B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Santander Bank Customer Reviews

(203 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 13
4 Star 5
3 Star 2
2 Star 19
1 Star 164

The Most Helpful Santander Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

Best Experience With A Bank So Far!

I've only had my accounts for about six months. Two people had worked on opening them for me. I had been lucky enough to get in on the Extra 20 Checking and 20K requirement for the Premier Checking which came with some delightful perks of its own. There were only a couple of days left to take advantage of the offers. They worked together as a team, and got me the best deals possible, even making terrific suggestions to protect my savings from fraud.

One of the initial employees made a mistake, and neglected to link the Extra 20 Checking to the Extra 20 Savings account, which was quickly corrected upon my asking about the issue with a third employee. The funds I was supposed to be receiving from the bank appeared in the proper account the next day.

Every time I ask about anything, even one recent unusual request, I am cheerfully accommodated. I would recommend anyone in my area running - to open an account there!

I find it interesting that a lot of the negative reviews I have read are given to the bank so far over human error and electronic system issues, or that reviewer's own errors and/or laziness, like you can reset a ATM PIN at the machine immediately, as long as you didn't lose your card. Their charges for international service are clearly displayed online. Every business you go to has new and uneducated employees; and the laws these days that govern banking means a new or old manager practically needs to be an attorney.

Maybe we consumers need to educate ourselves as well.

I recently had a very bad experience with HSBC bank, which probably would have NEVER been resolved locally. It was like those employees just couldn't be asked, and were blatantly lying to me about the most simple of issues - like telling me they couldn't help me to even make an appointment to speak to someone that could help me, since they couldn't and no one was ever available that could speak to me AND help me.

I finally called their 800 number, they contacted the branch, and all my issues were resolved that day. It is very tempting to buzz on over and give HSBC a scathing review but I wont. I don't think its fair to admonish that entire corporation over the failings of one branch.

I would suggest with questions on any bank or issue, look at the bank's website, and/or call their 800 numbers if you find their local employees cant help you sufficiently.

So far, I LOVE Santander!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By gocreditunion Nov 7, 2013

Is it any coincidence that "Satan" can be spelled from the name of this bank?

I am a business customer of Santander USA. I was recently locked out of my account for reasons I couldn't understand, for days. Not simple to resolve since there is no 'log in help' button that gives you instantaneous options for resetting your password. You have to call Business Customer Service within business hours. Over the course of three days, I placed 9 phone calls, made one branch visit and spent 4 hours of my time over a password reset issue. In the 9 calls, I would often be cut off--calling the business number I'd end up in the personal banking number due to 'overflow' and then would be cut off in the transfer back. Twice when I got through, I was promised that I would be sent emails that would allow me to reset. The emails never arrived-nor were they in 'spam'. On a third contact the customer service person admitted they had not been able to get emails through over multiple email clients, had major problems since a website update, and that my log in problem was a technical issue on their end that had nothing to do with my log in attempts. He then promised me a 'special' email that would reflect his escalation of my problem to the tech sector. Again, jack sprat arrived.

I should add that I am generally polite patient and understanding and it is a rare experience for me to alienate customer service staff. However, I lost it on the third day/fourth live contact when once again I was promised an email and denied contact with a supervisor after I explained I had been down that road before and needed resolution now. I told the rep I considered this to be a material breach of my bank contract since I did not have reasonable access to my money. Those are the magic words: material breach! Magically an email allowing me to reset my password appeared 10 minutes later.

It is a password reset people. Not rocket science. I will be changing my bank at the first opportunity.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Santander Bank Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By SantanderSucks1 Sep 30, 2016

    Stay Away from Santander!

    This company does nothing to protect their loyal customers.
    In the end treat you like a criminal
    1. On 9/12/2016 my wife's credit was ran by a branch Santander in Cranston, RI without her permission.
    2. 9/12 a charge for $2.91 was made at a MacDonald's in Cranston, RI
    2. Her online account that was hacked after 7+ years of inactivity. Her passwords were reset. Her ATM PIN was reset.
    3. 9/13 $9000.00 was transferred from our savings account to checking. This was "not an issue because it is within their bank."
    4. 9/13 3X$800.00 was withdrawn from a branch ATM with a fake card. Cranston, RI
    5. 9/14 3X$800.00 was withdrawn from a branch ATM with a fake card. Cranston, RI
    6. 9/14 $1215.80 Money Order at the USPS in Providence, RI
    7. 9/14 $4950.00 Internal Transfer to another Santander Account Cranston, RI
    8. 9/14 $3500.00 Internal Transfer to another Santander Account Cranston, RI
    WE LIVE IN NEW HAMPSHIRE!
    How does this not raise a single red flag?
    Then we are never called back by the investigator or anyone other then the branch manager.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dangerh33 Sep 23, 2016

    1 star - Only because negative stars isn't possible.

    From the branch, to the corporate office, to the different customer service dens, I have never in my life experience a more disconnected company. We had a commercial line of credit that initiated with Sovereign Bank and somehow became a commercial loan when the transfer of companies happened. No two people at Santander could explain it to us, give us an accurate number or give me ANY piece of information that was consistent from one phone call to another. This went on for years. Not weeks or months. The only reason we HAD to keep the accounts open was because they claimed we had an outstanding balance.

    I am simply amazed that a company of this scope is still in business. Every rep I spoke with over the comically bad service eventually would agree with me about Santander. The most common answer was, "We're a work in progress."

    If you enjoy splitting headaches, feeling helpless with your own money, and love 40-60 minute phone calls (85% on hold), then by all means open an account with Santander.

    If you value common sense and your money, stay far, far away.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Whatajoke Sep 21, 2016

    Feeling So Sorry For My Son

    My son has experienced the worse and has had so much trouble with this bank. HOW ARE THEY STILL IN BUSINESS? I would NEVER EVER finace a vehicle through this joke of a bank. I will ask again with reviews this bad how are they still in business? People take your business elsewhere for your own peace of mind. They have not reported any of his payments and will not give him what he has requested in writing.....really.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By Hk7 Sep 18, 2016

    Santander stole my money

    Piece of shit bank.... took my money when I deposit money into my bank account and cancelled the transaction...slow ass ATM machines...crappy ass bank..

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By ajtky1981 Sep 14, 2016

    FRAUD!

    This BANK is a joke! Let me be clear here. Santander Consumer USA is the finance and loan company. I have financed two vehicles through them. If you pay your bills, they are just fine. Follow your loan and financial agreement, there will be no issues. From what I am told Santander Bank and Santander Consumer USA are two completely different entities. I hope so anyway. I have no complaint for Consumer USA. My issue is the bank only. This bank is the biggest joke I have ever dealt with. Customer service is so completely brain dead it is ALMOST comical. They closed my account a WEEK before they were due to deposit my "new account" bonus of $150. Without an explanation or without warning. They locked my checking account. I had no access to my own money. The only explanation I was given by SEVERAL "manager" was "I don't know what to tell you" Like that is good enough. This bank is a scam and it is a joke. If you need to speak with someone and get ANY help at all, don't bother calling them. Try asking a monkey in the zoo. This place is a disgusting waste of time, energy and money. Where is my money? Who knows, maybe I will get it!? Can I rate LESS than one star?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kumk Aug 20, 2016

    Very bad service

    I closed my accounts and during that process, I was told everything is taken care of and there is nothing to be done from my end. But the next month a auto payment FROM santander went to my other bank and the payment was of course returned as my account was closed. When contacted santander customer care, i was told that it was in the "agreement" i signed initially that payments should be cancelled before cancelling the account and they are not responsible for it and i got to deal with it !! not sure what they meant everything was taken care of when i was closing the account..

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By csmithfb123 Jul 28, 2016

    Horrible, Horrible, Horrible bank, worse customer service than comcast!!

    Plain and simple, if you become a customer, their customer service will not help you out. I've tried calling several times, and it got worse on every call. I managed to get in touch with one person with some sense, but the information they told me turned out to be incorrect.

    I really feel that if you have a loan, or account with them they want you to fail...I'd provide more details, but I see that they have already been buried in one star ratings....if only there was a zero to give to them, they are that incompetent and deserving of it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By Kathy_d13 Jul 18, 2016

    Worse bank ever!!!!!

    This is by far the worse bank ever! They don't follow regular bank rules, seem to make there own rules compared to other banks i.e. ( Bank of America , Wells Fargo , and Chase)
    They take forever releasing your funds but are quick to take money from your account. Customer Service Reps are horrible. I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE oh and HATE this bank!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By Cuture Jul 8, 2016

    The bank is horrible !!!! Please never do business

    Santander bank came to my business offers me money increase business. Thought the be good idea, the guy is Ruben give you all lies. I borrowed to buy equipment everything when well, going 2 year doing business they came to business judgment to my business freeze my account the Santander bank are evil. I regret borrow money from them .DONT do business you will regret it.!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jenn720 Jul 7, 2016

    Poor customer service and untrustworthy employees and policies

    I have been an account holder at this bank for more than 10 years and I have had nothing but terrible experiences. The only reason I have remained a customer this long is because my husband was an account holder when we met and I was a member at a credit union that I worked for that was out of state. Once I left my position to return to school it was an easy transition to consolidate everything into this account. As my husband and I have direct deposit and maintain our account without incident, I have had limited interaction with the staff and policies. Unfortunately, the interaction that I have experienced has been greatly disappointing and has finally led me to close my accounts. As a former credit union and bank employee (not for Santander), the policies Santander employs are not customer friendly and do not establish or facilitate a feeling of customer appreciation. They put 2 day holds on bank checks from other banks (which are supposed to be considered as good as cash), to say their customer service within the branches is slow is an understatement at best, and most recently they cashed a check from our account that was written 4 years ago citing that on "page 12" of their policy they are allowed to do that if it is deposited through an ATM even though checks dated past one year (or in some cases 6 months) are considered "stale" and should no longer be honored. Additionally, they could not even state whether or not the check was deposited through the ATM or with a teller, just that "if" it was their policy states that it is acceptable. Since it seems they are not able to confirm whether the money they accept at their ATMs is valid before they accept it and they will not reverse these transactions if they are not valid I'm considering depositing some Monopoly money into my account through the ATM before I close it to see whether that transaction would be reversible! I am completely disgusted with how dishonorable this bank is!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.