B MyBankTracker Rating

Homestreet Bank Customer Reviews

(7 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 0
1 Star 6

The Most Helpful Homestreet Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By krbock May 30, 2014

Best Service Ever -- By Far.

We recently closed on a home loan with Homestreet Bank (out of San Diego) and could not be happier. Our Loan Officer, Mary Hancock, was without a doubt the absolute best person we have ever worked with during many, many years of home buying throughout the US. She was always available with fast, friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely professional responses - whether we contacted her via phone, email, or text.

Mary worked very hard to get all our documents in order, processed, and approved so that we could close in less than 3 weeks (amazingly fast â?? at least for this area). Even after closing and the loan fully funded, Mary followed up to say â??Congratulationsâ?? and to ensure we were satisfied and also to see if there was anything she could do for us. If only all account executives were this friendly and professionalâ?¦
Our hats off to Mary and Homestreet Bank â?? thank you very much for all youâ??ve done for us.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By ladawnarae Sep 8, 2016

99th ST in Vancouver WA is Horrible!

Our service from Home Street Bank has been terrible! Shannon in Vancouver WA is horrible and I would not recommend her to anyone, did not listen to our wants and needs even after repeatedly telling her it was not what we asked for. Asked to be switched and the manager jerked us around even more and they have completely ruined our entire home loan.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Homestreet Bank Reviews

  • L
    Reviewed By ladawnarae Sep 8, 2016

    99th ST in Vancouver WA is Horrible!

    Our service from Home Street Bank has been terrible! Shannon in Vancouver WA is horrible and I would not recommend her to anyone, did not listen to our wants and needs even after repeatedly telling her it was not what we asked for. Asked to be switched and the manager jerked us around even more and they have completely ruined our entire home loan.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By daniellespokane Apr 22, 2016

    Do NOT get a home loan through HomeStreet!

    (If this looks familiar, I've posted this a few places so that someone will read this and think twice about going with them!) I refinanced my home through HomeStreet when percentages were really low a few years ago. The initial lender I worked with was very friendly. However, after a year with them, every few months or so, they choose to add a late fee. Despite the fact that I pay with ample time AND they pull my money out from my bank account days before it's due, they claim they don't receive my payment until after the due date.

    When I call to try to get it worked out, customer service is terrible. I'm sent in circles and blamed. Even when I send them proof from my bank statement it's met with, well, this is still your fault or your banks fault because they must be pulling your money out early before we receive it (how does my bank know I've made a payment until they receive the appropriate OK from the receiver!?) but it's definitely not our fault. When I bring up the fact that what they're doing is illegal, they wave it for me at this point. Here's the catch. It's still not taken off the record. I have a history that shows late payments they have waved through the grace of themselves. That means, when it happens again, I get to talk to a person on the phone about my history of late payments and the fact that I'm wrong.

    It's frustrating to me because I take my payments very seriously. I was proud when I bought my house. I've owned my home 10 years, 3 have been with HomeStreet. Needless to say, I have only had this problem when I switched over to them, never with my other loan. I'm not in the wrong because sometimes they have nearly a week to process my loan and pull it out of my account upon receiving it and the money is pulled prior to the due date. They don't offer me any solutions about what could be going on other than, pay earlier. I've done that to no avail. And frankly, what they are doing IS ILLEGAL and there is little the person on the other end can do other than spend hours on the phone with them hoping something gets worked out. DO NOT get a home loan with them! It has been a real headache.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By starfish Sep 27, 2015

    Review

    I thought the Clackamas Branch is horrible. I work with Beverly Liesy. She never answer her phone and return my phone called. Her Main communication is through email. I submitted the requested documents to Beverly, but a weeks down the road HomeStreet Bank requested the same documents. I do not know if my loan officer submit my documents to the bank or not. Beverly already told the appraiser to appraised my house, but two months down the road she still wants us to provide document of a student loan which is belong to my daughter. I email to her saying that we can't provide her that because the loan is not in our names. It is my daughter's loan and she is not a co-applicant with the refinancing. Three weeks later HomeStreet Bank send the same letter requesting the same loan to us.

    My daughter wrote a letter to Beverly and HomeStreet Bank stating that they have no right to request her student loan information. She is not a co-applicant to this refinancing. Seems like the loan officer and the bank is not communicating. To make this story short, Beverly Liesy and HomeStreet Bank did not send a denial letter or anything to us stating that the bank deny or approve our loan. We have not heard anything from them since July 2015. Stay away from Beverly Liesy in Clackamas, Oregon and HomeStreet Bank in Vancouver, WA. They are the worst loan officer and banker that I deal with in the past. Stay away from them!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mulescent Oct 1, 2014

    Sold My Mortgage.

    I wanted my mortgage to be with a local company, so i went with homestreet over other (cheaper) lenders. Two years in they've sold my loan to another company. Now i'm locked in a long-term financial relationship with a bank in virginia with a history of abusive mortgage servicing practices! I've never had a more disappointing interaction with a bank and most certainly will not do business with homestreet ever again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By thorny432 Aug 20, 2014

    Took >4 months to close on a house!

    We had an absolutely horrible time at the Salem Branch. The person we worked with never returned our calls promptly, ignored emails, and failed to follow through on deadlines and promises. We ended up taking more than 4 months to close! And that was with us pushing and prodding every other day. Even going to the manager did not help. The other branches may be fine, but ours was a nightmare to work with. Stay away from at all costs!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By krbock May 30, 2014

    Best Service Ever -- By Far.

    We recently closed on a home loan with Homestreet Bank (out of San Diego) and could not be happier. Our Loan Officer, Mary Hancock, was without a doubt the absolute best person we have ever worked with during many, many years of home buying throughout the US. She was always available with fast, friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely professional responses - whether we contacted her via phone, email, or text.

    Mary worked very hard to get all our documents in order, processed, and approved so that we could close in less than 3 weeks (amazingly fast â?? at least for this area). Even after closing and the loan fully funded, Mary followed up to say â??Congratulationsâ?? and to ensure we were satisfied and also to see if there was anything she could do for us. If only all account executives were this friendly and professionalâ?¦
    Our hats off to Mary and Homestreet Bank â?? thank you very much for all youâ??ve done for us.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • RB
    Reviewed By Rob B. Mar 31, 2014

    Deceptive Lender (they're as "local" as Exxon)

    Homestreet Bank is not the "local" hometown bank they proport themselves to be. As a matter of fact, the family that once owned Homestreet was forced out during the recession - only to be bought out by vulture capitalists. Homestreet Bank engaged in deceptive lending and knowingly ignored contracts to avoid keeping loans on its book that otherwise would have lowered its true value as it then went public.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.