A MyBankTracker Rating

Bank of the West Customer Reviews

(74 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 2
2 Star 5
1 Star 59

The Most Helpful Bank of the West Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By dblake1 Feb 25, 2016

Great Service

I lost some statements from an account i closed out over six months ago. Now I need the statements.

The teller was very helpful. It took some time and effort on her part to deal with the problem I caused. She was efficient, cheerful, very helpful and tracked down the statementss for me.

My experience with this branch has always been positive. I appreciate being a customer there.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By CoriKennedy Apr 17, 2017

Inconsistent on policies

We will be pulling our accounts that we have had since 2003 due to differing policies each time we deposit.

As with everything in Evergreen, customer service is mid to fair at best, policies are changing due to management revolving doors and the overall community satisfaction is low due their treatment of the working class.

That being said, we will be moving our longstanding account down the street to 1st Bank (the only reason is my business account is there- not for any great love for them either) and I will spend a large inconvenient amount of time changing many direct withdrawals & deposits just for the principle of them changing a check depositing policy.

If I can prevent one person from opening an account there or help to persuade someone who is in my situation to take the jump and move to another bank, then my job here is successful. I will not refer to them as my employees: "Bank of the Worst."

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Bank of the West Reviews

  •  
    A
    Reviewed By anabergn May 17, 2017

    Horrible Service when someone passes away

    When you are grieving of the loss of your older brother and have been given Power of Attorney to take care of his estate is not an easy task. I do not wish this upon my enemy to deal with a horrible bank.
    My month long task to take care of his finances was agonizing. I went to Fullerton branch twice to notify them of his passing and to close out his account. I was told I needed his death certificate and power of attorney paperwork, which I had at the time. I wanted BofW to clear up fees they added to his account after his death. The manager said I need to go to the branch he opened the account in 20 miles away. When I went to that branch and spoke to the manager she informed me they sent his account into collections. I called the number I was given to find out I was in the wrong department. 3 times I tried to correct and close out his account. Not once did anyone say, I am sorry for your loss". The customer service I was given was the worst I had ever been given. No one wanted to help me and pushed me to another branch. Bank of the West doesn't care about their customers. They sure don't have a policy in place to help people who have lost a loved one. Shame on you Bank of the West!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By CoriKennedy Apr 17, 2017

    Inconsistent on policies

    We will be pulling our accounts that we have had since 2003 due to differing policies each time we deposit.

    As with everything in Evergreen, customer service is mid to fair at best, policies are changing due to management revolving doors and the overall community satisfaction is low due their treatment of the working class.

    That being said, we will be moving our longstanding account down the street to 1st Bank (the only reason is my business account is there- not for any great love for them either) and I will spend a large inconvenient amount of time changing many direct withdrawals & deposits just for the principle of them changing a check depositing policy.

    If I can prevent one person from opening an account there or help to persuade someone who is in my situation to take the jump and move to another bank, then my job here is successful. I will not refer to them as my employees: "Bank of the Worst."

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    E
    Reviewed By EVW Jan 14, 2017

    Suddenly charged for the privilege of banking with Bank of the West

    After over five years of banking with Bank of the West I was suddenly charged a $10.00 service fee for not having enough money in my account to their liking/not using my debit card enough. I am looking forward to immediately closing my account and passing on the terrible word of mouth.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By tbird Aug 25, 2016

    Just terrible

    I have a lease through Bank of West and they are the most difficult company/people to deal with. First off, to make a lease payment you have to call in and use one of the payment sheets from this little check book thingy that you get in the mail, do they know that there is this handy dandy thing called the internet??? When you call in and try to use their automated system to make payment you have to input your account #, which the system never recognizes. Then your transferred to an agent who is unpleasant at best but mostly downright rude. I have asked each agent, every month I make a payment, why the automated system doesn't recognize my account and they always have the same response; "I'm sorry, but I can help you make your payment". How about answering my question!?!?!
    Secondly...I recently moved to another state and need a power of attorney to register both of my vehicles as they are both leased. When I called on another vehicle, financed through a different bank, I told them that I have moved and that I need said power of attorney, their response..."no problem, we'll get that handled for you, would you like it mailed to your address or the DMV?"
    Next I had to call Bank of the West for the same power of attorney. The agent I got to acted like I was speaking Russian and basically had no idea what I was talking about. She then said I need to get a form from the DMV in my new state and fax it to them, WRONG! There is no form to fax to you!!!!
    I will never finance or lease anything that requires me to use this bank again in my life, they are absolutely the worst!!!! They don't even deserve the one star they got but I couldn't rate them a zero....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By dexlis Jun 15, 2016

    worst bank ever- Bank of the West

    This is the worst bank ever. I would give them zero 0's if I could. They have sent me 3 different debit cards over the past month. all different numbers. They cancel my card all the time for no reasons. They claim that they call me first. They have never called. They claim that it is illegal to call a cell phone only a land line. Who has a land line?. I spoke to my other bank and they say that it is not illegal. I have all of my payments set up on auto pay so they are bouncing all over the place. When you ask them, all they say is that all you need to do is call the 1 800 number. They do not care. Run from this one! it took me a year to switch everything over to this bank. Big regrets as I have to start all over and transfer everything out of Bank of the West

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    V
    Reviewed By vtomkovicz Apr 18, 2016

    Lying cheating incompetent

    Have an auto loan that I spent four months trying to gey on automatic debit, they finally debited my checking account twice in the same month. Service center clerks in Omaha Nebraska are lying and incompetent. They cannot return the second debit in a timely manner. They play with your interest charged when you send in additional loan payments and you MUST watch each payment you make online to insure they do NOT charge you interest on payments made in advance rather than credit your loan in the full amount made as an additional payment. Basically it's a bank game to increase their income and stall with refunds rightfully due to the their customers. I'm sure FEDERAL REGULATORS will love the scenario once reported. There are no bank officers who will talk to you, just clerks who read from scripts and have no authority. Deal with another reputable bank unless you want ripped off......

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mustangdustin Mar 5, 2016

    Bank of the west

    Piss Poor service bank teller holds grudges and messes with your checks does not tell you that there's going to be on hold on the bank of the west check deposit from bank of the west into a bank of the West account horrible I will be leaving this company Hate bank of the west bad company do not get an account with these people

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By dblake1 Feb 25, 2016

    Great Service

    I lost some statements from an account i closed out over six months ago. Now I need the statements.

    The teller was very helpful. It took some time and effort on her part to deal with the problem I caused. She was efficient, cheerful, very helpful and tracked down the statementss for me.

    My experience with this branch has always been positive. I appreciate being a customer there.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By Buckinghamjaclyn Feb 23, 2016

    Never Again

    I have had a loan out with Bank of the West for a couple years now for my car. I always make my payments on time (with autopay). Recently I had to change checking accounts due to fraud. I went online and after painstakingly being redirected from site to site to site I was finally able to log in and make my December payment with my new account number. Nowhere on the webpage does it state that adding your account online will not apply it to future payments. Fast forward two months and I get a call from collections saying (quite rudely) that my payments are past due. This was the first call I ever received from BOW and they talked to me like a criminal on the run. I try to explain the situation to the collections agent that I had actually added my payment account online and he informed me that in order to change autopays you have to MAIL IN a PAPER packet with a voided check. I'm sorry, but I thought this was 2016 and we had the internet now. Also, nowhere on the website does it say that adding your account online only works for one time payments. Here I am, a loyal customer who did what I thought I needed to do to make payments on time and now I take a hit on my credit and I'm stuck with late fees. I talked to customer service who was nicer than Steve the collections tyrant but she had no autonomy to make it up to me. I had to wait on hold for 15 minutes and go through 3 different departments before I could talk to anyone. You can't make any changes online (address, phone, etc) they practice archaic processes, and didn't even call my cell ONCE before sending me to collections and damaging my credit. Never again will I do business with these guys. It's too hard to be a good customer and I want to work with a company that has adapted to technology and actually rights its own wrongs. Take better care of your loyal clients who have many many banking options. Looking forward to refinancing with someone else.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By bbinns76 Dec 26, 2015

    Mortgage Loan through Montclair Branch in Oakland, CA

    I have had only one experience with Bank of the West and this experience involves attaining a mortgage loan through the Montclair Branch in Oakland, California. My overall experience was very poor with heavy emphasis toward the loan officer with this branch. I found the loan approval process to lack transparency, the loan officer to be incapable of providing any effective guidance throughout the process, and the bank as a whole unacceptable in its inability to communication information among all touch points in the loan application/approval process.

    In determining if a potential client qualifies for a particular mortgage loan, one would expect the bank to be able to communicate a strong estimate within a reasonable amount of time. In my experience with Bank of the West, it took over two months before the bank was able to provide any response to my application. A significant amount of money was spent during these two months to push the loan application forward (e.g. appraisal, inspection, etc...). The initial response I received from the bank, post two months, was an acceptance letter by mail. The property seller and I (the buyer) both made plans for next steps after receiving the approval letter. Two days later, I was then contacted by the loan officer, via my agent, that the loan was denied. In investigating what happened throughout the process and why the confounding results took place, the loan officer had absolutely no input. The loan officer showed no knowledge of the process, how to identify and resolve issues, nor what to expect in the outcome.

    I was strongly disappointed with my experience with Bank of the West (Montclair Office) and I strongly urge others to avoid this bank, this branch, and certainly the corresponding loan officer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.