B+ MyBankTracker Rating

First Midwest Bank Customer Reviews

(16 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 0
1 Star 15

The Most Helpful First Midwest Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Julie C. Mar 28, 2015

Good location

Very good location, over 160 stores around! See the store directory on http://www.outletstoresmalls.com/outlet-malls/northpark-mall

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By brentschn Apr 22, 2016

Take over of NB&T - Disaster

Used NB&T for both business and personal checking accounts. Had the ability to transfer funds between the business account and personal account - payroll, expense account reimbursements, overdrafts, etc... After the acquisition and changeover, I no longer have that ability.

I have tried to make deposits via check to my personal account, and have had to actually cash the business check first, then deposit the cash to my account to do so. Cannot even put a business check into my personal bank account via ATM without it take 5 business days for the business check to clear the personal check.

The personal bankers will blow smoke up your ass and tell you that the overdrafts are actually a small percentage of their business .However, everything, including their inability to accurately tell you your balance on the ATM machine over the weekends, points to their knowingly programming systems to take advantage of their debit card users.

It is my opinion First Midwest Bank does this on purpose. It is my opinion that they make a huge amount on overdraft fees on current NB&T customers. It is also my opinion that First Midwest Bank is fraudulent bank with it's meat hooks in it's own customers.

DO NOT USE THIS BANK.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest First Midwest Bank Reviews

  • C
    Reviewed By Cgray01 Jun 11, 2016

    Carol

    We applied for a home equity loan and talked to a banker on the phone who gave me a bunch of figures based off of our credit scores (640 and 698) and income and debt to income ratio (less than 25% currently and would be lower with this loan being approved). Said person quoted us $204 up to $400 per month for 10 years for a minimum of an $18,000 loan possibly up to $35,000 (which would be based off of 85% equity being borrowed on our home and how much we would ultimatly be wanting to borrow). I also explained what the loan would be for. I was told that my bankruptcy from almost 5 years ago did not matter. I then emailed with Marcella who requested documents which I sent same day. Did not hear back for several days. Finally heard back and although all of ourdocuments matched up and were verified with what I had explained to Marcella she said that we qualified for 75% equity in our home which she told me we did not have so we were denied. She was very confusing. I said what do you mean we donot have enough equity-we owe $90,000 on our home and it will appraise for over $150,000. She then said that our credit did not qualify, even though she had previously told me that it did. She said that if I would send in documents of home valies in our area and proof that we had paid off a debt item that was showing up on credit report that she would resubmit to underwriting to be approved then. She made it sound as though we were approved comtingent upon me providing this info. I spent 5 hours researching similar home values in our area and sent her 8 homes all valued at over $160,000. I sent proof of the credit report change for the better (made score go up 35 points almost immediately). Again it was another couple of days and then she called to tell me we were still denied for credit and lack of home equity, which was what she said the first time. This company is a total waste of time and has now placed a hard credit inquiry even though i discussed with them what the numbers were and why and they then assured me we would be approved. I will be disputing this inquiry with reasoning of dishonest inquiry. I would have never let them run my credit if i had known they are not really doing with it what they say they are. I do not appreciate Marcella for making me jump through hoops without even considering the documents she requested to be 're-approving' the loan. I mean what company would not want to loan a home equity loan with nearly 40% equity, almost 700 point credit scores, not one late payment in 5 years, a low debt to income ratio, and stable jobs (me 6 years, husband 18). I am now scared to attempt another bank because of this experience. We are wanting the money to do a down payment for a disabled family member to have a home to live in and also consolidate one low credit card balance into it eliminating that payment monthly. We are just really upset that this company took advantage of our time, our credit report, and our family situation. Stay away from this bank and Marcella. She has no clue what she is doing and doesnt think twice about getting hopes up and messing with people's credit.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By maylonem May 7, 2016

    don't try to get a loan from

    I have a credit rating of 761 I'll try to get a loan I make more than $50 a year I have enough money coming in to pay all my bills in this loan
    I wouldn't waste you time or the energy to put an application in with this company because they do not look at the credit report and what you bring in to make there decision

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By gins75 May 4, 2016

    Should not be allowed to take over banks

    I had the same issue as another poster with the takeover of NB&T bank. We had personal & business accounts that we were no longer able to access together. We received mailings for months stating that the change was in name only & in no way would affect our accounts. What a blatant lie! Not only did they change our account set up when I called to get it fixed I was on hold for 35 minutes until I got to speak to an unbelievably rude customer service rep. That's just the first issue.

    Next, I decided to change banks. We had a significant balance in our business account. First Midwest refused to honor the check I wrote to my new account. They kept trying to say it wasn't properly endorsed. Thankfully my new bank fought for me & got my money.

    I never had overdraft protection on my account at NB&T but when I withdrew all my $ from my personal account I missed a pending transaction & wrote a check that shouldn't have been honored. First Midwest took it upon themselves to put overdraft protection on my account, cash the check & proceed to charge me fees for 2 weeks before I was notified in the mail that my account was overdrawn & charged over $100 in fees (for a $13 check by the way).

    Absolutely terrible bank, stay far away from them

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By brentschn Apr 22, 2016

    Take over of NB&T - Disaster

    Used NB&T for both business and personal checking accounts. Had the ability to transfer funds between the business account and personal account - payroll, expense account reimbursements, overdrafts, etc... After the acquisition and changeover, I no longer have that ability.

    I have tried to make deposits via check to my personal account, and have had to actually cash the business check first, then deposit the cash to my account to do so. Cannot even put a business check into my personal bank account via ATM without it take 5 business days for the business check to clear the personal check.

    The personal bankers will blow smoke up your ass and tell you that the overdrafts are actually a small percentage of their business .However, everything, including their inability to accurately tell you your balance on the ATM machine over the weekends, points to their knowingly programming systems to take advantage of their debit card users.

    It is my opinion First Midwest Bank does this on purpose. It is my opinion that they make a huge amount on overdraft fees on current NB&T customers. It is also my opinion that First Midwest Bank is fraudulent bank with it's meat hooks in it's own customers.

    DO NOT USE THIS BANK.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Phoebe2016 Apr 13, 2016

    Either Get Your Staff Trained or Close-PLEASE

    We have struggled with this bank for over a year, and we strongly suggest you use your mattress or some ceramic piggy bank to stash your cash rather than First Midwest.

    We received K-1 tax forms for our 2015 return on March 29th. Yes, March 29th. These are for an inherited IRA. My brother, who is in the Armed Services and stationed in Japan, received his forms with the box FOREIGN BENEFICIARY checked. He's a U.S. citizen, filing from his home on a military base (Okinawa).
    I could make a list of mistakes and service issues, but the bottom line is that an attorney recommended this bank to us - stupidly, we listened, Statements were of thousands of dollars at one point. They were just so difficult to deal with. Address changes submitted 7 times, mail still sent to former addresses. It goes on and on.

    Sloppy and unprofessional. There are many other choices. Pick another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By gretchen Feb 27, 2016

    Awful Bank I Hate They Took Over Great Lakes Bank

    I originally was with Great Lakes Bank for 15yrs. Midwest Bank took them over last year. It's been awful ever since. They constantly block my card usage regardless of the amount from $50 - $1000 for apparent reason. Then they never contact you to inform you of the block. They block my card on Feb 5 and I had to call them to release the block on Feb 27th. I never use my card because its a 50/50 chance it won't go through and it's so embarrassing ! I have 2 other accounts at Chase and Capital One and they send me texts and emails to inform me of suspicious activity. This bank isn't tech savvy. Once I change a couple of direct deposit accounts, I'm closing this account ASAP. It's a shame because this our neighborhood bank when it was Great Lakes Bank and you even knew the girls' names that worked there. Don't bank here, you'll be disappointed!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mrshickman33 Dec 30, 2015

    the worst bank ive dealt with... rates with wells fargo

    I have two accts with first midwest bank. They took money from my second checling leaving me .91 to love off of for two weeks. I updated my information which they updated the wrong number but when i verified the acct. Over the phone the number was correct. When I talked to a supervisor she rheninformed me that the reason why they couldn't call me was because the number was incorrect. Yet they have a second number they didn't even use! I never authorizes them to take the money out of my account. When I was in the process of purchasing my vehicle they wouldn't even consider financing because the car was a 2006. Even though it had very low miles. I wouldnt even have given them one star. For the new year I will be closing my acct with them. There are to many fees that are ridiculous and they are very crooked.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Awall Dec 15, 2015

    Good location aggressive teller

    Had three accounts at first.midwest and all was fine until the day they allowed the teller to use her position at branch to cause problems with my visits and was allowed to pick fights and be as rude as possible after multiple complaints nothing was done and I'm sure I'm not the only complaint filed on her further more she made threats to try to have me audited upon bad service in general so sad I was warned to use a good bank like chase and since moving everything is fine ,. So much for customers right or friendly service here . It's a shame since the others were nice. But one bad apple will make your customers run every time

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • Reviewed By Julie C. Mar 28, 2015

    Good location

    Very good location, over 160 stores around! See the store directory on http://www.outletstoresmalls.com/outlet-malls/northpark-mall

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • Reviewed By Timothy B. Jul 24, 2014

    A Cashiers Check = Cash

    I am in search of a new bank as i bank at tcf. I like the fact that tcf is open 7 days a week among other things, however, the negatives outweigh the positives, so i'm looking for a new bank. About a month ago my girl friend cashed a cashier's check in the lobby at this bank, which went smoothly. Several days ago she tried to cash one at the drive-through because the lobby was closed. It was a cashier's check in the amount of $4000. 00. The teller said she could only dispense $3000. 00, deposit the remainder and pick it up the next day, fair enough, rules are rules. {which seems ridiculous, especially if you have an account at said bank} so she waited and went to the bank in question when the lobby was open after work today. Much to my astonishment she was told she could only receive $800. 00 of the above aforementioned check? If the teller could dispense $800. 00 of the check, why not the entire balance? Not to mention this particular document "contains a true watermark-hold to the light to view". It is also equipped with an octagon that says " rub here " in 3 different locations for further authentication. Personally i can' figure out what kind of scam this particular bankster was trying to pull or if she was just plain rude, or stupid, or all the above. Remember when atms where supposed to make things cheaper? That was just the tip of the iceberg. Banks charge insane amounts of money for overdrafts, their pathetic excuse way back when was more or less to discipline us consumers. The removal of the glass-steagall act was the last nail in the consumers coffin, thanks bill. I guess i'm staying with tcf, just a little less evil bankster. I could go on and on, but i'm sure a lot of folks already know this, you need $700,000,000,000 of tax payer money henry, no problem! If i could i would rate this bank a -- zero!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.