B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Banner Bank Customer Reviews

(14 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 1
3 Star 1
2 Star 2
1 Star 10

The Most Helpful Banner Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Henry's H. Apr 1, 2014

I have found the customer service to be fantastic!

This bank has gone above and beyond to help our small business grow. They've sent us business ideas, contacts and even had us do a display in their lobby. They've called us and helped us the best they could with cash flow and have even picked up a deposit from us so we could meet a deadline. Service like this is a thing of the past. I couldn't be happier.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Kaprice Jul 24, 2015

rude customer service/ very unhelpful

I have had this bank for two years I have since moved out of state I have never had a bank take 3 weeks to issue a new debit card but I listened to the rude woman so then I call back and finally get the manager I asked for the first day and find out that I could have had my card shipped overnight the rude/ completely stupid employee I talked to did not even mention this I am irate and will never say a good thing about this bank it is awful if I could do 0 stars I would have

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Banner Bank Reviews

  •  
    L
    Reviewed By lambman Dec 16, 2016

    1 month customer

    My wife opened up a Connected Checking Account at BannerBank on November 15, 2016 with a promo ($75.00 statement credit if debit card is used 3x's within 60 days of opening). We waited and waited and waited for her debit card to arrive, via US Mail and decided to call corporate today December 16 (one month later) to find out its status . After talking to one of their representatives in Walla Walla, she advised my wife that the card had been mailed out weeks earlier, but was returned to corporate because of a bad/old address that we once had. (Sure be nice if they would've let us know). Funny though that we just received the monthly statement at our correct address this past week. When questioning the rep about that, no reasonable explanation could be given. She said that she could mail the debit card out today, but it would take 7-10 business days to arrive. My wife told the rep that we were leaving for the holidays and would not be back until mid January and could they place a rush on getting the card to us prior to next Saturday December 24. She said that would cost us $20.00+ (Merry Christmas right). After going round and round trying to explain to the rep "why is this our fault" on deaf ears, we told her to just cancel the account before we even got it started. Lol, they did us a favor early on, so now we know how they conduct their business. No thanks BannerBank...you'd think they would want to keep customers. Especially brand new 1 month ones....see ya....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By sarahryno Sep 22, 2016

    Was great until they merged

    We have been with Banner Bank for 8 years. 7 years of that were amazing. We absolutely loved them. Then they merged with American West and all hell came down.
    1) Non-stop password issues causing us to have to change our password almost weekly. Which isn't an easy thing to do as you have to call them to do it.
    2) Our account was hacked and drained THREE TIMES in 2 months! Third time it took two weeks before the money was put back in our account and that was only after I had to go to the branch and threaten them with "one of two things will happen today, I will have money back in my account before I leave here or I will leave here with closed accounts!"
    3) They LOST our deposits on 2 or 3 occasions and fortunately we had the receipts to show the deposits so we had to go into the branch and get them fixed. Every time they would just say "oh yes, sorry, we are having system issues" and put the money in like it was no big deal. That's a BIG deal. If we didn't have the receipts still, we'd be screwed.
    4) We have (had...we just switched banks immediately after this issue as it was our last straw, to ICCU) 4 accounts all linked and we also have $300 of overdraft protection. We wrote a $1000 check as a down payment on a car the Friday before a holiday weekend. On the next business day (Tuesday) the dealership who also banks at Banner took the check into the bank and they wouldn't let them deposit it. We got the call from the dealership while we were out of town and immediately called the bank. They said "at the time they brought the check in, there was only $701 in the account". I asked them about my other accounts that are linked and there was $600 in one of the accounts that they could have pulled money from to cover it. I asked why they didn't do that and they didn't have an answer just "I'm sorry". Then I also pointed out "we also have $300 in overdraft, correct? So if there wasn't the $600 then you still should have covered the check anyway, correct?" They very slowly said "yes, but we just wanted to avoid doing that".....ummmm, you don't get to just decide "avoid" that. You cover the check because my account is set up just for that!! I very firmly told the gal "don't you EVER do that again".
    We now bank at Idaho Central Credit Union after much review of banks online, in person, and via recommendations from people we've talked to.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By pd154 Aug 2, 2016

    Good people, good value, but password issues drive you crazy

    Free accounts, and nice people in branches get it an additional star but the crazy password requests make the banking insecure. Used to be bad enough; a capital, a # and a "special" character and min 8 . Annoying as many banks or websites do not allow a special character. First month I had to go through the "forgot password" every time if not home where I had to start writing it down. (much safer, haha). Now I log in, it promps me to update my password, (no other choice), and it has changed to 10 characters plus all the same stuff. So now I have to change password again, write it down again obviously far less secure than just leaving it alone. And then I get an email telling me that I had forgotten my password and a code for a new one, when they required me to change it!
    I did like one part of the system that they now have deleted and that was that if you entered your correct username a personalized picture that only i would know would come up to let you know that it was indeed banner bank and not some scam site. Seems like that is gone now. With the choice of banking that we have I think I would prefer a more sensible and secure online bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By KingP Jun 4, 2016

    Garbage Bank

    Tried to log into my checking account to find it had gone dormant/inactive even though I had just used it the day before and it worked fine. No warnings, nothing. Bank is closed on the weekend so I can't get ahold of anyone to find it what's going on, even better is that I got paid this week and now have no money. Thanks Banner Bank! Not only this issue but in the few months before I got fraud on my card! Was never called about that either, just found out my card was getting declined so I had to go in. I will never bank with them every again! As a student, I no longer have any money to my name so how the heck am I supposed to pay my bills? Every penny I had is now gone! Horrible bank, go somewhere else!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    1
    Reviewed By 1pissedoffmom Apr 1, 2016

    Very unhelpful

    My card had been compromised, never received a call from the bank about the charges. Called the fraud line gave me the run around and that I needed to call my bank. Of coarse Banner bank is closed on the weekends, so had to wait until Monday. Went in on Monday filed a dispute form and was told it would take 5-7 days to be credited back. Well 5 days later still nothing, so called the bank to check on the status was told by another employee that it can take 1 to 2 weeks. When I asked them why I was never called about the charges and why they didn't stop my card. I was told that my account slipped through the cracks and that they were sorry. Well here I still wait for my account to be credited. Bank has no clue what they are doing. Horrible service. So now no money to my name and my family and I have to suffer. Never use Banner Bank HORRIBLE!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    H
    Reviewed By hjablo Mar 8, 2016

    What A Third Rate Operation!

    I applied on line for a reward/cash back card. Banner pulled a credit report on me, reviewed my application and asked for additional information. I supplied them with this information promptly via fax. So, I get this email/message that the info. was too hard to read and was not sufficient enough (tax form and Oregon Drivers License), therefore I would have to find a branch and bring in more info. (signed), I emailed them back, stating that I was not going to run around anymore, just for a reward/cash back card. They emailed me back stating that they have strict guidelines, that must be adhered too. Note, I don't have a branch in my town, so even if I wanted their card, I would need to drive a fairly good distance, through freeway traffic to get to a branch. Keep in mind that they already have my credit report, the front page of my completed 2016 Federal Tax Return and my drivers license, yet they want more/easier to read documentation. I finally emailed them back requesting my documents be mailed back and I had no intention of driving anywhere to do business with them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By DebbieD13 Feb 16, 2016

    Line of Credit

    I was with American West Bank for over 8 years. Loved them. Then they were sold to Banner Bank. Had I know this was going to happen I would have closed my accounts. They have given terrible service. They paid one bill out of my saving account instead of my checking then told me they had nothing to do with it-blaming it on the creditor! The company did not and could not have had my saving account information, only myself and the bank did. I don't like a bank that won't take responsibility for it's mistakes.

    But the biggest problem I have is with my line of credit. I paid it off in full. A few days later they charged me another seventy-seven cents. I paid a dollar. They took the entire dollar and said I still owed a penny on the loan. So my loan is still not paid in full. I am very upset and contacts with them have been unfruitful. The situation is ongoing.

    Beware, I feel this bank has no integrity and behaves dishonestly. Do yourself a favor and bank elsewhere!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By dana2239 Feb 8, 2016

    Don't have your back

    I've been a credit union person all of my life. I was forced to open an account with Banner because of the affiliation with our business' lender. I am not a financially irresponsible person, but sometimes people write checks and give you the wrong amount. Sometimes numbers get transposed and occasionally a check doesn't have sufficient funds. In this case, I deposited funds that I believed to be enough to cover a check. I was $7.32 short. I realized it the same day and called immediately, ready to run down and cover the amount. Was Banner willing to be understanding and honor the check? Nope, they had already returned it. Were they willing to waive their fee for someone who hasn't had these issues in the past? Nope - $30, no willingness to be flexible. The people are friendly enough when you go into the branch, but this kind of lack of service is ridiculous. Oh yeah - that reminds me. I gave someone my name there a while back to ask about a construction loan and never got a call. Hmmm... not surprised.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By Kaprice Jul 24, 2015

    rude customer service/ very unhelpful

    I have had this bank for two years I have since moved out of state I have never had a bank take 3 weeks to issue a new debit card but I listened to the rude woman so then I call back and finally get the manager I asked for the first day and find out that I could have had my card shipped overnight the rude/ completely stupid employee I talked to did not even mention this I am irate and will never say a good thing about this bank it is awful if I could do 0 stars I would have

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Y
    Reviewed By Yourgoindown Aug 15, 2014

    Don't Waste Your Time

    Banner bank sends out advertisments to people's homes offering money to open an account. $75. is quite a chunk so my guess is they are in need of business. I applied online & was turned down. really? for a basic no fee no frills no nothing checking account that I was going to open with my own money...wow. If there are special requirements such as, must have excellent credit, be employed and not disabled then they should state it clearly in big bold letters at the top of their advertisments. I put that I was disabled & they do not have a section or anywhere to click on for that leading me to believe this bank does not cater to the disabled. I have never been denied a checking account with any bank and I have banked with Charles Schwab, BOA, Washington Mutual & Washington Trust. Much bigger corporations than Banner bank. I can see why they do not have good customer service nor do they have very many customers. I live accross the street from both Banner bank & two other leading banks. Banner's parking lot is always empty & I never see anyone inside. In fact, that is why I did not initally apply there when we moved to this state because they always looked closed. Well, I believe they also discriminate on who they want in their banks. Only stepford wives allowed perfect in every way. If not, move on.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.