B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Simple Customer Reviews

(163 Reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 Star 59
4 Star 8
3 Star 12
2 Star 14
1 Star 70

The Most Helpful Simple Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Moriarty Mar 2, 2016

Never going back to regular banking!

The customer service is impeccable- they're always SO friendly and responsive! I appreciate the lack of fees immensely, and the website is clean and useful. The "goals" you can make are an excellent idea as well! I cannot recommend Simple enough, they have a lifelong customer here. :)

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By mortramalt@gmail.com Oct 11, 2014

Significantly Degraded Experience Since Acquisition

I was an early simple adopter and loved it, and have used it as my primary checking account. But since they were acquired this year and have been transitioning their operations, i have had terrible problems with my account and the website that a bank should never have. My scheduled payments disappear or do not display (you never know which). My available balance is incorrectly reported.

A check for over $1,000 was returned by the post office and simple never notified me or credited the money back to my account (until i called them to ask what was up). Their customer service is good but without a reliable banking experience, sadly i have to leave it. Too bad because they still have the best online banking interface, although other banks like chase have begun to catch up.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Simple Reviews

  • T
    Reviewed By TuffPuppy Sep 20, 2016

    If you are a US Simple customer get your money out now while you can.

    Simple was a great company, but it has sold it's soul to a giant European bank who's banking practices appear to be much on track with the likes of Wells Fargo, BofA, Chase, etc. They told me they sent me a piece of mail to verify my new address and that it was returned. They lied. I have that piece of mail. Then they wanted all sorts of documents, none of which were any of their business. I sent them a copy of my pay stub which was acceptable and a copy of the letter they themselves told me was returned, but apparently that wasn't enough for them. I got ahold of their "manager" Corey who apparently doesn't have a boss who takes phone calls or emails and basically he told me that they could and will hold (steal) my money indefinitely. Now, if you are a member of the european bank you can "verify" your ID with a selfie in front of your new address. Sounds simple right. Wrong. Not if you are a member of bancorp. Awfully convenient if they are stealing your money. I used to love this bank. Never had a problem before in the three/four years I've been with them. But as of today I recommend you get your money out. Get it out now, while you still can.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jjhancock24 Sep 15, 2016

    Best bank ever

    I have been using banks for over 30 years, both personally and for my small business. As far as I am concerned this is by far the best bank I have ever used. Seriously, it has earned the name "simple" because it is so easy to work with. I love the fact that I can email or call customer service and get someone almost immediately if I have a question. Even if it is an email, I can follow the thread and have a real conversation with a real person. I absolutely love that there are no fees involved with my account. Although they don't have joint accounts my husband and I have no problem transferring money between the two of us on payday and our daughters account is linked to ours for easy transfers also. I think the only downside is I wish they had higher withdraw amounts per day..numerous times I have had to get a cash advance off of my Visa check card but all in all this is wonderful bank and one I hope to use for years to come!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jb3605 Sep 13, 2016

    Good start but has a way go to mature

    I've only had Simple for a little over a month and so far it has performed as advertised.

    In its current form, I can't recommend an account with Simple as a complete replacement for a traditional checking account. Its very much designed as a hybrid between a traditional checking account and a pre-paid debit card so you get some benefits of a traditional account and some restrictions of a pre-paid card account. (think GoBank or Amex Serve). I use mine for daily expenses, but shy from putting all my eggs in one basket given some of the horror stories others have shared. Besides, using this account to park funds, the 0.01% APY isn't an incentive. (an average daily balance of $5k would earn you 50 cents after a year LOL)

    PROS: No fees. Clean/elegant mobile app and debit card. Safe-to-Spend budgeting assistant. Free bill pay. Extensive free ATM network. Free instant transfers to other Simple account customers. No overdraft fees (because you can't overdraft).

    CONS: No joint accounts/business accounts. No manual checks. No outbound wire-transfers. No local branches. No easy way to deposit cash. Anemic (0.01%) interest rate. No easy way to obtain a cashiers check for a large purchase.

    I have numerous external accounts connected to my Simple account and I will offer a tip that can speed your transfers by a day. PUSH your transfers from the originating account to the destination. For example, say you have an account with BoA and you want to transfer some funds to Simple. Link your Simple account at BoA and then from BoA imitate the transfer, not from Simple. Reverse to push money out of Simple to an external account. My transfers done this way always complete the following business day.

    Based on my research of reviews it appears the worst complaints regarding Simple are abrupt account freezes or closures with little or no explanation leaving customers unable to access their funds for days or weeks. It's important to note Simple is only a technology intermediary and not an actual bank. Their partner banks actual hold your deposit account (Bancorp or BBVA Compass -- my account is held by Compass). Bancorp was their first partner bank and I suspect the vast majority of customer problems with frozen and closed accounts originate with Bancorp, not Simple. My hope is that their new partner (and owner of Simple), BBVA Compass, will have a tighter relationship creating smoother integration between Simple and their customers.

    Simple has said they have new additional features in development but have not given any specifics except to say the new features are being designed to work with BBVA Compass accounts and therefore, they will be migrating all Bancorp accounts to Compass at some point.

    Hopefully they will improve some of the weak areas. Some things I hope to see are paired savings accounts with a real interest rate, joint accounts, and an easy method to deposit cash.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mike1963 Sep 12, 2016

    Great Debit Card

    I use Simple for its debit card only. I mostly use the card to pay for purchases at restaurants, convenience stores and small purchases locally and while traveling. The transaction details on the web site helps me figure out expenses to submit at work for reimbursement vs personal stuff.

    I have not used any other products offered by Simple. I send money from my primary (non Simple) checking account and have a set amount direct deposited each pay period to keep the account funded.

    I have not contacted support or anyone at Simple for any reason. Everything works for my intended use.

    I really like the card. This was a replacement to the now discontinued Google Wallet Card.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TheProgram01 Sep 11, 2016

    Wth?!

    I went to the gas station other morning and my card was declined. I had money in my account but... What the heck happened? I went home to go through my emails and found a message from Simple saying my account was terminated. Just like that. They terminated many other accounts as well. Half of my company included. Now I have to wait to get my money in the mail.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By girlvssuv Sep 8, 2016

    Stole my money and acts as if I did something wrong

    First, thank god for this site because I thought it was just me. Simple is a rude, nasty sham. They closed my account for no reason and I have no money. I owe hundreds of dollars in late fees. A reporter is looking into it for me. rufussayscalmdown at gmail if you want to share your story with him. All of us are louder than one of us.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By C_duffy Aug 29, 2016

    Please don't waste your time, they are the worse bank!!!!

    So I've had the account open for 4 months everything was great couldn't asked for anything better. So recently my bank card was stolen and my card was used and i had an unauthorized charge on my card as soon as it happen i went online and blocked my card i attempt to notify them but they were closed. So i contact them immediately the next day and advised them what happen. So days went by i didn't hear anything from them i called the customer service which they advised me someone will look into the issue and get back to so the rep Noreen sent me a message within the app asking what happen ect, so again i explain the story along with telling them i'm willing to submit a police report no response .....so after about 14 days with nothing sent in the mail no follow up email, i called requesting to speak with a sup after about two calls and speaking with about 3 supervisor's they applied a provisional credit which i don't think they wanted to give me a credit. So here's when things get crazy noreen sent me another email on a sunday night asking the same exact questions she did prior after i answer the question along with sending a police report about 5 days later she sent a message saying they didn't find a error with my dispute and they will remove the provisional credit within 5 days, so i called customer service upset because i wasn't sure how this wasn't a error and needed answers they were unable to provided me with anything but i'm sorry and kept telling me to send a message in the app which is very frustrating. So i sent a message or two requesting copies along with other questions....next thing i get is a email saying my account is closed because i didn't meet the requirements of Simple's account agreement. This was a Friday i was getting ready to go out of town and they block my card and advised will send a check when all transactions settle i called immediately the rep was unable to provided any information but that i didn't meet the requirements of the bank and he advised me that i'm not eligible for phone support any longer i would have to send messages in the app and he hung up on me. (YES HE HUNG UP poor customer service) So i called and spoke with another rep and request a manager he then advised he has to disconnect the call because i'm not eligible for phone support and he also hung up on me so i sent several messages and never got a response until about 5 days later with the same pre set message along with a link, moral of the story is this they never answer my questions, they closed my account without a proper explanation on why , they have poor customer service, this bank should be shut down the way the scam people. please don't get this account.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LPost Aug 26, 2016

    This bank will close up your account for no reason and hold your money.

    I opened this account as a holding account for a school co op. Simple said that was too much like a business account and I needed to close it. So we agreed that I would transfer out that money and just use this as a personal account. A month ago I deposited a few checks (via the photo app deposit) and just today they tell me that they are closing my account because I am using it for business reasons. So they deemed that a personal check is for business, which it is NOT. They shut down my account and told me I can have my money (almost 5K) back via a mailed check in 2 weeks. They would not allow me to speak to a supervisor or even just transfer all my money out. They are HOLDING my money. They won't answer my emails and won't allow me to get past the entry level customer service on the phone.

    Is this a SCAM??

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By crawfordifland Aug 16, 2016

    Disloyal, Unethical Company. Don't waste your time.

    I've been a loyal customer for over a year and have enjoyed using simple – their app is great, support is usually pretty good, and the card looks nice. I thought branchless was banking was the way of the future. However, I just got an email this morning notifying me that my account had been closed. No explanation, no warning, not even a hint that I may have been using my account incorrectly or violating any of their policies. Just an account closure. Incredibly disappointed from a company who claims to be all about genuine human this… Don't waste your time with Simple. Get a real bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By Calikid777 Aug 11, 2016

    Simply Awesome.

    This organizations is awesome. They have always been available and willing to help me overcome any issues. I have held accounts at numerous banks, and this organization really treats its customers respectfully and graciously. I recommend this company highly, and would encourage anyone to give them an opportunity to prove me wrong. AAAAA+++++++++++++

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.