B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Huntington Customer Reviews

(177 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 15
4 Star 0
3 Star 4
2 Star 12
1 Star 146

The Most Helpful Huntington Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Tom R. Aug 15, 2015

Positive Experience

On Friday, August 14, 2015, I accompanied my granddaughter to apply for a loan. It was near closing but Denise Helman took the time process the loan application. To make things even better, Jenny came over and introduced herself. She is the branch manager and this only added to an already very pleasant experience. If this customer appreciation is an example of what to expect when a potential customer makes a visit, then I may be tempted to start a banking relationship with Huntington at this branch location.

Tom R.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By BryceSchaffer Feb 22, 2014

Now I'm suing them

its a tough one but I've definitely got some dirt on them now! lorain county court of common pleas. case no. 13cv181571. I'm about to start a class action and could use all the people they've hurt pertaining to overdraft fees, inaccurate account balances and defective checks. my info is on the docket. please send me a letter and i'll respond by mail or phone if you provide.

sincerely,
Bryce Schaffer

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Huntington Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By Dawnwojo Nov 30, 2016

    Refinance

    The experience my husband and I have had with Hunting Bank in an attempt to refinance our home has been by far the WORST experience either of us have ever experienced. The lack of communication, accountability and follow up for a financial institution this large is alarming. We closed our savings account and checking account last week. We will now be shopping other banks as well to move our mortgage. My husband and I have a business and work with several different banks. A portion of our personal banking was done through Huntington. I would caution anyone who is considering a banking relationship with this bank to run the other way as fast as you can.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By papplegate60 Nov 21, 2016

    Very poor customer service.

    I received a fraud alert text from Huntington Bank. I checked my checking account balance and discover that $414.97 is missing, $250.16 at Meijer store and $164.82 at Walmart.com.. I called Huntington Bank customer service and was put on hold for 35 minutes, while the recording tells me my call is important and someone will be with me soon over and over again. Very frustrating. After 35 minutes of being on hold it hangs up on me. I recalled and was put on hold for 10 minutes before I was hung up on again. On my third call, I finally get an agent. He spoke very poor English and I couldn't understand him. I asked him what country he is in and he hangs up on me. The fourth call the system malfunctioned and hangs up on me again. The fourth call took about 15 minutes. On my fifth call, after about 15 minutes of being on hold, I finally am connected to an agent. I spent over an hour waiting on hold! No excuse for the wait, the lies they tell you about how important your call is and that you will get an agent soon, and the agent who hung up on me. Huntington offers free checking, but beware. You get what you pay for. Nothing.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mach1man Nov 19, 2016

    SNEAKY SNOBBY

    Some dormant accounts sat with low balance and was hit with not one per month statement fee but a quarterly statement with 3 fees. Also, had a temporarily depressed credit score from wife's issues. Fixed our debt, Voice credit card had cut my limit back to 500 dollars. I got new cards with other banks and got more reasonable limits. Credit score improved substantially. Requested to get off their "probation" of their measly 500 limit. They declined. I laughed. I informed them of my net worth and that I would keep their card in the cupboard with a 0.01 cent credit balance and let them spend 1 dollar a month expense mailing me statements for years. I WILL BE CLOSING MY BANK ACCOUNTS and hanging on to my Voice card for laughs. Also was told my card was on security watch for being used at my local Walmart. Gee, that seems so odd to be suspicious of a normal transaction 4 miles from my house. I have had it with this bank and their credit card affiliates.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Rolfzenfam Nov 18, 2016

    Terrible customer service

    I will never reach out for an auto loan or any loan with them. They do not work well with gap insurance and are very rude to try and accommodate any needs that I needed met. They messed up losing a check and would not take the fault and own up to there responsibilities. If I were you I would not bank here they rob you for everything you have!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By fu2 Oct 27, 2016

    Worst service I have ever recieved

    Called in to verify the validity of a check. Not that it would clear, just that it was not fraudulent.
    The first rep I spoke with didn't even let me finish talking before transferring me to the automated line. RUDE. I input the requested info and the system told me it was having trouble and transferred me back to the customer service line. OK. I waited nearly an HOUR to have the rep try to rudely transfer me back yet again, at which point I had to sternly say "Wait!" and explain what was going on. Then told was told the automated system was the only way. REALLY?!?!?!
    I further explained that there was worry of the check in question being fraudulent and that I understood that you all may not be able to verify the account number for security reasons but the routing number should be no problem. Again got nothing but attitude and asked to speak to a supervisor. I was told that it was not possible and that they would not be able to help me anyway. I asked for the supervisor again. Same response. "This is no longer about the check but the customer service." Again, attitude and nothing about the transfer, just hold music. The supervisor was not much better when she finally came on. Asked to speak with her manager. Same argument. This is ridiculous. I can get this information off any check I was just verifying. I get that you are protecting yourselves and your customers but this policy in no way harms anyone! if the big banks, like Wells, can give out this information why can't you?!?! Additionally, why bother calling the customer service number if you are treated like another number and in this way?

    Don't bother dealing with a bank like this; they only look out for themselves in the long run and will screw you over before you can even form the "o" in "one." They won't be around long at this rate.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By Gus1012 Oct 27, 2016

    Do not accept offer on home from this bank!!!!!!!

    I buy renovate and resell homes. I've sold 28 homes and never had a experience like this. Loan officer said buyer was golden, putting 20,000 down on 72,000 loan. Conventional loan. Normally 30 day close in this area. With that much down have had done in three weeks. Day 45 loan officer says buyer needs co signer???? Buyer gets co signer father with 800 credit score,paid off house, good job, paid off credit card. Then after day 60 they say they can't use the co signer because he doesn't have 3 lines of credit. So they want him to have more credit cards or owe money??? WTF. I have never heard of such a thing in my life and I've dealt with over 20 banks in the past. Then they say maybe we can use his payments on utilities. So they turn everything in on day 65. Underwriters say we will know by tomorrow if it will go through. Now on day 70 no responses from bank. Put 1500 in electrical to please buyers,taxes, insurance,house payment,utilities,lawn care,extra 40 hours my life. My money lost because they don't know what the f they are doing. Will never in a million years deal with this bank again. Columbus office.......

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cl21221 Oct 27, 2016

    Activate your cards please...

    Well this bank sent me a new card. I try to use this new card at an ATM, no luck. Family dollar, no luck. No luck anywhere. I had also tried to use my old card, which also doesn't work, which makes sense because they sent me a new card. Apparently there is a time limit to card activation. Essentially if you do not activate your card within this (undisclosed, yep. they deactivated my card without telling me) time period, they disable it, denying you access to your hard-earned cash. Keep in mind, they did not email me, call, text, or display any warning of this happening on the website or their mobile app. They did display that all old cards will be getting shut down, but said NOTHING about them shutting your new card down if some arbitrary time limit is not met. This is unethical and as a result I am taking my business elsewhere. Be careful.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dmorey48 Oct 26, 2016

    Tennessee Avenue Charleston WV branch

    Everything at this branch is great. I also deal with the main branch here and everything is wonderful. Actually every branch I have ever had the privilege to deal with is great.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By NTGOG Sep 26, 2016

    Denied

    They denied me due to a bankruptcy 7 years ago if they would have read my report I still have good credit and have not missed a payment in 30+ years even up to the day and after my bankruptcy became final and with my income I will just save a my money for 5 months and buy the 20K camper I want there loss.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By GLPrime Sep 22, 2016

    Explain withdrawal

    I'm usually satisfied with my neighborhood Huntington bank but today made me feel uncomfortable. The teller asked me why I wanted my checking account withdrawal funds in ten dollar bills. I told him why but I was not happy needing to explain. Not at all.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.