B MyBankTracker Rating

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

(267 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 7
2 Star 10
1 Star 242

The Most Helpful Citizens Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By GettingEric Mar 15, 2014

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Barry K. Dec 29, 2012

Worst People On The Planet To Deal With For Home Equity Line - Beware

Beware - you are being warned!!! I have refinanced my home equity line many times so i have real experience to compare with citizens bank which took over my home equity line from charter one. First of all, they reported inaccurate information to the credit bureaus and messed up my more than 800 score. They refused to correct this. So, i decided to refinance and get rid of them. The new. Lender needed a payoff amount in order to close the new line of credit. They told me that they charge $25 to fax a one page payoff letter and get this, they needed 2-3 days in order to generate a fax. So, they suggested that they could mail it for free and it would arrive in 3-5 days. You guessed it. It did not arrive for nine days. In the meantime i was supposed to close and that forced me to order the $25 fax. I told them that i needed the fax that day because my closing was the next day. They said they would do what they could. The fax ended up taking 3 days and i was forced to delay the closing. That left me with a worthless payoff figure that cost me $25. Now for the best part. I called to get the $25 fee for the worth less fax removed. I ran it up to the manager level. And then they did what all extremely inconsiderate and unfeeling customer service reps do. --- no matter what i did to explain the complete failure on their part to provide any service, all they would do is repeat their policy about how someone has to pay for the expensive faxing system at the bank!!! What $400,000 a year executive vice president at their bank made that decision to use such an exorbitant and antiquated (3 days to send a fax) system when the rest of the world faxes for virtually free. I will never do business with this bank and neither should you. They are the equivalent of stick up men with guns. Beware - you have been warned

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Citizens Bank Reviews

  •  
    C
    Reviewed By CONNILAWRENCE Feb 7, 2017

    INSURANCE PROCEEDS HELD BY BANK, NO COMMUNICATION

    do whatever necessary to expedite payment.
    Both Jay and Denise, talk and say nothing concrete. They have no real facts from the department that handles disbursements of funds. They are basically sweet talking me so that the bank can keep these funds as long as possible. My bank manager had my endorsed check and letter on Friday the 3rd, at 11 am and failed to get it in the fed x box in time to be picked up Friday night. It never got shipped until Monday the 6th, and received Tuesday the 7th. I assumed that I would have my funds deposited Tuesday when they received the check- I was told Monday evening by Jay Dempsey that he would arrange a conference call with the loan department, for Tuesday and my questions could be answered. No call, so I called, 3, 4 and 5 pm. Finally got a call from Denise, who now tells me it is so hard to arrange a conference call with everyone at one time because of meetings. I told her the conference call was their idea. I want my disbursements. At this point, the office of the chairman, supervisor knows nothing and can not tell me when Citizen's bank will disburse MY- let me repeat MY money from my insurance proceeds to rebuild my building where I make a living, so that I can pay the loan, and my other bills. They have stolen my money with no way for me to talk to anyone that has any control over the release of my funds. How can banks get away with this. Everyone knows this is our living, and that we can not work without our building. Citizen's bank managers, regional managers, and even Joe Di Rocco who runs the Ohio Citizen's banks have been contacted, and no one, can step in and help a customer who has had a loan for 17 years with them, and a checking account for over 20 years. This is how they treat their good customers, never late one day on a loan. My advise to anyone--don't get a loan with CITIZEN'S

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Alonz1 Feb 4, 2017

    Do Make that mistake.

    This bank was at the the forefront of re-occurring bank fees especially with over drafts. They use a complex software algorithm to calculate how often you deposit a payroll amount, what you expenses are on your account and when to hit you with re-occurring fees and multiply those fees if your in a over-draft event. If you are on a weekly payroll then your specifically flagged by the software which triggers these complex programs. I work with software and I figured this out too late when I had this bank.

    Do business with you local credit union or small bank. Never do business with a bank that will steal your money given the chance.

    http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-citizens-bank-deposits-20150812-story.html
    https://www.occupycorporatism.com/whistleblower-citizens-bank-steals-money-right-out-of-customer-accounts/
    https://www.wsj.com/articles/citizens-bank-fined-for-failing-to-credit-consumers-for-full-deposits-1439401509

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By TLeon5000 Jan 31, 2017

    Citizens Bank SUCKS

    If your thinking of joining Citizens Bank, do yourself a favor and STAY FAR AWAY, there customer service, sucks, and will not work with you, they will charge you outrageous fees. I'm DUMPING them in favor of another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Feb 01, 2017

    This is certainly not what we like to hear. Let's work together to sort this out. Can you send us an email at AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com with more information?

    TLeon5000

    Replied on Feb 01, 2017

    You had your chance at working this out, when I first made contact with your customer service dept., it's just funny, after I had submitted a review of your bank, now you want to work with me. Almost every review of Citizens Bank, are a one star, you would think that you would have gotten it a long time ago, but all this bank cares about, is how they can continue to charge fees and not give a shit about their customers.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Feb 02, 2017

    We understand that your experience with our customer service department was unpleasant. However, we can assure you that we can work together to help get you connected to the right team member to work your fees out. Please email us at AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com with more information so we can assist you.

  •  
    T
    Reviewed By twilrob Jan 26, 2017

    Worst Bank ever

    I have nothing bad times with this citizens bank, they are very shady about their overcharge fees and the customer service department is terrible and lacks knowledge. I have phoned them in the last few weeks about a claim and was told it would take 7-10 days to get an answer so I waited and heard nothing so I called them again and was told by another customer service person it takes 8-10 weeks. I was then told I was denied anyway, meanwhile they never contacted me or anything. I have overcharge fees because of this check and I feel the service was awful. I then asked the guy to put me through to the Office of The Chairman and he said he couldn't do that and he wouldn't give me the number either. I will be leaving this bank as soon as this problem gets rectified. I feel they have played with money enough.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By Rachel111 Jan 15, 2017

    Worst banking practices

    Sent check at the end of Dec. to pay off credit card in full. Also sent checks to Wells Fargo & Cap 1 to pay off those cards. Cap 1 & Wells Fargo processed card payment in timely manner & no problems. Citizens Bank sat on the payment making it late. They dropped the late fee but now have sent me a letter reducing my line of credit because of the late payment. Wasn't going to use the card again anyway but now I'm closing all accounts with them. Checking, savings & credit cards, Their business practices are idiotic. Rude customer service reps as well.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jan 25, 2017

    We'd like to help sort this out. Can you send your full name as it appears on your account as well as the best phone number to reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We will have an advocate from our Office of the Chairman reach out to you. Please be sure to include a short summary of your troubles so we can be sure to connect you with the right team.

  •  
    J
    Reviewed By jjersmom Jan 4, 2017

    Worst Customer Service I Have Ever Experienced

    I have dealt with Citizens Bank for a HELOC, banking and credit accounts. Their service personnel are unprofessional, untrained and rude. The officer I spoke with regarding the HELOC had no idea what the rate was, what the line was or when it was closed. In addition, I had to speak with a representative for a credit account and the representative was short, ill informed and down right rude. Will never deal with this bank in any capacity if I can help it in the future.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    G
    Reviewed By Golions Dec 31, 2016

    Why isn't there a negative star rating?

    There are many things that I don't understand about this company. There have been multiple times where my account has been overdrafted because of the order that your purchases have been processed. Recently I made 2 transactions online with a retailer. One payment of $86 another of $5. I made both purchases within an hour of each other and only the $86 transaction posted. The $5 transaction didn't post until Tuesday. This conviently over drew my account on that Tuesday. The company seems to only want to shark you for the money they get from your overdraft fees. This is the third time that this has happened to me and I am fed up giving them my money everytime they decide to hold transactions from my account until the most inconvenient time. I tried countless times calling them and nothing is changing I get different answers everytime and that I need to monitor my spending. I have the mobile app and i am on it constantly to watch what I am spending. If the app doesn't let you know about all your transactions then the app is useless. I am cancelling my direct deposit first thing when the new year starts, close my account, and starting the new year at a new bank. Hopefully one that isn't as money hungry as citizens bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jan 25, 2017

    Thanks for reaching out. We've passed along your feedback of our mobile app to the appropriate team. In addition, we would like to connect you with an advocate from our Office of the Chairman to address the overdraft issues with your account. Can you please email your full name as it appears on your account as well as the best phone number to reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? Please be sure to include a brief explanation of the issues you have been experiencing.

  •  
    5
    Reviewed By 5mcmahons Dec 12, 2016

    Home equity loan payment was mis-applied

    Because I have been paying this loan for 10 years and still owe nearly the entire amount I borrowed, I have lately been making extra payments to principle each month. Enough that every three months, an extra payment goes in. I walked into the branch with a check for the regular months payment, plus another 1/3 that I specified on the payment slip I wanted paid directly to principle. Come to find out, the dingbat at the counter just paid the whole thing as a regular payment. When I called customer service THAT DAY, they said they would correct the mistake. A week goes by and the payment hasn't been changed. I call again. Another 10 days goes by, nothing. Call again today, ask for a supervisor. She tells me that nothing can be done. If the reverse the payment now, it will make the loan past due, and they can't do that. The payment was instead applied to old late fees. But because late fees don't accrue interest, I've been waiting to pay those off last. point is, I decide where I want my payment applied, not the bank. I couldn't be more furious! This is a couple of hundred dollars difference. If it was in the bank's favor, they would never accept my apology, they would hit me with late fees, etc. But they screw up and I pay the price. B******T!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Dec 21, 2016

    We're really sorry to hear about this experience, 5mcmahon. We'd like to have our Office of the Chairman assist. Could you please email your name, as it appears on your account and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com?

  •  
    S
    Reviewed By SJDJ Dec 10, 2016

    Just another Bank with major issues

    I've been with Citizens Bank for about 2 years and overall its been just like any other Bank.

    Issue 1) I lost my personal debit card so I did what anybody would do and called and had it cancelled. The Rep confirmed my address and said about 5 to 7 business days. About 3 weeks go by and nothing had been delivered, I got on the phone and called to see what was going on. The Rep told me it should have arrived so she canceled the card and had a new one be sent out. And roughly the same amount of time go by and nothing at this point I was getting irritated. So I called again and the Rep did the exact same thing as the others but this time offered expressed shipping and my card finally came in about 4 days later. Overall I went about 2 and half months without a debit card and having either to go to a branch or use my business account and then transfer the difference over.

    Issue 2) I received a large check from a client for about $1400. Yes, I understand that checks from other Banks are held for processing. When I login to my business account portal there are no pending deposits. I called and gave them my transaction number told them the amount and they said there wasn't any checks for that mount due or any recent deposits in my business account. At this point I'm panicking, that check was for paying off materials from a recent job. I logged-on to my personal account to cover the costs and what do I see pending? The check from my client. Sure the money was still in my hands but how does something like this even happen? I'm still taken back by this.

    Issue 3) As someone that cares about the environment and still in my 20s I don't like the idea of having large amounts of paper statements from my accounts mailed to me. Its wasteful and a pain so when creating my accounts I opted out of paper statements. So much to my surprise when I check my balance and see a $3 charge for paper statements. I contacted support and the Rep tells me "Sir, you requested statements to be billed to you and that is a $3 charge" I told him no I did not and he said there was nothing that could be done and a few days later I received about 45 sheets of past transactions. Again it was never requested and nobody else but me has access to my banking portal so please explain to me how this happens. Sure $3 to most isn't that much but when a customer doesn't opt-in to the option nor was it requested and they still get charged its unbelievable.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By monibrisbane Dec 9, 2016

    2 Fees for a $0.75 cent overdraft - I mean really?

    I actually checked my account today to see what the balance was so I can do a deposit. I did not realize that I had over drafted my account by $0.75 from a Taco Bell transaction. Next thing you know I'm charged a $35 overdraft fee AND a service charge saying "debit memo" for $30. The customer service rep waived the O/D fee. But I still have to pay $30 for a .75 cent mistake???

    Plus I emailed a message in November to their customer service team about what zip code to use since I have a mailing & physical address because I cannot use my debit card at the gas pump under either zip codes. The response was I did not give enough information to answer the question & to call customer service. WHAT?!!? I'm going in to the branch 1st thing in the morning, pay my $30.75 I would have used as a deposit and close my account. I think that's ridiculous. I'll stick with Bank of America & go to Chase for my play money account instead. Haven't had an overdraft fee in 2 years. It's worth the $5 a month at BOA & $0 a month at Chase.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.