Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

724
Branch Locations

Santander Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Citizens Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
M&T Bank
Add
Compare Banks

Santander Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Santander Bank Latest Customer Reviews

1218jmm's Profile Image

Reviewed by 1218jmm

May 3rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

I love this bank!

They have always been great to me and my family. I have checking, savings, line of credit and a mortgage. Never a problem. On all my accounts, I pay no fees whatsoever. I wouldn't have it any other way. I love my branch and the tellers and management in my branch (225 Atwood Ave, Cranston, RI) always treat me great and have a nice smile for me! They also have a great bill-pay service on line. I pay about 15 bills on line, they generate the checks the day I want them paid and the payments go out promptly and it is very easy to use. The entire on-line banking experience is excellent as well. Complete breakdown of my mortgage payments, telling me when taxes are paid, etc. I love Santander!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 4

GeorgeRojas's Profile Image

Reviewed by GeorgeRojas

Mar 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best checking account around! Pays you $20 a month to bank with them! Yes, they pay you!

Best people and best checking account anywhere!

extra 20 checking pays you $20 a month!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

akiba37's Profile Image

Reviewed by akiba37

Jan 10th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best banking experience I have ever had in my long life...i.e. competence, multi-cultural skills, positive IPR skill, +

My comfort level in doing business with the Santander Bank in Windsor, CT, at the Windsor Shopping Center continually increases. The reasons for this are as follows:

1. I have never seen so many professionals in one operation, who know what they are doing, and do it in a cordial, relaxed manner! It is obvious to me that this team of people, and it is a team, the members of which interact very smoothly with each other in a consistently cordial manner, are at the top of their "game!" They are secure in their respective roles, because they know what they are doing, and they know that they know!

Another outstanding characteristic of the dynamics at this bank is this! They are "crisis oriented" and by that I mean that when you bring them what you perceive to be a crisis, they handle it very well, without getting rattled and do show respect for the person in crisis, even when the customer is rattled!

Lastly, I am always impressed by the fact that multiple solutions are always presented for your crisis and not always ones that will profit the bank only! Suffice it to say that, yes, I am a very satisfied customer/depositer/patron, however, you want to label me, that LOVES doing business with this bank, and, yes, I would definitely refer family, friends and associates to this branch of Santander Bank, located in the Windsor Shopping Center, Windsor Av, Windsor, CT! That branch is destined for continued success, long term!

All the best!

Joyce Christie-Taylor

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 2

SovBank17's Profile Image

Reviewed by SovBank17

Aug 6th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service in Hopatcong!

I have been with this bank for over 30 years, through a few changes in bank name, and have always been happy with my treatment. We have used a variety of their services, including loans, CDs, checking and saving. I used to live in town and knew most of the tellers and managers. When we moved away 9 years ago my husband and I kept our accounts with the bank since they had a branch at our new location in another state. It was a seamless transition, and I could always call Hopatcong to get great response to my questions. A few years ago I made a big mistake in our checking account that could have resulted in costly charges. A quick call to Hopatcong and a talk with one of the managers straightened out the problem immediately. I was grateful for that kind of service, and decided to never leave this great bank. They might have changed their name and logo, but it's still the same friendly faces/voices at this location.

Although I stay with this bank for their wonderful customer service, I also LOVE, LOVE, LOVE their Bill Pay and Extra 20 services.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Kaleigh D's Profile Image

Reviewed by Kaleigh D

Dec 31st 2010

5 out of 5 marks

very forgiving with fees offers great account&overdraft protection hrs arent great but convenient atms

when i had some changes in my circumstances the bank made it extremely easy to switch the type of my account. it only took me one visit and less than 10 min to switch to an account more suitable to my current needs. no hassle check reorders and twice i have needed a replacement card and recieved it in my mailbox within 3 days. the staff is usually very courteous and helpful. they dont have great hours, most of their branches closing around 3-4 pm but they do have a lot of atms, including in almost every cvs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Barbara_Westrich's Profile Image

Reviewed by Barbara_Westrich

Jul 30th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Customer Service At This Branch Is Very Good.

I've been with bank over 20 years. Never had a problem.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

diane345's Profile Image

Reviewed by diane345

Dec 18th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

MichaelLaffan's Profile Image

Reviewed by MichaelLaffan

Dec 29th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

Kimberley Mestas did an outstanding job on my last two visits to the branch and is both professional and very helpful.

In the first transaction, I was moving money from my equity line for a deposit for my daughter to purchase real estate and the second transaction was similar for closing costs and included having a bank check issued.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Simon b's Profile Image

Reviewed by Simon b

Oct 27th 2009

4 out of 5 marks

Wow! What a great bank!

It is good experience with Sovereign Bank..

atmsecurity.com

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 3

Jeanne R's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jeanne R

Aug 28th 2008

4 out of 5 marks

Good bank

I have been a costumer for a long time and haven't had any trouble with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 4

Jaclyn O's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jaclyn O

Jul 16th 2008

4 out of 5 marks

Very good bank! (checking, at least)

i've been a sovereign checking customer for 7 years and have always had great service from them. Only problem is that they don't have many ATMs outside of the Northeast.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 3

virgogirl08yahooco's Profile Image

Reviewed by virgogirl08yahooco

Aug 6th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Great Service

I have been with another Bank for many years now and just recently changed and now I am part of the Santander Bank. Reason? Scott! He is Great! He took the time to explained everything and he was so pantience and even after I left the bank, I had many other questions and the same service I received in person, I received over the phone. I can't say the same about other Santarder Branches. I am happy that I was treated with respect and the professionalism of the staff in that branch is great! I like how you are welcomed from the moment you enter the door, and that no matter if you are dress down or dress with a suit!!! you are treated right! Many of us in life have different jobs, different life styles and many necessities and different background...I appreciate that we all are treated the same way! I opened 6 account within a week! I hope it all continues the same way it started. As for anyone there, stop by and as for Scott Rosenthal, I recommend his service!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

jaye's Profile Image

Reviewed by jaye

May 29th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

Have Had No Problems With Sovereign In 7 Years Of Banking With Them

I opened accounts with sovereign in Massachusetts after or around the time they became affiliated with (part of? ) santander (a huge multinational bank if i understand correctly). I have had no problems with my accounts or with branches/tellers. I actually have had pretty decent experiences with customer service (telephone). I love my accounts' online bill pay. You can make anyone, including any individual, a biller - so that means you can have the bank send a printed check via USPS to your mom, yourself (i was traveling), or some person who doesn't use Paypal. You get the idea. But maybe all banks have great online banking features now. All the bad reviews here remind me of dealing with bank of america and other banks in the past. Seems that all the huge banks offer crappy experiences in one way or another!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Dave's Profile Image

Reviewed by Dave

Feb 28th 2010

3 out of 5 marks

Not up to snuff

Very simply, I think Sovereign Bank is falling behind the times... quickly. They were purchased by Banco Santander over a year ago with promises to improve their services and offerings, yet I see nothing improved. Of the larger banks out there, they still do not have any mobile services for Blackberrys or iPhones.

When I was living in Massachusetts, there were Sovereign Banks everywhere - and since I am from NJ, it was natural to just stick with them while I lived there. However, for some odd reason, Sovereign New England and Sovereign Mid-Atlantic are not the same bank and I was only able to conduct banking through ATMs. How stupid is that? Does BofA or TD designate regions and section their customers off that way? Nope.

Lastly, I read about a girl who had a problem with an Unavailable Funds fee - I had the same problem. When I checked my balance online, my available balance was $700, so I moved monies around accordingly. I then got consecutive $35 fees for UNAVAILABLE FUNDS. After expressing my aggravation and mildly threatening to take my business elsewhere, the Fees were refunded, magically - so that's what I recommend.

Nice people at Sovereign, and I've been with them since I was a little boy... but I think it's time to switch to a bank that is a little more with the times.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

melissa's Profile Image

Reviewed by melissa

Feb 1st 2010

3 out of 5 marks

Stay Away From This Bank

Some soveriegn banks are good but my experience was horrible. When i put cash in my account it didnt show up till 5 dyas later, my checks werent processed till 5 days later and oh yeah they never updated my online checking or phone account. They refused to take off overdraft fees when places actually admitted to making the mistake of charging me twice. They also have the worst workers i have ever met. Their rude, cocky, and refuse to help you out. Everytime i walk in there theuir always on break and theres maybe 1 person working. A woman actually refused to put in my check and tried to keep my signed check! They told me i didnt even go to the bank yet i have checks, an account number, and have gone to that same one for 6 months. They are a terrible bank and anyone who has them be careful and do not go to the sovereign bank on lehigh st.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Myself's Profile Image

Reviewed by Myself

Apr 2nd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Bad!

I went to the bank today in a hurry, only needed 2 rolls of quarters, did my banking outside. There was a small line, but customers were taking a long time at the teller's window. I asked the manager if he could get me the quarters, he said no, he was too busy chewing gum and checking his phone. A nice teller saw me with the $20 in hand and asked what I wanted, and in 2 seconds I had my quarters. I think the manager could have done that.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cliff's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cliff

Feb 1st 2013

3 out of 5 marks

Mediocre

The good: The managers at my branch (and there have been many over the past several years) are accessible, and have been quite helpful with special needs and resolving problems. Interest rates seem to be a bit better than the competition. Good ATM coverage with locations in many CVS drug stores.

The bad: Way too many problems with utterly routine operations. Sovereign seems to screw up the interest payment on my savings account every other month. Their "premier customer" call center has been of poor quality. They make up stuff when they don't know the answer, and nothing they say will happen actually does happen. On one occasion, the online statement function was down, so I called the call center and they helpfully offered to email the statements instead...and then charged me a hefty fee for the privilege which took multiple phone calls to reverse. I've given up calling them and just email the branch manager when something's wrong.

Also, online and mobile banking capabilities are extremely primitive. No funds transfers to other customers or banks. No current or projected account balances on bill payment pages. No remote deposit. No mobile site or app at all. Online statements work about half the time, yet I constantly get nag screens asking me to turn off paper statements. They are at least 2 years behind the competition in online/mobile banking.

I stick with Sovereign because they're the least objectionable alternative for the locations where I need ATM's and branches.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RealEstateMan's Profile Image

Reviewed by RealEstateMan

Jul 16th 2012

3 out of 5 marks

Unorganized And Expensive

They are forcing me to go elsewhere, as a result of fees, disorganization and a general lack of wanting my business. I should be a preferred customer with all of the transaction and money i have with them, but i get the feeling this bank is grabbing all they can and then they're going to sellout. It's time to bail, while the getting is good, do to them before they do it to you!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GeorgeTravers's Profile Image

Reviewed by GeorgeTravers

Dec 9th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

so so

Bank officer belittled my just having a free checking account with no savings account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

iceburn15's Profile Image

Reviewed by iceburn15

Jul 18th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

A Financial Institution Who's Only Flaw Is The Foreign Corporation That Bought Them Out.

I'd think that sovereign was probably decent prior to their acquisition by santander, but since it seems they've gone way downhill, and their friendly bankers have had watch it go up in smoke. I just recently opened up a student account -- i'm coming from chase. Santander is a gigantic spanish bank: since opening my account, i've had to wait days for information in the mail, some of which i never received -- my online account login.

I called -- i was instructed to enter in my pin. I entered the one they mailed, and was told it was incorrect -- i was locked out of my account. I was transferred to someone and told to go to the branch or wait a week plus to get my login in the mail -- something they should have all ready mailed out! They then told falsely me that there was a $100 minimum for my student savings account (an accident, probably) and that i should switch to this new account, a triple interest savings account. The fact that they tried to sell me something over the phone, as a bank, is unethical in my mind.

Now the people at the branch are great people! If it weren't for santander, i wouldn't be writing this review, but we had to wait on the phone for at least half an hour to get my login -- they needed to actually call their headquarters. The login we were given was wrong -- we had to call again, and we probably would have waited another thirty + minutes -- i politely left after ten. I called up again. Their mailing an extra one out just in case. I'm going to stay with them now that i've all ready joined? But leaving will be on my mind after my first semester. If it weren't for santander, sovereign would probably be the perfect bank!

But because this atrocious foreign corporation bought them out, i'd have some real reservations about recommending them to anyone else. If you're going to open an account, be cautious! They have a lot of fine print that they don't tell you, their support (while it is us-based) is slow and they're a pain to deal with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ed B's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ed B

Nov 4th 2010

2 out of 5 marks

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

I really hope not all Sovereign Bank Branches are like the one in Nahatan Road in Norwood, MA. Avoid it like a plague, if you can!!! Helping customers with their needs is such a huge burden for these representatives. They rush you, treat you like an idiot. They tell you one thing and do another. When you ask a question, they respond to you like you have no right to ask at all.

As a significant customer, the least thing they should do is treat you with respect. Forget that at this branch!!! Don't ever go there.

To the Executives/Regional Directors of Sovereign Bank in New England and or Massachusetts, note that your image and products are hugely discredited by staff like these. Do something about it!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

joanna's Profile Image

Reviewed by joanna

Aug 1st 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Treated very rudely over the phone

I called the local branch to kindly inquire if I had left my ATM card in the ATM. I was told that since it has been past 3 business days my card had been destroyed. When I politely asked why no one from the branch called to notify me that they had my ATM card before taking the liberty of destroying the card, I was treated very rudely and my question was dismissed without an explanation or acknowledgement of my disappointment. The gentleman took great defense to my suggestion. I was simply suggesting that it would have been a courtesy to first be notified instead destroying my card without any notice.

Now I have to take time out of my busy work schedule to go to a branch to request a new card in person. I have been a customer with Sovereign for over 15 years and this is the first time I left my ATM card in a machine. I am appalled by how I was treated as an inquiring customer. I will certainly not step foot in that local branch to request a new ATM card as I do not have faith in how I will be treated in person if this is the kind of treatment I received over the phone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

mrcancer's Profile Image

Reviewed by mrcancer

May 14th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

IMO Improper Maintenance Fee Triple Interest

The story is long so I'll talk of the last 2 problems.

Besides having problems with getting a debt card due to their own inability to update my address on several ocassions, there's a problem with the so called triple interest savings account.

2 years ago it was suggested I open this triple savings account so I did as it was explained there are no fees etc. However, shortly after I found it had a $5K max monthly withdraw limit. Since this would not work for me I transferred all funds out ASAP.

2 years later I'm told this $5K limit did not apply. I then was very direct and asked about fees etc and was told the only thing I needed to be aware of was to maintain a min. of $100 a month auto deposit.

With the new info in hand I transferred some funds in it. 3 days later I get wacked with a maintenance fee. A phone call drew the response of "I'll talk to the manager". A week passed and nothing was done so I sent them a letter. My letter drew a phone call but no actions!

In my 45 years of banking with several banks, the problems incurred in those 45 years with all other banks combined do NOT come close to what has been my issues with Santander the past few years.

Ironic but the few dollars that IMO was skimmed from my account is peanuts compared to what Santander could have had as I was considering transferring some investments to Santander. Thank God I didn't make that mistake.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

KailaS's Profile Image

Reviewed by KailaS

May 2nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Not Great

I was with Sovereign, certainly going down hill at the end, when Santander took over. I do not think Santander sweats the details. So many little issues have been problematic. For instance, I tried online to order checks; they never came. I then had to order the checks twice--at the window with the help of a teller--before the checks finally came. I had a similar problem with turning down "overdraft" protection. How many times can I say, "No," "No. Thank you," and similar statements to someone on the phone?

The Sphere credit card, prompted initially at Santander, is laughable. I needed three calls and an online request before I could get an extra credit card for another user. Although I was promised the card in ten days, I had to wait for over three months. Only after my third call, did someome notice that there was a computer issue. Once Alex was involved, she called me back, told me the issue had been resolved, and I had the card in about a week.

A barrage of new tellers who do not know me, an array of new rules about how to fill out banking slips, and out of order ATMs on the weekend helped to fuel my annoyance. Maybe I just am becoming less tolerant of poor service.

Billpay seem to work well online and I like the Mobile App for my iPad. I also have always had polite folks on the other end of the phone, and just this week began noticing phone calls, greetings when I enter the bank, and even smiles when my banking transactions are finished. Perhaps training has finally kicked in.

I am suspicious of all of the "new" accounts that seem to change every six months, and I cannot get the Sphere Card automatic payments ever to be withdrawn properly from the Santander site. Santander should have hit the ground running when they officially took over. I think they are beginning to offer a little more service or maybe I am becoming immune to the issues. But a few individuals seem to be trying a little bit lately to make the transition better for customers. Finally.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

D_Harris's Profile Image

Reviewed by D_Harris

Nov 7th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Sovereign or is it Santander now?

I opened an account with the Staten Island savings bank because it was the closest bank to where I reside. The name of course is now Santander

I've had issues here and there but nothing really major like some of the stories I've read here.

It's a banks obsessive need to make money by sticking their hands in every possible transaction (or sometimes inaction) that really agitates me.

Due to an Ebay screw up (after forcing everyone to use their PayPal service) money was taken out of my account in March that made it overdrawn.

I didn't think this was possible because I had just put in a request for a new card, due to the fact that their ATM machines would "recognize" the existing one I had. (This of course has nothing to do with the frequent break-downs of their ATMs). But obviously Ebay could still access my account. (And my new card never arrived anyway).

Anyway, I found out about the over draw the next day and realized that Sovereign had already tacked on their $35 overdraft fee and not after 6 consecutive business days as they claim they do.

Being out of work and and trying not to become homeless after a denial of S.S.D. I couldn't pay the $66.22 total.

(Banks of course should by default not allow an account to be over drawn, but then of course they would make the millions they do on fees for things like that).

Anyway, I received a "Final Notice" in July that basically stated that Sovereign screwed me by reporting me to a credit bureau, but went on to state, "It is not too late to resolve this matter, if you act quickly".

Yeah, ok. I did manage to pay the over-drawn amount, which was $31.22, but not the $35 extortion fee.

I guess it is better anyway to have an account at a more common and available branch like Chase or Citibank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

family1231's Profile Image

Reviewed by family1231

Jul 2nd 2013

2 out of 5 marks

The teller is a thief

Horrible customer service! I won't come back to that branch again. I went to the bank to withdraw some money on Friday. I was be able to get in before they locked the door. The teller Kelly Booth stole $100 from me. I was trying to count the money inside the bank. She stopped me and called me for the ID again. Also, she was mad that she has to do her job again. She already did the closing when I asked for the cash. Then, I was being nice to them to leave the bank to count the money inside my car. It was not even two minutes when i realized that there is $100 short. I went back to the bank. The supervisor let me in and they recounted the money. $100 is just gone, and I cannot find it anywhere. She apologized to me and said to me "I am sorry, there might have $100 more in my cash draw " She just gets scared at that moment when I was back in. She did not give $100 back to me. Then I went to the Branch at Boston Turnpike of Shrewsbury, MA. Mr. Walter Mills helped me recount the money and he wrote the complain to the main office for me. I am still waiting for someone from Sovereign Bank to get back to me. Do not go to the bank at Lincoln st.Worcester, MA if you are going to withdraw the huge money from there. Remember her name [Redacted] , she is not honest person. She should not work at any bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rainman3211's Profile Image

Reviewed by rainman3211

Aug 3rd 2011

2 out of 5 marks

Since being aquired by Santander, this bank has gone down the tubes. Now searching for another bank to do business with.

Prior to being acquired by Santander, the bank always had a sufficient amount of tellers. This kept wait times to a minimum and kept tellers happy. Fees where reasonable to both account holders as well as non-account holders.

Since be acquired by Santander there are NEVER enough tellers. Example: today on the 3rd of the month, the day in which SSI checks were delivered, at 9:15am the bank had two tellers, one manning both the drive through and a station and the other a station. There was a line 7 people deep, no managers to be found. This is a regular occurrence especially at the beginning of the month as well as Thurs-Sat.

The bank has also imposed new fees. If I write a check to a contractor from my Sovereign/Santander account and they go to Sovereign/Santander to cash it, they are charged a $5.00 fee. My account, my money and the person I write the check to has to pay a fee. B.S.

I have seven accounts at Sovereign and am now working on getting them all moved.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jeffrey S's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jeffrey S

Feb 17th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

never had a problem at branch...just don't try to refi your mortgage

it's been over 3 Months and for the past 3 weeks I have had to jump through hoops...i got them all the info that they needed up front, still we may have to go for another rate extention...i think it is a way of screwing me out of $399...cost of application...just think if they do this 100 times, that's one hell of a profit for doing nothing...would not recommend this bank to someone I don't like.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kandyfadgmailcom's Profile Image

Reviewed by kandyfadgmailcom

Oct 15th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

I Hate This Bank

I have an auto loan through this bank and for months i have been sending in my monthly payments (on time) and additional payments through check that had "apply to principal" written all over it. I checked my account statement and found that they "accidentally" applied each of those payments as "regular payments" and took large amounts of intrest out of each. When i tried calling, i was left on hold for a long time and had been disconnected twice. Each time i called back, i had to explain my problem to a different person which was annoying. Just as i was about to ask my final question, i was disconnected a third time. I didnt have time to call again and go through the long automated service before speaking to a human, but i figured "they know who they're talking to. They have my number on file. She knows i was in the process of asking another question and how i am already annoyed by the fact that i was disconnected twice. Surely, she will call me back instead this time. "

wishful thinking, i suppose. No one called back! Some customer service. I can't wait to be done with this bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

hofclemens's Profile Image

Reviewed by hofclemens

Oct 3rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Terrible Service

Pushy, didn't explain new procedures well and belittled me

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Post a review