Profile | Reviews

First Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, firstcitizens.com

33 Reviews
2 out of 5 stars

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By Akelley65 Dec 20, 2017

    John's Creek branch

    Went to this location to cash my bonus check today. Teller says of the large amount, she will have to call my office to verify check number and amount. Even after verifying with the owner of the company, who also signs all paychecks every week and 45 minutes later, manager comes out to say she doesn't feel comfortable cashing my check, after the teller has already stated they didn't have enough money on hand to cash it. What bank doesn't keep more than 20k on hand? This bank is a joke. Pass them up...

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By SmallBizOwner Sep 6, 2017

    NOT Small Business friendly at all. Unethical bunch of Liars.

    After I read hundreds of complaints against FCB, I have to post that we are right now escalating investigation complaint against them for dubious & deceitful practices, as we deal through the Bethlehem (Hickory, NC) and Viewmont (Hickory, NC) branches for some years now.

    Not only has the new digital banking system launched last October been a hastle, but as many others post here regarding business problems, I have told branch managers at both offices they need to save money and remove the nice banners and signs in lobbies about how they care about small business- because that is far from the truth and this bank is NOTHING what its original proprietors set out to make it long ago. NEVER once have either branch manager given care to our customers or who we do business with locally and a base of approx 500 returning customers for our contracting services annually...

    We have an FDIC complaint and investigation going on and also FINRA told us they were hit recently with $Million fine for similar practices hurting another business.

    Our situation began in May, 2017 as a business LOC was set for its 2 year reset. Last period they increased it yet left my interest rate at 8% where it has been for 6 years running now. We have total of (6) various accounts with this bank even. NEVER late on anything, always paying higher principle payments on various lines we do have with them in fact, always in good standing.

    But in May, we expected the business LOC to continue as always, but no! They decided not to renew it, yet stated they were taking the outstanding draw on that Line and converting it to 3 year fixed % loan at 3% higher rate! What the hell we said. Then they argued and did things against our wishes even, and the original loan they offered us, they said we took too long to accept terms, so hit our credit reports with default on a loan! All along the business LOC still showed active on the website with our other accounts, we kept making payments by due dates as it stated which FCB took out interest each time, etc..

    We asked questions, demanded answers, and the branch managers acted like robots saying hardly anything except that if we signed the new conversion loan terms, they would remove late fees. The damn wording in this loan contract had I signed it stated I as the customer demanded to end my LOC and convert it to a fixed rate loan! What??? Why would any business want a line established closed up?? It hurts their business operations. We NEVER asked to end our business LOC at all. THEY (FCB) decided to do this and try to entrap us into collecting higher % rate as they knew how successful and well our local small business has been doing. This made no sense . We felt like we were being extorted or blackmailed hearing this. My wife then contacted FINRA which contacted the OCC (Office of the Comptroller of the Currency) and then NC Bank Commissioners' office where this thing is held in limbo as we wait on FDIC results. Then after many days arguing FCB came back at us with new documents for a Promissory Note now for us to sign saying we promised to repay the outstanding LOC balance within 3 years, but interest left at the 8% which the LOC was always at. But by this time, another 30 days goes by, FCB hits our credit reports still again with late fees and default and this is all wrong to see! They drove my credit score down about 200 points damnit with 6 hits on my credit report between June & August 2017! This is criminal, malicious, and wrong! The LOC which still showed active we kept making payments on monthly to be safe and not until early August did this new Promissory Note take effect and show on their system and the LOC finally disappeared. But my credit score has been brutally attacked by these idiots and they think they did nothing wrong... I am now worried with all my established vendor accounts we have in place who many do annual report pulls for our business accounts that this will further affect my business and quite possibly put me out of business!

    We are searching for a lawyer at this time.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By One2go Apr 14, 2017

    Wish I had gone somewhere else!

    I have a business account for probate with this awful bank. One branch had people that didn't know how to do anything with this type of account so we went to another branch in the same town and I did have a good experience with the nice lady who helped me open the account. But soon, trying to deposit a check from an insurance company (less than $5000), they wanted to put a hold on it. This is a very large insurance company so we cashed it at the bank it was drawn on and then deposited it at this "bank". Then a very large check from a law firm for a house sale and the teller was very rude and put a hold of seven business days on it. This bank is very big on "holds" on your money but the insult comes with the rude teller you get. I will close this account asap and I hope everyone else stays away also! Any other bank would be better. If I could give less than 1 star, I would!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By drsherry Mar 28, 2017

    love these people

    I have used this bank for many years and I love it. During the crash when money was tight, they were solid. The people all know me and are approachable and nice.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By pamelahoyt Aug 25, 2016

    Busineses Don't bother - Horrible customer service

    I've been with First Citizens with the 2 business that I am co-owner of in Greenville for many years. For a bank that was founded on "helping small businesses grow and suceed" they are quite comical since they are not helpful at all. A bank should partner with a business to help and work with them. Instead I have had years of battling every little incident and constantly hear them pass the problem off to someone else. If my business should encounter a problem with credit card processing, online access, account withdrawals, etc, I always felt like there was NO help to be found at First Citizens. Are we just not BIG enough? One company has been in business for 52 years and the other for 8 years - we're doing something right! As much of a headache as it is, I will move both companies to a bank that is helpful and not such a robot. Year after year - No help - EVER! There are much better banks out there! Run from the Augusta Road Branch.

    I wish I had bothered to look at online reviews sooner. I cannot believe the number of sites that rate them a 1 star consistently. Obviously, they are used to this type of outcome since I told Kendra (branch) that I planned to post my experiences of terrible customer service on every media outlet I could find and she replied, "Okay!" The branch manager, Lesley Baker, which has never bothered to meet me did not care to speak to me herself... wow, great business service!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By DonnaHughes Aug 14, 2016

    No help with a LIEN RELEASE!

    My boat has been paid off for YEARS~!!!! I have been trying 2 get a lien release on a boat for WEEKS from First Citizens Bank, & they will NOT RESPOND. Can u help?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Guy_P_Drumm Jul 17, 2016

    First Citizens in Lacey, WA is FANTASTIC!

    Let me start by saying that I LOVE that the tellers all know me and treat me more like a friend than a customer!
    The tellers coming in that don't know me; Get familiar with me in short order, AND I get a PERSONALLY Signed Birthday Card every year! :-D

    I was not happy at first, that Venture Bank (which was also very good!) was taken over by First Citizens; But they won me over!

    I have had a few issues which resulted in Over-Draft Fees. Some were not my fault; Some were dumb over-sights on my part.
    If the problem was not actually my fault; The fee was forgiven, and I was helped to "Fix" things!
    A couple of times that I DID screw up; The fee was forgiven, as it was understood HOW I screwed up, and I was warned that it was a "One Time" Forgiveness! (I learned!)

    The way EVERYONE smiles at you, and makes you feel as though you matter, and they care, and they go "The extra mile!" . . . I will never change banks! :-D

    It is a shame that I see First Citizens has not gotten a lot of good reviews NATIONALLY; But the Lacey Branch is FANTASTIC!!! (Yelm is good too, but no match!)

    Sincerely,
    Guy P Drumm
    Precision Piercing

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Hoolio Apr 15, 2016

    Keep looking there is a better option out there

    We use this bank for a new business that we formed in December '15. From the very beginning we have had issues where we had to go back to the branch for corrections. These range from mistakes setting up online banking, incorrect account types, challenges getting checks printed etc. Our account is free with a low minimum balance but I have spent more time on hold and being transferred in circles with this bank . The latest example and the one prompting this review it spending 45 minutes on the phone and still not being able to order checks.

    If you have other options for your banking needs I would take them.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By justsomeolddude Jan 6, 2016

    Charged fees on a 20 year old closed account.

    Recently i went to open a checking account at First Citizens Back. I was told that i could not open an account because there was an unpaid fee for an account that was closed almost 20 years ago.
    I asked them how they were able use a closed account to charge a fee? and why i did not receive any correspondence, letter's phone call, emails etc, about the fee? They could not give me an answer.
    This, in my opinion represents First Citizen as Very Unprofessional and Unorganized and possibly Corrupt.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By mk1126 Dec 1, 2015

    Pass it by ?

    Having just moved down here to the, grand and glorious, 'The Villages', we quickly went about to find a local bank. Since all of the ones in town really did not have any 'good' reviews online, we took a gambit and tried Citizens First Bank. We went to the Brownwood Branch and opened up a checking account - not too bad. But then, when we had a little $ come in from a sale, we to the Lake Sumter branch to open another checking account and a savings account as well as to make an additional deposit into the first checking account. Things proceeded fairly smoothly but while taking a little time. Well, we even got past the part of having made three different deposits off of one check. Alright. Well, I was just getting ready to leave, when some "management wanna-be" comes over to the desk where we were sitting with one of the bank personnel. She exclaims, "did you see them actually sign these?" (One of the co-signers was not present at the time). The bank person replied no, but did not deny the presentation of the deposit. Then this 'wanna be' goes, "I'm going to have to take these deposit slips back!" - Wrong; actually believe she could not as the transactions had already been completed and processed, but she did anyways. I just sat there in total disbelief! So, this bank is going to call a bank customer on good faith?!? Unheard of - except by that other one - Chase Manhattan! Furthermore, the employee who had been helping me also sat there in disbelief and disarray!. Where is the bank/employee relations training here? Well, you know what I did - Yep. Walked right out of there and across the street to the closest bank and open the accounts and with a bank person who did not even blink at the back of the check! Citizens First - keep on walking!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.