B MyBankTracker Rating

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

(257 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 7
2 Star 10
1 Star 232

The Most Helpful Citizens Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By GettingEric Mar 15, 2014

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Barry K. Dec 29, 2012

Worst People On The Planet To Deal With For Home Equity Line - Beware

Beware - you are being warned!!! I have refinanced my home equity line many times so i have real experience to compare with citizens bank which took over my home equity line from charter one. First of all, they reported inaccurate information to the credit bureaus and messed up my more than 800 score. They refused to correct this. So, i decided to refinance and get rid of them. The new. Lender needed a payoff amount in order to close the new line of credit. They told me that they charge $25 to fax a one page payoff letter and get this, they needed 2-3 days in order to generate a fax. So, they suggested that they could mail it for free and it would arrive in 3-5 days. You guessed it. It did not arrive for nine days. In the meantime i was supposed to close and that forced me to order the $25 fax. I told them that i needed the fax that day because my closing was the next day. They said they would do what they could. The fax ended up taking 3 days and i was forced to delay the closing. That left me with a worthless payoff figure that cost me $25. Now for the best part. I called to get the $25 fee for the worth less fax removed. I ran it up to the manager level. And then they did what all extremely inconsiderate and unfeeling customer service reps do. --- no matter what i did to explain the complete failure on their part to provide any service, all they would do is repeat their policy about how someone has to pay for the expensive faxing system at the bank!!! What $400,000 a year executive vice president at their bank made that decision to use such an exorbitant and antiquated (3 days to send a fax) system when the rest of the world faxes for virtually free. I will never do business with this bank and neither should you. They are the equivalent of stick up men with guns. Beware - you have been warned

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Citizens Bank Reviews

  • C
    Reviewed By cch32 Dec 8, 2016

    Worst Bank EVER - no customer service, no responsibility, no compassion

    I have only banked with citizens for over a year and in that year I have had nothing but a terrible experience. I moved to Massachusetts from another state and was forced to get a new bank since my bank Chase in isn't in MA. My fiance said to bank with citizens because he had a previous account with them and it would be easier so I agreed to. BIG MISTAKE.

    6 months (june/july) ago I got a new debit card because I recently married and changed my name over. I went into the Quincy branch and gave them my marriage license and the girl said she was cancelling my current debit card at the time and would mail me a new one. No big deal. I got my new one and cut up my old debit card and that was that....or so I thought.

    This past weekend I was traveling out of town for work and my debit card got declined so I looked into it and saw I had 4x ATM in the space of a couple of hours withdraws but my debit card was in my wallet and I never went to an ATM. My account had been cleared... panicking I called up citizens and the guy cancelled my debit card and said to me that he'd mail my new card out and that I had to wait until Monday before I could call and report the fraudulent claim since it was the weekend. Now with Chase, this money would be put right back into my account, but with citizens I have to wait to report the claim and then from there it would be 7- 10 working days after the claim had been reported. So I'm stuck in a town with no money, no debit card, and no way to get any money out because there isn't a citizens in the state I am in. Basically I was screwed. BUT it gets better...

    About an hour later I received a missed call and a voicemail from someone at citizens asking for me to call them back. I did so and when I got through I spoke to the RUDEST person ever who no compassion or care for my situation and said that no one called me and that there was nothing on my file and my debit card was cancelled already so I needed to move on and wait until Monday. But someone did call me so I hung up re-listened to my voice mail and got the man's name and called back. I then spoke to another RUDE agent and explained the whole story again to her and she said that they weren't calling about my current debit card, but the card I thought was cancelled 6 months ago when they issued the new one, but guess what folks, IT WAS NEVER CANCELLED and somehow (even though this was cut up and disposed of over 6 months ago) someone in the Philippines was able to withdraw cash from an ATM from this cut up debit card and get money out. What in the world?? I said well since this is definitely a Citizens mistake I should have the money immediately put back into my account. But nope, she told me that it wasn't her issue or her job and that she only worked in the fraudulent claims department. I would need to contact the branch myself and and sort this out. She has nothing to do with it? WHAT? Like this is a company issue, you should DEFINITELY address this and show some compassion for this mistake your company made and the issue they put me in. BUT EVEN BETTER FOLKS not only did this person clean my account, but citizens then charged me "Foreign ATM fees, Foreign exchange fees and Because 2 of the withdrawls cleaned my account but they still got money, I also got charged 2 over draft fees" So now my account is in the negative, I don't know when I will be getting this money put back and I have no debit card and we are day 5 since this all occurred.

    BASICALLY - do your homework people. Stay clear of this bank. Their employees have no consideration or compassion for your problems. They don't do anything to rectify the issue, they don't take responsibility for the companies mistakes.

    I know if this was chase they money would be back within an hour and a debit card would be overnighted to me to ensure I was looked after. Citizens said they'd charge me a $25 overnight fee for a new debit card. What a great bank y'all are.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jeffman Dec 7, 2016

    Worst Excuse for A Bank. Crooks!!!!! 1 star is being nice!

    I have been a customer for 15 yrs and its time to close my account. Their overdraft fees are almost criminal since there are many banks (Citibank, Ally) that do not charge for overdrafts at all. And some, will only charge 1 per day max. They use shady tactics such as posting checks or transactions during overnight hours than posting them to the day before, causing an overdraft. I had a transaction that was put in hold status which removed the money from my available funds then posted a week later, causing another overdraw. Technically, the account was in the positive and was charged twice. Nothing was done. They will sometimes waive the overdraft fee but only once per year. This bank is so crooked that I would not want to bank with them again. I will let everyone know not to bank with Citizens Bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By momofacdc Dec 4, 2016

    worst customer service Bank I've ever dealt with

    I have never complained about all the huge charges I got for overdraft I have direct deposit been with the bank for many years my family has been with the bank for many years just deposited a check for $700 they are holding it and won't let me use my overdraft they see the money is there they know I have direct deposit and they are all nasty surely hope nobody there ever comes across a problem in their life

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Tionas215 Dec 3, 2016

    PLEASE BEWARE OF THIS BANK, READ MY STORY AND YOU WILL AGREE!!!!!

    I have recently had a HORRIBLE experience with this bank! I was awarded a settlement for a large lump sum of money. I deposited the check on 11-23, was told by the teller that funds would be available on 11-28, only to get there to learn they had placed a hold on the check. But GET THIS, the same day that the hold was placed, for "not being able to verify the check" the money was withdrawn by Citizens bank from my attorneys acct!!! Still trying to figure out how they withdrew funds, equivelant to the amount of the check, from an acct that they SUPPOSEDLY COULD NOT VERIFY!!! So now they are basically holding my funds saying it can't be verified, even after I stood with a teller for an hour yesterday WHILE SHE GOT THE check verified!! WHAT A JOKE!!! After the teller verified it, they told me my funds would be released in an hour, then after the hour changed their mind & said I had to wait until the 15, and didn't even give a legitimate reason why! I guess because it's such a large lump sum they are using it for other things and giving me the run around. They placed a hold on my check for 21 days, even new customers don't wait longer than 10/11 days. They keep giving me different excuses as to why my funds won't be released, meanwhile my attorney has had her portion of the settlement check verified by her bank and has been able to spend it since the 25 of November! My lawsuit but I can't spend the money but my attorney can bcuz I deal with a bank who doesn't do their job. I mean seriously, does it take 21 days to verify a check?? SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING FISHY IS GOING ON HERE!!!! And to think, i am a customer who was planning on investing thousands of dollars with this bank when my money cleared. So happy that this opened my eyes b4 I made that HUGE mistake!! Now I'm just waiting for my money to clear so I can withdraw every cent and take it down the street to PNC!!! PLEASE AVOID DEPOSITING CHECKS WITH THIS BANK, YOU WILL BE SORRY!!!! I have already called the police and had them come to the branch so that I can take my police report and find an attorney on Monday to file a lawsuit!!! Even if I can't succeed at suing them, I will do MY BEST!! And if I can just save ONE PERSON the trouble by sharing my story then that makes me happy....AVOID THIS BANK AT ALL COSTS IF YOURE DEALING WITH LARGE LUMP SUMS OF MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By Kevinh724 Nov 15, 2016

    Terrible

    Citizens sucks!!! I talk to a customer service rep about my account and i have 82 cents on my card. They say i have a transaction of 12 dollars still pending so i ask if its gonna overdraft my account. She tells me its already been charged and its not gonna overdraft my account. So like a dumbass i believe her and 2 days later my account is overdrafted 54 dollars. Ive asked about setting up my account so this would not happen and been told that i cant do it. What kinda service is this? I feel generous giving them 1 star but unfortunatly i have too.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Nov 29, 2016

    Good Morning, Kevinh724. We'd like to assist you with this concern. Could you please email your full name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have our Office of the Chairman contact you. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • A
    Reviewed By Ackdog Nov 11, 2016

    Loan experience

    I applied for a debt consolidation loan and was apparently rejected but was never noticed by phone, email or letter. I contacted the bank and filed an appeal which was graciously accepted and again never heard what the disposition was until I contacted the bank again. I repeatedly called and emailed the individual I worked with and never got a response.
    I finally contacted another person in the same dept and she could care less about me or my account. She said I could file a complaint about my experience and she would have her superior contact me to discuss the issue. Still waiting for the superiors call.
    I am a substantial depositor and in fact I keep getting calls from the local branch asking me to come in so they can see if they can sell me some more "specialty services" because of my deposit history.
    I will be giving this instition the same courtesy they gave me.
    I am working with another local bank, with a branch a block away and will drop Citizens outright.
    Awful experience with this institution.
    I never post reviews, but this bank is very unprofessional and the public should be warned.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By Charvey Nov 10, 2016

    Slowest home closing ever...

    I am completely sickened by the amount of time is has taken to close on our home. Going on 8 weeks and still don't have a closing date. Citizens bank has never been clear about when we can close and even though we asked to have this process happen as quickly as possible, they seem to be dragging their feet and making excuses such as "there is a technical difficultly when opening up the appraisal." We have always sent all information thy ask for within hours and have great credit history. There have been absolutely no reasons as to why we would need a closing extension. They have never been clear with us and never answer our questions. I am telling everyone I know to stay far away from Citizen's bank...completely disappointed.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Nov 10, 2016

    We really sorry to hear about your experience, Charvey. We'd like to look into this for you. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We look forward to hearing from you.

  • M
    Reviewed By Mrstucker1010 Nov 1, 2016

    Cancelling Account after a week!

    As a new customer I have had my account for a week and will be canceling!! First issue I brought a CASHIERS check from a local bank and a $300 check from a local bank and 3 business days later I only have $200 available funds! Citizens does NOT consider a cashiers check as guaranteed funds (which that is the whole point) and when I Asked why they didn't call the bank to verify the check. The representative told me that I have to provide a name and a number etc ITS ON THE CASHIERS CHECK! And since I'm a new account my $300 check is on hold also!!! Seriously could have mentioned that when I deposited the funds!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lydiagrace Oct 22, 2016

    02155

    I had plenty of money available in my account....Citizens put a stop on my card without notifying me first. They told me I couldn't use my debit card until Monday because the office responsible for releasing my funds isn't open until Monday. They told me I may go to a Citizens branch to withdraw my funds or call them Monday. This is my only debit/credit card. I am at an airport and it is Saturday. I do not have enough cash to pay for my meal I ordered. If a stranger did not offer to pay my open tab, I would be stranded in an airport thousands mile from home with no funds available until Monday because leaving my tab is a crime. I will no longer be banking with Citizens. This bank does not care about the individual needs of their customers and they do not deserve my business.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By penguin430 Oct 19, 2016

    Unprofessionalism

    I have recently returned from the Plymouth, MA office with extreme disappointment.
    An appointment was made for me to speak to a financial consultant, Emre Oztunc, for this morning by an employee. The employee first told me that Emre does consulting for clients that have accounts at your bank, which I did not, by after seeing my paperwork he said that Emre does consulting even if you are not a client.
    I arrived at the scheduled time and the employee called Emre and apparently it was not on Emre's schedule, an apparent "glitch", but the employee was looking at the schedule and informed him it was there.
    Emre just called to see if I was available, which I was no longer available, and after I suggested that he fix the "glitch" in scheduling, he said things happen "that's life". How unprofessional. After that conversation, I am glad I have chosen another bank to do busy with.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Oct 20, 2016

    We're very sorry to hear about your experience and that we lost your business, penguin430. Nonetheless, we value your feedback and will be reaching out to the branch to investigate this matter further.

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.