B MyBankTracker Rating

Union Bank Customer Reviews

(51 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 0
3 Star 2
2 Star 7
1 Star 36

The Most Helpful Union Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Mari16 Apr 30, 2016

Ms MTP

Love this bank, never have problems, always positive good feeling when I do personal banking because of the positive people who work at them I recommend this bank to people all the time. Thank You for your wonderful service

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Gabriela68 May 31, 2016

Poway branch worst customer service ever

I cannot write all the bad experience I had. Please don't go to this branch. Tellers need a lot of training. Very rude customer service and treat you like you don't know what you're asking for. Avoid the headache. Trust me

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Union Bank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By Manofmayo66 Jul 30, 2016

    The bank sucks but never had a problem with the branches

    I started out with Frontier Bank 10 years ago, then it got bought out by Union Bank. Honestly never had a major issue until 2016; they treated me right, $ got deposited in a day or less, etc. Now though, with their new "rules", I feel like I am getting slowly screwed. I had 4 business accounts & 1 personal account. In Jan 2016, they started charging me $12 per account. When I complained to the branch manager, she 'fixed' it, so it was only $12 for all my business accounts & $12 for the personal. So for a few months I stayed within the guidelines & no charges. Then in May, the bank must have decided to screw me again, and we went back to $12/account/month. So I closed 3 accounts and moved most of my banking to a much better CU.

    Yesterday I went to drop $ into my account, like I always do. It was before their afternoon 'cutoff' point. The check was drawn on another Union Bank account and was (supposedly) deposited directly into my account that day. A day later, Saturday, not a penny in the account. The business bank customer service says they put a hold on the check for 3 days (Wednesday) because it exceeded my monthly deposit limit. WTF? Never had a problem with money not being there the next day....NEVER!!!!! It didn't matter if it was the day before a holiday, or not. I always had the $$$$$$. Even when I was with Bank of America, they never put that long of a hold on my check. Oh and the client had more than enough $ to cover my check.

    I was planning on keeping 1 account open just to keep my safety deposit box (I have a cool number), but to heck with that! They have lost a good business customer. Never again will they get my $.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By manishwari Jun 9, 2016

    Made a bad situation even worse

    Terrible recent experience with this Union Bank branch. My father-in-law just passed away a few months ago. After going through a long and drawn out experience of trying to prove to them that he had actually passed, my mother-in-law ordered new checks so his name wouldn't be on them anymore.

    The new checks arrived this week - but both of their names were still on them! She went to the bank today to work it out with them, and she comes home sobbing because it was such a painful experience for her to have to argue with the employees about her dead husband...having to prove AGAIN that he had in fact died. In addition, apparently they forgot to notify the correct people about the name change for the checks (an understandable mistake), but only would agree to not charge her for the reprints after she burst into tears in front of them because she can't afford the $80-something they charge for checks.

    You would think that any institution would try to treat sensitive situations such as a death of a loved one with the utmost care, but after our experience here it doesn't seem like this Union Bank branch does. We understand that mistakes happen once in a white, but this mistake was not handled well at all...they instead re-opened a wound in this woman's heart and did very little, almost the least required, to make it right again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By Gabriela68 May 31, 2016

    Poway branch worst customer service ever

    I cannot write all the bad experience I had. Please don't go to this branch. Tellers need a lot of training. Very rude customer service and treat you like you don't know what you're asking for. Avoid the headache. Trust me

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mari16 Apr 30, 2016

    Ms MTP

    Love this bank, never have problems, always positive good feeling when I do personal banking because of the positive people who work at them I recommend this bank to people all the time. Thank You for your wonderful service

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By edborine Apr 6, 2016

    My Refinance Horror Story

    This all started 6 months ago, in October, when my wife received a call from Antonio Gomez, telling her that he could offer us a fantastic lower rate on our existing mortgage with Union Bank.
    I then contacted him, obtained a list of all the documents that he required, and provided the bank with everything requested within 48 hours of their request. Then, the next request, was to provide them with copies of credit card statements and other documentation. This went on for about 45 days, and then they told me that there was a problem with my income-to-debt ratio, and that I would have to pay off some of my credit cards. I did that, to the tune of $30,000. This was requested by one of their vice presidents, who purported to be "on my side" - my advocate. For the next few months, he kept telling me how much he had done for me. I assume that he became involved because Antonio is not the brightest bulb in the lamp. Needless to say, the lock on the original rate had expired, and I was told that it was all my fault that the loan could not close. It is now exactly 6 months from the beginning of the process, and I am back where I started, The vice president will not answer my emails. However, the funniest part of this is that 2 weeks ago, Farzad from Union Bank called me to offer a "fantastic lower rate" if I would refinance the existing loan. It appears that the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing at Union Bank. This whole thing is a scam, or certainly appears to be one, intended to lure you into refinancing, earning a nice commission check for their employees, and then telling you that the "rate lock has expired", and that all of the delays are your fault, not the bank's. Absolutely do not deal with these switch and bait artists.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By Kathymora Jan 29, 2016

    Stay away!

    Their reviews are awful and they deserve worse! Corrupt policies. Misclassifying mortgages as revolving credit to kill your credit score which makes it impossible to refinance at a lower rate. Admitting error but not fixing it so now I had to sell or keep a higher rate for the duration of the mortgage or until I force a change which could take a long time since they aren't willing to fix their error any time soon( of course I'm going to force that through credit reporting). The lady said "this has been happening with all the old mortgages from the bank they purchased in the merger". Wow! What crooks. Also Kathy at Cottage branch in Santa Barbara is a total racist, and dumb too. She rudely demands to know "where I got this money!?" For a deposit of a check which clearly states it is from an investment account. Well, duh, from an investment jack•••!
    They hold checks for no good reason. They even bounce checks when the money is in there because they hurry to clear the withdrawals before noon and the check they have been holding for ten days isn't off hold until AFTER noon ten days! They are crooked unhelpful bastards and I'm closing my accounts. I'm pissed because I sold a house today just to expedite dumping THEM! I've had that house ten years no problem until Union bank bought my bank and created a lot of "policies" that are foreign to Americans. Like the phones. The manager returns a request for a call back and doesn't give his direct line(no direct lines) so I have to go through twenty questions with a directory just to get back to him.
    Just stay away from these foreign nationals here to prey on us and force us to adapt to their world's policies. I love Japan and I've been there three times but I don't want to bank in Japan. Maybe that is what is taking 10 freaking days to make a deposit!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By helper1 Oct 15, 2015

    Overdraft

    Not happy I realize I have overdrafts but now I can't do a mobile deposit.
    I transfered money from Wells Fargo to Union Bank there are not any branches here. So now I will get fees which I can't afford.
    But as you know it takes three days to post.
    I've been trying hard to be so careful with this account.
    Sorry
    Acct is at fourth and laurel and no one could help.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AnaG Oct 14, 2015

    Stay Away!

    Worst customer service ever. Takes 20 minutes just to get someone on the phone.

    Worst banking experience ever. They keep authorizing charges to my account, EVEN THOUGH I ASKED FOR NO OVERDRAFT PROTECTION, just so they can charge me $33 penalty. Such greed! Do not trust this bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kbooker402 Sep 17, 2015

    Worst Bank Ever

    Three months ago I went to Union banks to refinance my home loan, they give me a short term unsecured loan at almost 10% interest while to loan is being process, they originally quoted me 3.65% then half way through to process tried to raise it to over 4%, now they are dragging their feet at I am paying 10% on the unsecured loan. I have excellent credit and have had many home loans, in the past I used Minnwest bank in South Dakota, the last loan with them took 3 days to process, however the house I am tring to get the loan for is in Nebraska and they don’t do out of state property loans

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By ronk Sep 4, 2015

    Customer service is not their bag

    I have a 50 unit apartment building in Palms. I recently changed property management companies and moved my business bank account to Union Bank at the request of my the new property management company. The rent receipts and checking transactions are handled by the property management company. I have retained responsibility for emptying the coin boxes from the laundry machines and depositing the rolled coins in our bank account. Unlike the past two banks that serviced our account, Union Bank told me that their policy is to receive the rolled coin with no over the counter validation of the number of rolls of quarters. They are unwilling to count the number of rolls, never more than 50 rolls because its to heavy for me lug around, to satisfy my customer service request for a check and balance. I interpret their refusal to indulge me by spending 30 seconds to count the number of rolls of quarter as a very strong indication of their complete lack of customer service orientation. The Century City branch has never been very busy when I make these deposits, so it would not affect their ability to service their other customers. Banks offer their customers only two things: convenience and customer service. Union Bank is no more convenient for me that a dozen other banks in the immediate Century City area and they do not offer a level of customer service that would satisfy even the least demanding customer. I recommend you look elsewhere to meet you banking needs. I have asked my property management company to find us a new bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.