Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

3,037
Branch Locations

U.S. Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
PNC Bank
Add
Bank Rates
The Bank of New York Mellon
Add
Compare Banks

U.S. Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

U.S. Bank Latest Customer Reviews

savana's Profile Image

Reviewed by savana

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Don't trust this bank with your money.....

7/17/2014

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. MANAGER WONT COME OUT OF THE BACK TO DEAL WITH A CUSTOMER. I put a stop payment on a transaction and was charge $35 for the stop payment fee. The bank paid the transaction anyway and now will do nothing to correct the situation. I am closing this account. You trust the bank to handle your money and then they play games and hold your money.. and there is nothing you can do about it.....At US bank the machines have more control than the humans.... they have no way to override the machines..... DON'T TRUST US BANK THEY WILL DO WHAT EVER THEY WANT WITH YOUR MONEY AND THEN TELL YOU TO POUND SAND.....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

t_benson5's Profile Image

Reviewed by t_benson5

Jul 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

No rewards credit card

The link to redeem my flex perks rewards has been broken 2-3 wks. When I call I get get transferred to a personal banker who has no idea what to do & transfers back to rewards. Their customer service is beyond useless & now I don't have time to cash my rewards in time to have what I wanted for a vacation. It's an ongoing issue they're not interested in resolving, so I will discontinue use of this non-rewards card w/an exorbitant annual fee & subsequently move my accounts elsewhere. Think long & hard before doing business w/US Bank, yet another large corporation who couldn't possibly care less about their customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

angrycustomer123's Profile Image

Reviewed by angrycustomer123

Jul 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible bank, Terrible customer service!!

This bank is more focused on greed and numbers than doing the right thing and customer service!! Do your banking elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Donald2753's Profile Image

Reviewed by Donald2753

Jul 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Go back to using your mattress WORST BANK EVER!!!!

If you put your money in US BANK you are CRAZY the worst customer service ever. I don't think anyone there have a 6 grade education. DON'T DO IT. Put your money in a real bank don't make the same mistake I made. Kid you not!!! Thanks for "NOTHING" but headaches. Wish you were shut down. " YOUR MONEY YOUR WAY" What a joke.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

houckstergirl's Profile Image

Reviewed by houckstergirl

Jul 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Don't Bank at U.S. Bank! Worst bank ever!

I have been banking with US Bank for at least 3 years, and I regret choosing this bank. They make changes to your account, add fees, with out any notification. They have terrible customer service and they are not willing to forgive any overdrafts even if once a year. They seem to deduct debits in an order that sets you up for overdrafts, and they are not cheap at $36 a pop! I was so glad to leave this bank! they have taken enough of my hard earned money!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

michellecarver05's Profile Image

Reviewed by michellecarver05

Jun 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever!

I would recommend not to ever put your money in any of the accounts at this bank. They charge you fees that they aren't suppose too. Not to mention when you notice something wrong the customer service department doesn't do anything for you. They just give you other numbers to call and so forth and so forth. Been trying to straighten out this account for about a month or so now but nothing. I do understand when you take out a loan you pay back interest but not the way they did me.

The only time they cared to even talk to me is when my account went negative with all the fees they starting charging me. Now the account is on hold and cant even get the money I have in there out. They keep giving me the run around over all this and if they don't contact me back by Monday morning I will be calling a lawyer over this. All they do is lie to you to get more money out of you. So if you are wanting to save money or not being used do not use this bank period. I know a lawyer will cost me a lot more money then I will ever get back but at this point something needs to be done or more people will get screwed over. This bank is awful they don't care about you, your money, or anything else as long as they get a paycheck for being there that's all that matters to them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Tonic's Profile Image

Reviewed by Tonic

Jun 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Totally horrible internet and phone systems.

US Bank systems are incapable to provide correct security question on file. The system requires security question as if I logging in for the first time. To make matter worse the system supplies the first question on their list, not the one I choose to answer (which happens to be second on the list). Since there is no answer it take info I provide as a wrong answer. Accordingly makes it impossible to login.

Phone systems just as bad. Switching all over the world -- Philippines, cities in US with request to enter card number over and over again. Connection is very bad even so I was on the land line.

Both computerized systems are, by far, the worse designed and worse functional I've seen in the last ten years.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

annoyed381's Profile Image

Reviewed by annoyed381

Jun 6th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

They are impossible to do business with.

I was with US bank for three months via their Lifemiles credit card. I was just happily going along, using my new credit card with no problems. It comes to be about a week before my bill is due, so I decide I should probably link one of my bank accounts so I will be able to pay my bill online. I put in the information and I am just waiting for the small deposits to verify my account, but they never came.

I decide to call up US bank and see what the hold up was, and after talking to 3 representatives, somebody finally told me my account was "under investigation" and I needed to talk to an investigator in order to unlock my account to enable me to pay off my bill online. That was great to know and everything, except for a few things:

1) I was never informed my account was under investigation and wouldn't have known I needed to talk to anyone unless I had proactively called in

2) No one would tell me what "under investigation" actually meant and why my account was suddenly being investigated

3)Every customer service representative I talked to was snotty and short because they thought I should have already known my account was "under investigation." And, I agree with you but how exactly was I supposed to know that?

Anyway, my bill due date is about to come and go and I don't want to have to pay my bill plus interest, so I decide I should call a US bank investigator and sort this whole thing out. This should have been easy enough, but apparently US Bank's investigators don't get in until 10am and go home well before 3:30pm. I called three days in a row during their "business hours" and got nothing except being put on hold or an answering machine. Finally, I got a message from an investigator saying they needed an absurd amount of personal documents, so I just mailed them a check and cancelled my account. I could recommend any other bank besides US bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pissedoff7's Profile Image

Reviewed by pissedoff7

Jun 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Won't fix Bankers mistake!

I applied for a 6 month 0% interest card for a new fence through a local company offer. I got my fist statement and noticed I was being charged interest! I called in and have spent many hours on the phone just to be told there is nothing they can do! This is charging me 20% plus interest a month and all because the agent did not select the correct promotion. But they are not willing to budge! I will never do business with them again. I cannot believe they will not correct their mistake. This is my credit they are messing with and this will add additional money to an already expensive project that I would have never done had I not been offered the 0% interest for 6 months. A company that will not fix their mistakes and allow the customer to suffer? Unbelievable! This card will be paid off and closed and I will make sure everyone I know hears about it!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tarigold's Profile Image

Reviewed by tarigold

May 29th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Don't get a mortgage at US Bank

We applied for a mortgage at US Bank. We have excellent credit. Have many mortgages so we know the drill. Spent $800 between appraisals and other fees only to find out that they don't give loans to Condo Associations that have financial issues. If we would have know about the if's and but's of our rental loan we wouldn't have applied as we know our condo associate is working through financial issues.

What a waste of $800. US Bank said try someone else we can't help not can we give you your money back. The additional fees were not part of the disclosure. What a waste of an application process and money and I still don't have a loan. Will not use US Bank again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jtcdell's Profile Image

Reviewed by jtcdell

May 24th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Wow! I would hate to work in U.S. Bank customer service

I love U.S. Bank. I've read several reviews from others and had to right a positive review. All others with positive feedback need to as well. I like the programs they have to help me eliminate and drastically lower my interest on my loans. Never had any issues. Thank you U.S. Bank and good luck customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Jasst11's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jasst11

May 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever

I have been banking with US Bank for 7 years now and recently tried to refinance my house. The Process was terrible to say the least. After waiting a month they appraised my house 20,000 lower than it was worth and then when I ask for a second appraisal they indicated that new siding and flooring throughout the house was not a reason to increase the value of my house.

I am now in the process of taking my banking elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

microdistor1's Profile Image

Reviewed by microdistor1

May 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

US Bank is a Joke!

When I first signed up with US bank, I was treated so well, they brought me coffee every time I came, and were so polite and helpful. I don't know if they do this usually but maybe they knew I was carrying a check for 173,000 dollars. everything was great and i was a happy costumer for about 7 weeks, and then i needed to move a lot of money to purchase apple shares because I heard that the stock was going to jump. And there isn't a thing they didnt do to stop me from taking my money, they told me i opened a premium account and had to keep my funds at a certain level for a minimum time (bullsh*t!) and i had arguments with nearly every person I got transferred to on the phone.

I thought enough was enough and went into the bank, they were all smiles and talk until i brought up moving my funds. I told them im only moving it for a month and they didnt want to hear. after lots of "heated discussions they gave up there crap and told me i can but i have to fill out a form. a form?? which actually was 100 forms, they sent me on a bureaucratic goose-chase, and after all they they said we now will mail the forms and will know if there is a approval in 10 days. 10 days! And mail? This is 2013! why would they not just scan the damn thing. and approval? It's my money G-d damn it!

Long story short i got approval in 16 days, which was too late and i lost a ton of money when i didnt get a chance to make a sh*tload of money on the apple stock jumping. I'm trying to sue those greedy pieces of cr*p.

My friend used to work at a US bank and he told me that if there aren't enough funds in a bank branch they can get shut down or get a wage-cut and if they are carrying lots of funds it means bonuses or promotions! If that's the reason my money wasnt given to me on the spot I will be suing those pigs.

This whole thing is such a scam, ended up losing money buy leaving it in a bank, I think I'll jus be putting it in my mattress from now on!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sanchez1747's Profile Image

Reviewed by sanchez1747

May 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

$600.00 turns into $60.00 for new customer

Just opened my account on 4/24/2014. First paycheck rolls around and a check from my husband's retirement account went into the branch to deposit them, everything was fine went through. Noticed online they don't automatically show credit purchases, so we started buying everything with debit.

This is where the nightmare begins, noticed I was overdrawn and wondered how that happened cause I was monitoring the account closely, worked Mother's Day and made another in branch deposit on Monday 5/13/2014, that same day I withdrew $20.00 and bought gas with my card, that evening I was trying to buy groceries and was denied for insufficient funds.

Called 24-hour banking and found out they hold all deposits, for 5 days, for new members in the first 30 days.

Called my local branch and they also told me that for my paycheck or any government check they could have done a special deposit so the funds would be available immediately, but at this point it was too late to reverse and re-post. No one ever informed me of this when I was in the branch making the deposits. Also, the retirement check was old and had been voided, they sure didn't wait 5 days to reverse that deposit and charge me $19.00 to return it and since then with zero things posting I have accumulated 9 overdraft charges.

Called my local branch and after waiting 3 days for them to review my account they just called to let me know, they will only reverse 2 of the overdraft charges because it was not a bank error. I questioned why I was never told about the holds or that my paycheck or any government check can be a special deposit so the funds are available immediately and the representative said I need to let them know I'm a new customer, really? Also, questioned the deposit being returned right away and was given some BS explanation.

When I told her I was closing the account she promptly told me, well then I will remove the fees when you bring account current.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LaptopsofColumbus's Profile Image

Reviewed by LaptopsofColumbus

May 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

US Bank is becoming the worst bank in the US -- Save your frustrations.

I have used US Bank for about 15 years. Last year I had to close my business checking account and this year I had closed my personal checking and personal savings account with them. Service inside of the branch became worst I ever experienced. Nobody cares, there are bunch of people waiting for service and manager just leaves for lunch like its absolutely normal that we are wasting our time to deal with the problems and she does not want to waste her time, because she simple does not care.

Today, I called for a simple Online Password Reset and had to talk to 2 most stupid customer service representatives and only after 25 minutes and talking to manager was able to reset password. This was supposed be 2 minute phone call.

The only reason I have to stay with them because I have a credit card for more than 10 years and canceling it would lower my credit score. I definitely will not give them any business at all.

Save your time, save your nerves, save your money and go to best bank in the world -- Chase. Excellent service, knowledgeable people that are actually happy to do their job.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ramya3942's Profile Image

Reviewed by ramya3942

May 12th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst service ever seen

I visited this branch and asked for a paper statement. They printed me one but when I checked my account later they charged me $6.00 for statement which they never told me they were going to charge me if I request a statement. When I called customer services they said I need to contact branch and they can't help.

So I need to waste my gas and travel to branch again and there a banker "Jennifer" she was the lady who printed me a statement actually. She was very rude and when I questioned about fee she shows me bank leaflet which will be given when anyone opened an account. That shows $2 charge per statement cycle for paper statements which have no connection to my question and says they don't say about fee when I request. They said it when I opened an account. She didnt even apolgize though its completely her mistake. But returned my money saying since its first time she is returning and doing me a favor. I have walked into branch and asked to print a paper statement many times before in other branches but was never charged a fee for that which makes no sense. Definitely gonna close that account and stop banking with such a bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

User Profile Image

Reviewed by

May 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

The Worst

My wife works at a large chain of grocery stores. As with many these days, US Bank has a branch inside the store. My wife opened an account there right after the bank came into the building. Today she went to deposit her payroll check and get some cash back. She was told that because it was a weekend they were going to hold her funds until Tuesday. Not only is she a long time account holder, but works in the building that the bank occupies. Come next week, she will be closing that account. No more business for US Bank. They can all just go away and never exist again as far as we are concerned.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

misscatherine's Profile Image

Reviewed by misscatherine

May 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Lies Lies Lies

All those points you think you will be getting on your credit cards they talked you into opening was all a lie. Fat lies from all of them. Horrible people and horrible banking. They will do anything to get your money and then take it with all their fees and interest.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JustAMom's Profile Image

Reviewed by JustAMom

May 3rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Beware!

I had my purse stolen with a payroll check along witb my ID inside. I promptly told my employer to put a stop payment however this branch took the check and allowed the thief to deposit $12 into my account and get just under $500 back. Not only did they not check the signatures they didn't bother to make sure the ID matched the person catching the check. Beware!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

verybadexperience's Profile Image

Reviewed by verybadexperience

May 3rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very bad bank

I had got a car loan through US Bank in November of 2011 and it was 42 month loan at 19%. Well, it was little too high as I had foreclosures on my credit history and they were not ready to come down on interest so we got the loan and gave a down payment. Ever since I have had the loan, I have been trying to pay extra so that I could pay off early well now came to know they have been charging me $2.98 x loan amount for every day and also they are charging me etf (early termination fees), even after the fact that I have paid the installment 3 days before due date they had imposed late fees few times and when asked them if I would payoff the loan. They were not ready to negotiate, in fact they slammed the phone on me spoke with and corresponded with vice president lending he was not ready to bring the loan amount down to pay it off so finally my regular bank (PNC) helped but I would never bank with US Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

daven1994's Profile Image

Reviewed by daven1994

May 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

My God This Bank is Terrible -- Run in the Opposite Direction

I usually don't write negative reviews, but this bank is so bad I felt the need to warn the public. Avoid this bank like the plague. Every time I have a problem, they never have anyone available to help, but they say they will take my name and number and have a "banker call me back", which is fine. However, so far, out of the ten times I've called in the past ten years, I've never got a call back.

In addition, they always tack on maintenance fees associated with my account, even though I'm not suppose to have any fees. When I call to inquire, they claim it is a mistake and they will reverse the charge. It happens all the time. It's easy to see what they are doing. They just charge the fees and hope people aren't monitoring their accounts. Most probably don't, so ends up being a wind wall for them. I'm so disgusted with this bank I'm about ready to close all my accounts even though they are conveniently located. US Bank, you need to get it together. Your customer service is horrid. Prospective employees, avoid this outfit if you really want to make something of yourself. These guys have no standards at all. Pathetic!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JohnQPublic's Profile Image

Reviewed by JohnQPublic

Apr 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

US Bank Is Horrible!

I've had accounts with US bank for 18 years. I recieved a loan from them 6 years ago. This is my last year of payments. Like everyone else in the country I have been struggling. The last 6 to 8 months. I have made my loan payments, but have been late. But I have always paid them. Recently I was 45 days late (first time being this late). There customer service person "Rose" treated me like a criminal was trying to strong arm me and didn't care how long I had been with the bank. Really I'm not even 60 days. I deposited some funds and was waiting for them to clear. The next business day I had intended on paying when, I looked they had pulled the funds the same day I had deposited them. Which normally you have to wait for them to clear. I guess the bank doesn't have to wait! When I called to ask what the policy was I was treated horrible. She had the nerve to ask me why don't I have any funds, is there something I could do about that. What a crazy question. If there was something I could do to get more funds. Don't you think I would have already done it? After being with the bank for that long this is how they treat you. I can not wait to be done with this loan and this bank. They do not value there customers! I wouldn't recommend them to anyone!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MrsMagerl's Profile Image

Reviewed by MrsMagerl

Apr 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Rolling over a CD

The CD had been in the bank for 5 years and was 1 week past the automatic renewal time. When my husband requested the rollover, they charged us 3 percent or $215.68 to rollover to a CD paying more. This is more than the CD would made in a year. Plus they charged a $55.00 administrative fee. This administrative fee cannot be found in their guidelines.

They were not customer service oriented. The first representative said he would take care of it. But he did nothing. It had to be requested several times. We had to have Edward Jones send them a letter and still they stalled. It took them a month to handle the rollover request.

JVMagerl

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jbj's Profile Image

Reviewed by jbj

Apr 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Can't put money in the bank.

Bad experiences almost everytime. One of the worst. One example; they would not deposit a check, even with a hold, because the ID used was the same ID the account was opened with. I had to go home and get an utility bill for ID. There was then a change in management, I thought things would get better -- it worsened. Recently they would not deposit a $100 bill, with ID, until the teller had talked to 4 other people. It was finally in, showed up in the account then was taken off of the account. They put $100 cash on hold! My son bought a $5 sandwich and they then charged overdraft fees!

It's ridiculous you can not put money into your account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lahoozaahotmailcom's Profile Image

Reviewed by lahoozaahotmailcom

Apr 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever - Do Not Go Here.

I have a common name - somebody walked into a bank with my account number and successfully withdrew money from my account - that is physically walked into a bank, and the teller allowed them to get my money. Now us bank is pointing the finger back at me as though i am a criminal. This happened in another state, at a branch i have never been to in my life. Do not, I repeat, do not use us bank unless you want your money stolen due to negligence. Worst customer service i have ever experienced in my life. Period.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ejchavez22's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ejchavez22

Apr 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I should have never switched to US Bank. Their mobile app is horrible.

US bank is the little brother of the major banks (Wells Fargo, Bank of America and even Chase). He is trying to be like their older brother but in the end they just aren't good enough.

Their mobile app is the worst of the worst. It takes weekends off. Any other bank I have had, had to the minute transactions. With US bank. Apparently the mobile app works a 9-5, 40hour work week and sometimes calls in sick.

The customer service line is courteous but if you have a problem, it will not be fixed but you will be consoled. "We understand and we apologize" type of thing.

My advise, do not choose US Bank. Their older brother is the guy you should pick on your team.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ReanonMarie's Profile Image

Reviewed by ReanonMarie

Apr 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible customer service, slow banking updates, and they do nothing to fix this even after you let them know

Time after time, and in every bank I visited I experienced the worst customer service. I believed my online updates were slow to update because of the businesses I was dealing with but when I changed banks I was pleasantly surprised to find it had absolutely nothing to do with the businesses and everything to do with (surprise!) US Bank, which sometimes took up to two weeks to update my purchases!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

vfox's Profile Image

Reviewed by vfox

Apr 2nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Unfortunate

I'm a small business owner and have been banking with US bank for about 1 year with no issues. Except for today. I decided to use their mobile banking, big mistake. I deposited a state issued check and because the bank felt it was suspicious, they put a 10 day hold on it.

When I contacted the bank to ask why and to figure out how to resolve this I was in very few words told there is nothing I could do and the bank would not try to do anything except wait the required days it ensure the check is not returned. When I asked if they could contact the state issuing the check, they said, "this matter could go no futher and they would be discontinuing our conversation".

Really -- a bank would actually say that one that promotes small business accounts! I had to go to the branch office and still the managers hands were tied. Not only did they put a hold and not make me aware of this before I deposited it, they also did not release partial funds. They changed their reasons several times for doing this. First they said it was a "out of ordinary deposit" then they said "its the discresion of the person who reviews the mobile deposits" my confusions comes from two things, one as a small business I am bound to deposit out of ordinary amounts because no two customers are the same. Second, shouldn't they just contact whomever issued the check and once verified and or paid resolve the issue. I can understand procedures that are in place to protect but this practice only protects them and give us the client absolutly no regard.

I'm so very disapointed in the out right lazyness of this bank, really just pick up the phone and contact the state and get your proof. Hold the funds for 2 to 3 days if you must but 7 to 10 working days -- that's absurd!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

PriscillaArno's Profile Image

Reviewed by PriscillaArno

Mar 31st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

On a scale of 1 to 10 -- 10 being good.

I just received a letter saying if you have any problems please call. My problem is no one answers the phone. You have to put in all your information listen to the different departments and then they say they are over loader with calls and hang up. You can't talk to anyone. I have never had a bank that hangs up on a customer before.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bttwmo's Profile Image

Reviewed by Bttwmo

Mar 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Customer Service Experience

It's upsetting when you have to wait 30-40 minutes for something you counted in 10 minutes tops. Your tellers are consistently slow and act like everything is okay. Twice I was told I was short $100 on my deposits. I asked for the money back and counted in front of them and came up with the correct amount. The teller even had the nerve to be angry because I asked to recount the money.

This location has such bad service. Management need to re-evaluate the hiring process. My 6year old daughter can count faster and more accurate than your teller. I'm close to asking the owner I work for to change bank. Please fix this issue. I've had enough.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review