B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Bank of the Sierra Customer Reviews

(8 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 0
1 Star 6

The Most Helpful Bank of the Sierra Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By gdalere Jan 10, 2016

Great Bank

On 01/08/2016 I went into the Bank Of The Sierra Delano Branch, and I was pleased that employees greeted me as I came into the bank. When I went to go open my savings and checking account, employee did her job accurately, professionally, and courteously. I am so pleased on how they wanted me to be a customer of theirs. I am proud to be with Bank Of The Sierra.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Liv Jan 1, 2016

Bank of the Sierra in Farmersville CA 93223

My fiance was depositing money into my account from the outside ATM, he could not get confirmation that the money he deposited went through. The lady at the bank told him to go inside, the lady working at the bank ( Cindy ) took my bank card from him and told him I would have to go to the bank and pick up my ATM card.

The Lady at the bank ( Cindy ) called me up before I could even get down there and told me she was destroying my card, and all my transactions would now have to be done from inside the bank.

What kind of customer service is this??? The people there are so rude!!

I am disappointed that this bank has people like this working there.
This has been an inconvenience to me because I am planning a trip in two weeks and I don't have my ATM card. I will soon be switching banks to a much better one.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Bank of the Sierra Reviews

  • K
    Reviewed By kevinhowen Jul 6, 2016

    Terrible Customer Service

    Created a new Checking and Savings account with them. After 5 weeks of waiting for a Debit Card and nothing arriving, I had to call them 3 times over 2 days to find out that it was never sent due to some bug in the system. Of course I had not been notified via any method of this. Customer reps don't seem to know anything and have to re-ask every question of mine to either a supervisor, or message another department to find an answer. I even had several people say they would call me back with answers and never got a call.

    Terrible experience, and I would recommend you steer clear of this financial institution. Perhaps if everything gets setup correctly the first time you will be OK, but if there is any sort of issue that requires the bank to investigate and rectify a situation, get ready for an uphill battle.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By gdalere Jan 10, 2016

    Great Bank

    On 01/08/2016 I went into the Bank Of The Sierra Delano Branch, and I was pleased that employees greeted me as I came into the bank. When I went to go open my savings and checking account, employee did her job accurately, professionally, and courteously. I am so pleased on how they wanted me to be a customer of theirs. I am proud to be with Bank Of The Sierra.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Liv Jan 1, 2016

    Bank of the Sierra in Farmersville CA 93223

    My fiance was depositing money into my account from the outside ATM, he could not get confirmation that the money he deposited went through. The lady at the bank told him to go inside, the lady working at the bank ( Cindy ) took my bank card from him and told him I would have to go to the bank and pick up my ATM card.

    The Lady at the bank ( Cindy ) called me up before I could even get down there and told me she was destroying my card, and all my transactions would now have to be done from inside the bank.

    What kind of customer service is this??? The people there are so rude!!

    I am disappointed that this bank has people like this working there.
    This has been an inconvenience to me because I am planning a trip in two weeks and I don't have my ATM card. I will soon be switching banks to a much better one.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Daniel Dipierri Mar 21, 2015

    Horrible Bank in every way shape or form!

    Their hours suck,their customer service sucks,you lose your card or just need a new one they charge you for it,and it goes on & on & on.Do yourself a favor and go to Well's Fargo like i did & you'll be treated like a bank should treat you for having your money there unlike the BOS!To be honest i really don't know how in the hell they stay in business i really don't,and as far as being voted the #1 online bank 4 years in a row well there's an easy explanation for that which is THEY BRIBED SOMEONE!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rebeca Jul 23, 2014

    Do not get an account with this bank.!!!!!

    I have been with this bank for close to 2 years it has been one disappointment after another. I specifically asked for no over draft protection and when my account was over drafted I was informed that when I asked for this coverage to be removed it was only for 30 days and I was supposed to have filled out another paper. As if I knew that!!!!!! I was trusting when I opened this account I would be notified of stuff like this specially when I made it very clear I wanted that feature taken off, not just for 30 days. I was also told by a teller that "sometimes" they will honor pre authorized transactions even if I requested that if the funds were not available I did not want anything to go thru, I was very worried that my money would only "SOMETIMES" be protected. She could not be specific on when "sometimes" would apply. The manager was rude and would not answer any of my questions, she would give me the run around. I was trying to support my community bank but I am ready to close this account. I would not recommend this bank to any one.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RVH Mar 12, 2014

    This Bank Is Run By Idiots

    I own a veterinary hospital in bakersfield. I opened 4 accounts at this bank, 2 are interest bearing. Last month i noticed that i earned zero interest. When i called, i was told i did not have any interest bearing accounts. Wtf. Upon further research, and only after i disputed what they said, they "discovered" that they had made a technical error on a recent conversion internally in their bank and somehow converted all my accounts to non-interest bearing accounts. Unbelievable. I am now fighting to get my interest for the last 1 1/2 months. Will be closing all my accounts at this bank and filing a complaint with regulators. Idiots.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sionvsion@yahoo.com Sep 11, 2013

    Thieves working with Paypal!

    Primary Account is not defined by Paypal as being the primary account billed with autopay transactions. If you change bank accounts because you moved out of the local area, close your Paypal account first. Bank of Sierra is profiting primarily through overdraft fees. Paypal is set up to maximize overdraft. Nobody would expect the definition of Primary account not to mean "first account to be billed". Bank of Sierra profits horribly from this misconception. With overdraft protection and Paypal routing your money unexpectedly to the wrong account all Banks win. Bank of Sierra has no intention of reversing overdraft charges due to Paypal's underhanded strategy. Why would Paypal do this? Because Paypal/ebay owner also owns stock in various organizations in Micro financing. These organizations make most of their profits from overdraft protection. Paypal is conveniently set up to maximize profits through overdraft. I would have never known this until I moved. It must really be horrible for poor people in America that live paycheck to paycheck. This is the first time I have over drafted and it only happened because I moved. They literally stole $1000 from me in overdraft fees this month when I tried to change bank accounts and Paypal routed my money in a direction I didn't expect it to go. Watch out America, it's things like this that turn countries into a war zone. O. Pierre is a French Iranian with heavy sentiments toward Iran and Iranian allies. Bank of Sierra is profiting heavily from his underhanded techniques to rob you of your labor. Banking local just means it's more difficult to close your account after you move.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • DM
    Reviewed By David M. Jan 5, 2012

    Bank of Sierra is OK by me!

    I opened this account a couple years ago when they accepted out-of-state applications and were paying over 4%. Even with the rate cut in half, it's still much better than most. As my primary account, I use it mostly online as intended so never had any issues with bank staff or customer service. Thier website does seem pretty dated, but not unlike several other community banks (M&T Bank and Provident NJ come to mind).

    At first I thought the choice of ATM locations would be a problem but their Allpoint ATM network is in most (if not all) the Hess stations, Target stores, and 7-Elevens. Makes it much easier for me to find a FREE ATM than with any other bank. I can get reimbursed if I go outside the network, but why make Bank Sierra contribute to another bank's profit. If I need to transfer to an outside account, I use my other bank's website; Bank of Sierra doesn't charge me (the others would if the transfer was going the other way).

    A couple times I thought of switching to a bank closer to home (the 3hr time zone difference is a bit annoying) with similar rules and/or better rates, but one thing makes me forget all that - this account works for me!

    Good Job Bank of Sierra.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.