B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Valley National Bank Customer Reviews

(18 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 1
2 Star 1
1 Star 16

The Most Helpful Valley National Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By David M. Jan 6, 2012

Valley's A Keeper.

I had no major issues with valley national bank. They are one of those regional banks now offering cash bonuses to open accounts (like the big banks) and low mtge costs (like local banks). Their technology is up to par with online and new mobile banking. They had more branches and atm's around me than i realized which made banking with them easy. Overall valley is a good bank with competitive products, rates, technology and service. Did not have a chance to use additional services or products, but for your average banking needs, i think valley's a keeper.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By KKrattiger Dec 4, 2015

So Unhappy, Rude Customer Service, Unnecessary Fees

I refinanced my house through Valley National and do not use them for my online banking. I have one credit card set up on AutoPay through this account. Last month while I was traveling for business, the creditor tried to obtain payment from my account which had insufficient funds. When I returned from my trip, I immediately made a deposit to cover the funds. Valley charged me $35/day for three days in a row (including the day I made the deposit) and an additional $15 fee for the account dipping below the minimum balance which was a result of their penalty charges. I called the manager at the Caldwell branch to explain I was out of town and kindly requested that one of the $35 fees be removed since the money was available. She was rude and adamant that nothing could be done but that she would make the request. Now, two weeks later, and I receive my statement showing the $120 in fees for the month. I'm told that the computer system is responsible for charging me and there's no way to override it....complete BS. Again, I was treated rudely and the situation hasn't been resolved. I doubt she ever tried to resolve it in the first place. Next call is corporate. I have no problem paying a fee for a legitimate charge, but I called my credit card company and they did not charge Valley any fees.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Valley National Bank Reviews

  • W
    Reviewed By Wilk Mar 29, 2016

    PMI For 30 years, crazy!

    I have been with this bank for 13 years and my house value is more than half of my remaining mortgage but they still charge PMI. Other banks take that away after the value of the house is 20% more of what you own. I am getting out this month, going to another bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By KKrattiger Dec 4, 2015

    So Unhappy, Rude Customer Service, Unnecessary Fees

    I refinanced my house through Valley National and do not use them for my online banking. I have one credit card set up on AutoPay through this account. Last month while I was traveling for business, the creditor tried to obtain payment from my account which had insufficient funds. When I returned from my trip, I immediately made a deposit to cover the funds. Valley charged me $35/day for three days in a row (including the day I made the deposit) and an additional $15 fee for the account dipping below the minimum balance which was a result of their penalty charges. I called the manager at the Caldwell branch to explain I was out of town and kindly requested that one of the $35 fees be removed since the money was available. She was rude and adamant that nothing could be done but that she would make the request. Now, two weeks later, and I receive my statement showing the $120 in fees for the month. I'm told that the computer system is responsible for charging me and there's no way to override it....complete BS. Again, I was treated rudely and the situation hasn't been resolved. I doubt she ever tried to resolve it in the first place. Next call is corporate. I have no problem paying a fee for a legitimate charge, but I called my credit card company and they did not charge Valley any fees.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JenMcDonald Nov 1, 2015

    Horrible Customer Service

    Apparently they're switching to new debit cards. I received a call on 10/29/15 from the branch where I opened my account and they told me I hadn't activated it. I honestly didn't know what the person was talking about. I told her I didn't receive it. She kept insisting I did. I told her all of my mail was open and if I did receive it, I must have overlooked it and threw it away. Either way, I don't have it. All she kept saying was, "You did receive. We sent all of them out." I wasn't sure how else to get the point across that I did not have it. I asked her what she can do. She said she'll have to call "headquarters" and see IF they can send me a new card. I said great. So the next day I had trouble when I tried to use my current debit card, which I thought was just the place I was at. Then I tried to use it the following night at two different ATMs and was told my card was cancelled. I called the following morning to find out why. The representative, a different person, told me it was cancelled because I said I never received the new card. She tells me a new one has been sent. What no one explained to me was that the card I already had and the card I apparently threw out, thinking it was an offer and not a mandatory thing, were the same number. So when they cancelled the one I threw out, they cancelled my current one. Do I comprehend what happened? Sure. As I told this representative. What I don't comprehend is why I was never informed about this. Why I wasn't contacted. Also, a new card will take 7-10 business days. When most business days say this, you receive it in a week, Trust me! Not Valley National! I've also had my information stolen, attempted to be stolen, lost my card. Always takes 2+ weeks to get a new card. Not a clue why. Anyway, the woman was rude and defensive. I work in retail and know how to treat customer. This company, sucks ultimately. I will be closing my account. I've been with them awhile, since my job is associated with them. I'm done!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TJWalker Oct 17, 2015

    Backstabbing organization

    The people staffing the offices in Sussex County are two-faced liars and vindictive as hell. When I closed my accounts they did not hesitate to destroy my credit. But then who needs credit cards when you can buy everything with cash so their efforts were nullified. The worst service in the world. They would take out the overdraft payment on my checking account at a whim whenever the payment exceeeded my balance to ensure that checks would bounce and then charge for insufficient funds!

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By gaieges Sep 21, 2015

    Awful customer service all around for their Loan services division

    Can't handle anything aside from Faxes. No self-service portal. Incompetent, inflexible staff. Doesn't accept standard forms of payment (credit, etc), only check and in person cash. Incredibly long delay for anything they do.

    Don't use this bank for anything!

    Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By WPBMillenial Sep 9, 2015

    Rude and Unprofessional

    Just left Valley National in West Palm Beach. My business partner and I are almost complete with renovations for our retail business and wanted to check out the business account services because the bank is local and close. Me: "Hello, I wanted to get some information possibly a brochure for your business accounts." Bank rep: "Well you have to have a Sunbiz first." Duh. Me: "We have an LLC through Sunbiz." "Well you need a MINIMUM (emphasis) of $100 to start an account." Me: [insert sarcastic comment here] and then we walked out. I'm all about constructive criticism, so here it is:

    1. Train your employees better. If you have someone walk in inquiring about a new account, maybe stand up, shake that petson's hand and invite them to sit down, ESPECIALLY if there are three available employees and no other customers in the bank. What else are you doing?

    2. Assume that if I just told you I'm opening a business around the corner, I do have an LLC, sales tax ID, EIN, at least $100 to my name, etc. (which we do). She seemed as if she were implying we didn't.

    3. If someone asks you for an informational brochure, hand one to them. If you don't have brichures maybe you should get some or have a website to suggest.

    Long story short, I walked in asking for information. All I got was disrespect from rude condescending employees. As I mentioned before, I am all about constructive criticism. Maybe this will help with future business owners and potential customers.

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By flyingallover08 Aug 29, 2015

    No common sense!!

    I opened an account on 7/23/15 with $20. Minimum balance to avoid fees is $100.
    I made a wire transfer into this account for $1480.00 which posted on 7/27/15 bringing my new balance to $1500.
    Well, I got a statement a few days ago and I saw a maintenance fee of $15.
    I called customer service and I was told my cycle began on 7/24/15 (a day after I opened the account), that's why I got charged $15. I told her it makes no sense to get charged $15. When I opened my account the agent told me I have until the end of July to make a deposit and brig my balance over $100.
    The customer service tried to talk smart to me saying that she's just answering what I asked. I lost it and told her off because she has no common sense. I asked her to waive the fee. She put me on hold for a few minutes them said she put in a request to have it waived but can't guarantee it!!!
    WTF?! Are they gonna make me waste my time and call again.
    If this doesn't get waived, I'm closing my account and file a complain with the BBB.

    Is this review helpful?
  • X
    Reviewed By xx4610 Jan 9, 2015

    They Deny Debit Card Transactions

    Just opened up an account with them since they were within walking distance of where I live, but after 2 weeks I finally received my debit card and tried to do a purchase online and found that it was being denied. So I checked my balance and all was good. I then call customer service and they told me that purchases will be denied if they don't like the product. What the hell...Its my money and they are telling me what I can and can not buy????

    Is this review helpful?
  • ZW
    Reviewed By Zev W. Dec 30, 2014

    Incompetent Bank - Use Other Bank!!!

    Multiple Issues with this bank, I moved to a new neighborhood and opened a account with Valley National Bank for my business, it took about a month or more to receive my bank deposit stamp, they never have any envelopes for deposit or deposit slips at their ATM's so you can not make any deposit there unless you picked up their envelopes at a other location or during business hours when a teller is available, they once froze my debit card, since they thought a certain transaction might be fraud, they left me a message from the company head quarters that I should return their call, I called back but no answer so left message, they never returned call and card was frozen for purchases for about 4 or 5 weeks until I called again and got through to customer service.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Renata Nov 25, 2014

    Terrible Customer Service

    I reached out to the bank to obtain an online banking log in. That was over a month ago. They sent me a form to fill out (most banks just let you sign up online), i filled it out and have now faxed and emailed it on at least 5 separate occasions. No one answers my emails and the two times they did it was a copy paste telling me that they need that form. How many copies of that form do they need? Why can't i give them zero stars? I told them it was an emergency and they could not care less.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.