B+ MyBankTracker Rating

BB&T Customer Reviews

(336 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 36
4 Star 7
3 Star 8
2 Star 25
1 Star 260

The Most Helpful BB&T Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By ACRODE Apr 10, 2017

Great Local Bank and Great Customer Service

Bank Atlantic, a long time local Florida Bank was acquired by BB&T in 2012. Having been a Bank Atlantic customer for many years, I feared that the new bank would destroy the hometown feel and intimate banking experience one gets with a local bank that is part of the community and where the employees know and recognize their clientele.
I am happy to say that BB&T has retained the local feel of the former Bank Atlantic experience while simultaniously offering the benefits that accompany a larger banking institution.
Most notably with this branch is the retention of excellent presonnel from the tellers to the site manager. The manager in particular is committed to the community and seems to know all her customers by name. If a hometown style banking experience is what you seek accompanied by the benefits of a larger bank, this may be the bank and particularly the branch for you.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Danielle Feb 28, 2013

Omg! The Worst. Please Stay Away!

Funds that's transferred to your account will always be late. Days late. I had funds transferred to my acct. On 15th feb. 2013 & didn't get it until 21st feb. 2013. Right now, i am waiting for a transfer that was wired on 22nd feb. 2013 & guess what? Yep. I am still waiting! Again, please stay away! Don't say you haven't been warned. Here's how i rate my experience.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest BB&T Reviews

  •  
    C
    Reviewed By Cfordfl Apr 20, 2017

    Smoke and Mirrors Banking

    This bank has very deceptive business practices and is out to steal your money. They like to hide transactions including gas pump debit (not credit) charges which are supposed to be deducted from your account within 15 minutes. I will be closing my account with them and sticking with Bank of America.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By joannmkramer Apr 14, 2017

    melbourne branch

    I went in to open a checking account and was denied because they said I couldn't prove to them my address. I just moved from Colorado to take care of my mother until she passed away. I was told because I do not have a utility bill or I.D. in fl. yet. So I said ok and left. The next day I check my credit score and see that they had done a hard inquiry on me and made my credit score drop. Not one word was said to me about pulling my credit. I call them to ask why they had done an unauthurized credit check and was told by the branch manager ALL banks do credit checks and I should have known. Well that is a bold face lie as I have had plenty of bank accounts in my life and have NEVER EVER had a bank pull my credit for a checking account. I was also told by the branch manager that there is a little sign on all the desks at their bank that states they will pull your credit. I wish I would have looked at all these reviews and did my homework on these guys as it became very clear to me when finding out that CITIBANK is BB&T. I will make sure I stear anyone I can AWAY from this Bank as it is nothing but a rip off. Already had problems with CITI in the past with a mortgage where they charged me for insurance and property taxes and after paying off my house I find out that they lied and never paid either. and unless you are able to afford a lawyer they just get to keep all the money they steal from you. I don't know how people who work for them sleep at night. They are nothing but thieves. these calus cold people will have to answer to their maker one day. WORTHLESS SCAMMERS, your day will come! If you work for them YOU should be ashamed of yourself!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By ACRODE Apr 10, 2017

    Great Local Bank and Great Customer Service

    Bank Atlantic, a long time local Florida Bank was acquired by BB&T in 2012. Having been a Bank Atlantic customer for many years, I feared that the new bank would destroy the hometown feel and intimate banking experience one gets with a local bank that is part of the community and where the employees know and recognize their clientele.
    I am happy to say that BB&T has retained the local feel of the former Bank Atlantic experience while simultaniously offering the benefits that accompany a larger banking institution.
    Most notably with this branch is the retention of excellent presonnel from the tellers to the site manager. The manager in particular is committed to the community and seems to know all her customers by name. If a hometown style banking experience is what you seek accompanied by the benefits of a larger bank, this may be the bank and particularly the branch for you.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Maggiebubba Mar 22, 2017

    IRA fraud

    Bb t gave my wife 25,000 dollars from my IRA which I did not hive r permission. 14 individual times she forged my signature until acct was closed.THE BANK LET HER HAVE THE MONEY. the banker at the time miss copper from the carmel branch Charlotte nc admitted my wife at the time had her totally fooled. Bank said its too long they only keep records for a certain period then they are discarded.that's my story and its asll TRUE

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Ande Mar 19, 2017

    Horrible mortgage

    When I went into closing that unexpectedly slapped me with a prepayment penalty. No bank rep was present at closing. Ten years later I found means to pay the 9% loan off, of course paying off only 14% of the principle during that time, and they slap me with a $22 late charge by closing on the 10th instead of the first. That should be illegal.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By Dinger208 Mar 8, 2017

    Sneaky fees

    I was a 20+ year customer until this month. 6 months ago they started charging me 4.00/ month to image my checks. I had to call to turn off that"service" which just started charging fees. Then I started getting charged 9.95/month for downloading my transactions into Mint. That was the last straw. The customer rep was argumentative and pointedly stated we were using "their" resources so we had to pay for them. Losers. 20+ years.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    N
    Reviewed By Nes Feb 24, 2017

    Horrible service horrible management

    Shay was very unprofessional and rude. Closing my account and never looking back. All they do is steal peoples money

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By CindyR Feb 24, 2017

    Cornerstone of the Town

    For as long as I have lived, BB&T has been a valuable, VITAL part of our Princeton community. The employees are made up not of strangers, but of those that we soon call family and friends, neighbors and cousins. Without this bank, the town and neighboring communities, especially the farming community, would have suffered. I know this because I saw firsthand how this bank helped many who were in need. I'm proud to be a customer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By BBTworstever Feb 23, 2017

    Terrible in every way possible!

    Personal account was taken over by this terrible bank - lost all the grandfathered benefits I had with Susquehanna. Evidently, they don't value loyalty, just taking advantage of folks. In addition, there's not a smile to be found in place and the wait (usually 1 teller with a case of pokiness) is 15-20 minutes!
    Small Business account was taken over less than a year later. Don't bother calling for help! You'll get as many wrong answers as you speak to people. No clear visibility on the account like National Penn provided.
    Basically, avoid this place and any other BB&T (Bad Bank & Theft) branch you find!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By SWT Feb 22, 2017

    Horrible customer service - Unprofessional Manager and other working personel

    I have been with BB&T for 27 years. I have had my home, several cars, credit cards and several other accounts with them. On January 3, 2017, I applied for a Personal Loan, which was approved. Because the Load Officer wouldn't answer her phone or return my phone calls, 30 days went by, so they up and decide they have to do my credit over again. I even went to the bank and put a hand written note on her desk. It took her 3 days to contact me. All of a sudden they decide they cannot get into my credit report. There is no problem with any of the 3 credit bureaus, but I am told, basically called a liar, because they claim that my address is blocked. If you can get into it and approve it on January 3, 2017 and today is February 22, 2017, why is that? I was told it has to be my fault. It certainly isn't there's. I even went to the bank; put the speaker on my phone, so they could hear Equifax telling them there is no block on my credit report, no freeze and all they have to do is put the mailing address on there and they will get my report. They refuse to listen! I filed a complaint with the corporate office, because this is a Consolidation Loan and time if short for me. I was told today that the woman redid the entire loan; put the mailing address on it and it didn't go through. I have talked to 6 supervisors at the credit bureau, all say the same thing. Tonight another Supervisor, with BB&T 3-wayed a call to Equifax and heard everything that was said, which is exactly what I have been telling them all along. I tried calling the manger of this branch and I was left on the phone. Finally, when the woman came back to the phone, she tells me that the manager says she is aware of the situation and they are trying to find out the problem. This woman will not come to the phone and talk to me. Never have I been treated like that at BB&T. I wouldn't recommend them to my dog. As far as a 1 start, if there was something less I could give them, they would get it. One person says something and everyone that gets involved related the same exact thing. I am a senior citizen and refuse to keep allowing them to put me through all this and act like they are doing something. If you aren't listening to the credit bureaus telling you the problem, how does that work? I went into the bank today for them to 3-way to Equifax, a number and information, the second supervisor gave to me. They wouldn't do it! NO...I AM NOT JOKING! But, I had to listen to this woman telling me that she needed a bill proving my address. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? That is the whole problem and still, they refuse to listen.
    AGAIN...I would recommend them to my dog. They are unprofessional, rude and disrespectful. I am to old to listen to a bunch of lies and excuses. After all, according to where I filed the complaints it isn't them, it is me. Once again, calling me a liar. I don't even want to go in that bank or any of their banks to have to change everything somewhere else. This has done nothing but tear up my nerves, not to mention all the insults and being called a liar. THESE PEOPLE ARE NASTY!!!! I have been going through this since January 3, 2017 until today and I think that is more then enough. Then you think you are going to tell me what I can say, think you are going to insult my intelligence, call me a liar, etc., and I am going to keep taking that. Bet ALL their Mother's are so proud of them. After all they are ALL trying so hard to get this resolved. Little hard to do that when you refuse to listen to your 27 year paying customer. Until I found this site, I never realized how many people had problems with BB&T; crooks, thieves and liars. I hear ALL of you that have given a review and I am so sorry for what you all have been forced to do with these people.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.