Profile | Reviews

HSBC Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, us.hsbc.com

83 Reviews
1 out of 5 stars

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By Frankw Oct 23, 2017

    You will lost a lot of money for the bank fee, very expensive,

    You will lost a lot of money for the bank fee, very expensive, don't open account with this HSBC, for the business account if you don't have 15000 USA Dollars in the bank, the bank will take 30 usa dollars by monthly fee, to close the account, you must pay 80 usa dollars, to return a wire, they charge 50 usa dollars and more, everything need pay, this is the most expensive bank in my life.

    Open my account just for 6 years with around 4200 usa dollars only for the bank fee.

    Poor bank, never open account again in the future.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By waseeq Oct 10, 2017

    Credit Card offer

    Horrible offers what they have promised did not obey within time frame. I have open credit card account with them 4 months ago, according to the terms and condition after 90 days or 3 statements they will give me credit but after 100 days I call the Manager of the Bank who open my account and keep saying that this will be in your account soon. Today he says he can not help and ask me to call customer services.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By hsbc_is_horrible Sep 28, 2017

    Is hsbc a good bank? Definitely not. Avoid.

    I'm an expat in EUROPE and i've been having countless issues with hsbc.
    - the online message systems is useless: they can't do shit. They can't make changes, you have to call.
    - in order to make any changes to your profile (even change your address) you have to phone in uk. Who's gonna reimbourse those charges?
    - they took 4 months to deliver my new debit card: for some reasons the parcel was lost and was untraceable. I had to ask a friend in Manchester to receive it and forward it to me using a courier.
    - they are changing their sort code and iban in october and they decided to comunicate the new information... by letter. Did i receive it ? Of course not. When it's happening? In October!
    - I won't get any email notification of the online messages! So i discovered only today that they are changing those informations.

    Shame. Shame. Shame.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Chewn Jun 19, 2017

    Utter crap.

    - One month to reply to anything online, including replies to the same issue. (by the time that reply comes, you've dealt with the problem already or completely forgotten what it was about)
    - customer service is painfully reliant on exactly how much money you have in the bank, even with a difference of about $10,000, not a different class like Premiere. This has happened more than 5 times, to be consistent.
    - 30 business days foreign check holding policy (I hear due to past caught red-handed money laundering practices, another reason not to use them)
    - In Canada, you can't deposit any checks online. (don't know any other big bank here who doesn't by now...)
    - Minimum balance for a basic chequing account $5000.
    - will create issues out of thin air (interest was deducted from my account with money in it and no minimum balance), I think they're trying to chase me off since I'm clearly trying to move to another bank? At least let me transition smoothly...
    - Takes a week to update online balance at times, which may mess up your calculations in moving money between accounts -> leading to them service charging you for any errors.

    Conclusion: Don't use them. Waste of time, money and energy. Supposedly they're still alive because of rich elder clients overseas with no knowledge of how crappy they are. Unfortunately they'll survive and screw people for a good few years before bankrupting and maybe desperately a bit more before they die.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By miss_missy Jun 19, 2017

    Run away

    The customer service is awful. Long wait times, poor communication and lots of run around in trying to get to the bottom of any issues characterize banking with HSBC. And there will be a lot of issues. There seems to be a lot of security problems. However, you will not likely be alerted to these until you are declined at the check out counter. And have I mentioned the long wait times? Ugh.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Janeo Jun 5, 2017

    So Disgusted

    I'm so disgusted. On May 10th my Aunt and I sat in the lobby of HSBC - 89th Street branch for over 2 hours adding me to her account so I may pay her bills. It is one month later and I still don't have the new checks or an ATM card that we ordered. Then to make matters worse, you cannot call the branch directly, you need to call the 1800 number and explain to India what happened, when, all over again to hear that they have to call the branch to verify me! What happened during the 2 hours of my becoming a Joint Account Holder and getting the ATM card and new checks mailed so I can pay her bills? So after another 60 minutes of verifying and being put on hold, I'm writing this while on hold again to order the checks, because as you guessed, they weren't ordered while I sat TWO hours in the bank.........My next step is to move my Aunts accounts down the street to a real bank pronto.........

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By ChinaDavid Apr 21, 2017

    Not a bank but a criminal conspiracy

    What all of you folks are forgetting is that HSBC, like any other too-big-to-fail and too-big-to-jail outfit, don't give a monkey's butt about you. They are there masquerading as a bank in order to carry on their illegal international operations. THAT'S where the money is, not handling piddly little consumer accounts like ours.

    In view of the large number of ethical and legal violations committed by HSBC in the recent past, such as laundering money for Mexican drug cartels, violation of Iran sanctions, moving money for an al-Qaida linked Saudi bank, LIBOR manipulation, and assisting drug cartels in buying planes through Cayman Island accounts, is it really any wonder that you get lousy service from this gang of crooks? If you're a criminal with millions on account with them, you have no worries, you will ALWAYS be taken care of. The rest of you can eat cake.

    I'm a U.S. citizen living in China with an HSBC business account in Hong Kong. I'm small potatoes, not a big customer at all, and they make next to no money off of me. Which is why they feel justified in harassing me constantly for copies of this, certified copies of that, whatever paper they think they need at any given time that proves that I'm not some international jewel thief. Now they are asking for certified copies of EVERYTHING that was used to open the account 6 years ago. This is for my protection you see, to protect me from "financial crime risk". Thanks, I appreciate you're working so hard to protect me, but really, there's no need. I'll happily close the account when I'm in Hong Kong next week.

    The latest bunch of circus hoops I had to jump through was FATCA compliance documentation. For over a year, I provided the documents they required, over and over again. After about 5 times of fighting with them and arguing with them (they never could tell me EXACTLY what it was they wanted from me that I wasn't already giving to them) I finally had to engage the services of my accountant to deal with the matter. AMAZING! After a 10 minute phone conversation between him and the FATCA compliance department (the very same people I had hand delivered the documents to), there was no problem any longer! I only had to pay the accountant HK$1,500 for this! Thanks HSBC!

    In short folks, stick to your local community bank. International monstrosities such as HSBC don't want you, don't care about you, and will try to squeeze you dry before throwing you away.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Koryo Feb 27, 2017

    HSBC has my money and won't return it

    I have an account in France with HSBC that was opened when I worked for a French company. After losing my job with the French company, I have tried for many years to get my money out of the bank in Paris. I have filled out forms and sent them registered mail to an individual who was supposed to help me. I have opened an account in the USA in order to try and transfer the funds to that account. All efforts have failed and soon the money will be transferred to the French government. This has become a nightmare....

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By SophiaTaiwan Dec 31, 2016

    horrible

    They don't care new customer and discriminated non US citizen. I visited this office yesterday, and want to open a new account. They asked me that are you US citizen? I answer "no". I have GC. And then, they asked me to come back after two hours. Very bad customer service.
    They don't care small customer. They care big guy.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By kmc Oct 18, 2016

    HSBC USA has got to be the joke of the HSBC global community!

    I am a premier member of HSBC and have accounts with them in several countries. HSBC USA has got to be the worst of all the HSBC banks that I have worked with globally. I find their product offerings quite uncompetitive, their staff generally incompetent, and if you ever have to call into their online/internet banking, I am so sorry to you. Their processes are bureaucratic, tedious and does not add value in terms of security, or cost effectiveness (on the contrary). Try getting a mortgage from them - it's like they are so afraid of giving one to you, but yet, want to sell you one! A thousand boxes to check through, but at the end of the day, no new information obtained! Try talking to them about investments - all they have are standard mutual funds with high overheads that do not perform well. As for their market research, subjective, but I am not sure I would put a lot of weight on them.

    Incompetence is bad enough but recently my credit and debit cards were frauded, and instead of helping their customer, they decided for some strange reason to drag their feet on resolving the case. Multiple conversations with them led nowhere with rude and incompetent Fraud staff. At one point, they were implying I frauded my own cards, despite multiple police reports provided to them!

    The only thing that got them to work on the case was an escalation to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, and bringing to their attention that they are not in compliance with the EFT Act, section 205. Only by involving the CFPB (the bureau responsible for overseeing the compliance to the Dodd-Frank Act, of which the EFTA is part of), would they behave. This is very poor manner for a consumer bank to behave, and is indicative of and sadly, typical of, how HSBC USA behaves.

    In reviewing the comments here on the board, it looks like very few customers come here to praise them - I am certainly not (although to be fair, I am still a fan of their overseas branches). That HSBC USA is poorly run I guess is an agreed upon statement here, pretty much. The key takeaway though, for my rant here, is, if you are stuck at some point with them, and the personnel are being ridiculous, find the appropriate agency to escalate the issue to. I am almost sure they are not in compliance with something, (due to incompetence or otherwise) and the only way for them to toe the line and work with us poor consumers is to have the relevant agency sit on them a bit.

    Unfortunate, but time for HSBC USA to wake up. Best of luck for those that are still slogging through working with HSBC USA!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.