C MyBankTracker Rating

HSA Bank Customer Reviews

(30 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 3
1 Star 27

The Most Helpful HSA Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By veggivet Jan 17, 2015

Recent website redesign a total fail

I have been with HSA Bank for several years, and up until recently, have been satisfied with their platform. They allow transfers to TD Ameritrade, where I can purchase many Vanguard ETFs commission-free, and it was pretty straightforward to set up these transfers. When I logged in to transfer my 2015 contribution, I found the revamped website much more difficult to navigate than the previous version. I did finally figure out how to set up the transfer, but it took much longer than it should have.

Regarding their fees, as long as you keep a minimum of $5000 with them, you will not incur a monthly 'maintenance' fee. If you want to invest that amount, be prepared to cough up $27 over the course of the year for that privilege. Not unreasonable, in my opinion.

I had a question about a possible over-contribution for 2014, and I sent an email in early December. I received a response almost a month later, with an apology for the delay. I suspect that they are dealing with a larger than usual number of inquiries about the website redesign, and are totally in the weeds.

Since I only have to deal with them twice a year (once to make my contribution, and then once more to move those funds to TD Ameritrade) I will stay with them for the time being. If you anticipate interacting with their customer service department on a more frequent basis for problems with your debit card or payment issues, be forewarned you may be in for some frustrating experiences.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By LucyManning May 10, 2016

Bank is incompetent

I started the process in January this year to close my account which just had a balance of about $65. I sent them an email asking how to do so and was advised to complete the fax form and send it in.

I did that, 3 times! I attempted to contact them and got a complete run around and in the meantime they posted "service fees" for the account I was closing...outrageous.

I finally sent a letter via Fed Ex advising if they do not close the account and send me the balance I would refer the matter to the State's Attorney General. Lo and behold, I received a check within a week....but less $30 for those fees on a closed account.

I don't know whether they are crooks or incompetent -- either way, stay away, you'll be sorry.!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest HSA Bank Reviews

  •  
    R
    Reviewed By RDW Feb 15, 2017

    A Terrible Banking Experience

    I wonder who regulates this place. They are a disaster. Their links often don't work - the latest was for a tax document. I clicked the link and ..... nothing. It's not just a bad experience for us - look at the reviews on Glassdoor. Obviously, there are big problems at this place.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By AWinSF Jan 5, 2017

    Horrible, Antiquated

    They don't offer the ability to look at check images online, it took FOREVER to get a debit card, and even WORSE -- their checks weren't accepted at Walgreens!!!! Their checks were rejected by Walgreens check scanners.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    F
    Reviewed By fedupintexas Nov 15, 2016

    Fees, fees, FEES

    I'm a healthcare industry professional who used HSAbank for my Health Savings Account for more than two years.

    In those two years, I incurred monthly fees on the account and managed to lose money each year since savings accounts barely make any interest.

    This year during open enrollment for health benefits at my company, I decided to switch to a buy up PPO plan that had a higher monthly cost than my HSA plan. When I called the bank to close my account, they charged me a $25 closure fee. These HSA bank accounts are one of the biggest legal scams I've seen in the healthcare industry.

    There are so few banks that offer these types of accounts, that you are almost forced into banking with HSAbank. They seem to have a fee for everything--even ATM withdrawals to reimburse yourself for qualified healthcare expenses cost $4 per transaction.

    My advice to people trying to save money by having a high deductible heal plan with an HSA--don't do it. You won't save money versus a traditional health plan. You will just had more money to HSAbank, an institution that practically has a monopoly over this account type.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By jrogers1979 Oct 6, 2016

    Slow and inefficient service. Stay away!

    Every time I needed service from HSA Bank, the hold times were unacceptably long and they never followed through on their promises. The most interaction I had with them was when I closed my account. It took an astonishingly long 8 weeks for them to mail a $3,000 check to my new HSA provider (Fidelity, which provides great service!). I called 5 or 6 times to check on the status of my check and each time they said "it should be in the mail by the end of the week."

    Finally, after 8 weeks of waiting, the check went out the door, but not before deducting a $25 fee for closing the account. When I asked them about the $25 fee, they said "the fine print says we have 6-8 weeks to close an account so we're not going to refund your $25." Fair enough. The fine print rules. But this customer doesn't understand why it should take 8 weeks to issue a check in the year 2016. My goodness.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    E
    Reviewed By ejones Oct 4, 2016

    they don't know how math works

    If you use your debit card to pay for something, they sometimes hold back twice the amount charged leading to unexpected overdrafts. Example: if you have $300 in the account and charge $150 on your debit, then write a check for $50 there should be $100 left in the account, right? No, according to them, after you used your debit card you had $0 in the account meaning the check bounced and now you have to pay them $30 insufficient fund fee and $20 returned check fee to you doctor. you never know when they'll do this or how long it will take for a payment to clear. I don't have a lot of extra money to pad this account with to compensate for their special math.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By deadman Sep 5, 2016

    TERRIBLE HSA ACCOUNT HANDLING BANK

    My HSA account use to be with Chase and their card was accepted every where !! Now HSA Bank has my account and I have been going thru a HELLISH nightmare !!!! I have not been able to find a SINGLE merchant in my area that will accept their card. The SAME merchants I used with the Chase card. I have no job, I cant just keep paying for it out of pocket and then file for reimbursement - I HAVE NO JOB, NO INCOME, I NEED THIS CARD TO WORK !!. But all HSA Bank tells me is that ALL the merchants that I use to use with the Chase card, have now ALL gone over to some third party company to handle medical transactions and it is THESE third party companies denying my purchases. I never had a problem before with the merchants when I had the Chase card but now these same merchants are ALL now denying my purchases since I got the HSA Bank card. WHY !!!?? would our Federal Government let such a company handle such a medically important account . . . . ???? - STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK IF YOU CAN !!! They apparently dont care and do nothing as to finding out why THEIR cards dont work with the same merchants that the Chase cards did. Im talking about HIGHLY KNOWN merchants too; Walmart, Target, CVS, Walgreens, ALL of these merchants accepted the Chase card but NONE of them accept the HSA Bank card. HSA Bank might as well put a gun to my head and pull the trigger, that will solve my agonizing problem.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By ChicagoAlways Jun 22, 2016

    Terrible website, terrible record keeping esp if you came from Chase

    Transferred from Chase HSA and HSA Bank is terrible -has a pathetic website for record keeping. You cannot see checks you wrote, add notes re family member the payment was for or category of visit. Uploading does not allow matching.Not true online banking-you are transferring from your regular checking after paying through them. Do not eval a bank for your HSA just on investment opportunities- they should help you with the record keeping for the IRS and they have done the minimum work on this website possible. Will charge you $4.00 for a copy of a check you must produce. Will look to transfer to anybody with a better website than this. Phone staff clueless.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By kerbear Jun 6, 2016

    Difficulty transferring HSA Account

    My former employer used HSA Bank. After I left my employer, I decided to transfer this account over to a new HSA account at my current bank employer. The process was a nightmare. No one knew what was going on. My current employer contacted HSA Bank several times. I even spoke with a supervisor at HSA Bank that offered to expedite the transfer if I sent him the form directly. This made no sense to me, given that he works for HSA Bank and just needed to contact his Operations Department. It looks like they are currently in the process of expediting my request. I work in the industry and this is the absolute worst customer service I've experienced. I had 7 phone calls with HSA Bank for a total of 5-7 hours of my time to facilitate this. If I continue to have issues, I will be filing a report with the BBB and contacting the Attorney General.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jwansen May 11, 2016

    Beyond Terrible

    Customer service is non-existent, they take no responsibility for their errors:

    I recently contacted HSA Bank to dispute an over-charge on my HSA bank debt card. I specifically asked if this would effect the functionality of my debt card and was told that it would not, and that the card was still usable.

    They lied. Every time I tried to use it, it was "declined" but HSA insisted it was just a network "glitch", and I knew there was well over a (positive) balance of $2,000 so I continued to use the card trusting what HSA bank representatives told me.

    Big mistake. ALL of my subsequent charges were "declined" resulting in the non-processing of all of my medical tests; my follow up appointment with my Dr. was a total waste of time and even more money as no test results had been sent as a result of the "declined" charges.

    HSA bank has taken no responsibility whatsoever despite my contacting them on FIVE occasions. They offered to send me a replacement card, but told me it would take ONE WEEK as they wouldn't pay for expedited shipping!!!

    I've had to take a half-day off from work to call several different medical laboratories and health care providers to make alternative payment arrangements and re-schedule test and Dr. appointments.

    Edit: HSA bank contacted me while writing this review and arranged to ship me a replacement card in two days. A small gesture considering how much HSA Bank's gross incompetence has cost me.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By LucyManning May 10, 2016

    Bank is incompetent

    I started the process in January this year to close my account which just had a balance of about $65. I sent them an email asking how to do so and was advised to complete the fax form and send it in.

    I did that, 3 times! I attempted to contact them and got a complete run around and in the meantime they posted "service fees" for the account I was closing...outrageous.

    I finally sent a letter via Fed Ex advising if they do not close the account and send me the balance I would refer the matter to the State's Attorney General. Lo and behold, I received a check within a week....but less $30 for those fees on a closed account.

    I don't know whether they are crooks or incompetent -- either way, stay away, you'll be sorry.!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.