Profile | Reviews

Fifth Third Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, 53.com

207 Reviews
1 out of 5 stars

Fifth Third Bancorp is a diversified financial services company headquartered in Cincinnati, Ohio. Fifth Third operates five main businesses: Commercial Banking, Branch Banking, Consumer Lending, Investment Advisors and Fifth Third Processing Solutions.

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By trook33 Feb 12, 2018

    Non customer check cash charge

    Heres my story...I sold a camper to a friend. They wrote a check off of their Fifth third account. I dont bank there so I went to the closest branch 22 miles from my home only to be charged $25.00 to cash THEIR CUSTOMERS CHECK...literally got robbed at their branch by their teller for $25.00. Assistant Manager has attitude to boot. Too bad so sad its our way of recouping fees from non customers...what FEES.??? Total SCAM...Ohio is thinning the herd for sure the branches are closing and disappearing everyday. Worst bank ever.
    @Fifththird

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Yesy747 Dec 23, 2017

    Very disappointed

    In 5/3 bank in Clermont fl,the manager didn't show any respect towards me she told me to shut up in front of everyone in the bank she insulted me she's not a professional she was very rude with me I've had a account in this bank for six years and never had a problem with anyone who worked there and she said that I'm a trouble maker just because I didn't understand something...she shouldn't work there because she doesn't know how to work with clients and does not show any respect

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By angrymomma Nov 29, 2017

    auto loan - STEER CLEAR

    THE WORST BANK TO BORROW FROM!

    I have an auto car loan through Fifth Third Bank. I never missed one payment, maybe by a day or two here or there, but the last two payments I was in between jobs and wasn't able to pay the full amount. I still paid at least half of my monthly payment AND THEY REPO'D MY CAR!!!! I HAD TO PAY $1500 IN 2 DAYS OR THEY WERE GOING TO AUCTION IT OFF! I RECEIVED NO LETTER VIA MAIL, PHONE CALL, OR EMAIL STATING THAT THEY WERE GOING TO TAKE MY CAR. Every time I logged into my account NOTHING ever stated that I had a late fee or that I owed x amount of dollars. I did, however, receive 1 call where they left a voicemail WITH THE WRONG CALL BACK PHONE NUMBER! No one in customer service was familiar with that number. Worst experience of my life. I cannot wait for my loan to be paid off so I can be completely done with this bank.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Jedabolin Nov 1, 2017

    Overdraft fees

    The way fifth third does business is ridiculous. I had some checks out and made a deposit. I was short so I knew I would have one overdraft. When I checked my account the next morning there was 2 overdraft fees. I contacted customer service and they proceeded to tell me the overdraft was charged before the deposit was posted. When I questioned that I was told the deposit goes in first. When I questioned why the extra fee, he just said I was over on my account and he can see I was charged correctly. He finally said I needed to go in to my local office. This is an on going problem.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By karenkaren Oct 19, 2017

    worst customer service

    I would stay away from banking, getting a mortgage or home equity loan from them. I have a bank account (or had) and have a home equity loan (which I will be refinancing out of).
    Here is my experience: First off my first statement was sent to the wrong address - thank god for the US postal service who know the regular customers. It took me a while to get the correct address changed in the system even though all mortgage docs were correct. Then when I went to the bank to take cash out of my home equity loan for some home improvements the teller told me i could not take out cash!! What! so I had to go to the bank where all of my money actually is and get cash - not sure why I needed a home equity loan then?? I then proceeded to set up a direct payment with an account I had opened at Fifth Third for this purpose and a few months later I get a notice of a late pay!! How can that be when I have more then enough money in the account and a direct withdraw set up.. I guess the banker put a fixed amount monthly so when my adjustable payment was due it did not cover the full amount. WHo or why would someone set up a direct withdraw on a fixed amount knowing their payments can change monthly?? So I go to the bank to get it fixed and literally sat with the banker for 20 minutes because he could not even get through to someone in his own office! He told me to come back later while he worked on it. I went back later that day and he really was unable to get anything done (he was very nice and I know he tried to be helpful but was unable to be) So I made my HE loan payment with him and closed out my accounts and stopped auto pay . Then I had to call in and try to get this taken care of. They even tried to charge me a late fee. Finally I got on the phone after being disconnected 6 times I was able to speak to someone. It turns out the payment I was told to make at the bank was incorrect!! SO now I am still short (off by $7.00) so I have to go back to the bank and pay the difference so it does not get reported on my credit report (hopefully it wont!!) and the person on the phone had to cancel the Direct withdraw, you would have thought the banker would have done that for me as I told him I was going to cancel this and he helped me close my accounts. Wow does anyone know what they are doing there?? Very poor customer service and way to many issues to trust them with my money!!! Stay away

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By bikehead90 Sep 16, 2017

    They don't listen to customers

    Bear with me this is a long story. Two years ago, I was gearing up to move to Japan to teach English, and I alerted my 5/3rd that I'd be over in Japan so, any charges originating there would be 100% legit. I told them this no less than THREE TIMES. Guess what. They froze my card anyway. Not just once, but three times. I had to have my parents call the "fraud prevention" number, and I had to relay the information. Then I went to bed (13hr time difference). While I was sleeping apparently I was dreaming of using my card, because I woke up to a "we froze your account" email. Again, involving the parents to un-freeze the account. Fortunately nothing else happened in two years, but using my card for anything was iffy.

    Fast forward three years, and I'm currently in graduate school at the University of Glasgow in Scotland. Again, before I left, I had been telling 5/3rd "I'll be in Scotland for the next year, don't freeze my account". The "fraud prevention" assured me that there's a note and everything will go smoothly. Apparently they've never been told to not lie, because as I write this, they've frozen my account. What really burns me though is I explicitly told them that the University of Glasgow will be an authorized payment recipient, they still reject payment. When I make the payments, I get a verification code from my app to type in to (ideally) approve the transaction, and allow it to go through. NOPE. I'm done with this bank. I was ready to switch in Japan, and now after graduation I will be closing my account and taking my business elsewhere.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Ada1264 Aug 31, 2017

    Very bad costumer service

    On this month somebody hacked my debit card twice, I received the alert from the bank but even do they charge me $ 100.00 later on they said I have to open a dispute and gave me a phone number, today I called and try to find out the best way to use my debit card, they told me first thing you have to do in the morning you have to review your bank account, do not use your debit card, only your Credit card (she said they had a lots of problems with this issues) I let her know that I tough after the banks begun use the cards with chip they will go to resolve those problems but no, the hacker are smarter than the bank specialist. To make this review short after I ask to the lady to give me an advice how I can solve this problem she hang out the phone. Now we going to looking for another bank to change our accounts with better services.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Snip Aug 23, 2017

    Fraudulent charges still deducted

    5/3 sent me a text that suspicious charges had been made with my debit card, called to close the card immediately but $300 was still deducted from my account. The bank could only say it's a Microsoft charge, No phone number or Anything, im the Only card user & not my charge. If the bank Suspects fraud & customer Confirms it's Fraudulent then why did they let my money get stolen?

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Ghermanns Jul 18, 2017

    Don't expect fast service

    I saw a faulty charge on my credit card, and have been away from my home address doing 3 months of work. 5/3 wouldn't send a new credit card directly to the address I needed it at, so it had to be mailed to my home address and then my mom would forward it to me. Fast forward a month later and two replacement cards that never arrived, and I've been doing work in Alaska with no credit card for 45 days. All because someone at 5/3 doesn't know how to us USPS correctly. Oh and I still don't have that replacement credit card.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By vinhvle Jul 18, 2017

    Balance Transfer Scam

    Fifth Third Bank offered me a balance transfer offer that included a "special" 3% balance transfer fee (many credit card companies offer 0% balance transfer fees) and 0%, 12 month APR. I was given checks to use to take advantage of the balance transfer offer. The checks expired May 25, 2017. I issued a check to another creditor to resolve a balance before the check expiration date. Fifth Third Bank claims the check was processed by the other creditor after May 25, 2017. They did not offer me the balance transfer offer and ultimately charged me their standard 4% balance transfer fee ($180) and standard 19% interest charges on the balance transferred to my account, resulting in $257.99 in interest. I have a credit score of over 750 and could've pay off my entire balance at a slight inconvenience. I wouldn't have taken their offer if the marketing was clear and I knew they would make every attempt to postpone the processing of their balance transfer offer check.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.