B MyBankTracker Rating

Santander Bank Customer Reviews

(229 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 14
4 Star 5
3 Star 3
2 Star 20
1 Star 187

The Most Helpful Santander Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

Best Experience With A Bank So Far!

I've only had my accounts for about six months. Two people had worked on opening them for me. I had been lucky enough to get in on the Extra 20 Checking and 20K requirement for the Premier Checking which came with some delightful perks of its own. There were only a couple of days left to take advantage of the offers. They worked together as a team, and got me the best deals possible, even making terrific suggestions to protect my savings from fraud.

One of the initial employees made a mistake, and neglected to link the Extra 20 Checking to the Extra 20 Savings account, which was quickly corrected upon my asking about the issue with a third employee. The funds I was supposed to be receiving from the bank appeared in the proper account the next day.

Every time I ask about anything, even one recent unusual request, I am cheerfully accommodated. I would recommend anyone in my area running - to open an account there!

I find it interesting that a lot of the negative reviews I have read are given to the bank so far over human error and electronic system issues, or that reviewer's own errors and/or laziness, like you can reset a ATM PIN at the machine immediately, as long as you didn't lose your card. Their charges for international service are clearly displayed online. Every business you go to has new and uneducated employees; and the laws these days that govern banking means a new or old manager practically needs to be an attorney.

Maybe we consumers need to educate ourselves as well.

I recently had a very bad experience with HSBC bank, which probably would have NEVER been resolved locally. It was like those employees just couldn't be asked, and were blatantly lying to me about the most simple of issues - like telling me they couldn't help me to even make an appointment to speak to someone that could help me, since they couldn't and no one was ever available that could speak to me AND help me.

I finally called their 800 number, they contacted the branch, and all my issues were resolved that day. It is very tempting to buzz on over and give HSBC a scathing review but I wont. I don't think its fair to admonish that entire corporation over the failings of one branch.

I would suggest with questions on any bank or issue, look at the bank's website, and/or call their 800 numbers if you find their local employees cant help you sufficiently.

So far, I LOVE Santander!

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By gocreditunion Nov 7, 2013

Is it any coincidence that "Satan" can be spelled from the name of this bank?

I am a business customer of Santander USA. I was recently locked out of my account for reasons I couldn't understand, for days. Not simple to resolve since there is no 'log in help' button that gives you instantaneous options for resetting your password. You have to call Business Customer Service within business hours. Over the course of three days, I placed 9 phone calls, made one branch visit and spent 4 hours of my time over a password reset issue. In the 9 calls, I would often be cut off--calling the business number I'd end up in the personal banking number due to 'overflow' and then would be cut off in the transfer back. Twice when I got through, I was promised that I would be sent emails that would allow me to reset. The emails never arrived-nor were they in 'spam'. On a third contact the customer service person admitted they had not been able to get emails through over multiple email clients, had major problems since a website update, and that my log in problem was a technical issue on their end that had nothing to do with my log in attempts. He then promised me a 'special' email that would reflect his escalation of my problem to the tech sector. Again, jack sprat arrived.

I should add that I am generally polite patient and understanding and it is a rare experience for me to alienate customer service staff. However, I lost it on the third day/fourth live contact when once again I was promised an email and denied contact with a supervisor after I explained I had been down that road before and needed resolution now. I told the rep I considered this to be a material breach of my bank contract since I did not have reasonable access to my money. Those are the magic words: material breach! Magically an email allowing me to reset my password appeared 10 minutes later.

It is a password reset people. Not rocket science. I will be changing my bank at the first opportunity.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Santander Bank Reviews

  •  
    C
    Reviewed By Ckirshner May 24, 2017

    Lame excuse for a bank!

    I accompanied my mom into the bank where she was depositing a large check! I asked a teller, who was not helping anyone if I would be able to use the restroom. She looked Around, and then responded no. I mentioned how my name was on my mom's account, but that did not seem to matter. So much of banking is customer service...this branch clearly doesn't have very good customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By lakeclouds May 6, 2017

    Worst bank I ever dealt with

    I never heard of these guys before and took a chance on them when I needed a Home Equity Loan. They were a disaster from the get go. First it took three months to process the loan application - I applied on-line which was a mistake as then you need to go to a branch to finish and this held up the application in limbo for months. They also kept losing paperwork that I emailed to them and I had to submit the paperwork multiple times.

    Then I got slammed with fees and charges for a checking account that weren't clearly disclosed. When I complained about the misinformation they turned it around against me.

    Avoid these guys at all costs.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By azchic Apr 15, 2017

    Account held hostage

    I opened the account for the $200 promotion. So not worth it. I live in the southeast and mailed my signature card paperwork. When they didn't receive it, they locked my debit card. I found out by an embarrassing "decline" at the register. I cannot use my checks because Telechecks (whole other story) also "decline" at the register because it's a new account. Santander will not accept a faxed form because of the personal information on the form. So I'm stuck for god knows how long either cashing checks at a check cashing place for a 10% fee or asking my family to cash a check for me. The promo $ is for pain and suffering. Once I receive that, I'm off to look for another account. Just a big pain in the ass!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Mailme Apr 1, 2017

    Worst Online Customer Service

    Took an hour waiting on a customer service representative and they doesnt care a DAMN. They dont care for long time customers. Checks wont clear untill 2-3 business and still charge overdraft fees. Cancelling today.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By rainbow Mar 22, 2017

    poor customer service

    Went to bank at 12:25 on 3/22/2017. Husband wanted to pick up some rolls of pennies, which he does every couple of weeks. He was told they (2 tellers) did not have any rolled pennies. And the only person with the keys to open the safe was out to lunch. Seriously? only 1 person in the whole bank has the keys to open a safe? There are a couple of female tellers who get annoyed when they see him coming and always ask him what he does with them.
    This is none of their business. I went in for him one day to ask for $5.00 worth of pennies and got the same look with the same question. We have been doing business with Santander for years, have never come across this rudeness or questions before. These people should not be working in a bank who is supposed to provide money for their customers with courtesy and politeness. Very disappointed. Wondering if they question all people (store owners too?) who come in for change, or just because
    my husband is 80 yrs old? He is paying with cash to get cash, not asking for a handout.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Abcde1 Mar 13, 2017

    BEYOND ANGRY

    If I could put no stars I would!!!!!! Not only are the call representatives NASTY, this fucking company lost many of my fucking payments. Mind you guys I'm the type to fax in ALL receipts front and back. I've called everyday to see why my payment hasn't been posted. I'm constantly getting the bullshit run arounds! Like hello this is MY credit. NOT YOURS! I'm sick of this company not applying my payments on time when I send them in early! This company is full of shit and no where near professional!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By carolin256 Mar 10, 2017

    Worst Bank Ever!

    I had a check taken out a day before it was supposed to, so my account went negative. I tried to make it to the bank as soon as I got out of work to deposit the $ in order to avoid the $35 fee. I made it to the bank at 8pm, made the deposit and saw my receipt with $150 in my account (great I made it). However, next day I check my account and I was still charged for the overdraft fee!!! How??? I try calling the bank and was on the phone for over an hour waiting on a representative. When I finally get the chance to speak to one to try and resolve the problem they tell me I should of made the payment before 6pm. I tell the lady (which was extremely rude) "but other banks let you deposit till 11pm" she cuts me off and responds "ma'am we are Santander, we do not compare ourselves to other banks" I told her the situation had happened before and my account was not charged so she tried looking into further information in my account but guess what, the system was down. So what works at Santander? OVERDFARFT FEES DO!! Basically this bank only cares about charging people , getting a good opportunity to strike the hard working people with hidden fees and extremely bad service. I am currently in the bank closing the account. Stay Away from this bank. SCAM SCAM SCAM.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By watburg77 Mar 8, 2017

    $600 Lost Forever

    I saw on the computer someone was trying to cash a $600 from my checking account I printed the pending activity went to the bank asked them to stop payment the Branch Mgr. said I'm so sorry there is nothing we can do......the next day the check was posed I took the fraud check someone used the routing number and my checking account number and deposited $600 into their account without my signature....... I filed the FBI report, the local police report, signed and notarized the bank fraud paperwork. the FBI said welcome to America the cops say your lucky they only took $600 ...I'am out money the bank will never ever replace my $600 all I can do is type this on the computer. The bad thing this can happen to anybank account all they need is the account number they dont even need your name Those companies like lifelock will not cover checking account losses. I guess I'm gonna bury the money in Mason jars there is no security like they say at the bank ...have a nice day

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By beaubrun73 Mar 3, 2017

    was approved then locked up then affected my credit score

    i did apply for santander to make some transfers to pay off a credit and i was approved with $7,500
    with this bank is different you need to call them so they will set up and account for you which i did, everything went smooth until one week later when i was trying to make a money transfer and it giving me an error message with a phone # to call
    i did call customer service many time to a different phones # that i was given by customer service UNFORTUNATELY nobody can do anything the card was locked and the only way to fix the issue is to " walk in into branch " i am from FL and they suggested to drive to NY, really !!!
    this bank is a joke but the worst thing my credit went down from 740 to 699 !!!!!
    im so upset it took me years to build up this score and it took one wrong action to lose it, santander bank is a scam, avoid it will be better for you

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By LCORR1126 Feb 24, 2017

    Horrible

    I can't even give them 1 star, but had to in order for this to post! We have had nothing but problems with Santander since we took out a loan a year and a half ago. Late fees charged when they shouldn't be, automatic payments that haven't taken place and then blamed on us. We've gone into the branch on the payment due date to make a payment that wasn't credited correctly and again, late fees assessed. No one at the branch has enough knowledge about the Loans, tell you you need to speak to a loan specialist, but just TRY getting one of them on the phone. I was on hold for an hour this morning before I finally gave up and hung up. This month, I made a payment at the branch a WEEK before the payment due date. My online statement shows that that payment was made, but still shows that another payment is due for that same month. No one can tell me why, except that because i paid the payment by check, it won't be credited until the check clears. Well it cleared my other bank two days ago, but still hasn't been posted to Santander to update my next payment due date as of today. They also have assessed other "unknown" fees since that payment was made. The branch manager is trying to help me, but she doesn't have enough information and has to wait to get a call back from someone in the loan dept. By the time that happens, I am betting they charge me another late fee. I have NEVER experienced such a circus in any bank I have ever dealt with. Stay far far away!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.