B+ MyBankTracker Rating

U.S. Bank Customer Reviews

(321 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 35
4 Star 5
3 Star 8
2 Star 16
1 Star 257

The Most Helpful U.S. Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Donotlease Dec 3, 2015

Lease termination

If given the option, do not lease a vehicle through US bank. Having leased no less than 8 vehicles, never before had I had an experience such as this one upon returning the vehicle at the end of the lease term. The inspector highlighted minor items that would clearly be considered normal wear and tear by all others, but not us bank. We were given the option of correcting the minor items which we did. Provided due proof of the work, yet us bank has done nothing other than to continue to bill for "excess wear and tear". 3 letters together with a detailed listing of the work performed and not one response. Now they are issuing a demand notice.

Do yourself a favor, stay away from us bank.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By chevytruc1658 Jan 13, 2016

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE / NOT IMPRESSED

As a new start-up company, we were looking to bank with a bank with the least amount of fees. US Bank is one of the few that offer no minimum and very few fees. Thats the only thing nice I can say about my experience with them thus far. We were told when we opened our account that given the fico score of our personal credit, it would be no problem to get a small loan to help us purchase our vehicle. We have been going through the loan process for over a month, every time they make progress (which takes them weeks) with the loan process, the truck we are trying to buy gets sold. We are now working with a different branch and this one has been even worse. The branch manager is dragging her feet, has been extremely un-responsive, lies to us telling us she tries to call us back but neither my partner or I have received any calls texts or emails from her. We have been fortunate this time around to find a dealer to hold the vehicle for us for a week while we try to get through this but his patience is wearing thin as well and is about to pull the vehicle back on the lot. There complete lack of response and care has frustrated me to the point that I am about to change banks. If you want a Bank that is going to actually care about your business, I do not recommend US Bank.

Is this review helpful?

Latest U.S. Bank Reviews

  • B
    Reviewed By bslb Apr 29, 2016

    Refinanced our home to get out from under these crooks!

    Every time we made a mortgage payment, they IMMEDIATELY sent out a new statement. I would promptly pay the bills, until one month when I got two bills one week apart. I looked back at the records over the 4-5 months they had our mortgage and realize that I was paid up for 3 months into the future yet was still receiving statements. I called customer service and was told some line about it being a "government regulation". Funny...we had 2 other home mortgages (with 2 different banks) and they were sending statements out once a month only.

    So...we immediately paid the fees to refinance the house with the guarantee that they will not sell our mortgage to USbank.

    But wait...it doesn't end there! We received a "CORRECTED" 1098 form on May 15th (granted tax day was May 18th this year) but our taxes were filed! BUT...we never got an original 1098 at all!!! Today we get another letter that says: "Recently, we determined that the corrected 1098 form we sent you in mid-April is also incorrect." They claim that they will reimburse us for tax preparation expenses if we have to refile...after we receive the "FINAL CORRECTED 1098 TAX FROM IN THE NEXT TEN TO 15 BUSINESS DAYS."
    The letter closes by saying that they are "reviewing our systems and processes to prevent this from recurring in the future"

    I sure hope that is true! We pulled our mortgage from them and the horror of USbank won't go away!!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Shanshan Apr 28, 2016

    Branch manager belittled me

    Derek "helped" me today when I called about some over draft charges and belittled me. He kept repeating "this is not a bank error" when I tried to speak. He acted as though he needed to win against a woman by talking louder and making me repeat myself as I was emotional about being charged hundreds of dollars due to them "helping" me move funds to savings to save for my baby on the way...another reason I am very emotional right now.
    This instead depleted my baby fund by over $300 and Derek keep me on hold for ten minutes while he "checked it out" then repeated his catch phrase "it's not a bank error. Can't help you"
    Customer service used to mean something at US Bank and it's sad that a point of contact person can ruin your image of a company because they are so rude when you ask for help.
    My husband and I are transferring all of our savings, checking and business account to another local banks so we will never be treated so poorly again.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By aMBERAMBER Apr 25, 2016

    never bank here

    NEVER EVER BANK WITH US BANK AGAIN THEY HAVE TERRIBLE SERVICE THE ONE IN MILWAUKEE WI ON GOOD HOPE RD THE BANK MANAGER NAME IS JESSICA S. SHE IS VERY RUDE THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THEY MIXED UP MY ACCOUNT AND THEN DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AND LEFT IT AS IT WAS MY PROBLEM I HAVE HAD THIS ACCOUNT FOR QUITE SOME TIME NOW IM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE SERVICES AND RUDE RACIAL COMMENTS THAT WERE MADE BY THE LADY ABOVE! IF I COULD GIVE IT 0 STARS I WOULD VERY VERY UNHAPPY CUSTOMER

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jmeek40126 Apr 24, 2016

    Do Not Use US Bank for any purpose.

    I've had bank accounts there for more than 40 years, and last week I was suddenly notified the bank was canceling three of my five bank accounts. Like that. Said it was an option of the bank to do so. I tried to learn the issue. No luck. All I know is I have until May 31 to close them or have the bank close them for me.
    That is even though I've never had a check bounce, never been late on any payment anywhere and kept sizeable balances. The only answer I could get form anyone is that I might be doing something illegal by sending money to people in two foreign countries. I think they believe I am laundering money? Give me a break, maybe $1,500 total in three years Anyway, stay away from this bank. I am moving all my accounts to another bank tomorrow. Now, the challenge: find one you can trust

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By philkaplan1 Apr 20, 2016

    US Bank Told Me A Check Cleared, Then Charged Me When It Didn't

    I am the victim of a scam. That is not the issue here. The issue is that I counted on my bank to protect me and they didn't. A buyer for an item I listed on Craig's List sent me a cashier's check. I deposited the check in my US Bank account. After the buyer asked for reimbursement, I asked the branch manager if the check had cleared. She said that it had and the funds were available for disbursement. I also called the bank's 800 number, asked the same question and received the same answer. Because the bank indicated the check was good, I went ahead and sent the buyer a refund.

    A week later, the bank informed me the cashier's check was a forgery and they were deducting the full amount from my account. I went to the branch manager to explain that she said the check cleared. She said the 1-day approval was a courtesy because I was a good customer and they had no reason to suspect the check was bad. Obviously, I was concerned, which is why I asked if the check had cleared. She then explained that it takes 3-5 days for the check to fully clear from the issuing institution. The bank's policy on bad checks is to deduct the amount from the customer's account (mine). She verified with her boss that the bank was unwilling to accept the loss. I also called the 800 number, spoke with a supervisor and got the same response.

    I relied on the bank to tell me if the check cleared. If they had concerns, they should have told me then, not waited a week. If they suspected an issue, they should have asked me about the sender. In short, I relied upon them to protect me against a bad check by asking if the check cleared and they lied. I will never do business with them again and I'm writing this to help protect you from making the same mistake.

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By Fastfiveo120882 Apr 13, 2016

    Very nice fast service

    Good people there. always nice

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Daisyu_91 Apr 10, 2016

    The worst of the worst!

    I rarely use this bank but only use it as my back up account in case I'm short on the money cause I don't like to carry cash. Every f***ing time I check my AVAILABLE balance, it's a positive balance and when I use it twice or so, and have not use it for about 3 days, I have a negative. After reading the review, it makes sense... This bank is full of shit! The funny thing is, I request the automatic decline and apparently, it's not declining me. They may have not done what I asked for. This is bullshit!

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Joi Apr 4, 2016

    Excellent Banking Experience and Great Customer Service

    I have banked with USBank for 14 years. It has been a great experience. The bank staff members have been supportive and helpful. I have not experienced a problem during this 14 year period. I like the features and ease of usage that the online banking provides. When I go into the branch banks (there are three that I visit) staff is attentiveness and courteous.

    Is this review helpful?
  • Y
    Reviewed By YvetteClark Apr 1, 2016

    If only ZERO stars was an option.

    The worst. They placed a seven day hold on an item even though they collected the funds from the issuing bank the day after the deposit was made. I brought in copies of the canceled check from the issuer and they refused to look at them. Awful. I would not recommend this bank to anyone except my most hated enemy whom I expected to never see again.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By conniefrenchrn Apr 1, 2016

    Remodel Loan Incompetent Nightmare

    My husband and I made a pact to add a larger chef kitchen and dining room in 2016. I happened to notice US Bank was running a remodel loan special. We were assigned a loan officer in our town of Columbia, MO. Total nightmare of incompetence. First it was a "remodel loan" next, a "construction loan", no, "I read the guidelines and it is a home equity loan". After three months of not still trying to define a simple remodel/construction loan with us providing all the details, math, etc., became too upset at the three month delay and moved on to a reliable, knowledgeable, loan source. Think long and hard about using US Bank, especially in Columbia, MO.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.