B+ MyBankTracker Rating

BB&T Customer Reviews

(315 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 34
4 Star 7
3 Star 8
2 Star 24
1 Star 242

The Most Helpful BB&T Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By kburriss Jun 29, 2015

5 Stars!

Andrea Brown has been nothing but a huge help for us! I am so glad we chose to open our account with the Taneytown BB&T!

Thank you for all of the help and keep up the great work :)

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Danielle Feb 28, 2013

Omg! The Worst. Please Stay Away!

Funds that's transferred to your account will always be late. Days late. I had funds transferred to my acct. On 15th feb. 2013 & didn't get it until 21st feb. 2013. Right now, i am waiting for a transfer that was wired on 22nd feb. 2013 & guess what? Yep. I am still waiting! Again, please stay away! Don't say you haven't been warned. Here's how i rate my experience.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest BB&T Reviews

  • L
    Reviewed By lizka Oct 20, 2016

    the worst bank i ever had

    before was national penn there was no problem I been with them 21 years..
    soon bbt take it, terrible, terrible..they always find something to charge, hold deposits as much they want, customer service terrible. I all ready close one of my account and I'm going to close rest... I feel very bad how they treat customers.
    they change people in the branch for worse,, not help at all.
    very disappoint.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By altlandf Oct 11, 2016


    I didn't need this account but I opened it to help a friend Katelyn Aldridge of York, Pa out. She was a friend that I knew for about 5 years. She was always nice and kind to me. About a month after opening my accounts the troubles started. Couldn't log into bb&t u. Kept asking questions and saying I was wrong. Nothing but complaints on bb&t's facebook page. Tried to get accounts for Katelyn. On April 17 around 5:30 am I logged into my account only to see someone elses account numbers and balances. I tried to call the number on the screen and waited 30 minutes before I hung up. Emailed my banker Katelyn and sent her a message on facebook as she confirmed me as a friend. I didn't want her to be without money and get in trouble. Katelyn asked me to come in for an account review. When I went to there the branch manager Colon Mc Connell yelled at me like I was in highschool. This bank employes rude employees and branch managers. When you complain to the CEO line bb&t officials will lie to you and government officials. I have never checked on a bank before bb&t. Now I check banks out before joining them. If I could give this no stars I would it's that bad. They will steal your money every chance they can. bb&t has even been sued by their own employees. They even conduct mock bank robberies without letting the branch they intend to rob know. Save your money and stay away from this bank!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sam_k Sep 23, 2016


    Stay far away from this bank. They will steal money from you any chance I get.
    On top of it taking a month to get money back from the atm that swallowed my money, they charged me 4 fees for calling into customer service. They were only 2 dollar charges but why charge for calling customer service? Supposedly you only get 2 free calls a month, then they charge you unless it is due to fraud. I couldn't count the charges I've had from them over the years. I am so happy I am changing banks. Do yourself a favor and do not invest your money/time in BB&T.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Morgan283728 Sep 22, 2016


    I've been a loyal customer with bb&t for 4 year now. They have stolen hundred of dollars from me in "unexplained nonrefundable fees" they also hold your money for the dumbest reasons. Have you deposited a check after 6 ? Oh well you can't get into until the next day or sometimes days later because there were some "complications". Sometimes they hold it even if you deposited it before 6 just cause they like to inconvenience you. Are you cashing a check from another bank ? Well only 100 dollars will be available to you until the next day we'll sometimes they don't even give you anything. Sometimes they hold the whole thing because they don't want you to have your money. How else are they going to steal it when you're spending it ? Oh they can't so they put you through financial hell just to be rude and say there's nothing they can do for something they will say is their fault or they don't know why it happened ? They are full of shit and will ruin your life and take your money !!! If I can please save anyone the trouble and money with this review then I will consider this a success.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Peterson2800 Sep 22, 2016

    Worse bank ever !!!!

    If I could rate it no stars I would. I have been a loyal customer with Bb&t for about 4 years now ? And recently I've had a lot of unexplained issues. I am a college student and don't make or have a lot of money. My spending habits haven't changed since becoming a student. I have overdraft protecting because I can't afford a 36 dollar fee for something that I can do without until my next check. Quite a few times they have charged me this overdraft fee when my account should have gone into the negative (and yea a dollar into the negative makes a huge difference than 36 dollars into te negative. That's 36 dollars less I'll have in my next check just for whatever I was charged with to still not have been paid). I have called and the representatives have even said the same thing. Some of the times when I have been charged there isn't even an explanation. A representative one day couldn't even find a reason why I was charged. They said I would be refunded but I WAS NEVER REFUNDED. They keep saying the money was put into my account but it hasn't shown up in my account history when I log in. They're full of crap. I barely make 800 dollars a month I cant afford to lose 36 dollars left and right! That can determine whether I get to eat for the week or not. I make budget plans and I plan this carefully so stuff like this won't keep happening. They gave me 100 dollar fee for overdraft when I hadn't used my card in days. I should have taken them to court for taking money from me with no explanation and when saying they would refund me not doing so. This has caused me to become behind on bills, and have to go days without eating or having to sleep in my car because they are taking my money for no reason. I am closing my accounts with them. And I strongly recommend that you don't open an account with them or go to them for any business inquiries. It is a waste of time they will take your money with no explanation. And never refund you even when they say they will and then they will put on your file that they did so you can never get refunded. Their representatives are rude and always act as if there is nothing they can do for you. I am completely fed up with this bullshit bank and I will be taking MY MONEY to Wells Fargo. Don't waste your time and lose your money like I did.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • Z
    Reviewed By zacharyjames1986 Sep 18, 2016


    BB&T is considered a large bank compared to other banks and credit unions I have worked with. Every time you want to pay just principle on your Mortgage on line you cannot do it without making a payment which would be a month or so ahead. I had 195,000 left on my mortgage and paid an addition 50,000 towards the principle, approximately 1,663 of the 50,000 was put towards the next payment. You cannot just pay principle without calling and doing it. This is the first mortgage I have had that you cannot just pay principle towards the loan.
    This is not the worse thing about it though. It would be alright if they charged the interest on the payment after the 48,337 went towards the principle. No! No! They charge the interest towards the payment (due on 1 Oct) before the principle is paid towards the loan. Even though that payment is not due until the 1-10 Oct. Keep in mind I did this transaction on 16 Sept. This pays an additional $125-$150 in interest towards the loan that BB&T pockets. Every other mortgage company I have dealt with, most smaller than BB&T has allowed me to pay principle only on the loan. I would have rather just put it all towards principle. They do this because there are people that don't realize how much you can save in interest. Instead you have to call to do this transaction no matter the amount of the transaction. I don't know about the CEO but my time is valuable and I don't have the time to call and go through teleprompters to get things like this taken care of. I wonder how much money they make a year on people that don't know this.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Ashworth Sep 9, 2016

    If you don't have an account but need to cash a check at BB&T they are hostile

    I cringe every time that someone gives me a check drawn on BB&T. The Chantilly, VA branch employees are hostile when I try to cash a check there and in fact refuse in every instance to give me all large bills - flat out telling me that the large bills are reserved for their clients. Not to mention the $8 fee for every check cashed.
    I own 3 businesses and use 3 other banks with no problems - we'll NEVER use BB&T due to their rude treatment of clients who enter their branch here.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AngryinTn Sep 2, 2016

    Terrible customer service BB&T

    What should have taken 5 minutes took over one and half hours to complete plus 65 miles to accomplish the task. I needed someone in the branch to sign off on insurance claim check so I could pay body shop for work on my car. First branch wanted me to drive one way 35 miles to a branch with an officer. Then she decided I could drive 17 miles one way which I did and they would be able to sign the check. Guess what - they couldn't sign off on check either. It didn't seem to bother any employee of my inconvenience. Customer service isn't a number 1 priority with this bank. If you are going to have branches open make sure staff is trained and can perform all transactions. Otherwise your branches will be inadequately staffed and customers will leave BB &T for a bank with better service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sknowlton3 Aug 25, 2016

    BB&T = Burglars, Bandits & Thieves

    A National Penn customer who was assured that Burglars, Bandits & Thieves (BB&T) would continue to service in the same way that National Penn did. WRONG!!!! This is absolutely the WORST BANK EVER!.. Stay away...STAY VERY FAR AWAY! They steal your money. Lost $72 in overdraft fees they caused by deducting money from my account two days before they were instructed to. Can't even get customer service to respond, let alone get my money back. Do yourself a favor and give this crew a wide berth.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TWA Aug 19, 2016

    Questionable Practices at BBT

    I have been a customer of BBT for 30+ years. Recently they changed their policy on check card purchases without notifying me. As a result they charged me $396 in overdraft fees which they won't refund. Stay away from these crooks. They are trying give me some bs about why this suddenly happened but I know they are lying because I know how my check card purchases have always been handled.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.