B MyBankTracker Rating

Liberty Bank Customer Reviews

(7 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 0
1 Star 6

The Most Helpful Liberty Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By mike m. Mar 31, 2013

Excellent "Home town style" bank

Used to have Webster. They chased me away with their evil corporate greed attitude and lack of concern for their customers. I was referred to Liberty by not one, but several people. So here I am, a happy Liberty Bank customer. I would recommend this bank to anyone who still wants "personal service" that you cannot find anymore at any other banks.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By UnhappyCamper75 Mar 29, 2016

Simply awful

Constant downtime. The app does't work. My ATM card doesn't work. This happens once or twice a month. Never had a single problem with Naugatuck Valley Savings and Loan, over 10 years and not a single blip. Then Liberty Bank bought them and it's been non stop headaches. Customer service is no help, all I get is "Whoops we're working on it". I'd be better off putting my money under my mattress.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Liberty Bank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By Melanie101 Jun 28, 2016

    ABSOLUTE WORST!!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!

    My partner and are first home buyers in Victoria. We went through a mortgage broker who recommended Liberty to us as my partner only had his business running for 1.5 years and needed a total of two years to qualify for a lower interest rate so basically we were put on a 7.40% interest rate ($3,000 a month in repayments) until his business reached 2 years. (Paid $42,000 for deposit and settlement fees + another $16,000 for Mortgage Insurance) We have now had a loan with liberty for 6 months which has reached the required 2 years and we were ASSURED from both our broker and Liberty from the BEGINNING that we could then simply change our interest rate then. (Note: we both have jobs and both have good credit before and after loan application) THIS IS NOT THE CASE! I have spoken to several people at Liberty and they've continuously told us lies in order to try and make it IMPOSSIBLE for us to change our interest rate, one of them being that we need to stay with them for 12 months before you can change interest rates, which is not true!! It's 6 months minimum and with good credit, which we have! So once they were confronted, they then came up with another lie saying that we still can't do it because our borrowing amount is over 80% and that they don't have any kind of interest rates for that amount! ANOTHER LIEEE!!! I told them that they SPECIFICALLY do have a lower interest rate for for a borrowing amount of 80% and over for 4.84% currently advertised on their WEBSITE, the guy then went quiet for a few seconds and then told us that if we want to go ahead and change it that we have to REFINANCE with them (MEANING having to pay for the same fees and mortgage insurance AGAIN!!!) We are now forced to find a new bank to refinance with because we don't want to deal with liberty ever again!!! They are a bunch of scammers and will try to do their absolute best to keep you locked into the highest interest rate possible!!. Buying your first home should have been one of the most exiting things in life! But unfortunately Liberty has made it a very bad experience for us!!! I wouldn't recommend these scamming morons to anyone! If only i read the reviews prior to going with them!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By Elly Apr 20, 2016

    Extremely worst customer service

    Overal employees are extremely rude, condensending, talk down to you and stare you down like you don't belong there. I don't get it! If there was a rating for 0 that's what I would give them , they don't even deserve a 1 star. So sad I actually liked this bank but now I am sure more then ever that I am going to go to a different bank company. As far as for the employee Debra thank you for talking down to me like I am an idiot. Every time I go there this is how I get treated and honestly as a the CUSTOMER I should be getting treated better then this. But it is what it is you can expect class from trash.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By UnhappyCamper75 Mar 29, 2016

    Simply awful

    Constant downtime. The app does't work. My ATM card doesn't work. This happens once or twice a month. Never had a single problem with Naugatuck Valley Savings and Loan, over 10 years and not a single blip. Then Liberty Bank bought them and it's been non stop headaches. Customer service is no help, all I get is "Whoops we're working on it". I'd be better off putting my money under my mattress.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • Q
    Reviewed By qiwen+cui Oct 18, 2013

    very bad experience with liberty bank in middlefield, connecticut.

    they keep holding a check($224000) I deposited on 10/08/2013 without letting me know why it was holding that long. I called them 10 days after, the lady picked up the phone with very bad attitude says I didn't deposit correctly. This is fine but they really should notify me. She hand up on me when I said they really should contact the client. I'm very upset with this experience and I had to call back to ask what I should do to get my money back.. turn out me and my husband has to go to the branch to make sure we are the right person. We both work full time from 8 to 5, the bank opens from 9 to 4, so we have to take half day off to get this resolved. I believe there is a better way to identify a person with current technology like other big banks. Liberty is really so behind and the customer service is so bad!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By saleem330 Aug 20, 2013

    Extremely Bad

    I recently moved from canada to wallingford ct as a new immigrant and started good job here. On the recommendation of one of my colleagues i went to liberty bank to open my account, while staying with my cousin in hamden. First time i was told to bring some mail delivered to my address to have address varification. Next time i went with a personal letter received from my friend but i was not entertained saying that there should be home lease document or utility bills, i told him that i am temporarily staying here and i am in search of a house, then the person told me to get a letter from your employer confirming your residential address. After few days having received the letter from hr manager of my employer, i went to the bank again. Unfortunately the same person was off today. The lady told me that she can't accept this letter but have to bring the utility bill or come again when the person consulted will be in. I was so frustrated that i snatched my documents from the lady and left the bank. Now i will never ever interact with liberty bank again, rather will discourage others too.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • MM
    Reviewed By mike m. Mar 31, 2013

    Excellent "Home town style" bank

    Used to have Webster. They chased me away with their evil corporate greed attitude and lack of concern for their customers. I was referred to Liberty by not one, but several people. So here I am, a happy Liberty Bank customer. I would recommend this bank to anyone who still wants "personal service" that you cannot find anymore at any other banks.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Miranda Oct 11, 2012

    Terrible Bank

    They held an electronic fund deposit up for 4 days. Transfers had never taken longer than 24 hours. This caused 4 items to post but there were no funds. They charged 30.00 for each item paid plus a 5.00 negative balance fee. I am on a fixed income. I now have to barrow money to pay my trash and feed my dogs. Apparently, this is common practice with them

    They ,make everything as difficult as possible. Need to report unauthorized charges? Want to stop them from approving all debit card purchases? Need checks? Need your statement because there's never showed up? Fine. You can have it all but only if you go into the bank. This is a rural state, they are an hour away and I am disabled. They don't care. This is my last month of their terrible, shady service. The 3rd of next month my direct deposit is going to another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.