A MyBankTracker Rating

Zions Bank Customer Reviews

(24 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 2
4 Star 1
3 Star 2
2 Star 0
1 Star 19

The Most Helpful Zions Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Tuscany G. Mar 22, 2014

Superior customer service, prompt and efficient facilitating of my business and personal banking needs.

I have my business and personal account with Zions Bank. The Roy, UT branch is the branch I always use. Tiffany, the Manager, with Brandon, Melissa, Becky and Ben ALWAYS go above and beyond in ensuring that I am treated like a valued customer. Their service is superb, and I highly recommend them.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By 1chiro Oct 1, 2014

After 35 Years..

I have had both my personal and business accounts with Zions Bank for the past 35 years. I have run millions of dollars through this bank only to be 'run over' with a ton of fees and poor service. Once we return from our mission, it is good-by forever. Check out Community Credit Union or Mountain America. Before we left on our mission, we set up accounts at both institutions. They were wonderful. Both of them have fine-tuned their customer service.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Zions Bank Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By DaveS Feb 19, 2016

    Zions Bank sucks !!!

    After tolerating poor service and outlandish fees for over 27 years I moved what little money I had left to America First . The local Zions branch has turned into a place of quiet tranquil solitude . There are no customers, no loans, and plenty of parking . I doubt the original founder BRIGHAM YOUNG would be to proud Glad to be gone. GOD BLESS

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nfarrell Dec 13, 2015

    Awful customer service

    I would give zero stars if I could. Customer service employees are exceptionally rude. Their ATM at the Foothill branch just took my debit card and checks for deposit and then froze with my stuff inside the machine. When I called and asked for help, my only option was to wait until the branch opens on Monday morning and close my debit card in the meantime. The people on the phone suggested it was my fault and then berated me for expressing my frustration. They have also lost checks the were deposited through the ATM. We will also be switching banks even though I have banked with Zions for twenty years and it will be a monumental pain. What a joke this bank is.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Same Nov 24, 2015

    They don't know shit!

    They won't let me transfer money into my other account! Since when can I not transfer money into my own account?!?!?! I have been doing it since I set up my account 11 years ago...... I went to a different location and they said that was bs!!! Going to start going to a different bank! The girl who wouldn't let me transfer name is erma. Thanks erma!!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Tryan Sep 11, 2015

    After 18 years, I am done with the copious amount of fees and lack of concern for my money.

    There was a time when I loved Zions. Unfortunately, it now seems customers are nothing more than a way to increase their revenue.
    I was dumb enough to think if I made a purchase and deposited the money to cover said purchase, before the money was withdrawn the next day, I would be ok and not incur fees as I knew for a fact what time the purchase would go through. Even though I did make the deposits before the money was withdrawn, I was charged fees because 'that's bank policy' if a merchant does a preauthorization. I know of other banks that don't do this so I will be switching to another bank.
    I also noticed my savings account dwindling every month by $3. Service fees. I never kept a lot of money in there because I never saw it grow when I did anyway, but if you want to earn interest on a savings account, Zions is definitely not the place for you.
    When I went in to close my savings account, the teller made no apologies or even showed the slightest bit of concern that I was closing an 18 yr old account. I told her my checking would soon follow after some transactions posted, but again, no sign of the slightest concern. So, I guess I that's that. Zions, you have lost another customer and one day, we will all add up. Especially after more hear about you aiding in senior citizen fraud.

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By king801 Aug 26, 2015

    Awful customer service

    Surprised I am the first to write a review about this branch. I received awful service from a lady today at the Zions Bank Sandy branch on 2137 E 9400 s. She is apparently the "customer service" specialist at that branch. I had an issue with my account and was being charged wrongful late fees and charges that were due to a payment transfer on my account that was incorrect. It was a mistake on their part and the lady was willing to do nothing to make the situation better. She gave me no explanation what so ever as to why or how the late charges were showing on the account, and no professional explanation as to why they would not be able to get them removed. She also glared at me during the whole conversation and had attitude. I mean seriously lady your job is CUSTOMER SERVICE i think you can try a little bit harder than that. Then, as if it couldn't get worse the branch manager was ALSO not willing to do anything for me (the lady went and talked to him on her own im not entirely sure how that conversation went). The branch manager couldn't even get off his butt and out of his office to have a conversation with an upset client? I mean seriously, what's the point in these positions anyway? I decided to visit a different branch to see what kind of answers I would receive from them. They took off 60%+ of my late charges are were so respectful and courteous to me. Not only were they respectful, but they were able to take care of my issues and explain in a professional matter as to why the issues were on the account in the first place. I find it extremely unlawful that not only did the specialist at the Sandy branch AND the branch manager tell me there was "nothing they could do" but, I go to a different branch and they do everything in their power to honor my requests and save me TONS of money? I was told I could not post names on here but I sure hope if there are any executives reading this they know who to talk to and teach the SIMPLE, BASIC principals of customer service.. cause what a disappointment that was!

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By ad95 Aug 25, 2015

    Worst service and rude employees

    The crappiest branch ever. There were FOUR tellers and no one in line and they made me wait. They say "I'll be with you" and forget about you for 10 mins. I closed my account with them for many reasons big they don't know how to do that either. It keeps going in the negative because they keep charging me fees. Mountain America all the way. Zions is awful.

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Lorey Oct 2, 2014

    Customer Service

    I've been working with lori at the west valley branch off of 2700. West. I had a couple of small issues, that wasn't part of her department, but she kept me on the phone and trying different departments until it was resolved. She's very pleasant to work with.

    Is this review helpful?
  • 1
    Reviewed By 1chiro Oct 1, 2014

    After 35 Years..

    I have had both my personal and business accounts with Zions Bank for the past 35 years. I have run millions of dollars through this bank only to be 'run over' with a ton of fees and poor service. Once we return from our mission, it is good-by forever. Check out Community Credit Union or Mountain America. Before we left on our mission, we set up accounts at both institutions. They were wonderful. Both of them have fine-tuned their customer service.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By manOseven Jul 26, 2014

    After 15+ years just can't handle the amount of fees

    Too much to say and not worth my time. Over the past fifteen years banking with Zions bank has cost me thousands of dollars. Really my own fault that I didn't leave years ago. I understand that banks have policies and we agree to them to use them as a bank. Whenever I had troubles with my accounts the people were almost always kind but the policies that never show mercy or understanding makes me feel that I not their concern, just my money. I am done.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By carmend Jul 19, 2014

    Zions Bank does not honor withdrawal orders.

    I have several IRA CDs at Zions Bank. The list of wrongs is long and ugly. Last year, Zions failed to pay out the federal "required minimum distribution" on my IRA (I am over 70 1/2 years old). It took until February to get that straightened out, although they did at last issue a revised federal form that would otherwise have meant a tax penalty. In May, I requested a rollover of all of my IRA funds to another institution. As of today (July 19, 2014), they still have not released the final $80,000+. Even though I have made many phone calls and my new institution has sent many formal letters (7 at last count), the money is still at Zions. In my most recent phone call with them, I requested a statement of transactions. The reply was "the statement will be issued in January, 2015." After some argument, the "customer service" person explained that I could get a non-official printout by visiting my local Zions Branch. Two problems there: my "local branch" (Cache Valley) no longer exists and I live out of state. No amount of pleading for a statement was honored. I suppose the recent federal rating explains some of this, but why is customer service so non-service oriented? I will be so glad when the last of my money is out of there! And I wish there was a negative number rating.

    Federal rating story, Deseret News: http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865599234/Zions-Bank-falls-short-on-Federal-Reserve-6stress-test7.html?pg=all. "One of Utah's largest banking institutions is the only large bank in the nation that did not meet the minimum standards for financial capital levels set by the Federal Reserve in the event of a major economic meltdown. Zions Bancorp was the only bank of 30 tier-1 large institutions reviewed that did not meet the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act stress test lowest guidelines."

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.