B MyBankTracker Rating

Capital One Customer Reviews

(150 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 15
4 Star 5
3 Star 1
2 Star 10
1 Star 119

The Most Helpful Capital One Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By mnock May 14, 2016

Wonderful Branch Manager

I have been banking with Capital One at the Braeswood branch since it first opened, and I wanted to write this review because Michael Dawson is the best Branch Manager the bank has ever had. He is very professional, efficient, and personable. I am very sorry that this branch is closing. I really hope that Michael becomes the new manager at the location at Bissonnet at Chimney Rock. I know he would help us all make the transition easier.

Beth Nock

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Amaster Jul 15, 2016

Capital one racism

The branch in Glendale, N.Y. has this teller who kept me waiting several minutes while she ranted against Hispanics (myself, included, I guess), with a customer she was very chummy with. Then when she concluded her hysterics she pronounced loudly who she was going to vote for and that she was not a racist. I don't know who she was trying to convince, me or her conscience. Finally, a nice manager came to assist me because she saw how long I was waiting for access to MY money. I guess she has only seen educated Hispanics on National Geographic. Horrible experience.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Capital One Reviews

  •  
    S
    Reviewed By SHIRMAK9 Apr 7, 2017

    DO NOT LEAVE YOUR MONEY WITH BANK ONE

    I HAD PEOPLE STOLE MY CARD AND WHEN I SKED THE BANK TO COLLECT IT FROM THE MERCHANTS, THEY TOLD ME TO DO IT YOURSELF SINCE WE HAVE NO TIME OR STAFF TO HELP YOU AND THEY ARE VIOLATING THE RULES OF THE FDIC.

    TAKE YOUR MONEY OUT NOW BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE AND TELL ALL YOUR PEOPLE ABOUT IT TO PROTECT TTHEM.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mp3downloader Mar 20, 2017

    The Most Incompitent Banks Around

    Capital One is the most incompetent banks around. Their technical support is run by a bunch of morons! Every single day the online website goes down. Ever single day they keep changing the login pages. Nothing but a bunch of idiots at this bank. For the 3rd day in a row, cannot log into my corporate bank account because their POS website is down. Talk about security, its laughable. They force you to place both email and cell phone numbers on your account in which your legally dont have to. But every single time you they annoy the crap out of you so you do it anyway to get rid of the pesting popup. Log into the site, it asked you repeatedly this BS message saying "oh for your security and safety" we detected a different login. Mind you I've been logging into this account from the same computer, same connection for nearly 8 years. You select the option to send the code via email, it never comes. Want to call them on the phone, you wait 45 minutes plus to get some idiot to annoy you with 2 year old support questions, when they know their crappy site is down. Closing all my accounts with these idiots tomorrow enough is enough!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By manman Jan 26, 2017

    Excellent Teller There

    I usually come in about once every 2 weeks to do some banking when I get paid. I haven't mastered the entire online banking thing, so I basically just come in, withdraw cash, and then take that cash to other accounts. Anyways, there is a teller there named Giselle. I don't always work with her, but she is always smiling, always has a positive attitude and something nice to say. She seems like someone that actually enjoys there job, and projects it. Not something you see every day, just thought I would write a nice review since she is always so nice :)

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Z
    Reviewed By Zosimus Jan 11, 2017

    Thieves

    I opened an account with Capital One. Upon receiving my checking account number, I arranged a direct deposit via PayPal. When I checked a few days later to determine whether the amount had been credited, I was informed that my account had been closed. No reason was given. The direct deposited money doesn't show up in the system. So now they are going to investigate the matter. It may take 5 days to investigate and another 7 days to return the money. No one should do business with Capital One ever.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Y
    Reviewed By yaya Nov 27, 2016

    Abuse of customer

    They will not answer your calls and will not call you back! Heartless banks!
    CAPITAL ONE AND PROSPERITY BANK HOLDING HOSTAGE HARD WORKING SINGLE MOTHER AND DISABLED SONS $4,500.00

    This mother works very hard to support her family!! She deposited $4,500.00 Cashiers Check into the ATM night deposit so that she could have money to move herself and her disabled son. The Cashiers Check (which is to be just like CASH) well the Cashiers check was REJECTED BY THE ATM NIGHT DEPOSIT the mother noticed the next day it was gone out of the account. The mother went immediately to the branch of CAPITAL ONE BANK where the Cashiers Check was deposited and asked for her cashiers check they expressed to her that they are unable to give her the check and they will mail the check to the address on the account. The mother explained that she was going to be moving from that address that same day and would no longer be at the address and begged and pleaded with the bank that the money was all the money in the world she had to support herself and her son. The bank just snickered well you better change your address on the account because you are NOT getting the check today (November 2, 2016). The mother and son called immediately to customer service and changed the address on the account. However, CAPITAL ONE BANK still overnighted the Cashiers Check in the amount of $4,500.00 to a vacant address the WORST part is they sent it Fed Ex overnight with NO SIGNATURE REQUIRED. Therefore, the ONLY MONEY IN THE WORLD THIS MOTHER and DISABLED SON HAVE has now been LEFT AT THE DOOR OF A VACANT APARTMENT COMPLEX. Yes, as you can imagine the package was stolen. Prosperity Bank is refusing to cancel the cashiers check and give her the $4,500.00! Absolutely shameful! They know she has no way of obtaining the cashiers check! They know how badly she needs her money! PROSPERITY BANK AND CAPITAL ONE BANK DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS OR THIS MOTHER!! The hard working mother that has never asked for anything was now in a new city and has taken a new job and has NO FOOD for herself or her son. The mother and son sit for days at the bank begging and pleading for someone to help and cancel the check and give her the money she so desperately needs. She has deadlines to pay her bills she needs food. She has never received welfare and is not about to ask for anything she only wants her money so she can take care of her family. They have bills that are automatically taken out of the Capital One account each month. Those have been sent back unpaid YET CAPITAL ONE BANK has charged the account $35.00 for each transaction so now the account is negative over $600.00 and her bills have not been paid!! She has deadlines to pay her insurance premium she has deadlines to pay her rent. She has not received a paycheck yet on her new job!! SHE REALLY NEEDS AMERICAS HELP TODAY!! CAPITAL ONE AND PROSPERITY BANK STILL HAVE HER MONEY AND WILL NOT GIVE IT TO HER it has been 27 days since she has had her money!! The BANKS ARE TELLING HER IT WILL BE 90 DAYS BEFORE SHE GETS IT BACK!! THANK GOD for her friend who went and purchased them groceries. HOWEVER, those are running out! The phones have been shut off ALL THE WHILE CAPITAL ONE AND PROSPERITY BANK ARE HOLDING HER MONEY HOSTAGE while the family is suffering!! NOT A GREAT THANKSGIVING FOR THIS FAMILY!!! THE AMAZING PEOPLE OF AMERICA LETS HELP THIS HARD WORKING MOM IMMEDIATELY!! A GO FUND ME ACCOUNT HAS BEEN SET UP FOR THE FAMILY!! GO SHOW YOUR LOVE AND SUPPORT FOR THIS HURTING MOTHER TODAY!! THE DISABLED SON DOESNT EVEN HAVE A BED TO SLEEP ON HES SLEEPING ON A COUCH THE MONEY IS SO URGENTLY NEEDED FOR THIS FAMILY!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By Progers Nov 17, 2016

    Capital one is the worst banking institute ever

    Their ATM's have stolen my money 3 times and i had to wait to to receive the credit. On one claim they reversed the credit months later and just took it from my account out of no where.
    No letter was ever sent and the credit rep isnt available and hasn't called me back. These people are thieves. They can just take your money when ever they want.
    Absurd- save yourself, do not bank with them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By tmiddleton Oct 1, 2016

    Capital One Credit Card - Paying Under Minimum Results in Past Due Status and Locked Account

    I have a Capital One Credit Card with a $10,000 credit limit and have had the card for at least 15 years. I have never had a problem previously with payments, I do not use this card all the time but had some additional expenses related to a new house, tile work, that I charged to this card. I made a payment of $2500 in August, and then in September I made a payment of $100, but didn't realize this was less than the minimum payment of $161. They charged me a $25 late fee, set my status to past due, and locked my account so I couldn't use the card. The next payment was due Oct. 19. After one chat session the did credit the $25 back to me. But my account was still locked and Amazon declined a purchase. After another lengthy chat session, with a customer service agent, and then a supervisor, I was told they could not help me. I had asked to have the account reinstated. I also asked for the name and contact info for the VP Customer Service, and they told me they did not have that information. I printed the whole chat dialog, and plan to do my own research to find the information. They basically said they could not help me saying they didn't have the ability to reinstate my account. I don't believe them. The under minimum payment rule is just another way banks hurt and cheat consumers. Even though I had never missed a payment, and had just made a large payment previously, and still made a payment the next month, they locked my account. Of course they did not notify me, and the only way I found out is when a payment was declined. I plan to close this account and never do business with Capital One again. They really do not care about customers! I would not recommend anyone getting a credit card from Capital One.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    G
    Reviewed By gkgkgk Sep 4, 2016

    Capital One

    Wow! Worse bank service ever! I have a credit card through them and they received our bill back and someone wrote on the envelope "return to sender address unknown." So, they never sent our credit card statement again. (hardly ever used account). Not aware I owed. I was on my credit karma account and noticed my rating went from 840 to 720 and researched and found that I had a past due bill. Never paid a bill late in my life. I called and customer service said it was my fault and I should know. UMmmm my wife pays the bills and didn't know I charged. They never sent another bill because someone in the UNITED STATES received our bill and instead of saying wrong delivery address they wrote return to sender address unknown. So now it's my fault and CAPITAL ONE didn't understand THE SITUATION. NO COMPASSION. I am going back to hometown banking. DO NOT USE A BANK THAT DOESN'T GET IT.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By WestMD_not_DR Aug 7, 2016

    Closing all nearby branches

    They had been providing fewer and fewer services since they bought out Chevy Chase (the original bank my accounts were with). We had been told that "all of the services will stay the same, the only thing changing is the name". This did not prove to be true. Free checks for 50+ accounts disappeared, coin changers, Saturday hours....

    And now-instead of being my local bank, the closest two branches have closed, and the nearest branch is almost 30 miles away.

    I will be changing banks. I am reluctant to do this as I had a difficult time when I had to transition to the new chip card (which I was told I 'requested'). It was not a pleasant experience. As they had some interest in maintaining a good customer relationship, it wasn't completely miserable. I do not imagine that once I am leaving they will be interested in making the transition pleasant.

    I am curious as to how the grading system for this site works. I see that Capital One has a B+ rating, but they also have a two stars out of five rating. I did not see many positive reviews so it seems as if there might be some grade inflation involved.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By kruemcke Aug 6, 2016

    Best bank ever

    I have nothing but good things to say about my Capital One Bank in Georgetown. They are friendly, greet me by name, and are very helpful in any transactions that I do.
    I am upset, that Capital One is closing branches and doing away with the human experience. This experience is what distinguishes Capital One from other branches. If they close all their branches, there will be no reason to use them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.