B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Simple Customer Reviews

(140 Reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 Star 51
4 Star 8
3 Star 10
2 Star 14
1 Star 57

The Most Helpful Simple Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By compSciSenior Nov 1, 2013

Enjoyable for the young adult

I am a Senior in an undergrad Computer Science program. Therefore, I am tech-y and young, kind of the key market for this bank.

The app is wonderful. My parents bank with a larger bank and they have a similar app, but I looked into it and it still reeked of old world trying to be 'hip. They took their current clunky online banking solution and painted it up to look 'hip', but it just was still terrible.

Simple's app is both beautiful, responsive and to the point. Whenever I had to bank mobile on my old bank account (which I still have and hate), the app was slow and I had to type in my full password, it took four or five clicks just to see my balance! With Simple, I open the app, punch in a four digit number (Not your PIN number obviously!) and it is there, bam. It took 10 seconds.

I haven't gotten to the best part! The goals! I love the goals. I am always telling myself "Oh, I need to save for this. No I can't, the money is for this." With Simple, you create a goal, set the amount and the time (or not if you just want a pot to transfer money into at will) and it will set that money aside. That money will still exist, but it will not be "Safe-to-Spend" and as a result, won't show on the app (which is one of my few complaints. The app doesn't show your 'real' avaliable balance, only your safe-to-spend)

Anyway. If you are looking for a clean and intuitive banking solution: try Simple. It may do what you need without overcomplicating things like many banks do.

The few things I do not like:
- Paying traditional bills is next-to-impossible. Yes, there is a 'Send Check' feature, but I am still weary about it.
- Occasionally, if you get gas, you will get a massive hold. Send them a message and they will fix it quite quickly.
- Some places are misclassified, not a big deal.

Fantastic customer service, fantastic app, everything makes sense, simple and doesn't over complicate their app and website with ads and other non-sense.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By mortramalt@gmail.com Oct 11, 2014

Significantly Degraded Experience Since Acquisition

I was an early simple adopter and loved it, and have used it as my primary checking account. But since they were acquired this year and have been transitioning their operations, i have had terrible problems with my account and the website that a bank should never have. My scheduled payments disappear or do not display (you never know which). My available balance is incorrectly reported.

A check for over $1,000 was returned by the post office and simple never notified me or credited the money back to my account (until i called them to ask what was up). Their customer service is good but without a reliable banking experience, sadly i have to leave it. Too bad because they still have the best online banking interface, although other banks like chase have begun to catch up.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Simple Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By mariesmith Apr 17, 2016

    Great if you don't have a problem. Horrible if you do.

    This whole experience is great until you have a problem. I had a chargeback on my account and thus far, the rep lied to me about the system, then when I ask for direct answers he finally told me they don't issue credits immediately. Then he keep telling me to contact a vendor that didn't have any contact information as if I'm stupid enough not to know how to contact a vendor. Horrible...terrible customer service.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By johnsfer Apr 13, 2016

    Closed my account for having payments come in from wires...

    I suggest you stay away from this online bank if you get paid by wires... After nearly 3 years, I have been paid by people I work for around the country and Canada and after i wrote them about who one of my most recent wires was from (because they don't list who), they asked what my wire came from... After I told them, they told me that my account was going to be closed and that I needed to find another bank for my "business" account. Huh? This isn't my business account, I use it for personal and never pay other businesses. Anyway, stay away! Awful customer support too... Three different customer support agents told me that I was in jeopardy of losing my account, then one told me I was fine because it was income, and then the last one, told me my account was closed. All three of them told me something different within a 3 day time period! STAY AWAY!

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By daisy1965 Mar 28, 2016

    Closed account without explanation

    I had an account here where my account was blocked when I had money inside.I called customer service to unblock it and she took a long time to get it fixed and instead told me she will call me back but she never did to get it fixed. No use having this bank, it's not a reliable bank at all. They don't have explanation and keeps saying they're working on getting it fixed but the next day closed the account without explanation even if money is being deposited for the next day. Now I have no idea where the rest of the money is.I really needed the money that was in my account for bills and they blocked it then closed it with no explanation. Very unreliable, distressful, and disappointing for those whose got closed without any reason and bad customer service. No letter, no nothing. Just got closed out of nowhere.

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pgarcia7 Mar 20, 2016

    Easy banking experience. Beautiful banking app.

    I really like Simple for it's goals feature and how prompt and friendly their employees are. Simple is more geared towards a person that doesn't need the traditional ways of normal banking. There aren't checks that you receive but all of my bills I can pay online. I like personalizing my purchases so I can really focus on where my spending comes from that is quick and easy. They're a young company so there's some growing pains but they're willingness to be better and care for their customers is a main reason I bank with them.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Moriarty Mar 2, 2016

    Never going back to regular banking!

    The customer service is impeccable- they're always SO friendly and responsive! I appreciate the lack of fees immensely, and the website is clean and useful. The "goals" you can make are an excellent idea as well! I cannot recommend Simple enough, they have a lifelong customer here. :)

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By benjamincharity Mar 2, 2016

    Bounds ahead of the competition

    I'm astounded by the negative reviews I have read here as I have been using Simple for several years and honestly have not one negative thing to say.

    I've been a Simple member since they were unopened to the full public. I have only had to deal with customer support a handful of times, but each time the response came so quickly it was astounding. Quick, happy, knowledgable employees.

    I even dealt with fraud when my card got skimmed at the LAX airport and Simple had my money back to me almost instantly. If a company can take care of me and make me feel protected, even in my most stressful moments (seeing 8k fly out of your account), then they have my business.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By ThomasM123 Mar 2, 2016

    Great Online Bank, with room for improvement.

    Overall, Simple offers a great product that is intuitive and easy to use. This bank offers a great product for new-to-banking, independent and younger individuals. However for those of us that have been banking for quite a while, there isn't much reward for maintaining a sizable balance apart from very small interest accumulations.

    Now the downside to Simple is the lack of personal checks, yes checks. Even though they are rarely used nowadays, I have run into scenarios in the past couple years where I could have really used checks and instead asked a family member to write one for me...

    And of course there is the fact that this is an online product, the lack of brick and mortar branches can be irritating. This can reduce the sense of security for me, but others may not feel the same way.

    Again its a great product, with great customer service that is readily accessible.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By robinsonbybee Jan 26, 2016

    Not a happy camper.

    I would not recommend Simple Bank to anyone. In opening up a new account, I was able to verify an external account and transfer money from it into the new Simple account. However, when I balked at what I consider to be silly downstream hoops to jump through and asked to close the account, they cannot a) transfer the money back to the originating instituition, b) send a check to the address of record or c) anything else involving undoing what they allowed me to do without my having to jump through the previously mentioned hoops. My guess is that I'm not the only one out here with this affliction.

    Is this review helpful?
  • O
    Reviewed By oeg9qu Jan 16, 2016

    Average bank with untapped potential

    I've been a Simple customer for a few years now. When I first heard of Simple, everyone was talking about how Simple would revolutionize banking. I joined because I was fed up with Bank of America.

    Through the years, Simple has had some pretty bad upgrade rollouts. Multiple times where your balance wasn't correct, your deposit status was unknown, you couldn't withdraw money, or use your debit card.

    And honestly, I expected that because Simple was a startup. However, the main reason I'm disappointed is because despite all those interruptions, there hasn't been a banking revolution. Simple has no budgeting tools. A lone graph doesn't help you budget any better. Simple has no unique features. In fact, in some regards it's behind traditional banks. iPhone Pay? Chipped cards? We got those after the traditional banks. I'm still waiting for Android Pay. Many other features, like phone notifications for card transactions or instant payments, have already been picked up by the rest of the banks.

    So, if you want typical bank features, difficult cash transactions, low interest rates, and buggy apps, then sign up for Simple bank.

    Otherwise, you're no better off than with the old traditional banks.

    There is no revolution.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Antler Jan 15, 2016

    Dishonest and unable to perform simple tasks

    Twice I have made US mail deposits that never posted. On the first one, it took me 60 days to get it resolved, but it is still not fully resolved. I have to wait for the Post office to send me a money order now.. because the bank does not have anyone who knows how to retrieve mail and process checks. On the second one, I stayed after them to go to the PO box, process the checks and get them into the accounts. I told them that they are advertising that they can perform these services but they are not doing the service.

    Finally, after 10 business days, (not including the two Saturdays) I received an email that they received the deposit check. They told me that it was "under review." I told them I have no idea what is being reviewed, but the thing to do is get the check into my account, because that is the service they advertise. They did not respond by telling me what the review is about. They just said "I'll get back to you when I hear something". I do not understand what is being reviewed. They have my check that it took them 10 days to catch up with, but they refuse to put it into my account. This is lack of performance and breach of contract as far as I'm concerned. You wait 10 days before picking up the mail, and then you put it "under review"? Let's be clear here.. they are the ones that need to be under review at this point. They are awful at this gig.

    This has pretty much ruined my Holiday break. It's taken up a lot of time, it has been embarrassing, and these people try to make me feel like I am some kind of bad person because I expect to be treated with honesty and respect. They behave as though they are some kind of an authority in my life and think they do not have to live up to their word. They feel like they do not owe me any explanations for their lack of performance but that I need to sit down and be quiet and wait for them to decide to do their job.

    I think they like the million dollar clients they can rake to death, but act like working people are a liability they can't exploit enough.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.