B+ MyBankTracker Rating

BB&T Customer Reviews

(313 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 34
4 Star 7
3 Star 8
2 Star 24
1 Star 240

The Most Helpful BB&T Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By kburriss Jun 29, 2015

5 Stars!

Andrea Brown has been nothing but a huge help for us! I am so glad we chose to open our account with the Taneytown BB&T!

Thank you for all of the help and keep up the great work :)

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Danielle Feb 28, 2013

Omg! The Worst. Please Stay Away!

Funds that's transferred to your account will always be late. Days late. I had funds transferred to my acct. On 15th feb. 2013 & didn't get it until 21st feb. 2013. Right now, i am waiting for a transfer that was wired on 22nd feb. 2013 & guess what? Yep. I am still waiting! Again, please stay away! Don't say you haven't been warned. Here's how i rate my experience.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest BB&T Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By sam_k Sep 23, 2016

    Charges

    Stay far away from this bank. They will steal money from you any chance I get.
    On top of it taking a month to get money back from the atm that swallowed my money, they charged me 4 fees for calling into customer service. They were only 2 dollar charges but why charge for calling customer service? Supposedly you only get 2 free calls a month, then they charge you unless it is due to fraud. I couldn't count the charges I've had from them over the years. I am so happy I am changing banks. Do yourself a favor and do not invest your money/time in BB&T.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Morgan283728 Sep 22, 2016

    SAVE YOURSELF THE TROUBLE! GO TO ANOTHER BANK !

    I've been a loyal customer with bb&t for 4 year now. They have stolen hundred of dollars from me in "unexplained nonrefundable fees" they also hold your money for the dumbest reasons. Have you deposited a check after 6 ? Oh well you can't get into until the next day or sometimes days later because there were some "complications". Sometimes they hold it even if you deposited it before 6 just cause they like to inconvenience you. Are you cashing a check from another bank ? Well only 100 dollars will be available to you until the next day we'll sometimes they don't even give you anything. Sometimes they hold the whole thing because they don't want you to have your money. How else are they going to steal it when you're spending it ? Oh they can't so they put you through financial hell just to be rude and say there's nothing they can do for something they will say is their fault or they don't know why it happened ? They are full of shit and will ruin your life and take your money !!! If I can please save anyone the trouble and money with this review then I will consider this a success.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Peterson2800 Sep 22, 2016

    Worse bank ever !!!!

    If I could rate it no stars I would. I have been a loyal customer with Bb&t for about 4 years now ? And recently I've had a lot of unexplained issues. I am a college student and don't make or have a lot of money. My spending habits haven't changed since becoming a student. I have overdraft protecting because I can't afford a 36 dollar fee for something that I can do without until my next check. Quite a few times they have charged me this overdraft fee when my account should have gone into the negative (and yea a dollar into the negative makes a huge difference than 36 dollars into te negative. That's 36 dollars less I'll have in my next check just for whatever I was charged with to still not have been paid). I have called and the representatives have even said the same thing. Some of the times when I have been charged there isn't even an explanation. A representative one day couldn't even find a reason why I was charged. They said I would be refunded but I WAS NEVER REFUNDED. They keep saying the money was put into my account but it hasn't shown up in my account history when I log in. They're full of crap. I barely make 800 dollars a month I cant afford to lose 36 dollars left and right! That can determine whether I get to eat for the week or not. I make budget plans and I plan this carefully so stuff like this won't keep happening. They gave me 100 dollar fee for overdraft when I hadn't used my card in days. I should have taken them to court for taking money from me with no explanation and when saying they would refund me not doing so. This has caused me to become behind on bills, and have to go days without eating or having to sleep in my car because they are taking my money for no reason. I am closing my accounts with them. And I strongly recommend that you don't open an account with them or go to them for any business inquiries. It is a waste of time they will take your money with no explanation. And never refund you even when they say they will and then they will put on your file that they did so you can never get refunded. Their representatives are rude and always act as if there is nothing they can do for you. I am completely fed up with this bullshit bank and I will be taking MY MONEY to Wells Fargo. Don't waste your time and lose your money like I did.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • Z
    Reviewed By zacharyjames1986 Sep 18, 2016

    DO NOT HAVE A MORTGAGE WITH BB&T

    BB&T is considered a large bank compared to other banks and credit unions I have worked with. Every time you want to pay just principle on your Mortgage on line you cannot do it without making a payment which would be a month or so ahead. I had 195,000 left on my mortgage and paid an addition 50,000 towards the principle, approximately 1,663 of the 50,000 was put towards the next payment. You cannot just pay principle without calling and doing it. This is the first mortgage I have had that you cannot just pay principle towards the loan.
    This is not the worse thing about it though. It would be alright if they charged the interest on the payment after the 48,337 went towards the principle. No! No! They charge the interest towards the payment (due on 1 Oct) before the principle is paid towards the loan. Even though that payment is not due until the 1-10 Oct. Keep in mind I did this transaction on 16 Sept. This pays an additional $125-$150 in interest towards the loan that BB&T pockets. Every other mortgage company I have dealt with, most smaller than BB&T has allowed me to pay principle only on the loan. I would have rather just put it all towards principle. They do this because there are people that don't realize how much you can save in interest. Instead you have to call to do this transaction no matter the amount of the transaction. I don't know about the CEO but my time is valuable and I don't have the time to call and go through teleprompters to get things like this taken care of. I wonder how much money they make a year on people that don't know this.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Ashworth Sep 9, 2016

    If you don't have an account but need to cash a check at BB&T they are hostile

    I cringe every time that someone gives me a check drawn on BB&T. The Chantilly, VA branch employees are hostile when I try to cash a check there and in fact refuse in every instance to give me all large bills - flat out telling me that the large bills are reserved for their clients. Not to mention the $8 fee for every check cashed.
    I own 3 businesses and use 3 other banks with no problems - we'll NEVER use BB&T due to their rude treatment of clients who enter their branch here.
    STAY AWAY!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AngryinTn Sep 2, 2016

    Terrible customer service BB&T

    What should have taken 5 minutes took over one and half hours to complete plus 65 miles to accomplish the task. I needed someone in the branch to sign off on insurance claim check so I could pay body shop for work on my car. First branch wanted me to drive one way 35 miles to a branch with an officer. Then she decided I could drive 17 miles one way which I did and they would be able to sign the check. Guess what - they couldn't sign off on check either. It didn't seem to bother any employee of my inconvenience. Customer service isn't a number 1 priority with this bank. If you are going to have branches open make sure staff is trained and can perform all transactions. Otherwise your branches will be inadequately staffed and customers will leave BB &T for a bank with better service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sknowlton3 Aug 25, 2016

    BB&T = Burglars, Bandits & Thieves

    A National Penn customer who was assured that Burglars, Bandits & Thieves (BB&T) would continue to service in the same way that National Penn did. WRONG!!!! This is absolutely the WORST BANK EVER!.. Stay away...STAY VERY FAR AWAY! They steal your money. Lost $72 in overdraft fees they caused by deducting money from my account two days before they were instructed to. Can't even get customer service to respond, let alone get my money back. Do yourself a favor and give this crew a wide berth.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TWA Aug 19, 2016

    Questionable Practices at BBT

    I have been a customer of BBT for 30+ years. Recently they changed their policy on check card purchases without notifying me. As a result they charged me $396 in overdraft fees which they won't refund. Stay away from these crooks. They are trying give me some bs about why this suddenly happened but I know they are lying because I know how my check card purchases have always been handled.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Joejohn1 Aug 15, 2016

    BB&T is the Worst bank i ever had experienced

    I was a satisfied national penn bank customer for several decades. I am a victim caught up in a BB&T merger. Since the merger I have had nothing but headaches with BB&T service. I called customer service and was placed on hold for 40 minutes and finally Catalina Little BB&T service personnel askede how can I help you. I explained that I was part of the take over of national Penn Bank and was a long time customer and never was charged fees for using ATM's at Wawa before with National Penn Bank. Why am I getting charged $2.5 in fees everytime I make a withdraw now when I'm using ATM's at WaWa? See said sorry to here that but that's our policy. I thought that the transistion would only be the name. Not true now BB&T is steeling my money for me withdrawing my own hard earned money. Never had an issue with National Penn Bank in 24 years. No fees for ATM usage. The rep for BB&T Carolina Little tells me this is their policy and procedure that I need to us aBB&T ATM. Ok. So I look up the closest ATM near me. I drive about 5 mile to the Branch/ATM at MAYFAIR
    6633 ROOSEVELT BLVD
    PHILADELPHIA, PA 19149-2417
    To find the ATM is out if Service. Looked up the next closest BB&T bank. The next closest to me was Branch/ATM at FRANKFORD
    4625 FRANKFORD AVE
    PHILADELPHIA, PA 19124-5803
    Drove there to find out they don't have an ATM but above location was taken off BB&T's Web site. So I looked again on their website and found the next closest BB&T ATM was Branch/ATM at BRIDESBURG
    2601 ORTHODOX ST
    PHILADELPHIA, PA 19137-1626
    215-743-6673. Now I have driven 20 Mikes to find out that they also don"t have an ATM. I am getting upset with this BB&T banks Website. To say I never found a BB&T ATM. This is a way for them to scam people out of $2.50 fees for not using a BB&T ATM because they either are of service or there website states that they have ATM service but they really don't. This is false advertisement and a way for them to scam the people that bailed them out. Steel their money and say this is a policy or their procedure. I'm sorry to have been a part of this merger or takeover. I will you if you like to be scammed BB&T is right for you. Not me I will remove my money from this mismanaged bank. I will find a bank like National Penn Bank was. I will post it when I find it. I think all the people that have been scammed by BB&T should file a class action suite against them. Unagreed upon fees without notification of such fees that weren't charged prior to merger with National Penn Bank. Their should be some laws against this type of banking scams. They also charge you for calling customer service $2.00 per call. Never heard of such a thing in my life. Banking ways of scamming money out of customers. If you are a lawyer and can help me and many others please contact me at joejohn1@live.com

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JojoYoder Aug 14, 2016

    Somewhere behind the 21st Centry.

    I work long distances, often unable to make it to the bank before it closes after work on Fridays, which is why I'm VERY dependent on mobile banking and deposit.

    Key factors that suck about this bank:

    • Bank is only open till 5pm Mon-Thu. 6pm on Friday.

    • New accounts can't mobile deposit more than $100/day, and no more than $500/month.

    • New accounts can't get a temporary debit card while the official one gets mailed to you. Which is up to 14 days if you customize it.
    (See where this is a problem for me depositing and withdrawing if I can't make it to the bank by 5, or 6 on Fri.?)

    • 6pm Deposit deadline, or considered deposited the following business day.
    (So if you can't make it to the bank by 6pm Friday with your check that you can't mobile deposit because it's over $100, it's not considered deposited until Monday, and not available until Tuesday or Wednesday; longer if the decide to put a hold on it.

    • They do a hard credit check while opening your account, so it will have a negative effect on your credit score.

    • The bank just recently stopped using envelopes for depositing through the ATM. However, many of the banks still haven't updated their ATMs so you still have to use envelopes. Meaning the ATM doesn't automatically count up your cash or scan your checks to verify the amount. So cash deposits aren't always available as soon as you deposit them.

    Overall I dispise this bank due to its lack of what I call SERVICE. Of course they can get you by, but there are better banks out there that can have your hard earned money available ASAP. This bank isn't there for your convenience, it's there to serve its self.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.