple to resolve since there is no 'log in help' button that gives you instantaneous options for resetting your password. You have to call Business Customer Service within business hours. Over the course of three days, I placed 9 phone calls, made one branch visit and spent 4 hours of my time over a password reset issue. In the 9 calls, I would often be cut off--calling the business number I'd end up in the personal banking number due to 'overflow' and then would be cut off in the transfer back. Twice when I got through, I was promised that I would be sent emails that would allow me to reset. The emails never arrived-nor were they in 'spam'. On a third contact the customer service person admitted they had not been able to get emails through over multiple email clients, had major problems since a website update, and that my log in problem was a technical issue on their end that had nothing to do with my log in attempts. He then promised me a 'special' email that would reflect his escalation of my problem to the tech sector. Again, jack sprat arrived.

I should add that I am generally polite patient and understanding and it is a rare experience for me to alienate customer service staff. However, I lost it on the third day/fourth live contact when once again I was promised an email and denied contact with a supervisor after I explained I had been down that road before and needed resolution now. I told the rep I considered this to be a material breach of my bank contract since I did not have reasonable access to my money. Those are the magic words: material breach! Magically an email allowing me to reset my password appeared 10 minutes later.

It is a password reset people. Not rocket science. I will be changing my bank at the first opportunity.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Santander Bank Reviews

  • L
    Reviewed By luanndavis Jun 16, 2016

    Terrible mistake doing business with this company

    My husband and I refinanced an existing auto loan with Santander. I am an older business professional. In all of my years owning vehicles I have thankfully never encountered anything like this.

    They refused to take our payments. We couldn't get a straight answer out of anyone. While we are trying to figure out why they won't allow us to make payments and no we were NOT behind on payments, we were notified we had been charged off to Bad Debt!!!

    This is a vehicle we bought new and had paid on for almost four years. We hired an attorney as the only reason we were late on payments was because of their refusal to accept our money. They claimed we were 180 past due. We provided proof that was not true. It WAS not true. We learned during court proceedings that drug out for months due to their under handed tactics, the company had never filed a lien against the title of our vehicle. We thought "excellent" justice will be done. Sadly, no.

    Their lies about us being 180 days past due were discarded. They were allowed to file the lien against our title AND we were not allowed to bring our account current or refinance our truck. Our decision to move our truck to them cost us our truck.

    You can throw any stones you want, but the bottom line is, we are not deadbeats, we were not behind and justice was not served. We were court ordered to turn over our vehicle to them. My advise, don't finance with them unless you want to give your vehicle away.

    Absolutely heartbreaking and unbelievable.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By wlacroix Jun 4, 2016

    The branch in Raymond NH is not there anymore. Has been gone for quite a while.

    This is a waste of time as the branch has been shut down for many months now. I'm talking about the Raymond NH branch.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By karen_ohare May 29, 2016

    Personal bankers are very under qualified

    I had a terrible experience with a personal banker at the Warminster PA branch Santander. I own a business and was looking to open an account that best fits my needs and I was directed to a personal banker named Tatyana. She had a difficult time even comprehending the needs of my business account and just kept repeating herself about a promotional account they were offering that came with a $100 beginning balance. I kindly explained to her that I could care less about the promotional account and was looking for something more conducive to a business. She then started going over the terms of other types of account, and it was then that I realized she was half illiterate!! She couldn't read or pronounce half of the terms and conditions that she was trying to convey to me. Trying to make light of the situation, I jokingly smiled and asked her where she got her degree. She told me she didn't have one, and that she had no experience in banking prior to being hired a few months ago!! The woman I was about to trust with handling my finances and investments had no more education than a high school diploma and no more understanding of finance than a golden retriever. I politely declined opening an account there and left. I did a little research and learned that hiring under qualified personal bankers is Santander's MO because they can pay them half of what they pay qualified financial assistants. This is unacceptable and deceitful in my opinion, because as a stakeholder you just assume that your bank and bankers would be qualified to handle your money. Not the case with Santander.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By teganbl1 May 12, 2016

    worse customer service ever!

    I've never had such poor service - When my account was opened (a large money market) at the Avon branch I was promised I would never be charged fees if I kept a certain balance (I have 10x the mininum) now out of the blue I'm getting hit up for fees, which they refuse to waive! Worse yet, the rep who opened my account told me they would waive fees if I was charged (as a good customer with high account balances) now when I'm hit up for fees again the "so called" branch manager is put on the phone, to say she was rude, wasn't interested in listening and unprofessional doesn't give justice to how rudely she handled my call. Do yourself a favor, don't go there, what is promised (a slightly higher rate than others) isn't worth the hassle. I've had great customer service at the Avon Peoples Bank and other local banks - where I've held accounts for 15+ years, still have other accounts there. Wish I had checked out the incredily poor reviews by others before I went down to Santander - here's one more.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Snowridge225 May 9, 2016

    Horrific loan Process-Santander

    Extremely dissatisfied with process and Santander closing out application with neither approving or denying a home equity loan. I will start off by stating that I have been a loyal customer for years here. The problems that occurred were at the loan processing center and not at my local branch. Every week for 9 weeks I would go into my local branch, sit with the bank manager and he would pull up what new information the underwriter on the loan was requesting. I would get the information for the branch to scan in. After complete frustration on both our parts, I received a letter from the loan processing that my application was being denied for incomplete documents and no communication. I called directly to loan processing and they had informed me they were missing various documents. I assured them I watched the branch manager scan them and send them to them directly repeatedly for weeks while I was in the branch. The icing on the cake, was when they told me they had no record of communication between the branch manager and the file for 3 weeks. I had sat there on at least 3 occasions in the branch with the manager on the phone to loan processing where in addition he had sent folloup communication email to them. They claim they have no record. The district manager is now overseeing the application and the requested documents have been resent, probably for the 3rd time. We are 9 weeks in from when I first applied for the loan. If time was of the essence and I needed this money quickly I would have been in trouble. Find another lender , the process here is beyond frustrating, the documents don't get to where they need to be.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By ReyKing May 7, 2016

    Mortgage Loan officer left my family and I in the streets!!

    I am a first time home buyer and I knew what I was getting my self into with all the stress that comes with closing cost ect.. But I never expected that the loan officer would put me through hell and be so rude! This guy literally told me lies from the beggining about how much everytbing would cost me on closing day. HE WAS 3,000 DOLLARS OFF!! Like how does this happen with all your smartphones calculators and bank tools??? 3 days before the day to get my keys he gave me wrong numbers which had to be done all over and took a week to finish by my lawyer afterwards. I was already with My Uhaul truck and ready to give up my keys from my current place to move out to my new house. But no I was left in the streets for a week because of Wilfred Edwards from Santander in South Boston. Thanks buddy you were no good and very unprofessional. Left voicemals no call backs, after leaving me in the streets no calls to apologize or anything. Like how rude can you be, I was left out with my wife and 3 year old daughter for a whole week!!!
    Anyways I am kinda sorry I took this loan from this bank but the issue is mainly with the loan officer who screwed me up!

    Never again,

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Wanderlustlover May 6, 2016

    SANTANDER IS A PIECE OF GARBAGE JUICE COVERED IN STINKY HORRIBLE CHEESE

    Whatever you do, don't get a Santander UK account. Trust me, I have gone through the pain of having this account and really want to prevent anyone else from having to go through this hassle. They don't care at all about their customers, they have archaic security policies, there is no logic behind the banking process whatsoever. Another user wrote that you can't write "Santander" without Satan--very true indeed. If the devil were ever to walk this earth, it's spirit is definitely embodied by Santander. I live very internationally, so am constantly changing my address--in the past year, I've lived in four countries across three continents. It's been fine with all of my other bank accounts as they usually send me information via email, mobile app, other technologically up-to-date methods. Santander UK only sends banking info and security details via mail, which is absolutely archaic given that most millennial consumers have probably never written a letter in their life. I moved to the US from the UK and Santander promised to send my security details to the updated US address--as you may have guessed, the mail failed to ever arrive. I called into their customer service roughly 20 times, and the only thing the customer service told me to do was to FLY to the UK to close down my account. I've just paid $1,500 for a round trip ticket from the US to UK just to close down this account. Some of the customer service staff are quite nice, but still, they can't do anything about the horrible policies at Santander UK. Whatever you do, don't get this bank account. Go somewhere else. Unless you like a bank that is a smellier than a sock stuffed with expired cheese, dirtier than garbage juice, more evil than a goat with no soul, and dumber than a sack of potatoes, than this bank is the one for you!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Truthruth Apr 29, 2016

    I fuckng hate this bank

    They do not accurately show when you are spending your money in the available balance. Yesterday I had balance of 772.71. 501 was available to me. I made a deposit for 531.31 which on my online account showed fully cleared when I check today. I had 143. Deducted out from a Amazon purchase yesterday and about another 250 in pending transactions. That should have been deducted from my AVAILABLE balance. This morning I wake up and there is 33$ in my account. When I call they claim only 200 of the check deposit is available and there are about 300$ worth of pending tansactions.
    Ok how does that add to 33$ available. No real answers. They show that I made debit (cash) withdrawals on days I did not do so. I made a 3 $ purchase for water in Nevada 2 days ago. Now back in New York on my statement it shows it was yesterday while I was home. I believe they do this to keep inaccurate records of when you actually swipe your card to when the merchant actually recieves that payment. It should show my available debit balance deduct that purchAse immeadlitly after the purchase and reflect immeadlitly in my available balance and show so on the date I swiped my card. That's not proper record keeping. This is not the first time I have little to no money in my account than suddenly when several small purchases stop pending I again have 1000 dollars in my account. What is this kind of banking. !!!!!!! It's a debit checking account. They do this to confused people and make it seem like you spent money after the date u didn when you didn't have money. That's not right. They do this to get fees from you. Complaint after complaint on this bank.
    What they did to a friend who has this bank is horrible. Placed a no reason hold on her entire account. Went in to speak to a branch manager bc when u call they say it's the branch that did it. Every time she showed up the manager was conviently in a meeting. Till she raised hell and had to become very direct and confrontational and threatens to make a complaint to the regional director did she come out. Looking a mess unprofessional and acted like it was her money that she was releasing. Was very passive and didn't give a real reason as to why it was on hold. My friend asked why is it still being held you said a week ago it was a security reason and it would be available when I spoke to you on the phone. She just sat there and typed in the computer. No apology. No sorry to waste your time. Nothing. Was quietly rude and behaved as she had to get up from her talk shows to do some ones els job when the regular teller told us she didn't have permissions to help us. Only she did. Then she came out and also said,I'm actually not the manager manager. Wtf does that even mean???? Horrible bank. If you have to have this bank only use it for a savings not for transactions and check your balance daily. I also had a issue with mobile deposit. My check deposited twice bc a error with the application on my phone. I called and they said it would reconcile and not to worry about it. Only one check will show available once cleared. Then a few days later I was charged 10$ for a double deposit, had to go into a bank where they too were discussed that happened. This bank is a mess and shifty. Fuck this bank

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jreviewer Apr 29, 2016

    Awful service, stay away from Santandar bank!

    This is the worst bank I have ever dealt with in my life. They don't show any respect to a client and basically made a fuss about $35, while I had put more than 10K in this awful bank over three months. It was just unbelievable how they treat a client. It is just NOT one branch! They have horrible service throughout and do NOT value any relationship with a client!
    I closed all the account with this bank, after putting up their rudeness mutiple times.
    Stay away! they don't even derserve your penny!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

    Best Experience With A Bank So Far!

    I've only had my accounts for about six months. Two people had worked on opening them for me. I had been lucky enough to get in on the Extra 20 Checking and 20K requirement for the Premier Checking which came with some delightful perks of its own. There were only a couple of days left to take advantage of the offers. They worked together as a team, and got me the best deals possible, even making terrific suggestions to protect my savings from fraud.

    One of the initial employees made a mistake, and neglected to link the Extra 20 Checking to the Extra 20 Savings account, which was quickly corrected upon my asking about the issue with a third employee. The funds I was supposed to be receiving from the bank appeared in the proper account the next day.

    Every time I ask about anything, even one recent unusual request, I am cheerfully accommodated. I would recommend anyone in my area running - to open an account there!

    I find it interesting that a lot of the negative reviews I have read are given to the bank so far over human error and electronic system issues, or that reviewer's own errors and/or laziness, like you can reset a ATM PIN at the machine immediately, as long as you didn't lose your card. Their charges for international service are clearly displayed online. Every business you go to has new and uneducated employees; and the laws these days that govern banking means a new or old manager practically needs to be an attorney.

    Maybe we consumers need to educate ourselves as well.

    I recently had a very bad experience with HSBC bank, which probably would have NEVER been resolved locally. It was like those employees just couldn't be asked, and were blatantly lying to me about the most simple of issues - like telling me they couldn't help me to even make an appointment to speak to someone that could help me, since they couldn't and no one was ever available that could speak to me AND help me.

    I finally called their 800 number, they contacted the branch, and all my issues were resolved that day. It is very tempting to buzz on over and give HSBC a scathing review but I wont. I don't think its fair to admonish that entire corporation over the failings of one branch.

    I would suggest with questions on any bank or issue, look at the bank's website, and/or call their 800 numbers if you find their local employees cant help you sufficiently.

    So far, I LOVE Santander!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.