Profile | Reviews

First Tennessee Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, firsttennessee.com

27 Reviews
2 out of 5 stars

First Horizon National Corporation is a premier financial services company with a long history of success and traditions dating back to 1864. Today, the company, one of the top 30 bank holding companies in the U.S.

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By dtanner Dec 3, 2017

    HORRIBLE BANKING SERVICE

    Banked here for over a year and finally had it. Every single time this bank has an update the card and online account will not work. EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. That meant that as a night shift worker there was more than one occasion an unannounced update happens and the card would be declined. For me that meant going through the embarrassment of not being able to pay for lunch because the bank decided to do another unscheduled update. I reported this every time, even asked for follow up. Customer service repeatedly informs me they will report it, however cant do anything. Enough is enough. Avoid this bank. Have had more issues with them than just this but this is what really gets me. Why would a debt card stop working for several hours for a bank update? Unacceptable.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By grtwhthntr Nov 7, 2017

    A dishonest bank, that fails to grasp the simple concept of checks.

    I have had 2 experiences with First Tennessee Bank in the last 2 weeks that makes me realize that I will never bank with them.
    I pay my child support to an account that is in my daughters name. I do not have the account number. I have been depositing this money for many years. Now they will not accept my deposit without the account number. I had to get a manager to approve it.
    Next encounter after receiving a First Tennessee check from a neighbor for some work I had done, I tried to cash it at the bank and they tried to rob me of 3% of it because I did not bank there. They told me if I did not like it to go to my bank. Their customer gave me a check in good faith in lieu of cash and her bank would not honor it without a cut of my labor. What kind of usury is this.
    In case any of this banks simpletons read this review, I will try and teach.
    A check is a promissory note that if presented to the bank named on the check that you will be paid from the account the check is written.
    It allows the writer of the check the ability not to have to be present at the bank to do business. The holder of the check by proxy is the account holder and entitled to the full sum written on the check.
    So no the bank cannot charge a portion of the amount owed to check holder, that is theft.
    Banking with these fools would be lesson in how to get robbed.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By glalexander Aug 17, 2017

    Bank officer incompetence

    My family has used FTB in Brentwood for many years. My mother was recently hospitalized and suffered some temporary confusion. During this time, my brother took her to the bank with a power of attorney document he had printed from online. Bank employees notarized this very serious legal document, thereby invalidating one already made by a lawyer. Now that she has recovered enough to realize what happened, the bank refuses to let her revoke the POA even though she has every legal right to do so. I spoke with one employee about this and he admitted he knows nothing about POA although his name appears as part of authorizing the document. This employee as well as the branch manager assured me they would contact me within the day after speaking to the legal department, but neither ever bothered to respond. The negligence and incompetence is astounding and has caused a great deal of stress for a number of people. A bank has no business engaging in such legal matters as this situation clearly attests.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Dormandy Apr 27, 2017

    Run from this bank

    I used to have a F*** Tennessee checking account. I had given a company permission to take payments out of my account. When they kept taking more than I had approved a f*** Tennessee rep called me about being overdrawn. I told her I was being a victim of fraud and to please not give them anymore money. To my suprise she told me that they couldn't stop the auto payments and only I could do that. I couldn't believe what she was saying and I again told her I was being a victim of fraud and I would not be responsible for any future withdrawals. Well they continued to allow the withdrawals until they racked up over $1000 in overdraft and then closed the account. When they contacted me about the amount owed I explained what happened and that I wasn't going to pay it. Well they siued me and rather than getting a lawyer I paid them. I know this is unbelievable but please beware of this SORRY bank. George David Ormandy

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By PuppyLove May 17, 2016

    Would be a good bank in 1980

    With all of their faxing and paper mailings. Backwards technology and crappy customer service. Definitely won't be doing business with FT again. Even if I did live in the area that they service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Koslo Feb 26, 2016

    Will not bank with them again

    It takes FAR too long for a transaction to go through. I'll have some pending for over a week and then it'll all come out in one day, causing my account to be overdrawn (which they assured me couldn't happen). I stopped to get gas one day and my card was declined for insufficient funds. I immediately drove to the atm to find that there was PLENTY of money in my checking account. My card was declined 2 more times before I was told my debit card had been deactivated by them. For something that was their fault. It's been 2 weeks and my card has still not been activated. I went last week to have a check cashed, it took 25 minutes in the drive thru, when I drove off I opened my envelope and there was NO cash and NO receipt for the transaction she just made. She also had given me back the wrong card with someone else's account number on it. How hard is it to keep them together when I put my card right on top of my check?? It was 10 minutes before closing by the time I left and I was in a hurry and didn't have time to go back, so thought I would wait til Monday to make sure the money was at least in my account (since it takes them at least 48 hours to get it in an account anyway). Monday morning I checked my account and there was no trace of that money. I called and she said the check was cashed and the drawer balanced out at the end of the day and that it was MY fault for not getting a receipt. I'm starting a new job in 3 days and have already opened up an account with another bank, and will be closing this account when my last direct deposit goes thru mid-March. Worst service I've ever received from a bank.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By angelaira Oct 29, 2015

    Dishonest Bank - Horrible Customer Service

    My mortgage from my first marriage was sold to this bank years ago. During our divorce I called this bank repeatedly to get information and the file was lost. I gave my social security number, gave my old addresses, my name... they could never find the account and could never provide me with any information. I went through bankruptcy, I rebuilt my credit, and this year I finally got a mortgage and bought a house.

    The final step to get my mortgage was to do a conference call with First Tennessee to verify that the balance due on the mortgage was $0. I called on three way conference. They refused to verify based on me not knowing the most recent address they mailed mortgage information to.
    This time I was not going to give up or let them walk all over me. I spoke to three different levels of management, and finally found someone who found the old file, and verified the $0 balance. I was approved for my mortgage.

    I had a 710 credit score. I worked 8 years to build that score after getting out of the abusive situation with my ex, taking our autistic sn with me, and working hard and paying every single bill on time for 8 years.

    The same day this bank verified my address, they added this mortgage to my credit report. My ex had been court ordered to have control of the house and be responsible for both mortgage payments. I called repeatedly to try and get information to make sure this was happening, and I was denied information every time over a 10 year period. My ex had about 8 120 day late payments in the period from 2013 to 2014, and this bank added those to my credit report. I now have a lovely home, and a tanked credit score.

    I hate this company. I hope Karma visits them for what they have now done to my son and I. I am in the process of disputing this with all of the credit bureaus, but it is only fair to warn people that they are crooked liars.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By tabernacle11 Aug 23, 2015

    online banking

    your bank asks for alot of stupid security questions that I cant remember the answer too = my id was correct and would not let me even enter the password, locked my account up and called cs and w/o acct information they could not unlock it - had name, address, ss# bank user id and password...you need better customer service and better online banking. it should not matter what device i am signing in on as long as i have the correct user id and password...FIX IT!!!!!!!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By ab029u Jul 31, 2015

    Home Equity Line

    In Jan. of 2006 I build a new home and obtained an equity line for 34k from First Tn Bank with both loans totaling 95% of selling price. I paid the second mortgage off several years ago but kept the line of credit in case of emergency which cost me a $50 annual fee. I received notice that as of the anniversary date of the 10th year this loan would rollover into a traditional mortgage with set payment amounts etc. I learned since I had a zero balance the HEL would be closed. Anyway today I owe 67 k (first mortgage) on a $200,000 home and I applied for another equity line with First Tn to pay off original mortgage and allow for an additional 33k credit line. Total of $100k on a 200k home. I retired on Jan 1 and have an investment portfolio of approximately half a million dollars and continue to do contract work for my previous clients (of many years) generating about 50k per year and in Feb. of 2016 I start drawing 24k per year social security and for the first time in my life I was declined for a loan due to limited income and their policy of a minimum of 2 years of proven income for independent business owners.

    In summary after 10 years of a perfect business relationship, half million dollar investment portfolio, 50% equity in my home (after new loan amount is added) and oh by the way somewhere around an 800 credit score the loan was declined. So thankful I didn't need the money!!

    There is an obvious ineptness within the underwrites of this once proud bank.

    Thankful I didn't move my investment portfolio to them!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By BankCustomer37922 Jun 25, 2015

    Love this branch

    This branch, and it's manager, Jeremy Richards, has provided excellent service to me for all my banking needs over the past 7 years. I doubt any other bank could match the personal and friendly service I have received there.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.