Profile | Reviews

BMO Harris Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, harrisbank.com

175 Reviews
2 out of 5 stars

Established in 1817 as Bank of Montreal, BMO Financial Group is one of the largest diversified financial services organizations in North America with US$437 billion in assets and more than 39,000 employees. With the addition of M&I operations, we are over 45,000 employees strong.

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By Lovingit88_ Feb 14, 2018

    As an ex employee..

    As an ex exployee. I sit and read all of these reviews and nod my head in agreement. Customer service is swamped with phone calls with issue after issue. Many of the staff are overworked and stressed. Procedures change almost daily so it is impossible to keep up. As a result the wrong info is given out and customers get angry because they were told something different from someone else.I can tell you bankers,customer service reps, tellers are always trying to make their customers experiences better. When this concern is relayed to upper management, the top ignores most of the advice.Top management only cares about the money, that is all. Banking is a big business not a charity.The system at BMO is made to fail their customers.Top management doesnt deal with clients directly, but have cushy offices and drive their Mercedes., If they cared, the system would work in the customers favor. Please be kind to your bankers and tellers. They get yelled at often and get called horrible names. So if you wonder why they arent smiling dont take it personally. There is ALOT of pressure for banking employees. They have rules and regulations to follow or risk losing their jobs.
    We deal with difficult customers too. I could no longer work here again because of the stress and constant negativity. Some like to start problems and are NEVER satisfied. They say they will go to a different bank but they bring their negative personality with them and guess what? They arent satisfied there either. But I truely feel bad for the others who have been wronged by the bank and get charged fees or are given wrong information, etc. Top management needs to take these complaints to heart and step up.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Brucekelsey Jan 4, 2018

    Unexcusable phone wait times, horrible on-line functionality.

    All I can say is that I wasted an hour trying to get in contact with an agent on the phone or online chat. Web site is the most burdensome experience I have ever had compared many other banking sites I have accounts with. I don't think this bank has figured out that most of us don't want to drive to an office and talk to a banker.
    Once I can figure out how to, I will be closing my accounts with this institution.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By joannsbishop Dec 19, 2017

    Missing promo deposit of $300

    I received a mailer from BMO regarding a $200 checking account bonus and $300 savings account bonus this summer. It is now December and I have yet to receive the $300. I have met all the requirements and phoned numerous times and am consistently told it will be 3-5 business days. Deceptive practices. I'm looking for a way to report them to a banking authority.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By dawnofthenorth Dec 19, 2017

    WOULD GIVE THEM LESS IF POSSIBLE

    This bank almost cost us our house. We managed to keep our house, but went through 2 years of complete hell with this bank. We even tried writing to President, and BEGGED, BEGGED for help. They ignored us. Treated US like we were dirt. When it was in fact, their negligence that cause our mortgage account to get hacked.... WE HAVE OVERPAID IN THE THOUSANDS TO THIS BANK.

    They are crooks. They have the power to do it.. Even if you take them to court, they can out-lawyer you, and squash you with fee's, court fee's, bank fees etc. etc..

    THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU OR ANYONE ELSE.

    PLEASE,,, DO NOT USE ANY BANK OF MONTREAL ANYTHING. Save yourself what our family and children have gone through.

    BANK OF MONTREAL AND THEIR AFFILIATES ARE POSION.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Nelo Dec 14, 2017

    BmoHarris

    Overdrafted on 12/06/17, made a deposit on 12/07/17 to cover. Got a notice on 12/14/17 about the overdraft so I called them and asked for a one time courtesy fee. They offered to give me half ! Half back! They were not kidding, at least Chase gives it all back. Needless to say I will be closing my account once direct deposit is switched.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Greer Dec 7, 2017

    BMO will not close and disburse my dead fianc s account

    My fianc died in July and appointed me his Personal Representative/executor of his estate. In September, I began trying to close his BMO Harris IRA account and have the money disbursed. After speaking with someone on the phone, I was told that some from the bank would return my call. Never happened so I called again. I was told to mail certified copies of his death certificate and letter that appointed me his PR to their mailing address. About 6 weeks later, I finally got an email asking me to fax the same documents to them. After weeks of emails requesting additional information, making stipulations, and using other delaying tactics, they have refused to close the account or disburse the money.
    Nor have they provided any process for this to happen. Its not bad enough that I have to grieve the loss of the man I loved but now have to deal with this horrible bank. Does anyone know of any recourse?

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By jneuman Aug 22, 2017

    unfair rating

    I was looking at the "my banktracker" review and an unfair review was present by an unhappy customer from many years before. My experience was the opposite: very attentive and helpful staff, very efficient and willing to help. I was extremely satisfied with my experience in this Institution; Ms. Montoya was the banker I dealt with. Highly recommend this bank.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By orilly Jul 28, 2017

    Amy is Rude

    I have stopped in several times to get documents notarized, every time - it never fails Amy is rude and disrespectful. I'm not sure if she's prejudice or just thinks bank clients are beneath her... I think she's hateful .

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By cindylouwho54 Jul 20, 2017

    Friendly, caring staff

    I took my very young 93 year old Mother to this branch to deposit a considerable amount of cash from the sale of her car. We arrived about 5 minutes before closing as that was as soon as I could get her there.The bank teller at the counter was so friendly and helpful. We also set up an overdraft protection account although she has never been overdrawn in her life. We thought this would be a good idea just in case. The personal banker stayed after closing to help us with that and she was also so friendly and helpful. Is there a way to give them personal recognition? Everyone that was there was so welcoming.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By jdbrownfar Jul 6, 2017

    Uncalled for fees

    My elderly Mother is homebound and needed some cash. She wrote me a check so I could cash it at her bank and bring the money to her. This bank charged me a $10 fee to cash the check. This is a check from her account at this bank branch.
    I tried to get the manager to waive the fee, he said he couldn't do it.
    I consider that fee to be ridiculous, and it should have been waived.
    Also, if a manager doesn't have the authority to make things right for the customer, then you might as well not have a manager.
    Not good service, I don't recommend this bank and will encourage my Mother to find a new one.
    My bank doesn't charge fees like this, everyone else I've talked agrees that this is a rip off.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.