Number of reviews:
10,312
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or cred...

Read »

Latest Reviews

ouchtheygotme2's Profile Image

ouchtheygotme2 reviewed Regions Bank

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Returned Internastional wire

spent hours tracing an international wire Regions wont provide documentary evidence they returned it So my usual reply to them is YOU STOLE MY MONEY!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

got2fly's Profile Image

got2fly reviewed Citibank

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank - stay as far away as possible

I opened an account in Las Vegas.. I was living in Thailand, and needed an account to transfer my income into the USA. Since Citibank has a branch in Bangkok and they offer free international transfers from Thailand to the USA division, I decided to try it. Bad choice. Even though there is no fee for transferring money, they get about 4x as much out of you in the low exchange rate from Thai Baht to USD. I had another local account in Thailand, and was able to transfer my money to another US Bank for far less cost. The "Free Transfers" promise they advertise in Thailand is just a marketing gimmick. It is just a hook to get more of your money. Four times as much!

I use an address in the USA that is a PO box at a shipping business. When I opened the account, I told the assistant Mgr what I intended to do, and that this was a post office box. He said, "No Problem", It is the same address I use for other bank accounts. After I deposited several thousand dollars in the account, the account was suddenly blocked. I couldn't log in online, use the ATM card or transfer money. I called customer service and they said they couldn't figure out what was the problem but promised to call me back. They never did. Later I talked to a supervisor in customer service (which is a Philippine call center) and learned that my account was blocked because my original address was a PO box. No email warning, phone call or letter. Just blocked the account. I emailed my branch Assist Mgr. asking about this problem. He emailed me back saying that he was contacting the main office to try to get my account unblocked. Then no answer. I called/emailed him numerous times when I was in the USA and left messages but got no calls returned. Nothing. My money was in limbo for 6 months until I could get to a branch in Miami and close the account. Upon closing the account, it was the same NV branch mgr who unblocked it so it could be closed. He lied about contacting main office.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tvuong2014's Profile Image

tvuong2014 reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 17th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Is there a 0 star rating for the rudest customer service?

Wow, the worst customer service ever I've encountered in any places, small or large - and come from a large, well respected American company to boost.

Lost a debit card. Called in to cancel and replacement. They totally forgot about sending out replacement.

Call in again, ask about it after 4 weeks. The rep just fire off questions to verify my identity. That's reasonable except for the quick clips like interrogation sound. Jump from one question to another, if think and have not answer in 5 seconds, got irritated and jump to the next question. Asked about my transaction, receipts. Of course, we have to look through our batch of receipts. Just continue badgering us while we frantically looking. We asked her to hold on. Answer - "I'll hold on for exactly 1 minute then will hang up. You could call back when you're ready.".

Ask why the Bank would not care about lost customer card and wanted to terminate the call, then she relented and wait for another 10 seconds. Asked why did the bank not handle it the first time. She mumble about "oh it's in the record", then totally ignore the handling part (i.e. sending replacement, contact us, etc...)

Ask if they could expedite the process since they did not handle in the 1st place. No - and not an apology either - "You go to the local branch and get a temporary replacement". We supposedly get the issue resolve. Hopefully so. I'm not so sure that she may just throw it in the trash.

To end, she loudly read continuous paragraphs for 30 seconds without taking a pause for any question and end the conversation.

Wow, that's the worst customer service I ever got since coming into this country 40 years. Treat customer like a uneducated criminal trying to steal stuff.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

KellyNguyen's Profile Image

KellyNguyen reviewed Bank of America

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever - 2 tries, no more

Worst bank experience EVER! Bait and SWITCH.

Bank of America promotion to get 10,000 Alaska miles NOT honored nor any other promotions. Waste of my time! Customer service at this location VERY inadequate. I did everything I was supposed to as a customer and Bank of America decided they would add a few new rules after I complied, including switching my direct deposits (and you know how much of a hassle that is) to their bank. This will be a number of reviews that I will be writing including doing a number of other "promotions" for them on my Facebook and elsewhere, including word of mouth. I will NEVER and let me repeat NEVER do any additional new business with Bank of America. My 10,000 points "promotion" for them is beginning .. NOW. USBank has been my bank for 20 years. Now I know why. This location just needs to be closed down. Again, repeat: Bait and Switch. That's all you need to know. Bad business to a good (and I mean GOOD) customer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mrgreen's Profile Image

mrgreen reviewed Fifth Third Bank

Jul 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

The worst bank manager

We've been banking here for over 4 years and have finally had enough of the rude and arrogant treatment consistently received from the bank manager at this branch. She goes out of her way to be insulting, uncooperative and has not been the least bit helpful the entire time we've been here.

I've dealt with almost all of the big national banks that have poor reputations and the Fifth Third in Lowell is the worst of the worst, thanks to the unprofessional behavior and rudeness of the manager here. We are canceling every account we have with Fifth Third and will NEVER bank here again.

Put your money anywhere but here!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Pam9630's Profile Image

Pam9630 reviewed Great Western Bank

Jul 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Double Charges for Checks

This is the third time I have called about being charged twice for checks. Also the checks did not come with the changes that I ordered. I was on hold for 15 minutes and told that customer service could not help m and I needed to talk to my personal banker. I left a message and no call back. I then called again and I was told my personal banker has been up for another job and this might be the problem. I then called again and was left hanging for another 15 minutes. With no resolution, as far as I'm concerned this is a grave misuse of my funds. What ever happened to customer service?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AnthonyMBT's Profile Image

AnthonyMBT reviewed Bank of America

Jul 16th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Not Enough ATMs

I'm constantly getting hit with ATM fees every month because I can't ever seem to find a Bank of America ATM in my neighborhood. This bank was great when I was in college in Boston, but in NYC it's a different story.

What's the point of using this bank if their rates are so low & it constantly costs me money to withdraw my own cash? I recommend making sure they have ATMs in your area before you open an account with Bank of America.

Their customer service has always been helpful. And their online banking / transferring money to friends is pretty straightforward. But it doesn't make up for the other issues.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

zzmonty's Profile Image

zzmonty reviewed Magyar Bank

Jul 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Small Business customers stay away from Magyar Bank

Do not use Magyar Bank for a Small Business Checking Account. Magyar refuses to honor MasterCard protections that MasterCard says are available to Small Businesses using a MasterCard Debit Card. Even though MasterCard says that Small Business Customers have Zero Liability in using a MasterCard Debit card, Magyar insists that Small Businesses are 100% liable for all fraud through the MasterCard Debit Card. Go with a bank that actually stands by the MasterCard name, and the MasterCard's protections are guaranteed.

From MasterCard's website:

Zero Liability Protection

Have peace of mind knowing that the bank that issued your MasterCard won't hold you responsible for "unauthorized transactions." Zero liability applies to transactions made in the store, over the telephone or online. As a cardholder, you will not be held responsible for unauthorized transactions if:

your account is in good standing;

you have exercised reasonable care in safeguarding your card from loss or theft; and

you have not reported to your bank two or more unauthorized use events in the past 12 months.

If these conditions are not met and you suspect that you have an unauthorized transaction on your MasterCard, contact your bank as additional protections may apply.

Zero Liability does not apply to MasterCard payment cards:

used for commercial, business or agricultural purposes (PLEASE NOTE: Zero Liability does apply to MasterCard credit and debit cards for small businesses);

anonymous prepaid cards, such store or gift cards, until such time as the identity of the cardholder has been registered with the financial institution that issued the card; or

if a PIN is used for the unauthorized transaction.

What to do

If you have questions regarding Zero Liability coverage or you suspect unauthorized use of your card, contact your bank IMMEDIATELY.

For the application of Zero Liability outside of the United States, check your MasterCard country site.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

reduva's Profile Image

reduva reviewed USAA

Jul 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Top Notch

Very intuitive interface, great customer service, low fees...what else is there?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nomorebanksters's Profile Image

nomorebanksters reviewed Fifth Third Bank

Jul 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bank anywhere but here!

The customer service experience with Fifth Third is the worst experience I've had with any bank. They continually operate in their own best interest and not what's best for the customer.

We had a credit line that mysteriously suspended (just after paying down the balance) because it was used 6 consecutive times. I called the main customer service number and was told to call my local branch. I reached the local branch and was basically told we were stupid for not seeing one clause in a 6 page contact from 4 years ago and that "we should have known better". The "manager" seemed to take pleasure in making us feel like we were complete idiots and refused to release any of the money that was deposited. Additionally, Fifth Third intentionally does not post relevant information to your online account, preferring instead to hold on to your money so they can profits off of the interest and then penalize you on top of it with "Gotcha" clauses.

Bottom line: Fifth Third will nail you with every opportunity they can find to hold on to YOUR money and run your account into the ground with penalty fees. This is a bank hides behind the boiler plate in contracts and will screw you to the wall with absolutely no forewarning or notice. We are moving our money out of Fifth Third asap.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0