Number of reviews:
10,949
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or cred...

Read »

Latest Reviews

RichardNeilan's Profile Image

RichardNeilan reviewed Trustco Bank

Oct 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible, Arrogant Customer Service.

My very brief "relationship" ( i despise how banks abuse this term) with trustco bank has been horrific. I have never experienced such "black and white," arrogant service, not to mention managers who avoid speaking with customers whenever possible. Just try to get in-touch with any senior manager at trustco! It will be nearly impossible! Their corporate offices in ny?

Forget it! You'll have an easier time reaching the wizard of oz! And if you do get to speak with a bank "executive" it will be very clear why service is so poor at the branch and lower management levels. These guys have absolutely no clue about customer service! When i opened my account, i had hopes of eventually refinancing my mortgage with trustco. Fortunately i decided to first open a basic checking account.

Based on their "handling" of my initial business i am so glad i can quickly sever my ties with this lousy excuse for a "financial institution. " if you're even thinking about doing business with trustco, run, don't walk to your nearest credit union! Trustme, you'll be in better hands.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jeffnewmexicangmai's Profile Image

jeffnewmexicangmai reviewed Simple

Oct 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

The Worst Banking Mistake I Ever Made

I just went back to Wells Fargo today and am getting out of Simple ASAP. This bank did an "upgrade" that wreaked havoc with my account and my life.

I can do everything and even more with a traditional bank like Wells than I can with Simple. What you ask? How about pay my bills in any format I want (like echeck for my rent), a great mobile app that does more than Simple and how about a bank that doesn't do destructive upgrades and has free REAL checks because unfortunately this world requires them. Or even one that allows me to make cash deposits.

I give Simple less than a year before they are on the ash heap of internet history.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

surfin45gmailcom's Profile Image

surfin45gmailcom reviewed BB&T

Oct 21st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

BOA to BBT Very Easy

My husband and I have been with BOA for several years. Our branch was purchased by another bank that started off on the wrong foot. So, we decided to move our banking relationship to BB&T. The sign-up online was very easy and straight forward. We opted to go into one of the many branches near our home to make our opening deposit. We were greeted as soon as we walked through the door. They were friendly and professional. The young lady who waited on us was well-trained and efficient. After looking at all the negative reviews, we came home (a 3 minute trip) and immediately checked our account online and the deposits were right and available. I went to order our checks online, but where it was a new account, we had to call the branch. The young lady, again, was pleasant, polite, and more than willing to help us. She took our check order and gave me the price of the checks.

Now, I see a lot of bad reviews because someone didn't pay their mortgage for 4 months and were sent to foreclosure and people and their overdrafts. If people would use a little common sense, they would know that if you don't pay your mortgage, you lose your house and if you make purchases on your debit card and write checks and don't have the funds to cover it, you will be charged a fee. Don't do something stupid and then complain when you get charged a fee or lose your home. All the fees I saw are perfectly reasonable and should serve as a deterrent from bouncing checks and making purchases without the funds to cover them.

My husband and I are your average middle class couple with three kids in college. So, we aren't rich by any means. So, the theory that BB&T caters to rich people doesn't hold water. The median income in our area is $32,000/year (we make more than that) and BB&T has most of the banking business for people in our area. We were treated like the most important customers they had waited on all day. So, I think this is going to be a pleasant banking experience.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dwasifar's Profile Image

dwasifar reviewed Simple

Oct 21st 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Not Simple At All

I don't know where all these glowing reviews are coming from. My experience with Simple has been nothing but frustration. Here, in roughly the order I experienced them, are the problems.

- You can't write a check. Granted this isn't something most of us need to do very much anymore, but occasionally you need one, and can't wait for one to be mailed.

- They won't issue a check made out to a government agency. Renewing your license plates? Paying your taxes? Go buy a money order.

- They rejected my tax refund check deposit because it was joint-payee, in spite of their own policy allowing it.

- Payments come out of your account immediately but take ages to reach the payee.

- Recurring payments always count against your safe-to-spend even if they are a month away.

- They haven't issued statements since August (it is now late October) due to unresolved bugs.

- Lately the balances shown on the website are often incorrect, with outbound payment amounts being randomly added back in for a while and then removed again. The mobile app balances don't agree with the web app balances.

- They LOST my mortgage payment. It just never got there, and the money was dropped back into my account with no notice. I didn't know about it until my mortgage company called me looking for their money.

- They rejected a check deposit due to a signature crossing a digit. The phone rep could read the number fine but they told me to go clear it through some other bank anyway.

The customer service people are always polite and try their best to help, but I finally asked myself: if I keep having to go to other financial institutions to make up for Simple's shortcomings, why do I need them?

Statements, accurate balances, deposits, and correct transfers are all basic to banking, yet Simple did none of these things consistently. I give them two stars only because they are polite on the phone and in email, otherwise it would be one star.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

debm90comcastnet's Profile Image

debm90comcastnet reviewed BMO Harris Bank

Oct 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Does Not Take Care Of Their Customers

I had my account hacked and reached out to them asap. They did nothing to help me. In fact, while on the phone with the 800 number she told me that they were going to send out new cards anyway because of a security issue. This was the first i had heard. Chase, pnc etc, all keep an eye on their customers accounts and if there is any out of the ordinary activity they reach out asap. They also told me it could take 10 days to return my money. I've been with them since 98 and have decided it's time for a new bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

McFrugal's Profile Image

McFrugal reviewed Ally Bank

Oct 21st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Very Satisfied Customer Since 2011

When my old bank raised my requirement/fees i decided to look around for better options. I researched several banks and ally was by far the best choice. All my interactions with ally have been positive, good customer service, easy bill pay and money transfers. Now, every month i look at my interest and see i am getting paid in dollars instead of pennies. When asked about banking, i always recommend Ally.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

ravibobbyreddyredd's Profile Image

ravibobbyreddyredd reviewed Bank of America

Oct 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Service

While i was a student they gave me secondary account for free and later they have been charging 12 $ monthly fee and i had direct deposit setup for primary account. When i asked for refund they are saying they can't.

Who asked secondary account,they gave it for free and keep on charging since an year.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jferry26comcastnet's Profile Image

jferry26comcastnet reviewed Peoples United Bank

Oct 20th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Wouldn't Recommend-Particuarly For Business

Years ago my wife and i happily moved our bank accounts from bank of america to back of western massachusetts. We loved bwm! Over time bwm was purchased by chittenden then finally peoples united. With each merger are customer experience got worse. I can honestly say that people's united bank may actually be worse than boa ever was. Here is my list of complaints:

1) PU is progressively taking longer to clear checks-now often more than one day.

2) PU now counts all deposits made on saturday morning as being made the following monday. So if you deposit a check on saturday don't expect those funds to be available monday as they once were. There is thus no reason to bother making saturday morning deposits anymore.

3) we had recently attempted to refinance our home through pu and was given a loan offer with a laughably high amount for closing costs. We took that business elsewhere!

4) my daughter had a savings/checking account that went into a negative balance for a few weeks. I went to the local branch to deposit money into it but the account had been closed and could not be reopened without a fee. Td bank therefore got new 18 y/o customer as a result!

5) most important. PU installed check reader machines two years ago that really do not work. Business deposits now entail watching the teller sift through those checks not accurately read by their faulty machines, (at least 10% of them). The time involved in making deposits has increased four fold. The bank staff are oddly unapologetic about this problem as i suppose these machines have made their jobs easier?

6) as PU has become a worsening customer experience the fake friendliness from the branch staff has increased!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

macokykagmailcom's Profile Image

macokykagmailcom reviewed Santander Bank

Oct 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Incredibly Lazy

So this is the closest santander to me after moving from massachusetts almost a year ago. I had an issue with the atm in the lobby inexplicably going out of order one time, after my card was in in and i was trying to withdraw money on a sunday. The screen all of a sudden is showing chinese (or japanese) lettering, my transaction stops, there's no one obviously working on a sunday, after pushing the cancel button about 25 times, and finally waiting about 5 minutes... It kicks my card out.

No money, but hey... I got my card back. 2 weeks ago i'm driving through the drive thru atm about 4:30 on a tuesday. Insert card, start transaction to withdraw money, same thing happens. Some form of asian messaging, i hit cancel a couple dozen times, sit there and wait a few minutes, and notice an employee looking out of the drive thru window looking at me. I go over and ask if she can eject the card please, and get "sorry, we don't service that machine". Ummmm, isn't it a santander atm? "yes, but an outside third party manages it".

Oh, that's wonderful to know!! She tells me that the machine won't kick the card back out, she'll have to cancel it, and order me a new one. So already frustrated knowing i'm now going to have to change my card number on at least 5 sites that i pay bills directly online with, i ask how long. "it will be 5-7 business days, what's your account number"? So i tell her, and wait. And wait. And wait. Today, 10/20/14, would be the 8th business day, no card in the mail, so i call the 877 number for santander to ask what's taking so long. Guess what? She never ordered me a new card!

Not only that, didn't cancel the other!! There is an option to rush my new card, but i'm told that's $30. Why would you waive that fee? I mean it was your lazy employee that couldn't be bothered to order me a new card as she said she would. Thanks santander, finally after being with sovereign/santander since 2000 it's time to switch to a bank that cares about it's customers

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pinkberry539gmailc's Profile Image

pinkberry539gmailc reviewed Wells Fargo

Oct 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Customer Service

Very poor customer service experience, on numerous occasions. The girl in the drive-thru had attitude from the start (not a first time), made me wait 10 minutes just for her to tell me to come inside. I was already running late, however i made the time to go inside and just get it over with. There, I was "greeted" (not what you would expect from a store manager-unprofessional ).

The store manager had attitude with me as well, i didn't appreciate her tone of voice. All i wanted to do is withdraw my money and pay a credit card and be on my way. The whole process took 20 minutes, it was awful. I will never go back to this branch again. In fact, Wells Fargo in general. I always get great service with Chase Bank and that's where I'll be doing ALL of my banking from now on.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates