Profile | Reviews

BB&T Customer Reviews

National Bank, bbt.com

355 Reviews
2 out of 5 stars

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By mwaym Feb 14, 2018

    BB&T Branch of Independence, KY Nicholson Branch

    If you want your privacy invaded, Deanna Damon Branch Banker should will help you with that.
    She questioned me about personal and private information which had nothing to do with banking. Then Mo Coppage lied about getting free checking account statements free from former Bank of KY. So some customers have to pay, but if your a relative it's free to your old checking account statements. .
    I wouldn't it past Deanna Damon to steal money out of some accounts. She's a liar.
    She manages money for her brother's illegal drug activity until recently, she switched to Huntington and his house foreclosed as they are running scared
    . Yes, if you want to do business with a bank that keeps someone like her on the payroll, go ahead you'll be deeply dissatisfied.
    By the way, Deanna Damon's brothers are gun and drug felons.
    Corporate is even worse to work with. Stay away. Fifth Third is awesome, great customer service, no privacy invasion and treat you like you're the only customer they have. BB&T employees are deeply disgruntled.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Britty822 Dec 28, 2017

    THIEVES!

    The absolute worst customer service, they lack basic communication for the important matters on your account, and altogether the WORST bank I ever have dealt with. Will hit you with as many fees as they can squeeze out of you.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By BobS Dec 15, 2017

    Terrible customer service

    Deanna Bolding is terrible. Said she could close a loan in 14 days. I provided any info she needed within hours of the request and she was able to close the loan in 33 days. One of the most scatterbrained and worthless people I have ever tried to work with.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By AngWoody Dec 8, 2017

    Treated like a criminal EVERY visit

    I was only offered a "money account" which is simply a glorified prepaid card. It has no more benefits than Green Dot. You can not even add funds to your card at one of their ATMs. The first time I went in a branch to cash a check, they refused, stating I had to deposit it EVEN though it was a payroll check drawn off of a BB&T account. The next time I came in to get cash off another card they refused because my ID has a different address HOWEVER the credit card address matches the address on my account with them. I'm always leaving there with tears in my eyes. Today was the last time.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Lwayson93 Nov 9, 2017

    Problem after problem

    I have been with this bank for almost 6 years and it has been an absolute nightmare! I had a fraud charge on my debit account so my card was cancelled. I was told since I was living in Alaska that it would take two weeks for my new card to arrive here, which makes no sense because we receive our mail the same time as everyone else. I waited for an entire MONTH for the new card and it was never mailed to me. I called back and had to order a new card and they said the second order would take 5-7 business days...and as expected I had to call back and was then was told it takes up to 10 business days. Who trained these people?

    I've also had an issue with my personal branch in my home state because both the number I Googled and the one that the help center provided were no longer in service when I needed to contact them.

    This bank is a joke and I am barely scraping the iceberg. I will be closing my account in the near future.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Trent01 Oct 26, 2017

    Awesome Customer Service

    Recently visited the BB&T Bank office at 2200 Wilson Blvd. Ste. 100, Arlington, VA 22201. Opening a new account for my Girlfriend and was greeted at the door by several employees offering their assistance. Mr. Josiah Wright handled the opening of the new account in a highly professional and polite manner. He opened the new account in record time and then helped us redeem numerous Treasury Bonds in short order! Ms. Samar Rababe was the Community branch banker that took over the handling of the bond redemption and provided us with outstanding customer service! I recommended BB&T to my GF and these two banking specialists made quite a first impression on her.
    These two bankers make it easy for me to recommend everyone looking for a great bank with awesome customer service! Congrats and thank you for taking time with us.
    r/ TB BB&T member since 1998.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Chrissy26 Oct 14, 2017

    Do not recognize POA as a legal document

    If you have a joint account with your elder parent and are POA, RUN DON'T WALK to go to another banking institution that will recognize your legal document. My mother has mid-stage dementia which they refused to recognize even with a note from the doctor that she was incompetent. My mother didnt understand what online banking was and I had tried to explain to her several times there will be no paper statements but it didn't sink in because of the dementia. She decided to call BB&T and they told her she would have to come to the bank in order to give her information so she called a cab and went to the bank.
    My mother didn't recognize her signature on her checks and the bank implied to her that I was probably signing her name and asked my mother if she would like to take me off of the account. My mother agreed because she wanted a paper statement and it also triggered paranoia which has totally severed our relationship. I had gone to BB&T with my mother and the manager would barely look at me as if I were trying to steal my mothers money.
    It wasn't even money my mother had put in, it was money from a VA spousal benefit that took me a year to get for her care.
    My brother and I went to another branch hoping to understand why our documents were not being recognized. They were even worse. The branch manager told us if we bring in the original Power of Attorney and Letter of Incompetency from the doctor I would be added to the account. She lied through her teeth as well as one of the other managers. We had left after giving them the documents which was mid week. They called on Friday at 5pm and said they couldn't process our request due to the account holder (my mother). They had called her to ask her if she was incompetent!!!! I had to hire an attorney to write to the legal department because they won't talk to you.
    In a million years I would have NEVER expected to go through something as horrible as this. SHAME ON YOU BB&T!!!!!!!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Nerak948 Sep 13, 2017

    B B & T: short for "bastard bank & trust"???

    I got stuck with BB&T when they bought out National Penn. Every time I have to deal with them I come away majorly annoyed...
    1) None of the (800) numbers that they provide on statements or other documentation will connect the caller with a live attendant. You must go to the bank if you want to speak with a human!
    2) They are quick to process overdraft fees (for both issuer and payment recipient) but they are very slow when it comes to letting the assorted parties know when there are problems. If someone gives you a bad check, you are likely experience a "domino effect" of overdrafts yourself. Their notices come through the US mail a full week or more after the problem occurs so you have little chance to rectify the situation before it snowballs out of control.
    3) They DO NOT LISTEN to your needs! For example, I opened an escrow account requesting that a separate statement be generated for the new account, they failed to provide separate statement and keep lumping it on my personal monthly statement so that I cannot present the records to my tenant.
    4) Their bank statements are confusing and difficult to read.
    5) They only provide 2 pre-printed deposit slips per book of checks. Not sufficient!
    6) Their interest rates for credit cards are abnormally high.
    7) They manage to call you frequently from the branch level to solicit more services even when you are not happy with those that they already provide.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By GeorgeC Sep 13, 2017

    BB&T won't cash their own checks

    I received a check drawn on BB&T (not my bank) and went to the Edgewater MD branch to cash it. They refused to cash it without an $8 fee. 9/13/17.

    Think twice about accepting a BB&T check - you can't cash it at BB&T!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By KRBDPS Sep 13, 2017

    Incompetent

    So my EX and I have a joint checking account still at BBT for our Mortgage. He also has his personal checking account there. He made a withdrawal from his personal account in the Millville, NJ office and the teller withdrew the money from our joint account that did not have enough funds to cover his withdrawal. Naturally, we are charged an $36 overdraft fee. So when I called about this on a few occasions I was pretty much told I was SOL for the $36 and to take his name off our joint account, even though the teller was at fault. My ex specificity said he was withdrawing from his personal account and not the joint account at the time of his transaction. I do not under why the teller even withdrew money from an account that simply did not have the amount of the withdrawal in the account. After speaking to the branch manager, Brenda, she told me she would look into and get back to me, which she never did, not did I get my $36 refund back for the tellers mistake.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.