B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Santander Bank Customer Reviews

(207 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 13
4 Star 5
3 Star 3
2 Star 19
1 Star 167

The Most Helpful Santander Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

Best Experience With A Bank So Far!

I've only had my accounts for about six months. Two people had worked on opening them for me. I had been lucky enough to get in on the Extra 20 Checking and 20K requirement for the Premier Checking which came with some delightful perks of its own. There were only a couple of days left to take advantage of the offers. They worked together as a team, and got me the best deals possible, even making terrific suggestions to protect my savings from fraud.

One of the initial employees made a mistake, and neglected to link the Extra 20 Checking to the Extra 20 Savings account, which was quickly corrected upon my asking about the issue with a third employee. The funds I was supposed to be receiving from the bank appeared in the proper account the next day.

Every time I ask about anything, even one recent unusual request, I am cheerfully accommodated. I would recommend anyone in my area running - to open an account there!

I find it interesting that a lot of the negative reviews I have read are given to the bank so far over human error and electronic system issues, or that reviewer's own errors and/or laziness, like you can reset a ATM PIN at the machine immediately, as long as you didn't lose your card. Their charges for international service are clearly displayed online. Every business you go to has new and uneducated employees; and the laws these days that govern banking means a new or old manager practically needs to be an attorney.

Maybe we consumers need to educate ourselves as well.

I recently had a very bad experience with HSBC bank, which probably would have NEVER been resolved locally. It was like those employees just couldn't be asked, and were blatantly lying to me about the most simple of issues - like telling me they couldn't help me to even make an appointment to speak to someone that could help me, since they couldn't and no one was ever available that could speak to me AND help me.

I finally called their 800 number, they contacted the branch, and all my issues were resolved that day. It is very tempting to buzz on over and give HSBC a scathing review but I wont. I don't think its fair to admonish that entire corporation over the failings of one branch.

I would suggest with questions on any bank or issue, look at the bank's website, and/or call their 800 numbers if you find their local employees cant help you sufficiently.

So far, I LOVE Santander!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By gocreditunion Nov 7, 2013

Is it any coincidence that "Satan" can be spelled from the name of this bank?

I am a business customer of Santander USA. I was recently locked out of my account for reasons I couldn't understand, for days. Not simple to resolve since there is no 'log in help' button that gives you instantaneous options for resetting your password. You have to call Business Customer Service within business hours. Over the course of three days, I placed 9 phone calls, made one branch visit and spent 4 hours of my time over a password reset issue. In the 9 calls, I would often be cut off--calling the business number I'd end up in the personal banking number due to 'overflow' and then would be cut off in the transfer back. Twice when I got through, I was promised that I would be sent emails that would allow me to reset. The emails never arrived-nor were they in 'spam'. On a third contact the customer service person admitted they had not been able to get emails through over multiple email clients, had major problems since a website update, and that my log in problem was a technical issue on their end that had nothing to do with my log in attempts. He then promised me a 'special' email that would reflect his escalation of my problem to the tech sector. Again, jack sprat arrived.

I should add that I am generally polite patient and understanding and it is a rare experience for me to alienate customer service staff. However, I lost it on the third day/fourth live contact when once again I was promised an email and denied contact with a supervisor after I explained I had been down that road before and needed resolution now. I told the rep I considered this to be a material breach of my bank contract since I did not have reasonable access to my money. Those are the magic words: material breach! Magically an email allowing me to reset my password appeared 10 minutes later.

It is a password reset people. Not rocket science. I will be changing my bank at the first opportunity.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Santander Bank Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By davedant Oct 18, 2016

    Do not bank with Santander if you want online banking

    Quite simply do not bank with this bank if you want online banking which allows you to do online banking. Essentially they have an overactive fraud detection system which will locks you out every time you make an irregular payment or payment to a new payee. To get yourself unlocked for online banking you have to visit a branch. So essentially they are a branch-based bank regardless of what they might like to pretend. I ended up paying my VAT bill by cheque which says it all really.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Steveng Oct 13, 2016

    Bad bank

    They are really shifty bad they dont give a shit about the customer at all they just u money that all . Srew them

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DArias Oct 4, 2016

    Deducted Money from my Account even though they declined the charge

    It amazes me that went I went to use my debot card and it was denied even though I had money in there, the funds were still removed, not once but twice. When you call, the representatives nor the supervisors are of any help. Now I have to wait up to 4 days to get my money back. What a joke. I have had enough of this bank. I am taking all my money out and going elsewhere. I am tired of this stupidity.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By chatz Oct 3, 2016

    Inaccessible Bank

    When the UK exits the common market send Santander back to Spain, good riddance to the jokers.
    C/S don't have a clue about the layout and details of the poor online system they operate to reset memorable data. Only at the end it informs you have to wait 4 to 6 days for post to arrive. So you can't access your bank, completely locked out.

    Time to contact the ombudsman, we have taken multiple screen images from the website to prove our case.
    Time to switch well over due, especially looking at the bad reviews.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By SantanderSucks1 Sep 30, 2016

    Stay Away from Santander!

    This company does nothing to protect their loyal customers.
    In the end treat you like a criminal
    1. On 9/12/2016 my wife's credit was ran by a branch Santander in Cranston, RI without her permission.
    2. 9/12 a charge for $2.91 was made at a MacDonald's in Cranston, RI
    2. Her online account that was hacked after 7+ years of inactivity. Her passwords were reset. Her ATM PIN was reset.
    3. 9/13 $9000.00 was transferred from our savings account to checking. This was "not an issue because it is within their bank."
    4. 9/13 3X$800.00 was withdrawn from a branch ATM with a fake card. Cranston, RI
    5. 9/14 3X$800.00 was withdrawn from a branch ATM with a fake card. Cranston, RI
    6. 9/14 $1215.80 Money Order at the USPS in Providence, RI
    7. 9/14 $4950.00 Internal Transfer to another Santander Account Cranston, RI
    8. 9/14 $3500.00 Internal Transfer to another Santander Account Cranston, RI
    How does this not raise a single red flag?
    Then we are never called back by the investigator or anyone other then the branch manager.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dangerh33 Sep 23, 2016

    1 star - Only because negative stars isn't possible.

    From the branch, to the corporate office, to the different customer service dens, I have never in my life experience a more disconnected company. We had a commercial line of credit that initiated with Sovereign Bank and somehow became a commercial loan when the transfer of companies happened. No two people at Santander could explain it to us, give us an accurate number or give me ANY piece of information that was consistent from one phone call to another. This went on for years. Not weeks or months. The only reason we HAD to keep the accounts open was because they claimed we had an outstanding balance.

    I am simply amazed that a company of this scope is still in business. Every rep I spoke with over the comically bad service eventually would agree with me about Santander. The most common answer was, "We're a work in progress."

    If you enjoy splitting headaches, feeling helpless with your own money, and love 40-60 minute phone calls (85% on hold), then by all means open an account with Santander.

    If you value common sense and your money, stay far, far away.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Whatajoke Sep 21, 2016

    Feeling So Sorry For My Son

    My son has experienced the worse and has had so much trouble with this bank. HOW ARE THEY STILL IN BUSINESS? I would NEVER EVER finace a vehicle through this joke of a bank. I will ask again with reviews this bad how are they still in business? People take your business elsewhere for your own peace of mind. They have not reported any of his payments and will not give him what he has requested in writing.....really.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By Hk7 Sep 18, 2016

    Santander stole my money

    Piece of shit bank.... took my money when I deposit money into my bank account and cancelled the transaction...slow ass ATM machines...crappy ass bank..

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By ajtky1981 Sep 14, 2016


    This BANK is a joke! Let me be clear here. Santander Consumer USA is the finance and loan company. I have financed two vehicles through them. If you pay your bills, they are just fine. Follow your loan and financial agreement, there will be no issues. From what I am told Santander Bank and Santander Consumer USA are two completely different entities. I hope so anyway. I have no complaint for Consumer USA. My issue is the bank only. This bank is the biggest joke I have ever dealt with. Customer service is so completely brain dead it is ALMOST comical. They closed my account a WEEK before they were due to deposit my "new account" bonus of $150. Without an explanation or without warning. They locked my checking account. I had no access to my own money. The only explanation I was given by SEVERAL "manager" was "I don't know what to tell you" Like that is good enough. This bank is a scam and it is a joke. If you need to speak with someone and get ANY help at all, don't bother calling them. Try asking a monkey in the zoo. This place is a disgusting waste of time, energy and money. Where is my money? Who knows, maybe I will get it!? Can I rate LESS than one star?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kumk Aug 20, 2016

    Very bad service

    I closed my accounts and during that process, I was told everything is taken care of and there is nothing to be done from my end. But the next month a auto payment FROM santander went to my other bank and the payment was of course returned as my account was closed. When contacted santander customer care, i was told that it was in the "agreement" i signed initially that payments should be cancelled before cancelling the account and they are not responsible for it and i got to deal with it !! not sure what they meant everything was taken care of when i was closing the account..

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.