B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Simple Customer Reviews

(133 Reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 Star 48
4 Star 7
3 Star 10
2 Star 14
1 Star 54

The Most Helpful Simple Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By compSciSenior Nov 1, 2013

Enjoyable for the young adult

I am a Senior in an undergrad Computer Science program. Therefore, I am tech-y and young, kind of the key market for this bank.

The app is wonderful. My parents bank with a larger bank and they have a similar app, but I looked into it and it still reeked of old world trying to be 'hip. They took their current clunky online banking solution and painted it up to look 'hip', but it just was still terrible.

Simple's app is both beautiful, responsive and to the point. Whenever I had to bank mobile on my old bank account (which I still have and hate), the app was slow and I had to type in my full password, it took four or five clicks just to see my balance! With Simple, I open the app, punch in a four digit number (Not your PIN number obviously!) and it is there, bam. It took 10 seconds.

I haven't gotten to the best part! The goals! I love the goals. I am always telling myself "Oh, I need to save for this. No I can't, the money is for this." With Simple, you create a goal, set the amount and the time (or not if you just want a pot to transfer money into at will) and it will set that money aside. That money will still exist, but it will not be "Safe-to-Spend" and as a result, won't show on the app (which is one of my few complaints. The app doesn't show your 'real' avaliable balance, only your safe-to-spend)

Anyway. If you are looking for a clean and intuitive banking solution: try Simple. It may do what you need without overcomplicating things like many banks do.

The few things I do not like:
- Paying traditional bills is next-to-impossible. Yes, there is a 'Send Check' feature, but I am still weary about it.
- Occasionally, if you get gas, you will get a massive hold. Send them a message and they will fix it quite quickly.
- Some places are misclassified, not a big deal.

Fantastic customer service, fantastic app, everything makes sense, simple and doesn't over complicate their app and website with ads and other non-sense.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By mortramalt@gmail.com Oct 11, 2014

Significantly Degraded Experience Since Acquisition

I was an early simple adopter and loved it, and have used it as my primary checking account. But since they were acquired this year and have been transitioning their operations, i have had terrible problems with my account and the website that a bank should never have. My scheduled payments disappear or do not display (you never know which). My available balance is incorrectly reported.

A check for over $1,000 was returned by the post office and simple never notified me or credited the money back to my account (until i called them to ask what was up). Their customer service is good but without a reliable banking experience, sadly i have to leave it. Too bad because they still have the best online banking interface, although other banks like chase have begun to catch up.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Simple Reviews

  • R
    Reviewed By robinsonbybee Jan 26, 2016

    Not a happy camper.

    I would not recommend Simple Bank to anyone. In opening up a new account, I was able to verify an external account and transfer money from it into the new Simple account. However, when I balked at what I consider to be silly downstream hoops to jump through and asked to close the account, they cannot a) transfer the money back to the originating instituition, b) send a check to the address of record or c) anything else involving undoing what they allowed me to do without my having to jump through the previously mentioned hoops. My guess is that I'm not the only one out here with this affliction.

    Is this review helpful?
  • O
    Reviewed By oeg9qu Jan 16, 2016

    Average bank with untapped potential

    I've been a Simple customer for a few years now. When I first heard of Simple, everyone was talking about how Simple would revolutionize banking. I joined because I was fed up with Bank of America.

    Through the years, Simple has had some pretty bad upgrade rollouts. Multiple times where your balance wasn't correct, your deposit status was unknown, you couldn't withdraw money, or use your debit card.

    And honestly, I expected that because Simple was a startup. However, the main reason I'm disappointed is because despite all those interruptions, there hasn't been a banking revolution. Simple has no budgeting tools. A lone graph doesn't help you budget any better. Simple has no unique features. In fact, in some regards it's behind traditional banks. iPhone Pay? Chipped cards? We got those after the traditional banks. I'm still waiting for Android Pay. Many other features, like phone notifications for card transactions or instant payments, have already been picked up by the rest of the banks.

    So, if you want typical bank features, difficult cash transactions, low interest rates, and buggy apps, then sign up for Simple bank.

    Otherwise, you're no better off than with the old traditional banks.

    There is no revolution.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Antler Jan 15, 2016

    Dishonest and unable to perform simple tasks

    Twice I have made US mail deposits that never posted. On the first one, it took me 60 days to get it resolved, but it is still not fully resolved. I have to wait for the Post office to send me a money order now.. because the bank does not have anyone who knows how to retrieve mail and process checks. On the second one, I stayed after them to go to the PO box, process the checks and get them into the accounts. I told them that they are advertising that they can perform these services but they are not doing the service.

    Finally, after 10 business days, (not including the two Saturdays) I received an email that they received the deposit check. They told me that it was "under review." I told them I have no idea what is being reviewed, but the thing to do is get the check into my account, because that is the service they advertise. They did not respond by telling me what the review is about. They just said "I'll get back to you when I hear something". I do not understand what is being reviewed. They have my check that it took them 10 days to catch up with, but they refuse to put it into my account. This is lack of performance and breach of contract as far as I'm concerned. You wait 10 days before picking up the mail, and then you put it "under review"? Let's be clear here.. they are the ones that need to be under review at this point. They are awful at this gig.

    This has pretty much ruined my Holiday break. It's taken up a lot of time, it has been embarrassing, and these people try to make me feel like I am some kind of bad person because I expect to be treated with honesty and respect. They behave as though they are some kind of an authority in my life and think they do not have to live up to their word. They feel like they do not owe me any explanations for their lack of performance but that I need to sit down and be quiet and wait for them to decide to do their job.

    I think they like the million dollar clients they can rake to death, but act like working people are a liability they can't exploit enough.

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By Fzq42mV Jan 11, 2016

    Not Ready for Prime Time

    The callow support team says "cool" and the bank's notices occasionally end with "Wow," but I'm afraid that's the extent of Simple's uniqueness. I was a welcomed depositor -- several "wows" and too many "cools" to number -- until somehow I ran afoul of their criteria for a customer; I was never told the specific reason. The dismissive note said I had not honored the bank's terms of agreement. I tried to read the legal document and found it covered every contingency except nuclear war. The cause of my undoing must be in there somewhere, but I didn't find it. In my experience, Simple is a limited on-line bank (no check book; hidden fees; a debit but no credit card; arbitrary and opaque decision-making) with no special attributes. There is no available address for a Simple bank in Portland, OR. My hunch is the bank is really a small group of millennials meeting at the local Panera. Cool.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By CoriPhelps Jan 7, 2016

    Not a Technological Wonder

    Great Customer Service and I like the "no fees." However, there are just too many glitches for a resource I need to access regularly. I'm unable to access the simple.com website to check my account from my desktop and after a recent app upgrade, I'm unable to access my account via that route too. I can open www.simple.com itself, but clicking on Sign In gets me a Page Not Found. I can log into the app on my Android OS phone but immediately following entering my username and passphrase the app inexplicably quits with the message "Unfortunately, Simple has stopped." I've uninstalled and reinstalled the app a couple of times with no resolution.

    Yes, it is unfortunate. Prior to the app upgrade I was able to get a notification about each and every transaction, helping me track spending. Between the internet login not working and the app not working, I literally have to call in to find my balance. I reported both problems on my last phone call and was told that Simple does not support my browser (IE11) and there is no plan to change that in the future, and the app would take an investigation to find a solution. I'm unable to change browsers due to work constraints, so that's dead in the water, no ETA on the app problem.

    I don't use Simple as my primary bank yet, I was testing to see if it was the way to go. I'm glad I was cautious and if the technology doesn't get worked out soon, I'm departing the Not So Simple.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By djyungvibe Jan 6, 2016

    Great for the budget minded or learning person

    The best bank that I have used so far. Simple has been my primary bank for over a year, and I am greatly satisfied with their customer support either through the app or over the phone, their support for technology like Apple Pay or TouchID for added security in their app. The ability to block my card, if ever lost or stolen; and the ease of requesting another card. They offer a budgeting system called Goals, allowing you to allocate the amount of funds needed for bills, gifts, gas, or just for saving - keeping those funds separate from what is actually Safe-to-Spend. When dining at restaurants, Simple will automatically deduct 20% on top of the bill to help prevent future over charges and takes into account of tip. Once the actual charge goes through, Simple corrects the balance amount in your account. If other friends or family members has a Simple account, you can easily transfer money to each other, for the purpose of bills, rent, gifting, sending money, or pay-backs - which lessens the awkwardness of handing the waitress two cards or splitting checks when one person can pay the bill and the other can transfer funds instantly to the account of the one who is flipping the bill. Kind of like how SquareCash works.

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kalijaye Jan 6, 2016

    Great banking experience

    No overdraft fees! Viva la revolucion! Also, YAY GOALS -- the ability to set aside money so that I can see what I actually have to spend. THANK GOD I don't have to do moderately complex arithmetic each time I want to purchase something. Also, customer service is prompt and friendly, and the card, app, and website are beautiful.

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By knusogkram56 Dec 18, 2015

    Too Many Glitches

    I will give SIMPLE this, they have very good customer service in the sense that the employees are always friendly and wanting to help. However, I have had numerous frustrations with how their website works and have received erroneous information. I opened this account in Sept. and have had to have my card replaced twice due to glitches in their system and once for fraudulent use. Visually, their website and app is hard to see - very grayed out although their ads show a very clear picture because it is in black and white! When you want to look up if you made a payment you either have to scroll through all the transactions or export into a csv file and check it that way. I told them there should be a simple window that pops up when you click on an account that shows your payments and dates. I also told them that this was not SIMPLE!! Another issue I had was that in the scheduled view of payments it shows payments one year and beyond in advance!! Another issue was that I tried to cancel a payment online and it wouldn't allow me. I called and they said that I happened to catch it in this neverland of time when it's transferring to the check processing and that they would cancel the payment for me. It is Christmas time and I needed to juggle some money around to pay for basic necessities. That night I went to pay for a bill and my card was declined. I checked and received an email saying that they "overlooked the fact that your payment was sent electronically and with that being said, we aren't able to stop the payment once it has been sent out. I am very sorry for the misunderstanding and I hope this hasn't caused you too much trouble." It has caused me quite a bit of trouble.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jayntiff15 Dec 15, 2015

    bank is a fraud illegally withhold money

    worst bank ever!!!! i have been waiting to get access to my money for 5 weeks. i haven't been able to pay bills buy things that my family needs. and simple treats it like a joke. they told me a couple of days for my check after asking and pushing for my other bank info. after they got it they refused to let me transfer my money. they sent me a check on Thursday and i was told it would only take a couple days and i still haven't gotten it. Christmas is next week and i can't get my 3 year old anything for Christmas thanks to this bank. they hang up on me don't respond to emails. there is no one higher i can actually talk to on the phone. this bank is any but "simple" I have banked with some pretty crappy banks but these people take the cake. crappy customer service everything is crappy all the way around. i still don't have my money and they illegally blocked me out of my account for no reason. DO NOT BANK WITH THESE PEOPLE THEY WILL STEAL YOU MONEY

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By Nubbie34 Dec 10, 2015

    Simple is Simply the Best

    I've been using Simple for almost a year now, and I must say I'm never disappointed. Their customer support is superb, and they're constantly adding features to better cater to their customers. Love the bank, love the innovation, and LOVE the simplicity (pun intended).

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.