Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

C+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

416
Branch Locations

Union Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
KeyBank
Add
Bank News
Bank of the West
Add
Compare Banks

Union Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Union Bank Latest Customer Reviews

icruiser's Profile Image

Reviewed by icruiser

Jul 30th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Mobile banking is less than desirable

I've been a customer of Union Bank for well over ten years and have never had a problem until now that I've decided to use their mobile app. Over a month ago I tried to use the mobile check deposit. I would get to the point where they ask for a picture of the front of the check and then I would get a message saying the connection suddenly stopped working. I tried and tried and could not get past that point. I called customer service and after much cajoling they said that the problem arose after the last update and they were working on it. I could deal with that, everybody has problems. Now, over a month later I decided to try again. Same thing. Get to the taking a picture part and it stops working. I called again and got a ridiculous runaround and when the conversation started to get very heated then I got the same excuse as last time. Yes, we're having problems but we're working on it. How long does it take for them to work on it? Methinks they need a new IT team. The only reason I would even use the app is to deposit a check and save a trip to the bank so now there's no reason to use the app at all. If you depend on mobile banking I suggest using a different bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cherub's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cherub

Jul 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Would not recommend for small business

I had been banking with them for a couple of years but their services are no good. I had so many bad experiences wherein I got many charges from rip off companies. I tried to cancel and changed my ATM card but it still kept charging me. The bank said they have no control of those scams so I decided to close my account with them. They sent me a cashier's check of the remaining balance of my account that has been closed. Two months later, they sent me a letter that I owe them a big amount of money with so many charges of insufficient funds. LOL! That's exactly the point why I closed the account to avoid those rip off companies and being charged with insufficient funds! I tried accessing my account online but it also says CLOSED! This bank is just ridiculous!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

unionbanker's Profile Image

Reviewed by unionbanker

Jul 16th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Mistreated

My dad is a born Mexican but now a citizen and when he goes into the bank they don't treat him right. My mom also looks tan and they mistreat her also.

I also have an account there. I was born in the U.S. and I look white, they treat me professionally. They are a bunch of racists. I only have an account there because it is close to my house.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cust775r's Profile Image

Reviewed by cust775r

Jun 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank ever! Close your account now!

I have been a happy customer for 17 years. Yesterday I went to an ATM and was surprised my not valid even though I had thousands of dollars in my checking account.

I called customer care and found my card had been deactivated because a $4.25 purchase of bowl of oatmeal at the cafeteria yesterday at my employer which is a Fortune 100 company.

I confirmed the purchase then found I must have been on a sick quiz show where the supervisor asked me personal information about my family such as the age of my nephew's wife. I found the questions disturbing and twisted.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

AndrewL's Profile Image

Reviewed by AndrewL

Apr 12th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst mortgage loan experience of my life

I own many houses and have gotten loans from most banks, including the big ones: Bank of America, Wells Fargo, Citi, and through mortgage brokers.

Union Bank Loan processing and underwriting are among the worst I've ever experienced. I had submitted all the conditions required 3-4 weeks before the original close date of February 28th. I then pinged the loan processor about once a week to make sure everything was met. Due to construction delays, the closing got pushed back to March 14th. I thought I was clear on the bank end, but in reality, the Loan processing person sat on my file until right before closing, and then sent me a list of 25 more conditions on March 11th at 6:50pm! I had to jump through hoops and make others jump through hoops at the last minute to get the stuff in the next day, and then they still couldn't close.

The Underwriter had made so many errors on my file, that I didn't know about, they were claiming my income/debt ratio didn't qualify, where it was really their error in calculating income from my rental properties. Until I came to them with my own excel spreadsheet of what the income/debt ratio should be, they didn't discover their errors.

I had to push our move back 3 times. The final closing target of Friday March 14th was missed, and Union Bank asked to push it to Friday March 21st, which was missed. Then they tried for March 24th, which was missed because they didn't fund on time. So closing didn't occur until March 25th. All due to total incompetence on Union Bank.

I had to be out of or current residence for people to get keys on March 27th. Union Bank put me in a super tight squeeze without a care in the world. No urgency, no empathy, and now just full of excuses justifying why they were delayed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

steven434's Profile Image

Reviewed by steven434

Mar 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible

you hardly can find anyone there. They say they have priority banking but they actually don't have anyone in the priority banking section. If you don't apply to a line of credit with them they will treat you horribly.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

SCJeffG's Profile Image

Reviewed by SCJeffG

Mar 25th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Good focus on people and what matters most.

Overall very friendly and caring, will spend the extra time to get to know me and what my needs are. I appreciate the local services and that they focus on the local community.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 3

Sactomike's Profile Image

Reviewed by Sactomike

Mar 13th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

From Great to Awful

I have been with this bank for close to ten years. I had never had a problem with sneaky fees like I hear about from Wells Fargo or B of A, until this month. I got charged $8 to look at my statement online!!! Online!!!!!

Background: I had "Free Checking," which was changed to "Essentials Checking" a couple of years ago. Shortly thereafter, I stopped getting my statements by mail. OK, I could still see my account transactions online, and if I needed to print a replica of a "real statement," I could do so.

After having done it several times in the past with no charge, I looked at some statements to check a transaction. There was no warning online that I would be charged to look at the statement. And of course, I had no paper statement on file. $8 to look at my statement. Stay away from this bank, "the most trusted bank in America," according to their recording.

Credit unions have changed...deposits can be made anyplace, and the network of atms far exceeds the banks. I am going to get interest on my checking account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

pugsley4140's Profile Image

Reviewed by pugsley4140

Feb 24th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

absolutely awful. at first they seemed friendly kind nice. they were rude un proffesional and i thought b of a was bad.

i wanted a bank that just didnt count you as a number charging fees that didnt exist holding deposit checks and running up charges for no reason. thats why i went to union bank. i explained to them my mother had passed away and someone stole her atm card and tried to deposit fraudulent checks etc. i also said i cleared that up with b of a. i was on her account because as she got older she started losing it and i wanted to regulate her money. anway like i said after she passed her information was stolen. so going to union bank i explained the situation and said there shouldnt be a problem it took me months to try and resolve this issue with the very rude hard headed moronic bank of america. He understood and went ahead and opened my account after i was forthright and upfront honest with them. well a few weeks ago i go to use my atm card and it was declined. mind you i had just used it earlier that day. this was on a friday night. so i couldnt do anything until the following monday. i called the bank and extremely rudley they explain they closed my account. I asked why. They gave me a number that was no good to me. everytime i called it it went to an internal answering maching. i call the bank back. i asked why would you give me an internal telephone number that only works if you call from the bank. unproffesional. they get back and tell me thats the correct number. once again no it wasnt. i call back and explain to the moron on the phone that number only works if you call internally from a branch. so they put me through. i get onto the phone with another extremely rude person who wont tell me the problem but i will get a letter explaining. so in the mean time i couldnt get money all weekend no atm card and no answers. Finally a week later i get a letter explaining for me to call chex systems. exactly what i thought might happen which again i explained upfront before opening my account. absolutely nothing but rudeness holding my money for ransom.

i just got my check

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

NickGirgis's Profile Image

Reviewed by NickGirgis

Feb 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

My banking experiance latley is terrible.

I have done busiess with Union Bank since 2002 as business customer. Since 2012 change in the account interest from 7.5% to 10.5% for no reason. bank charges to checking account claiming to cover overdraft that was not true. Exceeding charges that they would not give back the credit to the account. This is just to be brief.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

AAB's Profile Image

Reviewed by AAB

Feb 20th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

ATM card problems

I opened a new account with my partner and requested an ATM debit card for her. They said they sent it but it never turned up. I asked them to replace it, that never turned up. They naturally accused us of throwing it in the trash both times. They checked the mailing address, it was correct. They supposedly sent a third card - nothing. The fourth time they sent it to the branch for us to pick up, Okay, but the whole process took 7 weeks and they clearly have a flaw in their system that they won't admit. Overall, the transition from Santa Barbara Bank and Trust has not been a happy one

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

angiewahl's Profile Image

Reviewed by angiewahl

Feb 19th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Closing card= something fishy

Something fishy is going on with Union Bank. I used my atm at local businesses that I always frequent, nothing overseas or even out of state. Suddenly, they turn off my ATM card stating "fraud" because I bought gas at my local service station- the same one I always go to. I think account info was compromised and they just dont want to admit it. I am without a card for - days at least. They say they cannot reactivate, they have to send me a new one- fishy.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

a_diaz731's Profile Image

Reviewed by a_diaz731

Feb 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible customer service. Take your business elsewhere

The Union Bank on sports arena blvd has the worst customer service I've ever experienced in my adult life. I've been banking there with my business for 4 months now and everyday I walk in there, same drone-like characters standing at each station to receive your deposit or withdrawl. No smiles, no hello, no goodbye have a nice day. Today I walk in there and at least 4 girls stand there and stare at me, no one else in there, no customers whatsoever. The personal bankers behind me in their desks are more lively and enthusiastic to be there and help. I deposit what I need. Still no word from the girl helping me, nothing far from the usual, as I grab my receipt and thank her, she buts in and says next time the merchant line is over there. You're kidding me right? I'm going to take my business elsewhere, most likely back to chase bank where there are nicer, lively beings there to help me out.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

athykw's Profile Image

Reviewed by athykw

Jan 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible electronic and website incompetenence in multitude of ways. They deserve NO customers.

In the last 18 months Union acquired 2 other banks I had accounts with. They sent an avalanche of paper notices but nothing referred to re online banking worked for many months. The more recent bank acquisition resulted in unauthorized doubling of automatic payments for HOA dues which my online account doesn't show it but my checking account does.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

2Suzanne's Profile Image

Reviewed by 2Suzanne

Jan 12th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Not good

I miss Santa Barbara Bank and Trust.My disabled and her social security check now goes into her checking.She has me go take some out they take 5 dollars out every time I withdraw some money out.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MNorris's Profile Image

Reviewed by MNorris

Jan 10th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Good people, bad banking practices - closing account

I deposited a brokerage account check, drawn on the same brokerage account as checks I've I've deposited for 10 years, that are paid in one day. Union won't allow my to access any part of my $10,000, uses my money for their short term investments for 12 days, and charges me a monthly fee for this abuse. Avoid these scam artists.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

TashaEQ's Profile Image

Reviewed by TashaEQ

Jan 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Runaround and Incompetence

This company has been shady since the start. The mortgage broker we dealt with would never call us on the phone, he would only speak to us via email so he "had everything on record." The mortgage customer service line never has a supervisor available, and they forward you to a fake voice mail for a person who doesn't exist. The customer service reps only provide a fax number, and the online mortgage information is very vague and minimal. There are no phone numbers to any escrow department or insurance department - OH! Until you get a random letter in the mail saying they don't have proof of your homeowners insurance and will tack on their own if you don't provide it. Well Union Bank Insurance Department, who doesn't know why the main mortgage line can't give out their number and also has no supervisors available (shocking!), I live in a condo, and the condo association has the policy (as do you from last year) and all you need to do is call the main condo insurance company and request a renewal - seriously? Why do I pay an interest rate if I need to do your job for you? Any reputable bank will do this by default to acquire new policies for an entire complex, not something to be expected of by the owner (unless it was my own private policy of course, which it isn't). Perhaps this is their first time dealing with a condo complex? I guess. I'm sorry, I thought this bank was going to be different, but it's not, in fact, its worse. I've yet to find a more incompetent and customer-unfriendly bank in existence.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

VIP's Profile Image

Reviewed by VIP

Jan 3rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

this bank sucks

I tried to open an account with First trade union bank but when I asked them some questions online with Jacqueline rash, the representative was so rude. I have not even finished my questions; he said we had miscommunication and he ended our conversation without notice. When I chatted again, the other representative allie was so rude as well. I have not even asked questions, she already told me to contact the customer service. When I call them, they are so impatient. They just want to finish the conversation from their tone of voice. After I read all the reviews, I am glad I did not open an account with them even though they have high interest rate. I don't want to put my money in this kind of bank. If you like bad customer service, you can go with this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

vigilantconsumer's Profile Image

Reviewed by vigilantconsumer

Dec 30th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Consumers beware! Your money vanishes after deposit!

Consumers and customers should beware of the practice of this institution. I went into a branch to deposit $3,000 in cash into my personal account. I received a receipt of this transaction. 3 days later when I went to check my account online, that money vanished. I contacted the bank and asked them why the money is gone. They said that they had no records whatsoever of my deposit. I provided the transaction receipt as proof that I made the deposit. They said that they will open up an internal investigation as to what happens. I keep calling them back to get an update as to situation and they keep giving me the run around saying that the operations manager is away on vacation and would get back to me.

Finally, after 6 days of still not having those funds in my account, I called and spoke with a manager and threatened to file a complaint with the FTC, the authorities and media outlets regarding this situation if my funds are not in my account by the end of the day. 10 minutes later, I get a phone call back from the manager saying that there was an internal glitch with the computer which caused my funds to disappear and that I will have the funds back by 12am the next day. Still waiting to see if this occurs. This is very disturbing and shady business conduct on the bank. How could someone's money just disappear with no trace or record of the cash deposit. Thank God I had my receipt deposit to prove my deposit, had I inadvertently thrown it away or lost it, I would have no proof of my $3,000 deposit and would have probably lost that money. Also, when I asked one of the managers if this has happened before, he said yes it has but refused to elaborate. Consumer who choose this institution to trust their money with should be aware that your money may go missing if you are not on top of your statements and keep all your deposit receipts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Tkpro's Profile Image

Reviewed by Tkpro

Dec 20th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

They just plain old suck

I miss Santa Barbara bank and trust. My poor branch manager is taking it in the teeth from so many customers. I had a lot of issues with miss information and can't wait to get my class action notice in the mail. As for the branch personal, it's fine. My issues are with their procedures and and pseudo rules. The online app works well enough, but the statement changes to benefit of them. I never have nsf fees, in one year I've had 4. All because of deceitful practices and literally adjusting deposit times. I'm done with them and their bs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Doc2023's Profile Image

Reviewed by Doc2023

Nov 9th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

My banking experience was wonderful at this branch, the teller that helped me was very helpful and patient.

Jorge Rivera was the young man that assisted me the morning I walked in to the Union Bank branch. He began by greeting me and answering all the questions I had about my account and future accounts. He proceeded by offering other possible banking methods that might work for my business outcome. Overall I was extremely satisfied with Jorge's customer service and will definitely recommend his service to my business partners and associates.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kcju2004's Profile Image

Reviewed by kcju2004

Oct 24th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Appalling Customer Service By [Redacted]

Horrible and appalling customer service by [Redacted] the service manager at [Redacted]. I have been banking with ub for several years now with no nothing but excellent customer service, but when i went to deposit 3 large tax refund checks from the state of ca on 10-19-2013, this service manager held 90% of my checks for 7 business days!. When i told her that i have a large balance on a business account, she said she can release another $5000, and will talk to her manager on Monday. I wasn't happy about her extending only an additional $5k from the large amount, but i said ok. On Monday through Wednesday, i received zero calls from her or anyone else. On Thursday, i called [Redacted] who said she nothing (no apology at all! ) about the additional $5k, and would not let me finish my sentence. When frustrated, i started to raise my voice. She then said she will not listen to me and kept repeating her story of how she can't tell me to restructure the deposit. Well, i wasn't telling her to, but was simply asking her if i had done it from the beginning, i would have had more $ available to me. But she would not let me finish my sentence, and when i got frustrated that she was not listening, she hung up on me!!. How rude this service manager [Redacted] is. I was simply appalled that i had this experience here. I talked to another branch at tapo st. Blake and lisa there released 100% of my deposit immediately.

kevin

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Girk's Profile Image

Reviewed by Girk

Oct 10th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

investment, savings, checkings

Poor to horrible. Since they acquired Santa Barbara Bank and Trust, has been very poor service. Branch people are great, 800 people at best clueless. They tell you not to bank online, cannot explain transactions, refer you to the branch. Probably worst bank I have used in 45 years.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

AmyS's Profile Image

Reviewed by AmyS

Sep 19th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

A Mess.

Earlier this year, Santa Barbara Bank located in the Woodranch community of Simi Valley was acquired by Union Bank. This is where the train-wreck begins.

(1) During the acquisition period, Union Bank confessed to making mistakes in informing their customers who had business accounts there, of their failure to notify participating merchants of routing code changes etc., even though the local branch tellers stated "not to worry we'll take care of it." This prompted a one week shut-down of my company. An account rep at the Woodranch Simi Valley branch stated she would approach [Redacted], the current Branch Manager and that some concessions would be made to accommodate me for the lost time and income. (I stated even a bottle of wine would be fine.) Four reminders later by his colleague and over a period of four months, I never heard a word from [Redacted] or "[Redacted]" the account manager who is no longer employed there.

(2) Then, several months ago, I received a letter from Union Bank that a savings account that 'should have had five thousand dollars in it' had been in-active. That account was never used intentionally and to the best of my knowledge should still have had a 5K balance.

(3) Fast forward to today. When it was discovered that there was $4,900.00 missing on that account, it was determined that a teller, who took it upon him or herself, had filled in the wrong account number on the withdrawal slip resulting in an actual debit from my savings account rather than the corporate account. Checking with [Redacted] as to policy, specifically in respect to tellers picking random account numbers and filling in those numbers on withdrawal slips he refused to provide details of their policies. This was further stated by [Redacted], Union Bank's Regional Manager. In closing; My last conversation with [Redacted] was met with " I guess we are not the Bank for you" and abruptly hung-up on me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

AmyS's Profile Image

Reviewed by AmyS

Sep 19th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

A Mess.

Earlier this year, Santa Barbara Bank located in the Woodranch community of Simi Valley was acquired by Union Bank. This is where the train-wreck begins.

(1) During the acquisition period, Union Bank confessed to making mistakes in informing their customers who had business accounts there, of their failure to notify participating merchants of routing code changes etc., even though the local branch tellers stated "not to worry we'll take care of it." This prompted a one week shut-down of my company. An account rep at the Woodranch Simi Valley branch stated she would approach Fernando Estevez, the current Branch Manager and that some concessions would be made to accommodate me for the lost time and income. (I stated even a bottle of wine would be fine.) Four reminders later by his colleague and over a period of four months, I never heard a word from Mr. Fernando Estevez or "Laura" the account manager who is no longer employed there.

(2) Then, several months ago, I received a letter from Union Bank that a savings account that 'should have had five thousand dollars in it' had been in-active. That account was never used intentionally and to the best of my knowledge should still have had a 5K balance.

(3) Fast forward to today. When it was discovered that there was $4,900.00 missing on that account, it was determined that a teller, who took it upon him or herself, had filled in the wrong account number on the withdrawal slip resulting in an actual debit from my savings account rather than the corporate account. Checking with Mr. Fernando Estevez as to policy, specifically in respect to tellers picking random account numbers and filling in those numbers on withdrawal slips he refused to provide details of their policies. This was further stated by Mr. Brian Gilpatrick, Union Bank's Regional Manager. In closing; My last conversation with Fernando Estevez was met with " I guess we are not the Bank for you" and abruptly HUNG-UP on me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GFCIB's Profile Image

Reviewed by GFCIB

Sep 5th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Bank Failed To Disclose Terms Of Loan

We were given a commitment letter for a mortgage in april 2007. At which time we asked about the vague language regarding the prepayment penalty and the interest rate. We were told by the bank that the prepayment penalty was 5 years and that the bank didnâ?? T have time to prepare the remainder of the closing papers or send further details to us prior to closing on the loan. At no time did the bank explain the â?? Real termsâ?? Of the deal. When we signed the loan documents, we only had a few minutes to do so because the bank got them to escrow at the very last minute. If we did not sign right then and there, the loan/purchase wouldâ? we fallen through. A few months ago we contacted the bank about paying off the loan, which we thought we could do based upon the bankâ?? S advising us that the term of the loan was 5 years. At that time our principal balance due was $521,177 and the bank told us that in order to pay off the loan we would have to pay an additional prepayment penalty of $146,000. 00 because the term of the loan is 20 years. This effectively gives us no ability to pay off the loan. Additionally, the bank also gave us vague language regarding the interest rate, which they arbitrarily made up at closing. We have made every payment on time and despite that the bank refuses to work with us or have a meaningful conversation. Despite several requests to discuss this with the bank, they send us form letters stating the same thing over and over again. They have been completely unprofessional and unwilling to work with long time customers. We feel that the bank bated and switched us, knowing at closing that we were buying a property and at closing wouldnâ? T have a choice but to sign whatever documentation they gave us.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

chips's Profile Image

Reviewed by chips

May 21st 2013

2 out of 5 marks

My Safe Box Was Robbed.

My safe deposit box was stolen from gale ranch, san ramon ca. I can't believe a vault without a camera with open doors during business hours. I think this is the best place for a complete crime for someone who works in this bank and who has a duplicate copy of your safe box in a vault that doesn't have any sort of cameras. I remember every time i used to visit this bank, there was like 1 or 2 workers tops available in the branch. Does this bank believe that workers are fallen angels or something? Aren't they aware that this branch is located in one of the richest cities in California? I'm lucky my box was not totally cleared, as it seems they wanted this to be undiscovered so that they can keep on doing it for life time. I am reporting this to the police and i know that i'm not getting my valuables back, but i want to protect the future victims so that future precautions can be either taken at the bank or customers can regularly check their valuables and immediately report any missing valuables so that this matter can be taken more and more seriously with every time such a crime is committed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

LenaElena's Profile Image

Reviewed by LenaElena

Apr 17th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Awful bank

This bank charges tricky fees all the way. They are there to catch you any time. The customer service is frustrating. To get an answer to a general question, you have to give them every bit of your personal information, which takes forever. They keep and keep asking. I am going to close my account with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dongross's Profile Image

Reviewed by dongross

Feb 12th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Bad deposit release practices

I made a deposit and was told by the bank manager and the teller at Union Bank On West Grand in Escondido, that my funds would release and be available on Monday at 12:01AM.

At 12:30AM Tuesday I went to rent a hotel room and my debit card was declined ....funds not available. I tried again at 1:30AM and 3:00AM still funds denied. The temperature outside was 38 degrees and I stayed awake with no room all that night. i went to the bank the next morning and funds were available after 9AM.

I asked why my funds didn't clear and they told me that no matter what i was told by the manager and the teller that their disclosure says funds may not be available for up to and additional 24 hours depending on how long my deposit took to be posted. Don't count on your money being there if you bank at Union Bank and do not listen to the employees because it is obvious that they are not aware of the printed disclosure that all customers receive and do not read because the print is 10 times smaller than the print you are currently reading. about the size of this comma > , < do you see the comma between the arrows. In short Union Bank Sucks.........

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kjshane's Profile Image

Reviewed by kjshane

Jan 24th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

The gal of this bank to treat a widow with such distain

Union Bank's latest action is an outrage! what this bank has done to my mother, after having a union bank account for over 25 years, with a minimum 10 k balance, never late on a credit card payment or any bill.

They canceled her account when my step father passed on 1/7/13, they had a joint account and she made more money, paid the bills and they have the gal and audacity to assume he is the major figure in this joint account, thats how they justify their decision to close this account.

Assuming he was the principle because he's male, when in fact he was not the principle account holder she has always been in all accounts. This is very chauvinistic and they should be ashamed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review