B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Santander Bank Customer Reviews

(212 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 13
4 Star 5
3 Star 3
2 Star 19
1 Star 172

The Most Helpful Santander Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

Best Experience With A Bank So Far!

I've only had my accounts for about six months. Two people had worked on opening them for me. I had been lucky enough to get in on the Extra 20 Checking and 20K requirement for the Premier Checking which came with some delightful perks of its own. There were only a couple of days left to take advantage of the offers. They worked together as a team, and got me the best deals possible, even making terrific suggestions to protect my savings from fraud.

One of the initial employees made a mistake, and neglected to link the Extra 20 Checking to the Extra 20 Savings account, which was quickly corrected upon my asking about the issue with a third employee. The funds I was supposed to be receiving from the bank appeared in the proper account the next day.

Every time I ask about anything, even one recent unusual request, I am cheerfully accommodated. I would recommend anyone in my area running - to open an account there!

I find it interesting that a lot of the negative reviews I have read are given to the bank so far over human error and electronic system issues, or that reviewer's own errors and/or laziness, like you can reset a ATM PIN at the machine immediately, as long as you didn't lose your card. Their charges for international service are clearly displayed online. Every business you go to has new and uneducated employees; and the laws these days that govern banking means a new or old manager practically needs to be an attorney.

Maybe we consumers need to educate ourselves as well.

I recently had a very bad experience with HSBC bank, which probably would have NEVER been resolved locally. It was like those employees just couldn't be asked, and were blatantly lying to me about the most simple of issues - like telling me they couldn't help me to even make an appointment to speak to someone that could help me, since they couldn't and no one was ever available that could speak to me AND help me.

I finally called their 800 number, they contacted the branch, and all my issues were resolved that day. It is very tempting to buzz on over and give HSBC a scathing review but I wont. I don't think its fair to admonish that entire corporation over the failings of one branch.

I would suggest with questions on any bank or issue, look at the bank's website, and/or call their 800 numbers if you find their local employees cant help you sufficiently.

So far, I LOVE Santander!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By gocreditunion Nov 7, 2013

Is it any coincidence that "Satan" can be spelled from the name of this bank?

I am a business customer of Santander USA. I was recently locked out of my account for reasons I couldn't understand, for days. Not simple to resolve since there is no 'log in help' button that gives you instantaneous options for resetting your password. You have to call Business Customer Service within business hours. Over the course of three days, I placed 9 phone calls, made one branch visit and spent 4 hours of my time over a password reset issue. In the 9 calls, I would often be cut off--calling the business number I'd end up in the personal banking number due to 'overflow' and then would be cut off in the transfer back. Twice when I got through, I was promised that I would be sent emails that would allow me to reset. The emails never arrived-nor were they in 'spam'. On a third contact the customer service person admitted they had not been able to get emails through over multiple email clients, had major problems since a website update, and that my log in problem was a technical issue on their end that had nothing to do with my log in attempts. He then promised me a 'special' email that would reflect his escalation of my problem to the tech sector. Again, jack sprat arrived.

I should add that I am generally polite patient and understanding and it is a rare experience for me to alienate customer service staff. However, I lost it on the third day/fourth live contact when once again I was promised an email and denied contact with a supervisor after I explained I had been down that road before and needed resolution now. I told the rep I considered this to be a material breach of my bank contract since I did not have reasonable access to my money. Those are the magic words: material breach! Magically an email allowing me to reset my password appeared 10 minutes later.

It is a password reset people. Not rocket science. I will be changing my bank at the first opportunity.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Santander Bank Reviews

  • N
    Reviewed By Nrdb Dec 9, 2016

    Opening the account was easy...

    Good initial letters and information, but once you try to get on line the problems start. I tried to log on with the security details I had been sent. It was fine and simple. I was in and logged on! Later in the day I tried again, but it would not work. Tried several times. No good. Called helpline; I was told that I would have to wait for new security to be sent out. That came this morning..... it does not work. Phoned customer services. She will post out new security details which I should get within 4 days. So then I will have 3 lots of security details from Santander, as well as the personalised details which I set on the one occasion I was able to log in.
    I will have waited about 2 weeks from opening my account before being able to use it from home, and that assumes that it will work next time, when I receive the latest batch of security info. I'm not overly confident about my next try.
    Having read other reviews on this site I know I can expect little more than further problems when I actually come to try to conduct banking business.
    The one good point so far has been that the advisers I have spoken to have tried their best to be helpful. Unfortunately they, as we, are trying to deal with a rubbish system. The last woman I spoke to pointed out that I could go and visit my local branch and conduct business there. Welcome back to the 1960s!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By julietboggio Dec 5, 2016

    worst bank ever should have the option of zero stars

    Trying to get money out of UK into USA- all transactions denied and account frozen on 8 out of 9 transactions. No call from security and no luck with anyone.
    Changed tactic to transfer money in UK and then move to USA still unable to get even 5k moved within the UK.
    Fraud detection is a joke, customer service reps have been trained to say we understand your frustration. Unable to talk to the jobsworth who keeps on freezing account.
    Trying to close account is almost as hard.
    This is not an international bank- this is a bank that takes your money no problem but won't give it back.
    Security questions have been so dumb as what is the name of the road you live on - when I explained there is no road as in the middle of nowhere I was told to send passport and card via e-mail, then they wanted picture of me holding passport- doesn't that sound like a scam -I am expecting the next request to read i need a tattoo sf Santander on my arm.
    They will be the next bank to sink so get your money out now if you can!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MelSC Nov 10, 2016

    Worst Customer Service

    I stopped over at this branch to have a check made out to me from a Joined money market savings, the manager refused to make me a checking stating that the check needs to be made out to all the party's on the account I noted to him that unfortunately the other person is extremely sick & I would need the check just made out to my self, he stated he could not do that cause its up to his desecration who he makes out the check to.I decided to walk out & call customer service & get this matter resolved since is unheard of that the manager of a bank decided who the check should be made out to.
    I also filed a formal complained against the manager of this branch.
    PS.
    If you need to withdrawal your money from your account in anyway or form good luck at getting it from this branch

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dogsbody Nov 8, 2016

    continue to fail in customer satisfaction

    Made an appointment for 2.30pm in Worksop for Monday 7th November.Not that I needed it but was called on Friday 4th Nov. to ensure I was attending.Arrived just before 2.30pm, no one on reception to tell I had arrived so stood for 5 mins. in the long counter queue.a receptionist came down the queue to see if she could help with what people wanted.She took me to sit down and Helen would be with me in 5 mins.After iId been waiting 10mins, Helen arrived and I complained to her about the long wait.All she wanted to do was to tell me how short staffed they were.I said I'm not interested , that is your problem.The manageress then came out and started to tell me the same.She could not understand my complaint.1.They had broken their contract because I was there and they failed to meet their time.2. I am not interested in all their problems.3.The fact that Helen was working on the counter and thus the people in the queue were more important to them than I was and I had an appointment.The sad fact was that the only person who apologised to me was Helen who was the youngest of them.I walked out and am changing to another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By aymen Oct 30, 2016

    treatment of the low income earners

    If you become a low income earner and you Mortgage tied up with "Santander Mafia" the only way they offer to help you is by HIKING your mortgage rate three times "the highest in the land", despite honouring all your payments and commitments to them and having less than 15% the value of my property borrowed from them. they using AFFORDABILITY clause to crucify the venerable knowing he have no options. " they would not dare do this to higher income earner"
    TO FUTURE "O.A.P": BEWARE OF SANTANDER AND SWITCH,they have no mercy or loyalty if you have small pension.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By davedant Oct 18, 2016

    Do not bank with Santander if you want online banking

    Quite simply do not bank with this bank if you want online banking which allows you to do online banking. Essentially they have an overactive fraud detection system which will locks you out every time you make an irregular payment or payment to a new payee. To get yourself unlocked for online banking you have to visit a branch. So essentially they are a branch-based bank regardless of what they might like to pretend. I ended up paying my VAT bill by cheque which says it all really.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Steveng Oct 13, 2016

    Bad bank

    They are really shifty bad they dont give a shit about the customer at all they just u money that all . Srew them

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DArias Oct 4, 2016

    Deducted Money from my Account even though they declined the charge

    It amazes me that went I went to use my debot card and it was denied even though I had money in there, the funds were still removed, not once but twice. When you call, the representatives nor the supervisors are of any help. Now I have to wait up to 4 days to get my money back. What a joke. I have had enough of this bank. I am taking all my money out and going elsewhere. I am tired of this stupidity.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By chatz Oct 3, 2016

    Inaccessible Bank

    When the UK exits the common market send Santander back to Spain, good riddance to the jokers.
    C/S don't have a clue about the layout and details of the poor online system they operate to reset memorable data. Only at the end it informs you have to wait 4 to 6 days for post to arrive. So you can't access your bank, completely locked out.

    Time to contact the ombudsman, we have taken multiple screen images from the website to prove our case.
    Time to switch well over due, especially looking at the bad reviews.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By SantanderSucks1 Sep 30, 2016

    Stay Away from Santander!

    This company does nothing to protect their loyal customers.
    In the end treat you like a criminal
    1. On 9/12/2016 my wife's credit was ran by a branch Santander in Cranston, RI without her permission.
    2. 9/12 a charge for $2.91 was made at a MacDonald's in Cranston, RI
    2. Her online account that was hacked after 7+ years of inactivity. Her passwords were reset. Her ATM PIN was reset.
    3. 9/13 $9000.00 was transferred from our savings account to checking. This was "not an issue because it is within their bank."
    4. 9/13 3X$800.00 was withdrawn from a branch ATM with a fake card. Cranston, RI
    5. 9/14 3X$800.00 was withdrawn from a branch ATM with a fake card. Cranston, RI
    6. 9/14 $1215.80 Money Order at the USPS in Providence, RI
    7. 9/14 $4950.00 Internal Transfer to another Santander Account Cranston, RI
    8. 9/14 $3500.00 Internal Transfer to another Santander Account Cranston, RI
    WE LIVE IN NEW HAMPSHIRE!
    How does this not raise a single red flag?
    Then we are never called back by the investigator or anyone other then the branch manager.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.