Overall Rating

MyBankTracker rated Simple based on the following criteria that includes real customer reviews and bank fees, among others. Our bank report card is a proprietary rating system that highlights the financial health and stability of the bank.

A

MyBankTracker Rating

Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
giantbank.com
Add
Bank Rates
Dollar Savings Direct
Add
Compare Banks

Simple Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Simple Latest Customer Reviews

avezbanking's Profile Image

Reviewed by avezbanking

Mar 13th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

An Internet Bank with a Personal touch

I've run the gamut of issues you can present to a bank, as freelancer with irregular income - I am the worst. What sets Simple a part from other banks, even comparable internet banks, is that they are proactive and communicate with you! I got a message today about my name being misspelled by a check issuer, and ended up having a very friendly chat where a cat picture was exchanged. I am so charmed that I am leaving a review wherever I can. They absolutely deliver on their promise: it's simple. Simple in the good way. Operated by human beings - good human beings. I am chucking my interest bearing Charles Schwab account, which has better perks, because I've never actually felt a genuine connection to a service provider the way I feel for Simple.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

countvidal's Profile Image

Reviewed by countvidal

Mar 4th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Not a Big Bad Bank

Simple feels like your personal banker in your pocket. Support staff are always ready to help you. There is no getting transferred 4 times to somebody in india that can barely speak english.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

johngummadi's Profile Image

Reviewed by johngummadi

Jan 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Love The Simplicity

Looks like the simple team actually had gone through the pains that normal people experience with traditional banking solutuions. Simple gives full controll over your money.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

thejbru's Profile Image

Reviewed by thejbru

Jan 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent Customer Service Backed By Slick Interfaces

I love my bank now. The simple (no pun intended) act of calling them and getting an actual person answering the phone is so refreshing. Any time i've had an issue, like when my card info was used for a shopping spree in ga while i live in mn, their response has been swift and human. Meaning they did things to make it right that you'd think your friend would do vs. What a bank's policy would have them do.

Recently, i received a message that my card would be replaced because they received news of a retail store's security breach that might endanger my card info. A bit of a hassle, but how great that they didn't wait until after there was a problem? Their web site and phone apps are top notch. I particularly love their "goals" feature that lets me set aside money a bit at a time either for bill payments or for planned purchases.

This feature has finally got me to stay within a budget for myself and made me more financially secure. It's great to see my "safe-to-spend" value when logging in vs. My actual balance as it lets me know how much i have that isn't already dedicated to my goals and budget. I can't recommend simple highly enough.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

danielsrcross's Profile Image

Reviewed by danielsrcross

Jan 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Incredibly 'Current' Design, & Over The Top Customer Service

These guys may be one of the best organizations as a whole i've ever done business with! They have a mentality of keeping everything 'simple', and it's taken literally. With easy-to-use goal setting mechanisms, an actual person on the other end of the phone, and just an overall pleasant experience, this bank is a cut above.

Just a quick example: i was accidentally charged twice for a tiny, $10 purchase from a local retailer due to an error with simple's system last year. Not only did they recoup the damage within 72 hours, but the bank president sent me an email and a courtesy credit of $50 to make up for any inconvenience. Absolutely incredible group of people over a t simple!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Matt1900's Profile Image

Reviewed by Matt1900

Jan 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Simple Is A Great Bank - No Nonsense!

I've been a member for close to a year now. It's been really an enjoyable experience. The customer service is superbly friendly. They make you feel very welcome. The bank is an online/app only bank. No local branches. But that really just adds to the beauty of simple bank. It really is simple. It's a pleasure to use them as my main bank. I would not suggest using them as one's sole bank, definitely have a local secondary, but with that said--it makes an awesome primary.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

marlonbishop's Profile Image

Reviewed by marlonbishop

Dec 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

The Best Banking Experience Ever

The only downside to joining simple and shutting down all the other accounts, is you have no ability to write a check. I have also found the us postal service is not the most reliable way to send checks in a timely fashion, and checks do get lost in the mail

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

meln6's Profile Image

Reviewed by meln6

Oct 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome In Every Way

They have the friendliest and most helpful customer service that i've ever encountered, and i've been through three previous banks before simple. Their desktop and phone app is a breeze to use and is designed to make you save money. Also, no fees! So far i've managed to get 2 of my friends to switch banks and they have nothing but great things to say about simple. Love them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

CaptainBisquick's Profile Image

Reviewed by CaptainBisquick

Oct 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

All Banks Suck Compared To Simple.com

I admit it, i'm a simple. Com evangelist. It's not just about simple though. This is about technology making our lives better. It's a philosophical stance. Simple. Com does what i thought my bank should do for me when i first started banking. I know people who keep cash in envelopes because they need to keep their balances separated. Why haven't banks already figured this out? Send a message to your bank, leave and go to simple. Com. I did.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

PatrickKennedy's Profile Image

Reviewed by PatrickKennedy

Oct 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

What Don't I Love About Simple?

I've some how managed to save a butt-ton of money, and every time i have to talk to them it's amazing (and i appreciate the informal tone. And the gifs. Oh the gifs). And when i lost my card and realized it a couple days later i wasn't concerned because i know no one used it or my phone would have notified me immediately, and i can disable it at will. Uhm... I guess i don't like that my bank is so awesome because banks aren't supposed to be this awesome?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

OlafHastein's Profile Image

Reviewed by OlafHastein

Sep 14th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Amazing

Never thought I would actually get excited about my bank, but Simple is so awesome!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

benjaminmeyer2013's Profile Image

Reviewed by benjaminmeyer2013

Sep 3rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

It really is just simple.

It's fantastic how the goals, payments, and when-to-work work together to give you a fantastic outlook of how much money you have and what you will need. It makes managing your cash flow so much easier! Also, the mobile app and website allow you to interact with your transactions at a much more meaningful level. You can mark a transaction as a friends night out and see all the related transactions, or for a specific trip or event and make it easier to find later on. Receipts can be attached, either a photo or document, to the transaction in case you ever need them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

SNEAKR's Profile Image

Reviewed by SNEAKR

Sep 3rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

best baking experience

Simple to is simply Best baking experience ever. The app is indispensable, the service and support is priceless. I'm almost hesitant to share because I don't want it to be ruined in someway by others. It's rare and amazing and I want it to stay that way.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sayce08's Profile Image

Reviewed by sayce08

Sep 3rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Perfection

I've been using this bank for just under a year, and I have convinced at least 10 friends to join since. I was hesitant to make the switch to a bank without a local store front, but I have to say the solutions they have in place I never even knew I wanted! I hope this banking model goes on to change what people expect and more importantly what they will accept from banks. I was a Bank of America customer for 10 years, and if you're tired of fees and absolutely horrific customer service with no one to stand behind hidden crappy policies, you'll be delighted when you call Simple and a human being picks up the phone to solve your troubles. Im actually excited to be a Simple Bank customer, and can't wait to see the new features and solutions this company will bring to us.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

PapaDocta's Profile Image

Reviewed by PapaDocta

Aug 13th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best Online Banking

this name didn't came from nothing.. it's best bank i have dealt in years.. friendly staff and excellent CS.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Aproc86's Profile Image

Reviewed by Aproc86

Aug 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great bank, great technology

The bank is all the name applies, simple. The smart phone app will accurately show your money, and what you spend it on. You can easily categorize the purchases and the search feature is great. Yes trying to deposit a check via phone does take a while, good news is that they accept direct deposits. I hardly ever write a check so I am not bothered that this bank does not offer checks. I find them to be a waste of paper. Very easy to transfer money to external account also Simple users. They do have a LOT of atm's that you can pull money out of without a fee as well. Best part is when you call them, they help you. They are US based and are always cheerful. I can not tell you how man countless hours I have spent on the phone with BOA and other large company who in speaking to them you sometimes think that a conversation with a pet or wall might be more productive use of your time. The thing to keep in mind is that its not if something goes wrong but when, and what is your bank going to do to take care of you. This is what keeps me a simple customer versus wanting to bank with other large banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AnthonyCorbin's Profile Image

Reviewed by AnthonyCorbin

Aug 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

A Bank I Actually Like

Simple's customer support is the best customer server I have ever experienced. The mobile app is easy to use (android). Using goals has helped me save quite a bit of money by tricking me to think I'm broke.

Down side is the lack of investing options.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

btrac18's Profile Image

Reviewed by btrac18

Aug 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Banking should be this Simple!

Simple has the perfect name, they make my banking extremely simple. The customer service is incredible, the app on Android gets better and better every few months and it has made my life easier. I use to stress about money, it gave me anxiety because I always had a difficult time logging into my accounts online and trying to find out my balance. But all the banks I worked with never showed my most current balance. Then come the over draft fees. With simple I don't have to do any of that crap. I see what I spent right away!! Which has put me at ease!

I absolutely love simple and would recommend it for anyone that is frustrated with the banking system!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nobojangles's Profile Image

Reviewed by nobojangles

Aug 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Simple is Genius

I first heard about Simple while reading a blog post in 2011 from J. Reich, Simple CEO. There is one quote that stuck out in my mind: "Simple replaces your bank, but we are not a bank." I think a lot of people don't understand simples mission. Simple is not attempting to be the next CitiBank or place where you buy bonds/CDs/invest, they are trying to improve the banking experience and they have succeeded tremendously. For someone to pursue the idea of interrupting the banking industry is very bold. Banks are giants in this day and age, it is very difficult for any newcomers to even stake a place on the map. The maturity of Simple is something I'm very pleased with as they are only a few years old. It has never been so easy to reach customer service if I had a problem. They post a lot of information online about how to best interface with the system. They are not a bank and I think a lot of people forget that when complaining about time limits and investments etc. They have focused on the most important thing for a customer and that is you. I wish all banks could learn from Simple, the world would be a better place.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

philcarson's Profile Image

Reviewed by philcarson

May 21st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Transformed my thinking about banks

I love Simple's straightforward, user-friendly approach to banking. The tools that it provides have made me more financially responsible. If I had to list the most useful apps of all time on one hand, Simple would deserve a finger (and not the finger that most other banks deserve!).

Pros:

- The Safe to Spend feature is amazing. It's almost like placing your money in digital envelopes dedicated to goals such as rent or a food budget. This lets you glance at your account and instantly realize how much you can spend without performing mental math. Yes, most banks let you create separate accounts, but it isn't convenient or practical to create separate accounts for dozens of everyday savings goals.

- As others have said, the customer support is unrivaled. I can always reach a person in the U.S. within seconds if I have an important question about my account. No waiting; no automated tellers.

- You can instantly transfer money to other Simple customers.

Cons:

- Simple is not for you if you often need to deal in cash. There isn't a convenient way to deposit cash into your account. But I rarely carry cash and I know very few other consumers who use it as their primary medium of exchange.

- Simple handles check sending and check deposits in a way that might not be familiar to you. For sending checks, it deducts the amount of the check instantly instead of waiting for the recipient to cash it. (If the recipient does not cash it, they'll refund the money.) For depositing, you may need to wait a day or two for the money to become available.

I was initially upset about the way Simple handles checks, but it became a moot point because Simple also made me more financially responsible. I've gotten into the habit of saving / investing money and planning ahead financially so that it's no big deal if a check takes a day or two longer to process.

I would strongly recommend Simple to a friend. It's one of the most useful services I've ever seen.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

wildwolfny89's Profile Image

Reviewed by wildwolfny89

May 3rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best Banking Experience In My Life

I have commitment issues. The longest bank I have ever stayed with for my checking account needs has been 3 years. It's not my fault, really! High fees, too many minimum requirements, mistakes on my checks, horrible customer service and more. Then came simple. I waited for an invite and then signed up. It was actually "simple" and easy. In a few days came my debit card. I was all set! Since then, I've had nothing but pleasurable experiences. There are no minimum requirements. I haven't had a mistake on my check, the customer service is quick, pleasant and personal. With a quick look at my phone, I can easily see if I can safely use my debit card (and not use money that was meant to go for payments or other goals.) The user interface on the website and on the app is simple and easy to maneuver. I am never leaving.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

compSciSenior's Profile Image

Reviewed by compSciSenior

Nov 1st 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Enjoyable for the young adult

I am a Senior in an undergrad Computer Science program. Therefore, I am tech-y and young, kind of the key market for this bank.

The app is wonderful. My parents bank with a larger bank and they have a similar app, but I looked into it and it still reeked of old world trying to be 'hip. They took their current clunky online banking solution and painted it up to look 'hip', but it just was still terrible.

Simple's app is both beautiful, responsive and to the point. Whenever I had to bank mobile on my old bank account (which I still have and hate), the app was slow and I had to type in my full password, it took four or five clicks just to see my balance! With Simple, I open the app, punch in a four digit number (Not your PIN number obviously!) and it is there, bam. It took 10 seconds.

I haven't gotten to the best part! The goals! I love the goals. I am always telling myself "Oh, I need to save for this. No I can't, the money is for this." With Simple, you create a goal, set the amount and the time (or not if you just want a pot to transfer money into at will) and it will set that money aside. That money will still exist, but it will not be "Safe-to-Spend" and as a result, won't show on the app (which is one of my few complaints. The app doesn't show your 'real' avaliable balance, only your safe-to-spend)

Anyway. If you are looking for a clean and intuitive banking solution: try Simple. It may do what you need without overcomplicating things like many banks do.

The few things I do not like:

- Paying traditional bills is next-to-impossible. Yes, there is a 'Send Check' feature, but I am still weary about it.

- Occasionally, if you get gas, you will get a massive hold. Send them a message and they will fix it quite quickly.

- Some places are misclassified, not a big deal.

Fantastic customer service, fantastic app, everything makes sense, simple and doesn't over complicate their app and website with ads and other non-sense.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

keyonabc's Profile Image

Reviewed by keyonabc

Oct 12th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Absolutely amazing!

They have re-invented banking. I admit, it's not "natural" yet, but I know it's the way it was supposed to be. There is a learning curve to re-think banking, but they are headed to the right place. I've already transferred my money to Simple and can't wait for them to add more features, such as the ability to pay others electronically (e.g. QuickPay, Venmo). I really hope they also increase their photo deposit limits of $3000. Their customer service is absolutely amazing! It's like you're talking to a knowledgable friend, not some dumb robot who keeps copying and pasting canned responses. All of this come at $0 of fees--no games. With my last bank I'd get a *free account* if I had to jump through hoops, like if I had an monthly automatic deposit into a savings account. So I had setup an automatic $25 into the 5 savings accounts and then right out of them again to avoid fees. With Simple you don't need multiple savings accounts. You just have goals. They are like virtual accounts. You can create as many as you like; there are no applications to fill out, no time to wait, to credit check. Nothing. Just click, enter amount, click: Bam! You have a new pot of money.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

TravisSchirner's Profile Image

Reviewed by TravisSchirner

Jun 3rd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Simple

#1. Customer Service - Tired of going back to my old bank to transfer money in (direct deposit not yet set up because I was unsure whether Simple was good enough to rely on) I sent a message to customer support. The next day, I got a message:

Brian VP- Hey Travis! The reason is that we haven't finished putting the finishing touches on it yet. I've got some good news though! We just started testing the feature and I've gone ahead and activated it for your account. :) If you'd like to give it a go and provide us any feedback you might have that'd be great! Let me know if you have any questions and have yourself a great evening!

#2. Clean purchase tracking - Simple's interface is so clean that sometimes I wish it was a bit complex so I could waste a little more time on it. There are days when I sit on it for 20 minutes moving money back and forth between my goals to get them just right. I add notes to each transaction, I remember what I'm spending and how much money is "Safe-to-Spend." Overall, it's made tracking my financial life fun. You can add images to transactions, they're added to maps automatically, you can add notes, hash tags for easy reference, and they even have little quick view cards for well-known merchants with easy-to-see customer service phone numbers and email addresses.

#3. Goals- Simple's goals is perhaps the most compelling feature of the whole experience. I've got goals set to save up for a food budget, an emergency fund, a general savings fund, Christmas shopping, and even a new computer. Simple takes how much you want to save, divides that number by the number of days you want to reach the goal in, and automatically adds the money into these sub-accounts daily. It makes saving a whole heck-of-a-lot easier than doing it on your own, and helps you realize your financial goals.

Simple is fun banking. I didn't know that that even existed until a few weeks ago. Their customer support makes you feel special and always goes the extra mile.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

CJMinott's Profile Image

Reviewed by CJMinott

May 7th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Banks are the problem. Simple is the Cure

I have been a member of 2 Large National Banks (BofA & WF) and a local Credit Union throughout my life, and after discovering Simple, I will never return to them. I'll use the categories below to explain why.

Customer Service: Think of the last time you called your bank, was it an unfriendly, adversarial, experience? I'm sure that my former bank's customer service policy was: "The customer is my enemy, and I will defeat him." It didn't matter if I was calling to inquire about a transaction, or a fee, or a mistake they made. Simple on the other hand is a wonderful experience. Long story short, once my other bank lost/didn't receive a loan payment via online bill pay. Simple took care of crediting me back the money so I could pay it faster, and they refunded me the late fee that the other bank charged. This sold me for life.

Bank Rates: No fees, and interest on your checking account. Even if you're poor like me, $.02 is still 2 cents; it's the thought that counts.

Online Experience: No one can hold a candle to Simple. It's like Mint & Quicken put together, and 1,000% better than both. The Goals System is amazing. Definitely room to add features here, but that would just take them from being the best, to even better.

Fees & Charges: What fees & charges?

Overall Satisfaction: I joined Simple because I heard of their robust online finance tracking system. It's as good as its reviews (Look them up on The Verge & Lifehacker). Then I experienced their customer service on several occasions, and knew I liked this bank.

Then I had a problem (Loan payment above) and even though it wasn't clear who's fault it was, the two banks reactions sold me for life:

Old Bank: Charged me a fee, threatened to send to collections, told me to fix it by doing x-y-z, charged me a fee for x-y-z.

Simple: Apologized, refunded the other banks fee, credited my account so I could pay faster, and asked what else they could do to make it right.

Shout out to Kelly in CS.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

KirkLinenfelser's Profile Image

Reviewed by KirkLinenfelser

Apr 3rd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Welcome to the future!

Simple is the best thing to come along since the internet.

Finally I don't have to wait in line at a bank to talk to someone. I simply tap on the transaction i have an issue with and send a "text" to someone and they respond very quickly.

They also keep you in the loop when things go wrong. I had my debit card stolen and with alerts on my iphone i was able to login to my app, and shut down my card. Then when I had time, I called simple and they took care of everything. Mailed me a new card, filed the dispute on the charges and got my money back!

Taking a picture with your iPhone and depositing a check! Yes, about time. I know other banks are starting to do this too, but those banks charge you to use this feature.

Simple, no FEES! love it. Plus they give me interest. OK, THANK YOU!

I made more money from simple in the 2 months i had them, rather the 8+ years with a regular bank!

AWESOME!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

teh_chase's Profile Image

Reviewed by teh_chase

Feb 23rd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Love The Product, Love The Service More

I've been looking for a banking tool like this for ages, and i can't express how happy i am with the free structure (free) and transparency into how that works (the float as compared to mint's ad supported model). The ios app is amazing, everything has been great so far. Had a few questions and called customer support today and spoke to ryan in portland and he was able to both help me with my questions and explain the whys and hows behind what is currently available and what is coming down the pipe. Never in my life have i had an api conversation with a financial services representative. I'm very impressed - no complaints here.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

cruffenach's Profile Image

Reviewed by cruffenach

Feb 12th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Next Generation Banking

Simple has 3 specific offerings that make it the best consumer banking solution in the US.

1. Simple's financial incentives are in line with their customers. Simple makes money on interest and interchange. No fee revenue. While not the "sexiest" detail, this makes them fundamentally different from every other retail banking experience.

2. Simple is a technology company. Their web and mobile offerings are in a different class then any other bank. Design and UX are huge priorities.

3. Customer service. Contact Simple. Seriously, do it. (888) 248-0632 or @simplify on Twitter. Real people who really care. I know it's hard to believe, but try it for yourself.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

jmover2's Profile Image

Reviewed by jmover2

May 14th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank! Awesome Customer Service.

I love this bank! I have accounts with big name banks before but nothing ever like simple! When I need them they are there and when my account my hacked back Target and Michaels. They alerted me to let me know that it happened and even sent me a card ASAP to replace my old one. I honestly don't think I will ever look at another bank other than them!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

eb45678's Profile Image

Reviewed by eb45678

Dec 10th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Refreshing customer service, easy to use

After dealing with a bank that gouged me with fees for years, Simple is a refreshing experience. I can actually pick up my phone and talk to a real person without even having to go through a menu! I don't get charged $20 a month just for using their bank! I really like the iPhone app too. Since I don't have checks with them, to mail my rent and other bills, I simply set up a monthly check that gets mailed by the folks at Simple for me automatically- and there's no fee for that either! I haven't used this bank long enough to come across anything I don't like, but so far, so good! It's so easy to budget for vacations and other goals and see where my money is going each month. For a 20-something who is concerned more with getting help with questions when I need it and assistance with budgeting, and less about getting a better interest rate, this bank is perfect for me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Post a review