Number of reviews:
10,948
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or cred...

Read »

Latest Reviews

4dave2323442334243's Profile Image

4dave2323442334243 reviewed PNC Bank

Oct 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

PNC Is The Worst Bank In The World!

I have banked with all major banks over the last 50 years and i work in the lending industry! PNC mortgage is a complete joke and lie to their customers about rates, options, and do not disclose information vital to customers well being. Stay away at all costs.! You are much safer with BoA, Chase, 5/3!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pambroboptonlinene's Profile Image

pambroboptonlinene reviewed Wells Fargo

Oct 23rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Yes There Is A Bank With Service! Go To Dee Raffington.

I've been banking here for over 10 years. Impeccable service. Always available. Not like any other local banks. I have used them all. It's the people here that make the difference. They call you if there is a problem! That is local service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HatingOnSynchrony's Profile Image

HatingOnSynchrony reviewed Synchrony Bank

Oct 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Experience

So i purchased an expensive appliance which is financed thru synchrony. I sent in a payment via regular check. Then set up auto pay so that a specific amount would be withdrawn each month. End of story right? Wrong. I get an email about a month after autopay is set up telling me that they withdrew, and then redeposited my payment. So they withdrew it, ok? I'm told by customer service that the bank account info i had entered into my profile was incorrect and so now my account is past due.

Well, synchrony was able to withdraw the money, so how is it that my bank account info is wrong? Really? Poor customer service coupled with issues over autopay. If i can transfer the balance i owe to synchrony over to any other bank i will do so and know that i'll get 100000% better service. Moral of the story, don't go with synchrony. Big waste of time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

johdys's Profile Image

johdys reviewed Discover Bank

Oct 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Discover Bank Is Meaner Than The IRS

Even our federal tax agency gives us a break when it comes to weekends and federal holidays as to when our income tax payment is considered late. As we older, conservative savers know very well, interest rates on savings have been paltry since the democrats decided to control the financial markets. Many of us have been driven to internet banking companies just to receive a 1% return on our savings. Well here is a big warning to those who attempt to withdraw their savings from one of these internet banks – discover bank of utah. My case is simple and probably not too unusual. I have a $50k ira cd deposited with discover bank. The cd matures on october 12, 2014 – a sunday.

I do receive notice of this event from the bank. On monday the 13th i attempt to close the account and request distribution. No luck here – a federal holiday – columbus day. Online, i discover that i must complete an ira distribution form and send it to the bank. I dutifully perform this and mail it on the 13th but of course no mail this day so it goes out on the 14th. Still ok i figure, the notice letter said discover bank must receive on or before oct. 21 or there will be consequences. What consequences you ask? Well severe ones. My $50k cd earned $500 for the entire year but ‘early withdrawal penalty’ will take one half of this away.

Unfortunately either due to our us postal service or discover bank’s internal mail system, my distribution request form did not land on the proper desk until october 22 – one day late according to discover bank management. Let’s get this straight, the government rules for this transaction dictates 10 days to close your account and get your money. Oct 12 is a sunday and october 13 is columbus day do not count – no actions can be taken on these days. By my count and even the irs’s count the elapsed days from october 14 to october 22 is less than 10 days.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

htatiparthiyahooco's Profile Image

htatiparthiyahooco reviewed Bank of America

Oct 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank

Very poor customer service. Do credit checks with out intimating customer

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Phoebesslwe's Profile Image

Phoebesslwe reviewed Wells Fargo

Oct 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Representatives Are Rude

I was in the albuquerque, nm branch. Then i was waiting on the chair in the lobby as i was told to. Brianna went over me and just talked to some over just went inside the branch. I was completely ignored. When finally mathew was helping me, he has a long face and didn't have a good attitude. I am really pissed off by my experience in the branch and won't go back again!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Kaitlyn's Profile Image

Kaitlyn reviewed 1st Security Bank of Washington

Oct 22nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Love My Bank!

They are always so fun and personable, plus they're just a phone call away in case i need their help! I like that i can always count on them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dscott's Profile Image

dscott reviewed Synchrony Bank

Oct 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible customer service!!

I called to open a account and supplied all the necessary information to the person on the telephone. This person was very polite and took the time to make sure all the necessary information was supplied. She did tell me at the time it would take 48 hours to process and that someone would call me back with my new account number and information on how to fund the account. Since I did not hear back from them 3 days later, I called and was told it would take up to 72 hours.

On the fifth day, I called again. This person could not explain why I hadn't heard from them and didn't have an account number for me, so I asked to speak to a supervisor and was transferred. The supervisor who took the call had an extremely bad attitude. I felt I was interfering with her day and she had much more important things to do than talk to me. She kept cutting me off and acted annoyed when I asked a question. She did say that my application for a CD was approved two days ago and someone would be calling back with my account number and information on how to fund the account.

She was very abrupt, and I felt she did not understand my concern for not hearing back from someone concerning opening the account. She offered no reason why no one had called to finish setting up the account. I said since it was approved two days ago and no one had the professional courtesy to call, maybe they didn't really want my money in their bank, and maybe I should go elsewhere. I also told her I didn't appreciate her attitude and her lack of professionalism. She never apologized but said that she would finish getting my account number and would call back in two hours. I did receive a call back within the two hours, but from a different supervisor.

The new supervisor who called explained the delay and was very apologetic. I did not feel rushed and answered all my questions. It's really sad that it took several phone calls, several customer service operators, and two supervisors to finally put my $$ in their bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

effieb's Profile Image

effieb reviewed Synchrony Bank

Oct 21st 2014

2 out of 5 marks

The Price Of The High Rate Is Dark-Ages Tech And Policies!

Opening the account online was easy, which is why they have 2 stars. Everything else is rough; their website is from dinosaur internets times.

That, and I'm in danger of being unable to purchase a house! I put in an offer and it was accepted. Hooray! But, you've only got a couple of days to send in the earnest money (usually 1% of the purchase price). So I call Synchrony to initiate a wire.

First, I had to *call* to initiate a wire. But it gets worse. I needed to sign some paperwork. Fine. Then they told me I have to MAIL it to them, like with the US Mail; the postal service. I asked whether I could email or fax it. Nope! Has to be mailed. And then "the lady who handles our wires" (one person??!) would call me on the phone to confirm. What?!

Now. I'm a patient lady. But look, this is 2014! The ESIGN act of 2000 says that while Synchrony isn't *required* to accept an electronic version of this form, they totally can if they want to. They can just print it and file it like they would with a mailed copy! I need this wire initiated ASAP. I can't wait, even overnighting the mail isn't fast enough. I need to transfer the money to my Simple account (full disclosure: I work for Simple, which is not a competitor to Synchrony as it's just a checking account). Then I need to buy a money order with my Simple card, and hand deliver it to the bank. Luckily it's a local bank! This process is STILL faster than overnighting freaking paper to Synchrony.

It's 2014. If you ever worry that you may need to get money out of your savings account in a timely manner, I'd advise against opening an account here.

EDIT: I called again the next day. I can send a fax (*whew!!*), but I still need to mail the physical form. This is still dumb, and my 2-star review stands.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RichardNeilan's Profile Image

RichardNeilan reviewed Trustco Bank

Oct 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible, Arrogant Customer Service.

My very brief "relationship" ( i despise how banks abuse this term) with trustco bank has been horrific. I have never experienced such "black and white," arrogant service, not to mention managers who avoid speaking with customers whenever possible. Just try to get in-touch with any senior manager at trustco! It will be nearly impossible! Their corporate offices in ny?

Forget it! You'll have an easier time reaching the wizard of oz! And if you do get to speak with a bank "executive" it will be very clear why service is so poor at the branch and lower management levels. These guys have absolutely no clue about customer service! When i opened my account, i had hopes of eventually refinancing my mortgage with trustco. Fortunately i decided to first open a basic checking account.

Based on their "handling" of my initial business i am so glad i can quickly sever my ties with this lousy excuse for a "financial institution. " if you're even thinking about doing business with trustco, run, don't walk to your nearest credit union! Trustme, you'll be in better hands.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates