Number of reviews:
10,577
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or cred...

Read »

Latest Reviews

luluc's Profile Image

luluc reviewed Citibank

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible is the word

This morning I walked into the

branch because my fiancées brother had a problem cashing Amex travelers checks abroad that we had purchased at that branch. We were greeted by a young lady .After telling her the reason for being there the bank manager spoke to us. She never introduced herself. .

She then said that she couldn't do anything because we don't have an account there. ( When we bought the travelers checks they took the fees and we were not required to have an account).

"I don't know what to tell you", she said. I told her she has to make some phone calls to resolve this problem. She said as far as she was concerned, "I can just tell you to take a walk". After much discussion, she made some phone calls.

She was told that we should open an account, deposit the travelers checks .

She called another bank employee to do that because she said "I'm the bank manager and I don't do that job.

A very pleasant employee, Patrick, opened the account for us. He also confided that other bank customers had trouble with travelers checks abroad.

This bank manager was rude, obnoxious, nasty and disgusting.

Citi Bank should have someone from their central office come in as an ordinary customer with a banking problem and see how this woman will respond to their problem.

I have accounts, Iras, investments and mortgages with other banks. In the 40 years that I have dealt with banks, I Never experienced such a terrible interaction. I wouldn't hire this woman to clean the toilets in Walmart!!!! Citi Bank with employees like this you only lose customers and ruin the reputation of the bank!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BajaInsider's Profile Image

BajaInsider reviewed National Penn

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Protecting their Ass-ets

have a horror story of National Penn Bank, which is far more interested in protecting their ass-etts than in providing customer service and access to their monies. Their policies on credit card purchases is so restrictive that I could not have a laptop shipped to my home/billing address. I am currently in Mexico and need to travel quickly to my home in West Grove and wanted a simple laptop order from NewEgg to be there when I arrived to take care of my ailing 84 year old father.

I had to make a special international wire transfer of $2098 to cover the transaction yesterday, which was credited to my account. I have spent 80 dollars on the transfer ($16 of it to have my monies recieved and more than 7 hrs since 4Am my time this morning on the phone with customer service representatives, impotent to resolve the issue.

I needed this situation resolved promptly as I am an international businessman and will only be in West Grove a few days before traveling to my next assignment. My agency represents the interests of Prudential Mexico just to name a few.

The inability of Customer service to resolve this issue following clear personal identification, hours on the phone and a plethora of email exchanges, promising the issue had been resolve has provided me great frustration and a total lack of confidence in this bank to propperly administrate my money and account.

Under the guise of protecting customer liability your readers should be made clear my liability is limited by law, it is their liability that concerns them more than customer service,

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rameriwether's Profile Image

rameriwether reviewed Huntington

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I FOUND AN ASTERISK

Wow, I just got off the phone with a supposed manager. She kept talking over me the whole time. I was trying to figure out why some pending payments posted AFTER 6:30 pm, causing my account to go negative. She actually told me that they post charges AFTER midnight for the previous day. How would I know that the pending charges would actually go through that late? I even deposited money to make sure my account would be current, but did not deposit enough. Everything about this situation is terrible. I've never heard of a bank posting after the Fed closes. I've worked in 2 banks and we always told customers that nothing posts after the fed closes. That is why your deposits after 4 pm eastern time have that disclaimer that they may not count for that day.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MichelBoston's Profile Image

MichelBoston reviewed Citizens Bank

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bogus fees

My wife and I have been Citizens Bank clients for 19 years. This week, returning from a week vacation, I got a mail telling me that my Checking account was in the red and that I had $ 218.00 in fees because of that. When we opened the account we set it up with overdraft protection. We are signed up for online banking and never got a notice that the account was in the red; we would have solved this problem in 30 seconds with our computer, considering we have money in our CD and our Savings account. This is just insane. I have talked to the branch manager and 3 people from customer service, but nobody listens. can somebody at Citizens tell me who I should contact to solve this issue?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cab5s1975's Profile Image

cab5s1975 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Customer Service

I do feel better after reading some of these other reviews. I have many credit cards and couldn't believe how terribly I’ve been treated by Synchrony regarding my Old Navy card. Apparently I missed one payment in six years because I didn't receive the statement and they starting calling my house at all times of day and night with cryptic electronic messages asking me to call. I have a small baby at home and they woke him up repeatedly. Then, when I finally was able to call, I could not get anyone who spoke English on the phone. When I would ask to speak to a manager, I would be disconnected. On my fourth attempt, I was just pressing buttons to bypass all of the required listening at the beginning of each call, and apparently I inadvertently closed my account. When I was finally able to speak to someone who spoke English, they assured me they would correct my account closure but I received a letter a week later saying that my account cannot be reopened and all my accumulated points and rewards are lost. I’ve spoken to every level of manager and each has repeated the same message. I will miss Old Navy but if they can’t choose better vendors than this then they deserve to lose business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

whinds's Profile Image

whinds reviewed Regions Bank

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank I Ever Dealt With

This bank is so terrible at customer service after years of being with them, that I finally pulled my checking & savings accounts & went to Chase bank who is wonderful! Unfortunately I still have a loan account through Regions.They lost a payment sent to them from Chase. (typical) and racked up tons of late charges on my account. When I asked them to please refund the charges after everything was cleared up. If something got lost in the mail it is not the banks error.

Wow, I don't want to give them even 1 star. Their customer service is NON-EXSISTENT!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

tomhastings's Profile Image

tomhastings reviewed Fifth Third Bank

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

DON'T USE 5/3 BANK

I have had extremely bad experience with this Colony branch over the years. So I primarily use the Carmel branch. The tellers and people have been much nicer than Colony. However their personnel has been changing rapidly lately. The person in charge is extremely not customer friendly. Yesterday I stopped by the Carmel ATM to withdraw $300.00 cash. The transaction processed but did not give me the cash. I immediately went inside and they gave me $300.00. I asked if the other $300 ATM was off my account. They said no but a man comes to the ATM twice a week and I would have to wait until next week to get the $300. posted back to my account ONLY IF the ATM showed an excess of $300. This is completely unaccepable in this age of technology. The tellers sent me to the manager in charge who was very "letter of the law" and also told me I would have to wait until they determined if their machine was in balance next week. The implication from this "so called manager" was that I may have taken the money and they would take their time to figure out if they were wrong and then and only when they physically check the machine would I mayby get a credit back into my account. I was upset that she had no sympathy and was so"letter of the law". Apparantly 5/3 teaches their personnel to handle disputes and any request for help this way. If there had been a real manager with customer service skills there, I would not have gotten so upset. Because I was upset the manager said she was going to call the police and picked up the phone to call. I felt like I was the one who had been robbed and I should call the police on them. I left extremely upset. I looked online to get the phone number of someone of authority I could talk to but they guard the numbers like gold. So I had to use the 800 call an idiot number in order to receive more run around. PLEASE CONSIDER MY NUMEROUS BAD EXPERIENCES WITH THIS BANK BEFORE YOU OPEN AN ACCOUNT. If its your money, you want attention.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ecb's Profile Image

ecb reviewed BB&T

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

HORRIBLE BANK EVER

BB&T is such a horrible bank. And after 2 years of banking with them, i finally realized it. I had a credit card payment come out of my account w/o my permission which caused me to overdraft. i called that credit card company, said that they needed to put that money back to my account asap because they were not authorized to take it in the first place. They said we apologize, the money will go back. i called BB&T to let them know that hey, I had something come out of my account and it wasn't suppose too and now i overdraft and i was also charged 36$ for an overdraft fee, but that payment is going to be refunded to me, so will everything go back to normal? the rep said ABSOLUTELY YES. in the meantime i had other bills that come straight out of my account which made me overdraft some more. I called again, gave them the story, they said all we need to see is that credit card refund and everything will do a REVERSE. I said great. Refund came a week later. i had two charges that came out after the credit card payment, along with 4 36$ OVERDRAFT FEES ! IN ONE WEEK!?? They not only took my refund, but my credit card company is SO NICE AND GENEROUS they gave me an additional 50$ for the trouble and BB&T TOOK THAT MONEY while I'm still left with A NEGATIVE BALANCE including 3 36$ OVERDRAFT FEES!! I called them up and said wait a min, my refund came back why didn't a "reverse" happen?? Not to mention it took me 37 minutes to get a rep on the phone. the rep tried to tell me, even if that payment never happened your account would still have been a negative bc you didn't have enough funds for the other transactions coming out of your account... HOW DARE YOU MAKE SUCH AN ASSUMPTION???? so now, the paycheck that i worked so hard for at my job...is gone. they took it all. and after 2 LONG and STRESSFUL weeks, my account is being looked at for fraud. BB&T IS THE ABSOLUTE WORST. NOT PROFESSIONAL. HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. AND THEY'LL TAKE EVERY PENNY YOU HAVE.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jww1423's Profile Image

jww1423 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Web site is terrible

When ever we try to use the web site to transfer money in or out. we get a message

telling us to contact customer service at the main phone number. This involves a poor/long proceedure to get to a live person who generally is not much help as we still can not use the web site. We have had many accounts banks etc., none that were this bad. Now if only I can figure how to close this account at Synchrony Bank, we will move to another savings bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DaveMcArthur's Profile Image

DaveMcArthur reviewed PNC Bank

Aug 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Banking Experience In My Life

I have had a checking account with PNC for less than a week and all I want to do is to close the account. This being the 21st Century, one would think that opening an account online would be a simple process. The only simple part was PNC taking my deposit. I never received a signature card, I have never been able to create my online account, it has been locked out since I open the account and despite calling the Customer Service number multiple times to get the account unlocked, that should never have been locked in the first place, it remains locked out. At this point I am so frustrated with the abject stupidity and run around I have received from this so called bank, I am ready to surrender my $100 deposit just to never have to deal with the run around and frustration ever again. If you are considering using PNC , do your self a favor and DO NOT do it! You would be better off keeping your money under your mattress.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates