B+ MyBankTracker Rating

BB&T Customer Reviews

(339 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 37
4 Star 7
3 Star 8
2 Star 25
1 Star 262

The Most Helpful BB&T Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By ACRODE Apr 10, 2017

Great Local Bank and Great Customer Service

Bank Atlantic, a long time local Florida Bank was acquired by BB&T in 2012. Having been a Bank Atlantic customer for many years, I feared that the new bank would destroy the hometown feel and intimate banking experience one gets with a local bank that is part of the community and where the employees know and recognize their clientele.
I am happy to say that BB&T has retained the local feel of the former Bank Atlantic experience while simultaniously offering the benefits that accompany a larger banking institution.
Most notably with this branch is the retention of excellent presonnel from the tellers to the site manager. The manager in particular is committed to the community and seems to know all her customers by name. If a hometown style banking experience is what you seek accompanied by the benefits of a larger bank, this may be the bank and particularly the branch for you.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Danielle Feb 28, 2013

Omg! The Worst. Please Stay Away!

Funds that's transferred to your account will always be late. Days late. I had funds transferred to my acct. On 15th feb. 2013 & didn't get it until 21st feb. 2013. Right now, i am waiting for a transfer that was wired on 22nd feb. 2013 & guess what? Yep. I am still waiting! Again, please stay away! Don't say you haven't been warned. Here's how i rate my experience.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest BB&T Reviews

  •  
    S
    Reviewed By sheloregon May 11, 2017

    Great Service

    hi friends,
    I would like to commend the service I recently received from a teller at this branch. I usually use this branch, and I always go inside because I like dealing with humans. Your teller Jorge (sorry I didn't get his last name) was very professional but also amazingly fast in receiving my deposit, checking my ID and returning cash. I was just getting ready to shift into wait mode when I was done!
    I also would like to commend the bank for its outreach to the Latino community. All the posters in Spanish and tellers, like Jorge, who speak Spanish make the bank clearly a friend of the community. I appreciate this very much. While I am not Latino, I've lived in South America and deplore the current hateful atmosphere.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By Dr424 May 8, 2017

    Horrible, unfair business practices and doesn't care about customers

    If I could give this bank a negative rating i would. So bad. I can't even explain all of the the things that they do that are I don't even think are legal, but overdraft fees OVER overdraft fees if that makes sense, customer service that is nothing less than sub-par, ATM's constantly "out of service", terrible banking hours, most employees have the personality of a wet mop, charging customers if they call the "customer service help" phone line more than 1x in a 24hr period (which if you have an issue, is nearly impossible to avoid), the list goes on and on. There are so many times that this bank made my head want to explode. The branch manager's explanation for the fees for phone service were "well, most of the customers just want us to read off the statements they get and go over transactions, and we need lines open for fraud protection, etc." another words, IDGAF about you, or your money. Fraud protection, from what? BB&T bank?because that who the real fraud is. Thieves.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By jessicad123 Apr 26, 2017

    No words.

    If I could leave a negative rating, this bank would get a -5 star rating.

    BBT bought out my local bank in July 2016 and it's been the worst 9 months. I've had more errors in 9 months with this bank than I had in over 14 years with the former bank. From staffing that is nowhere near the need, to drive thrus and ATMs that are constantly out of order, to no one answering the phones or knowing how to look up fees to saying they will call you back and never do. Shall I go on?

    Steer clear unless you enjoy constant frustration and a complete waste of your time dealing with issues.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By Cfordfl Apr 20, 2017

    Smoke and Mirrors Banking

    This bank has very deceptive business practices and is out to steal your money. They like to hide transactions including gas pump debit (not credit) charges which are supposed to be deducted from your account within 15 minutes. I will be closing my account with them and sticking with Bank of America.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By joannmkramer Apr 14, 2017

    melbourne branch

    I went in to open a checking account and was denied because they said I couldn't prove to them my address. I just moved from Colorado to take care of my mother until she passed away. I was told because I do not have a utility bill or I.D. in fl. yet. So I said ok and left. The next day I check my credit score and see that they had done a hard inquiry on me and made my credit score drop. Not one word was said to me about pulling my credit. I call them to ask why they had done an unauthurized credit check and was told by the branch manager ALL banks do credit checks and I should have known. Well that is a bold face lie as I have had plenty of bank accounts in my life and have NEVER EVER had a bank pull my credit for a checking account. I was also told by the branch manager that there is a little sign on all the desks at their bank that states they will pull your credit. I wish I would have looked at all these reviews and did my homework on these guys as it became very clear to me when finding out that CITIBANK is BB&T. I will make sure I stear anyone I can AWAY from this Bank as it is nothing but a rip off. Already had problems with CITI in the past with a mortgage where they charged me for insurance and property taxes and after paying off my house I find out that they lied and never paid either. and unless you are able to afford a lawyer they just get to keep all the money they steal from you. I don't know how people who work for them sleep at night. They are nothing but thieves. these calus cold people will have to answer to their maker one day. WORTHLESS SCAMMERS, your day will come! If you work for them YOU should be ashamed of yourself!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By ACRODE Apr 10, 2017

    Great Local Bank and Great Customer Service

    Bank Atlantic, a long time local Florida Bank was acquired by BB&T in 2012. Having been a Bank Atlantic customer for many years, I feared that the new bank would destroy the hometown feel and intimate banking experience one gets with a local bank that is part of the community and where the employees know and recognize their clientele.
    I am happy to say that BB&T has retained the local feel of the former Bank Atlantic experience while simultaniously offering the benefits that accompany a larger banking institution.
    Most notably with this branch is the retention of excellent presonnel from the tellers to the site manager. The manager in particular is committed to the community and seems to know all her customers by name. If a hometown style banking experience is what you seek accompanied by the benefits of a larger bank, this may be the bank and particularly the branch for you.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Maggiebubba Mar 22, 2017

    IRA fraud

    Bb t gave my wife 25,000 dollars from my IRA which I did not hive r permission. 14 individual times she forged my signature until acct was closed.THE BANK LET HER HAVE THE MONEY. the banker at the time miss copper from the carmel branch Charlotte nc admitted my wife at the time had her totally fooled. Bank said its too long they only keep records for a certain period then they are discarded.that's my story and its asll TRUE

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Ande Mar 19, 2017

    Horrible mortgage

    When I went into closing that unexpectedly slapped me with a prepayment penalty. No bank rep was present at closing. Ten years later I found means to pay the 9% loan off, of course paying off only 14% of the principle during that time, and they slap me with a $22 late charge by closing on the 10th instead of the first. That should be illegal.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By Dinger208 Mar 8, 2017

    Sneaky fees

    I was a 20+ year customer until this month. 6 months ago they started charging me 4.00/ month to image my checks. I had to call to turn off that"service" which just started charging fees. Then I started getting charged 9.95/month for downloading my transactions into Mint. That was the last straw. The customer rep was argumentative and pointedly stated we were using "their" resources so we had to pay for them. Losers. 20+ years.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    N
    Reviewed By Nes Feb 24, 2017

    Horrible service horrible management

    Shay was very unprofessional and rude. Closing my account and never looking back. All they do is steal peoples money

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.