B MyBankTracker Rating

FlagStar Bank Customer Reviews

(25 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 1
2 Star 1
1 Star 23

The Most Helpful FlagStar Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ed F. Jun 20, 2012

I Bank Online From Out-Of-State. Mrs. Bradshaw Helped Set Accounts Up. Fantastic, Until Recently.

I live out of the area and have grandchildren in the jackson, michigan area. Mrs. Bradshaw , at the jackson main branch, helped me set up the necessary accounts for them, was incredibly professional and took the time necessary to assure everything was well. We remained in touch, until about october, 2011, when the contact ceased.

No explanation given. The online service, with an account at a brick-and-mortar bank, works quite well for me. The bank is struggling; looking at their stock price and their financial ratings indicates how bad off they are. For what i need, the bank works well. I hope they succeed. I hope the standard for customer service i initially found can be restored.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By FightFlag Feb 27, 2016

Class Action Lawsuit Started

Hello,
My name is Mary and I'm sorry to hear about your situation.

We are working with top-notch attorneys and credit folks to put together a class action lawsuit against Flagstar.

PLEASE CONSIDER JOINING US IN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT.

You can be totally anonymous, and we will give you legal protection from retaliation.

You could be entitled to substantial monetary compensation,especially if you are one of the early people to join our lawsuit. There is zero expenses to you, we will pick up all costs. And our skilled lawyers will work with you for FREE, to prepare your case. Get the justice and the money you deserve.

Please send your email and phone to fightflag.mary@gmail.com, or call/text 415.494.6987.

Take care, Mary

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest FlagStar Bank Reviews

  • F
    Reviewed By FightFlag Feb 27, 2016

    Class Action Lawsuit Started

    Hello,
    My name is Mary and I'm sorry to hear about your situation.

    We are working with top-notch attorneys and credit folks to put together a class action lawsuit against Flagstar.

    PLEASE CONSIDER JOINING US IN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT.

    You can be totally anonymous, and we will give you legal protection from retaliation.

    You could be entitled to substantial monetary compensation,especially if you are one of the early people to join our lawsuit. There is zero expenses to you, we will pick up all costs. And our skilled lawyers will work with you for FREE, to prepare your case. Get the justice and the money you deserve.

    Please send your email and phone to fightflag.mary@gmail.com, or call/text 415.494.6987.

    Take care, Mary

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jd27 Sep 30, 2015

    Quick to Charge Fees, with no Explanation or Grace

    I've been banking with them for quite awhile and have had nothing but either a neutral or bad experience with them, no good experiences. They have the worst fees and no grace period on overdrawn accounts to get back to a positive balance. The local branch was no help, I called customer service and they only word they know is "no". The nicest person I was able to talk to was their chat feature on the website and I actually felt like I was getting somewhere. The corporate offices however were kind and explained things, but did not see if how I saw things and didn't help out either. Over all this bank seems to care more about money and less about the customer behind the account. I do not recommend this bank unless you want non stop ridiculous fees.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By Earl Marshall Jul 24, 2015

    Flagstar Bank Mortguage ** Stay Away From Them **

    We got our mortguage close to 8 years ago. Everything was fine as long as i stayed 1 month ahead on our payments. Like most poeple in this country, we expierienced an income down-grade due to me becoming disabled last september. Almost immediately, the automated phone calls started. They claimed that they could lower our payments. I'm still waiting for the modified loan to take effect. Now we are in defualt and they are taking us to foreclosure court next month. I hired an attourney to represent us, and even this law firm has said flagstar is scandelously inept! This law firm has about 20 other filings in this area alone from people wrongly hurt by them!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mpalit Sep 11, 2014

    The Worst Bank for Mortgages

    Horrible experience getting a Mortgage. They are just bone lazy and their Underwriters have no idea just harass the customer. I have A++ Credit have one loan with them they preapproved me for a second loan for a Condo for a small amount. They have been sitting on it for 2 months and now it is closing time they are asking for documentation which was provided immediately but still refuse to clear to close. If that is the case then why pre-approve especially someone with the Income assets and good Credit history and an excellent Condo building. The purchaser and the buyer have been put in this really poor situation through no fault of theirs. We were told for the past 10 days the loan would close we are still waiting. Never ever do business with this bank. I am a Commercial Lender if I did this with my loans I would be thrown out of the company.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By keithsipos Aug 26, 2014

    What groups oversee banks like this?

    With the banking industry permitting a bank like this to continue to do business with the list of reviews posted for this bank alone, without triggered oversight, is an indictment to the regulatory institutions that put bandages on problems after they've failed. Consider how many others haven't bothered to post, yet experience the same scams. There is no confidence in companies that are allowed to continue to operate like this one. They're in the business of being a casino taking in money from home loans in the millions with profits with out being penalized. How long will it take them to penalize you if you don't do the procedures they dictate?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tpersson29 May 5, 2014

    Insurance check for water damage

    I had water in my basement in December of 2013. Since that time I have paid over $14,000 to contractors for repair work that has been done. The insurance company issued a check of $5000 to cover part of the damage done at that time, which needed to be endorsed by FLAGSTAR to deposit the funds. Despite issuing appropriate paperwork detailing the work that has been done, I waited 3 months to get any sort of reimbursement. When the check finally came it was only for half of the original $5000 and it was made out to the contractor. Upon following up with Flagstar they told me that an inspection needs to be done on the property to ensure the work has been done so that the check can be made out to me. I understand the protocols for this madness, but I feel that since there has been appropriate invoices for paid work, contractor licenses, etc. submitted they would have understood that the work has been completed and therefore communicated the appropriate steps at that time. Poor communication and poor customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By ladylori Apr 8, 2014

    This is a bad bank. Stay away!

    Unfortunately, I have a mortgage with Flagstar and I recently filed an insurance claim due to storm damage. Flagstar has a process that is so convoluted that I had to record the automated instructions that are given on the phone. You cannot get a real person from the claims dept. on the phone. You can request a callback but the recording says it will be up to 72 hours before they call you back. Then, when they call back, if you are not able to answer, you have to go through the process all over again. They required a notarized affadavit, the check from the insurance company that they are supposed to co-endorse, the contractor's license and insurance certificate, a copy of the contract with the contractor, a check for $33.50 for an inspection. All that, and more, and the claim was under $10,000!

    When I finally got someone on the phone. I had to get a person in another dept. to contact the claims dept and I refused to get off the line until a live person from the claims dept. came on the phone. She said if the claim had been over $10,000, Flagstar would only send 1/2 until proof of the work was established. My insurance agent--and this is a well-known national company -- had never heard of the affadavit. I had to obtain that from Flagstar, sign and notarize it, scan it and e-mail it back. I asked the Flagstar claims specialist to email me back when she received the document. I have yet to hear from her.

    This process isn't over, but clearly Flagstar is not interested in customer service. If my post stops one person from doing business with Flagstar, it will be worth the time it took for me to write this.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By acopia Mar 13, 2014

    Unbelievable

    Computer keeps calling my home telling me to call about a outstanding loan.I finally get a human when I call back , I inform them I do not have a loan with them and please stop calling me,they say they can only pull my account up by my account #. I do not have an account # so they can not stop the computer from calling my house.I finally get someone to transfer me to someone else who hangs up on me because I will not give them my account #. I callback again and have a some one who says they are a supervisor and they are sorry and will take care of it. I still get phone calls, I see no other action but to contact an attorney,I wonder how far he will get without an account # unbelievable.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Lantric80 Jan 12, 2014

    Terrible

    Put over 14k in flagstar bank. Lost my job so put this money in my account for bills and the such. I placed bounce protection on this account. Luckily, I found a job. 2 days before I was to receive my first check my new job my acct was almost empty from the work stoppage. I used the bounce protection for 60 dollars knowing I had a check coming in another day. I called to pay the $60.00 the day I received my check. (2)days later. Flagstar charged $618.00 for the $60.00 I used.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tdssarah33 Jan 4, 2014

    Flagstar screwed us.

    Like many people, a year or so ago our family experienced a decrease in income. Thank goodness we had paid our mortgage on time for 9 years. So, under the fabulous HARP program - designed to help homeowners in stress to keep their homes - Flagstar began the refinance process with us. THEY LED US ON FOR MONTHS, knowing we desperately wanted to keep our home. Basically they would tell us they had everything ready, a low interest rate and a clear to close, but then they would find an excuse to drag it out another month, MONTH AFTER MONTH AFTER MONTH AFTER MONTH. After riding this emotional roller coaster ride, they finally bled us out, and we had no other option than to let the house go. This is a very DISHONEST bank, I highly recommend you steer clear of them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.