Number of reviews:
11,482
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or credit...

Read »

Latest Reviews

nessob's Profile Image

nessob reviewed Peoples United Bank

Feb 25th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Order Checks - Get Ripped Off

I placed an order with peoples for checks expecting to get a fair amount of checks for about $20 or $25. I figured, give them the business rather than some online company. What a mistake! I received 50 checks and a few deposit slips and was charged a whopping $46. 76. That's almost $1 per check. They were business checks but that's ridiculous. I called peoples customer service and the answer was we're sorry but you're screwed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dej2010's Profile Image

dej2010 reviewed Capital One 360

Feb 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Was A Great Bank Right Up Until.

Capital one 360 closed my account. No warning, no phone call or email. I found out about it because i suddenly could no longer log in any my transactions started to bounce. When i called to find out what was happening, the typically cheery rep suddenly became stern and cold with me. "you'll get a letter in the mail explaining why. "

you might assume i was a bad customer. I certainly can't imagine how that would be possible. $20k a month in and out of my account, three year relationship. I'll admit that i wrote about five checks over the life of the relationship that bounced - the most recent being 6 months ago - because my direct depositor had an unfortunate habit of sending funds a day late and i would occasionally write a check the day before the deposit assuming it would be ok.

I take ownership of this mistake, and i paid my penance for this transgression through bank fees on my "no fees" account. If i am the definition of a customer who deserves a sudden banking crisis followed by a curt letter that says "going forward, no additional activity can take place and no new accounts can be opened. Thanks, capital one 360" then this is the bank for you. My letter in return:

Dear capital one 360,

when i let you hold on to my money while i wasn't using it, i thought you'd appreciate the interest you could earn by turning around and loaning it to your mortgage customers. Now that you've had a sudden change of heart and told me to get lost, i want to return the favor. I've let many people know about your customer relationship approach and the value each individual account holder has to you.

As for the people whom i've previously recommended capital one 360, i have contacted each one to rescind and apologize for my recommendation. Going forward, no marketing material or other contact of any kind will accepted. In addition, i will make an effort to let as many people know my experience as i am able. Thanks,

-your former

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mommom's Profile Image

mommom reviewed First Citizens Bank

Feb 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Don't Ever Go To First Citizens!

After 13 years with fcb, and always being able to access my payroll deposits immediately after they are made, my debit card was denied today at the grocery store. After being on hold for 30 minutes with the bank, they said they don't know why i can't get my money today, but it will be available tomorrow. That leaves me with no groceries. My next visit to this bank will be to close my account. That is not customer service or loyalty!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ADiMaggio's Profile Image

ADiMaggio reviewed PNC Bank

Feb 24th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Good Bank, Better People

After having a business account at PNC for several years, we finally opened a personal account with PNC. Kelly in Taneytown was very helpful in getting our new account opened. She pointed out the many benefits of having an account with PNC (all of which were not offered by our previous bank). She answered all my questions about getting the account started and I know she would answer any I have in the future.

Looking forward to a long banking relationship with PNC! Wondering why we didn't pursue this sooner.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Frankly's Profile Image

Frankly reviewed Discover Bank

Feb 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Started Out Great Until We Had A Problem

We opened a savings account and really were enjoying the interest we were getting. Only negative was when we transferred money from another account to discover it came out immediately but took days before it was put into my savings. The real problem was when i decided to open a checking account with discover. I did it online and made 2 mistakes i did not realize until i submitted it. I immediately contacted someone at discover banking and after spending about an hour with them i was told everything was fixed and i was ready to go.

A couple of days later i signed onto my discover account only to find that my savings account had disappeared but the checking was there. I called spoke to customer service and was informed i was not authorized to access my savings account. I was not happy and after some research they said that they had to work on it and they would keep me in the loop on the status. After not hearing from them for a couple of days i called back and this time i was told by a supervisor he would call me back.

He called me back and said they were working on the problem and he would own the problem and continue to keep me in the loop. Again days went by no word so i called spoke to another supervisor and he said he would transfer me savings into my checking and once the got my savings account fixed he would make sure that i would not lose any interest that i would have received if it was left in savings and would call me as soon as my savings was fixed. That was over a month ago and i have not heard one word from discover. I plan on closing the checking account and never bank where i can't walk in to talk to someone and get my problem resolved. Very bad experience.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

T_Wade's Profile Image

T_Wade reviewed Bank of the West

Feb 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

I do not bank with bank of the west. I have a loan through them for a vehicle purchase that was negotiated by a third party. I have never had a need to call in for assistance until today since i put my account on auto pay. I merely called for one piece of information. 1st complaint hold time was extremely long. 2nd the customer service agent was unfriendly and rude. Hopefully i can find a new loan service provider and take my business and dollars elsewhere. Tw

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Frannie1522's Profile Image

Frannie1522 reviewed Commercial Bank & Trust Co.

Feb 24th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Best Ever

Have had lots of dealings with a lot of banks all over the US and MX. and have never been treated nicer than at Commercial. They are always ready to do anything you ask and with a smile.Even with my Trust at another bank Commercial is still just as nice to me.

Thank you, Fran Michael

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

toillenehoc's Profile Image

toillenehoc reviewed Synchrony Bank

Feb 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Stay Clear of Synchrony's IRA Dept.

Incompetence abounds! Upper management is well insulated. Try calling their home office in Utah at 801 816 4760. They NEVER answer and don't return messages. Where is Margaret Keane, the head honcho? Perfect example of the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. Go to Barclays or TCF to get the 1% rate.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jbeabout's Profile Image

jbeabout reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Feb 24th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent Bank

I am surprised to read anything negative about first merit bank in willard. We moved all of our accounts to them after a different willard bank messed up our accounts during their name change/acquisition and we have been very pleased. All of the cashiers and management are friendly, helpful, and go the extra mile. I would highly recommend this branch of the bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mrqjohnson1's Profile Image

mrqjohnson1 reviewed Regions Bank

Feb 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Comcasts of Banks. Simply terrible!

Regions security department recently made me aware my Checkcard had been hacked/cloned and instructed me to visit the local branch. Upon my visit to the local Regions Snellville, Ga Branch, the Manager and her district Manager requested I return on a specific date/time after she could not answer a few questions. However, upon my return I was shocked to discover Snellville Branch Manager requested a Police presence during my visit that was unrelated to the fraudulent activity.

I have never yelled, use profane language, nor behaved in any manner other than professional while in the Snellville Regions Branch yet it's manager on February 20, 2015 has acted to close my account effectively on March 05, 2015 irrespective of an excellent account history. This all is very disturbing.

It seems that being Hacked While Black is enough for Regions's Snellville location to dismiss your concerns; treat you like a criminal when you have been victimized; and close your account when you ask questions.

I have filed an internal complaint with Regions.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »