C+ MyBankTracker Rating

New York Community Bank Customer Reviews

(37 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 2
1 Star 35

The Most Helpful New York Community Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By James R. May 14, 2013

Many errors in online banking

Many unacceptable errors by AmtrustDirect of New York Community Bank.

1. Bank accepted my order for an ACH deposit transfer, then executed it before the date we scheduled, subjecting me to a NSF fee taken by the sending bank.

2. Bank accepted my order for an ACH deposit transfer, then it disappeared from the pending transaction queue without its execution or any explanation.

3. Bank accepted my nomination of a bill pay payee and my direction to make a payment. Then the scheduled payment disappeared from the pending transaction queue before execution without any explanation, subjecting me to a large late payment fee. All the details about my payee also disappeared from my online account without any explanation.

4. Bank enrolled me in a transfer service I did not want or order and started taking fees for it from my account.

5. Bank changed the WWW domain for online account access without any notice to me.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By tedliggett Apr 12, 2016

Completely disgusted!!

Two months ago I deposited almost One Million Dollars in a 12 month CD at this branch and also opened a checking account. In addition, I had my Mother in law open an account and she deposited over $360,000 in a CD. We were both new customers to the bank. I stopped in the branch today and wanted to cash a $4.40 cent check that was made out to my daughter and was signed by her on the back. The bank REFUSED to cash the check. I will never do business with Ohio Savings or NYCB in the future!! They are completely out of their minds!!

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest New York Community Bank Reviews

  •  
    C
    Reviewed By CHICO Feb 16, 2017

    Poor Communication and trained staff deplorable

    After many years of banking at this NYCB, they finally questioned a check that for years was deposited and now decided that the name was not spelled correctly and denied the check. It was announced over the PA drive up window.
    Trying to contact by email any of the executives is impossible. All you can do is email customer service, which I find unacceptable. The response I was given was unacceptable..........
    Moving all my banking elsewhere, good riddence

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mynycb Feb 7, 2017

    They are awful, I am done my business with them in rest of my life

    We had mortgage account with them, but not any more. My husband was the only person on this mortgage, but I am the person writing checks to pay all the bills. Every time when I called them for an issue (online account password, mortgage statement (never received statement from them), only three months of statements available for viewing online, etc.), they would ask my husband to be present. My husband had given verbal consent to them many many times that he authorized his wife to talk them regarding any issue with this mortgage account. They had notes on this in their system. They knew it was always me calling them on this mortgage account, but they always said they would not talk anything with me on this account, it had to be my husband.

    Last month I called them together with my husband to ask payoff quota and sent a check through our credit union checking account. The amount on the check was a few hundred more than the pay off quota. A few days later, I called them to ask if they received the pay off payment, again I was asked to let my husband join the call even he was at a job conference. Then we were told the money had been received, but the payoff payment has to be a certified check and has to be paid to a different address according to their policy, but no one told us when we asked pay off amount last time. The check was sent directly from our credit union checking account, it had to be a certified check and they received the money and the check had been cleared. We were still told it would take extra time for them to verify the payoff was a certified check before they can issue refund check from the escrow account. A couple weeks later, we received a letter from them saying the pay off check was about one hundred short. From the balance summary in the letter, we found out they put more than four hundred dollars into the escrow account. I called to ask why, again they asked me to get my husband into the call, they said they would investigate and called us back in two days, but they never did. Five days later today, I called back, the person again asked where my husband was, he said we knew you called many times, but we need talk to your husband, it was happened my husband was on a conference call for his work, he had a few more minutes to finish up his conference call. They cannot wait and cut me off, when we finally called back in again, all we were told is the mortgage already been paid off. I was totally pissed off, they are not doing their business in a professional way, I am done my business with them. I am just very surprised their business even still exist today.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    V
    Reviewed By vgasper Dec 13, 2016

    New York Community Bank - Untrustworthy Online Banking

    Ohio Savings Bank used to be a great bank. Great service, wonderful people, and a good solid online experience then it was taken over by New York Community Bank. The people at the local branch are still great and provide good service but the online experience has gone downhill and has proven it cannot be trusted.

    1. The online bill pay feature doesn't work half the time. Scheduled payments have disappeared from the que and bills have incurred late fees because the payment was never made.
    2. I paid a bill online and NYCB actually mailed the payment to ME instead of the proper vendor.
    3. Bills paid through the online bill pay feature are not deducted from the available balance until the check is actually cashed. So, until the recipient of your check cashes that check, it looks like you still have all that money. What bank does this??!!
    4. Upcoming bills are shown under "Scheduled Bills" but you have to click on it to actually see which bills are scheduled. They don't even show up as a "pending transaction."
    5. I made an external transfer. I initiated a withdrawal from NYCB from another institution and the other institution made the money available within 2 days. Two days later NYCB doesn't show any withdrawal or pending transactions. It looks like that money is still in my NYCB account. How can the money be in 2 places at once??!! IT CAN'T!! This is an egregiously sneaky tactic to rip off their own customers. SHAME ON YOU NYCB!!!

    NYCB's online banking site sets you up to incur NSF charges because there is no "available balance" reflected online. It only shows a "balance." Schedule bills and pending payments are not deducted from that balance until they are completed and finalized. There's no way to tell if a bill you payed online has even been mailed out because it only shows it as being "scheduled" until the check is actually cashed. How are you suppose to know how much money you really have when NYCB operates like this? NYCB even causes you to incur late fees because they don't mail your online bill payment promptly - or at all (and probably erase it from que to cover up the mistake).

    I no longer trust NYCB with my money. If you want a true and accurate balance of your NYCB account and know for sure your bills have been paid, you have to keep a manual checkbook and pay your bills yourself. And if you have to do that, what's the point of using their online banking at all?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Justinswinea1989 Nov 25, 2016

    Unethical, racist, and thieves.

    We are having a dispute with our bank about our banking app not clarifying that it was deducting money from out of the account and not money being put back into our account. My fiance and I use a website called upwork to pay out to artist for working on our comic book. Whenever the initial amount posted on upwork wasn't totally paid out than they are supposed to refund (upwork) the remaining balance to our card. We were telling them this is where the confusion lies and we would pay what we overdrafted but didnt feel we should have to pay the three overdraft fees. Finally, we left it alone and when the money comes back into our account from upwork.com we plan to close community bank. But then another problem presents itself because last night when we tried to use our debit card. We realized the banks froze our accounts so when we addressed the bank clerks they said it was because of the issue we started. We are very upset because we are now starting to believe it's because of our skin color. Mind you we paid back all the fees they asked us to.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By sofrustrated Jul 6, 2016

    Discovered everyone is as upset here as I am!

    This bank has the worst online system possible. After 2 years of miserable experiences I decided to check out reviews to see if others were having the same experience as my family members and me. Turns out everyone gives this bank 1 star. I get shut out every time I try to log in! I complained all the way to the top manager and all he did was apologize. No excuses. Nothing he could do. It was a shocking situation. Now I know I'm not alone!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By Bogs May 13, 2016

    Worst Bank ever

    If you have complaints against this bank or other financial instituions, file a complaint at the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau which regulates these type of instituions. The Federal regulator is the FDIC. Be educated and fight againt these bank practices that take advantag of consumers.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By tedliggett Apr 12, 2016

    Completely disgusted!!

    Two months ago I deposited almost One Million Dollars in a 12 month CD at this branch and also opened a checking account. In addition, I had my Mother in law open an account and she deposited over $360,000 in a CD. We were both new customers to the bank. I stopped in the branch today and wanted to cash a $4.40 cent check that was made out to my daughter and was signed by her on the back. The bank REFUSED to cash the check. I will never do business with Ohio Savings or NYCB in the future!! They are completely out of their minds!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By Roberto Jan 29, 2016

    Privacy practices are lacking

    During a mortgage refinance process, I was sent multiple documents with private information via email in an unprotected PDF. When I reported the issue to NYCB, their reply was basically "don't worry we have software to protect your data". I responded that I doubted how that was possible on a technical (smtp) basis and I would like an explanation. The agent and manager I talked to had just repeatedly insisted the emails were protected. But they were unable to answer the most basic of technical questions. When I asked for a privacy officer or technical support, I was ignored.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By Choirgirl Jan 8, 2016

    I'm fed up, stressed and I want to SCREAM!!!

    All I want to do is check my balance before I pay a bill. Their system locked me out. Attempts to reset password are awful even though I answer all security questions accurately -all 20 freaking questions!!! Then, the system made me press 1-2-1-3.... Yada yada then wait then listen to repetitious information for an hour and press 1-2-1-2 Yada yada yada. I'm outdone. Their system is a joke! I want cry because I'm so stressed out. I'm just thankful that I'm not stranded on the side of the road and need a password reset from Nycb to access my funds or whatever.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By customer_77 Jan 7, 2016

    Ridiculous treatment of captive customers

    The website roll-out, customer service, and company employee attitude that I have dealt with are absurd. My mortgage was sold to this institution so I am stuck -- can't believe how painful it is to work with this company. I have in the past and currently pay mortgages to 7 different companies. Few hiccups do occur in accessing tax records, getting billpay right, escrow maintenance, forgotten passwords, etc,etc... all easily resolved at other places.

    With MYNYCB, it is a struggle to simple log in and pay. I have considered incurring refinance fees just to move my loan somewhere else.

    The good news is that waiting 90 minutes in line at the Department of Motor Vehicles next to screaming toddlers just to transfer a title seems more reasonable now that I have banking with NYCB to compare it to.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.