B+ MyBankTracker Rating

BB&T Customer Reviews

(324 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 34
4 Star 7
3 Star 8
2 Star 25
1 Star 250

The Most Helpful BB&T Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By kburriss Jun 29, 2015

5 Stars!

Andrea Brown has been nothing but a huge help for us! I am so glad we chose to open our account with the Taneytown BB&T!

Thank you for all of the help and keep up the great work :)

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Danielle Feb 28, 2013

Omg! The Worst. Please Stay Away!

Funds that's transferred to your account will always be late. Days late. I had funds transferred to my acct. On 15th feb. 2013 & didn't get it until 21st feb. 2013. Right now, i am waiting for a transfer that was wired on 22nd feb. 2013 & guess what? Yep. I am still waiting! Again, please stay away! Don't say you haven't been warned. Here's how i rate my experience.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest BB&T Reviews

  •  
    E
    Reviewed By ErikaDosReis Jan 5, 2017

    Worst bank by far they will get you for NSF fee's and manipulate your accounts to do so every time they can!

    I have been dealing with BB&T for about 10 years, because I have been lazy and it's just not convenient to change banks I have stayed but now leaving BB&T finally after 10 years. I have a personal checking and a small business account and note.... every time my account is low sure enough they find a way to get me for the $36 nsf fee by manipulating my account with what is coming in and what deposits may have been made day before even cash deposits at atm. I am more then fed up and when you call they play dumb. Their online banking sucks also, because I check daily and conveniently they go back a day and manipulate what came in when day before even up to midnight it did not show. I have called PayPal for instance and asked when things posted and clearly they post it one day and bank says oh they posted it at this and this time... all a lie but try to fight that battle! They will rob you blind and when you are paycheck to paycheck it's a hard pill to swallow., BB&T if you are reading this shame on you for doing what you do and you know what I am talking about. YOU WILL lose good customers, maybe small customers but customers non the less.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By jesmartor Dec 30, 2016

    BB&T

    They are very rude. They talk down to their customers. They rip you off with overdraft fees. The branch on Airport Rd in Allentown Pennsylvania is horrible the branch manager Anthony Rivera (484)809-7530 very rude and obnoxious he definitely needs to be fired. They lack customer service skills I can guarantee that they will be the next in the new with major lawsuits.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Auburnc Dec 28, 2016

    Almost terrible

    This bank acts like it is still 1980. They put 7 day holds on government issued tax refund checks! We all know verification is now almost instantaneous. They put your debits through by the highest to the least amount, per day; which is just a way to try and overdraft your acct. More often. The NSF fees are $36. I can keep going, but they are not with any more of my time.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By Tylar Dec 27, 2016

    Worst Bank for Mortgage. STAY AWAY

    Unfortunately I went to this bank under the recommendation of a few people I know. That was a huge mistake. The mortgage loan officers are the worst I have ever worked with. They have told me time and again the anticipated date for closing and have not met any of the timelines they provided. Now it's almost a month after the original closing date and still nothing. The loan officers do not answer my phone calls, return my messages, return my emails, or texts. Because of their lack of care for the customer or their needs I now have to pay a higher interest rate and change my loan type. I know they are avoiding me because in the rare case they do respond to a text, I try to call and they don't respond. It's so frustrating....I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BANK NOR WILL I ENDORSE ANY OF THEIR PRODUCTS OR SERVICES.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By dgyoung201 Dec 23, 2016

    RUN A WAY

    If you want to be ripped off this is the bank for you! Couple of years ago I closed my CD's that went full term. I found a better rate at another bank. They charged me $50.00 to get my money back for each account. After I had to wait 3 weeks to get my money transferred to new bank. Questing the wait, was told they did not know what I wanted (close my accounts both and transfer to bank xxxxx). YES I see the confusion in my request. Even a 1st grader would understand that. I was told that this is standard practice. Well I have mover that money around for 12-13 years and never paid to do it. I always went full term. They will steal your money with a smile.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By Teetee1442 Dec 21, 2016

    Frustrated New Customer

    I switched from my old bank to BB&T because it was closer to me. Boy, did I make a big mistake. I paid 3 bills, however I made a mistake and gave out my savings account number instead of my checking account. I didn't realize this had happened until I received an overdraft notice in the mail. I went to BB&T the very next business day and was told why I received this notice. I signed up for the overdraft protection. I didn't understand why BB&T didn't pull the money from checking account. To make a long story short, I am out $264.00. I've been trying to resolve this issue for 2 weeks. They would not refund any of my money back. I've had conversations with other people who banked with BB&T in the past and they said they've also had bad experience with this bank. I wish I had these conversations before I switched banks.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Avery412 Dec 7, 2016

    OVERSDRAFT FEES

    THE WORST BANK EVER!!! STAY AWAY!!

    BB&T took over Citibank and they are the worst ever. They started charging me over drafts fees for money transfer into a student account. The money was in there when the transfers take place and now they are charging me overdraft fees on my debt card too. I'm done with this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By LC6014 Oct 27, 2016

    Cannot produce cancelled checks online or in timely manner by mail

    I am trying to close on a mortgage and need copies of two cancelled checks from January 2016 to source escrow on the property. It is now just October 2016. The checks are not available online. I requested the checks from customer service and was told they would arrive by U.S. mail in 7 to 10 days. It is now day 11. They refuse to fax or email me copies of the checks. This bank has made very little investment in technology and is slow to the point of extreme inefficiency. Over the period of my ongoing relationship with them they have also charged me fees I should not have been assessed based on my account status. Branch service is also awful. I waited 1/2 an hour yesterday for access to my safety deposit box. Arlington, VA

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By lizka Oct 20, 2016

    the worst bank i ever had

    before was national penn there was no problem I been with them 21 years..
    soon bbt take it, terrible, terrible..they always find something to charge, hold deposits as much they want, customer service terrible. I all ready close one of my account and I'm going to close rest... I feel very bad how they treat customers.
    they change people in the branch for worse,, not help at all.
    very disappoint.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By altlandf Oct 11, 2016

    WORST BANK EVER

    I didn't need this account but I opened it to help a friend Katelyn Aldridge of York, Pa out. She was a friend that I knew for about 5 years. She was always nice and kind to me. About a month after opening my accounts the troubles started. Couldn't log into bb&t u. Kept asking questions and saying I was wrong. Nothing but complaints on bb&t's facebook page. Tried to get accounts for Katelyn. On April 17 around 5:30 am I logged into my account only to see someone elses account numbers and balances. I tried to call the number on the screen and waited 30 minutes before I hung up. Emailed my banker Katelyn and sent her a message on facebook as she confirmed me as a friend. I didn't want her to be without money and get in trouble. Katelyn asked me to come in for an account review. When I went to there the branch manager Colon Mc Connell yelled at me like I was in highschool. This bank employes rude employees and branch managers. When you complain to the CEO line bb&t officials will lie to you and government officials. I have never checked on a bank before bb&t. Now I check banks out before joining them. If I could give this no stars I would it's that bad. They will steal your money every chance they can. bb&t has even been sued by their own employees. They even conduct mock bank robberies without letting the branch they intend to rob know. Save your money and stay away from this bank!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.