Profile | Reviews

Santander Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, santanderbank.com

251 Reviews
1 out of 5 stars

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By jimboc Feb 18, 2018

    main st n andover ma

    In my 50+ years banking at Santander or its 4 prior banks I have NEVER been treated
    as dismissively as 2/17/18.

    Mr. Brian O'Halloran is a disgrace to his profession...whatever THAT is.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By RentalCare Jan 8, 2018

    Inflexible Cheque Payment Facility

    We recently opened a business bank account, which went smoothly.

    I recently paid a supplier by cheque. Santander bounced the cheque without allowing me the opportunity to pay-in funds to cover it on the day it was presented. It was instantly declined.

    Other banks we use for business allow us to pay-in funds to cover cheque (& Other) payments on the day.

    Clearly they have an out-dated and inflexible cheque payment facility.

    Not Recommended compared to others.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By cshanks Jan 8, 2018

    Do yourself a favour and Never open an account here.

    If i could give this company no stars they would get it. They are the most useless bank that I have ever been apart of. They lost 200 when transferring into an isa and on the day that i am to deposit money for a deposit on the house they have delayed the cheque that I have paid into the account. So i have no funds to transfer the balance. If you are considering banking with these idiots. Don't. Save your money as no doubt they will either steal it or find another way to abuse money out of you.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Remain_anon Jan 2, 2018

    My overall experience/ how they handle fraud issues( last paragraph)

    As a customer, I was with this bank for 10 years back when it was still sovereign. Didnt really have issues. Once it became Santander, thats when everything started going downhill for me. One day I noticed my account go in the red from my check card and I asked myself how did this happen ? I called them up and I explained that my card should have been decline. Their response was sir, you never had overdraft protection. I was speechless because I knew I did. I explained that I did and they fixed it in their system. Next issue I ran into was when my parents moved to a new house so I had to do a change of address. I called up the bank to do it at the time since I didnt really have my online banking set up plus I needed a new debit card. I started getting asked weird questions that I was never asked like what is the loan on my house? I explained I had no loan and lived with my parents and requested a new card. When I got my new card in, I had to go purchase some clothing. When I did I used my card and noticed it was declined. I knew I had money in my account, so I looked and noticed the card had my first name and it had my last name but the middle initial was different on the card. I was wondering what was going on. I requested yet another new card. About a day or two later I got a letter in from the bank with what I thought was my bank information opened it up and noticed hat the statement couldnt have been mine because I did not have the amount of money that was in the account. This have personal information I should not have been given, I looked at the name and there I saw my first name and my last name but the middle initial was different. I didnt know what to do I didnt know what to say, I was not in a situation like this before and didnt know what to do so I called them up and explained what happened and all I heard was thats ok just throw it away. it made me wonder if that person got my Personal information as well. To me this was a red Flag but had no idea what to do.

    What recently happened to me was my PayPal got hacked and whoever it was, kept trying to do 1000 transfers to my PayPal account to make purchases. Which is fraud. This bank did not mention to me that this was happening. Instead I get an automated message to give them a call. When I did call the number it said I was 800 in the red and had to pay a amount by a certain day. I looked at my statements and saw this was happening for 12 days. The bank kept preventing the purchases but kept charging me 35 overdraft and 35 failed fee for failing and the recent transfer attempt was for 2 $300 transfers. When I first called them up about this I get told that I need to take this up with PayPal. So I called PayPal they were able to confirm it wasnt me and hey were nice enough to give a letter for me to prove it wasnt me. So I get a call back to the bank and got the issues straightened out but I had to go to a branch bank to confirm so I wrote the numbers I was given and give them to the manager. When I got to the bank I explained to the manager what happened and gave the numbers and the letter from PayPal and in an ignorant voice said what am I supposed to do with this? So that started out pleasantly. After I explained again the first response is well PayPal is a safe site so we dont pick up on this seriously? It doesnt matter if its safe or not people can still get hacked. She also had the nerve to say that Im preapproved for a credit card and asked if I wanted one. So she sent me on my way and said to expect a phone call when its done. The only phone call I got was an automated message asking for money again. I looked and saw the refunds of what they owed me and that I got a 35 charge for being in the red for so many days the. My one bill getting charged when my account was suppose to be frozen. So Im leaving them and hope no one has fraud because clearly this bank wants to take what you have as well as a bonus and give bogus reasons to shield themselves. I wont recommend this to anyone and I dont feel my account is secure with them.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Veratlu Dec 27, 2017

    The worst bank ever! No kidding!

    This bank is the worst bank ever! Would not recommend it to anyone! Its takes a while for them to post your deposits, but they are experts at charging the $25.00 fee for every single transactions that they payed, because you did not have enough funds there!!! Can you imagine being charged $25.00 for a purchase of $3.25??? Wont refund you ether!!! They will tell you that its your fault that you did not have funds there!!! They charged me like close to $500.00 in fees this year and were very kind to refund $25.00!!!!!! Would not recommend this bank to anyone, no matter how well it presents itself!!!!!!!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By westvillage Nov 22, 2017

    So bad it must be a scam

    Bogus excuses for not following up on my report of fraud. Multiple times a day, I get notices from one credit-granting institution of another because of fraudulent use of my gmail address to apply for credit all over the UK and the US. All the credit-granters, save for Santander, have thanked me for the alert and in most cases, have stopped the process. A few times it was too late, which impacted my credit rating (too many requests for credit and boom! Down a notch, then another and another). Santander demanded, for instance, that I make a call from NYC to the UK at my expense to put my case to someone there. Why in heaven's name would I do that? Not my responsibility to do their job. Also, given the willful stupidity of their responses, what hope is there than a phone call would be any more useful than email. They are flat-out terrible. If I could give zero stars, I would.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By KLCOOK Nov 18, 2017

    ABSOLUTE WORST BANK I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH

    It won't let me give them ZERO stars.

    I have banked with SANTANDER for a number of years. I recently changed my home equity loan so the payment would come directly from my account at another bank to be paid at least 2 days prior to the due date. The funds came out of my other account two days before the due date but were not credited on the SANTANDER loan until 5 days later. As a result I was charged an insufficient funds fee, etc. etc. I decided after the second month of this that I had had enough and I would pay off the home equity loan. I had the funds, went to a branch and asked for the payoff. I was given the amount, wrote the check and thought I was done with this horrible bank. Not so. A few days later I received a letter saying I still owed on the home equity loan. I called for a explanation. Their explanation was that a payment was reversed on the loan after I made my payment. However, the payment that they applied to my account was the exact amount the check I gave them minus the amount they were now saying I owed.

    All this after being flat out lied to by the two branch managers I spoke with. I finally went and paid the amount they said owed simply to be done with this horrible bank and their extremely rude and incompetent employees.

    Final insult... when I went to pay off the loan to be done with them and I had already expressed how dissatisfied I was with the bank, the manager had the audacity to offer me another loan!

    All I can say is if you bank with this bank be sure and check everything extremely carefully. Money can come directly from one account at that bank to be applied to a loan and it will float around in their system for up to five days before it is actually applied to the loan. How is this even legal?

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By markrob68 Nov 4, 2017

    THE WORSE EXPERIENCE I'VE EVER HAD WITH A LOAN OFFICER

    Don't know where to begin except to say I warned my buyer about the loan officer Wilfred Edwards of Santander bank and even sent her the negative review posted on this site and she still went on and hired him to process or loan application. From the beginning the communication was horrible. There were numerous errors and mistakes made by him and what I find the most reprehensible is that he does not take responsibility for his mistakes but continued to blame the customer. We were scheduled to close on October 18, 2017 and we didn't close until November 3rd! Had my client given her notice to her landlord she would have been out on the street for two weeks like the last reviewer. Wilfred gave the buyer two different pre-qualification letters to buy a home. After our offer was submitted and we were at the purchase and sale stage a week before closing he changes the affordable CRA loan program that we were in into an FHA mortgage triggering all kinds of problems. (he neglected to vet the buyers savings to insure that the funds were seasoned. rookie mistake) FIRST we had to have the home re-inspected a second time by an FHA Appraiser. Seller had to then put up a fence. SECOND because it's an FHA mortgage my buyer couldn't use the gift funds given to her by a relative and we had to back out thousands of dollars from the seller broker and write new checks to the broker. THIRD the closing disclosure given to buyer was way off and buyer had to pay a substantial amount more at closing! Even though we have been emailed since the summer, The CD disclosure didn't get sent via email because the underwriter had the wrong email address delaying our closing even more. (Rookie mistake). Title company he used didn't get the closing package until very late so our closing was delayed by one hour . They wanted the buyer to go to the bank and get a cashiers check to pay the closing costs until I convinced them to let my buyer use a personal check because of their delays. Lastly at the closing table no one even had a commission check for my brokerage! I had to email everyone involved then they say of we have to write a check for your company. Had I not did that I would not have gotten paid for all my hard work driving from Boston to Lakeville fixing their mistakes. I forgot to mention that after all the problems and two week delay in in closing once we received our second commitment letter from this loan officer he then calls the customer and puts pressure on her to get insurance within 3 days. I personally drove her to the insurance company and got it done in one hour. RUN FROM THIS LOAN OFFICER. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH HIM. YOU WILL REGRET IT AND THERE WILL BE PROBLEMS WITH YOUR LOAN. He is unapologetic, unsympathetic and shows no empathy. He is also a POOR COMMUNICATOR. I had to call his manager to keep him on track and it still didn't work. Please note that I've done most of my business at Santander Bank with another loan officer with no problems so it's not a knock against the bank. When issues came up the loan officer let me know ahead of time and as a TEAM we solved the problem not blame the buyer and keep the agent out of the loop. This is the first negative review I've ever posted online but I feel that it's my duty to warn buyers and agents so that they won't experience the horrific service we received.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By UseALocalBank Oct 26, 2017

    Rude and dishonest

    Manager in this branch is VERY rude. Some of Santander's banking practices are dishonest, deceptive and illegal. Bottom feeders.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By eeny Oct 20, 2017

    Worst customer service I have ever experienced

    I have a consumer auto loan through Santander that I recently paid off. Even before I paid it off, I had trouble reaching customer service by phone, and I couldn't understand the two people I spoke with due to extremely heavy Caribbean accents.

    After I paid off the loan, I wanted to find out the status of the payoff and title. The robot phone menu asked for account number or social security, yet it didn't recognize either of these as belonging to an account holder, so it simply sent me back to the beginning of the menu tree and repeatedly asking for the same information. I finally hit the option to apply for a new loan and the phone was answered right away. As soon as the person found out what my question was, she hung up on me instead of transferring or offering to help.

    Summary is, if you are applying for a loan you can expect prompt and polite service. Once you have signed the paperwork they care absolutely nothing about you and make it so difficult to contact them it is virtually impossible. They do not answer email messages, either. There is a contact form on the website, but I have sent at least three inquiries and never receive a human response.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.