B+ MyBankTracker Rating

First National Bank of Omaha Customer Reviews

(19 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 1
2 Star 0
1 Star 17

The Most Helpful First National Bank of Omaha Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By m8941280 Aug 10, 2014

My family has been banking with FNBO for over 100 years!!

My family has been banking with First National of Omaha for over a hundred years.

I've only had the best customer service - never an issue that could not be worked out quickly!!

Once one of their ATM broke during my transaction. Within a week I received a letter saying they where sorry and had a 5 dollar bill enclosed for any inconvenience the broken ATM may have caused me.

Another time, I had to close down a savings account with them and transfer the money to my checking account. The person made a mistake and closed my checking account down and transferred my money to savings account. I realized this mistake on a late Saturday afternoon. I called at 6pm on a Saturday and someone picked up and fixed the problem within the hour. My credit line connected to the checking account was reopened on that following Monday with a followup call from that department checking to see if everything was good.

I now live in Texas - but I can still bank with FNBO - they have branches in the north DFW area!!!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By farhad Oct 9, 2012

Worse Branch Ever

The mortgage part is very bad and no one do good job and none of the employee care about customer. I will not recommend dealing with this bank ever in life

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest First National Bank of Omaha Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By MBoy Jun 23, 2016

    Horrible and unethical

    I would rate it less than a 1 if possible. The bank called at 9:00am on the due date too collect the monthly payment without the possibility of the day's mail being processed. The bank employee even went so far as to ask for my wife's cell phone number when I explained I was certain my wife had mailed the payment; my wife is not even listed on the account. This is not the first time the bank has called on the morning of the actual due date and without confirming my wife had made an online payment. Their practices are not consistent with Consumer Protection laws and are frankly, unethical!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Donnymcbride Jun 3, 2016

    No community support

    This bank stinks. In Fort Collins, It's the bank inside CSU, a self-proclaimed "Community Bank" (Ha!), but it doesn't actually support CSU students. My son requested a $300 line of credit for overdraft protection. He is 19 and has no credit history. Nothing bad, just no history. Very normal for a freshman. The bank wouldn't extend itself. Really? A $300 bootstrap? Too much risk? Meanwhile, mobile service providers, national and distant, Sprint, T-Mobile, Verizon, AT&T, are eager to take a chance and extend my son $500 credit for new service. Where is the community support in helping my son build credit? CSU, kick them out!!!

    A representative told me "our bank is very conservative". Dah! Then cater to rich people, not college students. Get off campus !

    I also found them back dating a deposit. To some this may seem fine, but I find it unethical. A deposit was made June 1, but it never showed up in his online account. On June 2 it showed up, but dated as June 1. The money wasn't available to him June 1 when he needed it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Shadow_amortizer Nov 7, 2015

    Shadow Loan didn't end well

    I applied for an $11k unsecured loan at 1st National Bank back in the heyday of easy credit (2006) and loose banking standards. When I opened the account, they sent me six years worth of payment books which are used for submitting monthly payment checks on the loan. During the Financial Crisis in 2008, the bank mysteriously changed my account number on the loan, but the truly bizarre thing was they refused to give me the new account number! So I continued paying on the loan using the payment slips I was sent when the loan was opened. Fast forward a few years to the loan maturity date when I had finally made my last payment on the loan. It was then that I discovered the bank had tacked on an additional $2k in fees on my loan when the account number changed, and they had been charging me a total of $2k in interest on the fees since then! Naturally I refused to pay as this seemed like obvious fraud to me. The bank didn't seem to mind, they just wrote off the bogus amount for reimbursement from the Fed, and ruined my FICO credit score. I've tried on couple occasions the last several years to settle the disputed amount with the bank, but they have refused all reasonable offers. I feel like a chump for paying on the loan all those years, as the effect on my credit would have been no different had I not paid them at all...

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By verhinesk Oct 28, 2015

    One star is the lowest I can go. The way this company treats its customers is a disgrace.

    I have a Visa card with this company. I have made ALL of my payments on time, and I have never exceeded my credit limit. I received a letter yesterday that my credit limit had been reduced $500. I know it's not a lot of money, but I am in the middle of remodeling my house and trying to get it done by Christmas. In other words, all of my resources count. I would recommend doing business with this company only as a last resort. Furthermore, when you have a balance on a credit card, and the credit card company reduces your credit limit, it causes the ratio of balance to available credit to increase, which also lowers your credit score.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pitsy Apr 16, 2015

    secured visa

    Not sure if you a review on their secured card. I have had no problems with them they are slow, requesting a cl increase took weeks and a hard pull I pay it off every month, they send me little notes of how good i'm doing for keeping a no balance. Have contacted CS twice. The first time she was rude could of gave a crap. The second time they were nice considerate. I see them offering the Amex card won't be here long. Just wondering the score they are looking for. I carry the Amex Platinum

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TEXASDAVID Mar 26, 2015

    WARNING!

    Be very careful when dealing with this company....you might get caught off-guard and in a real bind! When I opened a credit card account with this company, I was given a VERY generous credit limit of $2,650. I NEVER paid late and even ALWAYS paid early...most of the time with more than the minimum due! With no notice at all (and they have ALL my contact information) my credit limit was lowered to $1,700. I had even just made a huge payment on the card of $1,000. So, what I had been out of the country and had planned to use this card to purchase my tickets to fly home? What if I had just gone to make a major purchase and the purchase was denied. Wow....NO NOTICE at all. I just happened to check the account to verify that the $1,000 payment had been made and noticed the lowered credit limit. I called and received the run around and general BS. I will be paying off the remaining balance on this card soon and will I cancel it....NO....will I use it again so they can make money off of me....ABSOLUTELY NOT!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By johnsonrcj Mar 19, 2015

    Worst Customer Service on Telephone and Internet Access

    I have tried too many times to access my account online but the account is blocked. I telephoned CS and was on phone for 45 minutes talking with some incompetent arrogant person who wanted to verify my security credentials. When completed, the agent said he would remove the online block. That was two months ago. Apparently, the CS agent did not think his performance was important. I am going to pay off my credit card and close the account. I cannot tolerate this poor customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By reviewmybank Jan 24, 2015

    Deposit incorrect

    My deposit at 90th and Fort branch on 01/24/2015 was incorrect. I noticed after 1PM. I called about the error, reached the rep. Kayla ext 1059973 at the call center . She was unconcerned about how this error and how it may effect me until it can be resolved. Since it is a Saturday apparently it could be as long as 01/27/2014 and that is because I caught it. Never once was a apology given. Error strike one ,terrible customer service strike two.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By m8941280 Aug 10, 2014

    My family has been banking with FNBO for over 100 years!!

    My family has been banking with First National of Omaha for over a hundred years.

    I've only had the best customer service - never an issue that could not be worked out quickly!!

    Once one of their ATM broke during my transaction. Within a week I received a letter saying they where sorry and had a 5 dollar bill enclosed for any inconvenience the broken ATM may have caused me.

    Another time, I had to close down a savings account with them and transfer the money to my checking account. The person made a mistake and closed my checking account down and transferred my money to savings account. I realized this mistake on a late Saturday afternoon. I called at 6pm on a Saturday and someone picked up and fixed the problem within the hour. My credit line connected to the checking account was reopened on that following Monday with a followup call from that department checking to see if everything was good.

    I now live in Texas - but I can still bank with FNBO - they have branches in the north DFW area!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By ERINL Mar 20, 2014

    Horrible!!! Scammers!! Dont Even Deserve A Zero!!!

    Zero stars! Horrible customer service! These people are scammers and will try to ruin your credit! I have been a perfect customer for several years now and only had $40 bucks left on the account as owed in jan. January is the last time i had received a bill. It's now march and i don't receive a bill but what i do receive is this letter stating that due to non payment my account has been sent to collections!! I didn't understand this b/c of me not getting a bill in 2 months (i just thought it was all paid off). I call the number and the guy says oh ya someone sent it back saying not a good address. I haven't moved at all in 5 years and i did receive this letter about them cancelling the card due to account being past due... So obviously the address is still good! He then tells me what i owe and asked how i want to pay it. I said i don't want to pay anything until i see a actual bill. So he has me call customer service (says he is just collections). Customer service number is the same number i had called when i talked to him? Next lady was just plain rude (her name was kim). She tells me this is my fault and that i should have known i wasn't receiving the bills!!! Isn't that the whole point in a bill, to remind you what is owed and when it's due?! She tells me there is nothing she can do and that it is now on my credit! She didn't see that it was sent back to them and just kept repeating that it was sent! 3rd person i talked to did see it as sent back to them in the notes on my acct!! They are messing up my credit all over $40! These people are disrespectful and ignorant, i don't see how they are still in business! I will not be paying them anything ever again! I will have to take this up with the credit bureau unfortunately! I work in customer service and would never treat any of my customers this way! Customer service is supposed to help people figure out a solution to whatever the problem may be..... Not to blame the customer for someone else mistake

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.