B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Guaranty Bank, WI Customer Reviews

(14 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 1
3 Star 1
2 Star 0
1 Star 12

The Most Helpful Guaranty Bank, WI Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By KatieRM Mar 6, 2016

Great Bank!

I have been banking with Guaranty bank for over 20 years and I would say that they are a better bank than some of the others that I have had an account with. Several years ago, I had some fraudulent withdrawals from my account, and Guaranty was very helpful in assisting me with stopping the fraud and even redeposited the money that was stolen.

For the most part, I would say that their tellers are friendly and helpful however, I have had a few bad experiences with tellers that just didn't care. I do a lot of my banking online and I find this service most beneficial and when I call customer service I have had only good experiences. Overall though, I would say that they are an above average bank.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By ziggy Dec 6, 2015

Go elsewhere

with so many choices in this area, I don't know why banking customers subject themselves to overdraft fees, taking debits before credits (resulting in more overdraft fees), no local face to face customer service (they have to call somewhere) to resolve immediate issues, lengthy hold on funds for whatever reason they dream up and so on. Not to mention the tellers aren't necessarily happy to see or talk to you (phone). Don't forget too many security questions - including account number - which almost no one knows - including me! Really terrible customer service. Keep your money, do your homework and move it elsewhere and keep more of it!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Guaranty Bank, WI Reviews

  • B
    Reviewed By BillyBobJoeBob Jun 20, 2016

    Horrible bank. Do not use.

    The website and app are outdated and clunky. They got a little better recently, but early on, online banking was too frustrating to use and all account activities were done in person. Sometimes requires an unnecessary amount of security checks. There was a period of time where the only way I could log in was by answering several security questions, then having a code sent to my phone. On top of all that, the customer service was mostly useless. When I wanted to close my account it took a week just to verify that I wanted to close it. It then took ANOTHER week to receive the check containing the remaining balance. Over the course of the two weeks I had no access to my money. Apparently 24 business hours = 1 week. Very happy to switch away from this nightmare.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By KatieRM Mar 6, 2016

    Great Bank!

    I have been banking with Guaranty bank for over 20 years and I would say that they are a better bank than some of the others that I have had an account with. Several years ago, I had some fraudulent withdrawals from my account, and Guaranty was very helpful in assisting me with stopping the fraud and even redeposited the money that was stolen.

    For the most part, I would say that their tellers are friendly and helpful however, I have had a few bad experiences with tellers that just didn't care. I do a lot of my banking online and I find this service most beneficial and when I call customer service I have had only good experiences. Overall though, I would say that they are an above average bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • Z
    Reviewed By ziggy Dec 6, 2015

    Go elsewhere

    with so many choices in this area, I don't know why banking customers subject themselves to overdraft fees, taking debits before credits (resulting in more overdraft fees), no local face to face customer service (they have to call somewhere) to resolve immediate issues, lengthy hold on funds for whatever reason they dream up and so on. Not to mention the tellers aren't necessarily happy to see or talk to you (phone). Don't forget too many security questions - including account number - which almost no one knows - including me! Really terrible customer service. Keep your money, do your homework and move it elsewhere and keep more of it!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By Nubz262 Jan 15, 2015

    Overdraft Fees Downright Criminal

    Being a customer for over 10+ i have had enough. Their overdraft policies have allowed my account to exeed -800$. I have tried over and over again to access my account online and via phone only to have customer service redirect me again and again. So when i first overdrafted i had no idea as i was able to keep using my card for sodas and snacks at my work. As well as automatic withdrawals from my insurance.

    I have registered my email and asked how hard is it to email me a notification the instant i overdrafted as i wasnt made aware until they sent a letter in the mail. I argued for hours that it didnt make any sense that they would allow me to get that negative. If i didnt have the money why did you keep allowing funds to be withdrawn?

    So after seeing that i basicly spent 37 dollars for a soda and calculating the total amount i spent they made over 600 dollars from their overdraft fees. I had no choice but too use their fresh start program. Which after being unemployed could no longer pay. So now when my unemployment comes in they take it all and leave me nothing. If their was an option to give them negative stars i would. No one should ever go to this bank and anyone who was a customer should picket outside their branches and point people the other way. This bank is pure evil.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mochamom Jul 22, 2014

    Check Hold Hell

    I've had issues with Guaranty Bank's check hold policies for several years now. I frequently find that different branches seem to follow different rules, and I've learned that the branch inside WalMart is much mire customer friendly than the other branch in West Bend, on Main Street.

    Several years ago, my husband and I withdrew a cashier's check from a credit union we have an account with. We brought it to the Main Street branch to deposit it. We were told that there would be a hold on the deposit, even though it was a cashier's check. What? As a former credit union manager, the idea that there would be a hold on a cashier's check was completely foreign to me. We went to the WalMart branch and explained the situation, and the teller explained that we could simply cash the check. Why this was not an option provided to us at the other branch, I'll never know.

    I have frequently, over the 10+ years I've banked with them, experienced inconsistent check hold policies. Sometimes I deposit a check and they put a hold on it, and sometimes they don't (and I'm talking about payroll type checks.) Often, one branch (Main Street) will place a hold on the deposit and WalMart will not. Very recently I deposited one of these checks (payroll) and the Main Street branch put a hold on it. Because I took some cash back from the check, a hold was placed on my account that exceeded the balance. A debit transaction came through when the hold was in place, and while it cleared, it generated a $37 overdraft fee. I went to the WalMart branch to find out why the hold was placed this time, when it wasn't when I deposited a check from the same company two weeks ago. The branch manager told me that as such a long time customer, I should be subject to these check holds at all, and that not all branches follow the same policies. I've learned my lesson and will exclusively use the WalMart branch from now on.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • JD
    Reviewed By Joe D. May 4, 2014

    Horrible Customer Service

    My wife and i have been banking there for 10+ years, and every time we go in there, the tellers are extremely rude and seem irritated to help the customer. We are planning on withdrawing all of our funds ($5,0000+) and going to a different bank. We are not rude to them, what gives them the right to be rude to us? Unprofessional doesn't even describe it. They act like "lil" ghetto" people.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • KF
    Reviewed By Keith F. Apr 12, 2014

    Utterly inept and. for now. effective account tampering and ODP, up for which I did not sign.

    This is truly a Mafia style operation where fair banking practices and customer complaints are not welcome. How many of us are out there, I wonder. I never had a problem with the bank until I called to inform them of two illegitimate charges. They instigated a two day investigation and pronounced the charges from Free Credit Score and Instant Checkmate -- two of the biggest scam artists online,to be valid.

    I called and talked to a very rude woman, I wish I'd written down her name, who was very adamant that I was lying and the charges would stand. She even referred to these bottom feeders as "merchants". Collusion-oh, obviously why else would they accept the validity of the charges without considering what a 3 year customer says unless they got a kickback. Every other bank with which I've dealt, without questioning, gave me a provisional credit and made the charge back permanent within a month. (eg. TCF,the manager of local West St. Paul branch was incredulous over the story I'm about to tell you. I see now how they were setting me up for the largest cashectomy that's I've ever experienced. Absolutely diabolical. To my astonishment, they would not issue me a new debit card. Of course, once a customer becomes a mark, as I can see now that I was so considered, everything falls into place. I should mention they sent a couple goons who wanted to meet and "work"with me.

    A lawyer advised against it. The security officers who played dumb iare Jack Talbot and Todd Richarson, Pres and VP of Security' Frightened, I withdrew $1400 from the bank, leaving enough to test their claim that when I was overdrawn, the card would simply be refused. Gotcha! The card finally was refused but only after I had gone over my existing funds. I counted the original scam, illegal charges as part of the money left into the account. When I went into collect my SSDI check, they presented me with a statement which read -$61.00. I immediately expressed my bewilderment and headed straight for the police.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dtyallen Feb 11, 2014

    Best Bank/Guaranty Bank is a predatory establishment that needs to be shut down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    My account was compromised by a dishonest collection agency and credit card company and when I complained to the Best Bank location, they would not blocked these unauthorized transactions. I was always put on hold, I left serveral messages with supervisors who did not call me back. Three months later they finally informed me about filing an affidavit which they rejected after I both faxed and had taken into the Best Bank at Krogers on 9 mile and Greenfield. They despite my affidavit and complaint turned me over to collections which was placed on my credit report. I am now going to sue Graranty Bank and the collection agency for liable and defamation of character in the Circuit Court in Pontiac Michigan for at least $10,000 dollars each.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Roxanne2 Jan 29, 2014

    Terrible Bank - Rediulous Overdraft Fees!

    Best Bank (Guaranty Bank) is ripping off consumers. I had an experience with them persons should not bank with this bank because after the royal running around when someone hacked their system, and ridiculous charges occurring on my Bank Statements. Besides, they held my direct deposit for days when it was sent to my Checking Account. Then when you deposit money at the ATM, it isnâ??t available to you right away until another 3 working days. If you asked someone (a relative) to deposit some money in your account, the teller issued to the person your overall balance and not a receipt of what the person put into your account. As a result, that person then becomes aware of how much money you have in your Checking.

    Further, I used my debit card at Kroger, and was in an overdraft of $2.00, so by the time I get home and check the online statement Best Bank put on a $37.00 overdraft fee. Then when I checked two days later, another $37.00 fee. So I called the bank, and after trying for a long time to get a customer representative. I told her that it was only $2.00, and that I cannot pay those ridiculous fees that the bank put ($37.00) on that $2.00 immediately. She said okay we will take it off. I said to her, I will be there in 5 days to put the account back into positive because I was ill at the time, and was caring for a sick child. She said that was okay. I finally visited the ATM before those days I then deposited $3.00 when I looked at the slip Best Bank (Guaranty Bank) put back on the $37.00 overdraft fees. Since then the bank refused to listen, placing you on hold, and redirecting calls for hours. Then send letters demanding a balance of $34.00, along with informing me that they reported me to ChexSystems, Inc (of which they are not a member), and then get a woman calling, harassing me from Professional Placement Service (Tel # 1-414-224-3580) when I Google their number the Review said they are Scammers, but these scammers have your social security number, and they are not even in the same state as I am

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • MW
    Reviewed By Matt W. Sep 10, 2013

    Overdraft fees and Account Tampering

    I have banked with this bank for close to 8 years now. Within the last year I have had nothing but issues with this bank.

    They charge overdraft/NSF fees even when funds are shown the account. They state (when you call) that there backend systems show it is negative. They are never able to send me this data or confirm it.

    This most recent time I was charged an NSF fee that set me over to $39, I rushed in and but money in the account to cover the fee. The teller told me that should put my account in the positive. The next morning my account was negative $108. And the data on my Transaction slip was different than the online banking, and it stated I got another fee 3 days before, which was not there yesterday. That is tampering with bank data, and it has to be illegal.

    I would not send my worst enemy to this bank. Please someone shut them down.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.