C+ MyBankTracker Rating

M&T Bank Customer Reviews

(156 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 11
4 Star 3
3 Star 2
2 Star 8
1 Star 132

The Most Helpful M&T Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By skotova Jul 28, 2015

Customer Service

Just a quick note about your employee Joan ... She was just fantastic in helping w/our account access and is very knowledgeable.. friendly .. and helpful.. One of your better employees..

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By swboyink Jan 8, 2014

Skank Of America Sold My Mortgage To M T Bank. Terrible Customer Service!

First off i have a $20 fee added to my account which my bank says is from a bad check fee, to which i always had auto draft with bofa. No explanation for this, was actually told to call bank of america to sort it out. Originally setup auto draft with mtbank, then they took two payments for one month, over drafting my account of which other bills began even more over drafting and the $25 fee for each transaction. Customers service said they would refund the payment but in form of paper check and i would have to send in my bank account statement for them to review whether i get reimbursement for the overdraft fees. They can take money out instantly but can't put it right back. Some bank! I hate that i had no choice to inheret such a handicapped mortgage provider. Ever notice that the name sounds like "empty bank"?

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest M&T Bank Reviews

  •  
    S
    Reviewed By Swilkerson May 20, 2017

    I Can see Why Your Ratings Are So Low

    SOMMERVILLE ROAD BRANCH, ANNAPOLIS, AFRICAN AMERICAN TELLER - SHAME ON YOU:

    I get to the bank on a Saturday afternoon just before closing time to get cash/change. No one else in the bank, I've been waiting 3-4 minutes, the teller answers a phone call, makes me wait another 2 minutes, then informs me that she cannot give me change, she already promised it to the phone caller she just spoke to. Uh, what?! I'm here, waiting patiently to be helped, you decide the caller is more important?! Really? Two other bankers were present, they all seemed to think that was okay. Terrible service -- bad service doesn't just affect one person, the ripple effect is very real. I will tell everyone I know not to bank there. Shame on you!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By WorstbankMandT Mar 22, 2017

    Shittiest bank out there! They steal your money!!

    M&T Bank is by far the absolute WORST bank, ESPECIALLY the one in Harrison, NY! The employees and manager there are inept, uneducated, and always act like they can't be bothered. Their customer service is horrible!! They don't give two fucks about their customers, they are only interested in their paycheck. They steal your money and MAKE MISTAKES!!!!! DO NOT GO TO THIS BANK!!! IT'S FRAUD! They didn't even shovel their own walk way when it snowed, shame on them! I went to the bank for a simple transaction of transferring funds and the lady at the desk fucked up and deposited it into the wrong account due to her ineffectiveness and shitty customer service or lack thereof. She didn't explain anything to me nor did she confirm the account with me. She asked me to confirm the account number AFTER she deposited into the WRONG account, smart right?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By Davew30 Mar 20, 2017

    They took back my HSA card!!

    I am an employee at M&T. I chose to open an HSA card during open enrollment. I received the card and started using it. I received a letter from M&T stating that the card was issued in error and I have to pay back what I used (there is an employer contribution for the HSA card - $800.00). The HR rep told me that since I did not chose an HSA card last year and the year before, that I probably did not select the HSA card for this year! I even have screenshots of my elections during open enrollment that show I selected an HSA card. Unbelievable!! How can they just reach out and take it back. I feel like I was robbed (and I was). I am still trying to get the card back. Still trying to communicate with HR but no reply yet. I am really mad!! If you had/have the same thing happen to you, please contact me at Davew30@Juno.com. What a way to take their money back.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    F
    Reviewed By FDIC Mar 4, 2017

    M & T Bank. "Be careful"

    They smile to your face but they are not good people. All banks are really the people who develop the policies and on a daily basis institute those policies on their customers. I'm one of those customers where the bank rules became a personal vendetta against me. Why? Because I spoke up and complained. I asked a VP at a local branch "Did I do anything wrong? Did I violate a bank rule or purposely circumvent any bank established procedure?" The answer was No with a BUT. The but was that I'm a low income customer and I pissed someone off because I spoke up. Once I spoke up my debit card was turned off and when my monthly auto deposit from the US Federal retirement system arrived in to my account it was held in a "Pending" status for over a week. This did not allow me access any of my funds. During that week I complained daily until I was told that if I would agree to shut down my account and stop complaining to the US government that the bank was being vindictive they would remove the pending status of the deposit thus releasing the funds which would allow me to buy food. They could not shut my account down because I was not in violation of any rule or bank policy. I had told my contact at the retirement payment center that information also and the VP at the bank new that I had and I guess was concerned that they didn't want any further government review of this situation. So if I elected to close my account and shut up I could get the funds released.
    This is an elitist institution that decides who they can disregard and screw with and I believe it's based primarily on the amount of money you deposit. "But" I also believe there are other parameters being implemented at this bank and it may involve race, color and how wealthy you may or may not be. Someone should check into this financial institution that our government through the FDIC protects because they are discriminatory and downright nasty. So Be Careful.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By Rsmcguirk1234567 Feb 8, 2017

    Awful customer service could cost you

    My car loan:. Never sent first bill, setting me up for late charges, the first rep on the phone said it's there policy not to send first month bill to customers bc the loan hasn't been generated yet. Lol. Impossible. And illegal if it were true. The rep was awful, would not confirm information, playing games, and had absolutely no idea what she was talking about. So I hung up, called back, got a different rep and we were able to settle my first payment easily. So, this bank is not dependable, if you carry a loan with them, don't wait to be billed, figure out your payment due date, get a physical mailing address and take it upon yourself to send the bill each month. Remember, as a loan holder, you have everything to lose and them everything to gain on not sending bills to you and late fees. And if you get a rep o. The phone that is difficult, nasty or moronic, hang up and call back. Keep doing this until you get someone on the phone that actually cares to help you. Organizations with employees like this are shady. After you send in a bill, snail mail if that's what you use, call them two days later to make sure it actually posts. Yes, they are this bad. Finally, my account number is issued by them but their automated phone service won't recognized it. If these people make it so hard to pay them, soon they will catch you on crazy penalties and late fees. And would I ever set up an automated payment with M&T, like give them access to my bank account? LOLOLOL. Think of the damage they could do. If you can avoid this bank, you really should.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By Strongwolf Jan 30, 2017

    Very satisfied

    I'm very happy with this bank . It's convenient because there are branches near by.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By Tyboogie28 Jan 6, 2017

    The worst bank experience ever!!!

    December 23, 2016 I went to cash two checks one was my paycheck and the other was a child support check I was told I couldn't cash them unless I had the amount on the checks in my account to cover them mind you I've cashed checks at other m@t banks before with no problem I ask to speak with the manager she tells me the same thing i never had a bank where I had an account tell me they couldn't cash my check I am switching banks immediately I suggest you do the same.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Aconpag1x Dec 30, 2016

    Wish I had come here before I started my mortgage process

    I have been working with a rep from the mortgage division in round lake NY and it's exactly what everyone is saying. They never return emails, calls or respond to anything. I have been given a closing g date twice now and all of a sudden they need more documents. Now my interest rate is about to expire and the Feds have raised interest rates so I'm guessing it's being done on purpose so they can get me for a higher rate.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By Soupy12828 Dec 14, 2016

    Rude

    Called main branch yesterday,the person I talked to was very rude and no help.Looking for a new bank today......

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By thefarrelledge Nov 30, 2016

    Great service!!

    Every time we have questions about our business account, the staff at the Brighton branch are extremely helpful and courteous. We've been with the bank for over 5 years now, and never have had a problem with anythibng.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.