B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Huntington Customer Reviews

(212 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 17
4 Star 0
3 Star 5
2 Star 14
1 Star 176

The Most Helpful Huntington Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Tom R. Aug 15, 2015

Positive Experience

On Friday, August 14, 2015, I accompanied my granddaughter to apply for a loan. It was near closing but Denise Helman took the time process the loan application. To make things even better, Jenny came over and introduced herself. She is the branch manager and this only added to an already very pleasant experience. If this customer appreciation is an example of what to expect when a potential customer makes a visit, then I may be tempted to start a banking relationship with Huntington at this branch location.

Tom R.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By BryceSchaffer Feb 22, 2014

Now I'm suing them

its a tough one but I've definitely got some dirt on them now! lorain county court of common pleas. case no. 13cv181571. I'm about to start a class action and could use all the people they've hurt pertaining to overdraft fees, inaccurate account balances and defective checks. my info is on the docket. please send me a letter and i'll respond by mail or phone if you provide.

sincerely,
Bryce Schaffer

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Huntington Reviews

  •  
    T
    Reviewed By Thegiftfairy59 May 17, 2017

    Go to any other bank

    I opened an account online transfered over 1100.00 dollars. I received my debit card and could not activate it. I called they said my account would be closing due to a charge off with the bank. My credit report shows nothing. This bank srewed me out of several hundre before with oerdarft fees. But I have always rectified my account. Was not with them 3 years tried them again and this. I have no access to my money I even tried to transfer it out into my other bank and hunington won't release it. I will be seeking an attorney over this. Do yourself a favor go antwhere else.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    G
    Reviewed By Golfsara May 11, 2017

    Holding $10k of my money

    Day 32 of huntington not returning my $10k that they "accidentally" took from my account! I had a auto loan with this company and they took $10k out of my account after I paid my loan off and received the title! Yesterday I was told the funds would be overnighted! No surprise today they still have not sent my money!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By kburk May 8, 2017

    Not off to a good start.

    I started banking here to get a free gift of $150 for making a deposit of over $1000. I had just moved so the only proof of address I had was a lease contract. They were very nice when I went to set up the account. Made sure they offered everything I may need, loans, credit card, etc. I wrote a check from another bank account for a thousand dollars that day (a Friday) expecting it to be available that Monday or Tuesday. When I look it says there's a hold. I call and ask why. To ensure there is no fraud is the response. The money will definitely be available the NEXT Monday ( a week and a half after deposit). The money is already out of my other bank account so Huntington has the money. When I tell them this they say "yes we have it but we haven't placed it in your account to make sure there's no fraud." Called that Monday when it was still not available. Now I'm told it will be released that day but not available until Tuesday. So I've been without a thousand dollars for a week and a half.
    However, they have given me the promotional $150, so they had recognized my deposit but not made it available. The most annoying part of this is my banker kept telling me how transparent Huntington was and there are no hidden fees, everything is disclosed up front, etc. Then she doesn't even tell me there would be a hold on my account.
    I could not use this $150 though because they sent my debit card to the landlord's address on the lease contract when it says very clearly shows my name and address under the Lessee.
    Lastly, found out later they spelled my name wrong on my account (c instead of an r). The banker took my ID and had scanned it and still put it wrong in the system. Now I have to take time off work to go into the bank for them to change it.
    Customer service has given the typical "I'm sorry; that's frustrating" but has not done anything about it. Huntington seems to be all words and no action.
    Haven't even been with Huntington for a full 2 weeks, but it's not off to a good start for sure.
    Very well may only be with them for a couple months and will be continuing to look for a bank that is actually helpful.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By pinkybeans325 May 8, 2017

    Poor Handling of a Forged Check

    I log onto my account online daily. I noticed a check for $260 had been cashed from my checking account. The check had obviously been manufactured, listed my former name, and was made out to a company outside the country. None of these red flags were caught by Huntington. After I had alerted them to the problem, an investigation was opened. One representative told me that the investigation would last 45 days. Another representative told me 4 business days. Nobody seemed to know when the money would be credited back to my account, nor did anyone ever contact me for information or to let me know the status of the investigation. I called several times to inquire, and was told that if I wanted to conduct my own personal investigation, any results I discovered would be welcome. Unbelievable. After a week, the money was back in my account, the investigation was closed, and nobody could figure out how or why this had occurred. Why on earth would anyone continue to bank here when the same thing will most likely happen again?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By coronate May 3, 2017

    Difficulty with accessing funds after First Merit merger; poor customer support

    Since the merger with First Merit, I have spent hours on the phone with Huntington Bank's customer service trying to sort out access to my accounts. I've experienced it all--disconnections, getting transferred to multiple departments by people who claimed they couldn't help me, conflicting information, outright rudeness, and occasionally someone with a good attitude and information. Usually, however, when I hang up, I want to cry out of frustration.

    In summary, my negative review is based on a persistent lack of clarity and communication about the merger and access to my accounts. Somehow, I've ended up with credit cards that I didn't want to open, limitations on access to my checking account, and confusion with transferring between accounts. No one can give me a straight answer. Huntington's separate departments make it impossible to find someone to help you when your issue spans multiple types of accounts, or involves transferring funds. I don't think about my banking/accounts as different departments that parallel their structure. I wish they would rethink their customer service approach to reflect how people actually view and access their money.

    Regarding communication, when you call in for customer service, I recommend you write down the name of the person you're speaking to, and get a callback number and case number every single time. There is no email address to contact with your questions. If you find someone who can't help you, you'll most likely get "transferred," but ultimately disconnected. They will not follow up with you when this happens. Be persistent and try to be patient. Unfortunately, the burden of customer service is placed on you--the client--and not the company.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By TiredOfBeingUsed May 2, 2017

    Huntington Lost My Business Records

    I started my business in 1999 and opened an account with First Merit. I kept my personal, and business accounts with Huntington when they took over. I was recently ask by my local branch manager for some information relating to my business. It start out as, "just need to update the information", then it turned into, we need you to provide all of your business records, licenses, state and federal numbers, articles of incorporation, officers, etc..., or Huntington is going to freeze your account in 9 days. Huntington "LOST" all of my corporate records, and are now "not" compliant with federal record keeping law, and want me to spend my time run around gathering records to bail them out. I'm more than mad. I'll turn this over to my corporate attorney.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By sledhead800 May 1, 2017

    horrible follow up/processes - go elsewhere

    Where do I begin? After obtaining my auto loan from Huntington and receiving the welcome mail, I immediately called them to set up auto-pay from my bank. I provided the huntington rep my bank tracking number, account number, etc. Was told I was good to go. Imagine my shock when I received a message on my phone stating I was past due on my payment. Got the call at 8:50, ten minutes before they closed for the night. Called them right back in a panic and got the "Call us back tomorrow" message and that they were closed. Called them the next morning and told them they had to be mistaken. At that point I was told that they sent me additional paperwork that needed to be filled out. Never got it. Verified my address with them. This is a locked mail box so no way anyone stole my mail. Told me they would re-send the paperwork. I told them I'd pay for the payment right now and while we are are it, lets pay next months as well since I wasn't getting warm fuzzies. Sorry...we need your routing number and account number..Debit/credit card is no good. Uh.....I JUST GAVE you that info! fast forward a week. Just got 2 letters in the mail today stating my payment was past due AND they did not have my insurance information even though I gave that at the dealership who is a very reputable dealer AND 2 weeks after that when I got a letter asking for proof of insurance a second time. Avoid these people at ALL costs. The ONLY reason I went with them was because no other bank wanted to touch my loan due to it being a VERY small loan of 5K against a 35K vehicle with the only intent was to boost my kids credit score....no money in it for them. RUN...do not walk from this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Melissa9496 Apr 26, 2017

    Title

    I can't even give any of the 12 different banks and the 17 customer service reps that I spoke to a 1 star. Lied to 4 times telling me they sent my car title to me, twice that they sent my car title to the car lot that I bought the vehicle from 4 years ago. ( I paid the car loan off in November, still have the car and did not trade it) was told I'm being unprofessional because I'm upset that not one of the 17 people I have spoken to since January has helped me. Worst bank and everyone that I have had a conversation with regarding this needs some customer service courses and need to learn how to do their job

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    F
    Reviewed By Firstpoet Apr 25, 2017

    We're just doing our "weekend thing" - Logged On and All My Bill Pay Info Was Gone - I was blamed for the problem.

    So Huntington Bank does NOT CARE about it's customers. Today (Sunday) I logged on to schedule bills to be paid and no "Payees" are listed, nor are any of my prior scheduled bills listed. When I called they stated "we are doing our normal 'weekend thing' and that's what most our customers are doing". It's 7 a.m. EST so I don't think they intended to have the Bill-Pay all messed up but would not admit to a problem but rather put it on the CUSTOMER (me) as I should be "doing the weekend thing" versus trying to pay my bills on my bank account on Sunday morning. They are truly deserving of losing a million customers over that overt, hugely non-customer centered approach. I am starting to dislike the bank tremendously.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By amy7147 Apr 25, 2017

    Transfer from First Merit to Huntington

    I have been banking with Citizens/First Merit and now Huntington for over 43 years. The minute they switched to Huntington I have had nothing but trouble! I should have known the minute that I saw that all of the previous First Merit employees, some of which I have been dealing with for over 15 years were gone. The customer service is awful. I have been working with the "bank manager" for over a month to get a problem resolved and it has been a nightmare. She does not follow up and does not return calls. I have had to pull out of line and leave the drive up window twice now because of the wait, and just today I tried to call my branch three times and no one answered the phone!! I am not looking forward to the hassle of switching banks but I can see now that I am going to have to.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.