B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Union Bank Customer Reviews

(46 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 0
3 Star 1
2 Star 7
1 Star 33

The Most Helpful Union Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Mirabacara Sep 5, 2014

Great Service, great people

I have been a customer of this bank in Thousand Oaks near Moorpark Road for many years.. The staff is friendly and always look out for my best interest. I get greeted when I enter the bank and it all feels like family and that they truly care about me. I will be a customer for life.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By AnaG Oct 14, 2015

Stay Away!

Worst customer service ever. Takes 20 minutes just to get someone on the phone.

Worst banking experience ever. They keep authorizing charges to my account, EVEN THOUGH I ASKED FOR NO OVERDRAFT PROTECTION, just so they can charge me $33 penalty. Such greed! Do not trust this bank!

Is this review helpful?

Latest Union Bank Reviews

  • K
    Reviewed By Kathymora Jan 29, 2016

    Stay away!

    Their reviews are awful and they deserve worse! Corrupt policies. Misclassifying mortgages as revolving credit to kill your credit score which makes it impossible to refinance at a lower rate. Admitting error but not fixing it so now I had to sell or keep a higher rate for the duration of the mortgage or until I force a change which could take a long time since they aren't willing to fix their error any time soon( of course I'm going to force that through credit reporting). The lady said "this has been happening with all the old mortgages from the bank they purchased in the merger". Wow! What crooks. Also Kathy at Cottage branch in Santa Barbara is a total racist, and dumb too. She rudely demands to know "where I got this money!?" For a deposit of a check which clearly states it is from an investment account. Well, duh, from an investment jack•••!
    They hold checks for no good reason. They even bounce checks when the money is in there because they hurry to clear the withdrawals before noon and the check they have been holding for ten days isn't off hold until AFTER noon ten days! They are crooked unhelpful bastards and I'm closing my accounts. I'm pissed because I sold a house today just to expedite dumping THEM! I've had that house ten years no problem until Union bank bought my bank and created a lot of "policies" that are foreign to Americans. Like the phones. The manager returns a request for a call back and doesn't give his direct line(no direct lines) so I have to go through twenty questions with a directory just to get back to him.
    Just stay away from these foreign nationals here to prey on us and force us to adapt to their world's policies. I love Japan and I've been there three times but I don't want to bank in Japan. Maybe that is what is taking 10 freaking days to make a deposit!

    Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By helper1 Oct 15, 2015

    Overdraft

    Not happy I realize I have overdrafts but now I can't do a mobile deposit.
    I transfered money from Wells Fargo to Union Bank there are not any branches here. So now I will get fees which I can't afford.
    But as you know it takes three days to post.
    I've been trying hard to be so careful with this account.
    Sorry
    Acct is at fourth and laurel and no one could help.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AnaG Oct 14, 2015

    Stay Away!

    Worst customer service ever. Takes 20 minutes just to get someone on the phone.

    Worst banking experience ever. They keep authorizing charges to my account, EVEN THOUGH I ASKED FOR NO OVERDRAFT PROTECTION, just so they can charge me $33 penalty. Such greed! Do not trust this bank!

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kbooker402 Sep 17, 2015

    Worst Bank Ever

    Three months ago I went to Union banks to refinance my home loan, they give me a short term unsecured loan at almost 10% interest while to loan is being process, they originally quoted me 3.65% then half way through to process tried to raise it to over 4%, now they are dragging their feet at I am paying 10% on the unsecured loan. I have excellent credit and have had many home loans, in the past I used Minnwest bank in South Dakota, the last loan with them took 3 days to process, however the house I am tring to get the loan for is in Nebraska and they don’t do out of state property loans

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By ronk Sep 4, 2015

    Customer service is not their bag

    I have a 50 unit apartment building in Palms. I recently changed property management companies and moved my business bank account to Union Bank at the request of my the new property management company. The rent receipts and checking transactions are handled by the property management company. I have retained responsibility for emptying the coin boxes from the laundry machines and depositing the rolled coins in our bank account. Unlike the past two banks that serviced our account, Union Bank told me that their policy is to receive the rolled coin with no over the counter validation of the number of rolls of quarters. They are unwilling to count the number of rolls, never more than 50 rolls because its to heavy for me lug around, to satisfy my customer service request for a check and balance. I interpret their refusal to indulge me by spending 30 seconds to count the number of rolls of quarter as a very strong indication of their complete lack of customer service orientation. The Century City branch has never been very busy when I make these deposits, so it would not affect their ability to service their other customers. Banks offer their customers only two things: convenience and customer service. Union Bank is no more convenient for me that a dozen other banks in the immediate Century City area and they do not offer a level of customer service that would satisfy even the least demanding customer. I recommend you look elsewhere to meet you banking needs. I have asked my property management company to find us a new bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By boxofcandies Jun 26, 2015

    Worst Branch Ever!

    Was in the neighborhood so I decided to cash my check written by a Union Bank member. Presented valid ID, Bankcard (2nd form of ID) and gave my fingerprint. Incompetent Teller took 10 minutes to process transaction, only to walk over to the Manager Rico, who then told me they need to contact customer to verify that she wrote check. What? Huh? I asked Teller if there was enough money in the acct to cover check. She said, "I can't answer that question." What? Are you kidding me? Of course you can answer the question. The check is for $775 and yes there is money to cover it or no.

    Only in the black neighborhood will you get this type of service. This is the only reason why I don't do business in the black neighborhood. Had I gone to Palos Verdes or Hermosa Beach, they would have gladly cashed my check with no questions asked. Long story short, Teller said it was because of the amount and then later the Manager made up the excuse that the signatures don't match. Do I look stupid? Do you think I forged a check because I'm cashing it in your neighborhood and the member is from Palos Verdes?
    Let's sum it all up. Valid forms of ID, valid fingerprint, money .in the account and I can't cash check. In what world does this happen? Worst part about situation, Manager asked me if I wanted to open an account. Really? Hell no! You get zero stars Rico and Union Bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By gneice Jun 19, 2015

    great bank, great people

    this bank has the best service, and friendliest people working there
    been to other branches and none come close to the service i receive

    Is this review helpful?
  • O
    Reviewed By oceans22 May 27, 2015

    Behind the times & unwilling to catch up

    Union Bank was a cool little niche bank back in the days. But they're unwillingness to catch up to technology like joining the NFC pay systems so that you can use your phone as a payment device is just hilarious.

    Also, they had a good "Bill Pay" system before. Like other banks when you request a payment to be made on a scheduled day, the money is taken right out of your account the day it's requested!

    They switched the system so now it's nothing better than writing my own checks! That's NOT a bill pay system Union Bank! When I make a payment I want to know that it's gone from my checking account & now YOU are liable for making sure it reaches it's destination. That's the convenience of bill pay for most people. It's set it & forget it!

    What you did was just take a system & turn it into a check writing system. I can do that on my own you guys!

    Please fix this or I'm switching to Chase. 30+ year customer about to leave just because of a horrible bill pay & lack of attention to technology.

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By Newportca Feb 6, 2015

    Why The Hold?

    I've been a long time customer of union bank (over 11 years), and i'm troubled with their customer service lately. I deposited a local check, and they put a 10 day hold on it. The check is only for $1000 and my account has always been in good standing. I keep a large balance in my account. I called customer service to have them release the funds and was told they randomly put holds on checks, and that because i used mobile deposit, i was out of luck until the check clears. Why does it take 10 days for a local check to clear?? Looks like i'm going to close my account now. This is not the way to treat good customers.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jnicely76 Dec 30, 2014

    wish there was a 0 star rating

    First the banker opening my account thought she knew where I lived but she confused my house with the one across the street and proceeded to talk crap about my neighbor (she thought was my neighbor but was actually my house). Then I have been called and questioned in person as well about what I was spending my cash withdraws on, I was totally offended again cause it is none of their business what I spend my money on, they also spelled my 1st name wrong on my debit card, and Jamie isn't that hard to spell.
    I have almost a million dollars in their bank and they still don't seem to value my business, maybe because I wear sweats mostly and not business attire but really they shouldn't judge you by what you wear.
    The worst customer service ever, I will be closing my account and going to a different bank very soon. And it's their loss because I have my inheritance coming for several million that will not be deposited in their bank due to the way they do business.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.