B MyBankTracker Rating

BMO Harris Bank Customer Reviews

(161 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 7
4 Star 3
3 Star 9
2 Star 12
1 Star 130

The Most Helpful BMO Harris Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Jeanith Nov 22, 2012

Stay Away-Horrible Bank with rude customer service

I became a customer through acquisition. Immediately BMO Harris held my deposit for twleve (yes, 12) days! The check I deposited came from another family member. I was able to product the cleared and cancelled check to BMO Harris, but they still would not release the funds. In adidition to holding that deposit, they gave me a "0" available funds balance...even though I had a little over $400.00 in account before the transition. I am checking with the Attorney General about the legality of this move. They charged me a 35.00 fee, as during the "hold" time I did have one check presented for payment and it did not clear due to the fact they were holding my deposit. I was given the name and number of someone in Chicago who personally puts "holds" on deposits. Needless to say, I was not able to reach this person.
Save yourself the headache of dealing with these people. Go to a bank that wants your business.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By jgaworldwide Mar 11, 2014

BMO Harris are criminals!

After doing business with BMO/Harris I have experienced some of the most corrupt practices in banking and have pulled all my accounts and businesses to other banks. The lending department has called a reassessment of my home equity line of credit after only using for 2 years for home improvements and are calling for the loan to be paid in full in 2 months or face foreclosure proceedings. I have always made my payments on time and have excellent credit. They are claiming they are no longer offering lines of credit anymore and will not negotiate my mortgage forcing me to make a full payment after just learning of this 1 week ago. I immediately got in touch with the Fed reserve complaints division of consumer complaints and have filed a complaint against them. How the bank knowingly gave me a guaranteed credit line only to be able to withdraw and call it due is down rite criminal behavior and should be illegal! Not only are they not willing to work with me on any solution, they have given me 2 months to pay or face action. I hope this helps other consumers from ever thinking of doing business with this scam of an institution based out of Canada! I can only imagine how many other peoples lives and credit will be destroyed from this dirty practice of forcing payment, knowing the average person can't come up with the full amount and forcing a family into foreclosure with good credit , just to be destroyed. BUYER BEWARE!!!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest BMO Harris Bank Reviews

  •  
    W
    Reviewed By waterskier87 Feb 17, 2017

    Smooth Process

    As a first time homebuyer, I wasn't sure what to expect through the process. Everything went smoother than I imagined, and we were able to close on-time and get in our new home as scheduled. There was a lot of paperwork involved, but my mortgage lender let me know exactly what I needed to be prepared for the transaction. The staff at the bank was also very friendly and welcomed me each time I came by the branch.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    9
    Reviewed By 987johm Feb 16, 2017

    Worst banking experience ever.

    First off $5-6 bucks to withdrawal your own money from an atm! When you go to get a cashiers check and you hand them cash they tell you great it will be ready in 24 hours. I just gave you cash!!
    Online banking is horrible, you deposit cash and it pends deposit for up to 5 days! What takes so long! Plus the overdraft scam they have is relentless. Try sending out a bill they will screw up the date for sure. Seriously how is this place still in business?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jmorse26 Jan 19, 2017

    Worst experience for a first- time home buyer

    Getting a morgage loan was difficult even though I had all my paperwork in, a realtor that was on top of it, and a very good credit score. My loan officer lost paperwork several times, forgot to order my home inspection, and then quit two weeks before closing.
    I could chalk it up to one employee being a bad apple_ but now I have a whole new issue.
    I received the loan, after holding the banks hand through the process. I send in my first payment, and they code it for a much lower amount then what it should be. My bank calls, corrects the issue, and they receive their payment. Except they never document this. So I'm getting hit with late fees, and 800 dollars is "gone". So to stop the late fees I give them 900 dollars to get current. I'm calling every month to get this corrected. I've talked to 6 people. I've submitted documentation. Now, they say it's all taken care of except it's still on my credit report, and the statement they just sent me doesn't have any changes except the late fees aren't on it anymore. Which I paid them anyway. They owe me a lot of money, and they need to fix my credit. So far, 3 months later I am still fighting these people.
    DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE FOR A MORTGAGE.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By RajisMom Dec 2, 2016

    Completely screwed up our loan

    When we decided to purchase a new vehicle, they gave the wrong payoff number for the existing loan to our new finance guy. The new loan was to be at a different financial institution. He set up a deal and we traded in the old vehicle. We found out after the fact, after receiving a letter from a collection agency, that we still owed $5000 on the old loan. BMO Harris rep was a pain to work with -- would not return calls -- and the bank would not admit their mistake and told us they'd release an audio recording of the interaction between the bank, us and our finance guy ONLY if we hired a lawyer and got a subpoena for the records. What? It was OUR record. It took over two months to get it straightened out -- or so we thought. We just got notice that our BMO Harris loan had been sold. Wait... how could it be sold if it was paid off? NO -- it's still screwed up. Do not trust this bank. They have their bottom line in mind, not the customer!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By kkkvvv Oct 27, 2016

    Don't do it. Go somewhere else!!!!

    They screwed up my credit royally. House was foreclosed on 5 years ago and they keep reporting delinquent monthly. Can't get them to stop.
    If I could rate with zero stars I would.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By jennywolf27 Oct 17, 2016

    Do NOT get a home mortgage here.

    Worst home mortgage bank I have ever encountered. John Whalen was very unprofessional, calling my relator a bitch, yelling at me to "hang on lady", losing things, asking me if my husband was married before, etc. etc. Had we not been in "too deep" already with them when buying and selling our house, there is no way we would have stayed with them!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    G
    Reviewed By gr78 Sep 29, 2016

    Managers are useless

    If your are interested in customer service and having a manager to go to for any service issue complaint, it would be advantageous to place your banking business elsewhere. Simple statement and service issues are met with confusion. Don't even expect a call back from a manager if you are looking for one. Have my car loan there so I stay, but once paid off, Im out of there. Thank goodness I have other bank accounts elsewhere to rely on.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By Prpuri Sep 28, 2016

    I hate the service

    I opened a bank account with BMO because I got multiple emails from them. Once opened, I got to know that I cant do any wire transfers. Next, the checks I send don't get delivered.
    Next, I left money in my account and came back to India and they said that its easily transferrable and guess what, now they are saying that there is no way to get back my money without coming back to US. I don't know what to do or where to go. I have been taking calls till 2am at night to get that money but they just don't care.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By macmilley Sep 13, 2016

    Always block my card for no reason when I shop online

    So many negative things about the bank:
    -always block my card without my knowledge when I shop online
    -when you call them they ask for some student code which you can never remember cause I call once in 4-6 months when they block the card
    -once I deposited money to the ATM machine on Friday afternoon, and I only got them on my account on Monday!! what the hell were they doing with my money???

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jforadori Aug 27, 2016

    Terrible Service

    Westland Plaza
    33703 N. Scottsdale Rd.
    Scottsdale, AZ, 85262
    I'm sorry to say that I had a bank account here.
    I had an service that was taking money out of my account, even when there was not enough. After the first time this happened, I asked the man I talked to to have my account not allow any money to go out if there is not enough in my account. I thought that shouldn't be too hard to do considering my other bank does that.
    Well, it happened again in 3 months. I went in to pay the balance and asked if there would be any other fees to pay. He said no.
    I checked my bank account again and it was -$85 then two days later -$97. I went in the bank to ask what was going on and the man that I talked to before told some other guy to help me and I explained to him that the last time I was in that the other guy that had pushed me off to him said that my account was at 0. I wanted to know why it was at -$97. He said it was because I should have known that I would be charged $35 for the over draft. I told him that the other guy said the account was at zero so I assumed it would stay there.
    He then told me he could waive his fees and I would only need to pay 35, I told him this is really poor customer service and that I am telling people not to come to this bank. Then he said, I'd have to pay the 97.
    I told my husband what happened on the phone right after that. This was yesterday - Friday evening.
    He went to get $97 from our other bank and then we went to another branch of BMO to close out the bank.
    I can honestly say these guys at the BMO on N. Scottsdale have no idea of how to keep a customer. I just got a new job making 250+ and I was hoping to keep my money in BMO. However, I'm going to a bank I can trust: Chase, and I will tell everyone I know about these two bullies at BMO N. Scottsdale.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.