B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Simple Customer Reviews

(150 Reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 Star 55
4 Star 8
3 Star 11
2 Star 14
1 Star 62

The Most Helpful Simple Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By compSciSenior Nov 1, 2013

Enjoyable for the young adult

I am a Senior in an undergrad Computer Science program. Therefore, I am tech-y and young, kind of the key market for this bank.

The app is wonderful. My parents bank with a larger bank and they have a similar app, but I looked into it and it still reeked of old world trying to be 'hip. They took their current clunky online banking solution and painted it up to look 'hip', but it just was still terrible.

Simple's app is both beautiful, responsive and to the point. Whenever I had to bank mobile on my old bank account (which I still have and hate), the app was slow and I had to type in my full password, it took four or five clicks just to see my balance! With Simple, I open the app, punch in a four digit number (Not your PIN number obviously!) and it is there, bam. It took 10 seconds.

I haven't gotten to the best part! The goals! I love the goals. I am always telling myself "Oh, I need to save for this. No I can't, the money is for this." With Simple, you create a goal, set the amount and the time (or not if you just want a pot to transfer money into at will) and it will set that money aside. That money will still exist, but it will not be "Safe-to-Spend" and as a result, won't show on the app (which is one of my few complaints. The app doesn't show your 'real' avaliable balance, only your safe-to-spend)

Anyway. If you are looking for a clean and intuitive banking solution: try Simple. It may do what you need without overcomplicating things like many banks do.

The few things I do not like:
- Paying traditional bills is next-to-impossible. Yes, there is a 'Send Check' feature, but I am still weary about it.
- Occasionally, if you get gas, you will get a massive hold. Send them a message and they will fix it quite quickly.
- Some places are misclassified, not a big deal.

Fantastic customer service, fantastic app, everything makes sense, simple and doesn't over complicate their app and website with ads and other non-sense.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By mortramalt@gmail.com Oct 11, 2014

Significantly Degraded Experience Since Acquisition

I was an early simple adopter and loved it, and have used it as my primary checking account. But since they were acquired this year and have been transitioning their operations, i have had terrible problems with my account and the website that a bank should never have. My scheduled payments disappear or do not display (you never know which). My available balance is incorrectly reported.

A check for over $1,000 was returned by the post office and simple never notified me or credited the money back to my account (until i called them to ask what was up). Their customer service is good but without a reliable banking experience, sadly i have to leave it. Too bad because they still have the best online banking interface, although other banks like chase have begun to catch up.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Simple Reviews

  • A
    Reviewed By ane Jul 16, 2016

    What a mess of a bank

    I won't even get started on the time when they conducted a massive upgrade a couple of years back that left thousands (including me) without access to their account for weeks. I didn't even know what my balance was because the system crashed and couldn't tally it accurately. A complete nightmare:

    https://techcrunch.com/2014/10/10/months-after-its-upgrade-simples-online-bank-is-still-broken/

    I should have fled then but I was foolish.

    These people also have an ongoing habit of freezing your account without notice or just cause. I told them I'd be traveling internationally and to put an alert on my account. Instead they completely shut down my account (not kidding) while I was abroad.

    Their justification was that they can't support international customers! As if me traveling for a few months somehow negates my US citizenship and residence. In addition to being abroad with my primary source of cash unaccessible, I spent days having to clean up the mess it caused with automated bills and other charges that couldn't get through.

    This is just one of at least a half dozen times when my account was inaccessible of course at the most inopportune times (like a late night home trying to pay for my taxi and the card suddenly not working for no reason. I had to use my credit card to put gas in the driver's tank (at 1:30 in the morning) as compensation and to keep him from calling the police).

    I had such high hopes for this bank but they are an absolute mess. Don't let the cute white card or pretty web interface fool you like it fooled me. They have no business being in the banking industry. All will seem rosy until the day you need your money and can't access it.

    Please beware!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Rjmarsella Jul 9, 2016

    Horrible bank

    Simple was working absolutely fine and I loved the user interface and customer service was usually fantastic...all up until yesterday when I went to an atm to find my card not working. I called customer service and the told me that Bancorp had decided to close my account and send me a check for my remaining balance of approx 10k. And that's it. No other information provided, no reason, and no certainty as to when my check would arrive. So I have zero access to my account proceeds.

    Thanks but no thanks Simple. Good luck keeping customers with your degrading services.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Author Jul 7, 2016

    Very Good Debit Card Services!

    I wanted a straight debit card account similar to Green Dot but without the fees, and that’s Simple. No fees. Friendly customer service. Simple reps and the interface seem to reflect a true desire to serve and to provide bank service that works. I feel welcome and wanted and respected. Too often, debit card services act as if I'm doing them a favor by letting them handle my money. The reps at some other services are uninformed and they don't show enthusiasm for their product. Simple is a better experience. However, Simple is NOT a full-service bank. You can’t write a check or make a deposit at a branch or local ATM in the same way that you can with most major banks. Similarly, while Simple will handle money transfers and payments like a bank, the Simple system is clearly focused more on card transactions because that is how Simple earns money, via processing fees paid by vendors. Judging Simple against full-service banks, it comes up short. If you want a full-service bank, Simple WILL DISAPPOINT! Try something like Wells Fargo instead. But judging against debit-card services, Simple is a champ and far superior to competitors like Green Dot. For this reason, I recommend Simple.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By coffeesucks Jul 6, 2016

    Hands down the best option for a checking account.

    No fees and budgeting tools right inside the account!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By migigi Jun 27, 2016

    It's like a bank, but less functional and worse customer service

    As soon as I opened my account I realized there was no way this could function in place of a normal bank account, mainly because there is no real billpay- it takes over a week for them to send an actual physical check to the person you're trying to send money to. I don't understand how a tech based company could be so far behind the times. Good thing I didn't shut down my primary bank account, because when I moved to a town that doesn't have a postal service I had to update my mailing address to a PO Box. To confirm the mailing address change they sent mail to my physical address, which was of course returned. So they froze my account. I have provided my passport, but they continue to ask for mail with my physical address listed on it, even though that could never exist. It has been over three months that I haven't been able to access my money and every time I try to contact them they keep asking for the same impossible to procure documents. It would be so easy for them to verify my identity with a social security number or my phone number or with security questions. Either this company is a sham or just another poor startup idea, in either case do not trust them with your money.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kjackson33 Jun 13, 2016

    DONT GET SIMPLE

    I OPENED MY ACCOUNT MAY 2ND WITH SIMPLE. AFTER THIS DATE I MADE MULTIPLE DEPOSITS VIA MY PERSONAL BANK ACCT AND ALSO USPS MONEY ORDER( WHICH POSTS A LOT FASTER THAN ANY OTHER METHOD). I EVEN SPOKE WITH SIMPLE JUNE 3RD TO MAKE THEM AWARE AND MAKE A NOTE ON MY ACCT ME AN MY HUSBAND WILL BE GOING OUT OF TOWN(FLORIDA) FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY WEEKEND 6/16-6/20 SO THAT MY CARD WONT GET BLOCK FOR ANY REASON. NOW TODAY 6/13 I GET AN EMAIL FROM SIMPLE MY CARD IS BLOCK CAUSE THEY NEED TO VERIFY MY ACCT, I NED TO SEND IN COLOR COPY OF LICENSE ,SS CARD AND BANK STATEMENTS. (((REALLY )))) A MONTH AND A HALF LATER YOU WANT TO VERIFY MY INFO AND BLOCK MY SHIT 3 DAYS BEFORE I LEAVE FOR MY TRIP...I CALLED THEM UP TOLD THEY ASS OFF ,UNBLOCK MY SHIT, SO I CANTAKE THE REMAINDER OF MY 4 OFF THIS CARD AND THEY CAN CLOSE IT. ..MY ADVICE TO YALL. ((((DONT GET SIMPLE,THEY ARE FULL OF SHIT))) AND OF COURSE SIMPLE COULDNT EXPLAIN WHY A MONTH AND A HALF LATER THEY ARE REQUESTING VERIFICATION DOCUMENTS AFTER I MADE SUBSTANCIAL DEPOSITS ON THIS CARD AND ALSO EVEN PAID THE COST FOR MY RESORT ON THIS SAME CARD .

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By fujioshi May 10, 2016

    Do not get scammed by this bank

    Don't get scammed by this "bank"
    Simple Bank owned by Spanish banker BBVA, and backed by Bancorp is a bunch of thieves. They have stolen $736 from my mother and countless amounts from others. They won't talk anymore falsely claiming she deposited and cashed the check when they returned it. They stole her money and think I'll shut up about it, FUCK YOU!
    http://www.bbb.org/.../simple-......

    BBB complaints (Unresolved): "Once I verified my external account I proceeded to deposit $2500 into my Simple account. A few days later I was locked out of my account because they needed more verification. I sent in all requested material including 2 bank statements .......... Simple informed me that for some reason they could not return my money or close the account."

    BBB complaint (Unresolved): " I had been a Simple customer for almost a year, and had never had any issues with them. Until February 8th... On February 8th I go to use my debit card and it's declined, I was confused because there was over $1000.00 in the account, it shouldn't have been declined.......On February 10th, my Federal Tax Refund was deposited into my simple account, over $6,000. I called simple because obviously at this point I'm extremely irritated that I can't access MY money.......so once again, I am still sitting on this money because Simple can't do an easy thing such as conform the funds are there to my current bank."

    BBB Complaints (Unresolved): Opened acct, they freeze funds - apparently a common issue with this company per online reviews - saying need id documents. Submit documents, they do not get back to me. Then say documents not in color and need pdf's from bank. They refuse to close account and refund my $300. And there's more, check out the link, check out the unresolved complaints issues. They are stealing people's money. They are then refusing to respond to them and when asked what to do next they say they can't talk anymore. They are thieves, scammers, etc. They may have once been good but they're no better than a standard bank now

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sobbe May 5, 2016

    Simply the best bank ever.

    The Simple app has by far the best app I have ever used for a bank. It helps you budget, set goals and really see where you're money is being spent. On top of that they have the best customer service. One time at 5am I used my card at a gas station. I had about $80 in my account but the gas station put a hold of $100 on my card. (This happens no matter what debit card you use.) I called simple and they put $100 into my account to help me out until the gas station took the hold off. Saved the day!

    I've had Santander, Citizens, Citi, Bank of America, Suntrust, American Express Serve, TD bank and Wells Fargo. Not a single one of these banks even comes close to being as good as Simple.

    Seriously, I was skeptical when signing up for Simple so I opened my account with only $10 just to try it. After a year now I will never go back to a traditional bank. Simple is free, give it a shot.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By WMG May 1, 2016

    Experience varies

    I have had mixed results with Simple. What it does, it does well. But where it falls short, it makes it almost not worth using.

    The good: no issues at all with direct deposit, or transfering money in and out to external accounts. It works quickly and so far, flawlessly. I have made only one check deposit via their app, and it also worked as advertised.

    While the bank cannot be used to get your own checks printed, they will mail a check for you on your behalf, at no cost (not even for postage...and to be honest, I'd pay the postage).

    The bad: mailing in deposits takes way too long for processing to start. The USPS delivers just about all mail in a 1-3 day window. Yet, Simple keeps on telling me it can take "up to two or three weeks" for mail to arrive there. Uh, no, sorry. I deal in enough mail volume to know this is completely untrue. The occasional misplaced first class letter or package (out of dozens), sure, there can be a problem. But the rest all arrive here for the most part in 2-3 days, or overnight if local. The deposits go to a post office box. There is no telling how long the mail sits there before someone picks up the mail. And if I am not mistaken, per federal banking regulations, deposits must be processed immediately upon receipt.

    Their processing time for foreign checks is also longer than with other banks. The way foreign banking works, they have to clear it through the original bank first, and will put a hold on your funds for 45 days. Other banks locally can do this with only a 30 day hold at most. Seeing that my foreign payments are a significant source of income (where they won't pay through wire transfers), having their alleged USPS delay plus the 45 day hold means it takes over 60 days for me to receive my funds.

    They're a good concept, but I'm tired of them blaming the USPS for their own tardy handling of incoming mail deposits.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mariesmith Apr 17, 2016

    Great if you don't have a problem. Horrible if you do.

    This whole experience is great until you have a problem. I had a chargeback on my account and thus far, the rep lied to me about the system, then when I ask for direct answers he finally told me they don't issue credits immediately. Then he keep telling me to contact a vendor that didn't have any contact information as if I'm stupid enough not to know how to contact a vendor. Horrible...terrible customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.